
148E.0551 PROVISIONAL LICENSES.​

Subdivision 1. Requirements for a provisional license. An applicant may be issued a provisional​
license if the applicant:​

(1) has met the requirements of section 148E.055, subdivision 2, clauses (1), (3), (4), (5), and (6);​
subdivision 3, clauses (1), (3), (4), (5), and (6); subdivision 4, clauses (1), (2), (4), (5), (6), and (7); or​
subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), (3), (5), (6), (7), and (8); and​

(2) complies with the requirements of subdivisions 2 to 7.​

Subd. 2. License term. (a) A provisional license is valid until expiration, or until the board issues or​
denies a license under section 148E.055, or until the board revokes the provisional license, whichever occurs​
first.​

(b) A provisional license expires three years after the effective date of the license.​

Subd. 3. Scope of practice. A licensee who is issued a provisional license must comply with the​
requirements of section 148E.050.​

Subd. 4. Fee. A licensee who is issued a provisional license must pay the appropriate license fee specified​
in section 148E.180.​

Subd. 5. Supervised practice requirements. A licensee who is issued a provisional license must​
document supervised practice as provided in section 148E.116. If a licensee issued a provisional license is​
granted a license under section 148E.055, the licensee must also meet the supervised practice requirements​
in sections 148E.100 to 148E.115. The supervised practice completed under a provisional license does not​
apply to this requirement.​

Subd. 6. Evaluation by supervisor. (a) After being issued a provisional license under subdivision 1,​
the licensee's supervisor must submit an evaluation every six months during the first 2,000 hours of social​
work practice. The evaluation must meet the requirements in section 148E.126. The supervisor must meet​
the eligibility requirements specified in section 148E.116.​

(b) After completion of 2,000 hours of supervised social work practice, the licensee's supervisor must​
submit a final evaluation and attest to the applicant's ability to engage in the practice of social work​
competently and ethically.​

Subd. 7. Completion of requirements. Upon completion of the requirements for a provisional license​
under subdivisions 1 to 6, an applicant shall not practice social work in Minnesota except as provided in​
section 148E.065, unless licensed according to section 148E.055.​

Subd. 8. Disciplinary or other action. A licensee who is issued a provisional license is subject to the​
grounds for disciplinary action under section 148E.190. The board may also take action according to sections​
148E.260 to 148E.270 if:​

(1) the licensee's supervisor does not submit an evaluation as required by section 148E.126;​

(2) an evaluation submitted according to section 148E.126 indicates that the licensee cannot practice​
social work competently and ethically; or​

(3) the licensee does not comply with the requirements of subdivisions 1 to 7.​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

148E.0551​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024​1​
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