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CHAPTER 299F 

FIRE MARSHAL
299F.011 
299F.014

299F.05

299F.051

299F.011 UNIFORM FIRE CODE; ADOPTION.

[For text o f subds 1 to 4b, see M.S.2004]

Subd. 4c. [Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 9 s 15]

[For text o f subds 5 to 6, see M.S.2004]

Subd. 7. Fees. The state fire marshal shall .charge a fee of $100 for each, plan 
review involving:

(1) flammable liquids;
(2) motor vehicle fuel-dispensing stations;Or >
(3) liquefied petroleum gases.
History: 2005 c 136 art 9 s 4

299F.014 RULES FOR CERTAIN PETROLEUM STORAGE TANKS; TANK VEHI­
CLE p a r k in g .

(a) Any rule of the commissioner of public :safety that adopts provisions of the. 
State Fire Code relating to aboveground tanks for petroleum storage that are not used 
for dispensing to the public is superseded by Minnesota Rules, chapter. 7151, in regard 
to: secondary containment, substance transfer areas, tank and piping standards, overfill 
protection, corrosion protection, leak detection, labeling, monitoring, maintenance, 
record keeping, and decommissioning. If Minnesota Rules, chapter 7151, does not 
address an issue relating to aboveground tanks for petroleum storage that are not used 
for dispensing to the public,, any applicable; provision of the State Fire Code applies;

(b) A motorized tank vehicle used to transport petroleum products may be parked 
within 500 feet of a residence if the vehicle is parked at an aboveground tank facility 
used for dispensing petroleum into cargo tanks for sale at another location.

History: 2005 c 136 art 9 s  5 

299F.015 [Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 9 s 15]

299F.05 LAW ENFORCEMENT POWERS; INFORMATION SYSTEM.
Subdivision 1. Investigation, arrest, and prosecution. On determining that reason­

able grounds exist to believe that a violation of sections 609.561; to 609.576 has 
occurred or that some other crime has occurred in connection with a fire investigated 
pursuant to section 299F.04, the state fire marshal shall so inform the law enforcement 
authority having jurisdiction, who shall cooperate with the fire marshal and local fire 
officials in further investigating the reported incident in a manner that may include 
supervising and directing the subsequent criminal investigation and taking the testimo­
ny on oath of all persons supposed to be cognizant of any facts relating to the matter 
under investigation. On determining that there is evidence sufficient to charge any 
person with a violation of sections 609.561 to 609.576, or of any other crime in 
connection with an investigated fire, the authority having jurisdiction shall have , the 
person arrested and charged with the offense arid furnish to the proper prosecuting 
attorney all relevant evidence, together with ithe copy of all names of witnesses arid all
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299F.0S FIRE MARSHAL 278

the information obtained by the authority or the state fire marshal, including a copy of 
all pertinent and material testimony taken in the case.

Subd. 2. Information system. The state fire marshal shall maintain a record of 
arrests, charges filed, and final disposition of all fires reported and investigated under 
sections 299F.04 and 299F.05. For this purpose, the Department of Public Safety shall 
implement a single reporting system utilizing the systems operated by the fire marshal. 
The system must be' operated in such a way as to minimize duplication and discrepan­
cies in reported figures.

History: 2005 c 136 art 9 s 6

299F.051 ARSON TRAINING.

[For text o f subds 1 to 3, see M.S.2004]
Subd. 4. Cooperative investigation. The state fire marshal and the superintendent 

of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall encourage the cooperation of local 
firefighters and peace officers in the investigation of violations of sections 609.561 to
609.576 or other crimes associated with reported fires in all appropriate ways.

History: 2005 c 10 art 1 s 63; 2005 c 136 art 9 s 7

299F.06 TESTIMONIAL POWERS.
Subdivision 1. Summon witnesses; produce documentary evidence, (a). In order to 

establish if reasonable grounds exist to believe that a violation of sections 609.56i to
609.576 has occurred, or to determine compliance with the State Fire, Code, or 
corrective orders issued under that code, the state fire marshal and the staff designated 
by the state fire marshal, in any county of the state, may summon and compel the 
attendance of witnesses to testify before the state fire marshal, chief assistant fire 
marshal, or deputy state fire marshals and may require the production, of any book, 
paper, or document deemed pertinent.

