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92.01 STATE PUBLIC LANDS OR STATE LANDS.
“State public lands™ or “state lands” means school, swamp, university, internal
improvement, and other lands granted to the state by acts of Congress.

History: 1941 ¢ 374 s 1; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1

92.02 AUTHORITY.

Sales under this chapter must be conducted by the commissioner, a deputy of the
commissioner, or a competent person employed by the commissioner and bonded in
a sum of at least $10,000.

History: (6282) 1911 ¢ 12354, 1919¢ 1995 1; 1985¢c 265 art 35 1

92.025 SCHOOL TRUST LAND DEFINITION.

For purposes of this chapter and chapter 94, “school trust land” means land
granted by the United States for use of schools within each township, swampland
granted to the state, and internal improvement land that are reserved for permanent
school fund purposes under the Minnesota Constitution, article XI, section 8, and land
exchanged, purchased, or granted to the permanent school fund.

History: 1988 c 628 s 5

92.03 MINIMUM PRICE OF LANDS.
Subdivision 1. School lands. The price of school lands must be at least $5 an acre,
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including the value of timber reproduction. Sales of school lands must be held within
the county containing the lands or an adjacent county. No more than 100,000 acres of
school lands may be sold in one year. If a patent has been issued by the federal govern-
ment to school land before 1864 and the taxes on it have been paid for at least 35 years,
the commissioner of finance may reduce the minimum price of $5 an acre by the taxes
paid to make the land salable.

Subd. 2. University lands. The price of lands donated to the state by the United
States by act of Congress entitled “An act donating to the states of Minnesota and Ore-
gon certain lands reserved by Congress for the territories of Minnesota and Oregon, for
university purposes,” approved March 2, 1861, and by an act of Congress entitled “An
act donating public lands to the several states and territories which may provide col-
leges for the benefit of agriculture and mechanic arts,” approved July 2, 1862, must be
at least $5 an acre, including the value of timber reproduction. The director shall
appraise these lands or any part of them and sell them in accordance with this chapter.

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1965 ¢ 45 s 73]

Subd. 4. Internal improvement lands. Lands donated to the state under the eighth
section of an act of Congress entitled “An act to appropriate the proceeds of the sales
of the public lands, and to grant preemption rights,” approved September 4, 1841, must
be appraised and sold and the money derived from its sale invested, as provided by the
Minnesota Constitution, article XI, section 8.

History: (6261, 6262, 6264, 6265} RL s 2404,2405,2407,2408; 1917 ¢ 76 s 1; 1919
c258s1; 1961 ¢c657s1; 1963 ¢ 2025 1,2; 1973 ¢c 492 s 14; 1982 c 424 s 16; 1985 ¢ 265
art 3s1; 1991 ¢c219s 1 :

92.04 MINIMUM PRICE OF CERTAIN STATE LANDS.

Lands selected for state institutions under an act of the legislature entitled “An act
to appropriate swamp lands to certain educational and charitable institutions and for
the purpose of creating a state prison,” approved February 13, 1865, and lands known
as state capitol lands, must be appraised and sold as school lands are sold. The price
of lands belonging to the state by virtue of the Congressional acts in this section and
section 92.03 must be at least $5 an acre, including the value of timber reproduction.
The terms of payment and conditions of sale must be the same as now provided by law.
When state lands have been benefited by and assessments paid for drainage, the drain-
age improvements must be considered by the state land examiner in making appraisals.
When the drained lands are sold, the principal and interest paid on it must be credited
by the director to the proper fund to which the land belongs.

History: (6266) RL s 2409; 1907 ¢ 366 s 1; 1909 ¢ 118 s 1; 1963 ¢ 202 5 3; 1985 ¢
265 art 3s1

92.05 SALT LANDS, BY WHOM SOLD.

The board of regents of the University of Minnesota shall have charge of the state
salt lands donated by the United States to aid in the development of the brines in the
state. The board of regents may sell these lands. The university may execute, in its
name, deeds of conveyance of these lands. The proceeds of the sale of the lands when
invested constitute a permanent fund, called the university salt land fund. The univer-
sity board of regents shall control and manage the university salt land fund.

The university salt land fund is considered a nonstate source for purposes‘of sec-
tion 137.022, subdivision 3. The board of regents may use the income from the fund
to match income from the permanent university fund for use by the university cam-
puses at Crookston, Duluth, Morris, and Waseca for the purposes set forth in section
137.022, subdivision 3.

History: (6263) RL s 2406; 1985 c 265 art 3s 1; 1988 c 703 art 1 s 8

92.06 PAYMENTS; INTEREST.
Subdivision 1. Terms. (a) The terms of payment on the sale of state public lands
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must be as follows: The purchaser shall pay in cash at the time of sale the appraised
value of all timber. At least 15 percent of the purchase price of the land exclusive of
timber must be paid in cash at the time of sale. The balance must be paid in no more
than 20 equal annual installments. Payments must be made by June 1 each year follow-
ing the year in which the purchase was made, with interest at the rate in effect at the
time of sale, calculated under this subdivision, on the unpaid balances. Any installment
of principal or interest may be paid in advance, but part payment of an installment will
not be accepted. For the purpose of computing interest, any installment of principal
not paid on June | shall be credited on the following June 1.

(b) Interest on unpaid balances must be computed as annual simple interest. The
rate of interest must be based on average effective interest rates on mortgage loans as
provided in paragraph (c).

(c) On or before December 31 of each year, the commissioner of natural resources
shall determine the rate from the average effective interest rate on loans closed using
the office of thrift supervision series, formerly the federal home loan bank board series,
or its successor agency, for the most recent calendar month, reported on a monthly basis
in the latest statistical release of the board of governors of the federal reserve system.
This yield, rounded to the nearest quarter of one percent, is the annual interest rate for
sales of state land during the succeeding calendar year.

(d) For state land sales in calendar year 1993 after July 1, 1993, the rate is eight
percent, which is the September 1992 average from the office of thrift supervision
series, rounded to the nearest quarter of one percent.

Subd. 2. Buildings or improvements. If there are buildings or other improvements
upon the land their value must be appraised separately and included in the purchase
price. A person must not remove, injure, or destroy a building or other improvement
until an amount equal to its appraised value has been paid on the purchase price of the
premises, in addition to any payment required for timber. Violation of this provision
is a gross misdemeanor.

Subd. 3. Default. A person who fails to make a payment required under a certifi-
cate of sale within 60 days from the date it becomes due is in default. On default, the
certificate of sale shall be deemed canceled, and all right, title, and interest of the pur-
chaser or heirs, representatives, or assigns of the purchaser, in the premises shall termi-
nate without the doing by the state of any act or thing. A record of the default must be
made in the state land records of the commissioner. The commissioner may prepare
a certificate of default and file it with the county treasurer or record it in the office of
the county recorder of the county containing the property. The record or certificate is
prima facie evidence of the facts stated in it, but the cancellation and termination are
effective without it. This subdivision does not apply to a sale made before May 1, 1941.

