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- GENERAL PRINCIPLES

609.01 NAME AND CONSTRUCTION.

Subdivision 1. Purposes. This chapter may be cited as the Criminal Code
of 1963. Its provisions shall be construed according to the fair import of its terms,
to promote justice, and to effect its purposes which are declared to be:

(1) To protect the public safety and welfare by preventing the commission of
crime through the deterring effect of the sentences authorized, the rehabilitation of
those convicted, and their confinement when the public safety and interest
requires; and

(2) To protect the individual against the misuse of the criminal law by fairly
defining the acts and omissions prohibited, authorizing sentences reasonably
related to the conduct and character of the convicted person, and prescribing fair
and reasonable post-conviction procedures.

Subd. 2. Numbering. This chapter is arranged and numbered, subject,
however, to the provisions of Minnesota Statutes 1961, Section 648.34, so that the
enacted chapter may be compiled in the next edition of Minnesota Statutes
without any changes in numbering.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.01
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609.015 SCOPE AND EFFECT.

Subdivision 1. Common law crimes are abolished and no act or omission is
a crime unless made so by this chapter or by other applicable statute, but this does
not prevent the use of common law rules in the construction or interpretation of
the provisions of this chapter or other statute. Crimes committed prior to the
effective date of this chapter are not affected thereby.

Subd. 2. Unless expressly stated otherwise, or the context otherwise requires.
the provisions of this chapter also apply to crimes created by statute other than in
this chapter.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.015

609.02 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Crime. “Crime” means conduct which is prohibited by
statute and for which the actor may be sentenced to imprisonment, with or without
a fine. :

Subd. 2. Felony. “Felony” means a crime for which a sentence of imprison-
ment for more than one year may be imposed.

Subd. 3. Misdemeanor. “Misdemeanor™ means a crime for which a sen-
tence of not more than 90 days or a fine of not more than $500, or both, may be
imposed. :

Subd. 4. Gross misdemeanor. “Gross misdemeanor” means any crime
which is not a felony or misdemeanor.

Subd. 4a. Petty misdemeanor. “Petty misdemeanor” means a petty offense
which is prohibited by statute. which does not constitute a crime and for which a
sentence of a fine of not more than $100 may be imposed.

Subd. 5. Conviction. **Conviction”™ means any of the following accepted
and recorded by the court:

(1) A plea of guilty: or

(2) A verdict of guilty by a jury or a finding of guilty by the court.

Subd. 6. Dangerous weapon. “Dangerous weapon™ means any firearm.
whether loaded or unloaded. or any device designed as a weapon and capable of
producing death or great bodily harm, or any other device or instrumentality
which, in the manner it is used or intended to be used. is calculated or likely to
produce death or great bodily harm.

Subd. 7. Bedily harm. “Bodily harm™ means physical pain or injury. illness.
or any impairment of physical condition.

Subd. 7a. Substantial bodily harm. “Substantial bodily harm™ means bodily
injury which involves a temporary but substantial disfigurement, or which causes a
temporary but substantial loss or impairment of the function of any bodily
member or organ. or which causes a fracture of any bodily member.

Subd. 8. Great bodily harm. “Great bodily harm™ means bodily injury
which creates a high probability of death, or which causes serious permanent
disfigurement. or which causes a permanent or protracted loss or impairment of
the function of any bodily member or organ or other serious bodily harm.

Subd. 9. Mental state. (1) When criminal intent is an element of a crime in
this chapter, such intent is indicated by the term “intentionally,” the phrase “with
intent to.” the phrase “with intent that,” or some form of the verbs “know” or
“believe.”

(2) “Know™ requires only that the actor believes that the specified fact exists.

(3) “Intentionally” means that the actor either has a purpose to do the thing
or cause the result specified or believes that his act, if successful, will cause that
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result. In addition, except as provided in clause (6), the actor must have
knowledge of those facts which are necessary to make his conduct criminal and
which are set forth after the word “intentionally.” _

(4) “With intent to” or “with intent that” means that the actor either has a
purpose to do the thing or cause the result specified or believes that his act, if
successful, will cause that result.

(5) Criminal intent does not require proof of knowledge of the existence or
constitutionality of the statute under which he is prosecuted or the scope or
meaning of the terms used in that statute.

(6) Criminal intent does not require proof of knowledge of the age of a minor
even though age is a material element in the crime in question.

Subd. 10. Assault. “Assault” is:

(1) An act done with intent to cause fear in another of immediate bodily harm
or death; or

(2) The intentional infliction of or attempt to inflict bodily harm upon
another. :

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.02; 1969 ¢ 735s 3; Ex1971 ¢ 27 s 42,43; 1977
¢ 355s2: 1979 ¢ 258 s 2,3

609.025 JURISDICTION OF STATE.

A person may be convicted and sentenced under the law of this state if:

(1) He commits an offense in whole or in part within this state; or

(2) Being without the state, he causes, aids or abets another to commit a crime
within the state; or

(3) Being without the state, he intentionally causes a result within the state
prohibited by the criminal laws of this state.

It is not a defense that the defendant’s conduct is also a criminal offense
under the laws of another state or of the United States or of another country.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.025; Ex1971 ¢ 27 s 44

609.03 PUNISHMENT WHEN NOT OTHERWISE FIXED.

If a person is convicted of a crime for which no punishment is otherwise
provided he may be sentenced as follows:

(1) If the crime is a felony, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to
payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both; or

(2) If the crime is a gross misdemeanor, to imprisonment for not more than
one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both; or

(3) If the crime is a misdemeanor, to imprisonment for not more than 90 days
or to payment of a fine of not more than $500, or both; or

(4) If the crime is other than a misdemeanor and a fine is imposed but the
amount is not specified, to payment of a fine of not more than $750, or to
imprisonment for a specified term of not more than six months if the fine is not
paid.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.03; 1969 ¢ 735 s 4; 1977 ¢ 355 s 3

609.031 INCREASED MAXIMUM PENALTY FOR MISDEMEANORS.

Any law of this state which provides for a maximum fine of $300 or
imprisonment for 90 days as a penalty for a violation shall, after August 1, 1977,
be deemed to provide for a maximum fine of $500 or imprisonment for 90 days, or
both.

History: 1969 ¢ 735 s 6; 1977 ¢ 3555 4
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609.032 INCREASED MAXIMUM PENALTY FOR ORDINANCE VIOLA-
TIONS.

Any law of this state or city charter which limits the power of any city, town,
county. or other political subdivision to prescribe a maximum fine of $300 or
imprisonment for 90 days for an ordinance violation shall, after August 1. 1977. be
deemed to provide that such city, town, county, or other political subdivision has
the power to prescribe a maximum fine of $500 or imprisonment for 90 days, or
both.

History: 1969 ¢ 735 s 7: 1973 ¢ 123 art 55 7; 1977 ¢ 355s 5

609.035 CRIME PUNISHABLE UNDER DIFFERENT PROVISIONS.

Except as provided in section 609.585. if a person’s conduct constitutes more
than one offense under the laws of this state he may be punished for only one of
such offenses and a conviction or acquittal of any one of them is a bar to
prosecution for any other of them. All such offenses may be included in one
prosecution which shall be stated in separate counts.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.035

609.04 CONVICTION OF LESSER OFFENSE.

Subdivision 1. Upon prosecution for a crime, the actor may be convicted of
either the crime charged or an included offense, but not both. An included
offense may be any of the following:

(1) A lesser degree of the same crime; or

(2) An attempt to commit the crime charged: or

(3) An attempt to commit a lesser degree of the same crime: or

(4) A crime necessarily proved if the crime charged were proved; or

(5) A petty misdemeanor necessarily proved if the misdemeanor charge were
proved.

Subd. 2. A conviction or acquittal of a crime is a bar to further prosecution
of any included offense, or other degree of the same crime.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.04; Ex1971 ¢ 27 s 45

609.045 FOREIGN CONVICTION OR ACQUITTAL.

If an act or omission constitutes a crime under both the laws of this state and
the laws of another jurisdiction. a conviction or acquittal of such crime in the
other jurisdiction bars prosecution for the crime in this state.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art | s 609.045

609.05 LIABILITY FOR CRIMES OF ANOTHER.

Subdivision 1. A person is criminally liable for a crime committed by
another if he intentionally aids. advises, hires, counsels, or conspires with or
otherwise procures the other to commit the crime. _

Subd. 2. A person liable under subdivision 1 is also liable for any other
crime committed in pursuance of the intended crime if reasonably foreseeable by
him as a probable consequence of committing or attempting to commit the crime
intended.

Subd. 3. A person who intentionally aids, advises. hires, counsels. or con-
spires with or otherwise procures another to commit a crime and thereafter
abandons his purpose and makes a reasonable effort to prevent the commission of
the crime prior to its commission is not liable if the crime is thereafter committed.
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Subd. 4. A person liable under this section may be charged with and
convicted of the crime although the person who directly committed it has not been
convicted or has been convicted of some other degree of the crime or of some
other crime based on the same act.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.05

609.055 LIABILITY OF CHILDREN.

Children under the age of 14 years are incapable of committing crime.
Children of the age of 14 years or over but under 18 years may be prosecuted for a
criminal offense if the alleged violation is duly referred to the appropriate
prosecuting authority in accordance with the provisions of chapter 260.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 5 609.055

609.06 AUTHORIZED USE OF FORCE.

Reasonable force may be used upon or toward the person of another without
his consent when the following circumstances exist or the actor reasonably believes
them to exist:

(1) When used by a public officer or one assisting him under his direction:

(a) In effecting a lawful arrest: or

(b) In the execution of legal process: or

(c) In enforcing an order of the court: or

(d) In executing any other duty imposed upon him by law: or

(2) When used by a person not a public officer in arresting another in the
cases and in the manner provided by law and delivering him to an officer
competent to receive him into custody: or :

(3) When used by any person in resisting or aiding another to resist an offense
against the person: or

(4) When used by any person in lawful possession of real or personal
property. or by another assisting him. in resisting a trespass upon or other
untawful interference with such property: or

(5) When used by any person to prevent the escape. or to retake following the
escape. of a person lawfully held on a charge or conviction of a crime: or

(6) When used by a parent, guardian, teacher or other lawful custodian of a
child or pupil, in the exercise of lawful authority. to restrain or correct such child
or pupil: or

(7) When used by a common carrier in expelling a passenger who refuses to
obey a lawful requirement for the conduct of passengers and reasonable care is
exercised with regard to his personal safety: or

(8) When used to restrain a mentally ill or mentally defective person from
injuring himself or another or when used by one with authority to do so to compel
compliance with reasonable requirements for his control, conduct or treatment; or

(9) When used by a public or private institution providing custody or
treatment against one lawfully committed to it to compel compliance with
reasonable requirements for his control. conduct or treatment.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.06

609.065 JUSTIFIABLE TAKING OF LIFE.

The intentional taking of the life of another is not authorized by section
609.06. except when necessary in resisting or preventing an offense which the actor
reasonably believes exposes him or another to great bodily harm or death. or
preventing the commission of a felony in his place of abode.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.065: 1978 ¢ 736 s 1
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609.066 AUTHORIZED USE OF DEADLY FORCE BY PEACE OFFICERS.

Subdivision 1. Deadly force defined. For the purposes of this section,
“deadly force” means force which the actor uses with the purpose of causing, or
which the actor should reasonably know creates a substantial risk of causing,
death or great bodily harm. The intentional discharge of a firearm: in the
direction of another person, or at a vehicle in which another person is believed to
be, constitutes deadly force.

Subd. 2. Use of deadly force. Notwithstanding the provisions of section
609.06 or 609.065, the use of deadly force by a peace officer in the line of duty is
justified only when necessary:

(1) To protect himself or another from apparent death or great bodily harm;

(2) To effect the arrest or capture, or prevent the escape, of a person whom
the peace officer knows or has reasonable grounds to believe has committed or
attempted to commit a felony involving the use or threatened use of deadly force;
or

(3) To effect the arrest or capture, or prevent the escape, of a person whom
the officer knows or has reasonable grounds to believe has committed or attempt-
ed to commit a felony if the officer reasonably believes that the person will cause
death or great bodily harm if his apprehension is delayed.

Subd. 3. This section and sections 609.06, 609.065 and 629.33 may not be
used as a defense in a civil action brought by an innocent third party.

History: 1978 ¢ 736 s 2

609.075 INTOXICATION AS DEFENSE.

An act committed while in a state of voluntary intoxication is not less
criminal by reason thereof, but when a particular intent or other state of mind is a
necessary element to constitute a particular crime, the fact of intoxication may be
taken into consideration in determining such intent or state of mind.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.075

609.08 DURESS.

Except as provided in section 609.20, clause (3), when any crime is committed
or participated in by two or more persons, any one of whom participates only
under compulsion by another engaged therein, who by threats creates a reasonable
apprehension in the mind of such participator that in case of refusal he is liable to
instant death, such threats and apprehension constitute duress which will excuse
such participator from criminal liability.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.08

609.085 SENDING WRITTEN COMMUNICATION.

Subdivision 1. When the sending of a letter or other written communication
is made an offense, the offense is complete upon deposit of the letter or
communication in any official depository of mail or given to another for the
purpose of delivery to the receiver.

Subd. 2. The offense is committed in both the county in which the letter is
so deposited or given and the county in which it is received by the person for
whom it is intended.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.085
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609.09 COMPELLING TESTIMONY; IMMUNITY FROM PROSECUTION.

Subdivision 1. In any criminal proceeding, including a grand jury proceed-
ing, paternity proceeding, or proceeding in juvenile court, if it appears a person
may be entitled to refuse to answer a question or produce evidence of any other
kind on the ground that he may be incriminated thereby, and if the prosecuting
attorney. in writing. requests the chief judge of the district or a judge of the court
in which the proceeding is pending to order that person to answer the question or
produce the evidence, the judge, after notice to the witness and hearing. shall so
order if he finds that to do so would not be contrary to the public interest and
would not be likely to expose the witness to prosecution in another state or in the
federal courts.

After complying, and if, but for this section, he would have been privileged to
withhold the answer given or the evidence produced by him, no testimony or other
information compelled under the order, or any information directly or indirectly
derived from such testimony or other information may be used against the witness
in any criminal case, but he may be prosecuted or subjected to penalty or
forfeiture for any perjury, false swearing or contempt committed in answering, or
in failing to answer, or in producing, or failing to produce, evidence in accordance
with the order.

Subd. 2. In every case not provided for in subdivision 1 and in which it is
provided by law that a witness shall not be excused from giving testimony tending
to criminate himself. no person shall be excused from testifying or producing any
papers or documnents on the ground that his testimony may tend to criminate him
or subject him to a penalty or forfeiture; but no testimony or other information
directly or indirectly derived from such testimony or other information may be
used against the witness in any criminal case, except for perjury committed in such
testimony.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.09; 1969 c-661 s 1: 1981 ¢ 293 s |

SENTENCES

609.095 LIMITS OF SENTENCES,
No other or different sentence or punishment shall be imposed for the
commission of a crime than is authorized by this chapter or other applicable law.

s History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.095

609.10 SENTENCES AVAILABLE.

Upon conviction of a felony and compliance with the other provisions of this
chapter the court, if it imposes sentence, may sentence the defendant to the extent
authorized by law as follows:

(1) To life imprisonment: or

(2) To imprisonment for a fixed term of years set by the court; or

(3) To both imprisonment for a fixed term of years and payment of a fine: or

(4) To payment of a fine without imprisonment or to imprisonment for a fixed
term of years if the fine is not paid.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 5 609.10; 1978 ¢ 723 art 1 s 13

609.101 SURCHARGE ON FINES, ASSESSMENTS.

When a court sentences a person convicted of a felony. gross misdemeanor, or
misdemeanor, other than a traffic or parking violation, and if the sentence does
not include payment of a fine, the court shall impose an assessment of not less
than $20 nor more than $40. If the sentence includes payment of a fine, the court

Copyright © 1982 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



MINNESOTA STATUTES 1982

609.101 CRIMINAL CODE OF 1963 9056

shall impose a surcharge on the fine of ten percent of the fine. This section
applies whether or not the person is sentenced to imprisonment and when the
sentence is suspended. The court may, upon a showing of indigency or undue
hardship upon the convicted person or his immediate family, waive payment or
authorize payment of the assessment or surcharge in installments.

The court shall collect and forward the amount of the assessment or surcharge
to the state treasurer to be deposited in the general fund for the purposes of
providing services, assistance, or reparations or a combination, to victims of crimes
through programs established under sections 241.51 to 241.66, under chapter 256D,
and chapter 299B. If the convicted person is sentenced to imprisonment, the chief
executive officer of the correctional facility in which the convicted person is
incarcerated may collect the assessment or surcharge from any earnings the inmate
accrues for work performed in the correctional facility and forward the amount to
the state treasurer. The state treasurer shall identify and report to the commis-
sioner of finance all amounts deposited in the general fund under this section.

History: 1981 ¢ 360 art 2 s 50

609.105 SENTENCE OF IMPRISONMENT.

Subdivision 1. A sentence to imprisonment for more than one year shall
commit the defendant to the custody of the commissioner of corrections.

Subd. 2. The commissioner of corrections shall determine the place of
confinement in a prison, reformatory, or other facility of the department of
corrections established by law for the confinement of convicted persons and
prescribe reasonable conditions, rules, and regulations for their employment,
conduct. instruction. and discipline within or without the facility.

Subd. 3. A sentence to imprisonment for a period of one year or any lesser
period shall be to a workhouse, work farm, county jail, or other place authorized
by law. -

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.105

609.1 MINIMUM TERMS OF IMPRISONMENT.

Subdivision 1. Commitments without minimums. All commitments to the
commissioner of corrections for imprisonment of the defendant are without
minimum terms except when the sentence is to life imprisonment as required by
law and except as otherwise provided in this chapter.

Subd. 2. [Repealed. 1978 ¢ 723 art 2 s 5]
Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1981 ¢ 227 s 13]

Subd. 4. Dangerous weapon. Any defendant convicted of an offense listed
in subdivision 9 in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of the
offense, used, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise
employing, a dangerous weapon other than a firearm, or had in possession a
firearm, shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for a mandatory
minimum term of imprisonment of not less than one year plus one day, nor more
than the maximum sentence provided by law. Any defendant convicted of a
second or subsequent offense in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time
of the offense. used a dangerous weapon other than a firearm, or had in possession
a firearm, shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for a mandatory
minimum term of imprisonment of not less than three years nor more than the
maximum sentence provided by law.

Subd. 5. Firearm. Any defendant convicted of an offense listed in subdivi-
sion 9 in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of the offense, used,
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whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a
firearm, shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for a mandatory
minimum term of imprisonment of not less than three years, nor more than the
maximum sentence provided by law. Any defendant convicted of a second or
subsequent offense in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of the
offense, used a firearm shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for a
mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of not less than five years, nor more
than the maximum sentence provided by law.

