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CHAPTER 2561
GROUP RESIDENTIAL HOUSING

2561.04 Eligibility for group residential housing 2561.05 Monthly rates.
payment. 2561.06 Payment methods.

2561.04 ELIGIBILITY FOR GROUP RESIDENTIAL HOUSING PAYMENT.
[For text of subds 1 to 2, see M.S.2004]

Subd. 2a. License required. A county agency may not enter into an agreement with
an establishment to provide group residential housing unless:

(1) the establishment is licensed by the Department of Health as a hotel and
restaurant; a board and lodging establishment; a residential care home; a boarding care
home before March 1, 1985; or a supervised living facility, and the service provider for
residents of the facility is licensed under chapter 245A. However, an establishment
licensed by the Department of Health to provide lodging need not also be licensed to
provide board if meals are being supplied to residents under a contract with a food
vendor who is licensed by the Department of Health;

(2) the residence is licensed by the commissioner of human services under
Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5050 to 9555.6265, or certified by a county human services
agency prior to July 1, 1992, using the standards under Minnesota Rules, parts
9555.5050 to 9555.6265;

(3) the establishment is registered under chapter 144D and provides three meals a
day, or is an establishment voluntarily registered under section 144D.025 as a support-
ive housing establishment; or

(4) an establishment voluntarily registered under section 144D.025, other than a
supportive housing establishment under clause (3), is not eligible to provide group
residential housing.

The requirements under clauses (1), (2), (3), and (4) do not apply to establish-
ments exempt from state licensure because they are located on Indian reservations and
subject to tribal health and safety requirements.

[For text of subds 2b to 4, see M.S.2004]
History: 2005 ¢ 159 art 5s 5

2561.05 MONTHLY RATES.
[For text of subd 1, see M.S.2004]

Subd. la. Supplementary service rates. (a) Subject to the provisions of section
2561.04, subdivision 3, the county agency may negotiate a payment not to exceed
$426.37 for other services necessary to provide room and board provided by the group
residence if the residence is licensed by or registered by the Department of Health, or
licensed by the Department of Human Services to provide services in addition to room
and board, and if the provider of services is not also concurrently receiving funding for
services for a recipient under a home and community-based waiver under title XIX of
the Social Security Act; or funding from the medical assistance program under section
256B.0655, subdivision 2, for personal care services for residents in the setting; or
residing in a setting which receives funding under Minnesota Rules, parts 9535.2000 to
9535.3000. If funding is available for other necessary services through a home and
community-based waiver, or personal care services under section 256B.0655, subdivi-
sion 2, then the GRH rate is limited to the rate set in subdivision 1. Unless otherwise
provided in law, in no case may the supplementary service rate exceed $426.37. The
registration and licensure requirement does not apply to establishments which are
exempt from state licensure because they are located on Indian reservations and for
which the tribe has prescribed health and safety requirements. Service payments under
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this section may be prohibited under rules to prevent the supplanting of federal funds
with state funds. The commissioner shall pursue the feasibility of obtajning the
approval of the Secretary of Health and Human Services to provide home and
community-based waiver services under title XIX of the Social Security Act for
residents who are not eligible for an existing home and community-based waiver due to
a primary diagnosis of mental illness or chemical dependency and shall apply for a
waiver if it is determined to be cost-effective.

(b) The commissioner is authorized to make cost-neutral transfers from the GRH
fund for beds under this section to other funding programs administered by the
department after consultation with the county or counties in which the affected beds
are located. The commissioner may also make cost-neutral transfers from the GRH
fund to county human service agencies for beds permanently removed from the GRH
census under a plan submitted by the county agency and approved by the commission-
er. The commissioner shall report the amount of any transfers under this provision
annually to the legislature.

(¢) The provisions of paragraph (b) do not apply to a facility that has its
reimbursement rate established under section 256B.431, subdivision 4, paragraph (c).

[For text of subds 1b to 1d, see M.S.2004]

Subd. 1e. Supplementary rate for certain facilities. Notwithstanding the provisions
of subdivisions 1la and Ic, beginning July 1, 2005, a county agency shall negotiate a
supplementary rate in addition to the rate specified in subdivision 1, not to excced $700
per month, including any legislatively authorized inflationary adjustments, for a group
residential housing provider that:

(1) is located in Hennepin County and has had a group residential housing
contract with the county since June 1996;

(2) operates in three separate locations a 75-bed facility, a 50-bed facility, and a
26-bed facility; and

(3) serves a chemically dependent clientele, providing 24 hours per day supervision
and limiting a resident’s maximum length of stay to 13 months out of a consecutive
24-month period.

[For text of subd 1If, see M.S.2004]

Subd. 1g. Supplementary service rate for certain facilities. On or after July 1,
2005, a county agency may negotiate a supplementary service rate for recipients of
assistance under section 2561.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), who relocate from a
homeless shelter licensed and registered prior to December 31, 1996, by the Minnesota
Department of Health under section 157.17, to a supportive housing establishment
developed and funded in whole or in part with funds provided specifically as part of the
plan to end long-term homeclessness required under Laws 2003, chapter 128, article 15,
section 9, not to exceed $456.75.

[For text of subds 2 to 8, see M.S.2004]
History: 2005 ¢ 159 art 55 6; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 3 s 13

2561.06 PAYMENT METHODS.
[For text of subds 1 to 8, see M.S.2004]

Subd. 9. Community living adjustment. Effective August 1, 2005, persons eligible
for and residing in group residential housing under section 2561.04 shall receive a
group residential housing community living adjustment of $12 per month.

History: 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 48
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