CHAPTER 359

NOTARIES PUBLIC

359.01	Commission.	359.062	Notice; languages other than English.
359.02	Term.	359.07	Notary in detached county.
359.03	Seal; register.	359.071	Change of name or address.
359.04	Powers.	359.08	Misconduct.
359.05	Date of expiration of commission and	359.11	Taking depositions.
	name to be endorsed.	359.12	Administrative actions and penalties.
359.061	Record of commission: certificate.		and the second s

359.01 COMMISSION.

Subdivision 1. **Resident notaries.** The governor may appoint and commission as notaries public, by and with the advice and consent of the senate, as many citizens of this state or resident aliens, over the age of 18 years, as the governor considers necessary. The commissioner of commerce shall perform all duties necessary to appoint and commission notaries public under this section on the governor's behalf.

- Subd. 2. Nonresident notaries. The governor or the commissioner of commerce, acting on the governor's behalf, by and with the advice and consent of the senate, may appoint as notary public a person who is not a resident of this state if:
- (1) the person is a resident of Wisconsin, Iowa, North Dakota, or South Dakota, and of a county that shares a boundary with this state;
- (2) the person designates the commissioner as agent for the service of process for all purposes relating to notarial acts and for receipt of all correspondence relating to notarial acts
- Subd. 3. Fees. (a) When making application for a commission the applicant must submit, along with the information required by the commissioner, a nonrefundable fee of \$40.
- (b) All fees shall be retained by the commissioner and are nonreturnable, except that an overpayment of a fee is the subject of a refund upon proper application.

History: (6937) RLs 2656; 1955 c 820 s 44; 1969 c 1148 s 59; 1973 c 725 s 67; 1984 c 504 s 1; 1984 c 609 s 23; 1984 c 654 art 2 s 129; 18p1986 c 3 art 1 s 82; 1992 c 513 art 3 s 72; 1993 c 354 s 2; 1993 c 369 s 127; 1996 c 439 art 1 s 22,23

359.02 TERM.

A notary commissioned under section 359.01 holds office for five years, unless sooner removed by the governor or the district court, or by action of the commissioner. Within 30 days before the expiration of the commission a notary may be reappointed for a new term to commence and to be designated in the new commission as beginning upon the day immediately following the date of the expiration. The reappointment takes effect and is valid although the appointing governor may not be in the office of governor on the effective day.

- (a) All notary commissions issued before January 31, 1995, will expire on January 31, 1995.
- (b) All notary commissions issued after January 31, 1995, will expire at the end of the licensing period, which will end every fifth year following January 31, 1995.
- (c) All notary commissions issued during a licensing period expire at the end of that period as set forth in this section.

History: (6938) RL s 2657; 1953 c 63 s 1; 1984 c 504 s 2; 1986 c 444; 1989 c 6 s 1; 1989 c 189 s 1; 1993 c 354 s 3; 1993 c 369 s 128; 1994 c 465 art 3 s 72; 1996 c 439 art 1 s 24

359.03 SEAL; REGISTER.

Subdivision 1. Every notary shall get an official seal, with which to authenticate official acts, and upon which shall be engraved the arms of this state, the words "notarial seal." The seal, with the notary's official register, is exempt from execution, and, on death or removal from office, the register must be deposited with the court administrator of the district court of the notary's county.

Subd. 2. All instruments heretofore duly made and executed which have been acknowledged before a notary public as provided by law, but the seal used thereon has engraved on it "notary public," are hereby validated and legalized, and in case such instruments are recorded, the recording is hereby validated and legalized, and all such instruments are validated to the same extent as though properly sealed at the time of their acknowledgment. This subdivision shall not affect any action now pending in any of the courts of this state.

Subd. 3. The seal of every notary public may be affixed by a stamp that will print a seal which legibly reproduces under photographic methods the seal of the state of Minnesota, the name of the notary, the words "Notary Public," and the words "My commission expires," with the expiration date shown thereon. The seal shall be a rectangular form of not more than three—fourths of an inch vertically by 2–1/2 inches horizontally, with a serrated or milled edge border, and shall contain the information required by this subdivision.

History: (6939) RL s 2658; 1947 c 42 s 1; 1947 c 372 s 1; 1971 c 251 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1 s 82; 1993 c 354 s 4,5

359.04 POWERS.

Every notary public so appointed, commissioned, and qualified shall have power throughout this state to administer all oaths required or authorized to be administered in this state; to take and certify all depositions to be used in any of the courts of this state; to take and certify all acknowledgments of deeds, mortgages, liens, powers of attorney, and other instruments in writing; and to receive, make out, and record notarial protests.

