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CHAPTER 168 

VEHICLE REGISTRATION, TAXATION, SALE
J 68.54 Motor vehicles, transfer of ownership. 
168.61 Intercity bus.
168.66 Motor vehicle retail installment sales; 

definitions.
168.67 Sales finance company; license, fees, 

refund.
168.71 Motor vehicle retail installment contract. 
168.75 Vehicle sales finance company violations; 

remedies.

[For text of subds 1 to 21, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 22. Special mobile equipment. “Special mobile equipment” means every 
vehicle not designed or used primarily for the transportation of persons or property 
and only incidentally operated or moved over a highway, including but not limited to: 
ditch-digging apparatuses, moving dollies, pump hoists and other water well-drilling 
equipment registered under chapter 1031, street-sweeping vehicles, and other machin­
ery such as asphalt spreaders, bituminous mixers, bucket loaders, tractors other than 
truck-tractors, ditchers, leveling graders, finishing machines, motor graders, road 
rollers, scarifiers, truck-mounted log loaders, earth-moving carryalls, scrapers, power 
shovels, draglines, self-propelled cranes, -and earth-moving equipment. The term does 
not include travel trailers, dump trucks, truck-mounted transit mixers, truck-mounted 
feed grinders, or other motor vehicles designed for the . transportation of persons or 
property to which machinery has been attached.

[For text o f subds 25 to 35, see M.S.2002]

History: lSp2003 c 19 art 2 s 19

168.013 VEHICLE REGISTRATION TAXES.

[For text of subds 1 to Id, see M.S.2002]

Subd. le. Truck; tractor; combination; exceptions, (a) On trucks and tractors 
except those in this chapter defined as farm trucks, on truck-tractor and semitrailer 
combinations except those defined as farm combinations, and on commercial zone 
vehicles, the tax based on total gross weight shall be graduated according to the 
Minnesota base rate schedule prescribed in this subdivision, but in no event less than 
$ 120.

Minnesota Base Rate Schedule 
Scheduled taxes include five percent 
surtax provided for in subdivision 14 

TOTAL GROSS WEIGHT
IN POUNDS TAX

A 0 -  1,500 $ 15
B 1,501 -  3,000 20
C 3,001 -  4,500 25
D 4,501 -  6,000 35
E 6,001 -  9,000 45
F 9,001 -  12,000 70
G 12,001 -  15,000 105
H 15,001 -  18,000 145
I 18,001 -  21,000 190
J 21,001 -  26,000 270

168.011 • Definitions.
168.013 Vehicle registration taxes.
168.102 School bus; preregistration inspection.
168.12 License plates.
168.1293 Special license plates; authorization;

discontinuance.
168.1297 Special “Rotary member” license plates. 
168.27 Motor vehicle dealers; violations, penalties. 
168.33 Registrar of motor vehicles; deputy 

registrars.

168.011 DEFINITIONS.
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23 VEHICLE REGISTRATION, TAXATION, SALE 168.013

K 26,001 -  33,000 360
L 33,001 -  39,000 475
M 39,001 -  45.000 595
N 45,001 -  51,000 715
O 51,001 -  57,000 865
P 57,001 -  63,000 1015
Q 63,001 -  69,000 1185
R 69,001 -  73,280 1325
S 73,281 -  78,000 1595
T 78,001 -  81,000 1760

(b) For purposes of the Minnesota base rate schedule, for vehicles with six or 
more axles in the “S” and “T” categories, the base rates are $1,520 and $1,620 
respectively.

(c) For each vehicle with a gross weight in excess of 81,000 pounds an additional 
tax of $50 is imposed for each ton or fraction thereof iri excess of 81,000 pounds, 
subject to subdivision 12.

(d) Truck-tractors except those herein defined as farm and commercial zone 
vehicles shall be taxed in accord with the foregoing gross weight tax schedule on the 
basis of the combined gross weight of the truck-tractor and any semitrailer or 
semitrailers which the applicant proposes to combine with the truck-tractor.

(e) Commercial zone trucks include only trucks, truck-tractors, and semitrailer 
combinations which are:

(1) used by an authorized local cartage carrier operating under a permit issued 
under section 221.296 arid whose gross transportation revenue consists of at least. 60 
percent obtained solely from local cartage carriage, and are operated solely within an 
area composed of two contiguous cities of the first class and municipalities contiguous 
thereto as defined by section 221.011, subdivision 17; or

(2) operated by an interstate carrier registered under section 221.60, or by an 
authorized local cartage carrier or other carrier receiving operating authority under 
chapter 221, and operated solely within a zone exempt from regulation pursuant to 
United States Code, title 49, section 13506.

