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177.21 CITATION; FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT. 

Sections 177.21 to 177.35 may be cited as the "Minnesota Fair Labor Standards 
Act." 

History: 1973 c 721 s 1; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

111.22 STATEMENT OF PURPOSE. 

The purpose of the Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act is: (1) to establish 
minimum wage and overtime compensation standards that maintain workers' health, 
efficiency, and general well-being; (2) to safeguard existing minimum wage and 
overtime compensation standards that maintain workers' health, efficiency, and 
general well-being against the unfair competition of wage and hour standards that do 
not; and (3) to sustain purchasing power and increase employment opportunities. 

History: 1973 c 721 s 2; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

177.23 DEFINITIONS. 

Subdivision 1. Unless the language or context clearly indicates that a different 
meaning is intended, the following terms, for the purposes of sections 177.21 to 
177.35, have the meanings given to them in this section. 

Subd. 2. "Department" means the department of labor and industry. 
Subd. 3. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry or 

his authorized designee or representative. 
Subd. 4. "Wage" means compensation due to an employee by reason of 

employment, payable in legal tender of the United States or check on banks 
convertible into cash on demand at full face value, subject to allowances permitted 
by rules of the department under section 177.28. 

Subd. 5. "Employ" means to permit to work. 
Subd. 6. "Employer" means any individual, partnership, association, corpora­

tion, business trust, or any person or group of persons acting directly or indirectly in 
the interest of an employer in relation to an employee. 

Subd. 7. "Employee" means any individual employed by an employer but 
does not include: 

(1) two or fewer specified individuals employed at any given time in agriculture 
on a farming unit or operation who are paid a salary; 

(2) any individual employed in agriculture on a farming unit or operation who 
is paid a salary greater than the individual would be paid if the individual worked 48 
hours at the state minimum wage plus 17 hours at 1-1/2 times the state minimum 
wage per week; 

(3) an individual under 18 who is employed in agriculture on a farm to perform 
services other than corn detasseling or hand field work when one or both of that 
minor hand field worker's parents or physical custodians are also hand field workers; 

(4) for purposes of section 177.24, an individual under 18 who is employed as a 
corn detasseler; 

(5) any staff member employed with an organized resident or day camp licensed 
with the state; 

(6) any individual employed in a bona fide executive, administrative, or 
professional capacity, or a salesman who conducts no more than 20 percent of his 
sales on the premises of the employer; 

(7) any individual who renders service gratuitously for a nonprofit organization; 
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(8) any individual who serves as an elected official for a political subdivision or 
who serves on any governmental board, commission, committee or other similar 
body, or who renders service gratuitously for a political subdivision; 

(9) any individual employed by a political subdivision to provide police or fire 
protection services or employed by an entity whose principal purpose is to provide 
police or fire protection services to a political subdivision; 

(10) any individual employed by a political subdivision who is ineligible for 
membership in the public employees retirement association under section 353.01, 
subdivision 2b, clause (a), (b), (d), or (i); 

(11) any driver employed by an employer engaged in the business of operating 
taxicabs; 

(12) any individual engaged in babysitting as a sole practitioner; 
(13) any individual employed on a seasonal basis in a carnival, circus, or fair; 
(14) any individual under 18 employed part-time by a municipality as part of a 

recreational program; 
(15) any individual employed by the state as a natural resource manager 1, 2, or 

3 (conservation officer); 
(16) any individual in a position for which the U.S. Department of Transporta­

tion has power to establish qualifications and maximum hours of service under 
United States Code, title 49, section 304; 

(17) any individual employed as a seafarer. The term "seafarer" means a 
master of a vessel or any person subject to the authority, direction, and control of 
the master who is exempt from federal overtime standards under United States 
Code, title 29, section 213(b)(6), including but not limited to pilots, sailors, 
engineers, radio operators, firefighters, watchmen, pursers, surgeons, cooks, and 
stewards; or 

(18) any individual employed by a county in a single family residence owned by 
a county home school as authorized under section 260.094 if the residence is an 
extension facility of that county home school, and if the individual as part of his 
employment duties resides at the residence for the purpose of supervising children as 
defined by section 260.015, subdivision 2. 