History: (6940) RL s 2659: 1947 c 372 s 2: 1993 c 354 s 6

359.05 DATE OF EXPIRATION OF COMMISSION AND NAME TO BE ENDORSED.

Every notary public; except in cases provided in section 359.03, subdivision 3, taking an acknowledgment of an instrument, taking a deposition, administering an oath, or making a notarial protest, shall, immediately following the notary's signature to the jurat or certificate of acknowledgment, endorse the date of the expiration of the commission; such endorsement may be legibly written, stamped, or printed upon the instrument, but must be disconnected from the seal, and shall be substantially in the following form: "My commission expires" Except in cases provided in section 359.03, subdivision 3, every notary public, in addition to signing the jurat or certificate of acknowledgment, shall, immediately following the signature and immediately preceding the official description, endorse thereon the notary's name with a typewriter or print the same legibly with a stamp or with pen and ink; provided that the failure so to endorse or print the name shall not invalidate any jurat or certificate of acknowledgment.

History: (6941) GS 1866 c 26 s 4; GS 1894 s 2271; 1905 c 48 s 1; 1921 c 430 s 1; 1947 c 372 s 3; 1971 c 251 s 2; 1986 c 444; 1993 c 354 s 7; 1998 c 254 art 1 s 107

359.06 [Repealed, 1976 c 2 s 128]

359.061 RECORD OF COMMISSION; CERTIFICATE.

The commission of every notary shall be recorded in the office of the court administrator of the district court of the notary's county of residence, in a record kept for that purpose. The commission of a nonresident notary must be recorded in the office of the court administrator of the district court of the Minnesota county that borders the county in which the nonresident notary resides. The court administrator, when requested, shall certify to official acts in the manner and for the fees prescribed by statute or court rule.

History: 1976 c 239 s 109; 1983 c 359 s 46; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1 s 82; 1996 c 439 art 1 s 25; 1997 c 222 s 55

359.062 NOTICE; LANGUAGES OTHER THAN ENGLISH:

(a) A notary public who is not an attorney who advertises the services of a notary public in a language other than English, whether by radio, television, signs, pamphlets, newspapers,

359.062 NOTARIES PUBLIC

1136

or other written communication, with the exception of a single desk plaque, shall post or otherwise include with the advertisement a notice in English and the language in which the advertisement appears. This notice must be of a conspicuous size, if in writing, and must state: "I AM NOT AN ATTORNEY LICENSED TO PRACTICE LAW IN MINNESOTA AND MAY NOT GIVE LEGAL ADVICE OR ACCEPT FEES FOR LEGAL ADVICE." If the advertisement is by radio or television, the statement may be modified but must include substantially the same message.

(b) A notary public who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1996 c 401 s 2

359.07 NOTARY IN DETACHED COUNTY.

Subdivision 1. Powers. In any county which has heretofore been detached from another county of this state, and which has been newly created and organized, any notary public residing in such newly created and organized county, who was a resident of the county from which the new county was detached and created, shall have the same powers during the unexpired term of appointment as such notary public was authorized by law to exercise under the commission issued to the notary as a resident of the county from which the new county was detached and created and within which the original appointment as notary public was made; and all acts heretofore done by any such notary public, while residing in the newly created and organized county, otherwise in conformity of law, are hereby declared to be legal and valid and to the same effect as if the notary public had been originally commissioned as a resident of the newly created and organized county.

Subd. 2. **Record of commission.** Such notary public so residing in the newly created and organized county shall have the commission as such notary public recorded by the court administrator of the district court of the newly created and organized county of residence, or of the county to which the newly created county is attached for judicial purposes, as provided in section 359.061, and when so recorded shall be entitled to the same certificate of and from the court administrator of the district court as provided in section 359.061.

Subd. 3. **Seal.** Such notary shall, immediately upon the adoption of this section, get an official seal, as provided in and in conformity with section 359.03.

History: (6943, 6944, 6945) 1907 c 323 s 1–3; 1980 c 509 s 142; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1 s 82

359.071 CHANGE OF NAME OR ADDRESS.

A notary shall notify the commissioner of any name or address change within 30 days of the change.

History: 1984 c 504 s 3; 1986 c 444; 1989 c, 189 s 2; 1993 c 354 s 8; 1997 c 222 s 56

359.08 MISCONDUCT.

Any notary who shall exercise the duties of office after the expiration of a term, or when otherwise disqualified, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: (6946) RL s 2661; 1963 c 753 art 2 s 5; 1986 c 444

359.09 [Repealed, 1965 c 811 art 10 s 336.10–102]

359.10 [Repealed, 1965 c 811 art 10 s 336.10–102]

359.11 TAKING DEPOSITIONS.

In taking depositions, the notary shall have the power to compel the attendance of and to punish witnesses for refusing to testify as provided by statute or court rule. All sheriffs and constables shall serve and return all process issued by any notary in taking depositions.

History: (6949) RL s 2664; 1983 c 359 s 47

359.12 ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS AND PENALTIES.

Every notary who shall charge or receive a fee or reward for any act or service done or rendered as a notary greater than the amount allowed by law, or who dishonestly or unfaith-

1137

fully discharges duties as notary, or who has pleaded guilty, with or without explicitly admitting guilt, plead nolo contendere, or been convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, is subject to the penalties imposed pursuant to section 45.027, except that a notary may be removed from office only by the governor or the district court. The commissioner has all the powers provided by section 45.027 and shall proceed in the manner provided by that section in actions against notaries.

History: (6950) RL s 2665; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1 s 82; 1993 c 354 s 9

34 - 95

194