1 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024 155A.2705

155A.2705 HAIR TECHNICIAN REQUIREMENTS AND TRAINING.

Subdivision 1. Age requirement. An applicant for a hair technician license must be at least 17 years of
age.

Subd. 2. Application. A complete application for a hair technician license must include the following:
(1) a completed application form;
(2) payment of the fees required by section 155A.25;

(3) passing test results achieved no more than one year before the submission of the application of the
following board-approved tests for the license for a hair technician:

(i) the general theory test;
(i) the written practical test; and
(ii1) the test on Minnesota Laws and Rules related to providing hair technician services; and

(4) proof of completion of training in the form of the original course completion certificate with the
notarized signatures of the school manager or owner documenting the successful completion of the required
training under subdivision 3. If the completed training is more than five years old, a skills course certificate
no more than one year old must also be submitted.

Subd. 3. Training. Hair technician training must be completed at a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology
school. The training must consist of 900 hours of coursework and planned clinical instruction and experience
that includes:

(1) the first 300 hours of the hair technology course that includes:
(i) student orientation;

(i) preclinical instruction in the theory of sciences, including:
(A) muscle and bone structure and function;

(B) properties of the hair, a study of all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns,
hair strand thicknesses, and volumes of hair, and scalp;

(C) disorders and diseases of the hair and scalp;

(D) chemistry as related to hair technology; and

(E) electricity and light related to the practice of hair technologys;

(iii) theory and preclinical instruction on client and service safety prior to students offering services;

(iv) introductory service skills that are limited to the observation of an instructor demonstration, student
use of mannequins, or student-to-student application of basic services related to hair technology;

(v) Minnesota statutes and rules pertaining to the regulation of hair technology;
(vi) health and safety instruction that includes:

(A) chemical safety;

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes



155A.2705 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024 2

(B) safety data sheets;

(C) personal protective equipment (PPE);

(D) hazardous substances; and

(E) laws and regulations related to health and public safety; and
(vii) infection control to protect the health and safety of the public and technician that includes:
(A) disinfectants;

(B) disinfectant procedures;

(C) cleaning and disinfection;

(D) single use items;

(E) storage of tools, implements, and linens; and

(F) other implements and equipment used in salons and schools;

(2) 300 hours in hair cutting and styling that includes hair and scalp analysis; providing services to
individuals who have all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns, hair strand thicknesses,
and volumes of hair; cleaning; scalp and hair conditioning; hair design and shaping; drying; arranging;
curling; dressing; waving; and nonchemical straightening; and

(3) 300 hours in chemical hair services that includes hair and scalp analysis; providing services to
individuals with all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns, hair strand thicknesses,
and volumes of hair; dying; bleaching; reactive chemicals; keratin; hair coloring; permanent straightening;
permanent waving; predisposition and strand tests; safety precautions; chemical mixing; color formulation;
and the use of dye removers.

[See Note.]
History: 2023 c 62 art 25 102, 2024 c 120 art 3 s 2

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 3 by Laws 2024, chapter 120, article 3, section 2, is effective
August 1, 2025. Laws 2024, chapter 120, article 3, section 2, the effective date.
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