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144B.01 DEFINITIONS. 
Subdivision 1. Scope. As used in sections 144B.01 to 144B. 17, the following terms 

have the meanings given them in this section. 
Subd. 2. Adult. "Adult" means a person who has attained the age of 18 years. 
Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of health or the 

commissioner's designee. 
Subd. 4. Department. "Department" means the Minnesota department of health. 
Subd. 5. Residential care home or home. "Residential care home" or "home" 

means an establishment with a minimum of five beds, where adult residents are pro­
vided sleeping accommodations and three or more meals per day and where at least 
two or more supportive services or at least one health-related service are provided or 
offered to all residents by the home. A residential care home is not required to offer 
every supportive or health-related service. A "residential care home" does not include: 

(1) a board and lodging establishment licensed under chapter 157 and the provi­
sions of Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.4100 to 9530.4450; 

(2) a boarding care home or a supervised living facility licensed under chapter 144; 
(3) a home care provider licensed under chapter 144A; 
(4) any housing arrangement which consists of apartments containing a separate 

kitchen or kitchen equipment that will allow residents to prepare meals and where sup­
portive services may be provided, on an individual basis, to residents in their living 
units either by the management of the residential care home or by home care providers 
under contract with the home's management; and 

(5) a board or lodging establishment which serves as a shelter for battered women 
or other similar purpose. 

Subd. 6. Supportive services. "Supportive services" means the provision of super­
vision and minimal assistance with independent living skills. Supportive services 
include assistance with transportation, arranging for meetings and appointments, 
arranging for medical and social services, help with laundry, handling personal funds 
of residents, and personal shopping assistance. 

Subd. 7. Health-related services. "Health-related services" include provision of or 
arrangement, if needed, of assistance with walking, grooming, dressing, eating, bathing, 
toileting, storing medications, providing reminders to take medications, administering 
medications, and other services identified by the commissioner in rule. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 14; 1992 c 513 art 6 s 24-26 

144B.02 LICENSE REQUIRED. 
No person, partnership, association, or corporation, nor any state, county, or local 

governmental units, nor any division, department, board, or agency shall establish, 
operate, conduct, or maintain in the state any residential care home without first 
obtaining a license as required in sections 144B.01 to 144B. 17. No person or entity shall 
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advertise a home providing services required to be licensed under sections 144B.01 to 
144B.17 without first obtaining a license. A violation of this section is a misdemeanor 
punishable by a fine of not more than $300. The commissioner may seek an injunction 
in the district court against the continuing operation of the unlicensed home. Proceed­
ings for securing an injunction may be brought by the attorney general or by the appro­
priate county attorney. The sanctions in this section do not restrict other available 
sanctions. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 15 

144B.03 LICENSE APPLICATION. 
Subdivision 1. License procedures. The commissioner shall by rule establish forms 

and procedures for processing residential care home license applications. An applica­
tion for a residential care home license shall include: 

(1) the name and address of the licensee and the manager of the home to be 
licensed; 

(2) the address of the home; and 
(3) any other relevant information which the commissioner by rule may determine 

is necessary to properly evaluate an application for license. 
An applicant for licensure which is a corporation shall submit copies of its articles 

of incorporation and bylaws and any amendments as they occur, together with the 
names and addresses of its officers and directors. An applicant for licensure which is 
a foreign corporation shall furnish the commissioner with a copy of its certificate of 
authority to do business in this state. The application of a corporation, association, or 
a governmental unit or instrumentality shall be signed by at least two officers or manag­
ing agents of that entity. 

Subd. 2. Agents identified. Each application for a residential care home license or 
for renewal of a residential care home license shall specify one or more individuals or 
employees as agents: 

(1) who shall be responsible for dealing with the commissioner on all matters pro­
vided for in sections 144B.01 to 144B.17; and 

(2) on whom personal service of all notices and orders shall be made, and who shall 
be authorized to accept service on behalf of the licensee. 

Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, personal service on the designated person 
or persons named in an application shall be deemed to be service on the licensee, and 
it shall not be a defense to any action arising, that personal service was not made on 
each individual. The designation of one or more individuals pursuant to this subdivi­
sion shall not affect the legal responsibility of the licensee under sections 144B.01 to 
144B.17. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 16 

144B.04 FEES. 
Each application for a license to operate a residential care home, or for a renewal 

of license, shall be accompanied by a fee established by the commissioner according 
to section 144.122. No fee shall be refunded. The fee established must include an 
amount necessary to recover, over a five-year period, the commissioner's direct expen­
ditures for adoption of the residential care home rules. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 17 

144B.05 QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSE. 
Subdivision 1. Compliance required. No license shall be issued to a home unless 

the commissioner of health determines that the home complies with the requirements 
of this chapter. 

Subd. 2. Application required. The applicant for a license under sections 144B.01 
to 144B.17 must comply with the application requirements specified by section 
144B.03. 
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Subd. 3. Health; safety standards. The home must meet the minimum health, 
safety, comfort, and well-being standards prescribed by the rules of the commissioner 
with respect to the construction, equipment, maintenance, and operation of a residen­
tial care home. 

Subd. 4. Licensure conditions or limitations. The commissioner may attach to the 
license any conditions or limitations necessary to assure compliance with the laws or 
rules governing the operation of the home or to protect the health, safety, comfort, or 
well-being of the residents. A condition or limitation may be attached to the license 
when first issued, when renewed, or during the course of the licensure year. The com­
missioner shall adopt rules governing the procedures for issuing conditions or limita­
tions. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 18 

144B.06 LICENSE RENEWAL. 
Unless the license is suspended or revoked according to section 144B.08, a residen­

tial care home license is effective for one year from the date of its issuance. The commis­
sioner shall by rule establish forms and procedures for the processing of license 
renewals. The commissioner shall approve a license renewal application if the home 
continues to satisfy the requirements, standards, and conditions of sections 144B.01 
to 144B.17, and the rules adopted under those sections. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 19 

144B.07 TRANSFERABILITY OF LICENSE. 
Subdivision 1. Transfers prohibited; change of ownership. A license shall be issued 

only for the premise identified in the application for license and may not be transferred 
or assigned to another party. Prior to any change of licensee of a home, the prospective 
licensee must apply for a license according to subdivision 2. "Change of licensee" 
means a transfer of the legal responsibility to operate the home to a different individual 
or entity. 

Subd. 2. Notification. At least 60 days prior to the final change of license, the pro­
spective licensee shall notify the department of the intended change of licensee and 
shall file an application for a license. The original licensee shall notify the department 
of the intended change at least 90 days prior to the change. The original licensee 
remains responsible for the operation of the home until the date a new license is issued 
by the department. The original licensee is liable for all penalties assessed against the 
home and for all violations occurring prior to the transfer of operation. The commis­
sioner may not issue a license to the prospective licensee if, at the time of the requested 
transfer, there are any uncorrected violations of sections 144B.01 to 144B.17 or rules 
adopted under those sections unless the commissioner determines that the violations 
will not create an imminent risk of harm to the residents and that the prospective 
licensee has submitted an acceptable plan of correction to the commissioner. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 20 

144B.08 LICENSE SUSPENSION, REVOCATION, OR REFUSAL TO ISSUE; 
HEARING; RELICENSING. 

Subdivision 1. Proceedings. The commissioner may institute proceedings to sus­
pend or revoke a residential care home license, or may refuse to grant or renew the 
license of a residential care home if any action by a licensee or employee of the residen­
tial care home: 

(1) violates any of the provisions of sections 144B.01 to 144B.17, or the rules 
adopted under those sections; 

(2) permits, aids, or abets the commission of any illegal act in the residential care 
home or relating to the operation of the home; 

(3) performs any act contrary to the welfare of the residential care home; or 
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(4) obtains, or attempts to obtain, a license by fraudulent means or misrepresenta­
tion. 

