# Lands and Minerals CHAPTER 92

## STATE LANDS; SALES, INVESTMENT OF PROCEEDS

92.01	State public lands or state lands.	92.214	Certificates deemed canceled in certain
92.02	Authority.		cases.
92.03	Minimum price of lands.	92.215	Taxes canceled.
92.04	Minimum price of certain state lands.	92.22	Refundment of tax certificates upon cer-
92.05	Salt lands, by whom sold.		tain reform school lands.
92.06	Payments; interest.	92.23	Payments; receipts; liability of officials.
92.07	Sales by subdivisions.	92.24	Moneys paid to state treasurer.
92.08	Surveys and resurveys.	92.25	Fees of treasurer; standing appropria-
92.09	Land subdivided, appraised, reap-		tion.
	praised.	92.26	Statement of sales.
92.10	Maps and plats.	92.27	County auditors; duties and powers.
92.11	Lands appraised.	92.28	Proceeds of sales; distribution.
92.12	Appraisal of school and other state	92.29	Land patents.
	lands.	92.30	State to sell certain lands.
92.13	State lands, date of sale.	92.31	State may exchange land.
92.14	Sale, notice.	92.32	Governor to execute conveyances.
92.15	Application.	92.321	Sale for forestry purposes.
92.16	Certificate of sale.	92.34	County land classification committee.
92.163	Extension for payment on state land	92.35	Duties and powers.
	certificates.	92.36	Lands classified
92.165	Certificate of release.	92.37	Report to legislature.
92.17	Effect of certificate; record.	92.45	State land on meandered lakes with-
92.18	Certificates, divided.		drawn from sale; exception.
92.19	Assignment; extensions of payment.	92.46	Lands as camp grounds.
92.20	Void sales; refund.	92.461	Peat lands.
92.21	Redemption of forfeited state lands.	92.50	Unsold lands subject to sale may be
92.211	Time of payment extended.		leased.
92.212	Certain lands presumed abandoned.	92.51	Lands sold are taxable; redemption;
92.213	Limitation of actions.		special certificate.

### 92.01 STATE PUBLIC LANDS OR STATE LANDS.

The term "state public lands" or "state lands" means school, swamp, university, internal improvement, and other lands granted to the state by acts of Congress.

History: 1941 c 374 s 1

### 92.02 AUTHORITY.

All sales made pursuant to this chapter shall be conducted by the commissioner in person, his deputy, or by a competent person employed by the commissioner and bonded in a sum of not less than \$10,000.

History: 1911 c 123 s 4; 1919 c 199 s 1 (6282)

### 92.03 MINIMUM PRICE OF LANDS.

Subdivision 1. School lands. The minimum price of school lands shall be including the value of timber reproduction not less than \$5 per acre, and all sales thereof shall be within the county in which the lands are situated. Not more than 100,000 acres of school lands shall be sold in one year. Where patent has been issued by the federal government to any school land, as above defined, previous to 1864, and the taxes thereon have been paid for a period of at least 35 years, then and in such event, the commissioner of finance may in his discretion cause such amount of such taxes to be applied upon the minimum price of \$5 per acre as above provided as he may deem proper in order that the minimum sales price of the land may be so reduced as to make it salable.

- Subd. 2. University lands. The minimum price of all lands donated to the state by the United States by act of congress entitled "An act donating to the states of Minnesota and Oregon certain lands reserved by congress for the territories of Minnesota and Oregon, for university purposes," approved March 2, 1861, and by an act of congress entitled "An act donating public lands to the several states and territories which may provide colleges for the benefit of agriculture and mechanic arts," approved July 2, 1862, shall be including the value of timber reproduction not less than \$5 per acre. The director shall cause these lands or any part of them to be appraised and sold in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.
  - Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1965 c 45 s 73]
- Subd. 4. Internal improvement lands. All lands donated to the state under the eighth section of an act of congress entitled "An act to appropriate the proceeds of the sales of the public lands, and to grant preemption rights," approved September 4, 1841, shall be appraised and sold, and the minimum price shall be the same, and the moneys derived from the sale thereof shall be invested, as provided by the Constitution of the state of Minnesota, Article II, Section 8.

**History:** RL s 2404,2405,2407,2408; 1917 c 76 s 1; 1919 c 258 s 1; 1961 c 657 s 1; 1963 c 202 s 1,2; 1973 c 492 s 14; 1982 c 424 s 16 (6261, 6262, 6264, 6265)

### 92.04 MINIMUM PRICE OF CERTAIN STATE LANDS.

All lands selected for state institutions under an act of the legislature entitled "An act to appropriate swamp lands to certain educational and charitable institutions and for the purpose of creating a state prison," approved February 13, 1865, and all lands known as state capitol lands, shall be appraised and sold as school lands are sold. The minimum price of all lands belonging to the state by virtue of the various congressional acts set forth in sections 92.03 and 92.04 shall be including the value of timber reproduction not less than \$5 per acre, and the terms of payment and conditions of sale shall be the same as now provided by law. Where state lands have been benefited by and assessments paid for drainage, such drainage improvements shall be duly considered by the state land examiner in making appraisals. When such drained lands are sold the principal and interest paid thereon shall be credited by the director to the proper fund to which the land belongs.

History: RL s 2409; 1907 c 366 s 1; 1909 c 118 s 1; 1963 c 202 s 3 (6266)

### 92.05 SALT LANDS, BY WHOM SOLD.

The board of regents of the university of Minnesota shall have charge and supervision of the state salt lands donated by the United States to aid in the development of the brines in the state, and may sell these lands in such manner and amounts as it may deem expedient, and shall hold the proceeds thereof in trust, and shall only disburse the same in accordance with the law providing for a geological and natural history survey. The university may execute, in its name, deeds of conveyance of these lands. The proceeds of the sale of such lands when invested shall constitute a permanent fund, called the university fund.

History: RL s 2406 (6263)

### 92.06 PAYMENTS; INTEREST.

Subdivision 1. Terms. The terms of payment on the sale of all state public lands shall be as follows: The purchaser shall pay in cash at the time of sale the appraised value of all timber. At least 15 percent of the purchase price of the land exclusive of timber shall be paid in cash at the time of sale and the balance in not to exceed 20 equal annual instalments, payable on June 1 each year following that in

which the purchase was made, with interest at a rate equal to the rate in effect at the time under section 549.09 on the balances remaining unpaid, payable with the instalments or principal. Any instalment of principal or interest may be paid in advance, but part payment of an instalment shall not be accepted. For the purpose of computing interest any instalment of principal not paid on June 1 shall be credited as of the following June 1.

