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148B.04 Subdivision 1. MS 1987 Supp [Repealed, 1988 ¢ 689 art 2 s 269]
Subd. 2. MS 2018 [Repealed, 2019 ¢ 52 s 20]
Subd. 3. MS 2018 [Repealed, 2019 ¢ 52 s 20]
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Subd. 4. MS 2018 [Repealed, 2019 ¢ 52 s 20]
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148B.05 Subdivision 1. MS 2018 [Repealed, 2019 ¢ 52 s 20]
Subd. 2. MS 1990 [Repealed, 1992 ¢ 460 s 20]

148B.06 TAX CLEARANCE CERTIFICATE.
Subdivision 1. MS 2018 [Repealed, 2019 ¢ 52 s 20]

Subd. 2. Hearing. In lieu of the notice and hearing requirements of section 148B.371, when a licensee
or applicant is required to obtain a clearance certificate under this subdivision, a contested case hearing must
be held if the licensee or applicant requests a hearing in writing to the commissioner of revenue within 30
days of the date of the notice required in subdivision 1. The hearing must be held within 45 days of the date
the commissioner of revenue refers the case to the Office of Administrative Hearings. Notwithstanding any
other law, the licensee or applicant must be served with 20 days' notice in writing specifying the time and
place of the hearing and the allegations against the licensee or applicant. The notice may be served personally
or by mail.

Subd. 3. Information required. The board shall require all licensees or applicants to provide their
Social Security number and Minnesota business identification number on all license applications. Upon
request of the commissioner of revenue, the board must provide to the commissioner of revenue a list of all
licensees and applicants, including the name and address, Social Security number, and business identification
number. The commissioner of revenue may request a list of the licensees and applicants no more than once
each calendar year.

History: 1987 ¢ 347 art 1 s 6; 1989 c 184 art 2 s 5; 1991 ¢ 292 art 2 s 38,39,74; 1993 c 13 art 2 s 6,
1997 ¢ 193s8;2023¢c25s 53

148B.07 MS 2018 [Repealed, 2019 ¢ 52 s 20]
148B.08 MS 2018 [Repealed, 2019 ¢ 52 s 20]
148B.09 MS 2018 [Repealed, 2019 ¢ 52 s 20]
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148B.12 MS 2018 [Repealed, 2019 ¢ 52 s 20]
148B.13 MS 2018 [Repealed, 2019 ¢ 52 s 20]
148B.14 MS 2018 [Repealed, 2019 ¢ 52 s 20]
148B.15 MS 2018 [Repealed, 2019 ¢ 52 s 20]

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes



3 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024 148B.20
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5 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024 148B.30

148B.29 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Applicability. For the purposes of sections 148B.29 to 148B.392, the following terms
have the meanings given.

Subd. 2. Board. "Board" means the Board of Marriage and Family Therapy created in section 148B.30.

Subd. 2a. Licensee. "Licensee" means a person who is licensed by the Board of Marriage and Family
Therapy.

Subd. 3. Marriage and family therapy. "Marriage and family therapy" means the process of providing
professional marriage and family psychotherapy to individuals, married couples, and family groups, either
singly or in groups. The practice of marriage and family therapy utilizes established principles that recognize
the interrelated nature of the individual problems and dysfunctions in family members to assess, understand,
and treat emotional and mental problems. Marriage and family therapy includes premarital, marital, divorce,
and family therapy, and is a specialized mode of treatment for the purpose of resolving emotional problems
and modifying intrapersonal and interpersonal dysfunction.

History: /1987 c 347 art3s 1, 2019 ¢ 525 1,2
148B.30 BOARD OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY.

Subdivision 1. Creation. (a) There is created a Board of Marriage and Family Therapy that consists of
seven members appointed by the governor. Four members shall be licensed, practicing marriage and family
therapists, each of whom shall for at least five years immediately preceding appointment, have been actively
engaged as a marriage and family therapist, rendering professional services in marriage and family therapy.
One member shall be engaged in the professional teaching and research of marriage and family therapy.
Two members shall be representatives of the general public who have no direct affiliation with the practice
of marriage and family therapy. All members shall have been a resident of the state two years preceding
their appointment. Of the first board members appointed, three shall continue in office for two years, two
members for three years, and two members, including the chair, for terms of four years respectively. Their
successors shall be appointed for terms of four years each, except that a person chosen to fill a vacancy shall
be appointed only for the unexpired term of the board member whom the newly appointed member succeeds.
Upon the expiration of a board member's term of office, the board member shall continue to serve until a
successor is appointed and qualified.

(b) At the time of their appointments, at least two members must reside outside of the seven-county
metropolitan area.

(c) At the time of their appointments, at least two members must be members of:
(1) a community of color; or

(2) an underrepresented community, defined as a group that is not represented in the majority with
respect to race, ethnicity, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity, or physical ability.

Subd. 2. MS 2018 [Repealed, 2019 ¢ 52 s 20]

Subd. 3. Officers; staff. The board shall annually elect from its membership a chair, a vice-chair, and
secretary-treasurer, and shall adopt rules to govern its proceedings. The board shall appoint and employ an
executive secretary who shall not be a member of the board.
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Subd. 4. Membership terms; compensation and removal. The membership terms, compensation, and
removal of board members is governed by section 15.0575, unless superseded by this section.
History: 1987 ¢ 347 art 3 s 2; 1Sp2021 c 7 art4s 8
148B.31 DUTIES OF THE BOARD; CONTINUING EDUCATION.
(a) The board shall:

(1) adopt and enforce rules for marriage and family therapy licensing, which shall be designed to protect
the public;

(2) develop by rule appropriate techniques, including examinations and other methods, for determining
whether applicants and licensees are qualified under sections 148B.29 to 148B.392;

(3) issue licenses to individuals who are qualified under sections 148B.29 to 148B.392;

(4) establish and implement procedures designed to assure that licensed marriage and family therapists
will comply with the board's rules;

(5) study and investigate the practice of marriage and family therapy within the state in order to improve
the standards imposed for the licensing of marriage and family therapists and to improve the procedures and
methods used for enforcement of the board's standards;

(6) formulate and implement a code of ethics for all licensed marriage and family therapists; and
(7) establish continuing education requirements for marriage and family therapists.

(b) At least four of the 40 continuing education training hours required under Minnesota Rules, part
5300.0320, subpart 2, must be on increasing the knowledge, understanding, self-awareness, and practice
skills that enable a marriage and family therapist to serve clients from diverse socioeconomic and cultural
backgrounds. Topics include but are not limited to:

(1) understanding culture, its functions, and strengths that exist in varied cultures;
(2) understanding clients' cultures and differences among and between cultural groups;
(3) understanding the nature of social diversity and oppression; and
(4) understanding cultural humility.
History: 1987 ¢ 347 art 3s 3, 2019 ¢ 525 3; 1Sp2021 c 7 art 4 s 9
148B.32 PROHIBITIONS AND PENALTY.

Subdivision 1. Unlicensed practice prohibited. No individual shall engage in marriage and family
therapy practice unless that individual holds a valid license issued under sections 148B.29 to 148B.392.

Subd. 2. Appearance as licensee prohibited. No individual shall be held out to be a marriage and
family therapist unless that individual holds a valid license issued under sections 148B.29 to 148B.392, is
a psychologist licensed by the Board of Psychology with a competency in marriage and family therapy, or
is a person providing marriage and family therapy who is employed by a hospital licensed under chapter
144 and who is acting within the scope of the person's employment.
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7 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024 148B.33
Subd. 3. Penalty. A person who violates a provision of sections 148B.29 to 148B.392 is guilty of a
gross misdemeanor.

History: 1987 ¢ 347 art 3 s 4, 1988 ¢ 689 art 2 s 268; 1989 ¢ 282 art 2 s 42; 1995 ¢ 234 art 8 s 46,
2000 c 488 art 9s 4; 2019 ¢ 52 s 4

148B.33 REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE.

Subdivision 1. Documentary evidence of qualifications. An applicant for a license shall furnish evidence
that the applicant:

(1) has attained the age of majority;
(2) is of good moral character;
(3) is a citizen of the United States, or is lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United States;

(4) has at least two years of supervised postgraduate experience in marriage and family therapy satisfactory
to the board;

(5)(1) has completed a master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy from a program in a
regionally accredited educational institution or from a program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation
for Marriage and Family Therapy Education of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy;
or (ii) has completed a master's or doctoral degree from a regionally accredited educational institution in a
related field for which the course work is considered by the board to be equivalent to that provided in clause

($)®;

(6) will agree to conduct all professional activities as a licensed marriage and family therapist in
accordance with a code of ethics for marriage and family therapists to be adopted by the board; and

(7) has passed an examination approved by the board by rule.

Subd. 1a. Supervision requirement; postgraduate experience. The board must allow an applicant to
satisfy the requirement for supervised postgraduate experience in marriage and family therapy with all
required hours of supervision provided through real-time, two-way interactive audio and visual
communication.

Subd. 2. Fee. Each applicant shall pay an application fee as specified under section 148B.392.

Subd. 3. Expedited and temporary licensing for former and current members of the military. (a)
Applicants seeking licensure according to this subdivision must be:

(1) an active duty military member;
(2) the spouse of an active duty military member; or

(3) a veteran who has left service in the two years preceding the date of license application, and has
confirmation of an honorable or general discharge status.

(b) A qualified applicant under this subdivision must provide evidence of:

(1) a current valid license, certificate, or permit in another state without history of disciplinary action
by a regulatory authority in the other state; and
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(2) a current criminal background study without a criminal conviction that is determined by the board
to adversely affect the applicant's ability to become licensed.

(¢) A temporary license issued under this subdivision is effective for six months from the initial temporary
licensure date.

(d) During the temporary license period, the individual shall complete the licensed marriage and family
therapist application for licensure.

(e) In order to remain licensed after the expiration of the temporary license, an individual must meet the
requirements in subdivisions 1 and 2.

History: 1987 c 347 art 3s 5; 1991 ¢ 292 art 2 s 48; 1Sp2011 c 9 art5s 9, 2015¢c 77 art 2 5 20, 2019
c52s5:2022c98 art3s 1

148B.331 GUEST LICENSURE.

Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) A nonresident of the state of Minnesota who is not seeking licensure in
Minnesota and intends to practice marriage and family therapy in Minnesota must apply to the board for
guest licensure. An applicant must apply for guest licensure at least 30 days prior to the expected date of
practice in Minnesota and is subject to approval by the board or its designee.

(b) To be eligible for licensure under this section, the applicant must:

(1) have a license, certification, or registration in good standing to practice marriage and family therapy
from another jurisdiction;

(2) have a graduate degree in marriage and family therapy from a regionally accredited institution or a
degree in a related field from a regionally accredited institution with completed coursework meeting the
educational requirements provided in Minnesota Rules, part 5300.0140, subpart 2;

(3) be of good moral character;
(4) have no pending complaints or active disciplinary or corrective actions in any jurisdiction;

(5) submit the required fee and complete the criminal background check according to section 214.075;
and

(6) pay a fee to the board in the amount set forth in section 148B.392.

(c) A license issued under this section is valid for one year from the date of issuance and allows practice
by the nonresident for a maximum of five months. The months in which the nonresident may practice under
the license must be consecutive. A guest license is not renewable, but the nonresident may reapply for guest
licensure, subject to continued eligibility under paragraph (b), following expiration of a guest license.

Subd. 2. Other professional activity. Notwithstanding subdivision 1, a nonresident of the state of
Minnesota who is not seeking licensure in Minnesota may serve as an expert witness, organizational
consultant, presenter, or educator without obtaining guest licensure, provided the nonresident is appropriately
trained or educated, or has been issued a license, certificate, or registration by another jurisdiction.
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9 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024 148B.37

Subd. 3. Prohibitions and sanctions. A person's privilege to practice under this section is subject to
the prohibitions and sanctions for unprofessional or unethical conduct contained in Minnesota laws and rules
for marriage and family therapy under this chapter.

History: 2024 c 127 art 24 s 1
148B.34 MS 1994 [Repealed, 1996 ¢ 310 s 1]
148B.35 RECIPROCITY WITH OTHER STATES.

The board shall issue a marriage and family therapist's license to an individual who holds a current
license as a marriage and family therapist from another jurisdiction if the board determines that the standards
for licensure in the other jurisdiction are at least equivalent to or exceed the requirements of sections 148B.29
to 148B.392 and the rules of the board.

History: 1987 ¢ 347 art3s 7, 2019¢ 5256
148B.351 MALPRACTICE HISTORY.

Subdivision 1. Submission. Licensees or applicants for licensure who have previously practiced in
another state shall submit with their application the following information:

(1) number, date, and disposition of any malpractice settlement or award made relating to the quality
of services provided by the licensee or applicant; and

(2) number, date, and disposition of any civil litigations or arbitrations relating to the quality of services
provided by the licensee or applicant in which the party complaining against the licensee or applicant
prevailed or otherwise received a favorable decision or order.

Subd. 2. Board action. The board shall give due consideration to the information submitted under this
section. A licensee or applicant for licensure who willfully submits incorrect information is subject to
disciplinary action under sections 148B.29 to 148B.392.

History: 2019c 52 s 7

148B.36 NONTRANSFERABILITY OF LICENSES.
A marriage and family therapy license is not transferable.
History: /1987 ¢ 347 art 3 s 8

148B.37 REFUSAL TO GRANT LICENSE; SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF LICENSE;
DISCIPLINARY ACTION.

Subdivision 1. Grounds for action. (a) The board may take disciplinary action as described under
paragraph (b) against a licensee or applicant who the board, after a hearing under the contested case provisions
of chapter 14, determines:

(1) is incompetent to practice marriage and family therapy, or is found to engage in the practice of
marriage and family therapy in a manner harmful or dangerous to a client or to the public;

(2) is convicted by a court of competent jurisdiction of a crime that the board determines is of a nature
to render the convicted person unfit to practice marriage and family therapy. The board should compile,
maintain, and publish a list of such crimes;
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148B.37 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024 10

(3) has violated a provision of sections 148B.29 to 148B.392 or one or more of the rules of the board,
(4) has obtained or attempted to obtain a license or license renewal by bribery or fraudulent representation;

(5) has knowingly made a false statement on a form required by the board for licensing or license renewal;
or

(6) has failed to obtain continuing education credits required by the board.

