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CHAPTER 289A

TAX ADMINISTRATION AND COMPLIANCE
289A.02 Definitions. 289A.20 Due dates for making payments of tax.
289A.08 Filing requirements for individual incomc, 289A.3I Liability for payment of tax.

fiduciary income, corporate franchise, 289A.36 Examinations; audits and collections.
mining company, and entertainment taxes. 289A.40 Limitations on claims for refund.

289A.10 Filing requirements for estate tax returns. 289A.50 Claims for refunds.
289A.18 Due dates for filing of returns. 289A.56 Interest on overpayments.
289A. 19 Extensions for filing returns. 289A.60 Civil penalties.

289A.02 DEFINITIONS.

[For text o f subds 1 to 6, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 7. Internal Revenue Code. Unless specifically defined otherwise, “Internal 
Revenue Code” means the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended through June 
15, 2003.

[For text of subd 8, see M.S.2002]

History: 2003 c 127 art 4 s 1; lSp2003 c 21 art 3 s i

289A.08 FILING REQUIREMENTS FOR INDIVIDUAL INCOME, FIDUCIARY IN­
COME, CORPORATE FRANCHISE, MINING COMPANY, AND ENTERTAINMENT 
TAXES.

[For text o f subds 1 to 15, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 16. Tax refund or return preparers; electronic filing; paper filing fee 
imposed, (a) A “tax refund or return preparer,” as defined in section 289A.60, 
subdivision 13, paragraph (g), who prepared more than 500 Minnesota individual 
income tax returns for the prior calendar year must file all Minnesota individual 
income tax returns prepared for the current calendar year by electronic means.

(b) For tax returns prepared for the tax year beginning in 2001, the “500” in 
paragraph (a) is reduced to 250.

(c) For tax returns prepared for tax years beginning after December 31, 2001, the 
“500” in paragraph (a) is reduced to 100.

.. (d) Paragraph (a) does not apply to a return if the taxpayer has indicated on the 
return that the taxpayer did not want the return filed by electronic means.

(e) For each return that is not filed electronically by a tax refund or return 
preparer under this subdivision, including returns filed under paragraph (d), a paper 
filing fee of $5 is imposed upon the preparer. The fee is collected from the preparer in 
the same manner as income tax. The fee does not apply to returns that the commission­
er requires to be filed in paper form.

History: lSp2003 c 1 art 2 s 81; lSp2003 c 21 art 11 s 12

289A.10 FILING REQUIREMENTS FOR ESTATE TAX RETURNS.
Subdivision 1. Return required. In the case of a decedent who has an interest in 

property with a situs in Minnesota, the personal representative must submit a Minneso­
ta estate tax return to the commissioner, on a form prescribed by the commissioner, if:

(1) a federal estate tax return is required to be filed; or
(2) the federal gross estate exceeds $700,000 for estates of decedents dying after 

December 31, 2001, and before January 1, 2004; $850,000 for estates of decedents 
dying after December 31, 2003, and before January 1, 2005; $950,000 for estates of 
decedents dying after December 31, 2004, and before January 1, 2006; and $1,000,000 
for estates of decedents dying after December 31, 2005.
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289A.10 TAX ADMINISTRATION AND COMPLIANCE 74

The return must contain a computation of the Minnesota estate tax due. The 
return must be signed by the personal representative.

[For text o f subds 2 and 3, see M.S.2002]

Histoiy: 2003 c 127 art 3 s 1 

289A.18 DUE DATES FOR FILING OF RETURNS.

[For text o f subds 1 to 3, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 4. Sales and use tax returns, (a) Sales and use tax returns must be filed on 
or before the 20th day of the month following the close of the preceding reporting 
period, except that annual use tax returns provided for under section 289A.11, 
subdivision 1, must be filed by April 15 following the close of the calendar year, in the 
case of individuals. Annual use tax returns of businesses, including sole proprietorships, 
and annual sales tax returns must be filed by February 5 following the close of the 
calendar year.

(b) Returns for the June reporting period filed by retailers required to remit their 
June liability under section 289A.20, subdivision 4, paragraph (b), are due on or before 
August 20.

(c) If a retailer has an average sales and use tax liability, including local sales and 
use taxes administered by the commissioner, equal to or less than $500 per month in 
any quarter of a. calendar year, and has substantially complied with the tax laws during 
the preceding four calendar quarters, the retailer may request authorization to file and 
pay the taxes quarterly in subsequent calendar quarters. The authorization remains in 
effect during the period in which the retailer’s quarterly returns reflect sales and use 
tax liabilities of less than $1,500 and there is continued compliance with state tax laws.