- Subd. 2. **Buildings or improvements.** In case there are any buildings or other improvements upon the land the value thereof shall be appraised separately and included in the purchase price. No person shall remove, injure, or destroy any such building or other improvement until an amount equal to such appraised value has been paid on the purchase price of the premises, in addition to the payment required for timber, if any. Violation of this provision shall be a gross misdemeanor.
- Subd. 3. **Default.** Failure to make any payment required under any certificate of sale within 60 days from the date on which such payment becomes due shall constitute default and thereupon the certificate of sale shall be deemed canceled, and all right, title, and interest of the purchaser, his heirs, representatives, or assigns, in the premises shall terminate without the doing by the state of any act or thing. A record of such default shall be made in the state land records kept by or under the direction of the commissioner and a certificate of such default may be made by or under the direction of the commissioner and filed with the county treasurer or recorded in the office of the county recorder of the county in which the premises are situated. Any such record or certificate shall be prima facie evidence of the facts therein stated, but the making of such record or certificate shall not be essential to the taking effect of such cancelation and termination. The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to any sale made before May 1, 1941.
- Improvements, when payment not necessary. If there are any improvements upon the land made by one who in the opinion of the commissioner settled upon the land in good faith believing it to be land subject to homestead entry under the laws of the United States, and such settlement was made before the land was certified to the state, or if the improvements were made in good faith by a lessee of the state under a proper permit or other lawful authority, the value of such improvements shall be appraised separately and, if at the sale of such land such settler or lessee shall be the purchaser, he shall not be required to pay for such improvements. If a person other than such settler or lessee shall purchase the land, such purchaser shall pay to the state at the time of the sale, in addition to all other required payments, the full amount for which the improvements were appraised, and the amount so received by the state for such improvements shall be paid over to such settler or lessee, his heirs, representatives, or assigns, by warrant drawn by the commissioner of finance upon the state treasurer. All amounts received for such improvements are hereby appropriated for making such payments. The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply unless the person seeking the benefit thereof shall make a verified application to the commissioner showing that he is entitled thereto before the first state public sale at which the land is offered for sale and appear at such sale and offer to purchase the land for at least the appraised value thereof and all timber thereon, and make such purchase if no higher bid be received, nor unless all actions or other proceedings involving the land in question instituted prior to the sale shall have been determined.
- Subd. 5. Further security. The director when in his opinion the interests of the state will not be secured by the terms of payment so provided for shall require of the purchaser such further security for the payment of the deferred instalments as he may deem necessary; and in all cases where security is taken the director may recover the money and enforce such security by action brought in his name.

**History:** RL s 2410,2411; 1915 c 13 s 1; 1941 c 374 s 2; 1973 c 492 s 14; 1976 c 181 s 2; 1982 c 531 s 1 (6267, 6268)

92.07 STATE LANDS; SALES, INVESTMENT OF PROCEEDS

### 92.07 SALES BY SUBDIVISIONS.

All sales of land by the commissioner shall be made according to the subdivisions thereof by the United States surveys, unless the same have been subdivided into smaller parcels or lots, as provided in this chapter; but no land shall be sold in larger quantity than one quarter section.

History: RL s 2412 (6269)

### 92.08 SURVEYS AND RESURVEYS.

When it appears to the commissioner necessary in order to ascertain the boundaries of any tract of land in his charge or to enable him to describe or dispose of the same in convenient parcels he may cause surveys to be made. When a tract of land has been sold by the state of Minnesota according to the United States survey and the commissioner is of the opinion that an injustice has been done the purchaser because of an incorrect survey he may cause a resurvey thereof to be made by a competent surveyor, who shall thereafter prepare a plat showing the correct acreage of each subdivision so resurveyed, to be filed in the office of the commissioner and in the office of the county recorder of the proper county and the commissioner is hereby authorized to call in such land certificates as are affected by the resurvey and to issue new ones in lieu thereof showing the correct acreage, giving full credit for all payments of principal and interest which had previously been made.

History: RL s 2417; 1917 c 197 s 1; 1976 c 181 s 2 (6274, 6275)

### 92.09 LAND SUBDIVIDED, APPRAISED, REAPPRAISED.

Subdivision 1. Subdivision into lots. When the interest of the state will be promoted in the opinion of the commissioner by subdividing any of the land under his control into small parcels or city lots he shall cause the same to be done and the land to be appraised. When a petition signed by at least ten legal voters of the county in which the land therein described is situated is presented to the commissioner requesting him to have such land so subdivided he shall grant or refuse the petition. If the request be granted, the commissioner shall subdivide the land accordingly and cause the same to be appraised.

- Subd. 2. Appraisement of lots. For the purpose of making the appraisement required by subdivision 1, the commissioner shall designate therefor one or more of the regularly appointed and qualified state appraisers. Each appraiser before entering upon the duties of his office shall take and subscribe an oath that he will faithfully and impartially discharge his duties as appraiser according to the best of his ability and that he is not interested directly or indirectly in any of the lands or improvements thereon and has entered into no combination to purchase the same or any part thereof, which oath shall be attached to their report. They shall then appraise the lands and make report thereof to the commissioner.
- Subd. 3. Reappraisement. All parcels or lots so appraised shall be subject to sale in the same manner as other lands in charge of the commissioner, and sold at not less than the prices at which they were severally appraised, until a new appraisal is made, which the commissioner in his discretion may cause to be made in the manner aforesaid and with like effect; but no parcels or lots so appraised shall be sold for less than the minimum price of the lands established by this chapter.

History: RL s 2413,2414,2415; 1947 c 213 s 1; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7 (6270, 6271, 6272)

### 92.10 MAPS AND PLATS.

Subdivision 1. Map recorded. When the commissioner shall subdivide any land into small parcels or city lots, he shall cause a map of the same to be filed for record with the county recorder of the county in which the land is situated.