Subd. 8. "Qccupation" means any occupation, service, trade, business, indus­
try, or branch or group of industries or employment or class of employment in 
which employees are gainfully employed. 

Subd. 9. "Gratuities" means monetary contributions received directly or indi­
rectly by an employee from a guest, patron, or customer for services rendered and 
includes an obligatory charge assessed to customers, guests or patrons which might 
reasonably be construed by the guest, customer, or patron as being a payment for 
personal services rendered by an employee and for which no clear and conspicuous 
notice is given by the employer to the customer, guest, or patron that the charge is 
not the property of the employee. 

Subd. 10. With respect to any caretaker, manager, or other on-site employee 
of a residential building or buildings whose principal place of residence is in the 
residential building, including a caretaker, manager, or other on-site employee who 
receives a principal place of residence as full or partial compensation for duties 
performed for an employer, the term "hours worked" includes time when the 
caretaker, manager, or other on-site employee is performing any duties of employ­
ment, but does not mean time when the caretaker, manager, or other on-site 
employee is on the premises and available to perform duties of employment and is 
not performing duties of employment. 
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Subd. 11. With respect to an individual who is: (1) employed to provide 
companionship services to individuals who, because of age or infirmity, are unable to 
care for their own needs; (2) employed to stay overnight in the home of such an 
aged or infirm individual; and (3) paid the minimum wage or more for at least four 
hours associated with the overnight stay, the term "hours" for the purposes of 
requiring the payment of minimum wages and overtime premiums under sections 
177.24 and 177.25, shall not include nighttime hours, from 10:00 p.m. to 9:00 a.m., 
up to a total of eight hours per night, during which the employee is available to 
perform duties for the aged or infirm individual, but is not in fact performing such 
duties and is free to sleep and otherwise engage in normal private pursuits in the 
aged or infirm individual's home. For the purposes of this subdivision, the term 
"companionship services" is defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, 
sections 552.6 and 552.106 as of March 1, 1984. 

History: 1973 c 721 s 3; 1974 c 406 s 88; 1975 c 399 s 1; 1977 c 369 s 1; 1978 
c 586 s 1; 1978 c 731 s 1; 1979 c 281 s 1; 1980 c 415 s 1; 1982 c 424 s 46-48; 1982 
c 625 s 14; 1983 c 60 s 1; 1983 c 122 s 1; 1984 c 614 s 1; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

177.24 PAYMENT OF MINIMUM WAGES. 
Subdivision 1. Amount. Beginning January 1, 1982, except as otherwise 

provided in sections 177.21 to 177.35, every employer must pay each employee who 
is 18 years of age or older wages at a rate of at least $3.35 an hour and must pay 
each employee under 18 wages at a rate of at least $3.02 an hour. 

Subd. 2. Gratuities not applied. No employer may directly or indirectly 
credit, apply, or utilize gratuities towards payment of minimum wages, except as 
provided under section 177.295. 

Subd. 3. Sharing of gratuities. For purposes of this chapter, any gratuity 
received by an employee or deposited in or about a place of business for personal 
services rendered by an employee is the sole property of the employee. No employer 
may require an employee to contribute or share a gratuity received by the employee 
with the employer or other employees or to contribute any or all of the gratuity to a 
fund or pool operated for the benefit of the employer or his employees. This section 
does not prevent an employee from voluntarily and individually sharing his gratuities 
with other employees. The agreement to share gratuities must be made by the 
employees free of any employer participation. 

Subd. 4. Unreimbursed expenses deducted. Unreimbursed amounts which an 
employee is required to pay for the items listed below are subtracted from wages 
paid in calculating whether the wages meet the minimums set by subdivision 1: 

(a) uniforms or specially designed clothing required by the employer or by 
statute as a condition of employment, which is not generally appropriate for use 
except in that employment; 

(b) equipment used in employment, except tools of a trade, a motor vehicle, or 
any other equipment which may be used outside the employment; 

(c) travel expenses in the course of employment except those incurred in 
traveling to and from the employee's residence and place of employment. 

