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CHAPTER 352E 

PEACE OFFICERS KILLED IN THE LINE OF DUTY 
352E.01 Definitions. 352E.04 Disbursements. 
352E.02 Peace officers benefit fund. 352E.045 Attorney's fees for claiming benefits. 
352E.03 Workers' compensation court of ap­

peals. 

352E.01 DEFINITIONS. 

Subdivision 1. Terms. For the purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in 
this section have the meanings here given them. 

Subd. 2. Peace officer. "Peace officer" means: 
(a) A police officer employed by the state of Minnesota or any governmental 

subdivision within the state to enforce the criminal laws; 
(b) A Minnesota state patrol officer; 
(c) A sheriff or fulltime deputy sheriff with power of arrest by warrant; 
(d) A state conservation officer as defined in section 84.028, subdivision 3; 
(e) A person employed by the bureau of criminal apprehension as a police 

officer with power of arrest by warrant; 
(f) A correction officer employed at any correctional institution and charged 

with maintaining the safety, security, discipline and custody of inmates at such 
institutions; 

(g) A firefighter employed on a fulltime basis by a fire department of any 
governmental subdivision of the state who is engaged in the hazards of fire fighting 
or a regularly enrolled member of a volunteer fire department who is engaged in the 
hazards of fire fighting; 

(h) A good Samaritan who complies with the request or direction of a peace 
officer to assist the officer; and 

(i) A reserve police officer or a reserve deputy sheriff acting under the 
supervision and authority of a political subdivision. 

Subd. 3. Spouse. "Spouse" includes a person legally married to the decedent 
at the time of death. 

Subd. 4. Dependent child. A "dependent child" is one who is unmarried and 
who was either living with or was receiving support contributions from the peace 
officer at the time of death, including a stepchild, an adopted child, or a posthumous 
child, and who is 

(a) under 18 years of age; 
(b) over 18 years of age and incapable of self-support because of physical or 

mental disability; or 
(c) over 18 years of age and a student as defined by section 8101 of Title 5, 

United States Code. 

History: 1973 c 248 s 1; 1974 c 255 s 1; 1977 c 429 s 63; 1979 c 50 s 44; 1980 
c 509 s 132; 1981 c 37 s 2; 1981 c 224 s 72 

352E.02 PEACE OFFICERS BENEFIT FUND. 

There is hereby created in the state treasury an account to be known as peace 
officers benefit fund. Funds in the peace officers benefit fund shall consist of 
moneys appropriated to that fund. The administrator of the fund is the commis-
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sioner of labor and industry, who shall follow the procedures specified in section 
176.541, subdivisions 2, 3, and 4. 

History: 1973 c 248 s 2; 1977 c 403 s 10; 1984 c 654 art 2 s 125 

352E.03 WORKERS' COMPENSATION COURT OF APPEALS. 
Eligibility to receive benefits as herein provided shall be determined by the 

workers' compensation court of appeals in the manner provided by chapter 176. A 
decision of the workers' compensation court of appeals hereunder may be reviewed 
by the Minnesota supreme court in the same manner and subject to the same 
procedures governing all other appeals from the decisions of the workers' compensa­
tion court of appeals. 

History: 1973 c 248 s 3; 1975 c 271 s 6; 1975 c 359 s 23; 1976 c 134 s 78 

352E.04 DISBURSEMENTS. 
Upon certification to the governor by the administrator of the- fund that a peace 

officer employed by a state or governmental subdivision within this state has been 
killed in the line of duty, leaving a spouse or one or more eligible dependents, the 
commissioner of finance shall, subject to the approval of the workers' compensation 
court of appeals, pay $100,000 as follows: 

(a) If there is no dependent child, to the spouse; 
(b) If there is no spouse, to the dependent child or children in equal shares; 
(c) If there are both a spouse and one or more dependent children, one-half to 

the spouse and one-half to the child or children, in equal shares; 
(d) If there is no surviving spouse or dependent child or children, to the parent 

or parents dependent for support on the decedent, in equal shares; 
(e) If there is no surviving spouse or dependent child, children or parent, then 

there shall be no payment made from the peace officers benefit fund. 
"Killed in the line of duty" does not include deaths from natural causes or 

deaths that occur during employment for a private employer. 

History: 1973 c 248 s 4; 1975 c 128 s 1; 1975 c 271 s 6; 1975 c 359 s 23; 1976 
c 134 s 78; 1980 c 509 s 133; 1981 c 356 s 354; 1984 c 454 s 1; 1984 c 654 art 2 s 
126 

352E.045 ATTORNEY'S FEES FOR CLAIMING BENEFITS. 
No fee for legal services which is claimed for the work of an attorney relating to 

a claim made pursuant to the provisions of sections 352E.01 to 352E.045 is binding 
unless the amount of the fee charged is determined and approved in writing by the 
workers' compensation court of appeals. 

History: 1975 c 271 s 6; 1975 c 359 s 23; 1976 c 134 s 78; 1976 c 277 s 1; 
1980 c 509 s 134 

352E.05 [Repealed, 1977 c 403 s 13] 
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