Subd. 2. Preparation. It shall be the duty of the commissioner to prepare suitable maps or plats having designated thereon those school or other state lands owned by the state which have been duly appraised and subject to sale, which maps or plats shall be printed and distributed with other printed matter in sufficient quantities to properly advertise the sales provided by this chapter.

**History:** RL s 2416; 1911 c 123 s 5; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7; 1976 c 181 s 2 (6273, 6283)

### 92.11 LANDS APPRAISED.

When in the opinion of the commissioner it shall be for the interest of the state that any of the lands in his charge, or the improvements thereon, be appraised he shall designate therefor one or more of the regularly appointed and qualified state appraisers who shall qualify and report as in the case of school or other state lands. The appraisers shall report the value of the lands and the improvements thereon, if any, separately; and if any of such lands, are valuable for the merchantable timber thereon the value of such merchantable timber shall also be separately stated. The appraised value shall be the minimum price for such lands until changed by a subsequent appraisal.

History: RL s 2418; 1927 c 241 s 1; 1947 c 213 s 2; 1961 c 657 s 2; 1963 c 171 s 1 (6276)

### 92.12 APPRAISAL OF SCHOOL AND OTHER STATE LANDS.

Subdivision 1. Appraisers. When in the opinion of the commissioner it will be for the public interest that an appraisal of any of the school or other state lands should be made he shall designate therefor one or more of the regularly appointed and qualified state appraisers. Each appraiser shall before entering upon the duties of his office take and subscribe an oath that he will faithfully and impartially discharge his duties as appraiser according to the best of his ability and that he is not interested directly or indirectly in any of the state lands to be appraised or the timber or improvements thereon or in the purchase thereof and has entered into no combination to purchase the same or any part thereof, which oath shall be attached to the report of such appraisal.

Subd. 2. Valuation and appraisal. The appraiser after taking oath of office shall proceed to view and appraise such lands and the merchantable timber and improvements thereon and make a report thereof to the commissioner as he may direct. The valuation of such lands and the merchantable timber and improvements thereon shall each be made and stated separately in the appraisement and the minimum price established by such appraisal shall be the minimum price for such lands until changed by subsequent appraisal. No school or other state lands shall be sold until so appraised, nor for a less price than \$5 per acre. In the appraisal the basic value of the land before the addition of the value of merchantable timber and improvements shall include the value of timber reproduction.

- Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1961 c 657 s 3]
- Subd. 4. Sales. The commissioner shall hold frequent sales of school and other state lands, the time and place of such sales to be publicly posted on the front door of the court-house in the county in which the sale is to take place at least 30 days in advance of such sale, in addition to the regular notice of sale provided by

### 92.12 STATE LANDS; SALES, INVESTMENT OF PROCEEDS

law. At this sale the commissioner shall sell such lands as he considers for the public interest.

- Subd. 5. Sale of land and timber. Where land mainly valuable for agricultural purposes as shown by the appraisement and other reports in the office of the commissioner contains only small quantities of timber the commissioner may in his discretion either sell the timber separately in the manner provided by law for state timber sales or he may sell the land as agricultural land, requiring the purchaser to pay down as first payment an amount equal to the value of the timber, in addition to the first payment required on the land. Where such appraisement and other reports show land should be sold for continuous forest production or other conservation purpose, and the commissioner so determines, then the full appraised value of land and timber shall be paid by the purchaser at the time of purchase.
- Subd. 6. Drainage. It shall be the duty of the appraisers to report to the commissioner such lands as in their opinion should be drained. After the state has constructed or has been assessed for any public ditch or drain the lands assessed or improved shall thereafter be reappraised before being offered for sale.

**History:** 1911 c 90 s 5; 1911 c 196 s 1; Ex1919 c 17 s 1; 1927 c 332 s 1; Ex1933 c 22 s 1; 1941 c 374 s 3; 1959 c 589 s 1; 1963 c 171 s 2 (6277, 6438)

NOTE: As to Volstead lands, see Laws 1961, Chapter 472, and Laws 1963, Chapter 390, Section 1.

### 92.13 STATE LANDS, DATE OF SALE.

It shall be the duty of the commissioner to hold public sales of school and other state lands in those counties where school and other state lands are situate at such times as will be advantageous to the state and to intending buyers and settlers.

**History:** 1911 c 123 s 1; 1913 c 8 s 1; 1923 c 6 s 1 (6279)

### 92.14 SALE, NOTICE.

Subdivision 1. Time. Before any sale is made, the commissioner shall cause four weeks published notice of the time and place of sale to be given at St. Paul and in each county in which land to be sold is situated. The notice shall contain a description of each parcel of land to be sold. If there be no newspaper published in any such county, four weeks posted notice shall be given therein. The commissioner, on or before the day of sale, may withdraw any lands which may have been so advertised.

- Subd. 2. Contents. It shall be the duty of the commissioner to give public notice of each sale referred to in section 92.13 by four publications in a weekly newspaper printed and published at the county-seat wherein the lands are situated, and by four weekly publications in a daily newspaper published and printed in the capital city of the state. This published notice shall contain the following information:
  - (1) The time and place for the holding of the sales;
- (2) The limitations and requirements provided by law as to purchasers of such lands;
  - (3) The terms and conditions of payments as required by law; and
  - (4) The place where lists of lands to be offered for sale may be obtained.

History: RL s 2419; 1911 c 123 s 2 (6278, 6280)

### 92.15 APPLICATION.

All other requirements and provisions relating to the sale of school and other state lands shall apply with full force to sales made under sections 92.02, 92.10, 92.13, and 92.14.

**History:** 1911 c 123 s 3 (6281)

### 92.16 CERTIFICATE OF SALE.

Subdivision 1. Contents; default, re-sale. At the time of the sale the commissioner shall execute, acknowledge, and deliver to the purchaser a certificate of sale in which he shall certify the description of the land sold, the quantity thereof, the price per acre, the consideration paid and to be paid, and the time and terms of payment, and which shall be numbered and made assignable. No certificate shall be delivered until the sum required by law to be paid at the time of the sale is paid to the treasurer of the county where such sale takes place and in case the purchaser fails to pay such sum the commissioner may immediately reoffer the land for sale, but no bid shall be received from the person so failing.