Subd. 5. Expense reimbursement. An employer, at the termination of an 
employee's employment, must reimburse the full cost to the employee of any of the 
items listed in subdivision 4 which he had to buy during employment. When 
reimbursement is made, the employer may require the employee to surrender any 
existing items for which the employer provided reimbursement. 

History: 1973 c 721 s 4; 1976 c 165 s 1; 1977 c 183 s 1; 1977 c 369 s 2; 1979 c 
281 s 2; 1981 c 87 s 1,2; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 
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177.25 OVERTIME. 
Subdivision 1. Compensation required. No employer may employ an employ­

ee for a workweek longer than 48 hours, unless the employee receives compensation 
for employment in excess of 48 hours in a workweek at a rate of at least 1-1/2 times 
the regular rate at which he is employed. The state of Minnesota or a political 
subdivision may grant time off at the rate of 1-1/2 hours for each hour worked in 
excess of 48 hours in a week in lieu of monetary compensation. An employer does 
not violate the overtime pay provisions of this section by employing any employees 
for a workweek in excess of 48 hours without paying the compensation for overtime 
employment prescribed (1) if the employee is employed under an agreement meeting 
the requirement of section 7(b)(2) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as 
amended, or (2) if the employee is employed as a sugarbeet hand laborer on a piece 
rate basis, provided that the regular rate of pay received per hour of work exceeds 
the applicable wage provided in section 177.24, subdivision 1 by at least 40 cents. 

Subd. 2. Health care exception. An employer who operates a health care 
facility does not violate subdivision 1 if the employer and employee agree before 
performance of the work to accept a work period of 14 consecutive days in lieu of 
the workweek of seven consecutive days for the purpose of overtime compensation 
and if for the employment in excess of eight hours in any work day and in excess of 
80 hours in the 14-day period the employee receives compensation at a rate not less 
than 1-1/2 times the regular rate at which he is employed. 

Subd. 3. Motor vehicle salespersons; mechanics. Subdivision 1 does not 
apply to any salesman, parts man, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or 
servicing automobiles, trailers, trucks, or farm implements and paid on a commission 
or incentive basis, if employed by a nonmanufacturing establishment primarily 
engaged in selling the vehicles to ultimate purchasers. 

Subd. 4. Constructors of on-farm silos. Subdivision 1 does not apply if the 
employee is employed in the construction of on-farm silos or the installation of 
appurtenant equipment on a unit or piece rate basis, if the regular rate of pay 
received per hour of work exceeds the applicable wage provided in section 177.24, 
subdivision 1. 

History: 1973 c 721 s 5; 1981 c 289 s 1,3; lSpl981 c 4 art 4 s 30; 1983 c 60 s 
2,3; 1983 c 95 s 1; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

177.251 RIDESHARING NOT OVERTIME. 
The provisions of this chapter relating to compensation for overtime and 

payment of a minimum wage do not apply to employees' time spent in ridesharing 
arrangements as defined in section 169.01, subdivision 63. 

History: 1983 c 311 s 10; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

177.26 DIVISION OF LABOR STANDARDS. 
Subdivision 1. Creation. The division of labor standards in the department of 

labor and industry is supervised and controlled by the commissioner of labor and 
industry. 

Subd. 2. Powers and duties. The powers, duties, and functions given to the 
department's division of women and children by this chapter, and other applicable 
laws relating to wages, hours, and working conditions, are transferred to the division 
of labor standards. The division of labor standards shall administer sections 177.21 
to 177.35 and chapter 184. 

Subd. 3. Employees; transfer from division of women and children. All 
persons employed by the department in the division of women and children are 
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transferred to the division of labor standards. A transferred person does not lose 
rights acquired by reason of his employment at the time of transfer. 

History: 1973 c 721 s 6; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

177.27 POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE COMMISSIONER. 

Subdivision 1. Examination of records. The commissioner may enter during 
reasonable office hours or upon request and inspect the place of business or 
employment of any employer of employees working in the state, to examine and 
inspect books, registers, payrolls, and other records of any employer that in any way 
relate to wages, hours, and other conditions of employment of any employees. The 
commissioner may transcribe any or all of the books, registers, payrolls, and other 
records as he deems necessary or appropriate and may question the employees to 
ascertain compliance with sections 177.21 to 177.35. 