(f) The license plates issued for commercial zone vehicles shall be plainly marked. 
A person operating a commercial zone vehicle outside the zone or area in which its 
operation is authorized is guilty of a misdemeanor and, in addition to the penalty 
therefor, shall have the registration of the vehicle as a commercial zone vehicle revoked 
by the registrar and. shall be required to reregister the vehicle at 100 percent of the full 
annual tax prescribed in the Minnesota base rate schedule, and no part of this tax shall 
be refunded during the balance of the registration year.

(g) On commercial zone trucks the tax shall be based on the total gross weight of 
the vehicle and during each of the first eight years of vehicle life shall be 75 percent of 
the Minnesota base rate schedule. During the ninth and succeeding years of vehicle life 
the tax shall be 50 percent of the Minnesota base rate schedule.

(h) On trucks, truck-tractors and semitrailer combinations, except those defined as 
farm trucks and farm combinations,- and except for those commercial zone vehicles 
specifically provided for in this subdivision, the tax for each of the first eight years of 
vehicle life shall be 100 percent of the tax imposed in the Minnesota , base rate 
schedule, and during the ninth and succeeding years of vehicle life, the tax shall be 75 
percent of the Minnesota base rate prescribed by this subdivision.

(i) For the purpose of registration, trailers coupled with a truck-tractor, semitrailer 
combination are semitrailers.

[For text o f subds I f  to 2, see M.S.2002]
Subd. 3. Application; cancellation; excessive gross weight forbidden, (a) The

applicant for all licenses based on gross weight shall state the unloaded weight of the 
motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer and the maximum load the applicant proposes to
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168.013 VEHICLE REGISTRATION, TAXATION, SALE 24

carry on it, the sum of which constitutes the gross weight upon which the license tax 
must be paid. However, the declared gross weight upon which the tax is paid must not 
be less than 1-1/4 times the declared unloaded weight of the motor vehicle, trailer, or 
semitrailer to be registered, except recreational vehicles taxed under subdivision lg, 
school buses taxed under subdivision 18, and tow trucks or towing vehicles defined in 
section 169.01, subdivision 52. The gross weight of a tow truck or towing vehicle is the 
actual weight of the tow truck or towing vehicle fully equipped, but does not include 
the weight of a wrecked or disabled vehicle towed or drawn by the tow truck or towing 
vehicle.

(b) The gross weight of a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer must not exceed the 
gross weight upon which the license tax has been paid by more than four percent or 
1,000 pounds, whichever is greater; provided that, a vehicle transporting unfinished 
forest products on a, highway, other than a highway that is part of the system of 
interstate and defense highways, unless a federal exemption is granted, in accordance 
with paragraph (d)(3):

(1) shall not exceed its gross vehicle weight upon which the license tax has been 
paid, or gross axle weight on any axle, by more than five percent and, notwithstanding 
other law to the contrary, is not subject to any fee, fine, or other assessment or penalty 
for exceeding a gross vehicle or axle weight by up to five percent; and

(2) between the dates set by the commissioner in accordance with section 169.826, 
subdivision 1, is not subject to any provision of paragraph (d) or chapter 169 limiting 
the. gross axle weight of any individual axle unless the entire vehicle also exceeds its 
gross vehicle weight plus its weight allowance allowed in clause (1) and plus any weight 
allowance, permitted under section 169.826, in which case the vehicle is subject to all 
applicable penalties for excess weight violations.

(c) The gross weight of the motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer for which the 
license tax is paid must be indicated by a distinctive character on the license plate or 
plates except as provided in subdivision 12 and the plate or plates must be kept clean 
and clearly visible at all times.