Subd. 6. No early release. Any defendant convicted and sentenced as
required by this section shall not be eligible for probation, parole, discharge, or
supervised release until that person shall have served the full mandatory minimum
term of imprisonment as provided by law, notwithstanding the provisions of
sections 242.19, 243.05, 244.04, 609.12 and 609.135.

Subd. 7. Prosecutor shall establish. Whenever reasonable grounds exist to
believe that the defendant or an accomplice used a firearm or other dangerous
weapon or had in possession a firearm, at the time of commission of an offense
listed in subdivision 9, the prosecutor shall, at the time of trial or at the plea of
guilty, present all evidence tending to establish that fact unless it is otherwise
admitted on the record. The question of whether the defendant or an accomplice,
at the time of commission of an offense listed in subdivision 9, used a firearm or
other dangerous weapon or had in possession a firearm shall be determined by the
court at the time of a verdict or finding of guilt at trial or the entry of a plea of
guilty based upon the record of the trial or the plea of guilty. The court shall
determine at the time of sentencing whether the defendant has been convicted of a
second or subsequent offense in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time
of commission of an offense listed in subdivision 9, used a firearm or other
dangerous weapon or had in possession a firearm.

Subd. 8. Motion by prosecutor. Prior to the time of sentencing, the prosecu-
tor may file a motion to have the defendant sentenced without regard to the
mandatory minimum terms of imprisonment established by this section. The
motion shall be accompanied by a statement on the record of the reasons for it.
When presented with the motion and if it finds substantial mitigating factors exist,
the court shall sentence the defendant without regard to the mandatory minimum
terms of imprisonment established by this section.

Subd. 9. Applicable offenses. The crimes for which mandatory minimum
sentences shall be served before eligibility for probation, parole, or supervised
release as provided in this section are: murder in the first, second, or third degree;
assault in the first, second, or third degree; burglary; kidnapping; false imprison-
ment; manslaughter in the first or second degree; aggravated robbery; simple
robbery; criminal sexual conduct in the first, second, or third degree; escape from
custody; arson in the first, second, or third degree: or any attempt to commit any
of these offenses.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.11; 1969 ¢ 743 s 1; 1971 c845s 15; 1974 ¢
32s1; 1975¢ 3785 8; 1977 ¢ 130s2; 1978 c 723 art 25 2; 1979c 258 s 1; 1981
c 227 s 1-7

609.115 PRESENTENCE INVESTIGATION.

Subdivision 1. When a defendant has been convicted of a misdemeanor,
gross misdemeanor, or felony the court may, before sentence is imposed, cause a
presentence investigation and written report to be made to the court concerning
the defendant’s individual characteristics. circumstances, needs. potentialities,
criminal record and social history, the circumstances of the offense and the harm
caused thereby to others and to the community. If the court so directs, the report
shall include an estimate of the prospects of the defendant’s rehabilitation and
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recommendations as to the sentence which should be imposed. In misdemeanor
cases the report may be oral.

When a defendant has been convicted of a felony. and before sentencing, the
court shall cause a sentencing worksheet to be completed to facilitate the applica-
tion of the Minnesota sentencing guidelines. If a presentence investigation is
ordered by the court, the worksheet shall be submitted as part of the presentence
investigation report. If a presentence investigation is not ordered by the court, the
worksheet shall nonetheless be submitted.

The investigation shall be made by a probation officer of the court, if there is
one, otherwise by the commissioner of corrections.

Pending the presentence investigation and report, the court with the consent
of the commissioner may commit the defendant to the custody of the commission-
er of corrections who shall return the defendant to the court when the court so
orders.

Presentence investigations shall be conducted and summary hearings held
upon reports and upon the sentence to be imposed upon the defendant in
accordance with this section, Minnesota Statutes, Section 244.10, upon its effective
date, and Rule 27 of the rules of criminal procedure.

Subd. la. Contents of worksheet. The supreme court shall promulgate rules
uniformly applicable to all district courts for the form and contents of sentencing
worksheets. These rules shall be promulgated by and effective on January 2, 1982.

Subd. 2. If the defendant has been convicted of a crime for which a
mandatory sentence of life imprisonment is provided by law, the probation officer
of the court, if there is one, otherwise the commissioner of corrections, shall
forthwith make a post-sentence mvestlganon and make a written report as
provided by subdivision 1.

Subd. 3. All law enforcement agencies shall make available to the probation
officer or the commissioner of corrections the criminal record and other relevant
information relating to the defendant which they may have. when requested for
the purposes of subdivisions 1 and 2.

Subd. 4. Any report made pursuant to subdivision | shall be, if written,
provided to counsel for all parties before sentence. The written report shall not
disclose confidential sources of information unless the court otherwise directs. On
the request of the prosecuting attorney or the defendant’s attorney a summary
hearing in chambers shall be held on any matter brought in issue, but confidential
sources of information shall not be disclosed unless the court otherwise directs. If
the presentence report is given orally the defendant or his attorney shall be
permitted to hear the report.

Subd. 5. If the defendant is sentenced to the commissioner of corrections, a
copy of any report made pursuant to this section and not made by the commis-
sioner shall accompany the commitment.

Subd. 6. Except as provided in subdivisions 4 and 5 or as otherwise directed
by the court any report made pursuant to this section shall not be disclosed.

Subd. 7. If imposition of sentence is stayed by reason of an appeal taken or
to be taken, the presentence investigation provided for in this section shall not be
made until such stay has expired or has otherwise been terminated.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.115; 1978 ¢ 723 art 2 s 3; 1979 ¢ 233 5 23,24;
1981 ¢ 3125 1,2

609.116 Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 1979 ¢ 258 s 25)
Subd. 2. {Repealed, 1969 ¢ 997 s 3; 1979 ¢ 258 s 25]
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609.12 PAROLE OR DISCHARGE.

Subdivision 1. A person sentenced to the commissioner of corrections for
imprisonment for a period less than life may be paroled or discharged at any time
without regard to length of the term of imprisonment which the sentence imposes
when in the judgment of the corrections board. and under the conditions it
imposes. the granting of parole or discharge would be most conducive to his
rehabilitation and would be in the public interest.

Subd. 2. If a sentence of more than five years has been imposed on a
defendant for a crime authorizing a sentence of not more than ten years, the
corrections board shall grant him parole no later than the expiration of five years
of imprisonment, less time granted for good behavior. unless the board with or
without hearing that his parole would not be conducive to his rehabilitation or
would not be in the public interest.

Subd. 3. All sentences to the commissioner of corrections for the imprison-
ment of the defendant are subject to the laws relating to parole and the powers of
the corrections board and the commissioner of corrections, except as modified in
subdivisions 1 and 2. and to all other laws relating to persons in said institutions
and their imprisonment.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.12: 1973 ¢ 654 s 15; 1975 ¢ 271 s 6

609.125 SENTENCE FOR MISDEMEANOR OR GROSS MISDEMEANOR,

Upon conviction of a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor the court, if
sentence is imposed. may. to the extent authorized by law, sentence the defendant:

(1) To imprisonment for a definite term: or

(2) To payment of a fine, or to imprisonment for a specified term if the fine is
not paid: or

(3) To both imprisonment for a definite term and payment of a fine.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.125; 1971 ¢ 25 s 91

609.13 CONVICTIONS OF FELONY OR GROSS MISDEMEANOR; WHEN
DEEMED MISDEMEANOR OR GROSS MISDEMEANOR.

Subdivision 1. Notwithstanding a conviction is for a felony:

(1) The conviction is deemed to be for a misdemeanor or a gross misdemean-
or if the sentence imposed is within the limits provided by law for a misdemeanor
or gross misdemeanor as defined in section 609.02: or

(2) The conviction is deemed to be for a misdemeanor if the imposition of the
sentence is stayed, the defendant is placed on probation. and he is thereafter
discharged without sentence.

Subd. 2. Notwithstanding that a conviction is for a gross misdemeanor, the
conviction is deemed to be for a misdemeanor if:

(1) The sentence imposed is within the limits provided by law for a misde-
meanor as defined in section 609.02;: or ]

(2) If the imposition of the sentence is stayed. the defendant is placed on
probation, and he is thereafter discharged without sentence.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.13: 1971 ¢ 937 s 21

609.135 STAY OF IMPOSITION OR EXECUTION OF SENTENCE.
Subdivision 1. Except when a sentence of life imprisonment is required by
law, or when a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment is required by section
609.11, any court may stay imposition or execution of sentence and place the
defendant on probation with or without supervision and on the terms the court
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prescribes, including restitution when practicable. The court may order the
supervision to be under the probation officer of the court, or, if there is none and
the conviction is for a felony, by the commissioner of corrections, or in any case
by some other suitable and consenting person.

A court may not stay the revocation of the driver’s license of a person
convicted of violating the provisions of section 169.121.

Subd. 2. (1) In case the conviction is for a felony such stay shall be for not
more than the maximum period for which the sentence of imprisonment might
have been imposed.

(2) In case the conviction is for a misdemeanor the stay shall not be for more
than one year.

(3) In case the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor the stay shall not be for
more than two years.

(4) At the expiration of such stay, unless the stay has been revoked or the
defendant discharged prior thereto, the defendant shall be discharged.

Subd. 3. The court shall report to the commissioner of public safety any
stay of imposition or execution granted in the case of a conviction for an offense
in which a motor vehicle, as defined in section 169.01, subdivision 3, is used.

Subd. 4. The court may, as a condition of probation, require the defendant
to serve up to one year incarceration in a county jail, a county regional jail, a
county workfarm, county workhouse or other local correctional facility. The
court may allow the defendant the work release privileges of section 631.425
during the period of incarceration.

Subd. 5. If a person is convicted of assaulting his spouse or other person
with whom he resides, and the court stays imposition or execution of sentence and
places the defendant on probation, the court may condition the stay upon the
defendant’s participation in counseling or other appropriate programs selected by
the court.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.135; 1971 ¢ 244 s 2; 1976 ¢ 341 s 3; 1977 ¢
349s 1; 1977 c355s6; 1978 c 723 art2s4; 1978 c 724 s 1; 1981 ¢ 9s 2; 1981 ¢
227 s 8

609.14 REVOCATION OF STAY.

Subdivision 1. When it appears that the defendant has violated any of the
conditions of his probation or has otherwise been guilty of misconduct which
warrants the imposing or execution of sentence, the court may without notice
revoke the stay thereof and probation and direct that the defendant be taken into
immediate custody.

Subd. 2. The defendant shall thereupon be notified in writing and in such
manner as the court directs of the grounds alleged to exist for revocation of the
stay of imposition or execution of sentence. [f such grounds are brought in issue
by the defendant, a summary hearing shall be held thereon at which he is entitled
to be heard and to be represented by counsel.

Subd. 3. If any of such grounds are found to exist the court may:

(1) If imposition of sentence was previously stayed, again stay sentence or
impose sentence and stay the execution thereof, and in either event place the
defendant on probation pursuant to section 609.135, or impose sentence and order
execution thereof; or

(2) If sentence was previously imposed and execution thereof stayed, continue
such stay and place the defendant on probation in accordance with the provisions
of section 609.135, or order execution of the sentence previously imposed.
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Subd. 4. If none of such grounds are found to exist, the defendant shall be
restored to his liberty under the previous order of the court.

History: 1963 c 753 art 1 s 609.14

609.145 CREDIT FOR PRIOR IMPRISONMENT.

Subdivision 1. When a person has been imprisoned pursuant to a conviction
which is set aside and is thereafter convicted of a crime growing out of the same
act or omission, the period of imprisonment to which he is sentenced is reduced by
the period of the prior imprisonment and the time earned thereby in diminution of
sentence.

Subd. 2. A sentence of imprisonment upon conviction of a felony is reduced
by the period of confinement of the defendant following his conviction and before
his commitment to the commissioner of corrections for execution of sentence
unless the court otherwise directs.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 .art 1 s 609.145: 1978 ¢ 723 art | s 14

609.15 MULTIPLE SENTENCES.

Subdivision 1. When separate sentences of imprisonment are imposed on a
defendant for two or more crimes, whether charged in a single indictment or
information or separately. or when a person who is under sentence of imprison-
ment in this state is being sentenced to imprisonment for another crime committed
prior to or while subject to such former sentence. the court in the later sentences
shall specify whether the sentences shall run concurrently or consecutively. If the
court does not so specify, the sentences shall run concurrently.

Subd. 2. If the court specifies that the sentence shall run consecutively. the
total of the terms of imprisonment imposed. other than a term of imprisonment for
life, shall not exceed 40 years. If all of the sentences are for misdemeanors the
total of the terms of imprisonment shall not exceed one year: if for gross
misdemeanors the total of such terms shall not exceed three years.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.15

609.155 [Repealed, 1978 ¢ 723 art | s 19]
609.16 [Repealed, 1978 ¢ 723 art 1 s 19]

609.165 RESTORATION OF CIVIL RIGHTS.

Subdivision 1. When a person has been deprived of his civil rights by reason
of conviction of a crime and is thereafter discharged. such discharge shall restore
him to all his civil rights and to full citizenship, with full right to vote and hold
office, the same as if such conviction had not taken place. and the order of
discharge shall so provide.

Subd. 2. The discharge may be:

(1) By order of the court following stay of sentence or stay of execution of
sentence: or

(2) Upon expiration of sentence.

Subd. 3. This section does not apply to a forfeiture of and disqualification
for public office as provided in section 609.42. subdivision 2.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.165: 1973 ¢ 654 s 15: 1975 ¢ 271 s 6;: 1978 ¢
23 art 1 s 15
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609.166 CONVICTIONS, SETTING ASIDE IN CERTAIN INSTANCES.

Any person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a felony, gross misdemean-
or or misdemeanor may move the convicting court for the entry of an order setting
aside the conviction where:

(a) the offense was committed before he was 21 years of age;

(b) five years have lapsed since the person has served the sentence imposed
upon him or has been discharged from probation, and during the five year period
the person has not been convicted of a felony or gross misdemeanor; and

(c) the offense is not one for which a sentence of life imprisonment may be
imposed.

History: 1971 ¢ 779 s 1; 1974 ¢ 331 s |

609.167 PROCEDURE IN ENTERING ORDER.

Subdivision 1. A copy of the motion and supporting affidavits shall be
served upon the office of the prosecuting attorney who prosecuted the offense 30
days prior to hearing on the motion.

Subd. 2. At hearing on the motion the court may require the filing of such
further affidavits and the taking of such evidence as it deems necessary and
proper.

Subd. 3. Where the court determines that the circumstances and behavior of
the person from the date of his conviction warrant setting aside the conviction, it
may enter such an order.

History: 1971 ¢ 779 s 2

609.168 EFFECT OF ORDER.

Where an order is entered by the court setting aside the conviction the person
shall be deemed not to have been previously convicted.

History: 1971 ¢ 779 s 3

ANTICIPATORY CRIMES
609.17 ATTEMPTS.

Subdivision 1. Whoever, with intent to commit a crime, does an act which is
a substantial step toward, and more than preparation for, the commission of the
crime is guilty of an attempt to commit that crime, and may be punished as
provided in subdivision 4. .

Subd. 2. An act may be an attempt notwithstanding the circumstances
under which it was performed or the means employed to commit the crime
intended or the act itself were such that the commission of the crime was not
possible, unless such impossibility would have been clearly evident to a person of
normal understanding. '

Subd. 3. It is a defense to a charge of attempt that the crime was not
committed because the accused desisted voluntarily and in good faith and
abandoned his intention to commit the crime.

Subd. 4. Whoever attempts to commit a crime may be sentenced as follows:

(1) If the maximum sentence provided for the crime is life imprisonment, to
not more than 20 years; or

(2) For-any other attempt, to not more than one-half of the maximum
imprisonment or fine or both provided for the crime attempted, but such maxi-
mum in any case shall not be less than imprisonment for 90 days or a fine of $100.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.17
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609.175 CONSPIRACY.

Subdivision 1. To cause arrest or prosecution. Whoever conspires with
another to cause a third person to be arrested or prosecuted on a criminal charge
knowing the charge to be false is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Subd. 2. To commit crime. Whoever conspires with another to commit a
crime and in furtherance of the conspiracy one or more of the parties does some
overt act in furtherance of such conspiracy may be sentenced as follows:

(1) If the crime intended is a misdemeanor, by a sentence to imprisonment for
not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than $300. or both; or

(2) If the crime intended is murder in the first degree or treason, to
imprisonment for not more than 20 years; or

(3) If the crime intended is any other felony or a gross misdemeanor, to
imprisonment or to payment of a fine of not more than one-half the imprisonment
or fine provided for that felony or gross misdemeanor or both.

Subd. 3. Application of section jurisdiction. This section applies if:

(1) The defendant in this state conspires with another outside of this state; or

(2) The defendant outside of this state conspires with another in this state; or

(3) The defendant outside of this state conspires with another outside of this
state and an overt act in furtherance of the conspiracy is committed within this
state by either of them; or

(4) The defendant in this state conspires with another in this state.
History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.175; 1971 ¢ 23 s 37,38; 1975 ¢ 279 s |

HOMICIDE AND SUICIDE

609.18 DEFINITION.

For the purposes of sections 609.185 and 609.19, *“premeditation” means to
consider, plan or prepare for, or determine to commit, the act referred to prior to
its commission.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.18

609.185 MURDER IN THE FIRST DEGREE.

Whoever does any of the following is gutlty of murder in the first degree and
shall be sentenced to imprisonment for life:

(1) Causes the death of a human being with premeditation and with intent to
effect the death of the person or of another;

(2) Causes the death of a human being while committing or attempting to
commit criminal sexual conduct in the first or second degree. with force or
violence, either upon or affecting the person or another;

(3) Causes the death of a human being with intent to effect the death of the
person or another, while committing or attempting to commit burglary, aggravated
robbery, kidnapping, arson in the first or second degree, tampering with a witness
in the first degree, or escape from custody; or

(4) Causes the death of a peace officer or a guard employed at a Minnesota
state correctional facility, with intent to effect the death of that person or another,
while the peace officer or guard is engaged in the performance of his official
duties.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.185;: 1975 ¢ 374 s 1; 1981 ¢ 227 s 9

609.19 MURDER IN THE SECOND DEGREE.

Whoever does either of the following is guilty of murder in the second degree
and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 40 years:
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(1) Causes the death of a human being with intent to effect the death of that
person or another, but without premeditation, or

(2) Causes the death of a human being, without intent to effect the death of
any person, while committing or attempting to commit a felony offense other than
criminal sexual conduct in the first or second degree with force or violence.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.19; 1981 ¢ 227 s 10

609.195 MURDER IN THE THIRD DEGREE.

Whoever, without intent to effect the death of any person, causes the death of
another by perpetrating an act eminently dangerous to others and evincing a
depraved mind, without regard for human life, is guilty of murder in the third
degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 25 years.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.195; 1977 ¢ 130 s 3; 1981 ¢ 227 s 11

609.20 MANSLAUGHTER IN THE FIRST DEGREE.

Whoever does any of the following is guilty of manslaughter in the first degree
and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment
of a fine of not more than $15.000, or both:

(1) Intentionally causes the death of another person in the heat of passion
provoked by such words or acts of another as would provoke a person of ordinary
self-control under like circumstances; or .