(b) If grounds for disciplinary action exist under paragraph (a), the board may take one or more of the
following disciplinary actions:

(1) refuse to grant or renew a license;

(2) revoke a license;

(3) suspend a license;

(4) impose limitations on the practice of the licensee;
(5) impose conditions on the practice of the licensee;

(6) impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 for each separate violation, the amount of the civil
penalty to be fixed so as to deprive the licensee of any economic advantage gained by reason of the violation
charged, or to discourage repeated violations;

(7) impose a fee to reimburse the board for all or part of the cost of the proceedings resulting in
disciplinary action including but not limited to the amount paid by the board for services from the Office of
Administrative Hearings, attorney fees, court reporters, witnesses, reproduction of records, board members'
per diem compensation, board staff time, and expense incurred by board members and staff;

(8) censure or reprimand the licensee; or
(9) take any other action justified by the facts of the case.

Subd. 1a. Evidence of past sexual conduct. In a proceeding for the suspension or revocation of the
right to practice or other disciplinary or adverse action involving sexual contact with a client or former client,
the board or administrative law judge shall not consider evidence of the client's previous sexual conduct nor
shall any reference to this conduct be made during the proceedings or in the findings, except by motion of
the complainant, unless the evidence would be admissible under the applicable provisions of section 609.347,
subdivision 3.

Subd. 2. Restoring a license. For reasons it considers sufficient and upon a vote of five of its members,
the board may restore a license that has been revoked, reduce a period of suspension, or withdraw a reprimand.

History: /987 ¢ 347 art 35 9; 2019 ¢ 525 8,9
148B.371 COMPLAINTS; INVESTIGATION HEARINGS.

Subdivision 1. Discovery; subpoenas. In all matters relating to the board's lawful regulatory activities,
the board may issue subpoenas and compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of all necessary
papers, books, records, documents, and other evidentiary materials. Any person failing or refusing to appear
to testify regarding any matter about which the person may be lawfully questioned or failing to produce any
papers, books, records, documents, or other evidentiary materials in the matter to be heard, after having been
required by order of the board or by a subpoena of the board to do so may, upon application to the district
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11 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024 148B.371

court in any district, be ordered to comply with the subpoena or order. Any board member may administer
oaths to witnesses or take their affirmation. Depositions may be taken within or without the state in the
manner provided by law for the taking of depositions in civil actions. A subpoena or other process or paper
may be served upon a person it names anywhere within the state by any officer authorized to serve subpoenas
or other process or paper in civil actions in the same manner as prescribed by law for service of process
issued out of the district court of this state.

Subd. 2. Classification of data. The board shall maintain any records, other than client records, obtained
as part of an investigation as investigative data under section 13.41. Client records are classified as private
under chapter 13 and must be protected as such in the records of the board and in administrative or judicial
proceedings unless the client authorizes the board in writing to make public the identity of the client or a
portion or all of the client's records.

Subd. 3. Examination. If the board has probable cause to believe that an applicant or licensee has
engaged in conduct prohibited by section 214.10, or statute or rule enforced by the board, the board may
issue an order directing the applicant or licensee to submit to a mental or physical examination or substance
use disorder evaluation. For the purpose of this section, every applicant or licensee is considered to have
consented to submit to a mental or physical examination or substance use disorder evaluation when ordered
to do so in writing by the board and to have waived all objections to the admissibility of the examiner's or
evaluator's testimony or reports on the grounds that the testimony or reports constitute a privileged
communication.

Subd. 4. Failure to submit to an examination. (a) Failure to submit to an examination or evaluation
when ordered, unless the failure was due to circumstances beyond the control of the applicant or licensee,
constitutes an admission that the applicant or licensee violated section 214.10, or statute or rule enforced
by the board, based on the factual specifications in the examination or evaluation order, and may result in
an application being denied or a default and final disciplinary order being entered after a contested case
hearing. The only issues to be determined at the hearing are whether the designated board member had
probable cause to issue the examination or evaluation order and whether the failure to submit was due to
circumstances beyond the control of the applicant or licensee. Neither the record of a proceeding under this
subdivision nor the orders entered by the board are admissible, subject to subpoena, or to be used against
the applicant or licensee in a proceeding in which the board is not a party or decision maker.

(b) Information obtained under this subdivision is classified as private under chapter 13 and the orders
issued by the board as the result of an applicant or licensee to submit to an examination or evaluation are
classified as public.

Subd. 5. Access to data and records. In addition to ordering a physical or mental examination or
substance use disorder evaluation and notwithstanding section 13.384, 144.651, 595.02, or any other law
limiting access to medical or other health records, the board may obtain data and health records relating to
an applicant or licensee without the applicant's or licensee's consent if the board has probable cause to believe
that an applicant or licensee has engaged in conduct prohibited by section 214.10, or statute or rule enforced
by the board. An applicant, licensee, insurance company, health care facility, provider as defined in section
144.291, subdivision 2, paragraph (i), or government agency shall comply with any written request of the
board under this subdivision and is not liable in any action for damages for releasing the data requested by
the board if the data are released in accordance with a written request made under this subdivision, unless
the information is false and the person or entity giving the information knew or had reason to know that the
information was false. Information on individuals obtained under this section is investigative data under
section 13.41.
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Subd. 6. Temporary suspension. In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the board may,
acting through its designated board member and without a hearing, temporarily suspend the right of a licensee
to practice if the board member finds that the licensee has violated a statute or rule that the board is empowered
to enforce and that continued practice by the licensee would create a serious risk of harm to others. The
suspension is in effect upon service of a written order on the licensee specifying the statute or rule violated.
The order remains in effect until the board issues a final order in the matter after a hearing or upon agreement
between the board and the licensee. Service of the order is effective if the order is served on the licensee or
counsel of record personally or by first class mail to the most recent address provided to the board for the
licensee or the counsel of record. Within ten days of service of the order, the board shall hold a hearing
before its own members on the sole issue of whether there is a reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift
the suspension. Evidence presented by the board or licensee may be in affidavit form only. The licensee or
the counsel of record may appear for oral argument. Within five working days after the hearing, the board
shall issue its order and, if the suspension is continued, schedule a contested case hearing within 45 days
after issuance of the order. The administrative law judge shall issue a report within 30 days after closing of
the contested case hearing record. The board shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of that
report.

Subd. 7. Automatic suspension; restoration. The right to practice is automatically suspended if (1) a
guardian of a licensee is appointed by order of a court under sections 524.5-101 to 524.5-502, or (2) the
licensee is committed by order of a court pursuant to chapter 253B. The right to practice remains suspended
until the licensee is restored to capacity by a court and, upon petition by the licensee, the suspension is
terminated by the board after a hearing or upon agreement between the board and the licensee. In its discretion,
the board may restore and reissue permission to provide services, but as a condition of the permission may
impose a disciplinary or corrective measure that it might originally have imposed.

Subd. 8. Additional remedies. (a) The board may in its own name issue a cease and desist order to stop
a person from engaging in an unauthorized practice or violating or threatening to violate a statute, rule, or
order which the board has issued or is empowered to enforce. The cease and desist order must state the
reason for its issuance and give notice of the person's right to request a hearing under sections 14.57 to 14.62.
If, within 15 days of service of the order, the subject of the order fails to request a hearing in writing, the
order is the final order of the board and is not reviewable by a court or agency.

(b) A hearing must be initiated by the board not later than 30 days from the date of the board's receipt
of a written hearing request. Within 30 days of receipt of the administrative law judge's report, the board
shall issue a final order modifying, vacating, or making permanent the cease and desist order as the facts
require. The final order remains in effect until modified or vacated by the board.

(c) When a request for a stay accompanies a timely hearing request, the board may, in its discretion,
grant the stay. If the board does not grant a requested stay, it shall refer the request to the Office of
Administrative Hearings within three working days of receipt of the request. Within ten days after receiving
the request from the board, an administrative law judge shall issue a recommendation to grant or deny the
stay. The board shall grant or deny the stay within five days of receiving the administrative law judge's
recommendation.

(d) In the event of noncompliance with a cease and desist order, the board may institute a proceeding
in Ramsey County District Court to obtain injunctive relief or other appropriate relief, including a civil
penalty payable to the board not exceeding $10,000 for each separate violation.

Subd. 9. Injunctive relief. In addition to any other remedy provided by law, including the issuance of
a cease and desist order under subdivision 1, the board may in its own name bring an action in Ramsey
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County District Court for injunctive relief to restrain any unauthorized practice or violation or threatened
violation of any statute, rule, or order which the board is empowered to regulate, enforce, or issue. A temporary
restraining order must be granted in the proceeding if continued activity by a licensee would create a serious
risk of harm to others. The board need not show irreparable harm.

Subd. 10. Additional powers. The issuance of a cease and desist order or injunctive relief granted under
this section does not relieve a licensee from criminal prosecution by a competent authority or from disciplinary
action by the board. Nothing in this section limits the board's authority to seek injunctive relief under section
214.11.

History: 2019 ¢ 525 10, 2022 c 98 art 4 s 51
148B.372 PROFESSIONAL COOPERATION.

A licensee who is the subject of an investigation by or on behalf of the board shall cooperate fully with
the investigation. Cooperation includes responding fully and promptly to any question raised by or on behalf
of the board relating to the subject of the investigation and providing copies of client records, as reasonably
requested by the board, to assist the board in its investigation. The board shall pay for copies requested. If
the board does not have a written consent from a client permitting access to the client's records, the licensee
shall delete any data in the record that identifies the client before providing it to the board. The board shall
maintain any records obtained pursuant to this section as investigative data pursuant to chapter 13.

History: 2019 ¢ 52 5 11
148B.38 EXCEPTIONS FROM LICENSE REQUIREMENT.

Subdivision 1. Other professionals. Nothing in sections 148B.29 to 148B.392 shall be construed to
prevent qualified members of other licensed or certified professions or occupations, such as licensed
physicians, registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, psychologists licensed by the board of psychology,
social workers, probation officers, members of the clergy, attorneys, school counselors who are employed
by an accredited educational institution while performing those duties for which they are employed, registered
occupational therapists or certified occupational therapist assistants who are certified by the American
Occupational Therapy Association, from doing work of a marriage and family therapy nature.

Subd. 2. Students. Nothing in sections 148B.29 to 148B.392 shall be construed to prevent marriage
and family therapy practice by students or interns or individuals preparing for marriage and family therapy
to practice under qualified supervision of a licensed professional, recognized and approved by the board in
a recognized educational institution or agency so long as they are designated by titles such as "student,"

"non;

"trainee," "intern," or other titles clearly indicating training status.

Subd. 3. Federally recognized tribes and private nonprofit agencies with a minority focus. The
licensure of marriage and family therapists who are employed by federally recognized tribes and private
nonprofit agency marriage and family therapists, whose primary service focus addresses ethnic minority
populations and who are themselves members of ethnic minority populations within said agencies, shall be
voluntary for a period of five years at which time the legislature will review the need for mandatory licensure
for all marriage and family therapists under this subdivision.

History: /1987 ¢ 347 art 35 10; 1991 ¢ 292 art 2 s 49; 2019 ¢ 525 12,13
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148B.381 REPORTING OBLIGATIONS.

Subdivision 1. Permission to report. A person who has knowledge of any conduct constituting grounds
for disciplinary action relating to licensure or unlicensed practice under sections 148B.29 to 148B.392 may
report the violation to the board.

Subd. 2. Institutions. A state agency, political subdivision, agency of a local unit of government, private
agency, hospital, clinic, prepaid medical plan, or other health care institution or organization located in this
state shall report to the board any action taken by the agency, institution, or organization or any of its
administrators or medical or other committees to revoke, suspend, restrict, or condition a licensee's privilege
to practice or treat patients or clients in the institution, or as part of the organization, any denial of privileges,
or any other disciplinary action for conduct that might constitute grounds for disciplinary action by the board
under sections 148B.29 to 148B.392. The institution or organization shall also report the resignation of any
licensees prior to the conclusion of any disciplinary action proceeding for conduct that might constitute
grounds for disciplinary action under sections 148B.29 to 148B.392, or prior to the commencement of formal
charges but after the licensee had knowledge that formal charges were contemplated or in preparation.

Subd. 3. Professional societies or associations. A state or local professional society or association for
licensees shall forward to the board any complaint received concerning the ethics or conduct of the practice
of marriage and family therapy. The society or association shall forward a complaint to the board upon
receipt of the complaint. The society or association shall also report to the board any disciplinary action
taken against a member.

Subd. 4. Licensed professionals. A licensed health professional shall report to the board personal
knowledge of any conduct that the licensed health professional reasonably believes constitutes grounds for
disciplinary action under sections 148B.29 to 148B.392 by any licensee, including conduct indicating that
the licensee may be medically incompetent, or may be medically or physically unable to engage safely in
the provision of services. If the information was obtained in the course of a client relationship, the client is
another licensee, and the treating individual successfully counsels the other individual to limit or withdraw
from practice to the extent required by the impairment, the board may deem this limitation of or withdrawal
from practice to be sufficient disciplinary action.

Subd. 5. Insurers. (a) Four times each year as prescribed by the board, each insurer authorized to sell
insurance described in section 60A.06, subdivision 1, clause (13), and providing professional liability
insurance to licensees, or the Joint Underwriting Association under chapter 621, shall submit to the board a
report concerning the licensees against whom malpractice settlements or awards have been made to the
plaintiff. The report must contain at least the following information:

(1) the total number of malpractice settlements or awards made;

(2) the date the malpractice settlements or awards were made;

(3) the allegations contained in the claim or complaint leading to the settlements or awards made;
(4) the dollar amount of each malpractice settlement or award;

(5) the regular address of the practice of the licensee against whom an award was made or with whom
a settlement was made; and

(6) the name of the licensee against whom an award was made or with whom a settlement was made.
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(b) The insurance company shall, in addition to the information listed in paragraph (a), report to the
board any information it possesses that tends to substantiate a charge that a licensee may have engaged in
conduct violating this chapter.

Subd. 6. Courts. The court administrator of a district court or any other court of competent jurisdiction
shall report to the board any judgment or other determination of the court that adjudges or includes a finding
that a licensee is a person who is mentally ill, mentally incompetent, guilty of a felony, guilty of a violation
of federal or state narcotics laws or controlled substances act, or guilty of abuse or fraud under Medicare or
Medicaid; or that appoints a guardian of the licensee pursuant to sections 524.5-101 to 524.5-502 or commits
a licensee pursuant to chapter 253B.

Subd. 7. Self-reporting. A licensee shall report to the board any personal action that would require that
a report be filed by any person, health care facility, business, or organization pursuant to subdivisions 2 to
6.

Subd. 8. Deadlines; forms. Reports required by subdivisions 2 to 7 must be submitted not later than 30
days after the occurrence of the reportable event or transaction. The board may provide forms for the
submission of reports required by this section, may require that reports be submitted on the forms provided,
and may adopt rules necessary to ensure prompt and accurate reporting.