(d) If a retailer has an average sales and use tax liability, including local sales and 
use taxes administered by the commissioner, equal to or' less than $100 per month 
during a calendar year, and has substantially complied with the tax laws during that 
period, the retailer may request authorization to file and pay the taxes annually in 
subsequent years. The authorization remains in effect during the period in which the 
retailer’s annual returns reflect sales and use tax liabilities of less than $1,200 and there 
is continued compliance with state tax laws.

(e) The commissioner may also grant quarterly or annual filing and payment 
authorizations to retailers if the commissioner concludes that the retailers’ future tax 
liabilities will be less than the monthly totals identified in paragraphs (c) and (d). An 
authorization granted under, this paragraph is subject to the same conditions as an 
authorization granted under paragraphs (c) and (d).

(f) A taxpayer who is a materials supplier may report gross receipts either on:
(1) the cash basis as the consideration is received; or
(2) the accrual basis as sales are made.

As used in this paragraph, “materials supplier” means a person who provides materials 
for the improvement of real property; who is primarily engaged in the sale of lumber 
and building materials-related products to owners, contractors, subcontractors, repair­
ers, or consumers; who is authorized to file a mechanics lien, upon real property and 
improvements under chapter 514; and who files with the commissioner an election to 
file sales and use tax returns on the basis of this paragraph.

(g) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (f), a seller that is not a Model 1, 2, or 3 
seller, as those terms are used in the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement, that 
does not have a legal requirement to register in Minnesota, and that is registered under 
the agreement, must, file a return by February 5 following the close of the calendar year 
in which the seller initially registers, and must file subsequent returns on February 5 on 
an annual basis in succeeding years. Additionally, a return must be submitted on or 
before the 20th day of the month following any month by which sellers have 
accumulated state and local tax funds for the state in the amount of $1,000 or more.
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75 TAX ADMINISTRATION AND COMPLIANCE 289A.31

[For text of subd 5, see M.S.2002]

History: 2003 c 127 art 1 s 3 

289A.19 EXTENSIONS FOR FILING RETURNS.

. [For text of subds 1 to 3, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 4. Estate tax returns. When in the commissioner’s judgment good cause 
exists, the commissioner may extend the time for filing an estate tax return for not 
more than six months. When an extension to file the federal estate tax return has been 
granted under section 6081 of the Internal Revenue Code, the time for filing the estate 
tax return is extended for that period.

[For text of subd 5, see M.S.2002]

Histoiy: 2003 c 127 art 3 s 2 

289A.20 DUE DATES FOR MAKING PAYMENTS OF TAX.

[For text of subds 1 to 3, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 4. Sales and use tax. (a) The taxes imposed by chapter 297A are due and 
payable to the commissioner monthly on or before the 20th day of the month following 
the month in which the taxable event occurred, or following another reporting period 
as the commissioner prescribes or as allowed under section 289A.18, subdivision 4, 
paragraph (f) or (g), except that use taxes due on an annual use tax return as provided 
under section 289A.11, subdivision 1, are payable by April 15 following the close of the 
calendar year.

(b) A vendor having a liability of $.120,000 or more during a fiscal year ending 
June 30 must remit the June liability for the next year in the following manner:

(1) Two business days before June 30 of the year, the vendor must remit 85 
percent of the estimated June liability to the commissioner.

(2) On or before August 20 of the year, the vendor must pay any additional 
amount of tax not remitted in June.

(c) A vendor having a liability of $120,000 or more during a fiscal year ending June 
30 must remit all liabilities on returns due for periods beginning in the subsequent 
calendar year by electronic means on or before the 20th day of the month following the 
month in which the taxable event occurred, or on or before the 20th day of the month 
following the month in which the sale is reported under section 289A.18, subdivision 4, 
except for 85 percent of the estimated June liability, which is due two business days 
before June 30. The remaining amount of the June liability is due on August 20.

[For text of subd 5, see M.S.2002]

Histoiy: lSp2003 c 21 art 8 s 2 

289A.31 LIABILITY FOR PAYMENT OF TAX.