Subd. 4. Improvements, when payment not necessary. If a person has made
improvements to the land and if the commissioner believes that person settled the land
in good faith as homestead land under the laws of the United States before it was certi-
fied to the state, or if the improvements were lawfully made by that person as a lessee
of the state, then the value of the improvements must be separately appraised and, if
the settler or lessee purchases the land, the settler or lessee is not required to pay for
the improvements. If another person purchases the land, that person must pay the
owner of the improvements, in addition to all other required payments, the appraised
amount for the improvements. Payment for improvements must be made within 15
days of the auction sale, either in cash or upon terms and conditions agreeable to the
owner of the improvements. If payment for improvements is not made in cash, and if
there is no agreement between the parties within 15 days of the auction sale, the com-
missioner may:

(1) sell the property to the second highest qualified bidder if that bidder submitted
to the commissioner’s representative, at the auction sale, a written request to buy the
property at a specified price; or

(2) void the sale and reoffer the property at a subsequent sale.
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This subdivision does not apply unless the owner of the improvements makes a
verified application to the commissioner showing entitlement to the improvements
before the first state public sale at which the land is offered for sale. The applicant must
appear at the sale and offer to purchase the land for at least its appraised value including
all timber on it, and make the purchase if no higher bid is received. Actions or other
proceedings involving the land in question begun before the sale must have been com-
pleted.

Subd. 5. Further security. The director may require of the purchaser security for
the payment of the deferred installments. The director may recover the money and
enforce any security by action brought in the director’s name.

History: (6267, 6268) RL s 2410,2411; 1915c 135 1; 1941 ¢ 3745 2, 1973 ¢ 492 5
14, 1976 ¢ 1815 2; 1982 ¢ 5315 1; 1985 ¢ 265 art 35 1; 1986 ¢ 444, 1988 c 718 art 7 5
1, 1993¢ 28556 .

92.07 SALES BY SUBDIVISIONS.

Sales of land by the commissioner must be made according to the subdivisions by
the United States surveys, unless the land has been subdivided into smaller parcels or
lots, as provided in this chapter. The land may not be sold in larger quantity than one
quarter section,

History: (6269) RL s 2412; 1985 c 265 art 35 1

92,08 SURVEYS AND RESURVEYS.

The commissioner may have surveys made to determine the correct boundaries or
description of the land or to dispose of it in convenient parcels. When the commissioner
believes that an injustice has been done the purchaser because of an incorrect United
States survey, the commissioner may have a resurvey made by a competent surveyor.
The surveyor shall prepare a plat showing the correct acreage of each subdivision resur-
veyed and file it with the commissioner and with the county recorder of the proper
county. The commissioner may call in the land certificates affected by the resurvey and
issue new ones. The certificates must show the correct acreage and give full credit for
all payments of principal and interest made.

History: (6274, 6275) RL s 2417; 1917 ¢ 197 5 1; 1976 ¢ 181 5 2; 1985 ¢ 265 art 3
s 1; 1986 ¢ 444

92.09 LAND SUBDIVIDED, APPRAISED, REAPPRAISED.

Subdivision 1. Subdivision into lots. When the commissioner believes that the
interest of the state will be promoted , the commissioner may subdivide land controlled
by the commissioner into small parcels or city lots. The commissioner shall have the
land appraised. At least ten legal voters of the county containing the land described may
petition the commissioner to subdivide the land. The commissioner shall grant or
refuse the petition. If the request is granted, the commissioner shall subdivide the land
accordingly and have it appraised.

Subd. 2. Appraisal of lots. The commissioner shall designate one or more of the
regularly appointed and qualified state appraisers to make the appraisal required under
subdivision 1. Each appraiser shall sign an oath to faithfully and impartially discharge
the duties of appraiser as best able and that the appraiser is not interested directly or
indirectly in the lands or improvements on them and has entered into no combination
to purchase the land or any part of it. The oath must be attached to the appraisal report
given the commissioner.

Subd. 3. Reappraisal. Parcels or lots appraised may be sold like other lands in
charge of the commissioner. The lands must be sold for at least the prices at which they
were appraised, until a new appraisal is made. The commissioner may have lands
appraised as under subdivision 2 and with like effect. Parcels or lots so appraised must
be sold for at least the minimum price of the lands established by this chapter.

History: (6270, 6271, 6272) RL s 2413,2414,2415; 1947 ¢ 213 s 1; 1973 c 123 art 5
s7: 1985 ¢ 265 art 3s 1; 1986 c 444
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92.10 MAPS AND PLATS.

Subdivision 1. Map recorded. When the commissioner subdivides land into small
parcels or city lots, a map of the subdivision shall be recorded with the county recorder
of the county containing the land.

Subd. 2. Preparation. The commissioner shall prepare suitable maps or plats desig-
nating school or other state lands owned by the state which have been appraised and
are subject to sale. The maps or plats must be printed and distributed with other printed
matter in sufficient quantities to properly advertise the sales provided by this chapter.

History: (6273, 6283) RL s 2416; 1911 ¢ 1235 5; 1973 c 123 art 55 7, 1976 ¢ 181
§2; 1985 c 265 art 3s 1; 1986 c 444

92.11 LANDS APPRAISED.

The commissioner may have any real estate under the commissioner’s jurisdiction
appraised. The appraisal must be made and reported as in the case of school or other
state lands. The appraisers must report the value of the lands and the improvements
on them, if any, separately; and if any of the lands, are valuable for merchantable tim-
ber on them the value of the merchantable timber must also be separately stated. The
appraised value is the minimum price for the lands until changed by later appraisal.

History: (6276) RL s 2418; 1927 ¢ 241 s 1; 1947 ¢ 213 s 2; 1961 ¢ 657 s 2; 1963 ¢
1715 1; 1985 ¢ 265 art 35 1, 1986 ¢ 444

92.12 APPRAISAL OF SCHOOL AND OTHER STATE LANDS.

Subdivision 1. Appraisers. The commissioner may have any school or other state
lands appraised. The appraisals must be made by regularly appointed and qualified
state appraisers. Each appraiser shall take and sign an oath to faithfully and impartially
discharge the duties of appraiser as best able and that the appraiser is not interested
directly or indirectly in the state lands to be appraised, or the timber or improvements
on them or in their purchase. The oath must be attached to the appraisal report.

Subd. 2. Valuation and appraisal. The appraiser shall view and appraise the lands,
including the merchantable timber and improvements on them, and make a report to
the commissioner. The valuation of the lands and the merchantable timber and
improvements on them must each be made and stated separately in the appraisal. The
minimum price established by the appraisal is the minimum price for the lands until
changed by later appraisal. No school or other state lands may be sold until appraised.
The price may not be less than $5 an acre. In the appraisal the value of the land before
the addition of the value of merchantable timber and improvements must include the
value of timber reproduction.

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1961 ¢ 657 s 3)

Subd. 4. Sales. The commissioner shall hold frequent sales of school and other
state lands. The time and place of the sales must be publicly posted in the courthouse
in the county where the lands are located and in the courthouse in the county where
the sale is to take place at least 30 days in advance, in addition to the regular notice
of sale provided by law. At this sale the commissioner shall sell lands the commissioner
considers best for the public interest.

Subd. 5. Sale of land and timber. When the appraisal and other reports show that
the land is mainly valuable for agricultural purposes and contains only small quantities
of timber, the commissioner may either sell the timber separately as provided by law
for state timber sales or sell the land as agricultural land. If the land is sold as agricul-
tural land the purchaser must pay down as first payment an amount equal to the value
of the timber, in addition to the first payment required on the land. If the appraisal and
other reports show land should be sold for continuous forest production or other con-
servation purpose, the commissioner may require that the full appraised value of land
and timber must be paid by the purchaser at the time of purchase.

