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299F.051 TRAINING LOCAL FIREFIGHTERS, PROSECUTORS, AND PEACE 
OFFICERS. 

Subdivision 1. Training unit. An arson training unit is established within the division 
of fire marshal to develop and administer arson training courses throughout the state for law 
enforcement and fire service personnel and for prosecutors. 

Subd. la. Curriculum. The arson training unit, in consultation with the bureau of crim­
inal apprehension, the state fire marshal, the Minnesota peace officer standards and training 
board, the county attorneys association, the attorney general, and the state advisory council 
on fire service education and research, shall establish a standardized curriculum to be in­
cluded in the training programs. The standardized curriculum shall include fire scene inves­
tigation and preservation of evidence, interviewing of witnesses and suspects, constitutional 
limits on interrogation by sworn and nonsworn officers, and other topics deemed necessary 
to successful criminal investigation and prosecution. The training program offered to peace 
officers shall meet the applicable preservice training requirements established by the peace 
officer standards and training board under section 626.8436. 

Subd. 2. Training locations, instructors. The arson training unit, in cooperation with 
the superintendent of the bureau of criminal apprehension, the board of peace officer stan­
dards and training, the county attorneys association, and the attorney general, shall provide 
courses at convenient locations in the state for training firefighters, peace officers, and prose­
cutors in: 

(1) the conduct of investigations following the occurrence of a fire; and 
(2) the prosecution of arson cases. 
For this purpose, the arson training unit may use the services and employees of the bu­

reau, the state fire marshal, and the attorney general. In addition, the arson training unit is 
authorized to establish minimum qualifications for training course instructors, and engage 
part-time instructors necessary and proper to furnish the best possible instruction, subject to 
the limitation of funds appropriated and available for expenditure. Laws 1981, chapter 210, 
sections 1 to 48, shall not apply to the part-time instructors. 

Subd. 3. In-service training. The arson training unit, in cooperation with the bureau of 
criminal apprehension, shall offer in-service and refresher training for firefighters and peace 
officers through schools administered by the state, county, school district, municipality, or 
joint or contractual combinations thereof. The in-service training courses offered for peace 
officers shall be eligible for continuing education credit from the Minnesota board of peace 
officer standards and training. 

Subd. 4. Cooperative investigation; reimbursement. The state fire marshal and the 
superintendent of the bureau of criminal apprehension shall encourage the cooperation of 
local firefighters and peace officers in the investigation of violations of sections 609.561 to 
609.576 or other crimes associated with reported fires in all appropriate ways, including pro­
viding reimbursement to political subdivisions at a rate not to exceed 50 percent of the sala­
ries of peace officers and firefighters for time spent in attending fire investigation training 
courses offered by the arson training unit. Volunteer firefighters from a political subdivision 
shall be reimbursed at the rate of $35 per day plus expenses incurred in attending fire inves­
tigation training courses offered by the arson training unit. Reimbursement shall be made 
only in the event that both a peace officer and a firefighter from the same political subdivision 
attend the same training course. The reimbursement shall be subject to the limitation of funds 
appropriated and available for expenditure. The state fire marshal and the superintendent 
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24] FIRE MARSHAL 299F.058 

also shall encourage local firefighters and peace officers to seek assistance from the arson 
strike force established in section 299F.058. 

History: 1997 c 7 art 2 s 50; 1997 c 239 art 8 s 19 

299F.053 DEFINITIONS. 

[For text ofsubd 1, see M.S.1996] 

Subd. 2. Authorized person. "Authorized person" means: 
(a) the state fire marshal when authorized or charged with the investigation of fires at the 

place where the fire actually took place; 
(b) superintendent of the bureau of criminal apprehension; 
(c) the prosecuting attorney responsible for prosecutions in the county where the fire 

occurred; 
(d) the sheriff or chief of police responsible for investigation in the county where the fire 

occurred; 
(e) the county attorney responsible for the prosecution in the county where the fire oc­

curred; 
(f) the Federal Bureau of Investigation or any other federal agency; 
(g) the United States attorney's office when authorized or charged with investigation or 

prosecution of a case involving a fire loss; 
(h) the chief administrative officer of the municipal arson squad or the chief of the fire 

department responsible for the investigation of the fire under section 299F.04, subdivision 1; 
or 

(i) the commissioner of commerce. 

[For text ofsubd 3, see M.S.1996] 

History: 1997 c 77 s 5 

299F.054 DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION. 

[For text ofsubds 1 to 3a, see M.S.1996] 

Subd. 4. Good faith immunity, (a) An insurance company or its agent acting in its be­
half, or an authorized person who releases information, whether oral or written, acting in 
good faith, pursuant to subdivisions 1 to 3a is immune from any liability, civil or criminal, 
mat might otherwise be incurred or imposed. 