Subd. 2. Submission of records; penalty. The commissioner may require the 
employer of employees working in the state to submit to the commissioner photo­
copies, certified copies, or, if necessary, the originals of employment records which 
the commissioner deems necessary or appropriate. The records which may be 
required include full and correct statements in writing, including sworn statements 
by the employer, containing information relating to wages, hours, names, addresses, 
and any other information pertaining to the employer's employees and the conditions 
of their employment as the commissioner deems necessary or appropriate. 

The commissioner may require the records to be submitted by certified mail 
delivery or, if necessary, by personal delivery by the employer or a representative of 
the employer, as authorized by the employer in writing. 

The commissioner may fine the employer up to $100 for each failure to submit 
or deliver records as required by this section. This penalty is in addition to any 
penalties provided under section 177.32, subdivision 1. 

Subd. 3. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring 
an employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.35 or with any rule promulgated 
under section 177.28. The department shall serve the order upon the employer or 
his authorized representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of 
business. An employer who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of 
his objection to the order with the commissioner within ten days after being served 
with the order. A public hearing must then be held in accordance with sections 
14.57 to 14.70. 

Subd. 4. Mediation. The commissioner may investigate, mediate, and settle 
wage claims by an employee against an employer if the failure to pay any wage may 
violate Minnesota laws, rules, or department orders. 

Subd. 5. Civil actions. When an employee files a written request with the 
commissioner, the commissioner may commence a civil action in any court of 
competent jurisdiction for the benefit of the employee for appropriate relief with 
respect to a wage claim which the commissioner finds valid provided: (1) the failure 
to pay the wage would constitute a violation of Minnesota laws, rules, or department 
orders, and (2) the wage claim does not exceed $300. The employer shall pay all 
costs and disbursements allowed by the court and shall pay an assessment of ten 
percent of the amount of any awarded wage claim to the treasurer of the state of 
Minnesota. In any action under this subdivision, no security for payment of costs 
may be required. This section does not prevent an employee from prosecuting his 
own claim for wages. 
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Subd. 6. Attorney general to commence action. Upon the written request of 
the commissioner, the attorney general shall commence a civil action for appropriate 
relief against the employer as provided in subdivision 5. 

History: 1973 c 721 s 7; 1982 c 424 s 49,130; 1983 c 209 s 1; 1984 c 628 art 4 
s 1 

177.28 POWER TO MAKE RULES. 
Subdivision 1. General authority. The commissioner may adopt rules, in­

cluding definitions of terms, to carry out the purposes of sections 177.21 to 177.35, 
to prevent the circumvention or evasion of those sections, and to safeguard the 
minimum wage and overtime rates established by sections 177.24 and 177.25. 

Subd. 2. Advisory committee. The commissioner shall appoint an advisory 
committee which he shall consult about administrative rules. The committee must 
be composed of an equal number of not more than three representatives each of 
employers and employees and of not more than three disinterested persons represent­
ing the public. 

Subd. 3. Rules required. The commissioner shall adopt rules under sections 
177.21 to 177.35 defining and governing: 

(1) salesmen who conduct no more than 20 percent of their sales on the 
premises of the employer; 

(2) allowances as part of the wage rates for board, lodging, and other facilities 
or services furnished by the employer and used by the employees; 

(3) bonuses; 
(4) part-time rates; 
(5) special pay for special or extra work; 
(6) procedures in contested cases; 
(7) other facilities or services furnished by employers and used by employees; 

and 
(8) other special items usual in a particular employer-employee relationship. 
Subd. 4. An employee who receives $35 or more per month in gratuities is a 

tipped employee. An employer is entitled to a credit in an amount up to 20 percent 
of the minimum wage which a tipped employee receives; except that effective 
January 1, 1985, the credit is reduced to 15 percent; effective January 1, 1986, the 
credit is reduced to 10 percent; effective January 1, 1987, the credit is reduced to 5 
percent; and effective January 1, 1988, the credit is eliminated. The credit against 
the wages due may not be taken unless at the time the credit is taken the employer 
has received a signed statement for that pay period from the tipped employee stating 
that he did receive and retain during that pay period all gratuities received by him in 
an amount equal to or greater than the credit applied against the wages due by his 
employer. The statements shall be maintained by the employer as a part of his 
business records. 

