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289A.121 TAX SHELTERS; SPECIAL RULES.
Subdivision 1. Scope. The provisions of this section apply to a tax shelter that:
(1) is organized in this state;
(2) is doing business in this state;
(3) is deriving income from sources in this state; or
(4) has one or more investors that are Minnesota taxpayers under chapter 290.

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the definitions under sections 6111,

6112, and 6707A of the Internal Revenue Code, including the regulations under those sections,
apply.

(b) The term "tax shelter" means any reportable transaction as defined under section
6707A(c)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Subd. 3. Registration. (a) Any material advisor required to register a tax shelter under

section 6111 of the Internal Revenue Code must register the shelter with the commissioner.

(b) A material advisor subject to this subdivision must send a duplicate of the federal
registration information, along with any other information the commissioner requires, to the
commissioner not later than the day on which interests in that tax shelter are first offered for

sale to Minnesota taxpayers.

(c) In addition to the requirements under paragraph (b), any listed transaction must be

registered with the commissioner by the latest of:
(1) 60 days after entering into the transaction;
(2) 60 days after the transaction becomes a listed transaction; or
(3) October 15, 2005.

Subd. 4. Registration number. (a) Any person required to register under section 6111
of the Internal Revenue Code who receives a tax registration number from the Secretary of
the Treasury must file, within 30 days after requested by the commissioner, a statement of the

registration number with the commissioner.

(b) Any person who sells or otherwise transfers an interest in a tax shelter must, in the same
time and manner required under section 6111(b) of the Internal Revenue Code, furnish to each
investor who purchases or otherwise acquires an interest in the tax shelter the identification

number assigned under federal law to the tax shelter.
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(c) Any person claiming any deduction, credit, or other tax benefit by reason of a tax
shelter must include on the return on which the deduction, credit, or other benefit is claimed the

identification number assigned under federal law to the tax shelter.

Subd. 5. Reportable transactions. (a) For each taxable year in which a taxpayer must
make a return or a statement under Code of Federal Regulations, title 26, section 1.6011-4, for
a reportable transaction, including a listed transaction, in which the taxpayer participated in a
taxable year for which a return is required under chapter 290, the taxpayer must file a copy of the

disclosure with the commissioner.

(b) Any taxpayer that is a member of a unitary business group that includes any person that
must make a disclosure statement under Code of Federal Regulations, title 26, section 1.6011-4,

must file a disclosure under this subdivision.

(c) Disclosure under this subdivision is required for any transaction entered into after
December 31, 2001, that the Internal Revenue Service determines is a listed transaction at any
time, and must be made in the manner prescribed by the commissioner. For transactions in which
the taxpayer participated for taxable years ending before December 31, 2005, disclosure must be
made by the extended due date of the first return required under chapter 290 that occurs 60 days
or more after July 14, 2005. With respect to transactions in which the taxpayer participated for
taxable years ending on and after December 31, 2005, disclosure must be made in the time and

manner prescribed in Code of Federal Regulations, title 26, section 1.6011-4(e).

(d) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (c), no disclosure is required for transactions entered
into after December 31, 2001, and before January 1, 2006, if (1) the taxpayer has filed an amended
income tax return which reverses the tax benefits of the tax shelter transaction, or (2) as a result of
a federal audit the Internal Revenue Service has determined the tax treatment of the transaction

and an amended return has been filed to reflect the federal treatment.

Subd. 6. Lists of investors. (a) Any person required to maintain a list under section 6112
of the Internal Revenue Code with respect to any reportable transaction must furnish the list to
the commissioner no later than when required under federal law. The list required under this
subdivision must include the same information required with respect to a reportable transaction
under section 6112 of the Internal Revenue Code, and any other information the commissioner

requires.

(b) For transactions entered into on or after December 31, 2001, that become listed

transactions at any time, the list must be furnished to the commissioner by the latest of:

(1) 60 days after entering into the transaction;
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(2) 60 days after the transaction becomes a listed transaction; or

(3) October 15, 2005.

History: 1Sp2005 ¢ 3 art 8 s 2; 2006 ¢ 259 art 8 s 8
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