(d) The owner, driver, or user of a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer, upon 
conviction for transporting a gross weight in excess of the gross weight for which it was 
registered or for operating a vehicle with an axle weight exceeding the maximum lawful 
axle load weight, is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to increased registration or 
reregistration according to the following schedule:

(1) Upon conviction for transporting a gross weight in excess of the gross weight 
for which a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer is registered by more than the 
allowance set forth in paragraph (b) but less than 25 percent, or for operating or using 
a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer with an axle weight exceeding the maximum 
lawful axle load as provided in sections 169.822 to 169.829 by more than the allowance 
set forth in paragraph (b) but less than 25 percent, the owner, driver, or user of the 
motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer used to commit the violation, in addition to any 
penalty imposed for the misdemeanor, shall apply to the registrar to increase the 
authorized gross weight to be carried on the vehicle to a weight equal to or greater 
than the gross weight the owner, driver, or user was convicted of carrying. The increase 
is computed for the balance of the calendar year on the basis of 1/12 of the annual tax 
for each month remaining in the calendar year beginning with the first day of the 
month in which the violation occurred. If the additional registration tax computed upon 
that weight, plus the tax already paid, amounts to more than the regular tax for the 
maximum gross weight permitted, for the vehicle under sections 169.822 to 169.829, that 
additional amount must nevertheless be paid into the highway fund, but the additional 
tax thus paid does not authorize or permit any person to operate the vehicle with a 
gross weight in excess of the maximum legal weight as provided by sections 169.822 to 
169.829. Unless the owner within 30 days after a conviction applies to increase the 
authorized weight and pays the additional tax as provided in this section, the registrar 
shall revoke the registration on the vehicle and demand the return of the registration 
card and plates issued on that registration.
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25 VEHICLE REGISTRATION, TAXATION, SALE 168.12

(2) Upon conviction of an owner, driver, or user of a motor vehicle, trailer, or 
semitrailer for transporting a gross weight in excess of the gross weight for which the 
motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer was registered by 25 percent or more or for 
operating or using the vehicle or trailer with an axle weight exceeding the maximum 
lawful axle load as provided in sections 169.822 to 169.829 by 25 percent or more, and 
in addition to any penalty imposed for the misdemeanor, the registrar shall either (i) 
cancel the reciprocity privileges on the vehicle involved if the vehicle is being operated 
under reciprocity or (ii) if the vehicle is not being operated under reciprocity, cancel 
the certificate of registration on the vehicle operated and demand the return of the 
registration certificate and registration plates. The registrar may not cancel the 
registration or reciprocity privileges for any vehicle found in violation of seasonal load 
restrictions imposed under section 169.87 unless the axle weight exceeds the year-round 
weight limit for the highway on which the violation occurred. The registrar may 
investigate any allegation of gross weight violations arid demand that the operator show 
cause why all future operating privileges in the state should not be revoked unless the 
additional tax assessed is paid.

(3) Clause (1) does not apply to the first haul of unprocessed or raw farm products 
or unfinished forest products, when the registered gross weight is not exceeded by more 
than ten percent. For purposes of this clause, “first haul” means (i) the first, continuous 
transportation of unprocessed or raw farm products from the place of production or 
on-farm storage site to any other location within 50 miles of the place of production or 
on-farm storage site, or (ii) the continuous or noncontinuous transportation of unfin­
ished forest products from the place of production to the place of final processing or 
manufacture located within 200 miles of the place of production.

(4) When the registration on a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer is revoked by 
the registrar according to this section, the vehicle must not be operated on the 
highways of the state until it is registered or reregistered, as the case may be, and new 
plates issued, and the registration fee is the annual tax for the total gross weight of the 
vehicle at the time of violation. The reregistration pursuant to this subdivision of any 
vehicle operating under reciprocity agreements pursuant to section 168.181 or 168.187 
must be at the full annual registration fee without regard to the percentage of vehicle 
miles traveled in this state.

[For text o f subds 4 to 20, see M.S.2002]
History: 2003 c 2 art 4 s 5; lSp2003 c 19 art 2 s 20 

168.102 SCHOOL BUS; PREREGISTRATION INSPECTION.
No school bus, as defined in section 169.01, subdivision 6, shall be registered for 

the first time in this state unless the application for registration is accompanied by a 
certificate from either the Minnesota State Patrol or the dealer showing that the school 
bus conforms with all rules promulgated by the Department of Public Safety and with 
all other applicable provisions of law.

History: lSp2003 c 9 art 10 s 13

168.12 LICENSE PLATES.

[For text o f subds 1 to 2d, see M.S.2002]
Subd. 2e. Volunteer ambulance attendants; special plates, (a) The registrar shall 

issue special license plates to an applicant who is a volunteer ambulance attendant as 
defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 15, and who owns or jointly owns a motor 
vehicle taxed as a passenger automobile. The registrar shall issue the special plates on 
payment of the registration tax required by law for the vehicle, compliance with all 
other applicable laws relating to registration and licensing of motor vehicles and 
drivers, and payment of an additional fee of $10. The registrar shall not issue more 
than two sets of these plates to each qualified applicant.