(b) A person who, acting in good faith, reports to an authorized person information, 
whether oral or written, that is or may be relevant to the investigation of a fire is immune from 
any civil liability that might otherwise be incurred or imposed. 

History: 1997 c 77 s 6 

299F.058 ARSON STRIKE FORCE. 
Subdivision 1. Arson strike force. A multijurisdictional arson strike force is estab­

lished to provide expert investigative and prosecutorial assistance to local agencies on re­
quest in complex or serious cases involving suspected arson. 

Subd. 2. Membership, (a) The arson strike force consists of representatives from the 
following agencies and organizations: 

(1) the division of fire marshal; 
(2) the bureau of criminal apprehension; 
(3) the office of attorney general; 
(4) the Minnesota county attorneys association; 
(5) the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms of the United States Treasury Depart­

ment; 
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(6) the Minneapolis police and fire arson unit; 
(7) the St. Paul police and fire arson unit; 
(8) licensed private detectives selected by the state fire marshal or the attorney general 

or their designees; and 
(9) any other arson experts the arson strike force deems appropriate to include. 
The arson strike force, as necessary, may consult and work with representatives of prop­

erty insurance agencies and organizations and any other private organizations that have ex­
pertise in arson investigations and prosecutions. 

(b) Representatives from the attorney general's office and the county attorneys associa­
tion who are members of the arson strike force may assist in administering the strike force. 

(c) The strike force expires June 30, 2001. 
Subd. 3. Investigative duties, (a) The arson strike force shall be available on a state­

wide basis to assist local public safety agencies in investigating the following types of sus­
pected arson cases: 

(1) serial fires; 
(2) multijurisdictional fires; 
(3) fires causing death or serious injury to a public safety officer; 
(4) fires resulting in multiple deaths or injuries; or 
(5) fires causing over $ 1,000,000 in damage. 
(b) The arson strike force shall establish a mechanism for informing local public safety 

agencies that it is available to assist in the investigation of the suspected arson cases de­
scribed in paragraph (a). 

(c) The arson strike force shall, by means of a memorandum of understanding among 
the involved agencies, develop and implement a protocol for the strike force's activation and 
operation in local cases of suspected arson. 

(d) The arson strike force shall assist the arson training unit established in section 
299F.051 in developing and implementing educational programs for public safety personnel 
on investigating arson cases. 

Subd. 4. Prosecution duties, (a) The arson strike force may identify and establish a 
team of prosecutors with experience in arson cases who will provide advice, on request, to 
local prosecutors who are prosecuting or preparing to prosecute arson cases. This team shall 
include prosecutors from the attorney general's office and county prosecutors who are identi­
fied and selected by the county attorneys association. 

(b) The arson strike force shall assist the arson training unit established in section 
299F.051 in developing educational programs and manuals to assist prosecutors in prosecut­
ing arson cases. 

History: 7997 c 239 art 8 s 20 

299F.059 JUVENILE FIRESETTER INTERVENTION. 
Subdivision 1. Intervention network. The state fire marshal shall establish a statewide 

juvenile firesetter intervention network. The network shall include a clearinghouse of re­
sources and materials to assist fire service personnel, schools, law enforcement agencies, and 
mental health professionals in understanding juvenile firesetting behavior and symptoms 
and intervening with juveniles who engage in the behavior or display the symptoms. The 
state fire marshal shall include in the network the comprehensive injury prevention educa­
tion curriculum provided for in subdivision 2. 

Subd. 2. Educational curriculum. The state fire marshal shall ensure implementation 
of a comprehensive injury prevention education curriculum that focuses on juvenile fire play 
intervention and injury prevention. The curriculum shall be made available to schools and 
other interested organizations statewide. 

Subd. 3. Annual training forum. The state fire marshal shall develop strategies and 
plans designed to reduce the number of juvenile firesetting incidents. The state fire marshal 
shall offer an annual training forum for fire service and law enforcement personnel and for 
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juvenile justice, medical, educational, mental health, and other interested professionals to 
discuss these strategies and other issues relating to juvenile firesetter behavior and symp­
toms. 

Subd. 4. Media campaign; keeping fire materials away from children. The state fire 
marshal shall develop an ongoing media awareness campaign to instruct parents, retailers, 
and the community on the importance of keeping fire materials away from children and on 
methods for accomplishing that objective. 