- Subd. 2. Default in payment of interest; re-sale. Upon cancelation of any certificate of sale the commissioner may without notice take possession of the lands therein described and resell the same at public auction in the same manner and under the same rules as provided for the first sale. When the commissioner shall have reappraised and advertised and publicly offered for sale such lands, a reentry shall be deemed to have been made on the part of the state without any other act or deed, but this shall not be essential to cancelation of the certificate of sale nor extend thereafter any rights of any person claiming under such certificate. The purchaser at such sale shall be entitled to immediate possession. If the land is not again sold after cancelation of a certificate of sale, it shall be deemed to be unsold land of the state, free and clear of any and all rights claimed by any person under such certificate whether in actual or constructive possession thereof.
- Subd. 3. Application. The provisions of Mason's Supplement 1940, Section 6285, as the same existed before the passage of Laws 1941, Chapter 374, shall apply to all state lands of any kind therein referred to sold after the passage of Extra Session Laws 1933-1934, Chapter 39, January 5, 1934, and prior to May 1, 1941. The provisions of Mason's Minnesota Statutes of 1927, Section 6285, as the same existed prior to the passage of Chapter 39, shall apply to all such state lands sold prior to the passage of Chapter 39, with like effect as if Chapter 39 and Laws 1941, Chapter 374, had not been enacted. Section 6285, as amended by Laws 1941, Chapter 374, shall apply to all state lands sold on or after May 1, 1941.
- Subd. 4. Lands repossessed or reentered. In any case where any state lands sold prior to the passage of Extra Session Laws 1933-1934, Chapter 39, January 5, 1934, have been repossessed or reentered prior to the passage of Laws 1941, Chapter 374, in accordance with the provisions of Mason's Minnesota Statutes of 1927, Section 6285, as the same existed prior to the passage of Chapter 39, such reentry or repossession shall be valid and effectual for all purposes, as provided by Section 6285.

History: RL s 2420,2421; Ex1934 c 39 s 1; 1941 c 374 s 4 (6284, 6285)

### 92.163 EXTENSION FOR PAYMENT ON STATE LAND CERTIFICATES.

Subdivision 1. Limitation. The time for payment of the principal of any certificate of sale of state public land sold prior to May 1st, 1941, which has expired or will expire hereafter, shall be extended as herein provided.

Subd. 2. Certificate holder to file application. Before the expiration of the time for the payment of principal specified in the original certificate of sale, or any extension thereof by law, the holder of the certificate shall file with the commissioner of natural resources an application for an extension of time of payment in such form as the commissioner shall prescribe. The applicant shall submit to the commissioner the certificate of sale or an affidavit of the circumstances if the same has been lost or destroyed, or cannot be produced for any other reason, together with such other proof of the applicant's rights as the commissioner may require. At least 15 percent

of the unpaid principal shall be paid with the application, together with all unpaid interest and penalties accrued to date. The remaining unpaid principal, with interest, shall be payable in like manner as provided by Mason's Minnesota Statutes 1927, Section 6267, as amended by Laws 1941, Chapter 374, and the rights of the certificate holder, and all other proceedings in the matter shall be subject to the provisions of said section and other applicable laws, as if the land has been sold thereunder on the date of the filing of the application for extension.

- Subd. 3. Certificate of extension. Thereupon the time for payment shall be extended and the commissioner shall issue a certificate of extension in form approved by the attorney general, and the original certificate shall be deemed modified in accordance with the provisions of such extension certificate. The duplicate of the certificate shall be attached to the duplicate original certificate of sale on record in the office of the commissioner of natural resources.
- Subd. 4. Application of section 92.163. The provisions of this section shall not apply in any case where the certificate of sale has heretofore been absolutely terminated and made void, without right of redemption, nor in any case where the land has become forfeited to the state for delinquent taxes.

History: 1943 c 469 s 1: 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2

### 92.165 CERTIFICATE OF RELEASE.

Subdivision 1. Release by commissioner. Whenever it shall appear (1) that the terms of a certificate of sale of state public lands have been fully complied with so as to have entitled the owner to a patent under the terms of the certificate, (2) that such patent has not been issued and (3) that after such compliance, such lands were forfeited to the state for non-payment of taxes accruing after such compliance, the commissioner shall, upon resolution of the board of county commissioners of the county in which said lands lie, issue a certificate reciting that there was compliance with the terms of the certificate of sale prior to such forfeiture, and releasing such lands from the trust attached thereto prior to their sale as state public lands.

- Subd. 2. Delivery of certificate. Such certificate shall be delivered to the county auditor and be by him placed on record with the county recorder without payment of any recording fee.
- Subd. 3. Status of other tax forfeited lands. Thereafter the title and status of such lands from the date of forfeiture shall be the same as that of other tax forfeited lands.

History: 1945 c 169 s 1-3; 1976 c 181 s 2

### 92.17 EFFECT OF CERTIFICATE; RECORD.

A certificate of sale entitles the holder to the possession of the land therein described, but the fee shall remain in the state until a patent is issued therefor. These certificates, assignments, and patents may be filed for record with the county recorder.

History: RL s 2423; 1976 c 181 s 2 (6287)

### 92.18 CERTIFICATES, DIVIDED.

When the holder of any certificate shall surrender the same to the commissioner, with a request to have the land therein described divided, and two or more certificates issued therefor, it shall be lawful for the commissioner so to do. No new certificate shall issue while any interest is delinquent or if the commissioner shall be of the opinion that the security of the state would be impaired or endangered thereby. If the applicant shall desire a division by boundaries other than regular

government or state subdivisions, he shall file with his application a plat and survey showing the lines of, and the quantity of land in, each subdivision.

History: RL s 2424 (6288)

### 92.19 ASSIGNMENT: EXTENSIONS OF PAYMENT.

When any certificate is assigned the assignment shall be executed in the same manner as a deed of land and acknowledged by the assignor. When any extension of the time of payment is agreed upon such agreement shall be in writing, executed in like manner and a record thereof preserved in the office of the commissioner.

History: RL s 2422 (6286)

### 92.20 VOID SALES: REFUND.

Any sale made by mistake, or not in accordance with law, or obtained by fraud, shall be void, and the certificate issued thereon shall be of no effect; and the holder of such certificate shall be required to surrender the same to the commissioner who, except in cases of fraud on the part of the purchaser, shall cause the money paid on such sale to be refunded to the holder.