Subd. 2. Hearing. No residential care home license may be suspended or revoked, 
and renewal may not be denied, without a hearing held as a contested case in accor­
dance with chapter 14. If the individual designated under section 144B.03, subdivision 
2, as an agent to accept service on behalf of the licensee has been notified by the com­
missioner that the home will not receive an initial license or that a license renewal has 
been denied, the licensee or a legal representative on behalf of the residential care home 
may request and receive a hearing on the denial. This hearing shall be held as a con­
tested case in accordance with chapter 14. 

Subd. 3. Mandatory revocation or refusal to issue a license. Notwithstanding subdi­
vision 2, the commissioner shall revoke or refuse to issue a residential care home license 
if the applicant, licensee, or manager of the licensed home is convicted of a felony or 
gross misdemeanor that is punishable by a term of imprisonment of not more than 90 
days and that relates to operation of the residential care home or directly affects resi­
dent safety or care. The commissioner shall notify the residential care home 30 days 
before the date of revocation. 

Subd. 4. Relicensing. If a residential care home license is revoked, a new applica­
tion for license may be considered by the commissioner when the conditions upon 
which revocation was based have been corrected and satisfactory evidence of this fact 
has been furnished to the commissioner. A new license may be granted after an inspec­
tion has been made and the home has been found to comply with all provisions of sec­
tions 144B.01 to 144B.17, and the rules adopted under those sections. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 21 

144B.09 RULES. 
The commissioner shall establish by rule minimum standards for the construction, 

maintenance, equipping, and operation of residential care homes. To the extent possi­
ble, the rules shall assure the health, safety, comfort, and well-being of residential care 
home residents. The rules shall include, but not be limited to the following provisions: 

(1) the supportive services that can be provided; 
(2) special service permit requirements for medication or other supportive ser­

vices; 
(3) staffing requirements; 
(4) training and qualifications of staff; 
(5) criteria for admission and continued stay of a resident; 
(6) resident rights; 
(7) fire safety and physical plant requirements that are based on the size of the 

home, and the resident's ability to ambulate, taking into consideration the need for dif­
fering standards for existing physical plants and for new construction; and 

(8) procedures for granting variances or waivers from the rules. 
History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 22 

144B.10 INSPECTIONS; ENFORCEMENT. 
Subdivision 1. Enforcement. The department is the exclusive state agency charged 

with the responsibility and duty of inspecting all homes required to be licensed under 
sections 144B.01 to 144B.17. The commissioner shall enforce its rules subject only to 
the authority of the department of public safety respecting the enforcement of fire and 
safety standards in licensed residential care homes. 

Subd. 2. Periodic inspection, (a) All homes required to be licensed under sections 
144B.01 to 144B. 17 shall be periodically inspected by the commissioner to ensure com­
pliance with rules and standards. Inspections shall occur at different times throughout 
the calendar year. 

(b) Within the limits of the resources available to the commissioner, the commis-

                           
MINNESOTA STATUTES 1992

Copyright © 1992 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                                



1283 RESIDENTIAL CARE HOMES 144B.10 

sioner shall conduct inspections and reinspections with a frequency and in a manner 
calculated to produce the greatest benefit to residents. In performing this function, the 
commissioner may devote proportionately more resources to the inspection of those 
homes in which conditions present the most serious concerns with respect to resident 
health, safety, comfort, and well-being, including: . 

(1) change in ownership; 
(2) frequent change in management or staff; 
(3) complaints about care, safety, or rights; 
(4) previous inspections or reinspections which have resulted in correction orders 

related to care, safety, or rights; and 
(5) indictment of persons involved in ownership or operation of the home for 

alleged criminal activity. 
(c) A home that does not have any of the conditions in paragraph (b) or any other 

condition established by the commissioner that poses a risk to resident care, safety, or 
rights shall be inspected once every three years. 

