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256L.01 DEFINITIONS.
Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of this chapter, the following terms shall have the 

meanings given them.

[For text o f subds la  to 3a, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 4. Gross individual or gross family income, (a) “Gross individual or gross fam­
ily income” for nonfarm self-employed means income calculated for the 12-month period 
of eligibility using the net profit or loss reported on the applicant’s federal income tax form 
for the previous year and using the medical assistance families with children methodology 
for determining allowable and nonallowable self-employment expenses and countable in­
come.

(b) “Gross individual or gross family income” for farm self-employed means income 
calculated for the 12-month period of eligibility using as the baseline the adjusted gross in­
come reported on the applicant’s federal income tax form for the previous year.

(c) “Gross individual or gross family income” means the total income for all family 
members, calculated for the 12-month period of eligibility.

[For text o f subd 5, see M.S.2006]

History: 2007 c 147 art 5 s 18,19

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 4 by Laws 2007, chapter J 47, article 5, section 19, is effective July 1,2007, or upon 
federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 5, section 19, the effective date.

256L.03 COVERED HEALTH SERVICES.
Subdivision 1. Covered health services. “Covered health services” means the health 

services reimbursed under chapter 256B, with the exception of inpatient hospital services, 
special education services, private duty nursing services, adult dental care services other than 
services covered under section 256B.0625, subdivision 9, orthodontic services, nonemer­
gency medical transportation services, personal care assistant and case management ser­
vices, nursing home or intermediate care facilities services, inpatient mental health services, 
and chemical dependency services.

No public funds shall be used for coverage of abortion under MinnesotaCare except 
where the life of the female would be endangered or substantial and irreversible impairment 
of a major bodily function would result if the fetus were carried to term; or where the preg­
nancy is the result of rape or incest.

Covered health services shall be expanded as provided in this, section.

[For text o f subds la  to 2, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 3. Inpatient hospital services, (a) Covered health services shall include inpa­
tient hospital services, including inpatient hospital mental health services and inpatient hos­
pital and residential chemical dependency treatment, subject to those limitations necessary 
to coordinate the provision of these services with eligibility under the medical assistance
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spenddown. The inpatient hospital benefit for adult enrollees who qualify under section 
256L.04, subdivision 7, or who qualify under section 256L.04, subdivisions 1 and 2, with 
family gross income that exceeds 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines or 215 per­
cent of the federal poverty guidelines on or after July 1,2009, and who are not pregnant, is 
subject to an annual limit of $10,000.

(b) Admissions for inpatient hospital services paid for under section 256L.11, subdivi­
sion 3, must be certified as medically necessary in accordance with Minnesota Rules, parts 
9505.0500 to 9505.0540, except as provided in clauses (1) and (2):

(1) all admissions must be certified, except those authorized under rules established un­
der section 254A.03, subdivision 3, or approved under Medicare; and

(2) payment under section 256L.11, subdivision 3, shall be reduced by five percent for 
admissions for which certification is requested more than 30 days after the day of admission. 
The hospital may not seek payment from the enrollee for the amount of the payment reduc­
tion under this clause.

[For text o f subds 3a and 4, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 5. Co-payments and coinsurance, (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (b) and
(c), the MinnesotaCare benefit plan shall include the following co-payments and coinsu­
rance requirements for all enrollees:

(1) ten percent of the paid charges for inpatient hospital services for adult enrollees, sub­
ject to an annual inpatient out-of-pocket maximum of $1,000 per individual and $3,000 per 
family;

(2) $3 per prescription for adult enrollees;
(3) $25 for eyeglasses for adult enrollees;
(4) $3 per nonpreventive visit. For purposes of this subdivision, a “visit” means an epi­

sode of service which is required because of a recipient’s symptoms, diagnosis, or estab­
lished illness, and which is delivered in an ambulatory setting by a physician or physician 
ancillary, chiropractor, podiatrist, nurse midwife, advanced practice nurse, audiologist, opti­
cian, or optometrist; and

(5) $6 for nonemergency visits to a hospital-based emergency room.
(b) Paragraph (a), clause (1), does not apply to parents and relative caretakers of chil­

dren under the age of 21.
(c) Paragraph (a) does not apply to pregnant women and children under the age of 21.
(d) Paragraph (a), clause (4), does not apply to mental health services.
(e) Adult enrollees with family gross income that exceeds 200 percent of the federal 

poverty guidelines or 215 percent of the federal poverty guidelines on or after July 1, 2009, 
and who are not pregnant shall be financially responsible for the coinsurance amount, if ap­
plicable, and amounts which exceed the $10,000 inpatient hospital benefit limit.