[For text of subds 1 and 2, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 3. Transferees and fiduciaries. The amounts of the following liabilities are, 
except as otherwise provided in section 289A.38, subdivision 13, assessed, collected, and 
paid in the same manner and subject to the same provisions and limitations as a 
deficiency in a tax imposed by chapter 290, including any provisions of law for the 
collection of taxes:

(1) the liability, at law or in equity, of a transferee of property of a taxpayer for tax 
or overpayment of a refund, including interest, additional amounts, and additions to 
the tax or overpayment provided by law, imposed upon the taxpayer by chapter 290 or 
provided for in chapter 290A; and
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289A.31 TAX ADMINISTRATION AND COMPLIANCE 76

(2) the liability of a fiduciary under subdivision 4 for the payment of tax from the 
estate of the taxpayer. The liability may reflect the amount of tax shown on the return 
or any deficiency in tax.

Subd. 4. Tax as a personal debt of a fiduciary. A tax imposed by chapter 290 and 
an overpayment of a refund provided for in chapter 290A, and interest and penalties, is 
a personal debt of the taxpayer from the time the liability arises, regardless of when the 
time for discharging the liability by payment occurs. The debt is, in the case of the 
personal representative of the estate of a decedent and in the case of any fiduciary, that 
of the individual in the individual’s official or fiduciary capacity only, unless the 
individual has voluntarily distributed the assets held in that capacity without reserving 
sufficient assets to pay the tax, interest, and penalties, in which event the individual is 
personally liable for the deficiency.

[For text of subds 5 and 6, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 7. Sales and use tax. (a) The sales and use tax required to be collected by 
the retailer under chapter 297A constitutes a debt owed by the retailer to Minnesota, 
and the sums collected must be held as a special fund in trust for the state of 
Minnesota.

A retailer who does not maintain a place of business within this state as defined by 
section 297A.66, subdivision 1, shall not be indebted to Minnesota for amounts of tax 
that it was required to collect but did not collect unless the retailer knew or had been 
advised by the commissioner of its obligation to collect the tax!

(b) The use tax required to be paid by a purchaser is . a debt owed by the purchaser 
to Minnesota.

(c) The tax imposed by chapter 297A, and interest and penalties, is a personal debt 
of the individual required to file a return from the time the liability arises, irrespective 
of when the time for payment of that liability occurs. The debt is, in the case of the 
executor or administrator of the estate of a decedent and in the case of a fiduciary, that 
of the individual in an official or fiduciary capacity unless the individual has voluntarily 
distributed the assets held in that capacity without reserving sufficient assets to pay the 
tax, interest, and penalties, in which case the individual is personally liable for the 
deficiency.

(d) Liability for payment of sales and use taxes includes any responsible person or 
entity described in the personal liability provisions of section 270.101.

(e) Any amounts collected, even if erroneously or illegally collected, from a 
purchaser under a representation that they are taxes imposed under chapter 297A are 
state funds from the time of collection and must be reported on a return filed with the 
commissioner.

Subd. 8. Liability of vendor for repayment of refund. If an individual income tax 
refund resulting from claiming an education credit under section 290.0674 is paid by 
means of directly depositing the proceeds of the refund into a bank account controlled 
by the vendor of the product or service upon which the education credit is based, and 
the commissioner subsequently disallows the credit, the commissioner may seek 
repayment of the refund from the vendor. The amount of the repayment must be 
assessed and collected in the same time and manner as an erroneous refund under 
section 289A.37, subdivision 2.

Histoiy: 2003 c 127 art 3 s 3; art 8 s 7,8; lSp2003 c 21 art 8 s 3 

289A.36 EXAMINATIONS; AUDITS AND COLLECTIONS.

[For text o f subds 1 to 6, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 7. Application to court for enforcement of subpoena, (a) Disobedience of 
subpoenas issued under this section shall be punished by the district court of the 
district in which the party served with the subpoena is located, in the same manner as 
contempt of the district court.
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77 TAX ADMINISTRATION AND COMPLIANCE 289A.50

(b) Disobedience of a subpoena issued under subdivision 9 shall be punished by 
the District Court for Ramsey County in the same manner as contempt of the district 
court. In addition to contempt remedies, the court may issue any order the court deems 
reasonably necessary to enforce compliance with the subpoena.

[For text o f subd 8j see M.S.2002]

Subd. 9. Access to records in connection with examination of businesses located 
outside the state, (a) In order to determine whether a business located outside the state 
of Minnesota is required to file a return under this chapter, the commissioner may 
examine the relevant records and files of the business.