Subd. 6. Drainage. The appraisers must report to the commissioner lands that they
believe should be drained. After the state has constructed or has been assessed for a

Copyright © 1994 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



MINNESOTA STATUTES 1994

92.12 STATE LANDS; SALES, INVESTMENT OF PROCEEDS 272

public ditch or drain, the lands assessed or improved must be reappraised before being
offered for sale.

History: (6277, 6438) 1911 ¢ 90s 5; 1911 ¢ 196 s 1; Ex1919¢ 17 s 1; 1927 ¢ 332 s
1, Ex1933c22s1; 1941 c 3745 3; 1959¢ 5895 1, 1963 ¢ 1715 2; 1985c 265 art 35 1;
1986 c 444; 1991 ¢ 2195 2

NOTE: As to Volstead lands, see Laws 1961, Chapter 472, and Laws 1963, Chapter 390, Section 1.

92.121 PERMANENT SCHOOL FUND LANDS. )

The commissioner of natural resources shall exchange permanent school fund land
as defined in the Minnesota Constitution, article XI, section 8, located in state parks
or state waysides for other lands as allowed by the Minnesota Constitution, article XI,
section 10, and section 94.343, subdivision 1, that are compatible with the goal of the
permanent school fund lands in section 124.079.

History: 1985 c 116 s 1

92.13 STATE LANDS, DATE OF SALE.

The commissioner shall hold public sales of school and other state lands when it
is advantageous to the state and to intending buyers and settlers.

History: (6279) 1911 ¢ 1235 1; 1913 ¢85 1; 1923 ¢ 65 1; 1985 c 265 art 35 1; 1991
c219s5 3

92.14 SALE, NOTICE.

Subdivision 1. Time. The commissioner shall give four weeks’ published notice of
the sale at St. Paul, in each county containing land to be sold, and in the county where
the sale will be held. If there is no newspaper published in the county, four weeks’
posted notice in the county courthouse must be given. On or before the day of sale, the
commissioner may withdraw any lands.

Subd. 2. Contents. The notice must contain the following information:

(1) the time and place for the holding of the sales;

(2) a general statement of the terms of sale; and

(3) the place where lists of lands to be offered for sale may be obtained.

Subd. 3. Additional advertising of land sales. In addition to notice of land sales
required by subdivision 1, the commissioner shall publicize land sales in Minnesota
and elsewhere to the greatest extent possible, consistent with appropriations available
for that purpose.

History: (6278, 6280) RL s 2419; 1911 ¢ 1235 2; 1985 c 265 art 35 1; 1988 ¢ 718
art 752, 1991 ¢ 21954, 1993¢285s 7

92.15 APPLICATION.

All other requirements and provisions relating to the sale of school and other state
lands apply to sales made under sections 92.02, 92.10, 92.13, and 92.14.

History: (6281) 1911 ¢ 1235 3; 1985 c 265 art 35 1

92.16 CERTIFICATE OF SALE.

Subdivision 1. Contents; default, resale. At the time of the sale the commissioner
shall execute, acknowledge, and deliver to the purchaser a certificate of sale, numbered
and made assignable, certifying the description of the land sold, its quantity, the price
per acre, the consideration paid and to be paid, and the time and terms of payment.
A certificate must not be delivered until the sum required by law to be paid at the time
of the sale is paid. The sum includes costs determined by the commissioner to be associ-
ated with the sale such as survey, appraisal, publication, deed tax, filing fee, and similar
costs. If the purchaser fails to pay the sum, the commissioner may immediately reoffer
the land for sale, but a bid may not be accepted from the person failing to pay the origi-
nal offer.
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Subd. 2. Default in payment of interest; resale. Upon cancellation of any certificate
of sale the commissioner may without notice take possession of the lands described in
the certificate and resell them at public auction in the same manner and under the same
rules as provided for the first sale. When the commissioner has reappraised, advertised,
and publicly offered the lands for sale, the state is deemed to have reentered the lands
without any other act, but this is not essential to cancellation of the certificate of sale
and does not extend any rights of any person claiming under the certificate. The pur-
chaser at the sale is entitled to immediate possession. If the land is not sold after cancel-
lation of a certificate of sale, it is unsold land of the state, free of rights claimed by any
person under the certificate whether in actual or constructive possession.

Subd. 3. Application. Mason’s Supplement 1940, section 6285, as it existed before
the passage of Laws 1941, chapter 374, applies to all state lands of any kind referred
to in it sold after the passage of Extra Session Laws 1933-1934, chapter 39, January 5,
1934, and before May 1, 1941. Mason’s Minnesota Statutes of 1927, section 62835, as
it existed before the passage of chapter 39, applies to all state lands sold before the pas-
sage of chapter 39, as if chapter 39 and Laws 1941, chapter 374, had not been enacted.
Section 6285, as amended by Laws 1941, chapter 374, applies to all state lands sold
after April 30, 1941.

Subd. 4. Lands repossessed or reentered. If state lands sold before the passage of
Extra Session Laws 1933-1934, chapter 39, January 5, 1934, have been repossessed or
reentered before the passage of Laws 1941, chapter 374, in accordance with Mason’s
Minnesota Statutes of 1927, section 6283, as it existed before the passage of chapter
39, the reentry or repossession is valid for all purposes.

History: (6284, 6285) RL s 2420,2421; Ex1934 ¢ 395 1; 1941 ¢ 374 5 4; 1985 ¢ 265
art 3s1; 1988 c 628 s 6

92.163 EXTENSION FOR PAYMENT ON STATE LAND CERTIFICATES.

Subdivision 1. Limitation. The time for payment of the principal of any certificate
of sale of state public land sold before May 1, 1941, which has expired or will expire,
is extended as provided in this section.

Subd. 2. Certificate holder to file application. Before the expiration of the time for
the payment of principal specified in the original certificate of sale, or any lawful exten-
sion, the holder of the certificate shall file with the commissioner of natural resources
an application for an extension of time of payment in the form prescribed by the com-
missioner. The applicant shall submit to the commissioner the certificate of sale or an
affidavit of the circumstances if it has been lost or destroyed, or cannot be produced
for any other reason, together with other proof of the applicant’s rights required by the
commissioner. At least 15 percent of the unpaid principal must be paid with the appli-
cation, together with all unpaid interest and penalties accrued. The remaining unpaid
principal, with interest, is payable as provided by Mason’s Minnesota Statutes 1927,
section 6267, as amended by Laws 1941, chapter 374. The rights of the certificate
holder and all other proceedings in the matter are subject to that section and other
applicable laws, as if the land has been sold under them on the date of the filing of the
application for extension.

Subd. 3. Certificate of extension. Thereupon the time for payment is extended. The
commissioner shall issue a certificate of extension in form approved by the attorney
general, and the original certificate shall be deemed modified in accordance with it. The
duplicate of the certificate must be attached to the duplicate original certificate of sale
on record in the office of the commissioner of natural resources.

Subd. 4. Application of section 92.163. This section does not apply if the certificate
of sale has been absolutely terminated and made void, without right of redemption, or
if the land has become forfeited to the state for delinquent taxes.