(2) Causes the death of another in committing or attempting to commit a
misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor offense with such force and violence that
death of or great bodily harm to any person was reasonably foreseeable, and
murder in the first or second degree was not committed thereby; or

(3) Intentionally causes the death of another person because the actor is
coerced by threats made by someone other than his co-conspirator and which
cause him reasonably to believe that his act is the only means of preventing
imminent death to himself or another.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.20; 1981 ¢ 227 s 12

609.205 MANSLAUGHTER IN THE SECOND DEGREE.

Whoever causes the death of another by any of the following means is guilty
of manslaughter in the second degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for
not more than seven years or to payment of a fine of not more than $7,000, or
both:

(1) By his culpable negligence whereby he creates an unreasonable risk, and
consciously takes chances of causing death or great bodily harm to another; or

(2) By shooting another with a firearm or other dangerous weapon as a result
of negligently believing him to be a deer or other animal; or

(3) By setting a spring gun, pit fall, deadfall, snare, or other like dangerous
weapon or device; or

(4) By negligently or intentionally permitting any animal, known by him to
have vicious propensities, to go at large, or negligently failing to keep it properly
confined, and the victim was not at fault.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.205

609.21 CRIMINAL NEGLIGENCE RESULTING IN DEATH.

Whoever operates a vehicle as defined in section 169.01, subdivision 2, or an
aircraft or watercraft, in a grossly negligent manner and thereby causes the death
of a human being not constituting murder or manslaughter is guilty of criminal
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negligence in the operation of a vehicle resulting in death and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more
than $5,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.21

609.215 SUICIDE.

Subdivision 1. Aiding suicide. Whoever intentionally advises, encourages,
or assists another in taking his own life may be sentenced to imprisonment for not
more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $15,000, or both.

Subd. 2. Aiding attempted suicide. Whoever intentionally advises, encour-
ages, or assists another who attempts but fails to take his own life may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than seven years or to payment of a fine
of not more than $7,000, or both.

History: 1963 c 753 art 1 s 609.215

CRIMES AGAINST THE PERSON
609.22 [Repealed, 1979 ¢ 258 s 25]

609.221 ASSAULT IN THE FIRST DEGREE.

Whoever assaults another and inflicts great bodily harm may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more
than $10,000, or both.

History: 1979 ¢ 258 s 4

609.222 ASSAULT IN THE SECOND DEGREE.

Whoever assaults another with a dangerous weapon but without inflicting
great bodily harm may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years
or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both.

History: 1979 c 258 s 5

609.223 ASSAULT IN THE THIRD DEGREE.

Whoever assaults another and inflicts substantial bodily harm may be sen-
tenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $3,000, or both.

History: 1979 c 258 s 6

609.224 ASSAULT IN THE FOURTH DEGREE.

Whoever does any of the following commits an assault and is guilty of a
misdemeanor:

(1) Does an act with intent to cause fear in another of immediate bodily harm
or death: or

(2) Intentionally inflicts or attempts to inflict bodily harm upon another.

History: 1979 ¢ 258 s 7
609.225 [Repealed, 1979 ¢ 258 s 25]

609.23 MISTREATMENT OF PERSONS CONFINED.

Whoever, being in charge of or employed in any institution, whether public or
private, intentionally abuses or ill-treats any person confined therein who is
mentally or physically disabled or who is involuntarily confined therein by order
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of court or other duly constituted authority may be sentenced to imprisonment for
not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.23

609.231 MISTREATMENT OF RESIDENTS OR PATIENTS.

Whoever, being in charge of or employed in any facility required to be
licensed under the provisions of sections 144.50 to 144.58, or 144A.02, intentionally
abuses, ill-treats, or culpably neglects any patient or resident therein to his physical
detriment may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to
payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.

History: 1973 ¢ 688 s 9; 1976 ¢ 173 s 60

609.235 USE OF DRUGS TO INJURE OR FACILITATE CRIME.

Whoever administers to another or causes another to take any poisonous,
- stupefying, overpowering, narcotic or anesthetic substance with intent thereby to
injure or to facilitate the commission of a crime may be sentenced to imprison-
ment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000,
or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art | s 609.235

609.24 SIMPLE ROBBERY.

Whoever, knowing he is not entitled thereto, takes personal property from the
person or in the presence of another and uses or threatens the imminent use of
force against any person to overcome his resistance or powers of resistance to, or
to compel acquiescence in, the taking or carrying away of the property is guilty of
robbery and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to
payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art | s 609.24

609.245 AGGRAVATED ROBBERY.

Whoever, while committing a robbery, is armed with a dangerous weapon or
inflicts bodily harm upon another is guilty of aggravated robbery and may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $20.000. or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.245

609.25 KIDNAPPING.

Subdivision 1. Acts constituting. Whoever, for any of the following pur-
poses, confines or removes from one place to another, any person without his
consent or, if he is under the age of 16 years, without the consent of his parents or
other legal custodian, is guilty of kidnapping and may be sentenced as provided in
subdivision 2:

(1) To hold for ransom or reward for release, or as shield or hostage; or

(2) To facilitate commission of any felony or flight thereafter: or

(3) To commit great bodily harm or to terrorize the victim or another; or

(4) To hold in involuntary servitude.

Subd. 2. Sentence. Whoever violates subdivision 1 may be sentenced as
follows:

(1) If the victim is released in a safe place without great bodily harm, to
imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than
$20,000. or both; or

Copyright © 1982 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



MINNESOTA STATUTES 1982

9067 CRIMINAL CODE OF 1963 609.27

(2) If the victim is not released in a safe place or if the victim suffers great
bodily harm during the course of the kidnapping to imprisonment for not more
than 40 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $40,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.25; 1979 ¢ 258 s 8

609.255 FALSE IMPRISONMENT.

Whoever, knowing he has no lawful authority to do so, intentionally confines
or restrains a child not his own under the age of 18 years without his parent’s or
legal custodian’s consent, or any other person without his consent, is guilty of false
imprisonment and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three
years or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.255

609.26 OBTAINING OR RETAINING A CHILD.

Subdivision 1. Whoever intentionally takes, detains or fails to return his
own child under the age of 18 years in violation of an existing court order which
grants another person rights of custody may be sentenced as provided in subdivi-
sion 5.

Subd. 2. Whoever detains or fails to return a child under the age of 18 years
knowing that the physical custody of the child has been obtained or retained by
another in violation of subdivision 1 may be sentenced as provided in subdivision
5.

Subd. 3. A person who violates this section may be prosecuted and tried
either in the county in which the child was taken, concealed or detained or in the
county of lawful residence of the child.

Subd. 4. A child who has been obtained or retained in violation of this
section shall be returned to the person having lawful custody of the child. In
addition to any sentence imposed, the court may assess any expense incurred in
returning the child against any person convicted of violating this section.

Subd. 5. Whoever violates this section may be sentenced as follows:

(1) To imprisonmeat for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not
more than $500, or both, if he voluntarily returns the child within 14 days after he
takes, detains or fails to return the child in violation of this section; or

(2) Otherwise to imprisonment for not more than one year and one day or to
payment of a fine of $1,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.26; 1967 ¢ 570 s 1, 1979 ¢ 263 s 1

609.265 ABDUCTION.

Whoever, for the purpose of marriage, takes a person under the age of 18
years, without the consent of the parents, guardian or other person having legal
custody of such person is guilty of abduction and may be sentenced to imprison-
ment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000,
or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.265

CRIMES OF COMPULSION

609.27 COERCION.

Subdivision 1. Acts constituting. Whoever orally or in writing makes any of
the following threats and thereby causes another against his will to do any act or
forebear doing a lawful act is guilty of coercion and may be sentenced as provided
in subdivision 2:
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(1) A threat to unlawfully inflict bodily harm upon, or hold in confinement,
the person threatened or another, when robbery or attempt to rob is not commit-
ted thereby; or

(2) A threat to unlawfully inflict damage to the property of the person
threatened or another; or

(3) A threat to unlawfully injure a trade, business, profession or calling: or

(4) A threat to expose a secret or deformity, publish a defamatory statement
or otherwise to expose any person to disgrace or ridicule; or

(5) A threat to make or cause to be made a criminal charge, whether true or
false; provided, that a warning of the consequences of a future violation of law
given in good faith by a magistrate, peace officer, or prosecuting attorney to any
person shall not be deemed a threat for the purposes of this section.

Subd. 2. Sentence. Whoever violates subdivision 1 may be sentenced as
follows:

(1) To imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not
more than $300, or both if neither the pecuniary gain received by the violator nor
the loss suffered by the person threatened or another as a result of the threat
exceeds $300. or the benefits received or harm sustained are not susceptible of
pecuniary measurement; or

(2) To imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of.
not more than $5.000, or both, if such pecuniary gain or loss is more than $300 but
less than $2,500; or

(3) To imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $10,000. or both, if such pecuniary gain or loss is $2.500, or more.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.27: 1971 ¢ 23 s 40; 1977 ¢ 355 s 7

609.275 ATTEMPT TO COERCE.

Whoever makes a threat within the meaning of section 609.27. subdivision 1.
clauses (1) to (5), but fails to cause the intended act or forebearance, commits an
attempt to coerce and may be punished as provided in section 609.17.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.275

609.28 INTERFERING WITH RELIGIOUS OBSERVANCE.

Whoever, by threats or violence, intentionally prevents another person from
performing any lawful act enjoined upon or recommended to him by the religion
which he professes is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1963 c 753 art 1 s 609.28; 1971 ¢ 23 s 41

SEX CRIMES

609.29 [Repealed, 1975 ¢ 374 s 13]
609.291 ([Repealed, 1975 ¢ 374 s 13]
609.292 [Repealed, 1975 ¢ 374 s 13]

609.293 SODOMY.

Subdivision 1. Definition. “Sodomy™ means carnally knowing any person
by the anus or by or with the mouth.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1977 ¢ 130 s 10]
Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1977 ¢ 130 s 10]
Subd. 4. [Repealed. 1977 ¢ 130 s 10]
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Subd. 5. Consensual acts. Whoever, in cases not coming within the provi-
sions of sections 609.342 or 609.344, voluntarily engages in or submits to an act of
sodomy with another may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one
year or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.

History: 1967 ¢ 507 s 4; 1977 ¢ 130 s 4

609.294 BESTIALITY.

Whoever carnally knows a dead body or an animal or bird is guilty of
bestiality, which is a misdemeanor. If knowingly done in the presence of another
he may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment
of a fine of not more than $1,000 or both.

History: 1967 ¢ 507 s 5; 1971 ¢ 23 s 42

609.295 [Repealed, 1975 ¢ 374 s 13]
609.296 [Repealed, 1975 ¢ 374 s 13]

609.31 LEAVING THE STATE TO EVADE ESTABLISHMENT OF PATER-
NITY.

Whoever with intent to evade proceedings to establish his paternity leaves the
" state knowing that a woman with whom he has had sexual intercourse is pregnant
or has given birth within the previous 60 days to a living child may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more
than $2.000, or both.

History: 1967 ¢ 507 s 8
609.32 [Repealed, 1979 ¢ 255 s 9]

609.321 PROSTITUTION; DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. For the purposes of sections 609.321 to 609.324, the following
terms have the meanings given.

Subd. 2. “Business of prostitution” means any arrangement between or
organization of two or more persons, acting other than as prostitutes or patrons,
who commit acts punishable under sections 609.321 to 609.324.

Subd. 3. “Force” includes, but is not limited to, assault, as defined in this
chapter, and coercion, as defined in section 609.27.

Subd. 4. *“Patron” means an individual who hires or offers or agrees to hire
another individual to engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact.

Subd. 5. “Place of prostitution” means a house or other place where prosti-
tution is practiced.

Subd. 6. “Position of authority” means the circumstances under which an
individual is charged, no matter how briefly, whether by delegation or otherwise,
with rights, duties or responsibilities for the health, welfare or supervision of
another individual.

Subd. 7. “Promotes the prostitution of an individual™ means any of the
following wherein the person knowingly:

(1) Solicits or procures patrons for a prostitute; or

(2) Provides, leases or otherwise permits premises or facilities owned or
controlled by him to aid the prostitution of an individual: or

(3) Owns, manages. supervises, controls, keeps or operates, either alone or
with others, a place of prostitution to aid the prostitution of an individual; or
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(4) Owns, manages, supervises. controls, operates, institutes, aids or facilitates,
either alone or with others, a business of prostitution to aid the prostitution of an
individual; or

(5) Admits a patron to a place of prostitution to aid the prostitution of an
individual: or

(6) Transports an individual from one point within this state to another point
either within or without this state, or brings an individual into this state to aid the
prostitution of the individual. '

Subd. 8. *Prostitute” means an individual who engages in prostitution.

Subd. 9. “Prostitution™ means engaging or offering or agreeing to engage for
hire in sexual penetration or sexual contact.

Subd. 10. *Sexual contact™ means any of the following acts. if the acts can
reasonably be construed as being for the purpose of satisfying the actor’s sexual
impulses: ,

(i) The intentional touching by an individual of a prostitute’s intimate parts;
or

(i1} The intentional touching by a prostitute of another individual’s intimate
parts.

Subd. 11. *Sexual penetration™ means any of the following acts. if for the
purpose of satisfying sexual impulses: sexual intercourse., cunnilingus, fellatio.
anal intercourse, or any intrusion however slight into the genital or anal openings
of an individual’s body by any part of another individual’s body or any object
used for the purpose of satisfying sexual impulses. Emission of semen is not
necessary.

Subd. 12. A *public place™ means a public street or sidewalk, a pedestrian
skyway system as defined in section 472A.02. subdivision 6. a hotel. motel, or
other place of public accommodation. or a place licensed to sell intoxicating
liquor, wine. non-intoxicating malt beverages. or food.

History: 1979 ¢ 255 s 1

609.322 SOLICITATION, INDUCEMENT AND PROMOTION OF PROSTI-
TUTION.

Subdivision |. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron.
intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not
more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10.000, or both:

(1) Solicits or induces an individual under the age of 16 years to practice
prostitution; or

(2) Solicits or induces an individual to practice prostitution by means of force:
or

{(3) Uses a position of authority to solicit or induce an individual to practice
prostitution; or

(4) Promotes the prostitution of an individual in the following circumstances:

(a) The individual is under the age of 16 years: or

(b) The actor knows that the individual has been induced or solicited to
practice prostitution by means of force: or _

(¢) The actor knows that a position of authority has been used to induce or
solicit the individual to practice prostitution.

Subd. 2. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, inten-
tionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more
than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5.000. or both:

(1) Solicits or induces an individual at least 16 but less than 18 years of age to
practice prostitution; or
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(2) Solicits or induces an individual to practice prostitution by means of trick,
fraud, or deceit; or '

(3) Being in a position of authority, consents to an individual being taken or
detained for the purposes of prostitution: or

(4) Promotes the prostitution of an individual in the following circumstances:

(a) The individual is at least 16 but less than 18 years of age; or

(b) The actor knows that the individual has been induced or solicited to
practice prostitution by means of trick, fraud or deceit; or

(c¢) The actor knows that an individual in a position of authority has
consented to the individual being taken or detained for the purpose of prostitution.

Subd. 3. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron. inten-
tionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more
than three years or to payment of a fine of not more than $3.000. or both:

(1) Solicits or induces an individual 18 years of age or above to practice
prostitution; or

(2) Promotes the prostitution of an individual 18 years of age or older.

History: 1979 ¢ 255 s 2

609.323 RECEIVING PROFIT DERIVED FROM PROSTITUTION.

Subdivision 1. Whoever, not related by blood, adoption, or marriage to the
prostitute, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally receives
profit, knowing it to be derived from the prostitution, or the promotion of the
prostitution, of an individual in circumstances described in section 609.322,
subdivision [, clause (4), may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five
years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5.000, or both.

Subd. 2. Whoever, not related by blood, adoption, or marriage to the
prostitute, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally receives
profit, knowing it to be derived from the prostitution, or the promotion of the
prostitution, of an individual in circumstances described in section 609.322,
subdivision 2, clause (4) may be sentenced to not more than three years imprison-
ment or to payment of.a fine of not more than $3.000, or both.

Subd. 3. Whoever, not related by blood, adoption, or marriage to the
prostitute, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally receives
profit, knowing it to be derived from the prostitution. or the promotion of the
prostitution of an individual 18 years of age or above may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than
$1.000. or both.

Subd. 4. This section does not apply to the sale of goods or services to a
prostitute in the ordinary course of a lawful business.

History: 1979 ¢ 255 s 3

609.324 OTHER PROHIBITED ACTS.

Subdivision . Whoever intentionally does any of the following may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $5.000, or both:

(1) Engages in prostitution with an individual under the age of 18 years: or

(2) Hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual under the age of 18 years to
engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact.

Subd. 2. Whoever solicits or accepts a solicitation to engage for hire in
sexual penetration or sexual contact while in a public place may be sentenced to

imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than
$1.000 or both.
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Subd. 3. Whoever intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced
to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more
than $500, or both:

(1) Engages in prostitution with an individual 18 years of age or above: or

(2) Hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual 18 years of age or above to
engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact.

Whoever violates the provisions of this subdivision within two years of a
previous conviction may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year
or to payment of a fine of not more than $1.000, or both.

History: 1979 ¢ 255 s 4

609.325 DEFENSES.

Subdivision 1. It shall be no defense to a prosecution under section 609.322
that an individual solicited or induced to practice prostitution or whose prostitu-
tion was promoted, did not actually engage in prostitution.

Subd. 2. Consent or mistake as to age shall be no defense to prosecutions
under section 609.322 or 609.323.

Subd. 3. It shall be no defense to actions under section 609.322 that the
individual solicited or induced to practice prostitution, or whose prostitution was
promoted, had engaged in prostitution prior to that solicitation, inducement. or
promotion.

History: 1979 c 255 s 5

609.326 EVIDENCE.
The marital privilege provided for in section 595.02 shall not apply in any
proceeding under section 609.322 or 609.323.

History: 1979 ¢ 2555 6

609.33 DISORDERLY HOUSE OR PLACE OF PUBLIC RESORT.

Whoever does either of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for
not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than §$1,000, or both:

(1) Keeps a disorderly house, or place of public resort, whereby the peace,
comfort or decency of a neighborhood is habitually disturbed; or

(2) Being the owner or in control of any premises, intentionally permits them
to be so used.

History: 1967 ¢ 507 s 10

609.34 FORNICATION.
When any man and single woman have sexual intercourse with each other,
each is guilty of fornication, which is a misdemeanor.

History: 1967 ¢ 507 s 11; 1971 ¢ 23 5 43

609.341 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. For the purposes of sections 609.341 to 609.351, the terms in
this section have the meanings given them.

