2.722

## **CHAPTER 2**

## TERRITORIAL DIVISIONS

2.722

Judicial districts.

## 2.722 JUDICIAL DISTRICTS.

Subdivision 1. **Description.** Effective July 1, 1959, the state is divided into ten judicial districts composed of the following named counties, respectively, in each of which districts judges shall be chosen as hereinafter specified:

- 1. Goodhue, Dakota, Carver, Le Sueur, McLeod, Scott, and Sibley; 28 judges; and four permanent chambers shall be maintained in Red Wing, Hastings, Shakopee, and Glencoe and one other shall be maintained at the place designated by the chief judge of the district;
  - 2. Ramsey; 24 judges;
- 3. Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Rice, Olmsted, Dodge, Steele, Waseca, Freeborn, Mower, and Fillmore; 22 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Faribault, Albert Lea, Austin, Rochester, and Winona;
  - 4. Hennepin; 57 judges;
- 5. Blue Earth, Watonwan, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Lincoln, Cottonwood, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Faribault, Martin, and Jackson; 17 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Marshall, Windom, Fairmont, New Ulm, and Mankato;
  - 6. Carlton, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook; 15 judges;
- 7. Benton, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, Clay, Becker, and Wadena; 22 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Moorhead, Fergus Falls, Little Falls, and St. Cloud;
- 8. Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, Swift, Yellow Medicine, Big Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin; 11 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Morris. Montevideo, and Willmar:
- 9. Norman, Polk, Marshall, Kittson, Red Lake, Roseau, Mahnomen, Pennington, Aitkin, Itasca, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Clearwater, Cass and Koochiching; 20 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Crookston, Thief River Falls, Bemidji, Brainerd, Grand Rapids, and International Falls;
- 10. Anoka, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Kanabec, Pine, Chisago, and Washington; 35 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Anoka, Stillwater, and other places designated by the chief judge of the district.

[For text of subds 2 to 4, see M.S.1994]

Subd. 4a. Referee vacancy; conversion to judgeship. When a referee of the district court dies, resigns, retires, or is voluntarily removed from the position, the chief judge of the district shall notify the supreme court and may petition to request that the position be converted to a judgeship. The supreme court shall determine within 90 days of the petition whether to order the position abolished or convert the position to a judgeship in the affected or another judicial district. The supreme court shall certify any judicial vacancy to the governor, who shall fill it in the manner provided by law. The conversion of a referee position to a judgeship under this subdivision shall not reduce the total number of judges and referees hearing cases in the family and juvenile courts.

[For text of subd 5, see M.S. 1994]

**History:** 1995 c 226 art 6 s 1,2