History: /1943 c 469 s 1; 1969 ¢ 1129 art 105 2; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1
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92.165 CERTIFICATE OF RELEASE.

Subdivision 1. Release by commissioner. Whenever it appears (1) that the terms
of a certificate of sale of state public lands have been fully complied with entitling the
owner to a patent under the terms of the certificate; (2) that the patent has not been
issued; and (3) that after compliance, the lands were forfeited to the state for nonpay-
ment of taxes accruing after compliance, the commissioner shall, upon resolution of the
county board of the county in which the lands lie, issue a certificate reciting that there
was compliance with the terms of the certificate of sale before the forfeiture, and releas-
ing the lands from the trust attached before their sale as state public lands.

Subd. 2. Delivery of certificate. The certificate must be delivered to the county
auditor. The county auditor must record it with the county recorder without payment
of any recording fee.

Subd. 3. Status of tax-forfeited lands. From the date of forfeiture, the title and sta-
tus of the lands is the same as that of other tax-forfeited lands.

History: 1945 ¢ 169 s 1-3; 1976 ¢ 181 s 2; 1985 c 265 art 35 1

92.17 EFFECT OF CERTIFICATE; RECORD.

A certificate of sale entitles the holder to possession of the land described in it, but
the fee remains in the state until a patent is issued. The certificates, assignments, and
patents may be filed for record with the county recorder.

History: (6287) RL s 2423; 1976 ¢ 1815 2; 1985 c 265 art 35 1

92.18 CERTIFICATES, DIVIDED.

When the holder of a certificate surrenders it to the commissioner with a request
to divide the land described in it, the commissioner may issue two or more certificates.
No new certificate may be issued while any interest is delinquent or if the commissioner
believes that the security of the state would be impaired or endangered. An applicant
who requests a division by boundaries other than regular government or state subdivi-
sions must file with the application a plat and survey showing the lines of, and the quan-
tity of land in, each subdivision.

History: (6288) RL s 2424; 1985 ¢ 265 art 3 s 1

92.19 ASSIGNMENT; EXTENSIONS OF PAYMENT.

When a certificate or partial interest in a certificate is assigned, the assignment
must be made on a form prescribed by the commissioner, executed by the assignor and
assignee, and consented to by the commissioner. An assignment of a partial interest
shall recite that payment in full has been made to the commissioner.

When the assignee satisfies the terms of the assignment and corresponding terms
of the certificate, the commissioner shall issue a deed or patent to the assignee.

History: (6286) RL s 2422; 1985 c 265 art 3s 1; 1989 ¢ 335 art 15 79; 1993 ¢ 285
s8

92.20 VOID SALES; REFUND. -

A sale made by mistake, or not in accordance with law, or obtained by fraud, is
void, and the certificate issued on it is void. The holder of a void certificate must surren-
der it to the commissioner who, except in cases of fraud on the part of the purchaser,
shall refund to the holder the money paid on the sale.

History: (6290) RL s 2425; 1985 c 265 art 35 1

92.21 REDEMPTION OF FORFEITED STATE LANDS.

Subdivision 1. Conditions of redemption. If the holder of a certificate of sale of state
land sold before January 6, 1934, forfeits rights for failure to pay the interest due under
the certificate, the holder may redeem the rights as follows. Before resale at public auc-
tion of the lands described in the certificate, the holder shall pay the state treasurer the
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amount of interest then due and payable on the certificate, with interest at four percent
from the time when it became due. The payment is a redemption of the rights of the
certificate holder, and the certificate is reinstated, if the following conditions are met:

(1) If the default in payment occurred before July 1, 1941, the amount required
for redemption must be paid not later than December 31, 1941.

(2) If the default in payment occurred on or after July 1, 1941, the amount
required for redemption must be paid within six months after the default.

(3) If the time for payment of the principal specified in the certificate has expired
but an extension of time by law has not expired, the amount due on the principal with
interest and all other sums due the state on the land must be paid. After payment, a
patent for the land must be issued to the certificate holder as provided by law.

(4) No redemption is permitted if the time for payment of the principal as speci-
fied in the certificate and its lawful extensions have expired, or if the certificate of sale
has been absolutely terminated and made void without right of redemption under any
prior or existing law, or if the land has become absolutely forfeited to the state for delin-
quent taxes.

(5) This section does not affect any proceedings for the resale of state public land
unless redemption is made before sale of the land to an actual purchaser.

Subd. 2. Certificate void when land not redeemed. If a certificate of sale of state pub-
lic land sold before January 6, 1934, is canceled after default by reappraisal and reoffer
of the land for sale, and the default is not redeemed and the certificate reinstated as pro-
vided by this section, the certificate is absolutely canceled and void, and all right, title,
and interest of the purchaser or heirs, representatives, or assigns of the purchaser, in
the land terminate without further act of the state. This subdivision does not preclude
any other method of termination prescribed by law.

History: (6291) RL s 2426; Ex1934 ¢ 39 s 2; 1939 ¢ 353 s I; 1941 ¢ 374 5 5; 1985
¢ 265 art 3's I; 1986 ¢ 444

92.211 TIME OF PAYMENT EXTENDED.

Subdivision 1. Extension on certificates expiring before July 1, 1943. The time for
payment of the principal on every certificate of sale of state public land which has
expired before July 1, 1943, is extended to December 31, 1943, subject to payment of
interest as provided by law and to all other conditions of the certificate. Upon payment
of the principal and interest and all other sums due the state upon the land within the
extended time, a patent for the land must be issued to the holder of the certificate as
provided by law.

Subd. 2. Extension on certificates expiring after June 30, 1943, The time for pay-
ment of the principal on every certificate of sale of state public land sold before May
1, 1941, which expires after June 30, 1943, is extended for six months after the time
specified in the certificate, subject to payment of interest as provided by law and to ail
other conditions of the certificate. Upon payment of the principal and interest and all
other sums due the state upon the land within the extended time, a patent for the land
must be issued to the holder of the certificate as provided by law.

Subd. 3. No extensions on void certificates. This section does not apply if the certif-
icate of sale has been absolutely terminated and made void without right of redemption
under any prior or existing law, or if the land has become absolutely forfeited to the
state for delinquent taxes.

Subd. 4. Failure to pay when due. If the full amount of principal with interest and
all other sums required to obtain a patent under a certificate of sale of state public land
sold before May 1, 1941, is not paid before the expiration of the time allowed by law
for payment of the principal, the certificate is absolutely canceled and void, and all
right, title, and interest of the purchaser or heirs, representatives, or assigns of the pur-
chaser, in the land terminate without further act of the state. This subdivision does not
preclude any other method of termination provided by law.

History: 1941 ¢ 374 5 6; 1985 ¢ 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 ¢ 444
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92.212 CERTAIN LANDS PRESUMED ABANDONED.

If full payment of the amount due the state for any state public land sold before
May 1, 1941, is not made before the expiration of the time prescribed in the certificate
for full payment of the principal or any extension of time provided by law, it is pre-
sumed that the purchaser and all persons claiming under the purchaser abandoned the
land and all right, title, interest in and claim to it, and have released it absolutely to
the state and its assigns.