Subd. 9. Subpoenas. The board may issue subpoenas for the production of any reports required by
subdivisions 2 to 7 or any related documents.

Subd. 10. Failure to report. Any person, institution, insurer, or organization that fails to report as
required under subdivisions 2 to 6 shall be subject to civil penalties for failing to report as required by law.

History: 2019 ¢ 52 s 14
148B.382 IMMUNITY.

Subdivision 1. Reporting. Any person, health care facility, business, or organization is immune from
civil liability or criminal prosecution for submitting in good faith a report under section 148B.381 or for
otherwise reporting violations or alleged violations of sections 148B.29 to 148B.392. The reports are classified
under section 13.41.

Subd. 2. Investigation. Members of the board and persons employed by the board or engaged in the
investigation of violations and in the preparation and management of charges of violations of sections
148B.29 to 148B.392 on behalf of the board are immune from civil liability and criminal prosecution for
any actions, transactions, or publications in the execution of, or relating to, their duties under sections
148B.29 to 148B.392.

History: 2019 ¢ 52 s 15
148B.385 DISCIPLINARY RECORD ON JUDICIARY REVIEW.

Upon judicial review of any board disciplinary or adverse action taken under sections 148B.29 to
148B.392, the reviewing court shall seal the administrative record, except for the board's final decision, and

shall not make the administrative record available to the public.

History: 2019 c 525 16
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148B.39 PRIVILEGED COMMUNICATIONS; EXCEPTIONS.

A person licensed under sections 148B.29 to 148B.392 and employees and professional associates of
the person cannot be required to disclose any information that the person, employee, or associate may have
acquired in rendering marriage and family therapy services, unless:

(1) disclosure is required by other state laws;

(2) failure to disclose the information presents a clear and present danger to the health or safety of an
individual;

(3) the person, employee, or associate is a party defendant to a civil, criminal, or disciplinary action
arising from the therapy, in which case a waiver of the privilege accorded by this section is limited to that
action;

(4) the patient is a defendant in a criminal proceeding and the use of the privilege would violate the
defendant's right to a compulsory process or the right to present testimony and witnesses in that person's
behalf; and

(5) a patient agrees to a waiver of the privilege accorded by this section, and in circumstances where
more than one person in a family is receiving therapy, each such family member agrees to the waiver. Absent
a waiver from each family member, a marital and family therapist cannot disclose information received by
a family member.

History: 1987 ¢ 347 art 3s 11, 2019 ¢ 52 s 17
148B.391 DUTY TO WARN.
Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.

(b) "Other person" means an immediate family member or someone who personally knows the client
and has reason to believe the client is capable of and will carry out the serious, specific threat of harm to a
specific, clearly identified or identifiable victim.

(c) "Reasonable efforts" means communicating the serious, specific threat to the potential victim and if
unable to make contact with the potential victim, communicating the serious, specific threat to the law
enforcement agency closest to the potential victim or the client.

(d) For purposes of this section, "licensee" includes students or interns practicing marriage and family
therapy under qualified supervision as part of an accredited educational program or under a supervised
postgraduate experience in marriage and family therapy required for licensure.

Subd. 2. Duty to warn. The duty to predict, warn of, or take reasonable precautions to provide protection
from, violent behavior arises only when a client or other person has communicated to the licensee a specific,
serious threat of physical violence against a specific, clearly identified or identifiable potential victim. If a
duty to warn arises, the duty is discharged by the licensee if reasonable efforts are made to communicate
the threat.

Subd. 3. Liability standard. If no duty to warn exists under subdivision 2, then no monetary liability
and no cause of action may arise against a licensee for failure to predict, warn of, or take reasonable
precautions to provide protection from, a client's violent behavior.
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Subd. 4. Disclosure of confidences. Good faith compliance with the duty to warn shall not constitute
a breach of confidence and shall not result in monetary liability or cause of action against the licensee.

Subd. 5. Continuity of care. Nothing in subdivision 2 shall be construed to authorize a licensee to
terminate treatment of a client as a direct result of a client's violent behavior or threat of physical violence
unless the client is referred to another practitioner or appropriate health care facility.

Subd. 6. Exception. This section does not apply to a threat to commit suicide or other threats by a client
to harm the client, or to a threat by a client who is adjudicated mentally ill and dangerous under chapter
253B.

Subd. 7. Optional disclosure. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit a licensee from
disclosing confidences to third parties in a good faith effort to warn against or take precautions against a
client's violent behavior or threat to commit suicide for which a duty to warn does not arise.

Subd. 8. Limitation on liability. No monetary liability and no cause of action, or disciplinary action
by the board may arise against a licensee for disclosure of confidences to third parties, for failure to disclose
confidences to third parties, or for erroneous disclosure of confidences to third parties in a good faith effort
to warn against or take precautions against a client's violent behavior or threat of suicide for which a duty
to warn does not arise.

History: 2019 ¢ 525 18
148B.392 FEES.

Subdivision 1. Fees; Board of Marriage and Family Therapy. The board's fees, including late fees,
for licenses and renewals are established so that the total fees collected by the board will as closely as possible
equal anticipated expenditures during the fiscal biennium, as provided in section 16A.1285. Fees must be
deposited in the state government special revenue fund.

Subd. 2. Licensure and application fees. Licensure and application fees established by the board shall
not exceed the following amounts:

(1) application fee for national examination is $150;

(2) application fee for Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) license is $150;

(3) initial LMFT license fee is prorated, but cannot exceed $225;

(4) annual renewal fee for LMFT license is $225;

(5) late fee for LMFT license renewal is $100;

(6) application fee for LMFT licensure by reciprocity is $300;

(7) application fee for Licensed Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (LAMFT) license is $100;
(8) annual renewal fee for LAMFT license is $100;

(9) late fee for LAMFT license renewal is $50;

(10) fee for reinstatement of LMFT or LAMFT license is $150;

(11) fee for LMFT emeritus license status is $225;

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes



148B.392 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024 18

(12) fee for temporary license for members of the military is $100; and

(13) fee for LMFT guest license is $150.

Subd. 3. Other fees. Other fees charged by the board are as follows:

(1) sponsor application fee for approval of a continuing education course is $60;

(2) fee for license verification by mail is $10;

(3) duplicate license fee is $25;

(4) duplicate renewal card fee is $10;

(5) fee for licensee mailing list is $60;

(6) fee for a rule book is $10; and

(7) fees as authorized by section 148B.37, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (7).

Subd. 4. Nonrefundable fees. All fees in this section are nonrefundable.

History: 2019 ¢ 525 19, 2023 c 70 art 6 s 17, 2024 c 127 art 24 s 2
148B.40 MS 1990 [Repealed, 1987 ¢ 347 art 4 s 11; 1991 ¢ 292 art 2 s 75]
148B.41 MS 1990 [Repealed, 1987 ¢ 347 art 4 s 11; 1991 ¢ 292 art 2 s 75]
148B.42 MS 1990 [Repealed, 1987 ¢ 347 art 4 s 11; 1991 ¢ 292 art 2 s 75]
148B.43 MS 1990 [Repealed, 1987 ¢ 347 art 4 s 11; 1991 ¢ 292 art 2 s 75]
148B.44 MS 1990 [Repealed, 1987 ¢ 347 art 4 s 11; 1991 ¢ 292 art 2 s 75]
148B.45 MS 1990 [Repealed, 1987 ¢ 347 art 4 s 11; 1991 ¢ 292 art 2 s 75]
148B.46 MS 1990 [Repealed, 1987 ¢ 347 art 4 s 11; 1991 ¢ 292 art 2 s 75]
148B.47 MS 1990 [Repealed, 1987 ¢ 347 art 4 s 11; 1991 ¢ 292 art 2 s 75]
148B.48 MS 1990 [Repealed, 1991 ¢ 292 art 2 s 75]

LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING
148B.50 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Applicability. For the purposes of sections 148B.50 to 148B.593, the following terms
have the meanings given.

Subd. 2. Approved supervisor. "Approved supervisor" means a licensed professional counselor, licensed
psychologist, or other qualified supervisor as determined by the board, who has four years of professional
counseling experience and documents to the board the completion of a training in counseling supervision
that included content and experiences relevant to the supervision of professional counselors.

Subd. 3. Board. "Board" means the Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy established by section
148B.51.
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Subd. 4. Licensed professional counseling. "Licensed professional counseling" means the application
of counseling, human development, and mental health research, principles, and procedures to maintain and
enhance the mental health, development, personal and interpersonal effectiveness, and adjustment to work
and life of individuals and families.

Subd. 5. Scope of practice. (a) The scope of practice of a licensed professional counselor includes, but
is not limited to:

(1) the implementation of professional counseling treatment interventions including evaluation, treatment
planning, assessment, and referral;

(2) direct counseling services to individuals, groups, and families;

(3) counseling strategies that effectively respond to multicultural populations;
(4) knowledge of relevant laws and ethics impacting practice;

(5) crisis intervention;

(6) consultation; and

(7) program evaluation and applied research.

(b) For the purposes of paragraph (a), clause (1), "professional counseling treatment interventions"
means the application of cognitive, affective, behavioral, systemic, and community counseling strategies
which include principles of human development, wellness, and pathology. Counselors provide mental health
services for clients whose symptoms significantly interfere with daily functioning and would most likely
not improve in a reasonable time period without intervention.

(c) Licensed professional counseling does not include activities or services undertaken by persons listed
in section 148B.592, or the performance of any act that licensed professional counselors are not educated
and trained to perform.

History: 2003 ¢ 118 s 4; 2007 ¢ 123 s 37
148B.51 BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND THERAPY.

(a) The Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy consists of 13 members appointed by the governor.
Five of the members shall be professional counselors licensed or eligible for licensure under sections 148B.50
to 148B.593. Five of the members shall be alcohol and drug counselors licensed under chapter 148F. Three
of the members shall be public members as defined in section 214.02. The board shall annually elect from
its membership a chair and vice-chair. The board shall appoint and employ an executive director who is not
a member of the board. The employment of the executive director shall be subject to the terms described in
section 214.04, subdivision 2a. Chapter 214 applies to the Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy unless
superseded by sections 148B.50 to 148B.593.

(b) At the time of their appointments, at least three members must reside outside of the seven-county
metropolitan area.

(c) At the time of their appointments, at least three members must be members of’

(1) a community of color; or

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes



148B.51 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024 20
(2) an underrepresented community, defined as a group that is not represented in the majority with
respect to race, ethnicity, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity, or physical ability.
History: 2003 ¢ 118 s 5, 2004 ¢ 279 art 11 s 5, 2012 ¢ 197 art 2 s 44, 1Sp2021 ¢ 7 art 4 s 10
148B.52 DUTIES OF THE BOARD.
(a) The Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy shall:

(1) establish by rule appropriate techniques, including examinations and other methods, for determining
whether applicants and licensees are qualified under sections 148B.50 to 148B.593;

(2) establish by rule standards for professional conduct, including adoption of a Code of Professional
Ethics and requirements for continuing education and supervision;

(3) issue licenses to individuals qualified under sections 148B.50 to 148B.593;

(4) establish by rule standards for initial education including coursework for licensure and content of
professional education;

(5) establish, maintain, and publish annually a register of current licensees and approved supervisors;

(6) establish initial and renewal application and examination fees sufficient to cover operating expenses
of the board and its agents in accordance with section 16A.1283;

(7) educate the public about the existence and content of the laws and rules for licensed professional
counselors to enable consumers to file complaints against licensees who may have violated the rules; and

(8) periodically evaluate its rules in order to refine the standards for licensing professional counselors
and to improve the methods used to enforce the board's standards.

(b) The board may appoint a professional discipline committee for each occupational licensure regulated
by the board, and may appoint a board member as chair. The professional discipline committee shall consist
of five members representative of the licensed occupation and shall provide recommendations to the board
with regard to rule techniques, standards, procedures, and related issues specific to the licensed occupation.

History: 2003 ¢ 118 s 6, 2004 c 279 art 5 s 1, 1Sp2011 c 9 art 55 10
148B.53 REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE.

Subdivision 1. General requirements. (a) To be licensed as a licensed professional counselor (LPC),
an applicant must provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant:

(1) is at least 18 years of age;
(2) is of good moral character;

(3) has completed a master's or doctoral degree program in counseling or a related field, as determined
by the board based on the criteria in paragraph (b), that includes a minimum of 48 semester hours or 72
quarter hours and a supervised field experience of not fewer than 700 hours that is counseling in nature;

(4) has submitted to the board a plan for supervision during the first 2,000 hours of professional practice
or has submitted proof of supervised professional practice that is acceptable to the board; and
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(5) has demonstrated competence in professional counseling by passing the National Counseling Exam
(NCE) administered by the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC) or an equivalent national
examination as determined by the board, and ethical, oral, and situational examinations if prescribed by the
board.

(b) The degree described in paragraph (a), clause (3), must be from a counseling program recognized
by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP) or from an
institution of higher education that is accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by the
Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). Specific academic course content and training must
include course work in each of the following subject areas:

(1) the helping relationship, including counseling theory and practice;
(2) human growth and development;

(3) lifestyle and career development;

(4) group dynamics, processes, counseling, and consulting;

(5) assessment and appraisal;

(6) social and cultural foundations, including multicultural issues;

(7) principles of etiology, treatment planning, and prevention of mental and emotional disorders and
dysfunctional behavior;

(8) family counseling and therapy;
(9) research and evaluation; and
(10) professional counseling orientation and ethics.

(c) To be licensed as a professional counselor, a Minnesota licensed psychologist need only show
evidence of licensure from the Minnesota Board of Psychology and is not required to comply with paragraph

(a) or (b).

Subd. 1a. Expedited and temporary licensing for former and current members of the military. (a)
Applicants seeking licensure according to this subdivision must be:

(1) an active duty military member;
(2) the spouse of an active duty military member; or

(3) a veteran who has left service in the two years preceding the date of license application, and has
confirmation of an honorable or general discharge status.

(b) A qualified applicant under this subdivision must provide evidence of:

(1) a current valid license, certificate, or permit in another state without history of disciplinary action
by a regulatory authority in the other state; and

(2) a current criminal background study without a criminal conviction that is determined by the board
to adversely affect the applicant's ability to become licensed.
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(¢) A temporary license issued under this subdivision is effective for one year from the initial licensure
date.

(d) During the temporary license period, the individual shall complete the licensed professional counselor
application for licensure.

(e) In order to remain licensed after the expiration of the temporary license, an individual must meet the
requirements in subdivision 1, paragraphs (a) and (b).