History: RL s 2425 (6290)

### 92.21 REDEMPTION OF FORFEITED STATE LANDS.

Subdivision 1. In any case where the rights of the holder of a certificate of sale of any state public land sold before January 6, 1934, have become forfeited by a failure to pay the amount of interest due under the certificate, if the certificate holder before re-sale at public auction of the lands described in the certificate shall pay to the state treasurer the amount of interest then due and payable on such certificate, with interest thereon from the time when the same became due at four percent, such payment shall operate as a redemption of the rights of the certificate holder, and reinstate the certificate in full force, provided, as follows:

- (1) If the default in payment occurred before July 1, 1941, the amount required for redemption shall be paid not later than December 31, 1941;
- (2) If the default in payment occurred on or after July 1, 1941, the amount required for redemption shall be paid within six months after the occurrence of the default;
- (3) If the time for payment of the principal specified in the certificate has expired but an extension of time by law has not expired, the full amount due on the principal together with interest, has herein provided, and all other sums due the state on the land shall be paid, and thereupon a patent for the land shall be issued to the certificate holder as provided by law;
- (4) No such redemption shall be permitted in any case where the time for payment of the principal as specified in the certificate and all extensions thereof provided by law have expired, nor in any case where the certificate of sale has been absolutely terminated and made void without right of redemption under any prior or existing law, nor in any case where the land has become absolutely forfeited to the state for delinquent taxes;
- (5) The provisions of this section shall not suspend or otherwise affect any proceedings for the re-sale of state public land unless redemption is made before sale of the land to an actual purchaser.
- Subd. 2. In every case where a certificate of sale of state public land sold before January 6, 1934, has been or shall be canceled after default by reappraisal and reoffer of the land for sale, and where the default shall not be redeemed and the

certificate reinstated, as provided by this section, the certificate shall be deemed absolutely canceled and void, and all right, title, and interest of the purchaser, his heirs, representatives, or assigns, in the land shall terminate without further act on the part of the state; provided, that this shall not preclude any other method of termination prescribed by law.

History: RL s 2426; Ex1934 c 39 s 2; 1939 c 353 s 1; 1941 c 374 s 5 (6291)

### 92.211 TIME OF PAYMENT EXTENDED.

Subdivision 1. The time for payment of the principal on every certificate of sale of state public land which has expired or will expire before July 1, 1943, is hereby extended to December 31, 1943, subject to payment of interest as provided by law and to all other conditions of the certificate, and upon payment of such principal and interest and all other sums due the state upon the land within the extended time a patent for the land shall be issued to the holder of the certificate as provided by law.

- Subd. 2. The time for payment of the principal on every certificate of sale of state public land sold before May 1, 1941, which expires on or after July 1, 1943, is hereby extended for a period of six months after the time specified in the certificate, subject to the payment of interest as provided by law and to all other conditions of the certificate, and upon payment of such principal and interest and all other sums due the state upon the land within the extended time a patent for the land shall be issued to the holder of the certificate as provided by law.
- Subd. 3. The provisions of this section shall not apply in any case where the certificate of sale has been absolutely terminated and made void without right of redemption under any prior or existing law, nor in any case where the land has become absolutely forfeited to the state for delinquent taxes.
- Subd. 4. In every case where the full amount of principal with interest and all other sums required for obtaining a patent under a certificate of sale of state public land sold before May 1, 1941, are not paid before the expiration of the time allowed by law for payment of the principal, the certificate shall be deemed absolutely canceled and void, and all right, title, and interest of the purchaser, his heirs, representatives, or assigns, in the land shall terminate without further act on the part of the state; provided, that this shall not preclude any other method of termination provided by law.

History: 1941 c 374 s 6

### 92.212 CERTAIN LANDS PRESUMED ABANDONED.

In any case where full payment of the amount due the state for any state public land sold before May 1, 1941, shall not have been made before the expiration of the time prescribed in the certificate for full payment of the principal or any extension of such time provided by law, it shall be presumed that the purchaser and all persons claiming under him have left and abandoned the land and all right, title, and interest therein and claim thereto, and have released the same absolutely to the state and its assigns.

History: 1941 c 374 s 7

### 92.213 LIMITATION OF ACTIONS.

In any case where full payment of the amount due the state for any state public land sold before May 1, 1941, shall not have been made before the expiration of the time prescribed in the certificate for full payment of the principal or any extension of such time provided by law, no action for the recovery or possession of the land or

for the enforcement of any right, title, or interest therein or claim thereto shall be maintained by the purchaser or any one claiming under him unless such action is commenced within one year after the expiration of such prescribed time or extension.

History: 1941 c 374 s 8

### 92.214 CERTIFICATES DEEMED CANCELED IN CERTAIN CASES.

In every case where the interest of the purchaser of a tract of state public land as heretofore or shall hereafter become forfeited to the state for delinquent taxes, the certificates shall be deemed canceled and terminated, and the land shall be held by the state as unsold public land, free from any right, title, interest, or claim of the purchaser, his heirs, representatives, or assigns, and free from any trust in favor of any taxing district.

History: 1941 c 374 s 9

### 92.215 TAXES CANCELED.

In every case where the rights of a purchaser of state public land, his heirs, representatives, or assigns, have been or shall hereafter be absolutely terminated in any manner, all unpaid taxes and assessments against the land at the date of such termination shall be canceled and the county auditor shall make entry thereof upon his records of such lands.

History: 1941 c 374 s 10

### 92.22 REFUNDMENT OF TAX CERTIFICATES UPON CERTAIN REFORM SCHOOL LANDS.

Any holder of a tax certificate of sale or state assignment certificate, who became the owner thereof prior to the adoption of Laws 1902, Extra Session, Chapter 2, which describes reform school lands, so-called, or any tract, lot, or subdivision thereof, and which was sold by the state upon contract prior to 1902, to a purchaser who has since defaulted in the performance of the conditions thereof, so that the land is now owned in fee simple by the state, may petition the board of county commissioners of the county wherein such lands are situated setting forth fully and fairly all the facts pertaining thereto and the board of county commissioners shall thereupon inquire into the truth of the facts alleged in the petition and, if it is satisfied that the facts are fully and fairly stated therein, it shall so certify to the director; and if he is satisfied that a refundment should be made to the holder of the certificate or certificates, or any of them, for the amount thereof, without interest, he shall authorize the refundment of the amount paid therefor, together with the amount of other subsequent taxes upon the property paid by the holder thereof, but without interest upon any of these amounts and, upon the surrender of the proper assignment of these certificates, the county auditor shall draw an order upon the treasurer of the county for the sum so authorized to be refunded, the same to be countersigned and paid like other county orders. The several funds, state, county, town, city, school, and other funds, shall be charged with their several proportions of the amount thus refunded.