History: 1941 ¢ 3745 7; 1985c 265 art 3s 1

92.213 LIMITATION OF ACTIONS.

If full payment of the amount due the state for any state public land sold before
May 1, 1941, is not made before the expiration of the time prescribed in the certificate
for full payment of the principal or any lawful extension of time, no action for the recov-
ery or possession of the land or for the enforcement of any right, title, interest in, or
claim to it may be maintained by the purchaser or any one claiming under the purchaser
unless the action is commenced within one year after the expiration of the time or
extension.

History: 1941 c 374 s 8; 1985c 265 art 3s 1

92.214 CERTIFICATES DEEMED CANCELED IN CERTAIN CASES.

If the interest of the purchaser of a tract of state public land becomes forfeited to
the state for delinquent taxes, the certificates are canceled and terminated, and the land
shall be held by the state as unsold public land, free from right, title, interest, or claim
of the purchaser or heirs, representatives, or assigns of the purchaser, and free from any
trust in favor of a taxing district.

History: 1941 ¢ 374 5 9; 1985 ¢ 265 art 3 5 1; 1986 c 444

92.215 TAXES CANCELED.

If the rights of a purchaser of state public land or heirs, representatives, or assigns
of the purchaser, have been absolutely terminated, all unpaid taxes and assessments
against the land at the date of the termination are canceled and the county auditor must
record the termination.

History: 1941 ¢ 374 5 10; 1985 ¢ 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 c 444

92.22 REFUNDS OF TAX CERTIFICATES ON REFORM SCHOOL LANDS.

If (1) a tax certificate of sale or state assignment certificate describes reform school
lands, so-called, or any tract, lot, or subdivision of them, and (2) the certificate was sold
by the state upon contract before 1902, to a purchaser who has since defaulted on the
contract so that the land is now owned in fee simple by the state, and (3) the holder
of the certificate became holder before the adoption of Laws 1902, Extra Session, chap-
ter 2, the holder may petition the county board of the county where the lands are, setting
forth fully and fairly the facts pertaining to the certificate. The board shall inquire into
the truth of the facts alleged in the petition. If it is satisfied that the facts are fully and
fairly stated, it shall so certify to the director.

If the director is satisfied that a refund should be made to the holder for the amount
of the certificate without interest, the director shall authorize the refund of the amount
paid for it, plus the amount of other subsequent taxes on the property paid by the
holder. The refund must not include interest on any of these amounts. Upon the surren-
der of the proper assignment of these certificates, the county auditor shall draw an order
upon the county treasurer for the sum of the refund. The order must be countersigned
and paid like other county orders. The state, county, town, city, school, and other funds,
shall be charged with their proportions of the amount refunded.

History: (6292) 1909 c 4915 1;: 1973c 123 art 55 7; 1985 ¢ 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 ¢ 444
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92.23 PAYMENTS; RECEIPTS.

The holder of a certificate of sale may pay the commissioner any amount due on
the certificate. The commissioner shall issue duplicate receipts specifying the date, the
name and address of the person making the payment, the amount paid, whether for
principal or interest, the fund to which it is applicable, and the number of the certifi-
cate. The receipt has the same effect as if given by the state treasurer. The commissioner
shall deliver one copy to the holder of the certificate and retain one copy.

History: (6296, 6296-1) RL s 2428, 1929 ¢ 200 s 1; 1941 ¢ 374 s 11; 1985 ¢ 265 art
351 1988¢c628s7

92.24 MONEY PAID TO STATE TREASURER.

The commissioner shall pay over all money received on account of certificates of
sale to the state treasurer for deposit as required by section 92.28 and other applicable
laws.

History: (6298) RL s 2430; 1945 ¢ 3825 1; 1985c 265 art 35 1; 1988 c 628 s 8
92.25 [Repealed, 1988 c 628 s 24]

92.26 STATEMENT OF SALES.

Before May 2 each year the commissioner shall prepare a statement showing the
lands sold in each county, the classes to which they belong, the numbers of the certifi-
cates of sale, the name of the persons to whom each was issued, and the amount of prin-
cipal and interest due on each certificate on June I. The commissioner shall forward
copies of the statement to the governor and to the commissioner of finance.

History: (6300) RL s 2432; 1985 c 265 art 3s 1; 1988 c 628 s 9

92.27 COMMISSIONER’S REPORT ON CLOSE OF SALE.

The commissioner or the commissioner’s designated agent shall act as clerk of land
sales made by the commissioner. Immediately after the close of all sales, the commis-
sioner shall prepare a report describing each tract sold, the amount for which it was
sold, and the amount paid.

History: (6301) RL s 2433; 1985 ¢ 265 art 3 s 1; 1988 ¢ 628 5 10

92.28 PROCEEDS OF SALES; DISTRIBUTION.

The principal sums accruing from all sales by the commissioner of school, univer-
sity, internal improvement, or other state lands, or of pine timber upon state lands must
be deposited in the several permanent funds to which they, respectively, belong. The
sums may not be reduced by any costs or charges of officers, by fees, or any other means.
Money received as interest on the funds, as penalties, or as rents of the lands, must be
deposited in the current or general funds to which they belong. Interest and penalties
on the internal improvement land fund, and rents of the land, must be compounded
with the permanent fund.

History: (6302) RL s 2434; 1985 c 265 art 35 1

92.29 LAND PATENTS.

The commissioner of natural resources shall sign and issue in the name of the state
and under the seal of the state a patent for the land described in any certificate of sale
when the principal and interest specified in the certificate of sale and all delinquent
taxes due on the land have been paid. The patent shall be issued to the purchaser named
in the certificate of sale, or the purchaser’s successor in interest by execution, judicial,
mortgage or tax sale, or the assignee, vendee, heir or devisee of the purchaser, as shown
by a properly certified abstract of title or other evidence if the purchaser’s successor is
a person other than the purchaser named in the certificate of sale. If the certificate of
sale has become lost or destroyed, an affidavit stating that fact or a certified copy of the
certificate must be submitted by the applicant for a patent.

History: (6295) RL s 2427; 1935 ¢ 368 s 1; 1963 c 216 5 1; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1986
c444; 1988 c 628 s 11; 1993 ¢ 2855 9
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92.30 STATE TO SELL CERTAIN LANDS.

The department may sell any state-owned lands, including lands set apart as school
forests or other state forests, lying within the general boundaries of the Superior
National Forest and the Chippewa National Forest as the boundaries now exist or may
hereafter be extended, to the United States to be included as a part of either of these
forests. The lands must be designated by the executive council, upon the recommenda-
tion of the commissioner, for disposal to the United States for that purpose. The pur-
chase price paid at the sale by the commissioner for the state may not exceed a
maximum fixed by the executive council. All laws relating to the sale of state swamp
lands and state school lands apply to sales under this section.

History: (6302-1) 1929 ¢ 246 s 1; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1

92.31 STATE MAY EXCHANGE LAND.

The executive council may exchange lands acquired by the state by purchase, as
set forth in section 92.30, for lands of the United States of the same general character
and of substantially the same value that in its judgment will promote the best interests
of the state. The council may set the terms of the sale. It may accept or pay out of any
available funds any cash differences needed to effect an equitable exchange of lands.
The executive council may have any lands acquired under this section appraised by
competent authority.