(b) A person may use special plates issued under this subdivision only during the 
period that the person is a volunteer ambulance attendant. When the person to whom
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the special plates were issued ceases to be a volunteer ambulance attendant, the. person 
shall: return each set of special plates issued to that person. When ownership, of a 
vehicle is transferred, the person shall remove the special plates from that , vehicle, and 
return them to the registrar. On return of each set of plates, the owner of the vehicle, 
or new owner in case of a transferred vehicle, is entitled to receive regular license 
plates for the vehicle without cost for the rest of the. registration period for which the 
set of special plates were issued. Special plates issued under this subdivision may be 
transferred to another vehicle owned by the volunteer ambulance attendant on 
payment of a fee of $5.

(c) The fees specified in this subdivision must be paid into the state treasury and 
deposited in the highway user tax distribution fund.

(d) The commissioner may adopt rules governing the design, issuance, and sale of 
the special plates authorized by this subdivision.

[For text o f subd 2f see M.S.2002]

Subd. 5. Additional fee. (a) In addition to any fee otherwise authorized or any tax 
otherwise imposed upon any motor vehicle, the payment of which is required as a 
condition to the issuance of any number license plate or plates, the commissioner of 
public safety shall impose the fee specified in paragraph (b) that is calculated to cover 
the cost of manufacturing and issuing the license plate or plates, except for license 
plates issued to disabled veterans as defined in section 168.031 and license plates issued 
pursuant to section 168.124, 168.125, or 168.27, subdivisions 16 and 17, for passenger 
automobiles. Graphic design license plates shall only be issued for vehicles registered 
pursuant to section 168.017 and recreational vehicles registered pursuant to section
168.013, subdivision lg.

(b) Unless otherwise specified or exempted by statute, the following plate and 
validation sticker, fees apply for the original, duplicate, or replacement issuance of a 
plate in a plate year:

Sequential Double Plate 
Sequential Special Plate-Double 
Sequential Single Plate 
Sequential Special Plate-Single 
Self-Adhesive Plate 
Nonsequential Double Plate 
Nonsequential Single Plate 
Duplicate Sticker

(c) Fees collected under this subdivision must be paid into the state treasury and 
credited to the highway user tax distribution fund.

History: lSp2003 c 19 art 2 s 21,22

168.1293 SPECIAL LICENSE PLATES; AUTHORIZATION; DISCONTINUANCE.
Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section and section 168.1297, 

“special license plate” means a license plate that is authorized by law to have wording 
and graphics that differ from a Minnesota passenger vehicle license plate.

Subd. 2. Submissions to department, (a) A person, legal entity, or other requester, 
however organized, that plans to seek legislation establishing a new special license plate 
shall submit the following information and fee to the Department of Public Safety:

(1) The requester shall submit a request for the special license plate being sought, 
describing the proposed license plate in general terms, the purpose of the plate, and 
the proposed fee or minimum contribution required for the plate.

(2) The requester shall submit the results of a scientific sample survey of 
Minnesota motor vehicle owners that indicates that at least 10,000 motor vehicle 
owners intend to purchase the proposed plate with the proposed fee or minimum 
contribution. The requester’s plan to undertake the survey must be reported to the

$ 4.25 
$ 7.00 
$ 3.00 
$ 5.50 
$ 2.50 
$14.00 
$10.00 
$ 1.00
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department before the survey is undertaken: The survey must be performed indepen­
dently of the requester by another person or legal entity, however organized, that 
conducts similar sample surveys in the normal course of business.

. (3) The requester shall submit an application fee of $20,000, to cover the 
department’s cost of reviewing the application and developing the special license plate 
if authorized. State funds may not be used to pay the application fee.

(4) The requester shall submit a marketing strategy that contains (i) short-term 
and long-term marketing plans for the requested plate, and (ii) a financial analysis 
showing the anticipated revenues and the planned expenditures of any fee or contribu­
tion derived from the requested plate.

(b) The requester shall submit the information required under paragraph (a) to 
the department at least 120 days before the convening of the next regular legislative 
session at which the requester will submit the proposal.

Subd. 3. Design; redesign, (a) If the special license plate sought by the requester is 
approved by law, the requester shall submit the proposed design for the plate to the 
department as soon as practicable, but not later than 120 days after the effective date 
of the law authorizing issuance of the plate. The department is responsible for selecting 
the final design for the special license plate.