Subd. 5. Rules regarding handicapped. In order to prevent curtailment of 
opportunities for employment, avoid undue hardship, and safeguard the minimum 
wage rates under sections 177.24 and 177.25, the department shall also issue rules 
providing for the employment of handicapped workers at wages lower than the wage 
rates applicable under sections 177.24 and 177.25, under permits and for periods of 
time as specified therein. The rules must provide for the employment of learners 
and apprentices at wages lower than the wage rates applicable under sections 177.24 
and 177.25, under permits and subject to limitations on number, proportion, length 
of learning period, occupations, and other conditions as the department may 
prescribe. The rules must provide that where a handicapped person is performing 
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or is being considered for employment where he will perform work which is equal to 
work performed by a nonhandicapped person, the handicapped person must be paid 
the same wage as a nonhandicapped person with similar experience and skill. 

Subd. 6. Administrative Procedure Act to apply. The rules are subject to the 
provisions of chapter 14. 

History: 1973 c 721 S^1976 c 165 s 2; 1977 c 369 s 3; 1982 c 424 s 50; 1984 
c 628 art 4 s 1; 1984 c(636 s 1 

177.29 JUDICIAL REVIEW. 
Subdivision 1. Appeal. A person aggrieved by an administrative rule issued 

under section 177.28 may appeal in accordance with chapter 14. 
Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1983 c 247 s 219] 
Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1983 c 247 s 219] 
History: 1973 c 721 s 9; 1982 c 424 s 51; 1983 c 247 s 75; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

177.295 CREDIT FOR TIPPED EMPLOYEES. 

An employee who receives $35 or more per month in gratuities is a tipped 
employee. An employer is entitled to a credit of up to 20 percent of the minimum 
wage which a tipped employee receives. The credit against the wages due may not 
be taken until the employer has received a signed statement for that pay period from 
the tipped employee stating that he did receive and retain during that pay period all 
gratuities received by him in an amount equal to or greater than the credit applied 
against the wages due by his employer. The employer shall maintain the statements 
as part of his business records. 

History: 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

177.30 KEEPING RECORDS; PENALTY. 
Every employer subject to sections 177.21 to 177.35 must make and keep a 

record of: 
(1) the name, address, and occupation of each employee; 
(2) the rate of pay, and the amount paid each pay period to each employee; 
(3) the hours worked each day and each workweek by the employee; and 
(4) other information the commissioner finds necessary and appropriate to 

enforce sections 177.21 to 177.35. The records must be kept for three years in or 
near the premises where an employee works. 

The commissioner may fine an employer up to $100 for each failure to maintain 
records as required by this section. This penalty is in addition to any penalties 
provided under section 177.32, subdivision 1. 

History: 1973 c 721 s 10; 1982 c 424 s 52; 1983 c 209 s 2; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

177.31 POSTING OF LAW AND RULES; PENALTY. 
Every employer subject to sections 177.21 to 177.35 must obtain and keep a 

summary of those sections, approved by the department, and copies of any applica­
ble rules adopted under those sections, or a summary of the rules. The employer 
must post the summaries in a conspicuous and accessible place in or about the 
premises in which any person covered by sections 177.21 to 177.35 is employed. 
The department shall furnish copies of the summaries and rules to employers 
without charge. 
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The commissioner may fine an employer up to $100 for each failure to comply 
with this section. This penalty is in addition to any penalties provided by section 
177.32, subdivision 1. 