(f) When a MinnesotaCare enrollee becomes a member of a prepaid health plan, or 
changes from one prepaid health plan to another during a calendar year, any charges sub­
mitted towards the $10,000 annual inpatient benefit limit, and any out-of-pocket expenses 
incurred by the enrollee for inpatient services, that were submitted or incurred prior to enroll­
ment, or prior to the change in health plans, shall be disregarded.

[For text o f subd 6, see M.S.2006]

History: 2007 c 147 art 4 s 8; art 5 s 20-22; art 8 s 29,30
NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 1 regarding coverage for mental health case management by Laws 2007, chapter 

147, article 8, section 29, is effective January 1, 2009. Laws 2007, chaptcr 147, article 8, section 29, the effective date.

256L.035 [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

256L.04 ELIGIBLE PERSONS.
Subdivision I. Families with children, (a) Families with children with family income 

equal to or less than 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the applicable family
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size shall be eligible for MinnesotaCare according to this section. All other provisions of sec­
tions 256L.01 to 256L.18, including the insurance-related barriers to enrollment under sec­
tion 256L.07, shall apply unless otherwise specified.

(b) Parents who enroll in the MinnesotaCare program must also enroll their children, if 
the children are eligible. Children may be enrolled separately without enrollment by parents. 
However, if one parent in the household enrolls, both parents must enroll, unless other insur­
ance is available. If one child from a family is enrolled, all children must be enrolled, unless 
other insurance is available. If one spouse in a household enrolls, the other spouse in the 
household must also enroll, unless other insurance is available. Families cannot choose to 
enroll only certain uninsured members.

(c) Beginning October 1,2003, the dependent sibling definition no longer applies to the 
MinnesotaCare program. These persons are no longer counted in the parental household and 
may apply as a separate household.

(d) Beginning July 1,2003, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, parents are not 
eligible for MinnesotaCare if their gross income exceeds $50,000.

(e) Children formerly enrolled in medical assistance and automatically deemed eligible 
for MinnesotaCare according to section 256B.057, subdivision 2c, are exempt from the re­
quirements of this section until renewal.

[For text ofsubds la  to 2a, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 7. Single adults and households with no children. The definition of eligible 
persons includes all individuals and households with no children who have gross family in­
comes that are equal to or less than 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines. Effective 
July 1, 2009, the definition of eligible persons includes all individuals and households with 
no children who have gross family incomes that are equal to or less than 215 percent of the 
federal poverty guidelines.

[For text ofsubds 7a to 9, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 10. Citizenship requirements. Eligibility for MinnesotaCare is limited to citi­
zens or nationals of the United States, qualified noncitizens, and other persons residing law­
fully in the United States as described in section 256B.06, subdivision 4, paragraphs (a) to (e) 
and (j). Undocumented noncitizens and nonimmigrants are ineligible for MinnesotaCare. 
For purposes of this subdivision, a nonimmigrant is an individual in one or more of the 
classes listed in United States Code, title 8, section 1101(a)(15), and an undocumented non­
citizen is an individual who resides in the United States without the approval or acquiescence 
of the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services. Families with children who are 
citizens or nationals of the United States must cooperate in obtaining satisfactory documen­
tary evidence of citizenship or nationality according to the requirements of the federal Defi­
cit Reduction Act of 2005, Public Law 109-171.

[For text o f subd 10a, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 12. Persons in detention. Beginning January 1, 1999, an applicant residing in a 
correctional or detention facility is not eligible for MinnesotaCare. An enrollee residing in a 
correctional or detention facility is not eligible at renewal of eligibility under section 
256L.05, subdivision 3a.