Subd. 2. MS 2004 [Expired, 2003 ¢ 118 s 7]

Subd. 3. Fee. Nonrefundable fees are as follows:

(1) initial license application fee for licensed professional counseling (LPC) - $150;
(2) initial license fee for LPC - $250;

(3) annual active license renewal fee for LPC - $250 or equivalent;

(4) annual inactive license renewal fee for LPC - $125;

(5) initial license application fee for licensed professional clinical counseling (LPCC) - $150;
(6) initial license fee for LPCC - $250;

(7) annual active license renewal fee for LPCC - $250 or equivalent;

(8) annual inactive license renewal fee for LPCC - $125;

(9) license renewal late fee - $100 per month or portion thereof;

(10) copy of board order or stipulation - $10;

(11) certificate of good standing or license verification - $25;

(12) duplicate certificate fee - $25;

(13) professional firm renewal fee - $25;

(14) sponsor application for approval of a continuing education course - $60;

(15) initial registration fee - $50;

(16) annual registration renewal fee - $25;

(17) approved supervisor application processing fee - $30; and

(18) temporary license for members of the military - $250.

History: 2003 c 118 s 7, 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 2,3, 2005 ¢ 147 art 5 s 1,2; 2007 ¢ 123 5 38,39, 2007 ¢ 147
art9s 30; 2014 c 312 art4s 13; 2015c 77 art 2 s 21; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 11 s 48

148B.5301 LICENSED PROFESSIONAL CLINICAL COUNSELOR.

Subdivision 1. General requirements. (a) To be licensed as a licensed professional clinical counselor
(LPCC), an applicant must provide satisfactory evidence to the board that the applicant:
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(1) is at least 18 years of age;
(2) is of good moral character;

(3) has completed a master's or doctoral degree program in counseling or a related field, as determined
by the board based on the criteria in items (i) to (x), that includes a minimum of 48 semester hours or 72
quarter hours and a supervised field experience in counseling that is not fewer than 700 hours. The degree
must be from a counseling program recognized by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related
Education Programs (CACREP) or from an institution of higher education that is accredited by a regional
accrediting organization recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). Specific
academic course content and training must include coursework in each of the following subject areas:

(1) helping relationship, including counseling theory and practice;
(i1) human growth and development;

(iii) lifestyle and career development;

(iv) group dynamics, processes, counseling, and consulting;

(v) assessment and appraisal;

(vi) social and cultural foundations, including multicultural issues;

(vii) principles of etiology, treatment planning, and prevention of mental and emotional disorders and
dysfunctional behavior;

(viii) family counseling and therapy;
(ix) research and evaluation; and
(x) professional counseling orientation and ethics;

(4) has demonstrated competence in professional counseling by passing the National Clinical Mental
Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE), administered by the National Board for Certified Counselors,
Inc. (NBCC) and ethical, oral, and situational examinations as prescribed by the board;

(5) has earned graduate-level semester credits or quarter-credit equivalents in the following clinical
content areas:

(1) six credits in diagnostic assessment for child or adult mental disorders; normative development; and
psychopathology, including developmental psychopathology;

(ii) three credits in clinical treatment planning, with measurable goals;

(iii) six credits in clinical intervention methods informed by research evidence and community standards
of practice;

(iv) three credits in evaluation methodologies regarding the effectiveness of interventions;
(v) three credits in professional ethics applied to clinical practice; and

(vi) three credits in cultural diversity; and
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(6) has demonstrated successful completion of 4,000 hours of supervised, post-master's degree professional
practice in the delivery of clinical services in the diagnosis and treatment of child and adult mental illnesses
and disorders, conducted according to subdivision 2.

(b) If coursework in paragraph (a) was not completed as part of the degree program required by paragraph
(a), clause (3), the coursework must be taken and passed for credit, and must be earned from a counseling
program or institution that meets the requirements of paragraph (a), clause (3).

Subd. 2. Supervision. (a) To qualify as a LPCC, an applicant must have completed 4,000 hours of
post-master's degree supervised professional practice in the delivery of clinical services in the diagnosis and
treatment of mental illnesses and disorders in both children and adults. The supervised practice shall be
conducted according to the requirements in paragraphs (b) to (e).

(b) The supervision must have been received under a contract that defines clinical practice and supervision
from a mental health professional who is qualified according to section 2451.04, subdivision 2, or by a
board-approved supervisor, who has at least two years of postlicensure experience in the delivery of clinical
services in the diagnosis and treatment of mental illnesses and disorders. All supervisors must meet the
supervisor requirements in Minnesota Rules, part 2150.5010.

(¢) The supervision must be obtained at the rate of two hours of supervision per 40 hours of professional
practice. The supervision must be evenly distributed over the course of the supervised professional practice.
At least 75 percent of the required supervision hours must be received in person or through real-time, two-way
interactive audio and visual communication, and the board must allow an applicant to satisfy this supervision
requirement with all required hours of supervision received through real-time, two-way interactive audio
and visual communication. The remaining 25 percent of the required hours may be received by telephone
or by audio or audiovisual electronic device. At least 50 percent of the required hours of supervision must
be received on an individual basis. The remaining 50 percent may be received in a group setting.

(d) The supervised practice must include at least 1,800 hours of clinical client contact.

(e) The supervised practice must be clinical practice. Supervision includes the observation by the
supervisor of the successful application of professional counseling knowledge, skills, and values in the
differential diagnosis and treatment of psychosocial function, disability, or impairment, including addictions
and emotional, mental, and behavioral disorders.

Subd. 3. MS 2010 [Expired, 2007 ¢ 123 s 40 para (c)]
Subd. 3a. MS 2012 [Expired, 2012 ¢ 197 art 3 s 2]

Subd. 4. Conversion to licensed professional clinical counselor after August 1,2014. (a) After August
1, 2014, an individual currently licensed in the state of Minnesota as a licensed professional counselor may
convert to a LPCC by providing evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has met the following
requirements:

(1) is at least 18 years of age;
(2) is of good moral character;
(3) has a license that is active and in good standing;

(4) has no complaints pending, uncompleted disciplinary order, or corrective action agreements;
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(5) has completed a master's or doctoral degree program in counseling or a related field, as determined
by the board, and whose degree was from a counseling program recognized by CACREP or from an institution
of higher education that is accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by CHEA;

(6) has earned 24 graduate-level semester credits or quarter-credit equivalents in clinical coursework
which includes content in the following clinical areas:

(1) diagnostic assessment for child or adult mental disorders; normative development; and
psychopathology, including developmental psychopathology;

(ii) clinical treatment planning with measurable goals;

(iii) clinical intervention methods informed by research evidence and community standards of practice;
(iv) evaluation methodologies regarding the effectiveness of interventions;

(v) professional ethics applied to clinical practice; and

(vi) cultural diversity;

(7) has demonstrated competence in professional counseling by passing the National Clinical Mental
Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE), administered by the National Board for Certified Counselors,
Inc. (NBCC), and ethical, oral, and situational examinations as prescribed by the board;

(8) has demonstrated, to the satisfaction of the board, successful completion of 4,000 hours of supervised,
post-master's degree professional practice in the delivery of clinical services in the diagnosis and treatment
of child and adult mental illnesses and disorders, which includes 1,800 direct client contact hours. A licensed
professional counselor who has completed 2,000 hours of supervised post-master's degree clinical professional
practice and who has independent practice status need only document 2,000 additional hours of supervised
post-master's degree clinical professional practice, which includes 900 direct client contact hours; and

(9) has paid the LPCC application and licensure fees required in section 148B.53, subdivision 3.

(b) If the coursework in paragraph (a) was not completed as part of the degree program required by
paragraph (a), clause (5), the coursework must be taken and passed for credit, and must be earned from a
counseling program or institution that meets the requirements in paragraph (a), clause (5).

Subd. 4a. Expedited and temporary licensing for former and current members of the military. (a)
Applicants seeking licensure according to this subdivision must be:

(1) an active duty military member;
(2) the spouse of an active duty military member; or

(3) a veteran who has left service in the two years preceding the date of license application, and has
confirmation of an honorable or general discharge status.

(b) A qualified applicant under paragraph (a) must provide evidence of:

(1) a current valid license, certificate, or permit in another state without history of disciplinary action
by a regulatory authority in the other state; and

(2) a current criminal background study without a criminal conviction that is determined by the board
to adversely affect the applicant's ability to become licensed.
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(¢) A temporary license issued under this subdivision is effective for one year from the initial licensure
date.

(d) During the temporary license period, the individual shall complete the licensed professional clinical
counselor application for licensure.

(e) In order to remain licensed after the expiration of the temporary license, an individual must meet the
requirements in subdivisions 1 and 2.

Subd. 5. Scope of practice. The scope of practice of a LPCC shall include all those services provided
by mental health professionals as defined in sections 245.462, subdivision 18, and 245.4871, subdivision
27.

Subd. 6. Jurisdiction. LPCC's are subject to the board's statutes and rules to the same extent as licensed
professional counselors.

History: 2007 ¢ 123 s 40; 2012 ¢ 197 art 35 1-3; 2014 ¢ 291 art 45 25,26, 2015 ¢ 77 art 2 s 22; 2021
c30art17s7;2022¢c 98 art3s2; 2023 ¢ 25 s 54

148B.531 POSTDEGREE COMPLETION OF DEGREE REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE.

An individual whose degree upon which licensure is to be based included less than 48 semester hours
or 72 quarter hours, who did not complete 700 hours of supervised professional practice as part of the degree
program, or who did not complete course work in all of the content areas required by section 148B.53,
subdivision 1, paragraph (b), may complete these requirements postdegree in order to obtain licensure, if:

(1) all course work and field experiences are completed through an institution of higher education that
is accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by the Council for Higher Education
Accreditation (CHEA) or through a counseling program recognized by the Council for Accreditation of
Counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP);

(2) all course work and field experiences are taken and passed for credit; and

(3) no more than 20 semester credits or 30 quarter credits are completed postdegree for purposes of
licensure unless the credits are earned as part of an organized sequence of study.

History: 2005 ¢ 147 art 5 s 3
148B.532 DEGREES FROM FOREIGN INSTITUTIONS.

Subdivision 1. Scope and documentation. In addition to meeting all other licensure requirements, an
applicant for licensure whose degree was received from a foreign degree program that is not recognized by
the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP) or from a foreign
institution of higher education that is not accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by
the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) must fulfill the requirements of this section,
providing certified English translations of board-required relevant documentation.

Subd. 2. Education evaluation. An applicant for licensure as a licensed professional counselor must
present evidence of completion of a degree equivalent to that required in section 148B.53, subdivision 1,
paragraphs (a), clause (3), and (b). An applicant for licensure as a licensed professional clinical counselor
must present evidence of completion of a degree equivalent to that required in section 148B.5301, subdivision
1, paragraph (a), clause (3). This evidence must be evaluated by the board with the assistance of a credentials
evaluation service familiar with educational standards and professional qualification. The evaluation must
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be sent directly to the board from the evaluating agency. Agencies providing evaluation services must be
accepted by the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. The applicant shall be responsible for the
expenses incurred as a result of the evaluation.

History: 2007 ¢ 123 s 41
148B.54 LICENSE RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Renewal. Licensees shall renew licenses at the time and in the manner established by
the rules of the board.

Subd. 2. Continuing education. (a) At the completion of the first four years of licensure, a licensee
must provide evidence satisfactory to the board of completion of 12 additional postgraduate semester credit
hours or its equivalent in counseling as determined by the board, except that no licensee shall be required
to show evidence of greater than 60 semester hours or its equivalent. In addition to completing the requisite
graduate coursework, each licensee shall also complete in the first four years of licensure a minimum of 40
hours of continuing education activities approved by the board under Minnesota Rules, part 2150.2540.
Graduate credit hours successfully completed in the first four years of licensure may be applied to both the
graduate credit requirement and to the requirement for 40 hours of continuing education activities. A licensee
may receive 15 continuing education hours per semester credit hour or ten continuing education hours per
quarter credit hour. Thereafter, at the time of renewal, each licensee shall provide evidence satisfactory to
the board that the licensee has completed during each two-year period at least the equivalent of 40 clock
hours of professional postdegree continuing education in programs approved by the board and continues to
be qualified to practice under sections 148B.50 to 148B.593.

(b) At least four of the required 40 continuing education clock hours must be on increasing the knowledge,
understanding, self-awareness, and practice skills that enable a licensed professional counselor and licensed
professional clinical counselor to serve clients from diverse socioeconomic and cultural backgrounds. Topics
include but are not limited to:

(1) understanding culture, culture's functions, and strengths that exist in varied cultures;

(2) understanding clients' cultures and differences among and between cultural groups;

(3) understanding the nature of social diversity and oppression; and

(4) understanding cultural humility.

Subd. 3. Relicensure following termination. An individual whose license was terminated and who can
demonstrate completion of the graduate credit requirement in subdivision 2, does not need to comply with
the continuing education requirement of Minnesota Rules, part 2150.2520, subpart 4, or with the continuing

education requirements for relicensure following termination in Minnesota Rules, part 2150.0130, subpart
2. This section does not apply to an individual whose license has been canceled.

History: 2003 ¢ 118 s 8, 2004 c 279 art 5 s 4, 2005 c 147 art 55 4, 2010 ¢c 248 s 1, 2012 ¢ 197 art 3 s
4,5; 1Sp2021 c 7 art4 s 11

148B.55 MS 2006 [Repealed, 2007 ¢ 13 art 2 s 10]

148B.555 MS 2007 Supp [Expired, 2005 ¢ 147 art 55 5; 2007 ¢ 123 s 42]
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148B.56 RECIPROCITY.

Subdivision 1. Persons licensed in another jurisdiction for less than five years. The board may issue
a license to an individual who holds a current license or other credential from another jurisdiction if the
board finds that the requirements for that credential are substantially similar to the requirements in sections
148B.50 to 148B.593.

Subd. 2. Persons licensed in another jurisdiction for five or more years. (a) The board may issue a
license to an individual who holds a current license or other credential in good standing from another
jurisdiction if the board finds that the individual has been in active practice for a minimum of five years
after receiving licensure or other credential.

(b) The board shall determine, based on the individual's experience and qualifications, whether the
individual is granted the licensed professional counselor license or the licensed professional clinical counselor
license.

History: 2003 ¢ 118 s 10, 2019 ¢ 28 5 1
148B.561 RETALIATORY PROVISIONS.

If by the laws of any state or the rulings or decisions of the appropriate officers or boards thereof, any
burden, obligation, requirement, disqualification, or disability is put upon licensed professional counselors
licensed and in good standing in this state, affecting the right of these licensed professional counselors to
be registered or licensed in that state, then the same or like burden, obligation, requirement, disqualification,
or disability may be put upon the licensure in this state of licensed professional counselors registered in that
state.