History: 1973 c 721 s 11; 1982 c 424 s 53; 1983 c 209 s 3; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

177.32 PENALTIES. 
Subdivision 1. Misdemeanors. An employer who does any of the following is 

guilty of a misdemeanor: 
(1) hinders or delays the commissioner in the performance of duties required 

under sections 177.21 to 177.35; 
(2) refuses to admit the commissioner to the place of business or employment of 

the employer, as required by section 177.27, subdivision 1; 
(3) consistently and repeatedly fails to make, keep, and preserve records as 

required by section 177.30; 
(4) falsifies any record; 
(5) refuses to make any record available, or to furnish a sworn statement of the 

record or any other information as required by section 177.27; 
(6) consistently and repeatedly fails to post a summary of sections 177.21 to 

177.35 or a copy or summary of the applicable rules as required by section 177.31; 
(7) pays or agrees to pay wages at a rate less than the rate required under 

sections 177.21 to 177.35; or 
(8) otherwise violates any provision of sections 177.21 to 177.35. 
Subd. 2. Fine. An employer shall be fined not less than $700 nor more than 

$3,000 if convicted of discharging or otherwise discriminating against any employee 
because: 

(1) the employee has complained to his employer or to the department that he 
has not been paid wages in accordance with sections 177.21 to 177.35; 

(2) the employee has instituted or will institute a proceeding under or related to 
sections 177.21 to 177.35; or 

(3) the employee has testified or will testify in any proceeding. 

History: 1973 c 721 s 12; 1982 c 424 s 54; 1983 c 209 s 4; 1984 c 628 art 3 s 
11; art 4 s 1 

177.33 EMPLOYEES' REMEDIES. 
An employer who pays an employee less than the wages and overtime compen­

sation to which the employee is entitled under sections 177.21 to 177.35 is liable to 
the employee for the full amount of the wages and overtime compensation, less any 
amount actually paid to the employee by the employer, for an additional equal 
amount as liquidated damages and for costs and reasonable attorney's fees allowed 
by the court. An agreement between the employee and the employer to work for 
less than the applicable wage rate is not a defense to the action. The action may be 
maintained in any court of competent jurisdiction by one or more employees for 
himself or themselves. 

History: 1973 c 721 s 13; 1982 c 424 s 55; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

177.34 RELATION TO OTHER LAWS. 
Sections 177.21 to 177.35 do not affect standards relating to minimum wages, 

maximum hours, overtime compensation, or other working conditions in effect under 
any other law of this state on January 1, 1974, which are more favorable to 
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employees than the wages, hours, compensation, and other conditions in those 
sections. 

History: 1973 c 721 s 14; 1982 c 424 s 56; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

177.35 RIGHT OF COLLECTIVE BARGAINING. 
Nothing in sections 177.21 to 177.35 limits the right of employees to bargain 

collectively with their employers through representatives of their own choosing to 
establish wages or other conditions of work more favorable to the employees than 
those required by sections 177.21 to 177.35. 

History: 1973 c 721 s 15; 1982 c 424 s 57; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

177.41 STATE PROJECTS AND STATE HIGHWAY CONSTRUCTION; 
PUBLIC POLICY. 

It is in the public interest that public buildings and other public works be 
constructed and maintained by the best means and highest quality of labor reason­
ably available and that persons working on public works be compensated according 
to the real value of the services they perform. It is therefore the policy of this state 
that wages of laborers, workers, and mechanics on projects financed in whole or part 
by state funds should be comparable to wages paid for similar work in the 
community as a whole. 

History: 1973 c 724 s 1; 1975 c 191 s 1; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

Y11A2 DEFINITIONS. 
Subdivision 1. As used in sections 177.41 to 177.44 the terms defined in this 

section have the meanings given them except where the context indicates otherwise. 
Subd. 2. "Project" means erection, construction, remodeling, or repairing of a 

public building or other public work financed in whole or part by state funds. 
Subd. 3. "Area" means the county or other locality from which labor for any 

project is normally secured. 
Subd. 4. "Prevailing hours of labor" means the hours of labor per day and per 

week worked within the area by a larger number of workers of the same class than 
are employed within the area for any other number of hours per day and per week. 
The prevailing hours of labor may not be more than eight hours per day or more 
than 40 hours per week. 

Subd. 5. "Hourly basic rate" means the hourly wage paid to any employee. 
Subd. 6. "Prevailing wage rate" means the hourly basic rate of pay plus the 

contribution for health and welfare benefits, vacation benefits, pension benefits, and 
any other economic benefit paid to the largest number of workers engaged in the 
same class of labor within the area and includes, for the purposes of section 177.44, 
rental rates for truck hire paid to those who own and operate the truck. The 
prevailing wage rate may not be less than a reasonable and living wage. 