[For text o f subd 13, see M.S.2006]

History: 2007 c 13 art 1 s 25; 2007 c 147 art 4 s 9; art 5 s 23; art 13 s 2
NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 1 by Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 13, section 2, is effective October 1,2008, or 

upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 13, section 2, the effective date.

256L.05 APPLICATION PROCEDURES.
Subdivision 1. Application and information availability. Applications and applica­

tion assistance must be made available at provider offices, local human services agencies,
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school districts, public and private elementary schools in which 25 percent or more of the 
students receive free or reduced price lunches, community health offices, Women, Infants 
and Children (WIC) program sites, Head Start program sites, public housing councils, crisis 
nurseries, child care centers, early childhood education and preschool program sites, legal 
aid offices, and libraries. These sites may accept applications and forward the forms to the 
commissioner or local county human services agencies that choose to participate as an en­
rollment site. Otherwise, applicants may apply directly to the commissioner or to participat­
ing local county human services agencies.

[For text o f  subd la, see M.S.2006]

Subd. lb. MinnesotaCare enrollment by county agencies. Beginning September 1, 
2006, county agencies shall enroll single adults and households with no children formerly 
enrolled in general assistance medical care in MinnesotaCare according to section 256D.03, 
subdivision 3. County agencies shall perform all duties necessary to administer the Minneso­
taCare program ongoing for these enrollees, including the redetermination of Minnesota­
Care eligibility at renewal.

Subd. 2. Commissioner’s duties. The commissioner or county agency shall use elec­
tronic verification as the primary method of income verification. If there is a discrepancy 
between reported income and electronically verified income, an individual may be required 
to submit additional verification. In addition, the commissioner shall perform random audits 
to verify reported income and eligibility. The commissioner may execute data sharing ar­
rangements with the Department of Revenue and any other governmental agency in order to 
perform income verification related to eligibility and premium payment under the Minneso­
taCare program.

[For text o f  subd 3, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 3a. Renewal of eligibility, (a) Beginning July 1, 2007, an enrollee’s eligibility 
must be renewed every 12 months. The 12-month period begins in the month after the month 
the application is approved.

(b) Each new period of eligibility must take into account any changes in circumstances 
that impact eligibility and premium amount. An enrollee must provide all the information 
needed to redetermine eligibility by the first day of the month that ends the eligibility period. 
The premium for the new period of eligibility must be received as provided in section 
256L.06 in order for eligibility to continue.

(c) For single adults and households with no children formerly enrolled in general assis­
tance medical care and enrolled in MinnesotaCare according to section 256D.03, subdivi­
sion 3, the first period of eligibility begins the month the enrollee submitted the application or 
renewal for general assistance medical care.

[For text o f  subds 3b to 5, see M.S.2006]

History: 2007 c 147 art 5 s 24-27

NOTE: ’Hie amendment to subdivision 3a by Laws 2007, chapter 147, articlc 5, scction 27, is effective July 1,2007, or upon 
federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 5, scction 27, the effective date.

256L.07 ELIGIBILITY FOR MINNESOTACARE.
Subdivision 1. General requirements, (a) Children enrolled in the original children’s 

health plan as of September 30,1992, children who enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program 
after September 30,1992, pursuant to Laws 1992, chapter 549, article 4, section 17, and chil­
dren who have family gross incomes that are equal to or less than 150 percent of the federal 
poverty guidelines are eligible without meeting the requirements of subdivision 2 and the 
four-month requirement in subdivision 3, as long as they maintain continuous coverage in 
the MinnesotaCare program or medical assistance. Children who apply for MinnesotaCare 
on or after the implementation date of the employer-subsidized health coverage program as
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described in Laws 1998, chapter 407, article 5, section 45, who have family gross incomes 
that are equal to or less than 150 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, must meet the re­
quirements of subdivision 2 to be eligible for MinnesotaCare.