History: 7997 c 239 art 8 s 21 

299F.06 TESTIMONIAL POWERS. 
Subdivision 1. Summon witnesses; produce documentary evidence, (a) In order to 

establish if reasonable grounds exist to believe that a violation of sections 609.561 to 
609.576, has occurred, or to determine compliance with the uniform fire code or corrective 
orders issued thereunder, the state fire marshal and the staff designated by the state fire mar­
shal shall have the power in any county of the state to summon and compel the attendance of 
witnesses to testify before the state fire marshal, chief assistant fire marshal, or deputy state 
fire marshals, and may require the production of any book, paper, or document deemed perti­
nent. The state fire marshal may also designate certain individuals from fire departments in 
cities of the first class and cities of the second class as having the powers set forth in this para­
graph. These designated individuals may only exercise their powers in a manner prescribed 
by the state fire marshal. "Fire department" has the meaning given in section 299F.092, sub­
division 6. "Cities of the first class" and "cities of the second class" have the meanings given 
in section 410.01. 

(b) A summons issued under this subdivision shall be served in the same manner and 
have the same effect as subpoenas from district courts. All witnesses shall receive the same 
compensation as is paid to witnesses in district courts, which shall be paid out of the fire mar­
shal fund upon vouchers signed by the state fire marshal, chief assistant fire marshal, or 
deputy fire marshal before whom any witnesses shall have attended and this officer shall, at 
the close of the investigation wherein the witness was subpoenaed, certify to the attendance 
and mileage of the witness, which certificate shall be filed in the office of the state fire mar­
shal. All investigations held by or under the direction of the state fire marshal, or any subordi­
nate, may in the state fire marshal's discretion be private and persons other than those re­
quired to be present by the provisions of this chapter may be excluded from the place where 
the investigation is held, and witnesses may be kept separate and apart from each other and 
not allowed to communicate with each other until they have been examined. 

[For text of subd 2, see M.S.1996] 

Subd. 3. Penalty for refusal to testify or produce evidence. Any witness who refuses 
to be sworn, or who refuses to testify, or who disobeys any lawful order of the state fire mar­
shal, chief assistant fire marshal, or deputy state fire marshal in relation to the investigation, 
or who fails or refuses to produce any paper, book, or document touching any matter under 
examination, or who is guilty of any contemptuous conduct, after being summoned to appear 
before them to give testimony in relation to any matter or subject under examination or inves­
tigation may be punished by any district court in the same manner as if the proceedings were 
pending in that court, subject to the provisions of section 588.01. 

History: 7997 c 239 art 8 s 22,23 

299F.07 [Repealed, 1997 c 239 art 8 s 36] 

299F.093 POWERS AND DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER. 
Subdivision 1. Duties; rules, (a) The commissioner shall: 
(1) adopt rules no later than July 1, 1987, with the advice of the hazardous substance 

notification advisory committee, establishing the form and content of the hazardous sub­
stance notification report form, as required by section 299F.094, and describing one or more 
hazard categories with specified ranges of quantities in each hazard category, representing 
increments of substantially increased risk; 
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(2) print and provide to individual fire departments the requested number of hazardous 
substance notification reports, which must be made available to a fire department no more 
than 90 days following its request, for the fire department to mail or otherwise make avail­
able to employers in the jurisdiction; 

(3) report to the legislature, as needed, on the effectiveness of sections 299F.091 to 
299F.099 and recommend amendments to sections 299F.091 to 299F.099 that are considered 
necessary; 

(4) adopt rules to implement sections 299F.091 to 299F.099, compatible with the Min­
nesota Uniform Fire Code so as to not limit the authority of local fire officials under that 
code; and 

(5) adopt rules that are based on the most recent standard 704, adopted by the National 
Fire Protection Association, and that allow a fire department to require employers within its 
jurisdiction to post signs conforming to standard 704, and indicating the presence of hazard­
ous substances. If the signs are required, a fire department shall supply the signs or provide 
information to assist an employer to obtain them. 

(b) The commissioner shall adopt criteria and guidelines, with the concurrence of the 
hazardous substance notification advisory committee, for the disbursement of funds pur­
suant to Laws 1986, First Special Session chapter 1, article 10, section 20, subdivision 1. 