(b) To the full extent permitted by the Minnesota and United States Constitutions, 
the commissioner may compel production of those relevant records and files by 
subpoena. The subpoena may be served on the secretary of state along with the address 
to which service of the subpoena is to be sent and a fee of $50. The secretary of state 
shall forward a copy of the subpoena to the business using the procedures for service of 
process in section 5.25, subdivision 6.

(c) The commissioner shall pay the reasonable cost of producing records subject to 
subpoena under this subdivision if:

(1) the subpoenaed party cannot produce the records without undue burden; and
(2) the examination made pursuant to paragraph (a) shows that the subpoenaed 

party is not required to file a return under this chapter.
Subd. 10. Penalty. In addition to sanctions imposed under subdivision 7, a penalty 

of $250 per day is imposed on any business that is in violation of a court order to 
comply with a subpoena that is seeking information necessary for the commissioner to 
be able to determine whether the business is required to file a return or pay a tax. The 
maximum penalty is $25,000. Upon the request of the commissioner, the court shall 
determine, the amount of the penalty and enter it as a judgment in favor of the 
commissioner. The penalty is not payable until the judgment is entered.

History: 2003 c 127 art 8 s 9-11

289A.40 LIMITATIONS ON CLAIMS FOR REFUND.

[For text of subds 1 and la, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 2. Bad debt loss. If a claim relates to an overpayment because of a failure to 
deduct a loss due to a bad debt or to a security becoming worthless, the claim is 
considered timely if filed within seven years from the date prescribed for the filing of 
the return. A claim relating to an overpayment of taxes under chapter 297A must be 
filed within 3-1/2 years from the date prescribed for filing the return, plus any 
extensions granted for filing the return, but only if filed within the extended time. The 
refund or credit is limited to the amount of overpayment attributable to the Joss. “Bad 
debt” for purposes of this subdivision, has the same meaning as that term is . used in 
United States Code, title 26, section 166, except that the following are excluded from 
the calculation of bad; debt: financing charges or interest; sales or use taxes charged on 
the purchase price; uncollectible amounts on property that remain in the possession of 
the seller until the full purchase price is paid; expenses incurred in attempting to collect 
any debt; and repossessed property.

[For text of subds 3 and 4, see M.S.2002]

History: 2003 c 127 ait 1 s 4 

289A.50 CLAIMS FOR REFUNDS.
[For text o f subds 1 to 2, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 2a. Refund of sales tax to purchasers, (a) If a vendor has collected from a 
purchaser a tax on a transaction that is not subject to the tax imposed by chapter 297A, 
the purchaser may apply directly to the commissioner for a refund under this section if:
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289A.50 TAX ADMINISTRATION AND COMPLIANCE 78

(1) the purchaser is currently registered or was registered during the period of the 
claim, to collect and remit the sales tax or- to remit the use tax; and

(2) either
(i) the amount of the refund to be applied for exceeds $500, or
(ii) the amount of the refund to be applied for does not exceed $500, but the 

purchaser also applies for a capital equipment claim at the same time, and the total of 
the two refunds exceeds $500.

(b) The purchaser may not file more than two applications for refund under this 
subdivision in a calendar year.

Subd. 2b. Certified service provider; bad debt claim. A certified service provider, 
as defined in section 297A.995, subdivision 2, may claim on behalf of a taxpayer that is 
its client any bad debt allowance provided by section 297A.81. The certified service 
provider must credit or refund to its client the full amount of any bad debt allowance 
or refund received.

Subd. 2c. Notice from purchaser to vendor requesting refund, (a) If a vendor has 
collected from a purchaser a tax on a transaction that is not subject to the tax imposed 
by chapter 297A, the purchaser may seek from the vendor a return of over-collected 
sales or use taxes as follows:

(1) the purchaser must provide written notice to the vendor;
(2) the notice to the vendor must contain the information necessary to determine 

the validity of the request; and
(3) no cause of action against the vendor accrues until the vendor has had 60 days 

to respond to the written notice.
(b) In connection with a purchaser’s request from a vendor of over-collected sales 

or use taxes, a vendor is presumed to have a reasonable business practice, if in the 
collection of such sales or use taxes, the vendor: (1) uses a certified service provider as 
defined in section 297A.995, a certified automated system, as defined in section 
297A.995, or a proprietary system that is certified by the state; and (2) has remitted to 
the state all taxes collected less any deductions, credits, or collection allowances.