History: 1909 c 491 s 1; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7 (6292)

### 92,23 PAYMENTS: RECEIPTS: LIABILITY OF OFFICIALS.

The holder of any certificate of sale may pay to the treasurer of the county in which the land therein described is situated any amount due on such certificate. For the amount so paid the treasurer shall issue quadruplicate receipts specifying the

### 92.23 STATE LANDS; SALES, INVESTMENT OF PROCEEDS

name and address of the person making the payment and the date and amount thereof, whether for principal or interest, the fund to which it is applicable, and the number of the certificate, which receipt shall be countersigned by the auditor of the county, and shall have the same force and effect as if given by the state treasurer. The county treasurer shall deliver one copy to the holder of the certificate, one to the county auditor, one to the commissioner, and retain one copy.

The liability under the official bonds of county treasurers and of their deputies and employees shall include liability for the faithful performance of the duties of such treasurers, deputies, and employees, under this section.

History: RL s 2428; 1929 c 200 s 1; 1941 c 374 s 11 (6296, 6296-1)

### 92.24 MONEYS PAID TO STATE TREASURER.

Each county treasurer shall hold all moneys received by him on account of such certificates of sale subject to the order of the state treasurer and as of June 30 and December 31 each year and at other times when requested by the state treasurer he shall pay into the state treasury all such moneys received since the last payment made.

History: RL s 2430; 1945 c 382 s 1 (6298)

### 92.25 FEES OF TREASURER; STANDING APPROPRIATION.

County treasurers shall be entitled to fees of one percent on each dollar received by them in payment of principal or interest on account of such certificates of sale, which fees shall be paid by the state from the current fund of the class of lands on which the payment is made and shall not be payable to the county under any provision requiring county treasurers to pay fees into the treasuries of their respective counties; and the necessary sums for the payment of these fees are hereby annually appropriated from the several interest funds.

There is hereby appropriated out of any moneys in the state treasury not otherwise appropriated, such sums as may be necessary, from time to time, to pay such amounts as are necessary under this section.

History: RL s 2431; 1949 c 125 s 1; 1959 c 158 s 9 (6299)

### 92.26 STATEMENT OF SALES.

On or before May first each year the director shall transmit to each county treasurer who has executed and returned his bond a statement showing the lands sold in that county, the classes to which the same belong, the numbers of the certificates of sale, the names of the persons to whom they were, respectively, issued, and the amount of principal and interest due on each certificate on June first, together with such instructions and blanks as shall enable the treasurer to carry out the provisions of this chapter.

History: RL s 2432 (6300)

### 92.27 COUNTY AUDITORS; DUTIES AND POWERS.

Each county auditor, at the time he is required by law to return abstracts of settlement to the commissioner, shall forward all duplicate receipts of principal, interest, or penalties delivered to him, with a certified statement of such collections by the county treasurer, specifying the amount of each item, and make such return at any other time when requested by the commissioner. The county auditor shall act as clerk of land sales made by the commissioner and may make such sales when authorized by him, in which case his deputy shall act as clerk. Immediately after

the close of all sales the county auditor shall report to the commissioner the description of each tract sold, the amount for which it was sold, and the amount paid. For each day while so engaged the county auditor shall be allowed the sum of \$3, to be paid out of any appropriation for the appraisal and sale of these lands.

History: RL s 2433 (6301)

### 92.28 PROCEEDS OF SALES: DISTRIBUTION.

The principal sums accruing from all sales by the commissioner of school, university, internal improvement, or other state lands, or of pine timber upon the same, shall become a part of the several permanent funds to which they, respectively, belong and shall not be reduced by any costs or charges of officers, by fees, or any other means. All moneys received as interest on such funds, or as penalties, or as rents of such lands, shall become part of the current or general funds to which they, respectively, belong. All interest and penalties on the internal improvement land fund, and rents of such land, shall be compounded with the permanent fund.

History: RL s 2434 (6302)

### 92.29 LAND PATENTS.

The governor shall sign and issue, under the seal of the state, attested by the commissioner, a patent for the land described in any certificate of sale when the same is presented to him with the certificate of the commissioner endorsed thereon that the principal and interest specified therein and all taxes due on this land have been paid and that the patent should issue to the named patentee; and such patentee shall be the purchaser named in such certificate of sale, or his successor in interest by execution, judicial, mortgage or tax sale, or his assignee, vendee, heir or devisee, as shown by a properly certified abstract of title or other evidence if the named patentee is any person other than the original purchaser. If the certificate of sale has become lost or destroyed, an affidavit stating that fact shall be submitted by the applicant for a patent.

History: RL s 2427; 1935 c 368 s 1; 1963 c 216 s 1 (6295)

### 92.30 STATE TO SELL CERTAIN LANDS.

The department is hereby authorized and directed to take the proper and necessary proceedings, under laws relative to the sale of state swamp lands and state school lands, to sell any and all state-owned lands, including any lands set apart as school forests or other state forests, lying within the general boundaries of the Superior national forest and the Chippewa national forest, in the state of Minnesota, as such boundaries now exist or may hereafter be extended, which the United States may desire to acquire as a part of either of these forests, and which shall be designated by the executive council, upon the recommendation of the commissioner, for disposal to the United States for such purpose, and at such sale these lands shall be purchased for the state by the commissioner at a price not exceeding a maximum fixed by the executive council.

History: 1929 c 246 s 1 (6302-1)

### 92,31 STATE MAY EXCHANGE LAND.

The executive council is hereby authorized and empowered to exchange any or all of the lands which may be acquired by the state by purchase, as set forth in section 92.30, for lands of the United States of the same general character and of substantially the same value as in its judgment will promote the best interests of the state upon such terms and conditions as it shall deem proper and to that end may

### **MINNESOTA STATUTES 1984**

### 92.31 STATE LANDS: SALES, INVESTMENT OF PROCEEDS

accept or pay out of any available funds such cash differences as will affect an equitable exchange of lands. The executive council is hereby authorized to cause any lands so acquired to be appraised by such competent authority as it shall appoint or direct.

