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156.077 LICENSED VETERINARY TECHNICIANS.

Subdivision 1. Licensure; practice. (a) The board shall issue a license to practice as a veterinary
technician to an applicant who satisfies the requirements in this section and those imposed by the board in
rule. A licensed veterinary technician may practice veterinary technology. A person may not use the title
"veterinary technician" or the abbreviation "LVT" unless licensed by the board.

(b) The board may adopt by rule additional or temporary alternative licensure requirements or definitions
for veterinary technician titles.

Subd. 2. Applicants; qualifications. Application for a license to practice veterinary technology in this
state shall be made to the board on a form furnished by the board and accompanied by evidence satisfactory
to the board that the applicant is at least 18 years of age, is of good moral character, and has:

(1) graduated from a veterinary technology program accredited or approved by the American Veterinary
Medical Association or Canadian Veterinary Medical Association;

(2) received a passing score for the Veterinary Technician National Examination;
(3) received a passing score for the Minnesota Veterinary Technician Jurisprudence Examination; and
(4) completed a criminal background check.

Subd. 3. Required with application. A completed application must contain the following information
and material:

(1) the application fee set by the board, which is not refundable if permission to take the jurisprudence
examination is denied for good cause;

(2) proof of graduation from a veterinary technology program accredited or approved by the American
Veterinary Medical Association or Canadian Veterinary Medical Association;

(3) affidavits from at least two licensed veterinarians and three adults who are not related to the applicant
that establish how long, when, and under what circumstances the references have known the applicant and
any other facts that may enable the board to determine the applicant's qualifications; and

(4) if the applicant has served in the armed forces, a copy of the applicant's discharge papers.

Subd. 4. Temporary alternative qualifications. (a) The board shall consider an application for licensure
submitted by a person before July 1, 2031, if the person provides evidence satisfactory to the board that the
person:

(1) is a certified veterinary technician in good standing with the Minnesota Veterinary Medical
Association; or

(2) has at least 4,160 hours actively engaged in the practice of veterinary technology within the previous
five years.

(b) Each applicant under this subdivision must also submit to the board affidavits from at least two
licensed veterinarians and three adults who are not related to the applicant that establish how long, when,
and under what circumstances the references have known the applicant and any other facts that may enable
the board to determine the applicant's qualifications.

History: 2024 c 127 art 20 s 8
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NOTE: This section, as added by Laws 2024, chapter 127, article 20, section 8, is effective July 1, 2026.
Laws 2024, chapter 127, article 20, section 8, the effective date.
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