(b) A summons issued under this subdivision must be served in the same manner 
and has the same effect as a subpoena issued from a district cOurt. All witnesses must 
receive the same compensation as is paid to witnesses in district courts, which must be 
paid out of the fire marshal fund upon a voucher certificate signed by the state fire, 
marshal, chief assistant fire marshal, or deputy fire marshal before whom any witnesses 
have attended and this Officer shall, at the close of the investigation in which the 
witness was subpoenaed, certify to the attendance and mileage of the witness. This 
certificate must be filed in the Office of the State Fire Marshal. All investigations held 
by or under the direction of the state fire marshal or any subordinate may, in the state 
fire marshal’s discretion, be private and persons other than those required to be 
present by the provisions of this chapter may be excluded from the place where the 
investigation is held, and witnesses may be kept separate and apart from each other 
and not allowed to communicate with each other until they have been examined.

[For text o f subds 2 and 3, see M.S.2004]

History: 2005 c 136 art 9 s 8

299F.093 POWERS AND DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER.
Subdivision 1. Duties; rules. The commissioner shall:
(1) adopt rules no later than July 1, 1987, with the advice of the Hazardous 

Substance Notification, Advjsory Committee, establishing the form and content of the 
hazardous substance notification report form, as required by section 299F.094, and 
describing one or more hazard categories with specified ranges of quantities in each 
hazard category, representing increments of substantially increased risk;

(2) print and provide to individual fire departments the requested number of 
hazardous substance notification reports, which must be made available to a fire' 
department no more than 90 days following its request, for the fire department to mail 
or otherwise make-available to employers in the jurisdiction;
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279 FIRE MARSHAL 299F.19

(3) report to the legislature, as needed,.on the effectiveness of sections 299F.091 to 
299F.099 and recommend amendments to sections 299F.091 to 299F.099 that are 
considered necessary;

(4) adopt rules to implement sections,299F.091: to 299F.099, compatible with the 
Minnesota Uniform Fire Code so as to not limit the authority of local fire officials 
under that code; and

(5). adopt rules that are based on the most recent standard -704, adopted by the 
National Fire Protection, Association, and that allow a, fire department to require 
employers yvithin its jurisdiction to . post signs conforming to standard 704, and 
indicating the presence of hazardous substances. If the signs are required, a fire 
department shall supply the signs or provide information to assist an employer to 
obtain them.

[For text o f subd 2, see M.S.2004]

History: 2005 c 10 art 1 s 64 

299F.10 [Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 9 s 15]

299F.11 [Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 9 s 15]

299F.12 [Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 9 s 15]

299F.13 [Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 9 s 15]

299F.14 [Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 9 s 15]

299F.15 [Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 9 s 15]

299F.16 [Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 9 s 15]

299F.17 [Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 9 s 15]

299F.I9 FLAMMABLE LIQUIDS AND EXPLOSIVES.
• Subdivision 1. Rules. The commissioner of public safety shall adopt rules for the 

safekeeping, storage, handling, use, or . other disposition of blasting agents and explo­
sives. Loads carried in or on vehicles transporting these products upon public highways 
within, this state are. governed , by the: uniform vehicle size and weights provisions in 
sections 169;80. to i 169.88 arid the transportation of hazardous materials provisions of 
section 221.033.

Subd. 2. Blasting agent defined; explosives classified. For the purposes of this 
section and the rules adopted pursuant to this section:

■ (a) “Blasting agent” means any material or mixture, consisting of a fuel and 
oxidizer; intended for blasting, not otherwise classified as an explosive and in which 
none. of the ingredients is classified as an explosive; providing that, the finished 
product, as mixed and packaged for use or shipment, cannot be detonated by means of 
a number 8 test blasting cap when uncorifined. “Blasting agent” does not include 
flammable liquids or flammable gases.

(b) “Explosive” means any chemical compound, mixture, Or device, the primary or 
common purpose of which is to function by explosion. The term includes, but is not 
limited to, dynamite, black powder, pellet powder, initiating explosives, detonators, 
safety fuses, squibs, detoriatirig cOrd, igniter cord; igniters, display fireworks, arid class 
1.3G fireworks (formerly classified as Class B special fireworks). “Explosive” includes 
any material determined to be within the scope Of United States Code, title 18, chapter 
40, and also includes any material classified as an explosive other than consumer 
fireworks, 1.4G , (Class C,. Common), by the hazardous materials, regulations of the 
United States Department of Transportation (DOTn) in Code of Federal Regulations, 
tide 49.