(b) The requester that originally requested a special license plate subsequently 
approved by law may not submit a new design for the plate within the five years 
following the date of first issuance of the plate unless the inventory of those plates has 
been exhausted. The requester may deplete the remaining inventory of the plates by 
reimbursing the department for the cost of the plates.

. Subd. 4. Refund of fee. If the special license plate requested is not authorized in 
the, legislative session at which authorization was sought, the department shall refund 
$17,500 of the application fee to the requester.

Subd. 5. Discontinuance of plate, (a) The department shall discontinue the 
issuance or renewal of any special license plate if (1) fewer than 1,000 sets of those 
plates are currently registered at the end of the first six years during which the plates 
are available, or (2) fewer than 1,000 sets of those plates are currently registered at the 
end of any subsequent two-year period following the first six years of availability.

(b) The department may discontinue the issuance or renewal of any special license 
plate, and distribution of any contributions resulting from that plate, if the department 
determines that (1) the fund or requester receiving the contributions no longer exists,
(2) the requester has stopped providing services that are authorized to be funded from 
the contribution proceeds, (3) the requester h a s . requested discontinuance, or (4) 
contributions have been used in violation of subdivision 6.

(c) Nothing in this subdivision applies to license plates issued under. section 
168.123,168.124,168.125, or 168.1255.

Subd. 6. Use of contributions. Contributions made as a condition of obtaining a 
special license plate, and interest earned on the contributions, may not be spent for 
commercial or for-profit purposes.

Subd. 7. Deposit of fee; appropriation. The commissioner shall deposit the 
application fee under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (3), in the highway user tax 
distribution fund. An amount sufficient to pay the department’s cost in implementing 
and administering this section, including payment of refunds under subdivision 4, is 
appropriated to the commissioner.

Histoiy: lSp2003 c 19 art 2 s 23

168.1297 SPECIAL “ROTARY MEMBER” LICENSE PLATES.
Subdivision 1. General requirements and procedures. The registrar shall issue 

special “Rotary member” license plates to an applicant who:
(1) is an owner or joint owner of a passenger automobile, pickup truck, or van;
(2) pays a fee of $10 to cover, the costs of handling and manufacturing the plates;
(3) pays the registration tax required under section 168.013;
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(4) pays the fees required under this chapter;
(5) submits proof to the registrar that the applicant is a member of Rotary 

International; and '
(6) complies with laws and rules governing registration and licensing of vehicles 

and drivers.
Subd. 2. Design. A special license piate under this section consists of a special 

license plate as described in section 168.1291 with a unique symbol that is the 
recognized emblem of Rotary International.

Subd. 3. Compliance with other law. The commissioner shall take no action under 
this section unless the commissioner determines that Rotary International, or one or 
more districts of Rotary International, has complied with section 168.1293, subdivision
2, paragraph (a). Issuance and renewal of license plates under this section are subject 
to section 168.1293, subdivisions 3 to 6.

History: !Sp2003 c 19 art 2 s 24

168.27 MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS; VIOLATIONS, PENALTIES.

[For text o f subds 1 to 4, see M.S.2002] .

Subd. 4a. Limited used vehicle license, (a) A limited used vehicle license shall be 
provided to a nonprofit charitable organization that qualifies for tax exemption under 
section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code whose primary business in the transfer 
of vehicles is to raise funds for the corporation, who acquires vehicles for sale through 
donation, and who uses a licensed motor vehicle auctioneer to sell vehicles to 
individuals, or who sells and reassigns vehicles to a licensed motor vehicle dealer. This 
license does not apply to educational institutions whose primary purpose is to train 
students in the repair, maintenance, and sale of motor vehicles. A limited used vehicle 
license allows the organization to accept assignment of vehicles without the require­
ment to transfer title as provided in section 168A.10 until sold or donated to an 
individual or licensed motor vehicle dealer. Limited used vehicle license holders are not 
entitled to dealer plates, and shall report all vehicles held for resale to the Department 
of Public Safety in a manner and time prescribed by the department.

(b) A nonprofit charitable organization with a limited used vehicle license shall* 
within 90 days after a vehicle donation, send a donor a receipt for the donated vehicle 
which states its model; age; level of use, including, but not limited to, the mileage; its 
condition, and whether a visual inspection disclosed any readily apparent defects that 
would materially reduce the value of the property. The receipt must include the date of 
the donation and must state whether the vehicle was operable or inoperable at the time 
of the donation.