History: 1973 c 724 s 2; 1975 c 191 s 2; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

177.43 CONTRACTS FOR STATE PROJECTS; PENALTY. 
Subdivision 1. Hours of labor. Any contract which provides for a project 

must state that: 
(1) no laborer or mechanic employed directly on the project work site by the 

contractor or any subcontractor, agent, or other person doing or contracting to do 
all or a part of the work of the project, is permitted or required to work more hours 

                           
MINNESOTA STATUTES 1984

Copyright © 1984 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                                



177.43 MINIMUM WAGES 4250 

than the prevailing hours of labor unless paid for all hours in excess of the prevailing 
hours at a rate of at least 1-1/2 times the hourly basic rate of pay; and 

(2) a laborer or mechanic may not be paid a lesser rate of wages than the 
prevailing wage rate in the same or most similar trade or occupation in the area. 

Subd. 2. Exceptions. This section does not apply to wage rates and hours of 
employment of laborers or mechanics who process or manufacture materials or 
products or to the delivery of materials or products by or for commercial establish­
ments which have a fixed place of business from which they regularly supply 
processed or manufactured materials or products. This section applies to laborers or 
mechanics who deliver mineral aggregate such as sand, gravel, or stone which is 
incorporated into the work under the contract by depositing the material substantial­
ly in place, directly or through spreaders, from the transporting vehicle. 

Subd. 3. Contract requirements. The contract must specifically state the 
prevailing wage rates, prevailing hours of labor, and hourly basic rates of pay. 

Subd. 4. Determination by commissioner. The prevailing wage rates, prevail­
ing hours of labor, and hourly basic rates of pay for all trades and occupations 
required in any project must be ascertained before the state asks for bids. The 
commissioner of labor and industry shall investigate as necessary to ascertain the 
information. The commissioner shall keep the information posted on the project in 
at least one conspicuous place for the information of the employees working on the 
project. A person aggrieved by a final determination of the commissioner may 
petition the commissioner for reconsideration of findings. A person aggrieved by a 
decision of the commissioner after reconsideration may, within 20 days after the 
decision, petition the commissioner for a public hearing in the manner of a contested 
case under sections 14.57 to 14.61. 

Subd. 5. Penalty. It is a misdemeanor for an officer or employee of the state 
to execute a contract for a project without complying with this section, or for a 
contractor, subcontractor, or agent to pay any laborer, worker, or mechanic 
employed directly on the project site a lesser wage for work done under the contract 
than the prevailing wage rate as stated in the contract. This misdemeanor is 
punishable by a fine of not more than $300, or imprisonment for not more than 90 
days, or both. Each agent or subcontractor shall furnish to the contractor evidence 
of compliance with this section. Each day a violation of this section continues is a 
separate offense. 

Subd. 6. Examination of records. The department of labor and industry shall 
enforce this section. The department may demand, and the contractor and subcon­
tractor shall furnish to the department, copies of any or all payrolls. The 
department may examine all records relating to wages paid laborers or mechanics on 
work to which sections 177.41 to 177.44 apply. 

Subd. 7. Applicability. This section does not apply to a contract, or work 
under a contract, under which: 

(1) the estimated total cost of completing the project is less than $2,500 and 
only one trade or occupation is required to complete it, or 

(2) the estimated total cost of completing the project is less than $25,000 and 
more than one trade or occupation is required to complete it. 

History: 1973 c 724 s 3; 1975 c 191 s 3,4; 1976 c 331 s 37; 1982 c 424 s 130; 
1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 

Y11M HIGHWAY CONTRACTS; HOURS OF LABOR; WAGE RATES; 
PENALTY. 

Subdivision 1. Hours, wages permitted. A laborer or mechanic employed by 
a contractor, subcontractor, agent, or other person doing or contracting to do all or 
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part of the work under a contract based on bids as provided in Minnesota Statutes 
1971, section 161.32, to which the state is a party, for the construction or 
maintenance of a highway, may not be permitted or required to work longer than 
the prevailing hours of labor unless the laborer or mechanic is paid for all hours in 
excess of the prevailing hours at a rate of at least 1-1/2 times his hourly basic rate of 
pay. He must be paid at least the prevailing wage rate in the same or most similar 
trade or occupation in the area. 