Subd. 2. “Actor” means a person accused of criminal sexual conduct.

Subd. 3. “Force™ means the infliction, attempted infliction, or threatened
infliction by the actor of bodily harm or commission or threat of any other crime
by the actor against the complainant or another, which causes the complainant to
reasonably believe that the actor has the present ability to execute the threat, and
also causes the complainant to submit.
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Subd. 4. “Consent” means a voluntary uncoerced manifestation of a present
agreement to perform a particular sexual act.

Subd. 5. “Intimate parts” includes the primary genital area, groin, inner
thigh, buttocks, or breast of a human being.

Subd. 6. *“Mentally defective” means that a person suffers from a mental
disease or defect which renders that person temporarily or permanently incapable
of appraising the nature of his conduct.

Subd. 7. *“Mentally incapacitated” means that a person is rendered tempo-
rarily incapable of appraising or controlling his conduct due to the influence of
alcohol, a narcotic, anesthetic, or any other substance administered to that person
without his agreement, or due to any other act committed upon that person
without his agreement.

Subd. 8. “Personal injury” means bodily harm as defined in section 609.02,
subdivision 7, or severe mental anguish or pregnancy.

Subd. 9. “Physically helpless” means that a person is (a) asleep or not
conscious, (b) unable to withhold consent or to withdraw because of a physical
condition, or (¢) unable to communicate nonconsent and the condition is known
or reasonably should have been known to the actor.

Subd. 10. “Position of authority” includes but is not limited to any person
who is a parent or acting in the place of a parent and charged with any of a
parent’s rights, duties or responsibilities to a child, or a person who is charged with
any duty or responsibility for the health, welfare, or supervision of a child, either
independently or through another. no matter how brief, at the time of the act.

Subd. Il. *"Sexual contact” includes any of the following acts committed
without the complainant’s consent, if the acts can reasonably be construed as
being for the purpose of satisfying the actor’s sexual or aggressive impulses, except
in those cases where consent 1s not a defense:

(i) The intentional touching by the actor of the complamant s intimate parts,
or

(ii) The touching by the complainant of the actor’s, the complainant’s, or
another’s intimate parts effected by coercion or the use of a position of authority,
or

(iii) The touching by another of the complainant’s intimate parts effected by
coercion or the use of a position of authority, or

(iv) In any of the cases above, of the clothing covering the immediate area of
the intimate parts.

Subd. 12. *“Sexual penetration” means sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, fella-
tio, anal intercourse, or any intrusion however slight into the genital or anal
openings of the complainant’s body of any part of the actor’s body or any object
used by the actor for this purpose, where the act is committed without the
complainant’s consent, except in those cases where consent is not a defense.
Emission of semen is not necessary.

Subd. 13. “Complainant” means a person alleged to have been subjected to
criminal sexual conduct, but need not be the person who signs the complaint.

Subd. 14. “Coercion” means a threat to unlawfully inflict bodily harm upon,
or hold in confinement, the person threatened or another.

History: 1975 c 374 s 2; 1977 ¢ 130 s 8: 1979 ¢ 258 s 9-11; 1981 ¢ 51 s |
1982 ¢ 385 s 1: 1982 ¢ 469 s 9

609.342 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE FIRST DEGREE.

A person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the first degree and may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years, if he engages in sexual
penetration with another person and if any of the following circumstances exists:
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(a) The complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is more than 36
months older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant’s age
nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense: or

(b) The complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor
is more than 48 months older than the complainant and in a position of authority
over the complainant, and uses this authority to cause the complainant to submit.
Neither mistake as to the complainant’s age nor consent to the act by the
complainant is a defense: or

(c) Circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to
have a reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or
another; or

(d) The actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or
fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a
dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the
complainant to submit; or

(e) The actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and either of the
following circumstances exist:

(i) The actor uses force or coercion to accomplish sexual penetration: or

(i) The actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally
defective, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless: or

(f) The actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the
meaning of section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists:

(i) An accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit;
or

(i) An accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or
fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant reasonably to believe it to be a
dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the
complainant to submit.

History: 1975 ¢ 374 s 3; 1981 ¢ 51 s 2

609.343 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE SECOND DEGREE.

A person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the second degree and may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 years if he engages in sexual
contact with another person and if any of the following circumstances exists:

(a) The complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is more than 36
months older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant’s age
nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under
this clause, the state is not required to prove that the sexual contact was coerced:
or -

(b) The complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor
is more than 48 months older than the complainant and in a position of authority
over the complainant, and uses this authority to cause the complainant to submit.
Neither mistake as to the complainant’s age nor consent to the act by the
complainant is a defense; or

(c) Circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to
have a reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or
another: or

(d) The actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or
fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a
dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use the dangerous weapon to cause the
complainant to submit; or

(e) The actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and either of the
following circumstances exist:
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(i) The actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the sexual contact; or

(i) The actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally
defective, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless; or

(f) The actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the
meaning of section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists:

(i) An accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit;
or

(ii) An accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or
fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a
dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the
complainant to submit.

History: 1975 ¢ 374 s4; 1979 ¢ 258 s 12;: 198] ¢ 51 5 3

609.344 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE THIRD DEGREE.

A person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the third degree and may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years, if he engages in sexual
penetration with another person and any of the following circumstances exists:

(a) The complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 36
months older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant’s age
nor consent to the act by the complainant shall be a defense; or

(b) The complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor
is more than 24 months older than the complainant. In any such case it shall be
an affirmative defense, which must be proved by a preponderance of the evidence,
that the actor believes the complainant to be 16 years of age or older. If the actor
in such a case is no more than 48 months but more than 24 months older than the
complainant, he may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years.
Consent by the complainant is not a defense; or

(c) The actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the penetration; or

(d) The actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally
defective, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless.

History: 1975 ¢ 374 s 5: 1979 ¢ 258 s 13

609.345 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE FOURTH DEGREE.

A person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree and may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years, if he engages in sexual
contact with another person and if any of the following circumstances exists:

(a) The complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 36
months older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant’s age
or consent to the act by the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this
clause, the state is not required to prove that the sexual contact was coerced; or

(b) The complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor
is more than 48 months older than the complainant or in a position of authority
over the complainant and uses this authority to cause the complainant to submit.
In any such case, it shall be an affirmative defense which must be proved by a
preponderance of the evidence that the actor believes the complainant to be 16
years of age or older; or

(c) The actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the sexual contact; or

(d) The actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally
defective. mentally incapacitated. or physically helpless.

History: 1975 c 374 s 6; 1976 ¢ 124 s 9: 1979 ¢ 258 s 14; 1981 ¢ 51 s 4
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609.346 SUBSEQUENT OFFENSES,

Subdivision 1. If a person is convicted of a second or subsequent -offense
under sections 609.342 to 609.345 or sections 609.364 to 609.3644 within 15 years
of the prior conviction, the court shall commit the defendant to the commissioner
of corrections for imprisonment for a term of not less than three years, nor more
than the maximum sentence provided by law for the offense for which convicted.
notwithstanding the provisions of sections 242.19, 243.05. 609.11. 609.12 and
609.135.

Subd. 2. For the purposes of this section, an offense is considered a second
or subsequent offense if. prior to conviction of the second or subsequent offense.
the actor has been at any time convicted under sections 609.342 to 609.346 or
sections 609.364 to 609.3644 or under any similar statute of the United States, or
this or any other state.

History: 1975 ¢ 374 s 7; 1978 ¢ 723 art 1 s 16; 1981 ¢ 273 s 4

609.347 EVIDENCE.

Subdivision 1. In a prosecution under sections 609.342 to 609.346, the
testimony of a complainant need not be corroborated.

Subd. 2. In a prosecution under sections 609.342 to 609.346, there is no need
to show that the complainant resisted the actor.

Subd. 3. In a prosecution under sections 609.342 to 609.346, evidence of the
complainant’s previous sexual conduct shall not be admitted nor shall any
reference to such conduct be made in the presence of the jury. except by court
order under the procedure provided in subdivision 4, and only to the extent that
the court finds that any of the following proposed evidence is material to the fact
at issue in the case and that its inflammatory or prejudicial nature does not
outweigh its probative value:

(a) When consent or fabrication by the complainant is the defense in the case,
evidence of such conduct tending to establish a common scheme or plan of similar
sexual conduct under circumstances similar to the case at issue on the part of the
complainant, relevant and material to the issue of consent or fabrication. Evi-
dence of such conduct engaged in more than one year prior to the date of alleged
offense is inadmissible;

(b) Evidence of specific instances of sexual activity showing the source of
semen, pregnancy, or disease at the time of the incident or, in the case of
pregnancy. between the time of the incident and trial: '

(c) Evidence of the complainant’s past sexual conduct with the defendant;

(d) For purposes of impeachment, when such evidence is offered to rebut
specific testimony of the complainant.

Subd. 4. The defendant may not offer evidence described in subdivision 3
except pursuant to the following procedure:

(a) A motion shall be made by the defendant prior to trial, unless later for
good causc shown, stating to the court and prosecutor that the defendant has an
offer of proof of the relevancy of the evidence of the sexual conduct of the
complainant which is proposed to be presented;

(b) If the court finds that the offer of proof is sufficient, the court shall order
a hearing out of the presence of the jury, if any. and in such hearing shall allow
the defendant to make a full presentation of his offer of proof:

(c) At the conclusion of the hearing, if the court finds that the evidence
proposed to be offered by the defendant regarding the sexual conduct of the
complainant is relevant and material to the fact of consent, and is not so
prejudicial as to be inadmissible, the court shall make an order stating the extent
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to which evidence is admissible under subdivision 3 and prescribing the nature of
questions to be permitted at trial. The defendant may then offer evidence
pursuant to the order of the court;

(d) If new information is discovered after the date of the hearing or during the
course of trial, which may make evidence described in subdivision 3 admissible,
the defendant shall make the disclosures under clause (a) of this subdivision and
the court shall order an in camera hearing to determine whether the proposed
evidence is admissible by the standards herein.

Subd. 5. In a prosecution under sections 609.342 to 609.346, the court shall
not instruct the jury to the effect that:

(a) It may- be inferred that a complainant who has previously consented to
sexual intercourse with persons other than the defendant would be therefore more
likely to consent to sexual intercourse again; or

(b) The complainant’s previous or subsequent sexual conduct in and of itself
may be considered in determining the credibility of the complainant: or

(c) Criminal sexual conduct is a crime easily charged by a complainant but
very difficult to disprove by a defendant because of the heinous nature of the
crime; or

(d) The jury should scrutinize the testimony of the complainant any more
closely than it should scrutinize the testimony of any witness in any felony
prosecution.

History: 1975 ¢ 374 s 8

609.348 MEDICAL PURPOSES; EXCLUSION.

Laws 1975, Chapter 374, and sections 609.364 to 609.3644 shall not apply to
sexual penetration or sexual contact when done for a bona fide medical purpose.

History: 1975 ¢ 3745 9; 1981 ¢ 273 s 5

609.349 VOLUNTARY RELATIONSHIPS.

A person does not commit criminal sexual conduct under sections 609.342,
clauses (a) and (b), 609.343, clauses (a) and (b), 609.344, clauses (a), (b) and (d),
and 609.345, clauses (a), (b) and (d), if the actor and complainant were adults
cohabiting in an ongoing voluntary sexual relationship at the time of the alleged
offense, or if the complainant is the actor’s legal spouse, unless the couple is living
apart and one of them has filed for legal separation or dissolution of the marriage.
Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit or restrain the prosecution
for any other offense committed by any person against his legal spouse.

History: 1975 ¢ 374 s 10: 1978 ¢ 772 s 62;: 1980 c 544 s 2

609.35 COSTS OF MEDICAL EXAMINATION.

No costs incurred by a county, city, or private hospital or other emergency
medical facility or by a private physician for the examination of a complainant of
criminal sexual conduct or intrafamilial sexual abuse, as defined in section
609.364, subdivision 10, when the examination is performed for the purpose of
gathering evidence for possible prosecution, shall be charged directly or indirectly
to the complainant. The reasonable costs of the examination shall be paid by the
county in which the alleged offense was committed. Nothing in this section shall
be construed to limit the duties, responsibilities, or liabilities of any insurer,
whether public or private.

History: 1975 ¢ 374 s 11; 1981 c273s 6
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609.351 APPLICABILITY TO PAST AND PRESENT PROSECUTIONS.

Except for section 609.347, crimes committed prior to August 1, 1975, are not
affected by its provisions.

History: 1975 ¢ 374 s 12

CRIMES AGAINST THE FAMILY

609.355 BIGAMY.

Subdivision 1. Definition. In this section “cohabit™ means to live together
under the representation or appearance of being married.

Subd. 2. Acts constituting. Whoever does any of the following is guilty of
bigamy and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to
payment of a fine of not more than $5.000, or both:

(1) Contracts a marriage in this state with knowledge that his prior marriage is
not dissolved; or

(2) Contracts a marriage in this state with knowledge that the prior marriage
of the person he marries is not dissolved; or

(3) Cohabits in this state with a person whom he married outside this state
with knowledge that his own prior marriage has not been dissolved or with
knowledge that the prior marriage of the person he married had not been
dissolved.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.355

609.36 ADULTERY.

Subdivision 1. Acts constituting. When a married woman has sexual inter-
course with a man other than her husband, whether married or not, both are guilty
of adultery and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or
to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.

Subd. 2. Limitations. No prosecution shall be commenced under this sec-
tion except on complaint of the husband or the wife, except when such husband or
wife is insane, nor after one year from the commission of the offense.

Subd. 3. Defense. It is a defense to violation of this section if the marital
status of the woman was not known to the defendant at the time of the act of
adultery. '

History: 1963 c 753 art 1 s 609.36

609.364 INTRAFAMILIAL SEXUAL ABUSE; DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Scope. For the purposes of sections 595.02 and 609.364 to
609.3644, the terms in this section have the meanings given them.

Subd. 2. Actor. “Actor” means an adult accused of intrafamilial sexual
abuse. :
Subd. 3. Child. “Child” means a person under age 16.

Subd. 4. Coercion. “Coercion” means a threat to unlawfully inflict bodily
harm upon, or hold in confinement, the person threatened or another.

Subd. 5. Complainant. “Complainant” means a child or minor alleging to
have been subjected to intrafamilial sexual abuse, but need not be the person who
signs the complaint.

Subd. 6. Consent. “Consent” means a voluntary uncoerced manifestation
of a present agreement to perform a particular sexual act.

Subd. 7. Force. “Force™ means the infliction, attempted infliction, or
threatened infliction by the actor of bodily harm or commission or threat of any
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other crime by the actor against the complainant or another, which causes the
complainant to reasonably believe that the actor has the present ability to execute
the threat.

Subd. 8. Intimate parts. “Intimate parts” includes the primary genital area,
groin, inner thigh, buttocks, or breast of a human being.

Subd. 9. Familial relationship. ‘““Familial relationship” means a situation in
which the actor is:

(a) The complainant’s parent, stepparent, or guardian:

(b) Nearer of kin to the complainant than first cousin, computed by rules of
the civil law, whether of the half or the whole blood:

(c) Any of the following persons related to the complainant by marriage or
adoption: brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister, first cousin, aunt, uncle, nephew,
niece, grandparent, great-grandparent, great-uncle, great-aunt; or

(d) An adult who jointly resides intermittently or regularly in the same
dwelling as the complainant and who is not the complainant’s spouse.

Subd. 10. Intrafamilial sexual abuse. “Intrafamilial sexual abuse” means
sexual contact or sexual penetration, or both, of a child or minor when the actor
has a familial relationship to the complainant. Neither mistake as to the com-
plainant’s age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense.

Subd. 11. Minor. “Minor” means a person under age 18 but age 16 or over.

Subd. 12. Personal injury. “Personal injury” means bodily harm as defined
in section 609.02, subdivision 7, or severe mental anguish, or pregnancy.

Subd. 13. Sexual contact. “Sexual contact” includes any of the following
acts, if the acts can reasonably be construed as being for the purpose of satisfying
the actor’s sexual or aggressive impulses:

(a) The intentional touching by the actor of the complainant’s intimate parts;

(b) The touching by the complainant of the actor’s, the complainant’s, or
another’s intimate parts;

(c) The touching by another of the complainant’s intimate parts; or

(d) In any of the cases listed above, touching of the clothing covering the
immediate area of the intimate parts.

Subd. 14. Sexual penetration. “Sexual penetration” means sexual inter-
course, cunnilingus, fellatio, anal intercourse, or any intrusion however slight into
the genital or anal openings of the complainant’s body of any part of the actor’s
body or any object used by the actor for this purpose. Emission of semen is not
necessary.

History: 1981 ¢ 273 s 7

609.3641 INTRAFAMILIAL SEXUAL ABUSE IN THE FIRST DEGREE.

Subdivision 1. Crime defined. A person is guilty of intrafamilial sexual
abuse in the first degree if:

(1) He has a familial relationship to and engages in sexual penetration with a
child; or

(2) He has a familial relationship to and engages in sexual penetration with a
child and:

(a) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the
penetration:

(b) the actor or an accomplice was armed with a dangerous weapon or any
article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably
believe it could be a dangerous weapon and used or threatened to use the
dangerous weapon;
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(c) circumstances existed at the time of the act to cause the complainant to
have a reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or
another;

(d) the complainant suffered personal injury; or

(e) the intrafamilial sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an
extended period of time.

Subd. 2. Penalty. A person convicted under subdivision 1, clause (1), may
be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years. Except when imprison-
ment is required by section 609.346, the court may stay imposition or execution of
sentence if it finds that a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or the
family unit. " A person convicted under subdivision 1, clause (2), may be sentenced
to imprisonment for not more than 20 years.

History: 1981 ¢ 273 s 8

609.3642 INTRAFAMILIAL SEXUAL ABUSE IN THE SECOND DEGREE.

Subdivision 1. Crime defined. A person is guilty of intrafamilial sexual
abuse in the second degree if:

(1) He has a familial relationship to and engages in sexual contact with a
child; or

(2) He has a familial relationship to and engages in sexual contact with a child
and:

(a) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the
contact; :

(b) the actor or an accomplice was armed with a dangerous weapon or any
article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably
believe it to be a dangerous weapon and used or threatened to use the dangerous
weapon;

(c) circumstances existed at the time of the act to cause the complainant to
have a reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or
another;

(d) the complainant suffered personal injury; or

(e) the intrafamilial sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an
extended period of time.

Subd. 2. Penalty. A person convicted under subdivision 1, clause (1), may
be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 years. Except when imprison-
ment is required by section 609.346, the court may stay imposition or execution of
the sentence if it finds that a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or the
family unit. A person convicted under subdivision 1, clause (2), may be sentenced
to imprisonment for not more than 15 years.