History: 2005 ¢ 147 art 5 s 6
148B.58 NONTRANSFERABILITY OF LICENSES.
A professional counseling license is not transferable.
History: 2003 ¢ 118 s 11
148B.59 DISCIPLINARY ACTION; RESTORATION OF LICENSE.

(a) The board may impose disciplinary action as described in paragraph (b) against an applicant or
licensee whom the board, by a preponderance of the evidence, determines:

(1) has violated a statute, rule, or order that the board issued or is empowered to enforce;

(2) has engaged in fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest conduct, whether or not the conduct relates to the
practice of licensed professional counseling, that adversely affects the person's ability or fitness to practice
professional counseling;

(3) has engaged in unprofessional conduct or any other conduct which has the potential for causing harm
to the public, including any departure from or failure to conform to the minimum standards of acceptable
and prevailing practice without actual injury having to be established;

(4) has been convicted of or has pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony or other crime, an element
of which is dishonesty or fraud, or has been shown to have engaged in acts or practices tending to show that
the applicant or licensee is incompetent or has engaged in conduct reflecting adversely on the applicant's or
licensee's ability or fitness to engage in the practice of professional counseling;
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(5) has employed fraud or deception in obtaining or renewing a license, or in passing an examination;

(6) has had any counseling license, certificate, registration, privilege to take an examination, or other
similar authority denied, revoked, suspended, canceled, limited, or not renewed for cause in any jurisdiction
or has surrendered or voluntarily terminated a license or certificate during a board investigation of a complaint,
as part of a disciplinary order, or while under a disciplinary order;

(7) has failed to meet any requirement for the issuance or renewal of the person's license. The burden
of proof is on the applicant or licensee to demonstrate the qualifications or satisfy the requirements for a
license under the Licensed Professional Counseling Act;

(8) has failed to cooperate with an investigation of the board;

(9) has demonstrated an inability to practice professional counseling with reasonable skill and safety to
clients due to any mental or physical illness or condition;

(10) has engaged in fee splitting. This clause does not apply to the distribution of revenues from a
partnership, group practice, nonprofit corporation, or professional corporation to its partners, shareholders,
members, or employees if the revenues consist only of fees for services performed by the licensee or under
a licensee's administrative authority. Fee splitting includes, but is not limited to:

(1) dividing fees with another person or a professional corporation, unless the division is in proportion
to the services provided and the responsibility assumed by each professional;

(i) referring a client to any health care provider as defined in sections 144.291 to 144.298 in which the
referring licensee has a significant financial interest, unless the licensee has disclosed in advance to the client
the licensee's own financial interest; and

(iil) paying, offering to pay, receiving, or agreeing to receive a commission, rebate, or remuneration,
directly or indirectly, primarily for the referral of clients;

(11) has engaged in conduct with a client that is sexual or may reasonably be interpreted by the client
as sexual, or in any verbal behavior that is seductive or sexually demeaning to a client;

(12) has been subject to a corrective action or similar action in another jurisdiction or by another regulatory
authority; or

(13) has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent, mentally ill, or developmentally disabled or as a
chemically dependent person, a person dangerous to the public, a sexually dangerous person, or a person
who has a sexual psychopathic personality by a court of competent jurisdiction within this state or an
equivalent adjudication from another state. Adjudication automatically suspends a license for the duration
thereof unless the board orders otherwise.

(b) If grounds for disciplinary action exist under paragraph (a), the board may take one or more of the
following actions:

(1) refuse to grant or renew a license;
(2) revoke a license;
(3) suspend a license;

(4) impose limitations or conditions on a licensee's practice of professional counseling, including, but
not limited to, limiting the scope of practice to designated competencies, imposing retraining or rehabilitation
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requirements, requiring the licensee to practice under supervision, or conditioning continued practice on the
demonstration of knowledge or skill by appropriate examination or other review of skill and competence;

(5) censure or reprimand the licensee;

(6) refuse to permit an applicant to take the licensure examination or refuse to release an applicant's
examination grade if the board finds that it is in the public interest; or

(7) impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 for each separate violation, the amount of the civil
penalty to be fixed so as to deprive the applicant or licensee of any economic advantage gained by reason
of the violation charged, to discourage similar violations or to reimburse the board for the cost of the
investigation and proceeding, including, but not limited to, fees paid for services provided by the Office of
Administrative Hearings, legal and investigative services provided by the Office of the Attorney General,
court reporters, witnesses, reproduction of records, board members' per diem compensation, board staff
time, and travel costs and expenses incurred by board staff and board members.

(¢) In lieu of or in addition to paragraph (b), the board may require, as a condition of continued licensure,
termination of suspension, reinstatement of license, examination, or release of examination grades, that the
applicant or licensee:

(1) submit to a quality review, as specified by the board, of the applicant's or licensee's ability, skills,
or quality of work; and

(2) complete to the satisfaction of the board educational courses specified by the board.

The board may also refer a licensee, if appropriate, to the health professionals services program described
in sections 214.31 to 214.37.

(d) Service of the order is effective if the order is served on the applicant, licensee, or counsel of record
personally or by mail to the most recent address provided to the board for the licensee, applicant, or counsel
of record. The order shall state the reasons for the entry of the order.

History: 2003 ¢ 118 s 12, 2004 ¢ 279 art 55 6, 2005 ¢ 56 s 1, 2005 ¢ 147 art 55 7; 2007 ¢ 147 art 10
s15

148B.5901 TEMPORARY SUSPENSION OF LICENSE.

(a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the board may issue an order to temporarily suspend
the credentials of a licensee after conducting a preliminary inquiry to determine if the board reasonably
believes that the licensee has violated a statute or rule that the board is empowered to enforce and whether
continued practice by the licensee would create an imminent risk of harm to others.

(b) The order may prohibit the licensee from engaging in the practice of licensed professional counseling
in whole or in part and may condition the end of a suspension on the licensee's compliance with a statute,
rule, or order that the board has issued or is empowered to enforce.

(c) The order shall give notice of the right to a hearing according to this subdivision and shall state the
reasons for the entry of the order.

(d) Service of the order is effective when the order is served on the licensee personally or by certified
mail, which is complete upon receipt, refusal, or return for nondelivery to the most recent address provided
to the board for the licensee.
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(e) At the time the board issues a temporary suspension order, the board shall schedule a hearing to be
held before its own members. The hearing shall begin no later than 60 days after issuance of the temporary
suspension order or within 15 working days of the date of the board's receipt of a request for hearing by a
licensee, on the sole issue of whether there is a reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the temporary
suspension. The hearing is not subject to chapter 14. Evidence presented by the board or the licensee shall
be in affidavit form only. The licensee or counsel of record may appear for oral argument.

(f) Within five working days of the hearing, the board shall issue its order and, if the suspension is
continued, schedule a contested case hearing within 30 days of the issuance of the order. Notwithstanding
chapter 14, the administrative law judge shall issue a report within 30 days after closing the contested case
hearing record. The board shall issue a final order within 30 days of receipt of the administrative law judge's
report.

History: 2005 ¢ 147 art 5s 8

148B.5905 MENTAL, PHYSICAL, OR SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER EXAMINATION OR
EVALUATION; ACCESS TO MEDICAL DATA.

(a) If the board has probable cause to believe section 148B.59, paragraph (a), clause (9), applies to a
licensee or applicant, the board may direct the person to submit to a mental, physical, or substance use
disorder examination or evaluation. For the purpose of this section, every licensee and applicant is deemed
to have consented to submit to a mental, physical, or substance use disorder examination or evaluation when
directed in writing by the board and to have waived all objections to the admissibility of the examining
professionals' testimony or examination reports on the grounds that the testimony or examination reports
constitute a privileged communication. Failure of a licensee or applicant to submit to an examination when
directed by the board constitutes an admission of the allegations against the person, unless the failure was
due to circumstances beyond the person's control, in which case a default and final order may be entered
without the taking of testimony or presentation of evidence. A licensee or applicant affected under this
paragraph shall at reasonable intervals be given an opportunity to demonstrate that the person can resume
the competent practice of licensed professional counseling with reasonable skill and safety to the public. In
any proceeding under this paragraph, neither the record of proceedings nor the orders entered by the board
shall be used against a licensee or applicant in any other proceeding.

(b) In addition to ordering a physical or mental examination, the board may, notwithstanding section
13.384, 144.651, or any other law limiting access to medical or other health data, obtain medical data and
health records relating to a licensee or applicant without the licensee's or applicant's consent if the board
has probable cause to believe that section 148B.59, paragraph (a), clause (9), applies to the licensee or
applicant. The medical data may be requested from a provider, as defined in section 144.291, subdivision
2, paragraph (i); an insurance company; or a government agency, including the Department of Human
Services. A provider, insurance company, or government agency shall comply with any written request of
the board under this subdivision and is not liable in any action for damages for releasing the data requested
by the board if the data are released pursuant to a written request under this subdivision, unless the information
is false and the provider giving the information knew, or had reason to believe, the information was false.
Information obtained under this subdivision is classified as private under sections 13.01 to 13.87.

History: 2005 ¢ 147 art 55 9, 2007 ¢ 147 art 10 s 15; 2020 c 83 art 2 s 11; 2022 c 98 art 4 s 51
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148B.591 PROHIBITION AGAINST UNLICENSED PRACTICE OR USE OF TITLES.

Subdivision 1. Practice. After October 11, 2005, no individual may engage in the practice of licensed
professional counseling unless that individual holds a valid license or is exempt from licensure under section
148B.592.

Subd. 2. Use of titles. After October 11, 2005, no individual may be presented to the public by any title
or practice incorporating the words "licensed professional counselor” or "LPC" unless that individual holds
a valid license issued under sections 148B.50 to 148B.593.

History: 2003 ¢ 118 s 13, 2013 c 125 art I s 34
148B.5915 PROFESSIONAL COOPERATION; APPLICANT OR LICENSEE.

An applicant or a licensee who is the subject of an investigation or who is questioned in connection with
an investigation by or on behalf of the board shall cooperate fully with the investigation. Cooperation includes
responding fully and promptly to any question raised by or on behalf of the board relating to the subject of
the investigation, executing all releases requested by the board, providing copies of client and other records
in the applicant's or licensee's possession relating to the matter under investigation and executing releases
for records, as reasonably requested by the board, and appearing at conferences or hearings scheduled by
the board. The board shall pay for copies requested. The board shall be allowed access to any records of a
client provided services by the applicant or licensee under review. If the client has not signed a consent
permitting access to the client's records, the applicant or licensee shall delete any data in the record that
identifies the client before providing them to the board. The board shall maintain any records obtained under
this section as investigative data pursuant to chapter 13.

History: 2004 c 279 art 5s 7
148B.5916 IMMUNITY.

Subdivision 1. Reporting. A person, health care facility, business, or organization is immune from civil
liability or criminal prosecution for reporting to the board violations or alleged violations of sections 148B.50
to 148B.593. All such reports are classified under section 13.41.

Subd. 2. Investigation. Members of the board, persons employed by the board, and consultants retained
by the board for the purpose of investigation of violations or the preparation and management of charges of
violations of this chapter on behalf of the board are immune from civil liability and criminal prosecution
for any actions, transactions, or publications in the execution of, or relating to, their duties under sections
148B.50 to 148B.593.

History: 2004 c 279 art5s 8
148B.592 EXCEPTIONS TO LICENSE REQUIREMENT.

Subdivision 1. Other professionals. Nothing in sections 148B.50 to 148B.593 prevents members of
other professions or occupations from performing functions for which they are qualified or licensed. This
exception includes, but is not limited to, licensed physicians, registered nurses, licensed practical nurses,
licensed psychologists, probation officers, attorneys, social workers, marriage and family therapists, qualified
rehabilitation consultants, natural family planning practitioners certified by the American Academy of
Natural Family Planning, and registered occupational therapists or certified occupational therapist assistants.
These persons must not, however, use a title incorporating the words "licensed professional counselor" or
otherwise hold themselves out to the public by any title or description stating or implying that they are
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licensed to engage in the practice of professional counseling unless they are licensed under sections 148B.50
to 148B.593.

Subd. 2. Students. Nothing in sections 148B.50 to 148B.593 prevents a student, intern, or trainee enrolled
in an accredited program of professional counseling from engaging in professional counseling as part of the
supervised course of study if the person is identified as a "counselor intern."

Subd. 3. Government agencies; educational institutions. Nothing in sections 148B.50 to 148B.593
limits the activities and services of, or use of, an official title by a person employed as a counselor by a
federal, state, county, or municipal agency, or public or private educational institution if the person is
performing the activities within the scope of the person's employment.

Subd. 4. Unlicensed practitioners. (a) MS 2003 Supp [Expired, 2003 ¢ 118 s 14 subd 4 para (a)]

(b) Nothing in this section limits the authority of unlicensed complementary and alternative health care
practitioners to perform services under chapter 146A.

Subd. 5. Nonresidents. A nonresident may engage in the practice of professional counseling within the
state without a license for up to 30 days during any calendar year if the nonresident is authorized to provide
the services under the law of the state or country of residence and the nonresident has provided proof of
credentials to the board, been found qualified to render services in the state, and been granted permission
by the board to practice.

Subd. 6. Clergy. Nothing in sections 148B.50 to 148B.593 limits the activities and services of a rabbi,
priest, minister, or clergyperson of any religious denomination or sect, provided such activities and services
are within the scope of the performance of regular or specialized ministerial duties.

Subd. 7. Nonprofit organizations and charities. Nothing in sections 148B.50 to 148B.593 limits the
activities, services, and descriptions of persons offering volunteer or professional services for public or
private nonprofit organizations or charities.

History: 2003 ¢ 118 s 14
148B.5925 ASSESSMENT TOOL SECURITY.

Notwithstanding section 144.292, subdivisions 2 and 5, a provider shall not be required to provide copies
of assessment tools, assessment tool materials, or scoring keys to any individual who has completed an
assessment tool or to an individual not qualified to administer, score, and interpret the assessment tool, if
the provider reasonably determines that access would compromise the objectivity, fairness, or integrity of
the testing process for the individual or others. If the provider makes this determination, the provider shall,
at the discretion of the individual who has completed the assessment tool, release the information either to
another provider who is qualified to administer, score, and interpret the assessment tool or furnish a summary
of the assessment tool results to the individual or to a third party designated by the individual.

History: 2005 ¢ 147 art 5 s 10; 2007 ¢ 147 art 10 s 15
148B.593 DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION.