Families enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 1, whose in­
come increases above 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, are no longer eligible for 
the program and shall be disenrolled by the commissioner. Beginning January 1,2008, indi­
viduals enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 7, whose income in­
creases above 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines or 215 percent of the federal pov­
erty guidelines on or after July 1, 2009, are no longer eligible for the program and shall be 
disenrolled by the commissioner. For persons disenrolled under this subdivision, Minnesota­
Care coverage terminates the last day of the calendar month following the month in which the 
commissioner determines that the income of a family or individual exceeds program income 
limits.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), children may remain enrolled in MinnesotaCare if 
ten percent of their gross individual or gross family income as defined in section 256L.01, 
subdivision 4, is less than the annual premium for a policy with a $500 deductible available 
through the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association. Children who are no longer eli­
gible for MinnesotaCare under this clause shall be given a 12-month notice period from the 
date that ineligibility is determined before disenrollment. The premium for children remain­
ing eligible under this clause shall be the maximum premium determined under section 
256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (b).

(c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), parents are not eligible for MinnesotaCare 
if gross household income exceeds $50,000 for the 12-month period of eligibility.

[For text o f subd 2, see M. S.2006]

Subd. 2a. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]
[For text o f subds 3 to 5, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 6. Exception for certain adults. Single adults and households with no children 
formerly enrolled in general assistance medical care and enrolled in MinnesotaCare accord­
ing to section 256D.03, subdivision 3, are eligible without meeting the requirements of this 
section until renewal.

Subd. 7. Exception for certain children. Children formerly enrolled in medical assis­
tance and automatically deemed eligible for MinnesotaCare according to section 256B.057, 
subdivision 2c, are exempt from the requirements of this section until renewal.

History: 2007 c 147 art 5 s 28,29; art 13 s 3
NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 1 by Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 5, section 28, is effective July 1,2007, or upon 

federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2007. chapter 147, article 5, section 28, the effective date.

NOTE: Subdivision 7 as added by Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 13, section 3, is effective Octobcr 1,2008, or upon federal 
approval, whichever is later. Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 13, section 3, the effective date.

256L.09 RESIDENCY.
[For text o f subds 1 and 2, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 4. Eligibility as Minnesota resident, (a) For purposes of this section, a perma­
nent Minnesota resident is a person who has demonstrated, through persuasive and objective 
evidence, that the person is domiciled in the state and intends to live in the state permanently.

(b) To be eligible as a permanent resident, an applicant must demonstrate the requisite 
intent to live in the state permanently by:

(1) showing that the applicant maintains a residence at a verified address, through the 
use of evidence of residence described in section 256D.02, subdivision 12a, paragraph (b), 
clause (2);

(2) demonstrating that the applicant has been continuously domiciled in the state for no 
less than 180 days immediately before the application; and
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(3) signing an affidavit declaring that (A) the applicant currently resides in the state and 
intends to reside in the state permanently; and (B) the applicant did not come to the state for 
the primary purpose of obtaining medical coverage or treatment.

(c) A person who is temporarily absent from die state does not lose eligibility for Minne­
sotaCare. “Temporarily absent from the state” means the person is out of the state for a tem­
porary purpose and intends to return when the purpose of the absence has been accom­
plished. A person is not temporarily absent from the state if another state has determined that 
the person is a resident for any purpose. If temporarily absent from die state, the person must 
follow the requirements of the health plan in which the person is enrolled to receive services.

[For text ofsubds 5 to 7, see M.S.2006]

History: 2007 c 147 art 5 s 30

256L.11 PROVIDER PAYMENT.

[For text ofsubds 1 to 6, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 7. Critical access dental providers. Effective for dental services provided to 
MinnesotaCare enrollees on or after January 1, 2007, the commissioner shall increase pay­
ment rates to dentists and dental clinics deemed by the commissioner to be critical access 
providers under section 256B.76, paragraph (c), by 50 percent above the payment rate that 
would otherwise be paid to the provider. The commissioner shall pay the prepaid health plans 
under contract with the commissioner amounts sufficient to reflect this rate increase. The 
prepaid health plan must pass this rate increase to providers who have been identified by the 
commissioner as critical access dental providers under section 256B.76, paragraph (c).

History: 2007 c 147 art 5 s 31

256L.12 MANAGED CARE.

[For text ofsubds 1 to 9, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 9a. Rate setting; ratable reduction. For services rendered on or after October 1,
2003, the total payment made to managed care plans under the MinnesotaCare program is 
reduced 1.0 percent. This provision excludes payments for mental health services added as 
covered benefits after December 31, 2007.