Subd. 3. Authority. The commissioner may request and must be given access to 
relevant information, records, incident reports, or other documents in the possession 
of a home if the commissioner considers them necessary for the discharge of responsi­
bilities. For the purposes of inspections and securing information to determine compli­
ance with the licensure laws and rules, the commissioner need not present a release, 
waiver, or consent of the individual. The identities of patients or residents must be kept 
private as defined by section 13.02, subdivision 12. 

Subd. 4. Inspections without notice. No prior notice shall be given of an inspection 
or reinspection conducted under this section. 

Subd. 5. Correction orders. Whenever a duly authorized representative of the com­
missioner determines that a home is not in compliance with the provisions of this chap­
ter or the rules adopted under it, a correction order shall be issued to the home. The 
correction order shall state the deficiency, cite the specific law or rule violated, and spec­
ify the time allowed for correction. 

Subd. 6. Reinspections; fines. If, upon reinspection, it is found that the home has 
not corrected deficiencies specified in the correction order, a notice of noncompliance 
shall be issued stating all deficiencies not corrected. Unless a hearing is requested under 
subdivision 8, the home shall forfeit to the state, within 15 days after receiving the 
notice of noncompliance, up to $ 1,000 for each deficiency not corrected. For each sub­
sequent reinspection, the home may be fined an additional amount for each deficiency 
which has not been corrected. All forfeitures shall be paid into the general fund. The 
commissioner shall adopt by rule a schedule of fines applicable for each type of uncor­
rected deficiency. 

Subd. 7. Recovery. Any unpaid forfeitures may be recovered by the attorney gen­
eral. 

Subd. 8. Hearings. A licensee is entitled to a hearing on any notice of noncompli­
ance provided that the licensee makes a written request within 15 days after receiving 
the notice of noncompliance. Failure to request a hearing shall result in the forfeiture 
of a penalty as determined by the commissioner according to subdivision 6. During the 
hearing and review process a request for a hearing shall operate as a stay of the payment 
of any forfeiture provided for in this section. The hearing shall be conducted as a con­
tested case proceeding under the provisions of chapter 14. 

Subd. 9. Records of inspections. After each inspection or reinspection required or 
authorized by this section, the commissioner shall, by certified mail, send copies of any 
correction order or notice of noncompliance to the home. A copy of each correction 
order and notice of noncompliance shall be kept on file at the home and shall be made 
available for viewing by any person upon request. 

Subd. 10. Powers not limited. Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit 
the powers granted to the commissioner in this chapter. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 23; 1992 c 513 art 6 s 27 
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144B.11 INJUNCTIVE RELIEF; SUBPOENAS. 
Subdivision 1. Injunctive relief. In addition to any other remedy provided by law, 

the commissioner may bring an action in the district court in Ramsey or Hennepin 
county or in the district in which a home is located to enjoin the licensee or an employee 
of the home from illegally engaging in activities regulated by sections 144B.01 to 
144B. 17. A temporary restraining order may be granted by the court in the proceeding 
if continued activity by the licensee or employee would create an imminent risk of harm 
to a resident of the facility. 

Subd. 2. Subpoenas. In all matters pending before the commissioner under sec­
tions 144B.01 to 144B.17, the commissioner shall have the power to issue subpoenas, 
and to compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of all necessary papers, 
books, records, documents, and other evidentiary material. Any person failing or refus­
ing to appear or testify regarding any matter about which that person may be lawfully 
questioned or refusing to produce any papers, books, records, documents, or evidenti­
ary materials in the matter to be heard, after having been required by order of the com­
missioner or by a subpoena of the commissioner to do so may, upon application by the 
commissioner to the district court in any district, be ordered by the court to comply 
with the subpoena or order. The commissioner may issue subpoenas and may adminis­
ter oaths to witnesses, or take their affirmation. Depositions may be taken within or 
without the state in the manner provided by law for the taking of depositions in civil 
actions, with the same fees and mileage and in the same manner as prescribed by law 
for process issued out of the district court of this state. Fees and mileage and other costs 
for persons subpoenaed by the commissioner shall be paid in the same manner as for 
proceedings in district court. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 24 

144B.12 PLACEMENT OF A MONITOR. 
Subdivision 1. Authority. The commissioner may place a person to act as a monitor 

in a residential care home when the commissioner determines that violations of this 
chapter, or the rules adopted under it, require extended surveillance to enforce compli­
ance or to protect the health, safety, or welfare of the residents. 