[For text o f subds 5a to 25, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 26. Advertising disclosure. All advertising by a motor vehicle dealer must 
disclose that the vehicle is being offered for sale by . a dealer, through use of the 
dealership name, the term “dealer,” or the abbreviation “DLR.” Unless the dealer’s 
true name or properly filed commercial assumed name as provided in chapter 333, is 
included, a classified advertisement in a print medium must also include the dealer’s 
license number.

[For text of subd 27, see M.S.2002] ' ■

Histoiy: 2003 c 94 s 1; 2003 c 127 art 1 s 1; lSp2003 c 21 art 8 s 1 

168.33 REGISTRAR OF MOTOR VEHICLES; DEPUTY REGISTRARS.

[For text o f subd 1, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 2. Deputy registrars, (a) The registrar may appoint, hire; and discharge and 
fix the compensation of the necessary employees, in the manner provided: by law, as 
may be required to enable the registrar to properly carry out the duties imposed by this
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chapter. The registrar may appoint, and for cause discontinue, a deputy registrar for 
any statutory or home rule charter city as the public interest and convenience may 
require, without regard to whether the county auditor of the county in which the city is 
situated has been appointed as the deputy registrar for the county or has been 
discontinued as the deputy registrar for the county, and without regard to whether the 
county in which the city is situated has established a county license bureau which issues 
motor vehicle licenses as provided in section 373,32.

(b) The registrar may appoint, and for cause discontinue, a deputy registrar for any 
statutory or home rule charter city as the public interest and convenience may require, 
if the auditor for the county in which the city is situated chooses not to accept 
appointment as the deputy registrar for the county or is discontinued as a deputy 
registrar, or if the county in which the city is situated has not established a county 
license bureau which issues motor vehicle licenses as provided in section 373.32. A 
person appointed by the registrar as a deputy registrar for any statutory or home rule; 
charter city must be a resident of the county in which the city is situated.

(c) The registrar may appoint, and fo r. cause discontinue, the county auditor of 
each county as a deputy registrar. Upon approval of the county board, the auditor, with 
the approval of the director of motor vehicles, may appoint, and for cause discontinue, 
the clerk or equivalent officer of each statutory or home rule charter city or any other 
person as a deputy registrar as public interest and convenience may require, regardless 
of the appointee’s county of residence. At the request of the governing body of a 
statutory or home rule charter city, the auditor shall appoint, and may for cause 
discontinue, the clerk or equivalent officer of . a city, or another officer or employee of 
the city designated by the governing body, as a deputy registrar:

(1) if the city is a county seat or, if not, is larger than the seat of the county in 
which it is situated; and

(2) no office of a deputy registrar is situated within the city or within 15 miles of 
the city by the most direct public route.

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision, a person other than a county auditor or a 
director of a county license bureau, who was appointed by the registrar before August 
1, 1976, as a deputy registrar for any statutory or home rule charter city, may continue 
to serve as deputy registrar and may be discontinued for cause only by the registrar. 
The county auditor who appointed the deputy registrars is responsible for the acts of 
deputy registrars appointed by the auditor. Each deputy, before entering upon the 
discharge of duties, shall take and subscribe an oath to faithfully discharge the duties 
and to uphold the laws of the state. If a deputy registrar appointed under this 
subdivision is not an officer or employee of a county or statutory or home rule charter 
city, the deputy shall in addition give bond to the state in the sum of $10,000, or a 
larger sum as may be required by the registrar, conditioned upon the faithful discharge 
of duties as deputy registrar.

(e) Until January 1, 2009, a corporation governed by chapter 302A may be 
appointed a deputy registrar. Upon application by an individual serving as a deputy 
registrar and the giving of the requisite bond as provided in this subdivision, personally 
assured by the individual, or another individual approved by the commissioner of public 
safety, a corporation named in an application shall become the duly appointed and 
qualified successor to the deputy registrar. The appointment of any corporation as a 
deputy, registrar expires January 1,. 2009. A county board shall appoint, or the 
commissioner shall appoint if the county board declines to do so, an individual as 
successor to the corporation as a deputy registrar. The county board or commissioner 
shall appoint as the successor agent to a corporation whose appointment expires under 
this paragraph an officer , of the corporation if the officer applies for appointment 
before July 1, 2009.