[For text o f subds 9b to 11, see M.S.2006]

History: 2007 c 147 art 8 s 31

256L.15 PREMIUMS.
Subdivision I. Premium determination, (a) Families with children and individuals 

shall pay a premium determined according to subdivision 2.
(b) Pregnant women and children under age two are exempt from the provisions of sec­

tion 256L.06, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), clause (3), requiring disenrollment for failure to 
pay premiums. For pregnant women, this exemption continues until the first day of the 
month following the 60th day postpartum. Women who remain enrolled during pregnancy or 
the postpartum period, despite nonpayment of premiums, shall be disenrolled on the first of 
the month following the 60th day postpartum for the penalty period that otherwise applies 
under section 256L.06, unless they begin paying premiums.

(c) Members of the military and their families who meet the eligibility criteria for Min­
nesotaCare upon eligibility approval made within 24 months following the end of the mem­
ber’s tour of active duty shall have their premiums paid by the commissioner. The effective 
date of coverage for an individual or family who meets the criteria of this paragraph shall be 
the first day of the month following the month in which eligibility is approved. This exemp­
tion applies for 12 months. This paragraph expires June 30, 2010.
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Subd. 2. Sliding fee scale; monthly gross individual or family income, (a) The com­
missioner shall establish a sliding fee scale to determine the percentage of monthly gross in­
dividual or family income that households at different income levels must pay to obtain cov­
erage through the MinnesotaCare program. The sliding fee scale must be based on the enroll­
ee’s monthly gross individual or family income. The sliding fee scale must contain separate 
tables based on enrollment of one, two, or three or more persons. The sliding fee scale begins 
with a premium of 1.5 percent of monthly gross individual or family income for individuals 
or families with incomes below the limits for the medical assistance program for families and 
children in effect on January 1, 1999, and proceeds through the following evenly spaced 
steps: 1.8,2.3,3.1,3.8,4.8,5.9,7.4, and 8.8 percent. These percentages are matched to even­
ly spaced income steps ranging from the medical assistance income limit for families and 
children in effect on January 1,1999, to 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the 
applicable family size, up to a family size of five. The sliding fee scale for a family of five 
must be used for families of more than five. The sliding fee scale and percentages are not 
subject to the provisions of chapter 14. If a family or individual reports increased income 
after enrollment, premiums shall be adjusted at the time the change in income is reported.

(b) Families whose gross income is above 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines 
shall pay the maximum premium. The maximum premium is defined as a base charge for 
one, two, or three or more enrollees so that if all MinnesotaCare cases paid the maximum 
premium, the total revenue would equal the total cost of MinnesotaCare medical coverage 
and administration. In this calculation, administrative costs shall be assumed to equal ten 
percent of the total. The costs of medical coverage for pregnant women and children under 
age two and the enrollees in these groups shall be excluded from the total. The maximum 
premium for two enrollees shall be twice the maximum premium for one, and the maximum 
premium for three or more enrollees shall be three times the maximum premium for one.

[For text o f subd 3, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 4. Exception for transitioned adults. County agencies shall pay premiums for 
single adults and households with no children formerly enrolled in general assistance medi­
cal care and enrolled in MinnesotaCare according to section 256D.03, subdivision 3, until 
six-month renewal. The county agency has the option of continuing to pay premiums for 
these enrollees.

History: 2007 c 147 art 5 j132-34

NOTE: The amendments lo subdivisions 1 and 2 by Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 5, sections 32 and 33 respectively, are 
effective July 1,2007, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 5, sections 32 and 33, the effec­
tive dates.

256L.17 ASSET REQUIREMENT FOR MINNESOTACARE.

[For text o f subd 1, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 2. Limit on total assets, (a) Effective July 1, 2002, or upon federal approval, 
whichever is later, in order to be eligible for the MinnesotaCare program, a household of two 
or more persons must not own more than $20,000 in total net assets, and a household of one 
person must not own more than $10,000 in total net assets.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, assets are determined according to section 
256B.056, subdivision 3c, except that workers’ compensation settlements received due to a 
work-related injury shall not be considered.

