1 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024 144E.35

144E.35 REIMBURSEMENT TO AMBULANCE SERVICES FOR VOLUNTEER EDUCATION
COSTS.

Subdivision 1. Repayment for volunteer education. A licensed ambulance service shall be reimbursed
by the director for the necessary expense of the initial education of a volunteer ambulance attendant upon
successful completion by the attendant of an EMT education course, or a continuing education course for
EMT care, or both, which has been approved by the director, pursuant to section 144E.285. Reimbursement
may include tuition, transportation, food, lodging, hourly payment for the time spent in the education course,
and other necessary expenditures, except that in no instance shall a volunteer ambulance attendant be
reimbursed more than $900 for successful completion of an initial education course, and $375 for successful
completion of a continuing education course.

Subd. 2. Reimbursement provisions. Reimbursement must be paid under provisions of this section
when documentation is provided to the director that the individual has served for one year from the date of
the final certification exam as an active member of a Minnesota licensed ambulance service.

History: 1977 ¢ 305 s 45; 1977 ¢ 427 s 1, 1979 ¢ 3165 9, 1986 ¢ 444, 1987 ¢ 209 5 39; 1989 ¢ 134 s
11; 1990 ¢ 568 art 2 s 14; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 9s 23; 1995 ¢ 207 art 9 s 16, 1997 ¢ 199 s 14, 1999 ¢c 85 2;
1999 c 245 art 9s 65; 2007 ¢ 147 art 16 s 13; 2012 ¢ 1935 45; 2023 c 70 art 65 7; 2024 ¢ 122 art 1 s 24;
2024 ¢ 127 art 63 s 22

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes



	Sec. 144E.35
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2