**History:** 1929 c 246 s 2 (6302-2)

### 92.32 GOVERNOR TO EXECUTE CONVEYANCES.

For the purpose of carrying out the objects of sections 92.30 and 92.31 the governor is hereby authorized and empowered to execute proper instruments of conveyance in the name and under the seal of the state.

History: 1929 c 246 s 3 (6302-3)

### 92.321 SALE FOR FORESTRY PURPOSES.

Subdivision 1. Any state public land, except as otherwise reserved, which in the opinion of the commissioner of natural resources is appropriate and suitable for private forest management, to be used exclusively for the growing of continuous forest crops in accordance with accepted sustained yield practice, may be appraised and offered at public sale, subject to the approval of the executive council, in the same manner as other state land.

Subd. 2. Not more than 1280 acres of such land will be offered in one parcel nor sold on any other terms than for cash.

History: 1961 c 658 s 1,2; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2

**92.33** [Repealed, 1969 c 9 s 12]

### 92.34 COUNTY LAND CLASSIFICATION COMMITTEE.

In each county of the state having 25 percent or more of its land area delinquent for non-payment of taxes, or where 25 percent or more of its land area is owned by the state or the United States, there shall be a committee of land classification composed of the county auditor, the chairman of the board of county commissioners, the county treasurer, the county surveyor, and the county superintendent of schools. The chairman of the board of county commissioners shall be chairman of the county land classification committee. In any such county having a county agricultural agent, this agent shall meet and advise with the committee. The committee shall meet at the office of the county auditor as often as may be necessary upon call of the county auditor.

History: 1933 c 436 s 2 (6302-6)

### 92.35 DUTIES AND POWERS.

It shall be the duty of the commissioner of energy, planning and development, to classify all public and private lands in the state with reference to the use to which the lands are adapted, but principally as to adaptability to present known uses, such as agriculture and forestry. This classification shall be based upon a consideration of the known physical and economic factors affecting the use of the land. The commissioner of energy, planning and development shall consult with private, state, and federal agencies concerned with land use, and may appoint such advisory committees as the commissioner may deem necessary and advisable, made up of residents of the state concerned with and interested in land use, the advisory committees to serve without pay, at the pleasure of the commissioner of energy, planning and development, and to consider and report upon land use problems submitted by the commissioner of energy, planning and development. The work of

2116

the commissioner of energy, planning and development shall first be done in the counties having land classification committees. The commissioner of energy, planning and development shall consult, advise with, and cooperate with the land classification committee in each county in obtaining and considering the facts upon which to determine the commissioner's land classification; the land classification committee in each county shall consult, advise with, and cooperate with the commissioner of energy, planning and development in like manner, but the determination of the land classification committee shall be final.

History: 1933 c 436 s 3; 1969 c 9 s 13; 1981 c 356 s 110 (6302-7)

### 92.36 LANDS CLASSIFIED.

Upon the basis of all of the facts concerning land use now obtainable and in the manner provided in sections 92.34 to 92.37 the commissioner of energy, planning and development, shall make and determine a temporary land classification of land areas with reference to the known uses to which the areas are adapted or adaptable. A certified copy of the temporary classification, together with a brief statement of the reasons therefor, shall be recorded in the office of the county recorder in each county in which the lands classified are located. No fees shall be paid for this recording. When the temporary classification has been adopted by the commissioner of energy, planning and development none of the lands classified as non-agricultural shall thereafter be sold or leased by the state for agricultural purposes.

**History:** 1933 c 436 s 4; 1969 c 9 s 14; 1976 c 181 s 2; 1981 c 356 s 111; 1Sp1981 c 4 art 1 s 65 (6302-8)

### 92.37 REPORT TO LEGISLATURE.

The commissioner of energy, planning and development, shall report the results of its land classification to the legislature with such recommendations as it may deem advisable.

**History:** 1933 c 436 s 5: 1969 c 9 s 15: 1981 c 356 s 112 (6302-9)

92.38	[Renumbered 9	94.341]
92.39	[Renumbered 9	94.342]
92,40	[Renumbered 9	94.343]
92.41	[Renumbered 9	94.344]
92.42	[Renumbered 9	94.345]
92.43	[Renumbered 9	94.346]
92.44	[Renumbered 9	_

### 92,45 STATE LAND ON MEANDERED LAKES WITHDRAWN FROM SALE; EXCEPTION.

All state lands bordering on or adjacent to meandered lakes and other public waters and watercourses and the live timber growing or being thereon hereby are withdrawn from sale except as hereinafter provided. The commissioner of natural resources may sell any such timber as otherwise provided by law for cutting and removal under such conditions as he shall prescribe in accordance with approved, sustained-yield forestry practices. He shall reserve such timber and impose such other conditions as he deems necessary for the protection of watersheds, wildlife habitat, shorelines, and scenic features. Within the area in Cook, Lake, and St. Louis counties described in the Act of Congress approved July 10, 1930, (46 Stat. 1020), the timber on state lands shall be subject to like restrictions as are now imposed by said act on federal lands.

### 92.45 STATE LANDS; SALES, INVESTMENT OF PROCEEDS

Of all such land bordering on or adjacent to meandered lakes and other public waters and watercourses and so withdrawn from sale, a strip two rods in width, the ordinary high-water mark being the water side boundary thereof, and the land-side boundary thereof being a line drawn parallel to the ordinary high-water mark and two rods distant landward therefrom, hereby is reserved for public travel thereon, and wherever the conformation of the shore line or conditions require, the commissioner shall reserve a wider strip for such purposes.

Any such state lands bordering on or adjacent to the Mississippi River or any such lakes, waters, and watercourses in the bottom lands thereof, desired or needed by the United States government for, or in connection with, any project heretofore authorized by Congress for the improvement of navigation in the Mississippi River, may be sold by the commissioner at public sale according to law, as in other cases, upon application by a fully authorized United States official, setting forth a description of the land and transmitted with a map showing its location with reference to adjoining properties.