History: (6302-2) 1929 ¢ 246 5 2; 1985 c 265 art 35 1

92.32 GOVERNOR TO EXECUTE CONVEYANCES.

To carry out sections 92.30 and 92.31 the governor may execute proper instru-
ments of conveyance in the name and under the seal of the state.

History: (6302-3) 1929 ¢ 246 s 3; 1985 c 265 art 35 1

92.321 SALE FOR FORESTRY PURPOSES.

Subdivision 1. Commissioner may sell lands. The commissioner of natural
resources may appraise and sell any unreserved state public land which in the commis-
sioner’s opinion is suitable for private forest management.

Subd. 2. Conditions of sale. Sales under this section must be public in the same
manner as other state land, after approval by the executive council. Land sold under
this section must be used exclusively for growing continuous forest crops in accordance
with accepted sustained yield practice. Not more than 1,280 acres of land may be
offered in one parcel. The sale must be for cash.

History: 1961 ¢ 658 s 1,2; 1969 ¢ 1129 art 10 s 2;: 1985 ¢ 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 ¢ 444
92.33 [Repealed, 1969 ¢ 9 s 12]

92.34 COUNTY LAND CLASSIFICATION COMMITTEE.

There must be a land classification committee in each county having 25 percent
or more of its land area delinquent for nonpayment of taxes, or where 25 percent or
more of its land area is owned by the state or the United States. The committee is com-
posed of the county auditor, the chair of the board of county commissioners, the county
treasurer, the county surveyor, and the county superintendent of schools. The chair of
the board of county commissioners is chair of the county land classification committee.
In any county having a county agricultural agent, the agent shall.-meet and advise with
the committee. The committee must meet at the office of the county auditor upon call
of the county auditor.

History: (6302-6) 1933 ¢ 436 s 2; 1985c 265 art 3s 1

92.35 DUTIES AND POWERS.
The commissioner of natural resources must classify all public and private lands
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in the state by the use to which the lands are adapted, but principally as to adaptability
to present known uses, such as agriculture and forestry. This classification must be
based on consideration of the known physical and economic factors affecting use of the
land. The commissioner must consult private, state, and federal agencies concerned
with land use. The commissioner may appoint advisory committees of residents of the
state concerned with and interested in land use. The advisory committees shall serve
without pay, at the pleasure of the commissioner. The advisory committee must con-
sider and report on land use problems submitted by the commissioner. The classifica-
tion must be done first in the counties having land classification committees. In
determining the land classification, the commissioner must consult and cooperate with
the land classification committee. The determination of the land classification commit-
tee is final.

History: (6302-7) 1933 ¢ 4365 3, 1969¢c 95 13; 1981 ¢ 356 s 110; 1983 ¢ 289 s 115
subd 1; 1985 c 265 art 35 1; 1987 ¢ 312 art 1 s 26 subd 2; 1993 c 163 art 1 s 9

92.36 LANDS CLASSIFIED.

Upon the basis of all of the facts concerning land use now obtainable and as pro-
vided in sections 92.34 to 92.37 the commissioner of natural resources shall tempo-
rarily classify land areas with reference to the known uses to which the areas are
adapted or adaptable. A certified copy of the temporary classification, together with a
brief statement of the reasons for it, must be recorded in the office of the county
recorder in each county containing the lands classified. No fees need be paid for this
recording. After the temporary classification has been adopted by the commissioner,
none of the lands classified as nonagricultural may be sold or leased by the state for agri-
cultural purposes.

History: (6302-8) 1933 ¢ 436 s 4, 1969 ¢c 9s 14; 1976 ¢ 181 s 2; 1981 ¢ 356 5 111;
1Sp1981 c 4 art 1565; 1983 ¢ 289 s 115 subd 1; 1985 c 265 art 35 1; 1987 ¢ 312 art 1
s 26 subd 2; 1993 c 163 art 15 10

92.37 REPORT TO LEGISLATURE.
The commissioner shall report the results of the land classification to the legislature
with any recommendations deemed advisable.

History: (6302-9) 1933 c 4365 5; 1969 ¢ 95 15; 1981 ¢ 356 s 112; 1985 ¢ 265 art 3
s

92.38 [Renumbered 94.341]
92.39 [Renumbered 94.342]
92.40 [Renumbered 94.343]
92.41 [Renumbered 94.344]
92.42 [Renumbered 94.345]
92,43 [Renumbered 94.346]

92.44 [Renumbered 94.347]

92,45 STATE LAND ON MEANDERED LAKES WITHDRAWN FROM SALE.

All state lands bordering on or adjacent to meandered lakes and other public waters
and watercourses, with the live timber growing on them, are withdrawn from sale
except as provided in this section. The commissioner of natural resources may sell the
timber as otherwise provided by law for cutting and removal under conditions the com-
missioner prescribes. The conditions must be in accordance with approved, sustained-
yield forestry practices. The commissioner must reserve the timber and impose other
conditions the commissioner deems necessary to protect watersheds, wildlife habitat,
shorelines, and scenic features. Within the area in Cook, Lake, and St. Louis counties
described in the act of Congress approved July 10, 1930, (Statutes at Large, volume 46,
page 1020), the timber on state lands is subject to restrictions like those now imposed
by the act on federal lands.

Copyright © 1994 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



MINNESOTA STATUTES 1994

92.45 STATE LANDS; SALES, INVESTMENT OF PROCEEDS 280

The following land is reserved for public travel: of all land bordering on or adjacent
to meandered lakes and other public waters and watercourses and withdrawn from sale,
a strip two rods wide, the ordinary high-water mark being its waterside boundary, and
its landside boundary a line drawn parallel to the ordinary high-water mark and two
rods distant landward from it. Wherever the conformation of the shore line or condi-
tions require, the commissioner must reserve a wider strip.

The commissioner may sell state lands bordering on or adjacent to the Mississippi
river or any lakes, waters, and watercourses in its bottom lands, desired or needed by
the United States government for, or in connection with, any project heretofore autho-
rized by Congress, to improve navigation in the Mississippi River at public sale accord-
ing to law, as in other cases, upon application by an authorized United States official.
The application must describe the land and include a map showing its location with
reference to adjoining properties.

History: (6463) 1923 c 430 s 11, 1927 ¢ 330s 1; 1929c 21 s 1; 1951 ¢ 20 5 1; 1969
cli29art 105 2; 1985 ¢ 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 ¢ 444

92.46 LANDS AS CAMPGROUNDS.

Subdivision 1. Public campgrounds. (a) The director may designate suitable por-
tions of the state lands withdrawn from sale and not reserved, as provided in section
92.45, as permanent state public campgrounds. The director may have the land sur-
veyed and platted into lots of convenient size, and lease them for cottage and camp pur-
poses under terms and conditions the director prescribes, subject to the provisions of
this section.

(b) Alease may not be for a term more than 20 years. The lease may allow renewal,
from time to time, for additional terms of no longer than 20 years each. The lease may
be canceled by the commissioner 90 days after giving the person leasing the land written
notice of violation of lease conditions. The lease rate shall be based on the appraised
value of leased land as determined by the commissioner of natural resources and shall
be adjusted by the commissioner at the fifth, tenth, and 15th anniversary of the lease,
if the appraised value has increased or decreased. For leases that are renewed in 1991
and following years, the lease rate shall be five percent of the appraised value of the
leased land. The appraised value shall be the value of the leased land without any pri-
vate improvements and must be comparable to similar land without any improvements
within the same county. The minimum appraised value that the commissioner assigns
to the leased land must be substantially equal to the county assessor’s estimated market
value of similar land adjusted by the assessment/sales ratio as determined by the
department of revenue.