[For text o f subds 3 to 10, see M.S.2002]

Histoiy: 2003 c 127art 1 s 5,6; art 6 s  1 

289A.56 INTEREST ON OVERPAYMENTS.

[For text o f subds 1 and 2, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 3. Withholding tax, entertainer withholding tax, withholding from payments 
to out-of-state contractors, estate tax, and sales tax overpayments. When a refund is 
due for overpayments of withholding tax, entertainer withholding tax, or withholding 
from payments to out-of-state contractors, interest is computed from the date of 
payment to the date the refund is paid or credited. For purposes of this subdivision, the 
date of payment is the later of the date the tax was finally due or was paid.

For the purposes of computing interest on estate tax refunds, interest is paid from 
the later of the date of overpayment, the date the estate tax return is due, or the date 
the original estate tax return is filed to the date the refund is paid.

For purposes of computing interest on sales and use tax refunds, interest is paid 
from the date of payment to the date the refund is paid or credited, if the refund claim 
includes a detailed schedule reflecting the tax periods covered in the claim. If the 
refund claim submitted does not include a detailed schedule reflecting the tax periods 
covered in the claim, interest is computed from the date the claim was filed.

Subd. 4. Capital equipment and certain building materials refunds; refunds to 
purchasers. Notwithstanding subdivision 3, for refunds payable under sections 297A.75, 
subdivision 1, and 289A.50, subdivision 2a, interest is computed from 90 days after the 
refund claim is filed with the commissioner.
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79 TAX ADMINISTRATION AND COMPLIANCE 289A.60

[For text of subds 5 and 6, see M.S.2002]

History: 2003 c 127 art 1 s 7; art 3 s 4 

289A.60 CIVIL PENALTIES.

[For text o f subds 1 to 6, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 7. Penalty for frivolous return. If a taxpayer files what purports to be a tax 
return or a claim for refund but which does not contain information on which the 
substantial correctness of the purported return or claim for refund may be judged or 
contains information that on its face shows that the purported return or claim for 
refund is substantially incorrect and the conduct is due to a position that is frivolous or 
a desire that appears on the purported return or claim for refund to delay or impede 
the administration of Minnesota tax laws, then the individual shall pay a penalty of the 
greater of $1,000 or 25 percent of the amount of tax required to be shown on the 
return. In a proceeding involving the issue of whether or not a. person is liable for this 
penalty, the burden of proof is on the commissioner.

[For text o f subds 8 to 14, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 15. Accelerated payment of June sales tax liability; penalty for underpay­
ment. (a) For payments made after December 31, 2002, and before January 1, 2004, if 
a vendor is required by law to submit an estimation of June sales tax liabilities and 75 
percent payment by a certain date, the vendor shall pay a penalty equal to ten percent 
of the amount of actual June liability required to be paid in June less the amount 
remitted in June. The penalty must not be imposed, however, if the amount remitted in 
June equals the lesser of 75 percent of the preceding May’s liability or 75 percent of 
the average monthly liability for the previous calendar year.

(b) For payments made after December 31, 2003, if a vendor is required by law to 
submit an estimation of June sales tax liabilities and 85 percent payment by a certain 
date, the vendor shall pay a penalty equal to ten percent of the amount of actual June 
liability required to be paid in June less the amount, remitted in June. The penalty must 
not be imposed, however, if the amount remitted in June equals the lesser of 85 
percent of the preceding May’s liability or 85 percent of the average monthly liability 
for the previous calendar year.

[For text o f subds 1.6 to 24, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 25. Penalty for failure to properly complete sales tax return. A person who 
fails to report local sales tax on a sales tax return or who fails to report local sales tax 
on separate tax lines on the sales tax return is subject to a penalty of five percent of the 
amount of tax not properly reported on the return. A person who files a consolidated 
tax return but fails to report location information is subject to a $500 penalty for each 
return not containing location information. In addition, the commissioner may revoke 
the privilege for a taxpayer to file consolidated returns and may require the taxpayer to 
separately register each location and to file a tax return for each location.

History: lSp2001 c 5 art 12 s 95; 2002 c 377 art 3 s 24; 2003 c 127 art 3 s 5; art 6 s
2,3; lSp2003 c 21 art 8 s 4,15
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