(c) Explosives are divided into four categories and are defined as follows:
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(1) High explosive: explosive material, such as dynamite, that can be caused to 
detonate by means of a number eight test blasting cap when unconfined.

(2) Low explosive: explosive material that will burn or deflagrate when ignited, 
characterized by a rate of reaction that is less than the speed of sound, including, but 
not limited to, black powder, safety fuse, igniters, igniter cord, fuse lighters, class 1.3G 
fireworks (formerly classified as Class B special fireworks), and class 1.3C propellants.

(3) Mass-detonating explosives: division 1.1, 1.2, and 1.5 explosives alone or in 
combination, or loaded into various types of ammunition or containers, most of which 
can be expected to explode virtually instantaneously when a small portion is subjected 
to fire, severe concussion, impact, the impulse of an initiating agent, or the effect of a 
considerable discharge of energy from without. Materials that react in this manner 
represent a mass explosion hazard. Such an explosive will normally cause severe 
structural damage to adjacent objects. Explosive propagation could occur immediately 
to other items of ammunition and explosives stored sufficiently close to and not 
adequately protected from the initially exploding pile with a time interval short enough 
so that two or more quantities must be considered as one for quantity-distance 
purposes.

(4) United Nations/United States Department of Transportation (UN/DOTn) 
Class 1 explosives: the hazard class of explosives that further defines and categorizes 
explosives under the current system applied by DOTn for all explosive materials into 
further divisions as follows, with the letter G identifying the material as a pyrotechnic 
substance or article containing a pyrotechnic substance and similar materials:

(i) Division 1.1 explosives have a mass explosion hazard. A mass explosion is one 
that affects almost the entire load instantaneously.

(ii) Division 1.2 explosives have a projection hazard but not a mass explosion 
hazard.

(iii) Division 1.3 explosives have a fire hazard and either a minor blast hazard or a 
minor projection hazard or both, but not a mass explosion hazard.

(iv) Division 1.4 explosives pose a minor explosion hazard. The explosive effects 
are largely confined to the package and no projection of fragments of appreciable size 
or range is to be expected. An external fire must not cause virtually instantaneous 
explosion of almost the entire contents of the package.

(v) Division 1.5 explosives are very insensitive and are comprised of substances 
that have a mass explosion hazard, but are so insensitive that there is very little 
probability of initiation or of transition from burning to detonation under normal 
conditions of transport.

(vi) Division 1.6 explosives are extremely insensitive and do not have a mass 
explosion hazard, comprised of articles that contain only extremely insensitive detonat­
ing substances and that demonstrate a negligible probability of accidental initiation or 
propagation.

[For text o f subds 3 to 6, see M.S.2004]

Histoiy: 2005 c 136 art 9 s 9,10 

299F.361 [Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 9 s 15]

299F.362 SMOKE DETECTOR; INSTALLATION; RULES; PENALTY.

[For text o f subds 1 and 2, see M.S.2004]

Subd. 3. Smoke detector for any dwelling. Every dwelling unit within a dwelling 
must be provided with a smoke detector meeting the requirements of the State Fire 
Code. The detector must be mounted in accordance with the rules regarding smoke 
detector location adopted under subdivision 2. When actuated, the detector must 
provide an alarm in the dwelling unit.
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281 FIRE MARSHAL 299F.362

Subd. 4. Smoke detector for apartment, lodging house, or hotel. Every dwelling 
unit within an apartment house and every guest room in a; lodging house or hotel used 
for sleeping purposes must be provided with a smoke detector conforming to the 
requirements of the State Fire Code. In dwelling units, detectors must be mounted in 
accordance with the rules regarding smoke detector location adopted under subdivision 
2. When actuated, the detector must provide an alarm in the dwelling unit or guest 
room.

[For text o f subds 5 to 11, see M.S.2004]

Histoiy: 2005 c 136 art 9 s 11,12 

299F.451 [Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 9 s 15|

[For text .of subd 3a, see M.S.2004]

299F.452 .[R e p e a led , 2005 c 136 art 9 s '15]
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