Subd. 2. Duties of the monitor. The monitor shall observe the operation of the 
home, provide advice to the home on methods of complying with state law and rules, 
where documented deficiencies for the regulations exist, and periodically shall submit 
a written report to the commissioner on the ways in which the home meets or fails to 
meet state rules. 

Subd. 3. Selection of the monitor. The commissioner may select as monitor an 
employee of the department or may contract with any other individual to serve as a 
monitor. The commissioner shall publish a notice in the State Register that requests 
proposals from individuals who wish to be considered for placement as monitors and 
that sets forth the criteria for selecting individuals as monitors. The commissioner shall 
maintain a list of individuals who are not employees of the department who are inter­
ested in serving as monitors. The commissioner may contract with those individuals 
determined to be qualified. 

Subd. 4. Payment of the monitor. A residential care home in which a monitor is 
placed shall pay to the department the actual costs associated with the placement, 
unless the payment would create an undue hardship for the home. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 25 

144B.13 FREEDOM FROM ABUSE AND NEGLECT. 
Residents shall be free from abuse and neglect as defined in section 626.557, subdi­

vision 2. The commissioner shall by rule develop procedures for the reporting of alleged 
incidents of abuse or neglect in residential care homes. The office of health facility com­
plaints shall investigate reports of alleged abuse or neglect according to sections 
144 A. 51 to 144A.54. 
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History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 26 
NOTE: This section, as added by Laws 1991. chapter 292, article 2, section 26, is effective upon the effective date 

of rules adopted by the commissioner of health for licensure of residential care homes. See Laws 1991, chapter 292, article 
2, section 76. 

144B.14 CESSATION OF OPERATIONS. 
If a residential care home voluntarily plans to cease operations or to curtail opera­

tions to the extent that relocation of residents is necessary, the licensee of the home 
shall notify the commissioner at least 90 days prior to the scheduled cessation or cur­
tailment. The commissioner shall cooperate with and advise the licensee of the home 
in the resettlement of residents. Failure to comply with this section shall be subject to 
the issuance of a correction order and fine under section 144B.10. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 27 

144B.15 HUMAN SERVICES LICENSURE EXCLUSION. 
Notwithstanding section 245A.03, subdivision 2, board and lodging establish­

ments licensed by the commissioner and registered under section 157.031, subdivision 
2, that provide services for five or more persons whose primary diagnosis is mental ill­
ness and who have refused a residential program offered by a county agency are exempt 
from licensure under sections 245A.01 to 245A.16, until one year after the residential 
care home licensure rules required under sections 144B.01 to 144B. 17 are adopted by 
the commissioner of health. At that time, these establishments shall be licensed under 
sections 245A.01 to 245A.16, or as residential care homes. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 28 

144B.16 TRANSITIONAL PERIOD. 
Except as provided for in section 157.031, subdivision 4, the requirement to obtain 

a residential care home license is effective as of the effective date of the rules adopted 
by the commissioner. Until that time, board and lodging establishments that are 
required to be registered under the provisions of section 157.031 shall continue to meet 
the requirements contained in that section. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 29 

144B.17 ADVISORY WORK GROUP. 
The commissioner shall convene a work group to advise, consult with, and make 

recommendations to the commissioner regarding the development of rules required 
under sections 144B.01 to 144B.16. The work group must include consumers and pro­
viders of the services described in sections 144B.01 to 144B.16 and other interested 
parties. 

History: 1991 c 292 art 2 s 30 
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