(c) State-funded MinnesotaCare is not available for applicants or enrollees who are 
otherwise eligible for medical assistance but fail to verify assets. Enrollees who become eli­
gible for federally funded medical assistance shall be terminated from state-funded Minne­
sotaCare and transferred to medical assistance.

[For text of subds la  and lb, see M.S.2006]
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Subd. 3. Documentation, (a) The commissioner of human services shall require indi­
viduals and families, at the time of application or renewal, to indicate on a checkoff form 
developed by the commissioner whether they satisfy the MinnesotaCare asset requirement.

(b) The commissioner may require individuals and families to provide any information 
the commissioner determines necessary to verify compliance with the asset requirement, if 
the commissioner determines that there is reason to believe that an individual or family has 
assets that exceed the program limit.

[For text o f subds 4 to 6, see M.S.2006]

Subd. 7. Exception for certain adults. Single adults and households with no children 
formerly enrolled in general assistance medical care and enrolled in MinnesotaCare accord­
ing to section 256D.03, subdivision 3, are exempt from the requirements of this section until 
renewal.

History: 2007 c 147 art 4 s 10; art 5 s 35,36
NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 2 by Laws 2007, chapter 147, articlc 5, section 35, is effective July I, 2007, or upon 

federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2007, chapter 147. article 5, section 35, the effective dale.

256L.22 DEFINITION; CHILDREN’S HEALTH PROGRAM.
For purposes of sections 256L.22 to 256L.28, “children’s health program” means the 

medical assistance and MinnesotaCare programs to the extent medical assistance and Min­
nesotaCare provide health coverage to children.

History: 2007 c 147 art 13 s 4
NOTE: This section as added by Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 13, section 4, is effective October 1,2008, or upon federal 

approval, whichever is later. Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 13, section 4, the effective date.

256L.24 HEALTH CARE ELIGIBILITY FOR CHILDREN.
Subdivision 1. Applicability. This section applies to children who are enrolled in a 

children’s health program.
Subd. 2. Application procedure. The commissioner shall develop an application form 

for children’s health programs for children that is easily understandable and does not exceed 
four pages in length. The provisions of section 256L.05, subdivision 1, apply.

Subd. 3. Premiums. Children enrolled in MinnesotaCare shall pay premiums as pro­
vided in section 256L.15.

Subd. 4. Eligibility renewal. The commissioner shall require children enrolled in Min­
nesotaCare to renew eligibility every 12 months.

History: 2007 c 147 art 13 s 5
NOTE: This section as added by Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 13, section 5, is effective October 1 ,2008, or upon federal 

approval, whichever is later. Laws 2007, chapter 147, articlc 13, section 5, the effective date.

256L.26 ASSISTANCE TO APPLICANTS.
The commissioner shall assist children in choosing a managed care organization to re­

ceive services under a children’s health program, by:
(1) establishing a Web site to provide information about managed care organizations 

and to allow online enrollment;
(2) making applications and information on managed care organizations available to 

applicants and enrollees according to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act and federal regulations 
adopted under that law or any guidance from the United States Department of Health and 
Human Services; and

(3) making benefit educators available to assist applicants in choosing a managed care 
organization.

History: 2007 c 147 art 13 s 6
NOTE: This section as added by Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 13, section 6, is effective October 1,2008, or upon federal 

approval, whichever is later. Laws 2007, chapter 147, articlc 13. section 6, the effective date.

MINNESOTA STATUTES 2007 SUPPLEMENT

Copyright © 2007 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                



235 MINNESOTACARE 256L.28

256L.28 FEDERAL APPROVAL.
The commissioner shall seek all federal waivers and approvals necessary to implement 

sections 256L.22 to 256L.28, including, but not limited to, waivers and approvals necessary 
to:

(1) coordinate medical assistance and MinnesotaCare coverage for children; and
(2) maximize receipt of the federal medical assistance match for covered children, by 

increasing income standards through the use of more liberal income methodologies as pro­
vided under United States Code, title 42, sections 1396a and 1396u-l.

History: 2007 c 147 art 13 s 7
NOTE: This section as added by Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 13, section 7, is effective October 1,2008, or upon federal 

approval, whichever is later. Laws 2007, chaptcr 147, article 13, section 7, the effective date.
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