(f) Each deputy registrar appointed under this subdivision shall keep and maintain, 
in a convenient public place within or in close proximity to the place for which 
appointed, a registration and motor vehicle tax collection bureau, to be approved by 
the registrar, for the registration of motor vehicles and the collection of taxes on motor
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vehicles. The deputy registrar shall keep records and make reports to the registrar as 
the registrar, from time to time, may require. The records must be maintained at the 
facility of the deputy registrar. The records and facilities of the deputy registrar must at 
all times be open to the inspection of the registrar or the registrar’s agents. The deputy 
registrar shall report to the registrar by the next working day following receipt all 
registrations made and taxes and fees collected by the deputy registrar. The filing fee 
imposed under subdivision 7 must be deposited in the treasury of the place for which 
appointed or, if not a public official, a deputy shall retain the filing fee, but the 
registration tax and any additional fees for delayed registration the deputy registrar has 
collected the deputy registrar shall deposit by the next working day following receipt in 
an approved state depository to the credit of the state through the commissioner of 
finance. The place for which the deputy registrar is appointed through its governing 
body must provide the deputy registrar with: facilities and personnel to carry out the 
duties imposed by this subdivision if the deputy is a public official. In all other cases, 
the deputy shall maintain a suitable facility for serving the public.

[For text o f subds 2a to 9, see M.S.2002]

History: 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50

168.54 MOTOR VEHICLES, TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP.
Subd. 4. Transfer fee. A fee of $3 is imposed upon every transfer of ownership by 

the commissioner of public, safety of any motor vehicle for which a registration 
certificate has heretofore been issued under this chapter, except vehicles sold for the 
purposes of salvage or dismantling or permanent removal from the state.

[For text of subd 5, see M.S.2002]

History: lSp2003 c 19 art 2 s 25

168.61 INTERCITY BUS.
. Subdivision 1. Definition. The term “intercity bus” as used in sections 168.61 to

168.65 means a motor bus as defined in section 168.011, subdivision 9, which is owned 
or operated by either a resident or nonresident of Minnesota in interstate commerce 
under authority of the former Interstate Commerce Commission, dr a successor agency, 
or in combined interstate and intrastate commerce under authority of the former 
Interstate Commerce Commission, or a successor agency, and the Department of 
Transportation of Minnesota, as a result of which operation such bus operates both 
within and without the territorial limits of the state of Minnesota.

[For text o f subd 2, see M.S.2002]

History: 2003 c 2 art 4 s 6

168.66 MOTOR VEHICLE RETAIL INSTALLMENT SALES; DEFINITIONS.

[For text o f subds 1 and 12, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 14. Cash sale price. “Cash sale price” means the price at which the seller 
would in good faith sell to the buyer, and the buyer would in good faith buy from the 
seller, the motor vehicle which is the subject matter of the retail installment contract, if 
such sale were a sale for cash, instead of a retail installment sale. The cash sale price 
may include any taxes, charges for delivery, servicing, repairing, or improving the motor 
vehicle, including accessories and their installation, and any other charges agreed upon 
between the parties. The cash price may not include a documentary fee or document 
administration fee in excess of $50 for services actually rendered to, for, or on behalf 
of, the retail buyer in preparing, handling, and processing documents relating to the 
motor vehicle and the closing of the retail sale.

[For text o f subds 15 to 24, see M.S.2002]

History: 2003 c 128 art 14 s 2
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168.67 SALES FINANCE COMPANY; LICENSE, FEES, REFUND.
(a) No person shall engage in the business of a sales finance company in this state 

without a license therefor as provided in sections 168:66 to 168.77 provided, however, 
that no bank, trust company, savings bank, savings association, or credit union, whether 
state or federally chartered, industrial loan and thrift company, or licensee urider the 
Minnesota Regulated Loan Act authorized to do business in this state shall be required 
to obtain a license under sections 168.66 to 168.77.

(b) The application for a license shall be in writing, under oath and in the form 
prescribed by the administrator. The application shall contain the name of the 
applicant; date of incorporation, if incorporated; the address where the business is or is 
to be conducted and similar information as to any branch office, of the applicant; the 
name and resident address of the owner or partners, or, if a corporation or association, 
of the directors, trustees and principal officers, and other pertinent information the 
administrator requires.

