MINNESOTA STATUTES 1997 SUPPLEMENT

WORLD TRADE CENTER 44A.02

CHAPTER 44A WORLD TRADE CENTER

44A.01

World trade center corporation,

44A.02

President.

44A.01 WORLD TRADE CENTER CORPORATION.

[For text of subd 1, see M.S.1996]

Subd. 2. Board membership. The corporation is governed by a board of directors consisting of:

- (1) four members, representing the international business community, elected to threeyear terms by the association of members established under section 44A.023, subdivision 2, clause (5);
- (2) four members, representing the international business community, appointed by the governor, to serve at the governor's pleasure;
 - (3) the mayor of St. Paul or the mayor's designee;
- (4) the commissioners of trade and economic development, agriculture, and commerce: and
- (5) three members of the house appointed by the speaker of the house and three members of the senate appointed under the rules of the senate, who serve as nonvoting members, One member from each house must be a member of the minority party of that house. Legislative members are appointed at the beginning of each regular session of the legislature for two-year terms. A legislator who remains a member of the body from which the legislator was appointed may serve until a successor is appointed and qualifies. A vacancy in a legislator member's term is filled for the unexpired portion of the term in the same manner as the original appointment.

Members appointed by the governor must be knowledgeable or experienced in international trade in products or services.

[For text of subds 3 and 4, see M.S.1996]

History: 1997 c 200 art 1 s 39

44A.02 PRESIDENT.

Subdivision 1. Selection. The president of the world trade center corporation is selected by a majority of the board and serves at the pleasure of the board. The president must be familiar with the international business community and have demonstrated proficiency in communication skills, administration, and management. The salary of the president is set by the board but may not exceed the top of the salary range set for the commissioner of finance under section 15A.0815.

[For text of subds 2 and 3, see M.S.1996]

History: 2Sp1997 c 3 s 18