(a) A person licensed under sections 148B.50 to 148B.593 may not disclose without written consent of
the client any communication made by the client to the licensee in the course of the practice of professional
counseling, nor may any employee of the licensee reveal the information without the consent of the employer
or client except as provided under section 626.557 or chapter 260E.
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(b) For purposes of sections 148B.50 to 148B.593, the confidential relations and communications between
the licensee and a client are placed upon the same basis as those that exist between a licensed psychologist
and client. Nothing in sections 148B.50 to 148B.593 may be construed to require any communications to
be disclosed except by court order or as provided in paragraph (c).

(c) Private information may be disclosed without the consent of the client when a duty to warn arises,
or as otherwise provided by law or court order. The duty to warn of, or take reasonable precautions to provide
protection from, violent behavior arises only when a client or other person has communicated to the provider
a specific, serious threat of physical violence to self or a specific, clearly identified or identifiable potential
victim. If a duty to warn arises, the duty is discharged by the provider if reasonable efforts are made to
communicate the threat to law enforcement agencies, the potential victim, the family of the client, or
appropriate third parties who are in a position to prevent or avert the harm. No monetary liability and no
cause of action or disciplinary action by the board may arise against a provider for disclosure of confidences
to third parties, for failure to disclose confidences to third parties, or for erroneous disclosure of confidences
to third parties in a good faith effort to warn against or take precautions against a client's violent behavior
or threat of suicide.

(d) For purposes of this section, (1) "provider" includes a licensee, an applicant for licensure, and a
student or intern practicing professional counseling or professional clinical counseling under supervision as
part of an accredited graduate educational program or under a supervised postgraduate experience in
professional counseling or professional clinical counseling required for licensure; (2) "other person" means
an immediate family member or someone who personally knows the client and has reason to believe the
client is capable of and will carry out the serious, specific threat of harm to a specific, clearly identified, or
identifiable victim; and (3) "reasonable efforts" means communicating the serious, specific threat to the
potential victim and if unable to make contact with the potential victim, communicating the serious, specific
threat to the law enforcement agency closest to the potential victim of the client.

History: 2003 ¢ 118 s 15, 2019 ¢ 28 s 2; 1Sp2020 c 2 art 8 s 32
148B.60 Subdivision 1. MS 2008 [Repealed, 2003 ¢ 118 s 29; 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 10; 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 3]
Subd. 2. MS 2008 [Repealed, 2003 ¢ 118 s 29; 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 10; 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 3]
Subd. 3. MS 2008 [Repealed, 2003 ¢ 118 s 29; 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 10; 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 3]
Subd. 4. MS 2008 [Repealed, 2003 ¢ 118 s 29; 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 10; 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 3]
Subd. 5. MS 2008 [Repealed, 2003 ¢ 118 s 29; 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 10; 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 3]
Subd. 5a. MS 2008 [Repealed, 2003 ¢ 118 s 29; 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 10; 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 3]
Subd. 6. MS 1994 [Repealed, 1996 ¢ 305 art 1 s 38]
Subd. 7. MS 2004 [Repealed by amendment, 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 1]
Subd. 7a. MS 2008 [Repealed, 2003 ¢ 118 s 29; 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 10; 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 3]
Subd. 8. MS 2008 [Repealed, 2003 ¢ 118 s 29; 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 10; 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 3]
148B.61 Subdivision 1. MS 2008 [Repealed, 2003 ¢ 118 s 29; 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 10; 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 3]

Subd. 2. MS 2004 [Repealed by amendment, 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 2]
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148B.68 MS 2008 [Repealed, 2003 ¢ 118 s 29; 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 10; 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 3]
148B.69 MS 2008 [Repealed, 2003 ¢ 118 s 29; 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 10; 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 3]
148B.70 MS 2008 [Repealed, 2003 ¢ 118 s 29; 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 10; 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 3]
148B.71 MS 2008 [Repealed, 2003 ¢ 118 s 29; 2004 ¢ 279 art 5 s 10; 2005 ¢ 147 art 8 s 3]
148B.72 MS 1992 [Repealed, 1Sp1993 ¢ 1 art 9 s 75]
148B.75 LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELOR INTERSTATE COMPACT.

The licensed professional counselor interstate compact is enacted into law and entered into with all other
jurisdictions legally joining in it, in the form substantially specified in this section.

ARTICLE I
TITLE
This statute shall be known and cited as the professional counselors licensure compact.
ARTICLE I
DEFINITIONS
(a) As used in this compact, and except as otherwise provided, the following definitions shall apply.

(b) "Active duty military" means full-time duty status in the active uniformed service of the United
States, including members of the national guard and reserve on active duty orders pursuant to United States
Code, title 10, chapters 1209 and 1211.

(c) "Adverse action" means any administrative, civil, equitable, or criminal action permitted by a state's
laws which is imposed by a licensing board or other authority against a licensed professional counselor,
including actions against an individual's license or privilege to practice such as revocation, suspension,
probation, monitoring of the licensee, limitation on the licensee's practice, or any other encumbrance on
licensure affecting a licensed professional counselor's authorization to practice, including issuance of a cease
and desist action.

(d) "Alternative program" means a non-disciplinary monitoring or practice remediation process approved
by a professional counseling licensing board to address impaired practitioners.
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(e) "Continuing competence" and "continuing education" means a requirement, as a condition of license
renewal, to provide evidence of participation in, or completion of, educational and professional activities
relevant to practice or area of work.

(f) "Counseling compact commission" or "commission" means the national administrative body whose
membership consists of all states that have enacted the compact.

(g) "Current significant investigative information" means:

(1) investigative information that a licensing board, after a preliminary inquiry that includes notification
and an opportunity for the licensed professional counselor to respond, if required by state law, has reason
to believe is not groundless and, if proved true, would indicate more than a minor infraction; or

(2) investigative information that indicates that the licensed professional counselor represents an
immediate threat to public health and safety regardless of whether the licensed professional counselor has
been notified and had an opportunity to respond.

(h) "Data system" means a repository of information about licensees, including but not limited to
continuing education, examination, licensure, investigative, privilege to practice, and adverse action
information.

(i) "Encumbered license" means a license in which an adverse action restricts the practice of licensed
professional counseling by the licensee and said adverse action has been reported to the National Practitioners
Data Bank (NPDB).

() "Encumbrance" means a revocation or suspension of, or any limitation on, the full and unrestricted
practice of licensed professional counseling by a licensing board.

(k) "Executive committee" means a group of directors elected or appointed to act on behalf of, and
within the powers granted to them by, the commission.

(1) "Home state" means the member state that is the licensee's primary state of residence.

(m) "Impaired practitioner" means an individual who has a condition that may impair their ability to
practice as a licensed professional counselor without some type of intervention and may include but is not
limited to alcohol and drug dependence, mental health impairment, and neurological or physical impairment.

(n) "Investigative information" means information, records, and documents received or generated by a
professional counseling licensing board pursuant to an investigation.

(o) "Jurisprudence requirement," if required by a member state, means the assessment of an individual's
knowledge of the laws and rules governing the practice of professional counseling in a state.
g g g p p g

(p) "Licensed professional counselor" means a counselor licensed by a member state, regardless of the
title used by that state, to independently assess, diagnose, and treat behavioral health conditions.

(q) "Licensee" means an individual who currently holds an authorization from the state to practice as a
licensed professional counselor.

(r) "Licensing board" means the agency of a state, or equivalent, that is responsible for the licensing and
regulation of licensed professional counselors.

(s) "Member state" means a state that has enacted the compact.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes



37 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024 148B.75
(t) "Privilege to practice" means a legal authorization, which is equivalent to a license, permitting the
practice of professional counseling in a remote state.

(u) "Professional counseling” means the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of behavioral health
conditions by a licensed professional counselor.

(v) "Remote state" means a member state other than the home state, where a licensee is exercising or
seeking to exercise the privilege to practice.

(w) "Rule" means a regulation promulgated by the commission that has the force of law.

(x) "Single state license" means a licensed professional counselor license issued by a member state that
authorizes practice only within the issuing state and does not include a privilege to practice in any other
member state.

(y) "State" means any state, commonwealth, district, or territory of the United States that regulates the
practice of professional counseling.

(z) "Telehealth" means the application of telecommunication technology to deliver professional counseling
services remotely to assess, diagnose, and treat behavioral health conditions.

(aa) "Unencumbered license" means a license that authorizes a licensed professional counselor to engage
in the full and unrestricted practice of professional counseling.

ARTICLE III
STATE PARTICIPATION IN THE COMPACT
(a) To participate in the compact, a state must currently:
(1) license and regulate licensed professional counselors;
(2) require licensees to pass a nationally recognized exam approved by the commission;

(3) require licensees to have a 60 semester-hour or 90 quarter-hour master's degree in counseling or 60
semester-hours or 90 quarter-hours of graduate coursework including the following topic areas:

(1) professional counseling orientation and ethical practice;
(ii) social and cultural diversity;

(ii1) human growth and development;

(iv) career development;

(v) counseling and helping relationships;

(vi) group counseling and group work;

(vii) diagnosis and treatment; assessment and testing;
(viii) research and program evaluation; and

(ix) other areas as determined by the commission;
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(4) require licensees to complete a supervised postgraduate professional experience as defined by the
commission; and

(5) have a mechanism in place for receiving and investigating complaints about licensees.
(b) A member state shall:

(1) participate fully in the commission's data system, including using the commission's unique identifier
as defined in rules;

(2) notify the commission, in compliance with the terms of the compact and rules, of any adverse action
or the availability of investigative information regarding a licensee;

(3) implement or utilize procedures for considering the criminal history records of applicants for an
initial privilege to practice. These procedures shall include the submission of fingerprints or other
biometric-based information by applicants for the purpose of obtaining an applicant's criminal history record
information from the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the agency responsible for retaining that state's
criminal records;

(i) a member state must fully implement a criminal background check requirement, within a time frame
established by rule, by receiving the results of the Federal Bureau of Investigation record search and shall
use the results in making licensure decisions; and

(i) communication between a member state, the commission, and among member states regarding the
verification of eligibility for licensure through the compact shall not include any information received from
the Federal Bureau of Investigation relating to a federal criminal records check performed by a member
state under Public Law 92-544;

(4) comply with the rules of the commission;

(5) require an applicant to obtain or retain a license in the home state and meet the home state's
qualifications for licensure or renewal of licensure, as well as all other applicable state laws;

(6) grant the privilege to practice to a licensee holding a valid unencumbered license in another member
state in accordance with the terms of the compact and rules; and

(7) provide for the attendance of the state's commissioner to the counseling compact commission meetings.
(c) Member states may charge a fee for granting the privilege to practice.

(d) Individuals not residing in a member state shall continue to be able to apply for a member state's
single state license as provided under the laws of each member state. However, the single state license
granted to these individuals shall not be recognized as granting a privilege to practice professional counseling
in any other member state.

(e) Nothing in this compact shall affect the requirements established by a member state for the issuance
of a single state license.

(f) A license issued to a licensed professional counselor by a home state to a resident in that state shall
be recognized by each member state as authorizing a licensed professional counselor to practice professional
counseling, under a privilege to practice, in each member state.

ARTICLE IV
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PRIVILEGE TO PRACTICE

(a) To exercise the privilege to practice under the terms and provisions of the compact, the licensee
shall:

(1) hold a license in the home state;
(2) have a valid United States Social Security number or national practitioner identifier;

(3) be eligible for a privilege to practice in any member state in accordance with this article, paragraphs
(d), (g), and (h);

(4) have not had any encumbrance or restriction against any license or privilege to practice within the
previous two years;

(5) notify the commission that the licensee is seeking the privilege to practice within a remote state(s);
(6) pay any applicable fees, including any state fee, for the privilege to practice;
(7) meet any continuing competence or education requirements established by the home state;

(8) meet any jurisprudence requirements established by the remote state in which the licensee is seeking
a privilege to practice; and

(9) report to the commission any adverse action, encumbrance, or restriction on license taken by any
nonmember state within 30 days from the date the action is taken.

(b) The privilege to practice is valid until the expiration date of the home state license. The licensee
must comply with the requirements of this article, paragraph (a), to maintain the privilege to practice in the
remote state.

(c) A licensee providing professional counseling in a remote state under the privilege to practice shall
adhere to the laws and regulations of the remote state.

(d) A licensee providing professional counseling services in a remote state is subject to that state's
regulatory authority. A remote state may, in accordance with due process and that state's laws, remove a
licensee's privilege to practice in the remote state for a specific period of time, impose fines, or take any
other necessary actions to protect the health and safety of its citizens. The licensee may be ineligible for a
privilege to practice in any member state until the specific time for removal has passed and all fines are paid.

(e) If a home state license is encumbered, the licensee shall lose the privilege to practice in any remote
state until the following occur:

(1) the home state license is no longer encumbered; and

(2) have not had any encumbrance or restriction against any license or privilege to practice within the
previous two years.

(f) Once an encumbered license in the home state is restored to good standing, the licensee must meet
the requirements of this article, paragraph (a), to obtain a privilege to practice in any remote state.

(g) If alicensee's privilege to practice in any remote state is removed, the individual may lose the privilege
to practice in all other remote states until the following occur:

(1) the specific period of time for which the privilege to practice was removed has ended;
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(2) all fines have been paid; and

(3) have not had any encumbrance or restriction against any license or privilege to practice within the
previous two years.

(h) Once the requirements of this article, paragraph (g), have been met, the licensee must meet the
requirements in this article, paragraph (a), to obtain a privilege to practice in a remote state.

ARTICLE V
OBTAINING A NEW HOME STATE LICENSE BASED ON A PRIVILEGE TO PRACTICE

(a) A licensed professional counselor may hold a home state license, which allows for a privilege to
practice in other member states, in only one member state at a time.

(b) If a licensed professional counselor changes primary state of residence by moving between two
member states:

(1) the licensed professional counselor shall file an application for obtaining a new home state license
based on a privilege to practice, pay all applicable fees, and notify the current and new home state in
accordance with applicable rules adopted by the commission;

(2) upon receipt of an application for obtaining a new home state license by virtue of a privilege to
practice, the new home state shall verify that the licensed professional counselor meets the pertinent criteria
outlined in article IV via the data system, without need for primary source verification, except for:

(1) a Federal Bureau of Investigation fingerprint-based criminal background check if not previously
performed or updated pursuant to applicable rules adopted by the commission in accordance with Public
Law 92-544;

(i1) other criminal background checks as required by the new home state; and
(ii1) completion of any requisite jurisprudence requirements of the new home state;

(3) the former home state shall convert the former home state license into a privilege to practice once
the new home state has activated the new home state license in accordance with applicable rules adopted
by the commission;

(4) notwithstanding any other provision of this compact, if the licensed professional counselor cannot
meet the criteria in article VI, the new home state may apply its requirements for issuing a new single state
license; and

(5) the licensed professional counselor shall pay all applicable fees to the new home state in order to be
issued a new home state license.