(c) The licensee fee for the fiscal year beginning July 1 and ending June 30 of the 
following year, or any part thereof shall be the sum of $250 for the principal place of 
business of the licensee, and the sum of $125 for each branch of the licensee, 
maintained in this state. Any licensee who proves to the satisfaction of the administra­
tor, by affidavit or other proof satisfactory to the administrator, that during the 12 
calendar months of the immediately preceding fiscal year, for which the license has 
been paid that the licensee has not held retail installment contracts exceeding $15,000 
in amount, shall be entitled to a refund of that portion of each license fee paid in 
excess of $25. The administrator shall certify to the commissioner of finance that the 
licensee is entitled to a refund, and payment thereof shall be made by the commission­
er of finance. The amount necessary to pay for the refundment of the license fee is 
appropriated out of the general fund. All license fees received by the administrator 
under sections 168.66 to 168.77 shall be deposited with the commissioner of finance.

(d) Each license shall specify the location of the office or branch and must be 
conspicuously displayed there. In case the location be changed, the administrator shall 
endorse the change of location on the license.

(e) Upon the filing of such application, and the payment of the fee, the 
administrator shall issue a license to the applicant to engage in the business of a. sales 
finance company under and in accordance with the provisions Of sections 168.66 to 
168.77 for a period which shall expire the last day of June next following the date of its 
issuance. The license shall not be transferable or assignable. No licensee shall transact 
any business provided for by sections 168.66 to 168.77 under any other name.

History: 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50

168.71 MOTOR VEHICLE RETAIL INSTALLMENT CONTRACT.

[For text o f subd 1, see M.S.2002]

Subd. 2. Contents. The retail installment contract shall contain the following items:
(1) the cash sale price of the motor vehicle which is the subject matter of the retail 

installment contract;
(2) the total amount of the retail buyer’s down payment, whether made in money 

or goods, or partly in money or partly in goods;
(3) the difference between clauses (1) and (2);
(4) the amount, if any, included in the transaction but not included in clause (1) to 

pay the balance of an existing purchase money motor vehicle lien which exceeds the 
value of the trade-in amount, to discharge an interest in an existing motor vehicle lease, 
for any insurance, specifying the types of coverage, taxes, fees, and charges that actually 
are or will be paid to public officials or government agencies, including those for 
perfecting, releasing, or satisfying a security interest, and any other amount to be 
financed that is related to the transaction;

(5) principal balance, which is the sum of clauses (3) and (4);
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(6) the amount of the finance charge;
(7) the total of payments payable by the retail buyer to the retail seller and the 

number of installment payments required and the amount of each installment ex­
pressed in dollars or percentages, and date of each payment necessary finally to pay the 
total of payments, which is the sum of clauses (5) and (6).

Provided, however, that said clauses (1) to (7) inclusive need not be stated in the terms, 
sequence, or order set forth above. Provided further, that clauses (6) and (7) may be 
disclosed on the assumption that all scheduled payments under the contract will be 
made when due.
In lieu of the above clauses, the retail seller may give the retail buyer disclosures which 
satisfy the requirements of the federal Truth-In-Lending Act in effect as of the time of 
the contract, notwithstanding whether or not that act applies to the transaction.

[For text o f subds 3 to 5, see M.S.2002]

Histoiy: 2003 c 128 art 14 s 3

168.75 VEHICLE SALES FINANCE COMPANY VIOLATIONS; REMEDIES.
Subdivision 1. Criminal violations. Any person engaged in the business of a sales 

finance company in this state without a license therefor as provided in sections 168.66 
to 168.77 shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor and punished by a fine not exceeding 
$3,000, or by imprisonment for a period not to exceed one year, or by both such fine 
and imprisonment in the discretion of the court.

Subd. 2. Fraudulent violations. In case of a fraudulent violation of any provision of 
sections 168.66 to 168.77, the buyer shall have a right to recover from the person 
committing such violation, to set off or counterclaim in any action by such person to 
enforce such contract an amount as liquidated damages, the whole of the contract due 
and payable, plus reasonable attorneys’ fees.

Subd. 3. Other violations. In case of a failure to comply with any provision of 
sections 168.66 to 168.77, other than a fraudulent violation, the buyer shall have a right 
to recover from the person committing such violation, to set off or counterclaim in any 
action by such person to enforce such contract an amount as liquidated damages equal 
to three times the amount of any time price differential charged in excess of the 
amount authorized by sections 168.66 to 168.77 or $50, whichever is greater, plus 
reasonable attorneys’ fees.

Histoiy: 2003 c 128 art 14 s 4
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