History: 1981 ¢ 273 s 9

609.3643 INTRAFAMILIAL SEXUAL ABUSE IN THE THIRD DEGREE.

Subdivision 1. Crime defined. A person is guilty of intrafamilial sexual
abuse in the third degree if:

(I) He has a familial relationship to and engages in sexual penetration with a
minor; or

(2) He has a familial relationship to and engages in sexual penetration with a
minor and:

(a) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the
penetration;
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(b) the actor or accomplice was armed with a dangerous weapon or any article
used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it
could be a dangerous weapon and used or threatened to use the dangerous
weapon;

(c) circumstances existed at the time of the act to cause the complainant to
have a reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or
another:

(d) the complainant suffered personal injury; or

(e) the intrafamilial sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an
extended period of time.

Subd. 2. Penalty. A person convicted under subdivision 1, clause (1), may
be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years. Except when
imprisonment is required by section 609.346, the court may stay imposition or
execution of the sentence if it finds that a stay is in the best interest of the
complainant or the family unit. A person convicted under subdivision 1, clause
(2), may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years.

History: 1981 ¢ 273 s 10

609.3644 INTRAFAMILIAL SEXUAL ABUSE IN THE FOURTH DEGREE.

Subdivision 1. Crime defined. A person is guilty of intrafamilial sexual
abuse in the fourth degree if:

(1) He has a familial relationship to and engages in sexual contact with a
minor; or

(2) He has a familial relationship to and engages in sexual contact with a
minor and:

(a) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the
contact;

(b) the actor or accomplice was armed with a dangerous weapon or any article
used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it
could be a dangerous weapon and used or threatened to use the dangerous
weapon;

(c) circumstances existed at the time of the act to cause the complainant to
have a reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or
another;

(d) the complainant suffered personal injury; or

(e) the intrafamilial sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an
extended period of time.

Subd. 2. Penalty. A person convicted under subdivision 1, clause (1). may
be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years. Except when
imprisonment is required by section 609.346, the court may stay imposition or
execution of the sentence if it finds that a stay is in the best interest of the
complainant or the family unit. A person convicted under subdivision I. clause
(2). may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years.

History: 1981 ¢ 273 s 11

609.365 INCEST.

Whoever has sexual intercourse with another nearer of kin to him than first
cousin, computed by rules of the civil law. whether of the half or the whole blood.
with knowledge of the relationship, is guilty of incest and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than ten years.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.365
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609.37 DEFINITION. .

As used in section 609.375, “child” means a child under the age of 16 years
who is in necessitous circumstances and includes such child born out of wedlock
whose paternity has been duly established. '

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art | s 609.37: 1965 c 41 s 3

609.375 NON-SUPPORT OF SPOUSE OR CHILD.

Subdivision 1. Whoever is legally obligated to provide care and support to a
spouse who is in necessitous circumstances, or child, whether or not its custody has
been granted to another, and knowingly omits and fails without lawful excuse to
do so is guilty of non-support of the spouse or child, as the case may be, and upon
conviction thereof may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 90 days
or to payment of a fine of not more than $300.

Subd. 2. If the knowing omission and failure without lawful excuse to
provide care and support to a spouse, a minor child, or a pregnant wife continues
for a period in excess of 90 days the person is guilty of a felony and may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years.

Subd. 3. Upon conviction, the court may provide by order for the care and
support of the child or spouse for a period not to exceed five years, require bond
or other security to the state to secure performance thereof, and suspend sentence
or execution thereof, conditioned upon compliance with the order.

Subd. 4. If, upon order to show cause duly made, the court finds that an
order made pursuant to subdivision 3 has been violated, the suspension may be
revoked and sentence imposed or executed, and the obligors of the bond or
security shall become liable pursuant to the terms thereof, and, with leave of the
court, the spouse, or child, or any public agency which furnished care or support
to the spouse or child while the order for care and support was in force, may
recover thereon.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.375; 1971 ¢ 23s44; 1971 ¢ 507 s 1; 1976 ¢ 2
s 151; 1981 ¢ 315 19

CRIMES AGAINST THE GOVERNMENT

609.385 TREASON.

Subdivision 1. Definition. “Levying war” includes an act of war or an
insurrection of several persons with intent to prevent, by force and intimidation,
the execution of a statute of the state, or to force its repeal. It does not include
either a conspiracy to commit an act of war or a single instance of resistance for a
private purpose to the execution of a law.

Subd. 2. Acts constituting. Any person owing allegiance to this state who
does either of the following is guilty of treason against this state and shall be
sentenced to life imprisonment:

(1) Levies war against this state; or

(2) Adheres to the enemies of this state. giving them aid and comfort.

Subd. 3. Testimony required. No person shall be convicted of treason
except on the testimony of two witnesses to the same overt act, or on his
confession in open court.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.385

609.39 MISPRISION OF TREASON.

Whoever, owing allegiance to this state and having knowledge of the commis-
sion of treason against this state, does not, as soon as may be, disclose and make
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known the same to the governor or a judge of the supreme court or of the district
court, is guilty of misprision of treason against this state and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more
than $5.000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.39

609.395 STATE MILITARY FORCES; INTERFERING WITH, OBSTRUCT-
_ING, OR OTHER.

Whoever, when the United States is at war, does either of the following may
be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine
of not more than $20,000, or both:

(1) Intentionally makes or conveys false reports or statements with intent to
interfere with the operation or success of the military or naval forces of this state;
or

(2) Intentionally causes or incites insubordination, disloyalty, mutiny, or
refusal of duty in the military or naval forces of this state, or obstructs the
recruiting or enlistment service of this state.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.395

609.40 FLAGS. _

Subdivision 1. Definition. In this section “flag” means anything which is or
purports to be the Stars and Stripes, the United States shield, the United States
coat of arms, the Minnesota state flag, or a copy. picture, or representation of any
of them.

Subd. 2. Acts prohibited. Whoever does any of the following is guilty of a
misdemeanor:

(1) Intentionally and publicly mutilates. defiles, or casts contempt upon the
flag: or

(2) Places on or attaches to the flag any word, mark, design, or advertisement
not properly a part of such flag or exposes to public view a flag so altered; or

(3) Manufactures or exposes to public view an article of merchandise or a
wrapper or receptacle for merchandise upon which the flag is depicted; or

(4) Uses the flag for commercial advertising purposes.

Subd. 3. Exceptions. This section does not apply to flags depicted on
written or printed documents or periodicals or on stationery, ornaments, pictures,
or jewelry, provided there are not unauthorized words or designs on such flags and
provided the flag is not connected with any advertisement.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art | s 609.40; 1971 ¢ 23 s 45

609.405 CRIMINAL SYNDICALISM,

Subdivision 1. Definition. “Criminal syndicalism™ is the doctrine which
advocates crime. malicious damage or injury to the property of an employer.
violence, or other unlawful methods of terrorism as a means of accomplishing
industrial or political ends. '

Subd. 2. Acts prohibited. Whoever does any of the following may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $5,000. or both:

(1) Orally or by means of writing advocates or promotes the doctrine of
criminal syndicalism; or

(2) Intentionally organizes or becomes a member of any assembly. group. or
organization which he knows is advocating or promoting the doctrine of criminal
syndicalism; or
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(3) For or on behalf of another person, distributes, sells, publishes, or publicly
displays any writing, which is intended by that person to be used to, and which
does, advocate or promote the doctrine of criminal syndicalism.

Subd. 3. Permitting assemblage for. Whoever, being the owner or in posses-
sion or control of any premises intentionally permits any assemblage of persons to
use such premises for the purpose of advocating or promoting the doctrine of
criminal syndicalism may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one
year, or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.405

609.41 FALSE TAX STATEMENT.

Whoever, in making any statement, oral or written, which is required or
authorized by law to be made as a basis of imposing, reducing, or abating any tax
or assessment, intentionally makes any statement as to any material matter which
he knows is false may be sentenced, unless otherwise provided by law, to
imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than
$1.000. or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.41

CRIMES AFFECTING PUBLIC
OFFICER OR EMPLOYEE

609.415 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. As used in sections 609.415 to 609.465, and 609.515,

(1) “Public officer” means:

(a) An executive or administrative officer of the state or of a county,
municipality or other subdivision or agency of the state.

(b) A member of the legislature or of a governing board of a county,
municipality, or other subdivision of the state, or other governmental instrumental-
ity within the state.

(¢) A judicial officer.

(d) A hearing officer.

(e) A law enforcement officer.

(f) Any other person exercising the functions of a public officer.

(2) A “public employee” is a person employed by or acting for the state or by
or for a county, municipality, or other subdivision or governmental instrumentality
of the state for the purpose of exercising their respective powers and performing
their respective duties, and who is not a “public officer.”

(3) A “judicial officer” includes a judge, justice of the peace or other
magistrate, juror, court commissioner, referee, or any other person appointed by a
judge or court to hear or determine a cause or controversy.

(4) A “hearing officer” includes any person authorized by law or private
agreement to hear or determine a cause or controversy and who is not a judicial
officer.

Subd. 2. A person who has been elected, appointed, or otherwise designated
as a public officer or public employee is deemed such officer or employee although
he has not yet qualified therefor or entered upon the duties thereof.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.415

¢
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609.42 BRIBERY.

- Subdivision 1. Acts constituting. Whoever does any of the following is
guilty of bribery and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten
years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both:

(1) Offers, gives, or promises to give, directly or indirectly, to any public
officer or employee any benefit, reward or consideration to which he is not legally
entitled with intent thereby to influence such officer or employee with respect to
the performance of his powers or duties as such officer or employee: or.

(2) Being a public officer or employee, requests, receives or agrees to receive,
directly or indirectly, any such benefit, reward or consideration upon the under-
standing that he will be so influenced; or

(3) Offers, gives, or promises to give, directly or indirectly any such benefit,
reward. or consideration to a witness or one who is about to become a witness in a
proceeding before a judicial or hearing officer, with intent that his testimony be
influenced thereby, or that he will absent himself from the proceeding: or

(4) 1s, or is about to become such witness and requests, receives. or agrees to
receive, directly or indirectly, any such benefit, reward, or consideration upon the
understanding that his testimony will be so influenced, or that he will absent
himself from the proceeding; or

(5) Accepts directly or indirectly a benefit, reward or consideration upon an
agreement or understanding, express or implied, that he will refrain from giving
information that may lead to the prosecution of a crime or purported crime or that
he will abstain from, discontinue, or delay prosecution therefor, except in a case
where a compromise is allowed by law.

Subd. 2. Forfeiture of office. Any public officer who is convicted of
violating or attempting to violate subdivision 1 shall forfeit his office and be
forever disqualified from holding public office under the state.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.42; 1976 ¢ 178 s 2

609.425 CORRUPTLY INFLUENCING LEGISLATOR.

Whoever by menace, deception, concealment of facts, or other corrupt means,
attempts to influence the vote or other performance of duty of any member of the
legislature or person elected thereto may be sentenced to imprisonment for not
more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art | s 609.425

60943 MISCONDUCT OF PUBLIC OFFICER OR EMPLOYEE.

A public officer or employee who does any of the following, for which no
other sentence is specifically provided by law, may be sentenced to imprisonment
for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or
both:

(1) Intentionally fails or refuses to perform a known mandatory. nondiscre-
tionary. ministerial duty of his office or employment within the time or in the
manner required by law; or

(2) In his capacity as such officer or employee, does an act which he knows is
in excess of his lawful authority or which he knows he is forbidden by law to do in
his official capacity: or

(3) Under pretense or color of official authority intentionally and unlawfully
injures another in his person, property, or rights; or

(4) In his capacity as such officer or employee, makes a return, certificate,
official report, or other like document which to his knowledge is false in any
material respect.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art | s 609.43
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609.435 OFFICER NOT FILING SECURITY.

Whoever intentionally performs the functions of a public officer without
having executed and duly filed the required security is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.435; 1971 ¢ 23 s 46

609.44 PUBLIC OFFICE; ILLEGALLY ASSUMING; NON-SURRENDER.

Whoever intentionally and without lawful right thereto, exercises a function of
a public office or, having held such office and his right thereto having ceased,
refuses to surrender the office or its seal, books, papers, or other incidents to his
successor or other authority entitled thereto may be sentenced to imprisonment for
not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.44

609.445 FAILURE TO PAY OVER STATE FUNDS.

Whoever receives money on behalf of or for the account of the state or any of
its agencies or subdivisions and intentionally refuses or omits to pay the same to
the state or its agency or subdivision entitled thereto, or to an officer or agent
authorized to receive the same, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more
than three years or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.445

609.45 PUBLIC OFFICER; UNAUTHORIZED COMPENSATION.

Whoever is a public officer or public employee and under color of his office
or employment intentionally asks, receives or agrees to receive a fee or other
compensation in excess of that allowed by law or where no such fee or compensa-
tion is allowed, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.45; 1971 ¢ 23 s 47

609.455 PERMITTING FALSE CLAIMS AGAINST GOVERNMENT.

A public officer or employee who audits, allows, or pays any claim or demand
made upon the state or subdivision thereof or other governmental instrumentality
within the state which he knows is false or fraudulent in whole or in part, may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $5,000, or both.

History: 1963 c 753 art 1 s 609.455

609.46 JUSTICE OF THE PEACE OR CONSTABLE BUYING CLAIM OR
INDUCING SUIT.

Every justice of the peace or constable who shall, directly or indirectly, buy,
or be interested in buying, any thing in action, for the purpose of commencing a
suit thereon before a justice, or who shall give or promise any valuable considera-
tion to any person as an inducement to bring, or in consideration of having
brought, a suit thereon before a justice, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.46; 1971 ¢ 23 s 48

609.465 PRESENTING FALSE CLAIMS TO PUBLIC OFFICER OR BODY.

Whoever, with intent to defraud, presents a claim or demand, which to his
knowledge is false in whole or in part, for audit, allowance or payment to a public
officer or body authorized to make such audit, allowance or payment is guilty of
an attempt to commit theft of public funds and may be sentenced accordingly.

History: 1963 c 753 art 1 s 609.465
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609.466 MEDICAL ASSISTANCE FRAUD.

Any person who, with the intent to defraud, presents a claim for reimburse-
ment, a cost report or a rate application, relating to the payment of medical
assistance funds pursuant to chapter 256B, to the state agency, which is false in
whole or in part, is guilty of an attempt to commit theft of public funds and may
be sentenced accordingly.

History: 1976 c 188 s 5

609.47 INTERFERENCE WITH PROPERTY IN OFFICIAL CUSTODY.

Whoever intentionally takes, damages, or destroys any personal property held
in custody by an officer or other person under process of law may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than
$1.000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.47

609.475 IMPERSONATING OFFICER.

Whoever falsely impersonates a police or military officer or public official
with intent to mislead another into believing that he is actually such officer or
official is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art | s 609.475; 1971 ¢ 23 s 49

CRIMES AGAINST THE
ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE

609.48 PERJURY.

Subdivision 1. Acts constituting. Whoever makes a false material statement
which he does not believe to be true in any of the following cases is guilty of
perjury and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 4:

(1) In or for an action, hearing or proceeding of any kind in which the
statement is required or authorized by law to be made under oath or affirmation;
or

(2) In any writing which is required or authorized by law to be under oath or
affirmation; or

(3) In any other case in which the penalties for perjury are imposed by law
and no specific sentence is otherwise provided.

Subd. 2. Defenses not available. It is not a defense to a violation of this
section that:

(1) The oath or affirmation was taken or administered in an irregular manner;
or

(2) The declarant was not competent to give the statement; or

(3) The declarant did not know that his statement was material or believed it
to be immaterial; or

(4) The statement was not used or, if used, did not affect the proceeding for
which it was made; or

(5) The statement was inadmissible under the law of evidence.

Subd. 3. Inconsistent statements. When the declarant has made two incon-
sistent statements under such circumstances that one or the other must be false
and not believed by him when made, it shall be sufficient for conviction under this
section to charge and the jury to find that, without determining which, one or the
other of such statements was false and not believed by the declarant. The period
of limitations for prosecution under this subdivision runs from the first such
statement.
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Subd. 4. Sentence. Whoever violates this section may be sentenced as
follows:

(1) If the false statement was made upon the trial of a felony charge, or upon
an application for an explosives license or use permit, to imprisonment for not
more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both: or

(2) In all other cases, to imprisonment for not more than three years or to
payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.48: 1971 c 845 s 16

609.485 ESCAPE FROM CUSTODY.

Subdivision 1. Definition. “Escape” includes departure without lawful au-
thority and failure to return to custody following temporary leave granted for a
specific purpose or limited period.

Subd. 2. Acts prohibited. Whoever does any of the following may be
sentenced as provided in subdivision 4:

(1) Escapes while held in lawful custody on a charge or conviction of a crime;
or

(2) Transfers to another, who is in lawful custody on a charge or conviction of
a crime, or introduces into an institution in which the latter is confined, anything
useable in making such escape, with intent that it shall be so used; or

(3) Having another in his lawful custody on a charge or conviction of a crime,
intentionally permits him to escape.

Subd. 3. Exceptions. This section does not apply to a person who is free on
bail or who is on parole or probation, or subject to a stayed sentence or stayed
execution of sentence, unless he (1) has been taken into actual custody upon
revocation of the parole, probation, or stay of the sentence or execution of
sentence, or (2) is in custody in a county jail or workhouse as a condition of a
stayed sentence.

Subd. 4. Sentence. Whoever violates this section may be sentenced as
follows:

(1) If the person who escapes is in lawful custody on a charge or conviction of
a felony, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $5.000, or both.

(2) If such charge or conviction is for a gross misdemeanor, to imprisonment
for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or
both.

(3) If such charge or conviction is for a misdemeanor, to imprisonment for not
more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than $300, or both.

(4) 1f the escape was effected by violence or threat of violence against a
person, the sentence may be increased to not more than twice those permitted in
clauses (1). (2). and (3).

(5) Unless a concurrent term is specified by the court, a sentence under this
section shall be consecutive to any sentence previously imposed or which may be
imposed for any crime or offense for which the person was in custody when he
escaped.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.485; 1969 ¢ 248 s I; 1971 ¢ 23 s 50; 1982 ¢
557 s 10

NOTE: See scction 629.362.
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609.487 FLEEING A PEACE OFFICER IN A MOTOR VEHICLE.

Subdivision 1. Flee; definition. For purposes of this section, the term
“flee” means to increase speed, extinguish motor vehicle headlights or taillights, or
to use other means with intent to attempt to elude a peace officer following a
signal given by any peace officer to the driver of a motor vehicle.

Subd. 2. Peace officer; definition. For purposes of this section, “peace
officer” means an employee of a political subdivision or state law enforcement
agency who is licensed by the Minnesota board of peace officer standards and
training, charged with the prevention and detection of crime and the enforcement
of the general criminal laws of the state and who has the full power of arrest, and
shall also include the Minnesota state patrol.

Subd. 3. Fleeing an officer. Whoever by means of a motor vehicle flees or
attempts to flee a peace officer who is acting in the lawful discharge of an official
duty, and the perpetrator knows or should reasonably know the same to be a
peace officer, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to
payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.