Subd. 2. Applicability. This section does not apply to wage rates and hours 
of employment of laborers or mechanics engaged in the processing or manufacture of 
materials or products, or to the delivery of materials or products by or for 
commercial establishments which have a fixed place of business from which they 
regularly supply the processed or manufactured materials or products. This section 
applies to laborers or mechanics who deliver mineral aggregate such as sand, gravel, 
or stone which is incorporated into the work under the contract by depositing the 
material substantially in place, directly or through spreaders, from the transporting 
vehicle. 

Subd. 3. Investigations by department of labor and industry. The department 
of labor and industry shall conduct investigations and hold public hearings necessary 
to define classes of laborers and mechanics and to determine the hours of labor and 
wage rates prevailing in all areas of the state for all classes of labor and mechanics 
commonly employed in highway construction work, so as to determine prevailing 
hours of labor, prevailing wage rates, and hourly basic rates of pay. 

The department shall determine the nature of the equipment furnished by truck 
drivers who own and operate trucks on contract work to determine minimum rates 
for the equipment, and shall establish by rule minimum rates to be computed into 
the prevailing wage rate. 

Subd. 4. Certification of hours and rate. The commissioner of labor and 
industry shall at least once a year certify the prevailing hours of labor, the prevailing 
wage rate, and the hourly basic rate of pay for all classes of laborers and mechanics 
referred to in subdivision 3 in each area. The certification must also include future 
hours and rates when they can be determined for classes of laborers and mechanics 
in an area. The certification must specifically state the effective dates of future 
hours and rates when they are certified. If a construction project extends into more 
than one area there shall be only one standard of hours of labor and wage rates for 
the entire project. A person aggrieved by a final determination of the commissioner 
may petition the commissioner for reconsideration of findings. A person aggrieved 
by a decision of the commissioner after reconsideration may within 20 days after the 
decision petition the commissioner for a public hearing as in a contested case under 
sections 14.57 to 14.61. If the commissioner finds that a change in the certified 
prevailing hours of labor, prevailing wage rate, and the hourly basic rate of pay for a 
class of laborers or mechanics in any area is required, the commissioner may at any 
time certify that change. 

Subd. S. Hours and rates to be posted. The prevailing hours of labor, the 
prevailing wage rates, the hourly basic rates of pay, and classifications for all labor 
as certified by the commissioner must be specifically stated in the proposals and 
contracts for each highway construction contract to which the state is a party. 
These hours, rates, and classifications, together with the provisions of subdivision 6, 
must be kept posted on the project by the employer in at least one conspicuous place 
for the information of employees working on the project. 

Subd. 6. Penalties. A contractor, subcontractor, or agent who violates this 
section is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be fined not more than $300 or 
imprisoned not more than 90 days or both. Each day that the violation continues is 
a separate offense. 
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Whoever induces a job applicant or employee on any project subject to this 
section to give up or forego any part of the wages to which he is entitled under the 
contract governing the project by threat not to employ, by threat of dismissal from 
employment, or by any other means may be fined not exceeding $1,000 or 
imprisoned not more than one year or both. 

Any employee under this section who knowingly permits the contractor or 
subcontractor to pay him less than the prevailing wage rate set forth in the contract, 
or who gives up any part of the compensation to which he is entitled under the 
contract, may be fined not exceeding $40 or imprisoned not more than 30 days or 
both. Each day any violation of this paragraph continues is a separate offense. 

Subd. 7. Department of transportation to enforce. The department of trans­
portation shall require adherence to this section. The commissioner of transporta­
tion may demand and every contractor and subcontractor shall furnish copies of 
payrolls. The commissioner of transportation may examine all records relating to 
hours of work and the wages paid laborers and mechanics on work to which this 
section applies. Upon request of the department of transportation or upon com­
plaint of alleged violation, the county attorney of the county in which the work is 
located shall investigate and prosecute violations in a court of competent jurisdiction. 

History: 1973 c 724 s 4; 1975 c 191 s 5,6; 1976 c 166 s 7; 1976 c 331 s 38; 
1982 c 424 s 130; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1 
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