[For text ofsubd 2, see M.S.1996] 

History: 1997 c 187 art Is 22 

299F.21 FIRE INSURANCE COMPANIES PAY TAX. 
Subdivision 1. Estimated installment payments. On or before April 1, June 1, and De­

cember 1 of each year, every licensed insurance company, including reciprocals or interin-
surance exchanges, doing business in the state, excepting farmers' mutual fire insurance 
companies and township mutual fire insurance companies, shall pay to the commissioner of 
revenue installments equal to one-third of, a tax upon its fire premiums or assessments or 
both, based on a sum equal to one-half of one percent of the estimated fire premiums and 
assessments, less return premiums and dividends, on all direct business received by it in this 
state, or by its agents for it, in cash or otherwise, during the year, including premiums on poli­
cies covering fire risks only on automobiles, whether written under floater form or otherwise. 
In the case of a mutual company or reciprocal exchange the dividends or savings paid or cred­
ited to members in this state shall be construed to be return premiums. The money so received 
into the state treasury shall be credited to the general fund. A company that fails to make pay­
ments of at least one-third of either (1) the total tax paid during the previous calendar year or 
(2) 80 percent of the actual tax for the current calendar year is subject to the penalty and inter­
est provided in this chapter, unless the total tax for the current tax year is $500 or less. 

Subd. 1 a. Electronic funds transfer payments. If the aggregate amount of fire marshal 
tax payments under this section and the premium tax payments under section 60A. 15 made 
during a calendar year is equal to or exceeds $120,000, all tax payments in the subsequent 
calendar year must be paid by means of a funds transfer as defined in section 336.4A-104, 
paragraph (a). The funds transfer payment date, as defined in section 336.4A-401, must be 
on or before the date the payment is due. If the date the payment is due is not a funds transfer 
business day, as defined in section 336.4A-105, paragraph (a), clause (4), the payment date 
must be on or before the funds transfer business day next following the date the payment is 
due. 

Subd. lb. Addition to tax. In case of an underpayment of installments by an insurer, 
there must be added to the tax for the taxable year an amount determined at the rate specified 
in section 270.75 upon the amount of underpayment. 

Subd. lc. Amount of underpayment For purposes of subdivision la, the amount of 
the underpayment is the excess of: (1) the amount of the installment; over (2) the amount, if 
any, of the installment paid on or before the last date prescribed for payment. 

Subd. Id. Period of underpayment. The period of the underpayment runs from the 
date the installment was required to be paid to the earliest of the following dates: 
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(1) on March 1 following the close of the taxable year; 
(2) with respect to any portion of the underpayment, the date on which that portion is 

paid. For purposes of this clause, a payment of estimated tax on any installment date is con­
sidered a payment of any previous underpayment only to the extent the payment exceeds the 
amount of the installment determined under clause (1), for the installment date. 

Subd. le. Definition of tax. The term "tax" means the tax imposed by this chapter. 
Subd. If. Failure to file estimate. In the case of an insurer that fails to file an estimated 

tax statement for a taxable year when one is required, the period of the underpayment runs 
from the installment dates as set forth in subdivision 1 to whichever of the periods set forth in 
subdivision Id is the earlier. 

Subd. 2. Annual returns, (a) Every insurer required to pay a tax under this section shall 
make and file a statement of estimated taxes for the period covered by the installment tax 
payment. The statement shall be in the form prescribed by the commissioner of revenue. 

(b) On or before March 1, annually every insurer subject to taxation under this section 
shall make an annual return for the preceding calendar year setting forth information the 
commissioner of revenue may reasonably require on forms prescribed by the commissioner. 

(c) On March 1, the insurer shall pay any additional amount due for the preceding calen­
dar year; if there has been an overpayment, the overpayment may be credited without interest 
on the estimated tax due April 1. 

(d) If unpaid by this date, penalties as provided in section 289A.60, subdivision 1, as 
related to withholding and sales or use taxes, shall be imposed. 

History: 7997 c 31 art 2 s 51; 1997 c 84 art 6 s 27 

299F.46 ENFORCEMENT. 
Subdivision 1. Hotel inspection, (a) It shall be the duty of the commissioner of public 

safety to inspect, or cause to be inspected, at least once every three years, every hotel in this 
state; and, for that purpose, the commissioner, or the commissioner's deputies, or designated 
alternates or agents shall have the right to enter or have access thereto at any reasonable hour; 
and, when, upon such inspection, it shall be found that the hotel so inspected does not con­
form to or is not being operated in accordance with the provisions of sections 157.011 and 
157.15 to 157.22, in so far as the same relate to fire prevention or fire protection of hotels, or 
the rules promulgated thereunder, or is being maintained or operated in such manner as to 
violate the uniform fire code promulgated pursuant to section 299F.011 or any other law of 
this state relating to fire prevention and fire protection of hotels, the commissioner and the 
deputies or designated alternates or agents shall report such a situation to the hotel inspector 
who shall proceed as provided for in chapter 157. 

(b) The word "hotel", as used in this subdivision, has the meaning given in section 
299F.391. 

[For text of subd 2, see M.S.1996] 

History: 1997 c 7 art Is 123 
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