Subd. 4. Fleeing an officer; death; bodily injury. Whoever flees or at-
tempts to flee by means of a motor vehicle a peace officer who is acting in the
lawful discharge of an official duty, and the perpetrator knows or should reason-
ably know the same to be a peace officer, and who in the course of fleeing causes
the death of a human being not constituting murder or manslaughter or any bodily
injury to any person other than himself may be sentenced to imprisonment as
follows:

(a) If the course of fleeing results in death, to imprisonment for ten years or to
payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both; or

(b) If the course of fleeing results in great bodily harm, to imprisonment for
five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both; or

(c) If the course of fleeing results in substantial bodily harm, to imprisonment
for three years or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both.

History: 1981 ¢ 37 s 2; 1981 ¢ 3125 4

609.49 RELEASE, FAILURE TO APPEAR.

Whoever, being charged with or convicted of a felony and held in lawful
custody therefor, is released from custody, with or without bail or recognizance, on
condition that he personally appear when required with respect to such charge or
conviction, and intentionally fails, without lawful excuse, to so appear when
required or surrender himself within three days thereafter, may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than
$1,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.49

609.495 AIDING AN OFFENDER TO AVOID ARREST.

Subdivision 1. Whoever harbors, conceals or aids another known by him to
have committed a felony under the laws of this or another state or of the United
States with intent that such offender shall avoid or escape from arrest, trial,
conviction, or punishment, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than
three years or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both.

Subd. 2. This section does not apply if the actor at the time of harboring,
concealing, or aiding is related to the offender as husband, wife, parent, or child.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.495
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609.498 TAMPERING WITH A WITNESS.

Subdivision 1. Tampering with a witness in the first degree. Whoever inten-
tionally prevents or dissuades or intentionally attempts to prevent or dissuade by
means of force or threats of injury to person, family, or property, a person who is
or may become a witness from attending or testifying at any trial, proceeding, or
inquiry authorized by law, is guilty of tampering with a witness in the first degree
and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment
of a fine not to exceed $5,000.

Subd. 2. Tampering with a witness in the second degree. Whoever intention-
ally prevents or dissuades or intentionally attempts to prevent or dissuade by
means of any act described in section 609.27, subdivision 1, clauses (3), (4), or (5),
a person who is or may become a witness from attending or testifying at any trial,
proceeding, or inquiry authorized by law, is guilty of tampering with a witness in
the second degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one
year or to payment of a fine not to exceed $1,000.

History: 1976 c 178 s 1

609.50 OBSTRUCTING LEGAL PROCESS OR ARREST.

Whoever intentionally obstructs, hinders or prevents the lawful execution of
any legal process, civil or criminal, or apprehension of another on a charge or
conviction of a criminal offense or interferes with a peace officer while the officer
is engaged in the performance of his official duties may be sentenced as follows:

(1) If the act was accompanied by force or violence or the threat thereof, to
imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than
$1,000, or both; or

(2) In other cases to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment
of a fine of not more than $300, or both.

History: 1963 c 753 art 1 s 609.50; 1969 c 1013 s 1; 1971 ¢ 23 s 51

609.502 INTERFERENCE WITH DEAD BODY OR SCENE OF DEATH,
PENALTY.

Whoever interferes with the body or scene of death with intent to mislead the
coroner or conceal evidence is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

History: 1976 ¢ 257 s 2

609.505 FALSELY REPORTING CRIME.

Whoever informs a law enforcement officer that a crime has been committed,
knowing that it is false and intending that the officer shall act in reliance upon it,
is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.505; 1971 ¢ 23 s 52

609.51 SIMULATING LEGAL PROCESS.

Subdivision 1. Acts prohibited. Whoever does any of the following is guilty
of a misdemeanor:

(1) Sends or delivers to another any document which simulates a summons,
complaint, or court process with intent thereby to induce payment of a claim; or

(2) Prints, distributes, or offers for sale any such document knowing or
intending that it shall be so used. -

Subd. 2. Exceptions. This section does not prohibit the printing, distribu-
tion or sale of blank forms of legal documents for use in judicial proceedings.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.51; 1971 ¢ 23 s 53
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609.515 MISCONDUCT OF JUDICIAL OR HEARING OFFICER.

Whoever does any of the following, when the act is not in violation of section
609.42, is guilty of a misdemeanor:

(1) Being a judicial or hearing officer, does either of the following:

(a) Agrees with or promises another to determine a cause or controversy or
issue pending or to be brought before him for or against any party; or

(b) Intentionally obtains or receives and uses information relating thereto
contrary to the regular course of the proceeding.

'(2) Induces a judicial or hearing officer to act contrary to the provisions of
this section.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.515; 1971 ¢ 23 5 54

'~ THEFT AND RELATED CRIMES

609.52 THEFT.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. In this section:

(1) “Property” means all forms of tangible property, whether real or personal,
without limitation including documents of value, electricity. gas, water, corpses,
domestic animals, dogs, pets, fowl, and heat supplied by pipe or conduit by
municipalities or public utility companies and articles, as defined in clause (4),
representing trade secrets, which articles shall be deemed for the purposes of Extra
Session Laws 1967, Chapter 15 to include any trade secret represented by the
article.

(2) “Movable property” is property whose physical location can be changed,
including without limitation things growing on, affixed to or found in land.

(3) “Value” means the retail market value at the time of the theft, or if the
retail market value cannot be ascertained, the cost of replacement of the property
within a reasonable time after the theft, or in the case of a theft or the making of a
copy of an article representing a trade secret, where the retail market value or
replacement cost cannot be ascertained, any reasonable value representing the
damage to the owner which he has suffered by reason of losing an advantage over
those who do not know of or use the trade secret. For a theft committed within
the meaning of subdivision 2, clause (5), (a) and (b), if the property has been
restored to the owner, “value” means the value of the use of the property or the
damage which it sustained, whichever is greater, while the owner was deprived of
its possession, but not exceeding the value otherwise provided herein.

(4) “Article” means any object, material, device or substance, including any
writing, record, recording, drawing, sample specimen, prototype, model, photo-
graph, micro-organism, blueprint or map, or any copy of any of the foregoing.

(5) “Representing” means describing, depicting, containing, constituting, re-
flecting or recording,

(6) “Trade secret” means information, including a formula, pattern, compila-
tion, program, device, method. technique, or process, that:

(i) derives independent economic value, actual or potential, from not being
generally known to, and not being readily ascertainable by proper means by, other
persons who can obtain economic value from its disclosure or use, and

(ti) is the subject of efforts that are reasonable under the circumstances to
maintain its secrecy.

(7) “Copy” means any facsimile, replica, photograph or other reproduction of
an article, and any note, drawing or sketch made of or from an article while in the
presence of the article.
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(8) “Property of another” includes property in which the actor is co-owner or
has a lien, pledge, bailment, or lease or other subordinate interest, and property of
a partnership of which the actor is a member, unless the actor and the victim are
husband and wife. [t does not include property in which the actor asserts in good
faith a claim as a collection fee or commission out of property or funds recovered,
or by virtue of a lien, set-off, or counterclaim.

(9) *“Services” include but are not limited to labor, professional services,
transportation services, electronic computer services, the supplying of hotel accom-
modations, restaurant services, entertainment services, advertising services, tele-
communication services, and the supplying of equipment for use.

Subd. 2. Acts constituting theft. Whoever does any of the following com-
mits theft and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3:

(1) Intentionally and without claim of right takes, uses, transfers, conceals or
retains possession of movable property of another without his consent and with
intent to deprive the owner permanently of possession of the property; or

(2) Having a legal interest in movable property, intentionally and without
consent, takes the property out of the possession of a pledgee or other person
having a superior right of possession, with intent thereby to deprive the pledgee or
other person permanently of the possession of the property: or

(3) Obtains for himself or another the possession, custody or title to property
of or performance of services by a third person by intentionally deceiving him with
a false representation which is known to be false, made with intent to defraud, and
which does defraud the person to whom it is made. “False representation”
includes without limitation:

(a) The issuance of a check, draft, or order for the payment of money or the
delivery of property knowing that he is not entitled to draw upon the drawee
therefor or to order the payment or delivery thereof; or

(b) A promise made with intent not to perform. Failure to perform is not
evidence of intent not to perform unless corroborated by other substantial
evidence: or

(c) The unauthorized use of a credit card, credit plate, charge plate, or other
identification device issued by an organization to a person for use in purchasing
goods or services on credit; or

(d) The preparation or filing of a claim for reimbursement, a rate application,
or a cost report used to establish a rate or claim for payment for medical care
provided to a recipient of medical assistance under chapter 256B. which intention-
ally and falsely states the costs of or actual services provided by a vendor of
medical care; or

(4) By swindling, whether by artifice, trick, device, or any other means,
obtains property or services from another person; or

(5) Intentionally commits any of the acts listed in this subdivision but with
intent to exercise temporary control only and;

(a) The control exercised manifests an indifference to the rights of the owner
or the restoration of the property to him; or

(b) He pledges or otherwise attempts to subject the property to an adverse
claim: or

(c) He intends to restore the property only on condition that the owner pay a
reward or buy back or make other compensation; or

(6) Finds lost property and. knowing or having reasonable means of ascertain-
ing the true owner, appropriates it to his own use or to that of another not entitled
thereto without first having made reasonable effort to find the owner and offer
and surrender the property to him:; or
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(7) Intentionally obtains property or services, offered upon the deposit of a
sum of money or tokens in a coin or token operated machine or other receptacle,
without making the required deposit or otherwise obtaining the consent of the
owner; or

(8) Intentionally and without claim of right converts any article representing a
trade secret, knowing it to be such, to his own use or that of another person or
makes a copy of an article representing a trade secret, knowing it to be such, and
intentionally and without claim of right converts the same to his own use or that of
another person. It shall be a complete defense to any prosecution under this
clause for the defendant to show that information comprising the trade secret was
rightfully known or available to him from a source other than the owner of the
trade secret; or

(9) Leases or rents personal property under a written instrument and who with
intent to place the property beyond the control of the lessor conceals or aids or
abets the concealment of the property or any part thereof, or any lessee of the
property who sells, conveys or encumbers the property or any part thereof without
the written consent of the lessor, without informing the person to whom he sells,
conveys, or encumbers that the same is subject to such lease and with intent to
deprive the lessor of possession thereof. Evidence that a lessee used a false or
fictitious name or address in obtaining the property or fails or refuses to return the
property to lessor within five days after written demand for the return has been
served personally in the manner provided for service of process of a civil action or
sent by certified mail to the last known address of the lessee, whichever shall occur
later, shall be evidence of intent to violate this clause. Service by certified mail
shall be deemed to be complete upon deposit in the United States mail of such
demand, postpaid and addressed to the person at the address for the person set
forth in the lease or rental agreement, or, in the absence of the address, to the
person’s last known place of residence; or

(10) Alters, removes or obliterates numbers or symbols placed on movable
property for purpose of identification by the owner or person who has legal
custody or right to possession thereof with the intent to prevent identification, if
the person who alters, removes or obliterates the numbers or symbols is not the
owner and does not have the permission of the owner to make the alteration,
removal or obliteration; or

(11) With the intent to prevent the identification of property involved, so as to
deprive the rightful owner of possession thereof, alters or removes any permanent
serial number, permanent distinguishing number or manufacturer’s identification
number on personal property or possesses, sells or buys any personal property with
knowledge that the permanent serial number, permanent distinguishing number or
manufacturer’s identification number has been removed or altered; or

(12) Intentionally deprives another of a lawful charge for cable television
service by

(i) making or using or attempting to make or use an unauthorized external
connection outside the individual dwelling unit whether physical, electrical, acous-
tical, inductive or other connection, or by

(i1) attaching any unauthorized device to any cable, wire, microwave, or other
component of a licensed cable communications system as defined in chapter 238.
Nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit the electronic video re-recording of
program material transmitted on the cable communications system by a subscriber
for fair use as defined by Public Law 94-553, Section 107; or

(13) Except as provided in paragraph (12), obtains the services of another with
the intention of receiving those services without making the agreed or reasonably
expected payment of money or other consideration.
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Subd. 3. Sentence. Whoever commits theft may be sentenced as follows:

(1) To imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $10,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen
exceeds $2,500: or

(2) To imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $5,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen is
more than $150 but not more than $2,500; or

(3) To imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $5,000, or both, notwithstanding the value of the property or
services stolen is not more than $150, if any of the following circumstances exist:

(a) The property is taken from the person of another or from a corpse, or
grave or coffin containing a corpse; or

(b) The property taken is a record of a court or officer, or a writing,
instrument or record kept. filed or deposited according to law with or in the
keeping of any public officer or office: or

(c) The property is taken from a burning building or upon its removal
therefrom, or from an area of destruction caused by civil disaster, riot. bombing,
or the proximity of battle; or

(d) The property taken consists of public funds belonging to the state or to
any political subdivision or agency thereof; or

(4) To imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $10,000, or both, if the property stolen is an article representing a
trade secret; or if the property stolen is an explosive or an incendiary device; or

(5) In all other cases where the value of the property or services stolen is $150
or less, to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not
more than $500, or both, provided, however, in any prosecution under clause (1).
clause (2). clause (3)(a), (b) and (c), clause (4), and clause (13) of subdivision 2 the
value of the money or property received by the defendant in violation of any one
or more of the above provisions within any six month period may be aggregated
and the defendant charged accordingly in applying the provisions of this subdivi-
sion; provided that when two or more offenses are committed by the same person
in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted in any county in which
one of the offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregated under this
paragraph.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.52; 1967 ¢ 178 s 1; Ex1967 c 15s 1-3; 1971 ¢
23 s55;: 1971 ¢ 255 92; 1971 ¢ 697 s 1; 1971 ¢ 717s 1; 1971 c 796 s 1; 1971 ¢
8455 14; 1975c 244 s 1; 1976 c 112s1; 1976 c 1885 6; 1977 ¢c396s 1; 1978 ¢
674 s 60; 1979 ¢ 258 s 15; 1981 ¢ 120s 1; 1981 ¢ 299 s |

609.521 POSSESSION OF SHOPLIFTING GEAR.

Whoever has in his possession any device, gear, or instrument specially
designed to assist in shoplifting with intent to use the same to shoplift and thereby
commit theft may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or
to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both.

History: 1975 ¢ 314 s 1

609.523. RETURN OF STOLEN PROPERTY TO OWNERS.

Subdivision 1. Photographic record. Photographs of property, as defined in
section 609.52, subdivision 1, over which a person is alleged to have exerted
unauthorized control or to have otherwise obtained unlawfully, are competent
evidence if the photographs are admissible into evidence under all rules of law
governing the admissibility of photographs into evidence. The photographic
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record, when satisfactorily identified, is as admissible in evidence as the property
itself.

Subd. 2. Record of property. The photographs may bear a written descrip-
tion of the property alleged to have been wrongfully taken, the name of the owner
of the property taken, the name of the accused, the name of the arresting law
enforcement officer, the date of the photograph, and the signature of the photogra-
pher.

Subd. 3. Return of property. A law enforcement agency which is holding
property over which a person is alleged to have exerted unauthorized control or to
have otherwise obtained unlawfully may return that property to its owner if:

(a) The appropriately identified photographs are filed and retained by the law
enforcement agency;

(b) Satisfactory proof of ownership of the property is shown by the owner;
(c) A declaration of ownership is signed under penalty of perjury: and

(d) A receipt for the property is obtained from the owner upon delivery by the
law enforcement agency.

-Subd. 4. If the recovered property has a value in excess of $150, then the
owner shall retain possession for at least 14 days to allow the defense attorney to
examine the property. :

History: 1982 ¢ 539 s |

609.525 BRINGING STOLEN GOODS INTO STATE.

Subdivision 1. Whoever brings property into the state which he has stolen
outside the state, or received outside of the state knowing it to have been stolen,
may be sentenced in accordance with the provisions of section 609.52, subdivision
3. He may be charged, indicted. and tried in any county, but not more than one
county, into or through which he has brought such property.

Subd. 2. Property is stolen within the meaning of this section if the act by
which the owner was deprived of his property was a criminal offense under the
laws of the state in which the act was committed and would constitute a theft
under this chapter if the act had been committed in this state. .

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.525

609.53 RECEIVING STOLEN PROPERTY.

Subdivision 1. Penalty. Any person who receives, possesses, transfers, buys
or conceals any stolen property or property obtained by robbery, knowing or
having reason to know the property was stolen or obtained by robbery, may be
sentenced as follows:

(1) If the value of the property received, bought or concealed is $1,000 or
more, to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not
more than $10,000, or both;

(2) If the value of the property received, bought or concealed is less than
$1.000, but more than $300, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to
payment of a fine of not more than $5.000, or both;

(3) If the value of the property received, bought or concealed is $300 or less,
to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not less
than $500, or both.

Subd. la. Penalty. Any precious metal dealer as defined in section
325F.731, subdivision 2, or any person employed by a precious metal dealer a$
defined in section 325F.731, subdivision 2, who receives, possesses, transfers, buys
or conceals any stolen property or property obtained by robbery, knowing or
having reason to know the property was stolen or obtained by robbery, may be
sentenced as follows:
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(1) If the value of the property received, bought or concealed is $1,000 or
more, to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not
more than $50,000, or both;

(2) If the value of the property received, bought or concealed is less than
$1,000 but more than $300, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to
payment of a fine of not more than $25,000, or both;

(3) If the value of the property received, bought, or concealed is $300 or less,
to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not less
than $500, or both.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1982 ¢ 613 5 7]
Subd. 2a. [Repealed, 1982 ¢ 613 s 7]

Subd. 3. Subsequent offense. Any person convicted of a second or subse-
quent violation under subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2) within a period of five years
from the date of the prior conviction may be fined up to twice the amount
authorized by law. Any person convicted of a second or subsequent violation
under subdivision 1, clause (3) within a period of two years from the date of the
prior conviction may be sentenced as provided in subdjvision 1, clause (2).

Subd. 3a. Any precious metal dealer as defined in section 325F.731, subdivi-
sion 2, or any person employed by a precious metal dealer as defined in section
325F.731, subdivision 2, convicted of a second or subsequent violation under
subdivision 2a within a period of one year may be sentenced as provided in
subdivision la, clause ().

Subd. 4. Civil action; treble damages. Any person who has been injured by
a violation of subdivisions | or 3 may bring an action for three times the amount
of actual damages, sustained by the plaintiff or $1,500, whichever is greater, the
costs of suit and reasonable attorney’s fees.

Subd. 5. In this section, “value” has the meaning defined in section 609.52,
subdivision 1, clause (3).

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.53; 1973 ¢ 669 s 1; 1979 ¢ 2325 1,2: 1981 c
3335 14-17; 1982 c 613 s 1-4

609.535 ISSUANCE OF WORTHLESS CHECK.

Subdivision 1. Definition. *“Credit™ means an arrangement or under-
standing with the drawee for the payment of the check or other order for the
payment of money to which this section applies.