(c) If a licensed professional counselor changes primary state of residence by moving from a member
state to a nonmember state, or from a nonmember state to a member state, the state criteria shall apply for
issuance of a single state license in the new state.

(d) Nothing in this compact shall interfere with a licensee's ability to hold a single state license in multiple
states, however, for the purposes of this compact, a licensee shall have only one home state license.

(e) Nothing in this compact shall affect the requirements established by a member state for the issuance
of a single state license.
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ARTICLE VI
ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY PERSONNEL OR THEIR SPOUSES

Active duty military personnel, or their spouse, shall designate a home state where the individual has a
current license in good standing. The individual may retain the home state designation during the period the
service member is on active duty. Subsequent to designating a home state, the individual shall only change
their home state through application for licensure in the new state or through the process outlined in article
V.

ARTICLE VII
COMPACT PRIVILEGE TO PRACTICE TELEHEALTH

(a) Member states shall recognize the right of a licensed professional counselor, licensed by a home
state in accordance with article III and under rules promulgated by the commission, to practice professional
counseling in any member state via telehealth under a privilege to practice as provided in the compact and
rules promulgated by the commission.

(b) A licensee providing professional counseling services in a remote state under the privilege to practice
shall adhere to the laws and regulations of the remote state.

ARTICLE VIII
ADVERSE ACTIONS

(a) In addition to the other powers conferred by state law, a remote state shall have the authority, in
accordance with existing state due process law, to:

(1) take adverse action against a licensed professional counselor's privilege to practice within that member
state; and

(2) issue subpoenas for both hearings and investigations that require the attendance and testimony of
witnesses as well as the production of evidence. Subpoenas issued by a licensing board in a member state
for the attendance and testimony of witnesses or the production of evidence from another member state shall
be enforced in the latter state by any court of competent jurisdiction according to the practice and procedure
of that court applicable to subpoenas issued in proceedings pending before it. The issuing authority shall
pay any witness fees, travel expenses, mileage, and other fees required by the service statutes of the state in
which the witnesses or evidence are located.

(b) Only the home state shall have the power to take adverse action against a licensed professional
counselor's license issued by the home state.

(c) For purposes of taking adverse action, the home state shall give the same priority and effect to
reported conduct received from a member state as it would if the conduct had occurred within the home
state. In so doing, the home state shall apply its own state laws to determine appropriate action.

(d) The home state shall complete any pending investigations of a licensed professional counselor who
changes primary state of residence during the course of the investigations. The home state shall also have
the authority to take appropriate action and shall promptly report the conclusions of the investigations to
the administrator of the data system. The administrator of the coordinated licensure information system shall
promptly notify the new home state of any adverse actions.
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(¢) A member state, if otherwise permitted by state law, may recover from the affected licensed
professional counselor the costs of investigations and dispositions of cases resulting from any adverse action
taken against that licensed professional counselor.

(f) A member state may take adverse action based on the factual findings of the remote state, provided
that the member state follows its own procedures for taking the adverse action.

(g) Joint investigations:

(1) in addition to the authority granted to a member state by its respective professional counseling
practice act or other applicable state law, any member state may participate with other member states in
joint investigations of licensees; and

(2) member states shall share any investigative, litigation, or compliance materials in furtherance of any
joint or individual investigation initiated under the compact.

(h) If adverse action is taken by the home state against the license of a licensed professional counselor,
the licensed professional counselor's privilege to practice in all other member states shall be deactivated
until all encumbrances have been removed from the state license. All home state disciplinary orders that
impose adverse action against the license of a licensed professional counselor shall include a statement that
the licensed professional counselor's privilege to practice is deactivated in all member states during the
pendency of the order.

(1) If a member state takes adverse action, it shall promptly notify the administrator of the data system.
The administrator of the data system shall promptly notify the home state of any adverse actions by remote
states.

(j) Nothing in this compact shall override a member state's decision that participation in an alternative
program may be used in lieu of adverse action.

ARTICLE IX
ESTABLISHMENT OF COUNSELING COMPACT COMMISSION

(a) The compact member states hereby create and establish a joint public agency known as the counseling
compact commission:

(1) the commission is an instrumentality of the compact states;

(2) except as provided under paragraph (i), venue is proper and judicial proceedings by or against the
commission shall be brought solely and exclusively in a court of competent jurisdiction where the principal
office of the commission is located. The commission may waive venue and jurisdictional defenses to the
extent it adopts or consents to participate in alternative dispute resolution proceedings; and

(3) nothing in this compact shall be construed to be a waiver of sovereign immunity.
(b) Membership, voting, and meetings:

(1) each member state shall have and be limited to one delegate selected by that member state's licensing
board;

(2) the delegate shall be either:
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(1) a current member of the licensing board at the time of appointment who is a licensed professional
counselor or public member; or
(i1) an administrator of the licensing board;

(3) any delegate may be removed or suspended from office as provided by the law of the state from
which the delegate is appointed,;

(4) the member state licensing board shall fill any vacancy occurring on the commission within 60 days;

(5) each delegate shall be entitled to one vote with regard to the promulgation of rules and creation of
bylaws and shall otherwise have an opportunity to participate in the business and affairs of the commission;

(6) a delegate shall vote in person or by such other means as provided in the bylaws. The bylaws may
provide for delegates' participation in meetings by telephone or other means of communication;

(7) the commission shall meet at least once during each calendar year. Additional meetings shall be held
as set forth in the bylaws; and

(8) the commission shall by rule establish a term of office for delegates and may by rule establish term
limits.

(c) The commission shall have the following powers and duties:

(1) establish the fiscal year of the commission;

(2) establish bylaws;

(3) maintain its financial records in accordance with the bylaws;

(4) meet and take such actions as are consistent with the provisions of this compact and the bylaws;
(5) promulgate rules which shall be binding to the extent and in the manner provided for in the compact;

(6) bring and prosecute legal proceedings or actions in the name of the commission, provided that the
standing of any state licensing board to sue or be sued under applicable law shall not be affected,;

(7) purchase and maintain insurance and bonds;

(8) borrow, accept, or contract for services of personnel, including but not limited to employees of a
member state;

(9) hire employees, elect or appoint officers, fix compensation, define duties, grant such individuals
appropriate authority to carry out the purposes of the compact, and establish the commission's personnel
policies and programs relating to conflicts of interest, qualifications of personnel, and other related personnel
matters;

(10) accept any and all appropriate donations and grants of money, equipment, supplies, materials, and
services and to receive, utilize, and dispose of the same; provided that at all times the commission shall
avoid any appearance of impropriety and conflict of interest;

(11) lease, purchase, accept appropriate gifts or donations of, or otherwise to own, hold, improve, or
use any property, real, personal, or mixed; provided that at all times the commission shall avoid any appearance
of impropriety;
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(12) sell convey, mortgage, pledge, lease, exchange, abandon, or otherwise dispose of any property real,
personal, or mixed;

(13) establish a budget and make expenditures;
(14) borrow money;

(15) appoint committees, including standing committees composed of members, state regulators, state
legislators or their representatives, and consumer representatives, and such other interested persons as may
be designated in this compact and the bylaws;

(16) provide and receive information from, and cooperate with, law enforcement agencies;
(17) establish and elect an executive committee; and

(18) perform such other functions as may be necessary or appropriate to achieve the purposes of this
compact consistent with the state regulation of professional counseling licensure and practice.

(d) The executive committee:

(1) the executive committee shall have the power to act on behalf of the commission according to the
terms of this compact;

(2) the executive committee shall be composed of up to eleven members:

(1) seven voting members who are elected by the commission from the current membership of the
commission;

(i1) up to four ex-officio, nonvoting members from four recognized national professional counselor
organizations; and

(iii) the ex-officio members will be selected by their respective organizations;

(3) the commission may remove any member of the executive committee as provided in the bylaws;
(4) the executive committee shall meet at least annually; and

(5) the executive committee shall have the following duties and responsibilities:

(i) recommend to the entire commission changes to the rules or bylaws, changes to this compact
legislation, fees paid by compact member states such as annual dues, and any commission compact fee
charged to licensees for the privilege to practice;

(i1) ensure compact administration services are appropriately provided, contractual or otherwise;

(iii) prepare and recommend the budget;

(iv) maintain financial records on behalf of the commission;

(v) monitor compact compliance of member states and provide compliance reports to the commission;
(vi) establish additional committees as necessary; and

(vii) other duties as provided in rules or bylaws.

(e) Meetings of the commission:
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(1) all meetings shall be open to the public, and public notice of meetings shall be given in the same
manner as required under the rulemaking provisions in article XI;

(2) the commission or the executive committee or other committees of the commission may convene in
a closed, non-public meeting if the commission or executive committee or other committees of the commission
must discuss:

(i) non-compliance of a member state with its obligations under the compact;

(i1) the employment, compensation, discipline, or other matters, practices, or procedures related to
specific employees or other matters related to the commission's internal personnel practices and procedures;

(iii) current, threatened, or reasonably anticipated litigation;

(iv) negotiation of contracts for the purchase, lease, or sale of goods, services, or real estate;

(v) accusing any person of a crime or formally censuring any person;

(vi) disclosure of trade secrets or commercial or financial information that is privileged or confidential;

(vii) disclosure of information of a personal nature where disclosure would constitute a clearly
unwarranted invasion of personal privacy;

(viii) disclosure of investigative records compiled for law enforcement purposes;

(ix) disclosure of information related to any investigative reports prepared by or on behalf of or for use
of the commission or other committee charged with responsibility of investigation or determination of
compliance issues pursuant to the compact; or

(x) matters specifically exempted from disclosure by federal or member state statute;

(3) if a meeting, or portion of a meeting, is closed pursuant to this provision, the commission's legal
counsel or designee shall certify that the meeting may be closed and shall reference each relevant exempting
provision; and

(4) the commission shall keep minutes that fully and clearly describe all matters discussed in a meeting
and shall provide a full and accurate summary of actions taken and the reasons therefore, including a
description of the views expressed. All documents considered in connection with an action shall be identified
in such minutes. All minutes and documents of a closed meeting shall remain under seal, subject to release
by a majority vote of the commission or order of a court of competent jurisdiction.

(f) Financing of the commission:

(i) the commission shall pay, or provide for the payment of, the reasonable expenses of its establishment,
organization, and ongoing activities;

(i1) the commission may accept any and all appropriate revenue sources, donations, and grants of money,
equipment, supplies, materials, and services;

(iii) the commission may levy on and collect an annual assessment from each member state or impose
fees on other parties to cover the cost of the operations and activities of the commission and its staff, which
must be in a total amount sufficient to cover its annual budget as approved each year for which revenue is
not provided by other sources. The aggregate annual assessment amount shall be allocated based upon a
formula to be determined by the commission, which shall promulgate a rule binding upon all member states;
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(iv) the commission shall not incur obligations of any kind prior to securing the funds adequate to meet
the same; nor shall the commission pledge the credit of any of the member states, except by and with the
authority of the member state; and

(v) the commission shall keep accurate accounts of all receipts and disbursements. The receipts and
disbursements of the commission shall be subject to the audit and accounting procedures established under
its bylaws. However, all receipts and disbursements of funds handled by the commission shall be audited
yearly by a certified or licensed public accountant, and the report of the audit shall be included in and become
part of the annual report of the commission.

(g) Qualified immunity, defense, and indemnification:

(1) the members, officers, executive director, employees, and representatives of the commission shall
be immune from suit and liability, either personally or in their official capacity, for any claim for damage
to or loss of property or personal injury or other civil liability caused by or arising out of any actual or alleged
act, error, or omission that occurred, or that the person against whom the claim is made had a reasonable
basis for believing occurred within the scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities; provided
that nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to protect any such person from suit or liability for any
damage, loss, injury, or liability caused by the intentional or willful or wanton misconduct of that person;

(2) the commission shall defend any member, officer, executive director, employee, or representative
of the commission in any civil action seeking to impose liability arising out of any actual or alleged act,
error, or omission that occurred within the scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, or
that the person against whom the claim is made had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the
scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities; provided that nothing herein shall be construed
to prohibit that person from retaining his or her own counsel; and provided further, that the actual or alleged
act, error, or omission did not result from that person's intentional or willful or wanton misconduct; and

(3) the commission shall indemnify and hold harmless any member, officer, executive director, employee,
or representative of the commission for the amount of any settlement or judgment obtained against that
person arising out of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred within the scope of commission
employment, duties, or responsibilities, or that such person had a reasonable basis for believing occurred
within the scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, provided that the actual or alleged
act, error, or omission did not result from the intentional or willful or wanton misconduct of that person.

(h) Notwithstanding paragraph (g), clause (1), the liability of the executive director, employees, or
representatives of the interstate commission, acting within the scope of their employment or duties, may not
exceed the limits of liability set forth under the constitution and laws of this state for state officials, employees,
and agents. This paragraph expressly incorporates section 3.736, and neither expands nor limits the rights
and remedies provided under that statute.

(i) Except for a claim alleging a violation of this compact, a claim against the commission, its executive
director, employees, or representatives alleging a violation of the constitution and laws of this state may be
brought in any county where the plaintiff resides. Nothing in this paragraph creates a private right of action.

(j) Nothing in this compact shall be construed as a limitation on the liability of any licensee for
professional malpractice or misconduct, which shall be governed solely by any other applicable state laws.

ARTICLE X
DATA SYSTEM
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(a) The commission shall provide for the development, maintenance, operation, and utilization of a
coordinated database and reporting system containing licensure, adverse action, and investigative information
on all licensed individuals in member states.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of state law to the contrary, a member state shall submit a
uniform data set to the data system on all individuals to whom this compact is applicable as required by the
rules of the commission, including:

(1) identifying information;

(2) licensure data;

(3) adverse actions against a license or privilege to practice;

(4) nonconfidential information related to alternative program participation;
(5) any denial of application for licensure and the reason for such denial;
(6) current significant investigative information; and

(7) other information that may facilitate the administration of this compact, as determined by the rules
of the commission.

(c) Investigative information pertaining to a licensee in any member state will only be available to other
member states.

(d) The commission shall promptly notify all member states of any adverse action taken against a licensee
or an individual applying for a license. Adverse action information pertaining to a licensee in any member
state will be available to any other member state.