**History:** 1923 c 430 s 11; 1927 c 330 s 1; 1929 c 21 s 1; 1951 c 20 s 1; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2 (6463)

### 92.46 LANDS AS CAMP GROUNDS.

Subdivision 1. Public camp grounds. The director may designate suitable portions of the state lands so withdrawn from sale and not reserved, as provided in section 92.45, as permanent state public camp grounds and cause the same to be surveyed and platted into lots of convenient size, and may lease and let such lots for cottage and camp purposes under such terms and conditions as he may prescribe. No lease shall be made for a longer term than ten years, with the privilege of renewal, from time to time, for additional terms of not to exceed ten years each. All moneys received from these leases of state lands so withdrawn from sale shall be credited to the fund to which the proceeds of the land belong.

Subd. 1a. Termination of leasing. Effective May 22, 1973, no new leases shall be made pursuant to subdivision 1. In any case where substantial improvements have been made to land leased pursuant to subdivision 1, the commissioner shall require the lessee to comply with applicable county ordinances for the management of shoreland areas and shall cancel any lease for non-compliance with these standards except those sub-standard uses authorized by the county ordinance.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1975 c 353 s 41]

History: 1923 c 430 s 12,13; 1973 c 479 s 3 (6464, 6465)

### **92.461 PEAT LANDS.**

Subdivision 1. Peat lands withdrawn from sale. All lands now or hereafter owned by the state which are chiefly valuable by reason of deposits of peat in commercial quantities are hereby withdrawn from sale.

Subd. 2. Examination by commissioner of natural resources. Before any state land is offered for sale the commissioner of natural resources shall cause such land to be examined to determine whether the land is chiefly valuable by reason of deposits of peat in commercial quantities.

History: 1935 c 322; 1949 c 453 s 1,2; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2 (6433-1, 2)

- **92.47** [Repealed, 1963 c 567 s 6]
- **92.48** [Repealed, 1963 c 567 s 6]
- **92.49** [Repealed, 1963 c 567 s 6]

### 92.50 UNSOLD LANDS SUBJECT TO SALE MAY BE LEASED.

Subdivision 1. The commissioner of natural resources, at public or private vendue and at the prices and under the terms and conditions as he may prescribe, may lease any state-owned lands under his jurisdiction and control for the purpose of taking and removing sand, gravel, clay, rock, marl, peat, and black dirt, for storing ore, waste materials from mines, or rock and tailings from ore milling plants, for roads or railroads, or for any other uses not inconsistent with the interests of the state. Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, the term of the lease shall not exceed ten years. Leases of lands for storage sites for ore, waste materials from mines, or rock and tailings from ore milling plants, for the removal of peat, or for the use of peat lands for agricultural purposes may be made for a term not exceeding 25 years. Leases for the removal of peat shall be approved by the executive council.

All leases shall be made subject to sale and leasing of the land for mineral purposes under legal provisions and contain a provision for their cancellation at any time by the commissioner upon three months written notice. A longer notice period, not exceeding three years, may be provided in leases for storing ore, waste materials from mines or rock or tailings from ore milling plants. The commissioner may determine the terms and conditions, including the notice period, for cancellation of a lease for the removal of peat. All money received from leases under this section shall be credited to the fund to which the land belongs.

- Subd. 2. The commissioner may grant leases and licenses for terms not exceeding 25 years, subject to cancelation at any time upon three years' notice, to deposit tailings from any iron ore beneficiation plant in any public lake not exceeding 160 acres in area, upon first holding a public hearing in the manner and under the procedure provided in Laws 1937, Chapter 468, as amended; and upon finding in pursuance of such public hearing
- (a) that such use of each lake is necessary and in the best interests of the public, and
- (b) that the proposed use will not result in pollution or sedimentation of any outlet stream;

Provided, further, that the commissioner may impose further conditions and restrictions with respect to use of said lake to safeguard the public interest, including the requirement that the lessee or licensee acquire suitable permits or easements from the owners of all lands riparian to such lake. Any money received therefrom shall be deposited in the permanent school fund.

History: 1915 c 192 s 1; 1917 c 31; 1919 c 405 s 1; 1945 c 321 s 1; 1947 c 323 s 1; 1953 c 328 s 1; 1959 c 473 s 2; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2; 1981 c 328 s 1 (6328)

NOTE: As to Volstead lands, see Laws 1961, Chapter 472, and Laws 1963, Chapter 390, Section 1.

### 92.51 LANDS SOLD ARE TAXABLE; REDEMPTION; SPECIAL CERTIFICATE.

State lands sold by the director shall thereupon become taxable and a description of each tract so sold, with the name of the purchaser, shall be transmitted to the proper county auditor, who shall extend the same for taxation like other land. The interest in the land to be sold for the enforcement of delinquent taxes shall be such only as is vested by the land sale certificate in the holder and owner thereof. Upon production to the county treasurer of the tax certificate given upon tax sale, in case the lands have not been redeemed, the tax purchaser shall have the right to make any payment of principal and interest then in default upon such land sale certificate as the assignee thereof. In order to redeem from any such tax sale, the person redeeming must pay the county treasurer, for the holder and owner of the tax sale certificate, in addition to all sums required to be paid in other cases, all amounts

### **MINNESOTA STATUTES 1984**

### 92.51 STATE LANDS: SALES, INVESTMENT OF PROCEEDS

paid by such holder and owner for interest and principal upon such land sale certificate, with interest at 12 percent per annum. The director, upon receipt of the tax certificate to which is attached the certificate of the county auditor of the expiration of the time for redemption, and the receipt of the county treasurer for all delinquent interest and penalty on the land sale certificate, shall issue to the holder and owner of the tax certificate a special certificate embodying the same terms and conditions and with like force and effect, as the original land sale certificate, and in lieu thereof.

History: RL s 2439; 1909 c 114 s 1 (6323)

92.52	[Renumbered 94.351]								
92.53	[Repealed,	1969	c	9	s	95]			
92.54	[Repealed,	1969	С	9	s	95]			
92.55	[Repealed,	1969	c	9	s	95]			
92.56	[Repealed,	1969	c	9	s	95]			
92.57	[Repealed,	1969	c	9	s	95]			
92.59	[Repealed,	1969	С	9	s	95]			
92,62	Repealed.	1969	С	9	s	951			

Copyright © 1984 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.

2120