Subd. 2. Acts constituting. Whoever issues any check or other order for the
payment of money which, at the time of issuance. he intends shall not be paid, is
guilty of a misdemeanor. In addition, restitution may be ordered by the court.

Subd. 3. Proof of intent. Any of the following is evidence sufficient to
sustain a finding that the person at the time he issued the check or other order for
the payment of money, intended it should not be paid:

(1) Proof that, at the time of issuance, he did not have an account with the
drawee: or

(2) Proof that, at the time of issuance, he did not have sufficient funds or
credit with the drawee and that he failed to pay the check or other order within
five business days after mailing of notice of nonpayment or dishonor as provided
in this subdivision; or

(3) Proof that, when presentment was made within a reasonable time, the
issuer did not have sufficient funds or credit with the drawee and that he failed to
pay the check or other order within five business days after mailing of notice of
nonpayment or dishonor as provided in this subdivision.
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Notice of nonpayment or dishonor shall be sent by the payee or holder of the
check to the maker or drawer by certified mail, return receipt requested, or by
regular mail, supported by an affidavit of service by mailing, to the address printed
on the check. Refusal by the maker or drawer of the check to accept certified
mail notice or failure to claim certified or regular mail notice shall not constitute a
defense that notice was not received.

The notice may state that unless the check is paid in full within five business
days after mailing of the notice of non-payment or dishonor, the payee or holder
of the check or other order for the payment of money will or may refer the matter
to proper authorities for prosecution under this section.

An affidavit of service by mailing shall be retained by the payee or holder of
the check.

Subd. 4. Proof of lack of funds or credit. If the check or other order for the
payment of money has been protested, the notice of protest thereof is admissible
as proof of presentation, nonpayment, and protest, and is evidence sufficient to
sustain a finding that there was a lack of funds or credit with the drawee.

Subd. 5. Exceptions. This section does not apply to a postdated check or to
a check given for a past consideration, except a payroll check or a check issued to
a fund for employee benefits.

Subd. 6. Release of account information to law enforcement authorities. A
drawee shall not be liable in a civil or criminal proceeding for releasing the
information specified below to any state, county, or local law enforcement or
prosecuting authority which first certifies in writing that it is investigating or
prosecuting a complaint against the drawer under this section or section 609.52,
subdivision 2, clause (3)(a), and that 15 days have elapsed since the mailing of the
notice required by subdivision 3. This subdivision applies to the following
information relating to the drawer’s account:

(1) Documents relating to the opening of the account by the drawer;

(2) Correspondence between the drawer and the drawee relating to the status
of the account;

(3) Periodic statements mailed to the drawer by the drawee for the periods
immediately prior to, during, and subsequent to the issuance of any check or other
order for the payment of money which is the subject of the investigation or
prosecution; or

(4) The last known home and business addresses and telephone numbers of
the drawer.

Subd. 7. Release of account information to payee or holder. If there is a
written request to a drawee from a payee or holder of a check or other order for
the payment of money that has been dishonored other than by a stop payment
order, which request is accompanied by a copy of the dishonored check or other
order for payment of money, the drawee is not liable in a civil or criminal
proceeding for releasing to the payee or holder any of the following information
relating to the drawer’s account:

(1) Whether at the time the check or other order for payment of money was
issued or presented for payment the drawer had sufficient funds or credit with the
drawee, and whether at that time the account was open, closed or restricted for
any reason and the date it was closed or restricted; and

(2) The last known home and business addresses and telephone numbers of
the drawer.

Subd. 8. Notice. The provisions of subdivisions 6 and 7 are not applicable
unless the notice to the maker or drawer required by subdivision 3 states that if the
check or other order for the payment of money is not paid in full within five
business days after mailing of the notice, the drawee may release information
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relating to the account to the payee or holder of the check or other order for the
payment of money.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.535; 1967 ¢ 466 s 1; 1971 ¢ 23 s 56; 1974 ¢
106 s 1.2; 1981 ¢ 202 s 1; 1981 ¢ 247 s 1-3

609.54 EMBEZZLEMENT OF PUBLIC FUNDS.

Whoever does an act which constitutes embezzlement under the provisions of
Minnesota Constitution, Article XI, Section 13 may be sentenced as follows:

(1) If the value of the funds so embezzled is $2,500, or less, to imprisonment
for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or
both; or

(2) If such value is more than $2,500, to imprisonment for not more than ten
years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.54; 1976 ¢ 2 s 172

609.545 MISUSING CREDIT CARD TO SECURE SERVICES.

Whoever obtains the services of another by the intentional unauthorized use
of a credit card issued or purporting to be issued by an organization for use as
identification in purchasing services is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.545; 1971 ¢ 23 s 57

609.55 UNAUTHORIZED USE OF MOTOR VEHICLE.

Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purposes of this section, “motor vehicle”
means any self-propelled device for moving persons or property or pulling
implements from one place to another, whether such device is operated on land,
rails, water, or in the air.

Subd. 2. Acts constituting. Whoever intentionally takes or drives a motor
vehicle without the consent of the owner or his authorized agent may be sentenced
to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fme of not more
than $3,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.55; 1969 c 241 s |

609.551 RUSTLING AND LIVESTOCK THEFT; PENALTIES.

Subdivision 1. Whoever intentionally and without claim of right shoots,
kills, takes, uses, transfers, conceals or retains possession of live cattle. swine or
sheep or the carcasses thereof belonging to another without his consent and with
the intent to permanently deprive the owner thereof may be sentenced as follows:

(a) If the value of the animals which are shot, killed, taken, used, transferred,
concealed or retained exceeds $2,500, the defendant may be sentenced to impris-
onment for not more than ten years, and may be fined up to $10,000:

(b) If the value of the animals which are shot, killed, taken, used, transferred,
concealed or retained exceeds $300 but is less than $2.500, the defendant may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years, and may be fined up to
$5.000:

(c) If the value of the animals which are shot, killed, taken, used, transferred,
concealed, or retained is $300 or less, the defendant may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than
$300 or both.

Subd. 2. Whoever knowingly buys, sells, transports or otherwise handles
cattle, swine or sheep illegally acquired under subdivision | or knowingly aids or
abets another in the violation of subdivision 1 shall be sentenced as in subdivision
1, clauses (a), (b), and (c).
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Subd. 3. In any prosecution under this section the value of the animals
which are shot, killed, taken, used, transferred, concealed, or retained within any
six month period may be aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in
applying the provisions of this section.

Subd. 4. Any person who has been injured by violation of this section may
bring an action for three times the amount of actual damages sustained by the
plaintiff, costs of suit and reasonable attorney’s fees.

History: 1975 ¢ 314 s 2; 1977 c 355s 8

DAMAGE OR TRESPASS TO PROPERTY
609.555 [Repealed, 1976 ¢ 124 s 10]

609.556 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. For the purposes of sections 609.556 to 609.576 and 609.611,
the terms defined in this section have the meanings given them.

Subd. 2. *“Property of another” means a building or other property, whether
real or personal, in which a person other than the accused has an interest which
the accused has no authority to defeat or impair even though the accused may also
have an interest in the building or property.

~ Subd. 3. “Building” in addition to its ordinary meaning includes any tent,
watercraft, structure or vehicle that is customarily used for overnight lodging of a
person or persons. If a building consists of two or more units separately secured
or occupied, each unit shall be deemed a separate building,

History: 1976 c 124 s 3; 1977 ¢ 347 s 63
609.56 [Repealed, 1976 c 124 s 10]

609.561 ARSON IN THE FIRST DEGREE.

Subdivision 1. Whoever unlawfully by means of fire or explosives, intention-
ally destroys or damages any building that is used as a dwelling at the time the act
is committed, whether the inhabitant is present therein at the time of the act or
not, or any building appurtenant to or connected with a dwelling whether the
property of himself or of another, commits arson in the first degree and may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to a fine of not more
than $20,000, or both.

Subd. 2. Whoever unlawfully by means of fire or explosives, intentionally
destroys or damages any building not included in subdivision 1, whether the
property of himself or another commits arson in the first degree and may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to a fine of not more
than $20,000, or both if:

(a) Another person who is not a participant in the crime is present in the
building at the time and the defendant knows that; or

(b) The circumstances are such as to render the presence of such a person
therein a reasonable possibility.

History: 1976 ¢ 124 s 4

609.562 ARSON IN THE SECOND DEGREE.

Whoever unlawfully by means of fire or explosives, intentionally destroys or
damages any building not covered by section 609.561, or any other real or
personal property valued at more than $2,500, whether the property of himself or
another, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to a
fine of not more than $10,000 or both.

History: 1976 ¢ 124 s 5; 1979 ¢ 258 s 16
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609.563 ARSON IN THE THIRD DEGREE.

Subdivision 1. Whoever unlawfully by means of fire or explosives, intention-
ally destroys or damages any real or personal property belonging to another may
be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to a fine of $5,000 or
both, if:

(a) The property intended by the accused to be damaged or destroyed had a
value of more than $300 but less than $2,500; or

(b) Property of the value of $300 or more was unintentionally damaged or
destroyed but such damage or destruction could reasonably have been foreseen;
or

(c) The property specified in clauses (a) and (b) in the aggregate had a value
of $300 or more.

Subd. 2. In all other cases whoever intentionally by means of fire or
explosives sets fire to or burns or causes to be burned any real or personal
property of value belonging to another may be sentenced to imprisonment for not
more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than $300.

History: 1976 ¢ 124 5 6; 1977 ¢ 355s 9; 1979 ¢ 258 s 17

609.565 [Repealed, 1976 ¢ 124 s 10]
609.57 [Repealed, 1976 ¢ 124 s 10]
609.575 [Repealed, 1976 ¢ 124 s 10]

609.576 NEGLIGENT FIRES.

Whoever is culpably negligent in causing a fire to burn or get out of control
thereby causing damage or injury to another, and as a result thereof:

(a) A human being is injured and great bodily harm incurred. is guilty of a
- crime and may be sentenced to imprisonment of not more than three years or to a
fine of not more than $3,000, or both; or

(b) Property of another is injured, thereby, is guilty of a crime and may be
sentenced as follows:

(1) To imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not
more than 3750, or both, if the value of the property damage is under $300:

(2) To imprisonment for not more than one year, or to a fine of $1,000 or
both, if the value of the property damaged is at least $300 and under $2,500;

(3) To imprisonment for not less than 90 days nor more than one year, or to a
fine of $1,000, or both, if the value of the property damaged is at least $2,500 and
under $10,000;

(4) To imprisonment for not less than 90 days nor more than three years or to
a fine of $3,000 or both, if value of property damaged is at least $10.000.

History: 1976 ¢ 124 s 7; 1977 ¢ 355 s 10; 1981 ¢ 107 s 1

609.58 BURGLARY.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purposes of this section:

(1) Whoever enters a building while open to the general public does so with
consent except when, prior thereto, consent was expressly withdrawn.

(2) “Building” includes a dwelling or other structure suitable for affording
shelter for human beings or appurtenant to or connected with a structure so
adapted, and includes portions of such structure as are separately occupied.

Subd. 2. Acts constituting. Whoever enters a building without the consent
of the person in lawful possession, or whoever enters a building by using artifice,
trick, or misrepresentation to obtain consent to enter from the person in lawful
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possession, with intent to commit a crime in it, or whoever remains within a
building without the consent of the person in lawful authority, with intent to
commit a crime in it, commits burglary and may be sentenced as follows:

(1) To imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $20.000, or both, if:

(a) When entering or while in the building, he possesses an explosive or tool
to gain access to money or property; or

(b) The building entered is a dwelling and he possesses a dangerous weapon
when entering or while in the building or he commits an assault upon a person
present in it; or

(c) The portion of the building entered contains a banking business or other
business of receiving securities or other valuable papers for deposit or safekeeping,
the entry is with force or threat of force, the intent is to steal or commit a felony in
1.

(2) To imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $10,000, or both, if the building entered is a dwelling and another
person not an accomplice is present in it.

(3) In any other case, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to
payment of a fine of not more than $5.000, or both, if the intent is to steal or
commit a felony or gross misdemeanor or to imprisonment for not more than one
year or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both, if the intent is to
commit a misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art | s 609.58;: 1969 c 140 s 1; 1982 ¢ 613 s §

609.585 DOUBLE JEOPARDY.
A prosecution for or conviction of the crime of burglary is not a bar to

conviction of any other crime committed on entering or while in the building
entered.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.585

609.59 POSSESSION OF BURGLARY TOOLS.

Whoever has in his possession any device, explosive, or other instrumentality
with intent to use or permit the use of the same to commit burglary may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine
of not more than $3.000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.59

609.595 DAMAGE TO PROPERTY.

Subdivision 1. Aggravated criminal damage to property. Whoever intention-
ally causes damage to physical property of another without the latter’s consent
may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a
fine of not more than $5,000, or both, if:

(1) The damage to the property caused a reasonably foreseeable risk of bodily
harm; or

(2) The property damaged belongs to a public utility or a common carrier and
the damage impairs the service to the public rendered by them: or

(3) The damage reduces the value of the property by more than $300
measured by the cost of repair or replacement, whichever is less.

In any prosecution under clause (3), the value of any property damaged by
the defendant in violation of that clause within any six month period may be
aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying the provisions of
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this section; provided that when two or more offenses are committed by the same
person in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted in any county in
which one of the offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregated under
this paragraph.

Subd. 2. Criminal damage to property. Whoever intentionally so causes
such damage under any other circumstances is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.595; 1971 ¢ 235 60; 1977 ¢ 355s 11; 1979 ¢
258 s 18

609.60 DANGEROUS TRESPASSES AND OTHER ACTS.

Whoever intentionally does any of the following is guilty of a misdemeanor;
except, if to his knowledge a risk of death or bodily harm or serious property
damage is thereby created, he may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more
than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both:

(1) Smokes in the presence of explosives or inflammable materials; or

(2) Interferes with or obstructs the prevention or extinguishing of any fire, or
disobeys the lawful orders of a law enforcement officer or firefighter present at the
fire: or '

(3) Shows a false light or signal or interferes with any light, signal, or sign
controlling or guiding traffic upon a highway, railway track, navigable waters, or
in the air; or

(4) Places an obstruction upon a railroad track;: or

(5) Exposes another or his property to an obnoxious or harmful gas, fluid or
substance, with intent to injure. molest, or coerce; or

(6) Without authorization of the adjutant general enters or is present upon the
Camp Ripley military reservation in an area posted by order of the adjutant
general as restricted for weapon firing or other hazardous military activity.

History: 1963 c 753 art 1 s 609.60; 1971 ¢ 23 s 61; 1977 ¢ 429 s 63: 1982 ¢
408 s 1

609.605 TRESPASSES AND OTHER ACTS.

Whoever intentionally does any of the following is guilty of a misdemeanor:

(1) Smokes in a building, area, or common carrier in which “no smoking”
notices have been prominently posted, or when requested not to by the operator of
the common carrier; or

(2) Trespasses or permits animals under his control to trespass upon a railroad
track; or

(3) Permits domestic animals or fowls under his control to go upon the lands
of another within a city; or

(4) Interferes unlawfully with any monument, sign, or pointer erected or
marked to designate a point of a boundary, line or a political subdivision, or of a
tract of land; or

(5) Trespasses upon the premises of another and, without claim of right,
refuses to depart therefrom on demand of the lawful possessor thereof; or

(6) Occupies or enters the dwelling of another, without claim of right or
consent of the owner or the consent of one who has the right to give consent,
except in an emergency situation. As used in this clause, “dwelling” means the
building or part of the building used by an individual as a place of residence on
either a full-time or a part-time basis. The dwelling may be part of a multi-dwell-
ing or multi-purpose building, or a manufactured home as defined in section
168.011, subdivision 8; or
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(7) Enters the premises of another with intent to take or injure any fruit, fruit
trees, or vegetables growing thereon without the permission of the owner or
occupant; or

(8) Refuses the request of the operator of a public conveyance to either pay
the required fare or leave the conveyance; or

(9) Takes any animal on a public conveyance without the consent of the
operator; or

(10) Without the permission of the owner, tampers with or gets into or upon a
motor vehicle as defined in section 609.55, subdivision 1, or rides in or upon such
motor vehicle knowing it was taken and is being driven by another without the
permission of the owner; or

(11) Enters or is found upon the premises of a public or private cemetery
without authorization during hours the cemetery is posted as closed to the public;
or

(12) Without authorization of the adjutant general enters or is present upon
the Camp Ripley military reservation.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.605; 1971 ¢ 23 5 62: 1973 c 123 art 55 7;
1976 ¢ 251 s 1;: 1978 ¢ 512 s 1; 1981 ¢ 3655 9; 1982 ¢ 408 s 2

609.61 [Repealed, 1976 ¢ 124 s 10]

609.611 DEFRAUDING INSURER.

Whoever with intent to injure or defraud an insurer, damages any property
real or personal, whether his own or that of another, which is at the time insured
by any person, firm or corporation against loss or damage: _

(a) May be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to
payment of fine of not more than $3,000, or both if the value insured for is less
than $20,000; or

(b) May be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to
payment of fine of not more than $5,000, or both if the value insured for is $20,000
or greater;

(c) Proof that the actor recovered or attempted to recover on a policy of
insurance by reason of the fire is relevant but not essential to establish his intent to
defraud the insurer.

History: 1976 ¢ 124 s 8

609.615 DEFEATING SECURITY ON REALTY.

Whoever removes or damages real property which is subject to a mortgage,
mechanic’s lien, or contract for deed, with intent to impair the value of the
security, without the consent of the security holder, may be sentenced as follows:

(1) If the value of the property is impaired by $300 or less, to imprisonment
for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than $300, or both;
or

(2) If the value of the property is impaired by more than $300, to imprison-
ment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5.000,
or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.615; 1971 ¢ 23 s 63; 1977 ¢ 355 s 12

609.62 DEFEATING SECURITY ON PERSONALTY.

Subdivision 1. Definition. In this section “security interest” means an
interest in property which secures payment or other performance of an obligation.
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Subd. 2. Acts constituting. Whoever, with intent to defraud, does any of the
following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two years or to
payment of a fine of not more than $2,000, or both:

(1) Conceals, removes, or transfers any personal property in which he knows
that another has a security interest; or

(2) Being an obligor and knowing the location of the property refuses to
disclose the same to an obligee entitled to possession thereof.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.62

609.621 PROOF OF CONCEALMENT OF PROPERTY BY OBLIGOR OF
SECURED PROPERTY. '

Subdivision 1. When in any prosecution under section 609.62, it appears
that there is a default in the payment of the debts secured and it further appears
that the obligor has failed or refused to reveal the location of the security, this
shall be considered sufficient evidence to sustain a finding that the obligor has
removed, concealed, or disposed of the property.