(c) By July 1, 1986, the commissioner of natural resources shall adopt rules under
chapter 14 to establish procedures for leasing land under this section. The rules shall
be subject to review and approval by the commissioners of revenue and administration
prior to the initial publication pursuant to chapter 14 and prior to their final adoption.
The rules must address at Icast the following:

(1) method of appraising the property; and

(2) an appeal procedure for both the appraised values and lease rates.

(d) All money received from these leases must be credited to the fund to which the
proceeds of the land belong.

Notwithstanding section 16A.125 or any other law to the contrary, 50 percent of
the money received from the lease of permanent school fund lands leased pursuant to
this subdivision shall be deposited into the permanent school trust fund. However, in
fiscal years 1994 and 1995, this money must be credited to the lakeshore sales account
in the permanent school fund and, subject to appropriation, may be used to survey,
appraise, and pay associated selling costs of lots as required in section 92.67, subdivi-
sion 3. The moncy may not be used to pay the cost of surveying lots not scheduled for
sale. Any money designated for deposit in the permanent school fund that is not needed
to survey, appraise, and pay associated selling costs of lots, as required in section 92.67,
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shall be deposited in the permanent school fund. The commissioner shall add to the
appraised value of any lot offered for sale the costs of surveying, appraising, and selling
the lot, and shall first deposit into the permanent school fund an amount equal to the
costs of surveying, appraising, and selling any lot paid out of the permanent school
fund. Any remaining money shall be deposited into any other contributing funds in pro-
portion to the contribution from each fund. In no case may the commissioner add to
the appraised value of any lot offered for sale an amount more than $700 for the costs
of surveying and appraising the lot.

Subd. 1a. Termination of leasing. Effective May 22, 1973, no new leases may be
made pursuant to subdivision 1. If substantial improvements have been made to land
leased pursuant to subdivision 1, the commissioner must require the lessee to comply
with applicable county ordinances for management of shoreland areas and must cancel
any lease for noncompliance with these standards unless the substandard use is autho-
rized by the county ordinance.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1975 ¢ 353 s 41]

Subd. 3. Lease rate increases. State land leased under subdivision 1, that have
increased lease rates effective on or after January 1, 1986, shall phase in the increased
lease rates by three equal annual increments, except that the lease rates shall be adjusted
to reflect changes in the lease rates resulting from rules adopted under subdivision 1.

Subd. 4. Road expenditures. A county where state lands are leased under this sec-
tion, may spend money raised from the levy of property taxes for the maintenance and
upgrading of roads serving the leased property regardless of whether the roads are part
of the county highway system.

History: (6464, 6465) 1923 ¢ 430 s 12,13; 1973 c 479 s 3; 1985 ¢ 265 art 3 5 I;
ISp1985 c 14 art 17 5 1,3,5; 1986 c 444; 1986 ¢ 449 s 1; 1987 ¢ 404 5 110; 1988 ¢ 718
art 75 3, 1990 c 4525 1; 1992 c 363 art 15 14, 1993 c 172 5 48

92.461 PEAT LANDS.

Subdivision 1. Peat lands withdrawn from sale. All lands now or hereafter owned
by the state which are chiefly valuable by reason of deposits of peat in commercial
quantities are withdrawn from sale.

Subd. 2. Examination by commissioner of natural resources. Before any state land
is offered for sale the commissioner of natural resources must examine it to determine
whether the land is chiefly valuable by reason of deposits of peat in commercial quanti-
ties.

History: (6433-1, 2) 1935 ¢ 322; 1949 ¢ 4535 1,2; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2; 1985 ¢ 265
art 3s 1

92.47 [Repealed, 1963 ¢ 567 s 6]
92,48 [Repealed, 1963 ¢ 567 s 6]
92.49 [Repealed, 1963 ¢ 567 s 6]

92.50 UNSOLD LANDS SUBJECT TO SALE MAY BE LEASED.

Subdivision 1. Lease terms. (a) The commissioner of natural resources may lease
land under the commissioner’s jurisdiction and control:

(1) to remove sand, gravel, clay, rock, marl, peat, and black dirt;

(2) to store ore, waste materials from mines, or rock and tailings from ore milling
plants;

(3) for roads or railroads; or

(4) for other uses consistent with the interests of the state.

(b) The commissioner shall offer the lease at public or private sale for an amount
and under terms and conditions prescribed by the commissioner. Commercial leases
for more than ten years and leases for removal of peat that cover 320 or more acres must
be approved by the executive council.
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{c) The lease term may not exceed ten years except:

(1) leases of lands for storage sites for ore, waste materials from mines, or rock and
tailings from ore milling plants, or for the removal of peat may not exceed a term of
25 years;

(2) leases for the use of peat lands for agricultural purposes may not exceed 21
years; and

(3) leases for commercial purposes, including major resort, convention center, or
recreational area purposes, may not exceed a term of 40 years,

(d) Leases must be subject to sale and leasing of the land for mineral purposes and
contain a provision for cancellation for just cause at any time by the commissioner
upon six months’ written notice. A longer notice period, not exceeding three years, may
be provided in leases for storing ore, waste materials from mines or rock or tailings
from ore milling plants. The commissioner may determine the terms and conditions,
including the notice period, for cancellation of a lease for the removal of peat and com-
mercial leases.

(e) Money received from leases under this section must be credited to the fund to
which the land belongs.

Subd. 2. Leases for tailings deposits. The commissioner may grant leases and
licenses to deposit tailings from any iron ore beneficiation plant in any public lake not
exceeding 160 acres in area after holding a public hearing in the manner and under the
procedure provided in Laws 1937, chapter 468, as amended and finding in pursuance
of the hearing:

(a) that such use of each lake is necessary and in the best interests of the public;
and

(b) that the proposed use will not result in pollution or sedimentation of any outlet
stream.

The lease or license may not exceed a term of 25 years and must be subject to can-
cellation on three years’ notice. The commissioner may further restrict use of the lake
to safeguard the public interest, and may require that the lessee or licensee acquire suit-
able permits or easements from the owners of lands riparian to the lake. Money
received from the leases or licenses must be deposited in the permanent school fund.

History: (6328) 1915 ¢ 1925 1; 1917 ¢ 31; 1919¢c 4055 1; 1945 ¢ 3215 1; 1947 ¢ 323
§1;1953¢ 3285 1; 1959c 47352, 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2; 1981 ¢ 328 5 1; 1985 ¢ 265
art 35 1; 1986 ¢ 398 art 18 s 1; 1986 ¢ 444; 1988 c 628 s 12, 1993 c 113 art 1 5 1

NOTE: As to Volstead lands, see Laws 1961, Chapter 472, and Laws 1963, Chapter 390, Section |.