(e) Member states contributing information to the data system may designate information that may not
be shared with the public without the express permission of the contributing state.

(f) Any information submitted to the data system that is subsequently required to be expunged by the
laws of the member state contributing the information shall be removed from the data system.

ARTICLE XI
RULEMAKING

(a) The commission shall promulgate reasonable rules in order to effectively and efficiently achieve the
purpose of the compact. Notwithstanding the foregoing, in the event the commission exercises its rulemaking
authority in a manner that is beyond the scope of the purposes of the compact, or the powers granted hereunder,
then such an action by the commission shall be invalid and have no force or effect.

(b) The commission shall exercise its rulemaking powers pursuant to the criteria set forth in this article
and the rules adopted thereunder. Rules and amendments shall become binding as of the date specified in
each rule or amendment.

(c) If a majority of the legislatures of the member states rejects a rule, by enactment of a statute or
resolution in the same manner used to adopt the compact within four years of the date of adoption of the
rule, then such rule shall have no further force and effect in any member state.

(d) Rules or amendments to the rules shall be adopted at a regular or special meeting of the commission.
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(e) Prior to promulgation and adoption of a final rule or rules by the commission, and at least thirty days
in advance of the meeting at which the rule will be considered and voted upon, the commission shall file a
notice of proposed rulemaking:

(1) on the website of the commission or other publicly accessible platform; and

(2) on the website of each member state professional counseling licensing board or other publicly
accessible platform or the publication in which each state would otherwise publish proposed rules.

(f) The notice of proposed rulemaking shall include:

(1) the proposed time, date, and location of the meeting in which the rule will be considered and voted
upon;

(2) the text of the proposed rule or amendment and the reason for the proposed rule;
(3) arequest for comments on the proposed rule from any interested person; and

(4) the manner in which interested persons may submit notice to the commission of their intention to
attend the public hearing and any written comments.

(g) Prior to adoption of a proposed rule, the commission shall allow persons to submit written data,
facts, opinions, and arguments, which shall be made available to the public.

(h) The commission shall grant an opportunity for a public hearing before it adopts a rule or amendment
if a hearing is requested by:

(1) at least 25 persons;
(2) a state or federal governmental subdivision or agency; or
(3) an association having at least 25 members.

(1) If a hearing is held on the proposed rule or amendment, the commission shall publish the place, time,
and date of the scheduled public hearing. If the hearing is held via electronic means, the commission shall
publish the mechanism for access to the electronic hearing:

(1) all persons wishing to be heard at the hearing shall notify the executive director of the commission
or other designated member in writing of their desire to appear and testify at the hearing not less than five
business days before the scheduled date of the hearing;

(2) hearings shall be conducted in a manner providing each person who wishes to comment a fair and
reasonable opportunity to comment orally or in writing;

(3) all hearings will be recorded. A copy of the recording will be made available on request; and

(4) nothing in this article shall be construed as requiring a separate hearing on each rule. Rules may be
grouped for the convenience of the commission at hearings required by this article.

(j) Following the scheduled hearing date, or by the close of business on the scheduled hearing date if
the hearing was not held, the commission shall consider all written and oral comments received.

(k) If no written notice of intent to attend the public hearing by interested parties is received, the
commission may proceed with promulgation of the proposed rule without a public hearing.
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(1) The commission shall, by majority vote of all members, take final action on the proposed rule and
shall determine the effective date of the rule, if any, based on the rulemaking record and the full text of the
rule.

(m) Upon determination that an emergency exists, the commission may consider and adopt an emergency
rule without prior notice, opportunity for comment, or hearing, provided that the usual rulemaking procedures
provided in the compact and in this article shall be retroactively applied to the rule as soon as reasonably
possible, in no event later than 90 days after the effective date of the rule. For the purposes of this provision,
an emergency rule is one that must be adopted immediately in order to:

(1) meet an imminent threat to public health, safety, or welfare;
(2) prevent a loss of commission or member state funds;

(3) meet a deadline for the promulgation of an administrative rule that is established by federal law or
rule; or

(4) protect public health and safety.

(n) The commission or an authorized committee of the commission may direct revisions to a previously
adopted rule or amendment for purposes of correcting typographical errors, errors in format, errors in
consistency, or grammatical errors. Public notice of any revisions shall be posted on the website of the
commission. The revision shall be subject to challenge by any person for a period of thirty days after posting.
The revision may be challenged only on grounds that the revision results in a material change to a rule. A
challenge shall be made in writing and delivered to the chair of the commission prior to the end of the notice
period. If no challenge is made, the revision will take effect without further action. If the revision is challenged,
the revision may not take effect without the approval of the commission.

ARTICLE XII
OVERSIGHT, DISPUTE RESOLUTION, AND ENFORCEMENT
(a) Oversight:

(1) the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of state government in each member state shall
enforce this compact and take all actions necessary and appropriate to effectuate the compact's purposes and
intent. The provisions of this compact and the rules promulgated hereunder shall have standing as statutory
law;

(2) all courts shall take judicial notice of the compact and the rules in any judicial or administrative
proceeding in a member state pertaining to the subject matter of this compact which may affect the powers,
responsibilities, or actions of the commission; and

(3) the commission shall be entitled to receive service of process in any such proceeding and shall have
standing to intervene in such a proceeding for all purposes. Failure to provide service of process to the
commission shall render a judgment or order void as to the commission, this compact, or promulgated rules.

(b) Default, technical assistance, and termination:

(1) if the commission determines that a member state has defaulted in the performance of its obligations
or responsibilities under this compact or the promulgated rules, the commission shall:
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(1) provide written notice to the defaulting state and other member states of the nature of the default, the
proposed means of curing the default, or any other action to be taken by the commission; and

(i1) provide remedial training and specific technical assistance regarding the default.

(c) If a state in default fails to cure the default, the defaulting state may be terminated from the compact
upon an affirmative vote of a majority of the member states, and all rights, privileges, and benefits conferred
by this compact may be terminated on the effective date of termination. A cure of the default does not relieve
the offending state of obligations or liabilities incurred during the period of default.

(d) Termination of membership in the compact shall be imposed only after all other means of securing
compliance have been exhausted. Notice of intent to suspend or terminate shall be given by the commission
to the governor, the majority and minority leaders of the defaulting state's legislature, and each of the member
states.

(e) A state that has been terminated is responsible for all assessments, obligations, and liabilities incurred
through the effective date of termination, including obligations that extend beyond the effective date of
termination.

(f) The commission shall not bear any costs related to a state that is found to be in default or that has
been terminated from the compact, unless agreed upon in writing between the commission and the defaulting
state.

(g) The defaulting state may appeal the action of the commission by petitioning the United States District
Court for the District of Columbia or the federal district where the commission has its principal offices. The
prevailing member shall be awarded all costs of such litigation, including reasonable attorney fees.

(h) Dispute resolution:

(1) upon request by a member state, the commission shall attempt to resolve disputes related to the
compact that arise among member states and between member and nonmember states; and

(2) the commission shall promulgate a rule providing for both mediation and binding dispute resolution
for disputes as appropriate.

(i) Enforcement:

(1) the commission, in the reasonable exercise of its discretion, shall enforce the provisions and rules
of this compact;

(2) by majority vote, the commission may initiate legal action in the United States District Court for the
District of Columbia or the federal district where the commission has its principal offices against a member
state in default to enforce compliance with the provisions of the compact and its promulgated rules and
bylaws. The relief sought may include both injunctive relief and damages. In the event judicial enforcement
is necessary, the prevailing member shall be awarded all costs of such litigation, including reasonable attorney
fees; and

(3) the remedies herein shall not be the exclusive remedies of the commission. The commission may
pursue any other remedies available under federal or state law.

ARTICLE XIII
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DATE OF IMPLEMENTATION OF THE COUNSELING COMPACT COMMISSION AND ASSOCIATED
RULES, WITHDRAWAL, AND AMENDMENT

(a) The compact shall come into effect on the date on which the compact statute is enacted into law in
the tenth member state. The provisions, which become effective at that time, shall be limited to the powers
granted to the commission relating to assembly and the promulgation of rules. Thereafter, the commission
shall meet and exercise rulemaking powers necessary to the implementation and administration of the
compact.

(b) Any state that joins the compact subsequent to the commission's initial adoption of the rules shall
be subject to the rules as they exist on the date on which the compact becomes law in that state. Any rule
that has been previously adopted by the commission shall have the full force and effect of law on the day
the compact becomes law in that state.

(c) Any member state may withdraw from this compact by enacting a statute repealing the same.

(1) a member state's withdrawal shall not take effect until six months after enactment of the repealing
statute; and

(2) withdrawal shall not affect the continuing requirement of the withdrawing state's professional
counseling licensing board to comply with the investigative and adverse action reporting requirements of
this compact prior to the effective date of withdrawal.

(d) Nothing contained in this compact shall be construed to invalidate or prevent any professional
counseling licensure agreement or other cooperative arrangement between a member state and a nonmember
state that does not conflict with the provisions of this compact.

(e) This compact may be amended by the member states. No amendment to this compact shall become
effective and binding upon any member state until it is enacted into the laws of all member states.

ARTICLE XIV
CONSTRUCTION AND SEVERABILITY

This compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes thereof. The provisions of this
compact shall be severable and if any phrase, clause, sentence, or provision of this compact is declared to
be contrary to the constitution of any member state or of the United States or the applicability thereof to any
government, agency, person, or circumstance is held invalid, the validity of the remainder of this compact
and the applicability thereof to any government, agency, person, or circumstance shall not be affected thereby.
If this compact shall be held contrary to the constitution of any member state, the compact shall remain in
full force and effect as to the remaining member states and in full force and effect as to the member state
affected as to all severable matters.

ARTICLE XV
BINDING EFFECT OF COMPACT AND OTHER LAWS

(a) A licensee providing professional counseling services in a remote state under the privilege to practice
shall adhere to the laws and regulations, including scope of practice, of the remote state.

(b) Nothing herein prevents the enforcement of any other law of a member state that is not inconsistent
with the compact.
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(¢) Any laws in a member state in conflict with the compact are superseded to the extent of the conflict.

(d) Any lawful actions of the commission, including all rules and bylaws properly promulgated by the
commission, are binding upon the member states.

(e) All permissible agreements between the commission and the member states are binding in accordance
with their terms.

(f) In the event any provision of the compact exceeds the constitutional limits imposed on the legislature
of any member state, the provision shall be ineffective to the extent of the conflict with the constitutional
provision in question in that member state.

History: 2024 ¢ 127 art 29 s 1

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes



	Ch. 148B
	Sec. 148B.001
	Sec. 148B.01
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5
	Subd. 6
	Subd. 7

	Sec. 148B.02
	Sec. 148B.03
	Sec. 148B.04
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5
	Subd. 6

	Sec. 148B.05
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2

	Sec. 148B.06
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3

	Sec. 148B.07
	Sec. 148B.08
	Sec. 148B.09
	Sec. 148B.10
	Sec. 148B.11
	Sec. 148B.12
	Sec. 148B.13
	Sec. 148B.14
	Sec. 148B.15
	Sec. 148B.16
	Sec. 148B.17
	Sec. 148B.171
	Sec. 148B.175
	Sec. 148B.1751
	Sec. 148B.18
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 2a
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 3a
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 4a
	Subd. 5
	Subd. 6
	Subd. 7
	Subd. 8
	Subd. 9
	Subd. 10
	Subd. 11
	Subd. 12
	Subd. 13

	Sec. 148B.185
	Sec. 148B.19
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5

	Sec. 148B.195
	Sec. 148B.20
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3

	Sec. 148B.21
	Sec. 148B.215
	Sec. 148B.22
	Sec. 148B.224
	Sec. 148B.225
	Sec. 148B.226
	Sec. 148B.23
	Sec. 148B.24
	Sec. 148B.25
	Sec. 148B.26
	Sec. 148B.27
	Sec. 148B.28
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5
	Subd. 6

	Sec. 148B.281
	Sec. 148B.282
	Sec. 148B.283
	Sec. 148B.284
	Sec. 148B.285
	Sec. 148B.286
	Sec. 148B.287
	Sec. 148B.288
	Sec. 148B.289
	Sec. 148B.29
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 2a
	Subd. 3

	Sec. 148B.30
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4

	Sec. 148B.31
	Sec. 148B.32
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3

	Sec. 148B.33
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 1a
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3

	Sec. 148B.331
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3

	Sec. 148B.34
	Sec. 148B.35
	Sec. 148B.351
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2

	Sec. 148B.36
	Sec. 148B.37
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 1a
	Subd. 2

	Sec. 148B.371
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5
	Subd. 6
	Subd. 7
	Subd. 8
	Subd. 9
	Subd. 10

	Sec. 148B.372
	Sec. 148B.38
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3

	Sec. 148B.381
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5
	Subd. 6
	Subd. 7
	Subd. 8
	Subd. 9
	Subd. 10

	Sec. 148B.382
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2

	Sec. 148B.385
	Sec. 148B.39
	Sec. 148B.391
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5
	Subd. 6
	Subd. 7
	Subd. 8

	Sec. 148B.392
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4

	Sec. 148B.40
	Sec. 148B.41
	Sec. 148B.42
	Sec. 148B.43
	Sec. 148B.44
	Sec. 148B.45
	Sec. 148B.46
	Sec. 148B.47
	Sec. 148B.48
	Sec. 148B.50
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5

	Sec. 148B.51
	Sec. 148B.52
	Sec. 148B.53
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 1a
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3

	Sec. 148B.5301
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 3a
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 4a
	Subd. 5
	Subd. 6

	Sec. 148B.531
	Sec. 148B.532
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2

	Sec. 148B.54
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3

	Sec. 148B.55
	Sec. 148B.555
	Sec. 148B.56
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2

	Sec. 148B.561
	Sec. 148B.58
	Sec. 148B.59
	Sec. 148B.5901
	Sec. 148B.5905
	Sec. 148B.591
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2

	Sec. 148B.5915
	Sec. 148B.5916
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2

	Sec. 148B.592
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5
	Subd. 6
	Subd. 7

	Sec. 148B.5925
	Sec. 148B.593
	Sec. 148B.60
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5
	Subd. 5a
	Subd. 6
	Subd. 7
	Subd. 7a
	Subd. 8

	Sec. 148B.61
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4

	Sec. 148B.62
	Sec. 148B.63
	Sec. 148B.64
	Sec. 148B.65
	Sec. 148B.66
	Sec. 148B.67
	Sec. 148B.68
	Sec. 148B.69
	Sec. 148B.70
	Sec. 148B.71
	Sec. 148B.72
	Sec. 148B.75