92.501 LEASING OF LANDS FOR WILD RICE FARMING.

Subdivision 1. Authority to lease. The commissioner of natural resources in consul-
tation with the commissioner of agriculture may, at a public or private lease sale and
at the prices and under the terms and conditions the commissioners may prescribe,
lease any state-owned lands under the commissioner’s jurisdiction and control for the
purpose of farming of wild rice. Priority must be given to lands which are accessible
and adjacent to existing wild rice production areas and requested for leasing by wild
rice producers. The term of a lease under this section must be offered for a minimum
of 20 years but may be for a shorter period at the option of the lessee. If a lease is issued
prior to the adoption of the rules for the implementation of this section and for a period
of less than 20 years, the lease must be converted to a minimum 20-year lease after the
rules have been adopted, at the option of the lessee. Leases must be accepted or denied
within 60 days of application. If a lease is denied, written notice must be given stating
reasons for denial. The lease rate must be adjusted every five years to reflect market
values. The money received from the leases under this section must be credited to the
account that receives the proceeds of a sale of the land.

Subd. 2. Wild rice land designation and development. The commissioner of natural
resources and the commissioner of agriculture shall prepare a plan that designates state
land for wild rice production including an inventory of the number of acres of land
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appropriate and suitable for wild rice development and leasing in each county. Pro-
posed mineral exploration does not exempt land from being designated for wild rice
development.

Subd. 3. Rules. The commissioner of natural resources may adopt rules to imple-
ment this section.

History: 1985 ¢ 276 s 8; 1986 ¢ 398 art 18 5 2,3

92.51 TAXATION; REDEMPTION; SPECIAL CERTIFICATE.

State lands sold by the director become taxable. A description of the tract sold, with
the name of the purchaser, must be transmitted to the proper county auditor. The audi-
tor must extend the land for taxation like other land. Only the interest in the land vested
by the land sale certificate in its holder may be sold for delinquent taxes. Upon produc-
tion to the county treasurer of the tax certificate given upon tax sale, in case the lands
have not been redeemed, the tax purchaser has the right to pay the principal and inter-
est then in default upon the land sale certificate as its assignee. To redeem from a tax
sale, the person redeeming must pay the county treasurer, for the holder and owner of
the tax sale certificate, in addition to all sums required to be paid in other cases, all
amounts paid by the holder and owner for interest and principal upon the land sale cer-
tificate, with interest at 12 percent per year. When the director receives the tax certifi-
cate with the county auditor’s certificate of the expiration of the time for redemption,
and the county treasurer’s receipt for all delinquent interest and penalty on the land
sale certificate, the director shall issue the holder and owner of the tax certificate a spe-
cial certificate with the same terms and the same effect as the original land sale certifi-
cate.

History: (6323) RL 5 2439, 1909 c 114 s 1; 1985 ¢ 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 ¢ 444

92.52 [Renumbered 94.351]

92.53 [Repealed, 1969 ¢ 9 s 95]

92.54 [Repealed, 1969 ¢ 9 s 95]

92.55 [Repealed, 1969 ¢ 9 s 93]

92.56 [Repealed, 1969 ¢ 9 s 95]

92.57 [Repealed, 1969 ¢ 9 s 95]

92.59 [Repealed, 1969 ¢ 9 s 95]

92.62 [Repealed, 1969 ¢ 9 s 95]

92.67 [Repealed, 1986 ¢ 449 s 6; 1991 ¢ 219 s 6]
92.68 [Repealed, 1986 ¢ 449 s 6; 1991 ¢ 219 s 6]

92.69 ENDOWMENT ACCOUNT.

Subdivision 1. Proceeds of land acquisition account. To ensure educational oppor-
tunities provided by Minnesota scientific and natural areas as described in section
86A.05, subdivision 5, are adequately available for present and future generations, the
proceeds received under Laws 1986, chapter 449, sections 1 to 3 that are credited to
the land acquisition account under section 94.165 must be spent on scientific and natu-
ral areas.

Subd. 2. Account. (a) A natural areas legacy endowment account is established in
the state treasury. The commissioner of natural resources shall accept private contribu-
tions for educational opportunities provided by scientific and natural areas and depos-
it the contributions in the account. The principal deposited in the account shall be
retained in the endowment account.

(b) The interest from the principal may be spent by the commissioner of natural
resources for the protection, management, and inventory of lands with rare and endan-
gered species or undisturbed plant communities that qualify as state scientific and natu-
ral areas under section 86A.05, subdivision 5.

History: 1986 ¢ 449 s 4
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92.70 LAND USE TRESPASS.

Subdivision 1. Public land definition. “Public land” means publicly owned land or
interests in land including land and interests in land that are owned by the state, coun-
ties, or road authorities, administered by the commissioner of natural resources, owned
by the state as beds of navigable waters, acquired as conservation easements with bene-
fits running to the state, a county, or the public under the conservation reserve program,
water bank program, or other state or county programs.

Subd. 2. Casual trespass. (a) A person who uses public land for personal use or per-
sonal economic gain where the use is prohibited is guilty of trespass and a petty mis-
demeanor and shall be subject to a penalty not to exceed $50 per occurrence and is sub-
ject to a civil penalty for twice the amount of actual damages.

(b) A person violating paragraph (a) may be issued a ticket by a sheriff, conserva-
tion officer, or personnel of the department designated by the commissioner, The ticket
must identify the trespass, where the trespass occurred, and the official observing the
trespass. A copy of the ticket must be sent to the public agency responsible for managing
the land.

(c) The civil penalty shall be paid to the public agency responsible for managing
the public land. A civil penalty paid to the state is appropriated to the state agency
responsible for managing the land to restore the damage and improve state land.

(d) Within 60 days after a ticket is issued, the public agency responsible for manag-
ing the public land where the trespass occurred must make a determination of whether
a civil penalty will be sought for the trespass and notify the person.

Subd. 3. Willful trespass. (a) A person who willfully and knowingly uses public
land for personal use or personal economic gain where the use is prohibited is guilty
of trespass and a misdemeanor and is liable to the state or county for a civil penalty
three times the amount of the damage.

(b) A person violating paragraph (a) may be issued a ticket and summons for a
court appearance. The prosecuting authority shall prosecute the misdemeanor and shall
bring an action for the civil penalty or, on failure to do so, the attorney general at the
request of the public agency responsible for managing the land may prosecute the mis-
demeanor and shall bring an action for the civil penalty.

(c) Damages must be determined as the greater of:

(1) the cost to restore the public land to the condition it was in before the trespass
occurred plus an amount to compensate the public for the loss of use; or

(2) the economic gain realized by the person committing the trespass.

(d) The civil penalty shall be paid to the court and the court administrator shall
pay:

(1) for a trespass on county land, the entire amount to the county to be used for
restoration of the trespass and county land improvement purposes;

(2) for a trespass on state land, the civil penalty to the state agency responsible for
managing the public land which is appropriated for restoration of the trespass and state
land improvement purposes.

Subd. 4. Separate actions. The prosecution for criminal trespass and the civil pen-
alty are separate criminal and civil actions. If a trespass occurs, an action may be com-
menced for the criminal penalty, the civil penalty, or the civil penalty and the criminal
penalty.

History: 1989 ¢ 353 s 12

92.71 DIRECT SALE TO DEPARTMENT EMPLOYEE PROHIBITED.

An employee of the department of natural resources is prohibited from purchasing
land owned or formerly owned by the state and administered by the department for six
months following the transfer of title from the state to an organization or person not
an employee of the department.

History: 1991 ¢ 1765 1
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