Subd. 2. In any prosecution under section 609.62, it is a sufficient allegation
and description of the security and the property secured to state generally that
such property was duly mortgaged or sold under a conditional sales contract, or as
the case may be, giving the date thereof and the names of the obligor and obligee.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 2 s 15

FORGERY AND RELATED CRIMES

609.625 AGGRAVATED FORGERY.

Subdivision 1. Making or altering writing or object. Whoever, with intent to
defraud, falsely makes or alters a writing or object of any of the following kinds so
that it purports to have been made by another or by himself under an assumed or
fictitious name, or at another time, or with different provisions, or by authority of
one who did not give such authority, is guilty of aggravated forgery and may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $10,000, or both:

(1) A writing or object whereby, when genuine, legal rights, privileges, or
obligations are created, terminated, transferred, or evidenced, or any writing
normally relied upon as evidence of debt or property rights; or

(2) An official seal or the seal of a corporation; or

(3) A public record or an official authentication or certification of a copy
thereof; or

(4) An official return or certificate entitled to be received as evidence of its
contents; or

(5) A court order, judgment, decree, or process: or

(6) The records or accounts of a public body, office, or officer; or

(7) The records or accounts of a bank or person, with whom funds of the state
or any of its agencies or subdivisions are deposited or entrusted, relating to such
funds.

Subd. 2. Means for false reproduction. Whoever, with intent to defraud,
makes, engraves, possesses or transfers a plate or instrument for the false repro-
duction of a writing or object mentioned in subdivision 1 may be sentenced as
provided in subdivision 1.

Subd. 3. Uttering or possessing. Whoever, with intent to defraud, utters or
possesses with intent to utter any forged writing or object mentioned in subdivi-
sion 1, knowing it to have been so forged, may be sentenced as provided in
subdivision 1.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.625
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609.63 FORGERY.

Subdivision 1. Whoever., with intent to injure or defraud, does any of the
following is guilty of forgery and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more
than three years or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both:

(1) Uses a false writing, knowing it to be false, for the purpose of identifica-
tion or recommendation; or

(2) Without consent, places, or possesses with intent to place, upon any
merchandise an identifying label or stamp which is or purports to be that of
another craftsman, tradesman, packer, or manufacturer, or disposes or possesses
with intent to dispose of any merchandise so labeled or stamped; or

(3) Falsely makes or alters a membership card purporting to be that of a
fraternal, business, professional, or other association, or of any labor union, or
possesses any such card knowing it to have been thus falsely made or altered: or

(4) Falsely makes or alters a writing, or possesses a falsely made or altered
writing, evidencing a right to transportation on a common carrier; or

(5) Destroys, mutilates, or by alteration, false entry or omission, falsifies any
record, account, or other document relating to a private business; or

(6) Without authority of law, destroys, mutilates, or by alteration, false entry,
or omission, falsifies any record, account, or other document relating to a person,
corporation, or business, or filed in the office of, or deposited with, any public
office or officer; or

(7) Destroys a writing or object to prevent it from being produced at a trial,
hearing, or other proceeding authorized by law.

Subd. 2. Whoever, with knowledge that it is forged, offers in evidence in
any trial, hearing or other proceedings authorized by law, as genuine, any forged
writing or object may be sentenced as follows:

(1) If the writing or object is offered in evidence in the trial of a felony charge,
to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more
than $5,000, or both: or

(2) In all other cases, to imprisonment for not more than three years or to
payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.63

609.635 OBTAINING SIGNATURE BY FALSE PRETENSE.

Whoever. by false pretense, obtains the signature of another to a writing
which is a subject of forgery under section 609.625, subdivision 1, may be
punished as therein provided.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.635

609.64 RECORDING, FILING OF FORGED INSTRUMENT.

Whoever intentionally presents for filing, registering, or recording. or files,
registers, or records a false or forged instrument relating to or affecting real or
personal property in a public office entitled to file, register, or record such
instrument when genuine may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than
three years or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.64

609.645 FRAUDULENT STATEMENTS.

Whoever, with intent to injure or defraud, does any of the following may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine
of not more than $3,000, or both:
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(1) Circulates or publishes a false statement, oral or written, relating to a
corporation, association, or individual, intending thereby to give a false apparent
value to securities issued or to be issued by, or to the property of, such
corporation, association, or individual; or

(2) Makes a false ship’s or airplane’s manifest, invoice, register, or protest.
History: 1963 ¢ 753 art | s 609.645

609.65 FALSE CERTIFICATION BY NOTARY PUBLIC.

Whoever, when acting or purporting to act as a notary public or other public
officer, certifies falsely that an instrument has been acknowledged or that any
other act was performed by a party appearing before him or that as such notary
public or other public officer he performed any other official act may be sentenced
as follows:

(1) If he so certifies with intent to injure or defraud, to imprisonment for not
more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both;
or

(2) In any other case, to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to
payment of a fine of not more than $300, or both. '

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.65; 1971 ¢ 23 s 64
609.655 [Repealed, 1976 ¢ 112 s 2]

CRIMES AGAINST PUBLIC
SAFETY AND HEALTH

609.66 DANGEROUS WEAPONS.

Subdivision 1. Acts prohibited. Whoever does any of the following is guilty
of a misdemeanor:

(1) Recklessly handles or uses a gun or other dangerous weapon or explosive
so as to endanger the safety of another: or

(2) Intentionally points a gun of any kind, capable of injuring or killing a
human being and whether loaded or unloaded. at or toward another; or

(3) Manufactures or sells for any unlawful purpose any weapon known as a
slung-shot or sand club; or _

(4) Manufactures, transfers, or possesses metal knuckles or a switch blade
knife opening automatically: or

(5) Possesses any other dangerous article or substance for the purpose of
being used unlawfully as a weapon against another: or

(6) Sells or has in his possession any device designed to silence or muffle the
discharge of a firearm; or

(7) Without the parent’s or guardian’s consent, furnishes a child under 14
years of age, or as a parent or guardian permits such child to handle or use,
outside of the parent’s or guardian’s presence, a firearm or airgun of any kind, or
any ammunition or explosive: or

(8) In any municipality of this state, furnishes a minor under 18 years of age
with a firearm, airgun, ammunition, or explosive without the written consent of his
parent or guardian or of the police department or magistrate of such municipality.

Subd. 2. Exceptions. Nothing in this section prohibits the possession of the
articles mentioned by museums or collectors of art or for other lawful purposes of
public exhibition.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.66; 1971 ¢ 23 s 66
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609.665 SPRING GUNS.

Whoever sets a spring gun, pitfall, deadfall, snare, or other like dangerous
weapon or device, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than six
months or to payment of a fine of not more than $500, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.665

609.67 MACHINE GUNS AND SHORT-BARRELED SHOTGUNS.

Subdivision 1. Definition. (a) “Machine gun” means any firearm designed
to discharge. or capable of discharging automatically more than once by a single
function of the trigger.

(b) “Shotgun™ means a weapon designed, redesigned. made or remade which
is intended to be fired from the shoulder and uses the energy of the explosive in a
fixed shotgun shell to fire through a smooth bore either a number of ball shot or a
single projectile for each single pull of the trigger.

(c) “Short-barreled shotgun™ means a shotgun having one or more barrels less
than 18 inches in length and any weapon made from a shotgun if such weapon as
modified has an overall length less than 26 inches.

Subd. 2. Acts prohibited. Except as otherwise provided herein, whoever
owns, possesses, or operates a machine gun or a short-barreled shotgun may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $5.000. or both.

Subd. 3. Uses permitted. The following persons may own or possess a
machine gun or short-barreled shotgun provided the provisions of subdivision 4
are complied with:

(1) Law enforcement officers for use in the course of their duties;

(2) Chief executive officers of correctional facilities and other personnel
thereof authorized by them and persons in charge of other institutions for the
retention of persons convicted or accused of crime, for use in the course of their
duties; and

(3) Persons possessing machine guns or short-barreled shotguns which. al-
though designed as weapons, have been determined by the superintendent of the
bureau of criminal apprehension or his delegate by reason of the date of
manufacture, value, design or other characteristics to be primarily collector’s items,
relics, museum pieces or objects of curiosity, ornaments or keepsakes, and are not
likely to be used as weapons.

Subd. 4. Report required. A person owning or possessing a machine gun or
short-barreled shotgun as authorized by subdivision 3 shall, within ten days after
acquiring such ownership or possession, file a written report with the bureau of
criminal apprehension, showing his name and address; his official title and
position, if any; a description of the machine gun or short-barreled shotgun
sufficient to enable identification thereof; the purpose for which it is owned or
possessed; and such further information as the bureau may reasonably require.

Subd. S. Exceptions. This section does not apply to members of the armed
services of either the United States or the state of Minnesota for use in the course
of their duties.

Subd. 6. Preemption. Laws 1977, Chapter 255, supersedes all local ordi-
nances, rules and regulations.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.67: 1977 ¢ 255 s 1.2: 1979 ¢ 102 s 13

609.675 EXPOSURE OF UNUSED REFRIGERATOR OR CONTAINER TO
CHILDREN.

Whoever. being the owner or in possession or control. permits an unused
refrigerator or other container, sufficiently large to retain any child and with doors
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which fasten automatically when closed, to be exposed and accessible to children,
without removing the doors, lids, hinges, or latches, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.675; 1971 ¢ 23 s 67

609.68 UNLAWFUL DEPOSIT OF GARBAGE, LITTER OR LIKE.

Whoever unlawfully deposits garbage, rubbish, offal, or the body of a dead
animal, or other litter in or upon any public highway, public waters or the ice
thereon, public lands, or, without the consent of the owner, private lands or water
or ice thereon, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.68; 1971 c 23 s 68

609.685 SALE OF TOBACCO TO CHILDREN.

Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purposes of this section, “tobacco related
devices” means cigarette papers or pipes for smoking.

Subd. 2. Crime. Whoever furnishes tobacco or tobacco related devices to a
person under the age of 18 years is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Subd. 3. Petty misdemeanor. Whoever uses tobacco or tobacco related
devices and is under the age of 18 years is guilty of a petty misdemeanor.

Subd. 4. Effect on local ordinances. Nothing in subdivisions 1 to 3 shall
supersede or preclude the continuation or adoption of any local ordinance which
provides for more stringent regulation of the subject matter in subdivisions 1 to 3.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.685; 1981 ¢ 218 5 1,2

609.686 FALSE FIRE ALARMS; TAMPERING WITH OR INJURING A
FIRE ALARM SYSTEM.

Whoever intentionally gives a false alarm of fire, or unlawfully tampers or
interferes with any station or signal box of any fire alarm system or any auxiliary
fire appliance, or unlawfully breaks, injures, defaces, or removes any such box or
station, or unlawfully breaks, injures, destroys, or disturbs any of the wires, poles,
or other supports and appliances connected with or forming a part of any fire
alarm system or any auxiliary fire appliance is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1971 c 77 s 1

PUBLIC MISCONDUCT OR NUISANCE

609.705 UNLAWFUL ASSEMBLY.

When three or more persons assemble, each participant is guilty of unlawful
assembly, which is a misdemeanor, if the assembly is: '

(1) With intent to commit any unlawful act by force; or

(2) With intent to carry out any purpose in such manner as will disturb or
threaten the public peace; or

(3) Without unlawful purpose, but the participants so conduct themselves in a
disorderly manner as to disturb or threaten the public peace.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.705; 1971 ¢ 23 s 69

609.71 RIOT.

When three or more persons assembled disturb the public peace by an
intentional act or threat of unlawful force or violence to person or property. each
participant therein is guilty of riot and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not
more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both, or, if
the offender, or to his knowledge any other participant, is armed with a dangerous
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weapon or is disguised, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to
payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.71

609.713 TERRORISTIC THREATS.

Subdivision 1. Whoever threatens to commit any crime of violence with
purpose to terrorize another or to cause evacuation of a building, place of
assembly or facility of public transportation or otherwise to cause serious public
inconvenience, or in a reckless disregard of the risk of causing such terror or
inconvenience may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years.

Subd. 2. Whoever communicates to another with purpose to terrorize anoth-
er or in reckless disregard of the risk of causing such terror, that explosives or an
explosive device or any incendiary device is present at a named place or location,
whether or not the same is in fact present, may be sentenced to imprisonment for
not more than three years.

History: 1971 ¢ 845 s 19

609.715 PRESENCE AT UNLAWFUL ASSEMBLY.

Whoever without lawful purpose is present at the place of an unlawful
assembly and refuses to leave when so directed by a law enforcement officer is
guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.715; 1971 ¢ 23 s 70

609.72 DISORDERLY CONDUCT.

Subdivision 1. Whoever does any of the following in a public or private
place, knowing, or having reasonable grounds to know that it will, or will tend to,
alarm, anger or disturb others or provoke an assault or breach of the peace, is
guilty of disorderly conduct, which is a misdemeanor:

(1) Engages in brawling or fighting: or
(2) Disturbs an assembly or meeting, not unlawful in its character; or

(3) Engages in offensive, obscene, or abusive language or in boisterous and
noisy conduct tending reasonably to arouse alarm, anger, or resentment in others.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1969 ¢ 226 s 1]
History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.72; 1967 ¢ 242 s 1; 1971 ¢ 23 s 71

609.725 VAGRANCY.

Any of the following are vagrants and are guilty of a misdemeanor:

(1) A person, with ability. to work, who is without lawful means of support,
does not seek employment, and is not under 18 years of age; or

(2) A person found in or loitering near any structure, vehicle, or private
grounds who is there without the consent of the owner and is unable to account
for his presence; or

(3) A prostitute who loiters on the streets or in a public place or in a place
open to the public with intent to solicit for immoral purposes; or

(4) A person who derives his support in whole or in part from begging or as a
fortune teller or similar impostor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.725; 1971 ¢ 235 72
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609.735 CONCEALING IDENTITY.

Whoever conceals his identity in a public place by means of a robe, mask, or
other disguise, unless incidental to amusement or entertainment, is guilty of a
misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.735; 1971 ¢ 23 s 73

609.74 PUBLIC NUISANCE.

Whoever by his act or failure to perform a legal duty intentionally does any of
the following is guilty of maintaining a public nuisance, which is a misdemeanor:

(1) Maintains or permits a condition which unreasonably annoys, injures or
endangers the safety, health, morals, comfort, or repose of any considerable
number of members of the public: or

(2) Interferes with, obstructs, or renders dangerous for passage, any public
highway or right-of-way, or waters used by the public; or

(3) Is guilty of any other act or omission declared by law to be a public
nuisance and for which no sentence is specifically provided.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.74; 1971 ¢ 23 s 74

609.745 PERMITTING PUBLIC NUISANCE.

Whoever permits real property under his control to be used to maintain a
public nuisance or lets the same knowing it will be so used is guilty of a
misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.745; 1971 ¢ 23 s 75

609.746 INTERFERENCE WITH PRIVACY.

Any person who enters upon another’s property and surreptitiously gazes,
stares, or peeps in the window of a house or place of dwelling of another with
intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of a member of the household
thereof is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1979 c 258 s 19

GAMBLING

609.75 GAMBLING; DEFINITIONS,

Subdivision 1. Lottery. A lottery is a plan which provides for the distribu-
tion of money, property or other reward or benefit to persons selected by chance
from among participants some or all of whom have given a consideration for the
chance of being selected. Except as provided by section 349.40, acts in this state
in furtherance of a lottery conducted outside of this state are included notwith-
standing its validity where conducted.

Subd. 2. Bet. A bet is a bargain whereby the parties mutually agree to a
gain or loss by one to the other of specified money, property or benefit dependent
upon chance although the chance is accompanied by some element of skill.

Subd. 3. What are not bets. The following are not bets:

(I) A contract to insure, indemnify, guarantee or otherwise compensate
another for a harm or loss sustained, even though the loss depends upon chance.

(2) A contract for the purchase or sale at a future date of securities or other
commodities.

(3) Offers of purses, prizes or premiums to the actual contestants in any bona
fide contest for the determination of skill, speed, strength. endurance, or quality or
to the bona fide owners of animals or other property entered in such a contest.
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(4) The game of bingo when conducted in compliance with sections 349.11 to
349.23.

(5) A private social bet not part of or incidental to organized, commercialized,
or systematic gambling.

(6) The operation of a gambling device or the conduct of a raffle as defined in
section 349.26, by an organization licensed for such operation by a local unit of
government pursuant to section 349.26.

Subd. 4. Gambling device. A gambling device is a contrivance which for a
consideration affords the player an opportunity to obtain something of value,
other than free plays, automatically from the machine or otherwise, the award of
which is determined principally by chance.

Subd. 5. Gambling place. A gambling place is a location or structure,
stationary or movable, or any part thereof, wherein, as one of its uses, betting is
permitted or promoted, a lottery is conducted or assisted or a gambling device is
operated.

Subd. 6. Bucket shop. A bucket shop is a place wherein the operator is
engaged in making bets in the form of purchases or sales on public exchanges of
securities, commodities or other personal property for future delivery to be settled
at prices dependent on the chance of those prevailing at the public exchanges
without a bona fide purchase or sale being in fact made on a board of trade or
exchange.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.75; 1971 ¢ 947 s 1; 1976 ¢ 2 s 152; 1976 ¢
239 s 126; 1976 c 261 s 14; 1978 ¢ 507 s 4,5; 1981 ¢ 126 s 3

609.755 ACTS OF OR RELATING TO GAMBLING.

Whoever does any of the following is guilty of a misdemeanor:

(1) Makes a bet; or

(2) Sells or transfers a chance to participate in a lottery; or

(3) Disseminates information about a lottery with intent to encourage partici-
pation therein; or

(4) Permits a structure or location owned or occupied by him or under his
control to be used as a gambling place.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.755; 1971 ¢ 23 s 76

609.76 OTHER ACTS RELATING TO GAMBLING.

Whoever does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not
more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both:

(1) Maintains or operates a gambling place or operates a bucket shop; or

(2) Intentionally participates in the income of a gambling place or bucket
shop: or

(3) Conducts a lottery, or, with intent to conduct a lottery, possesses facilities
for doing so; or

(4) Sets up for use for the purpose of gambling, or collects the proceeds of,
any gambling device or bucket shop; or

(5) With intent that it shall be so used, manufactures, sells or offers for sale, in
whole or any part thereof, any gambling device including those defined in section
349.30, subdivision 2, and any facility for conducting a lottery, except as provided
by section 349.40; or

(6) Receives, records, or forwards bets or offers to bet or, with intent to
receive, record, or forward bets or offers to bet, possesses facilities to do so.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.76; 1981 c 126 s 4
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609.761 OPERATION PERMITTED.

Notwithstanding sections 609.755 and 609.76, a fraternal, religious, veterans
or other nonprofit organization may set up or operate a gambling device or
conduct a raffle as defined in section 349.26, if licensed by the local unit of
government and conducted pursuant to section 349.26, and a person may manu-
facture, sell or offer for sale a gambling device to the organization.

History: 1978 ¢ 507 s 6

CRIMES AGAINST REPUTATION

609.765 CRIMINAL DEFAMATION.

Subdivision 1. Definition. Defamatory matter is anything which exposes a
person or a group, class or association to hatred, contempt, ridicule, degradation
or disgrace in society, or injury to his or its business or occupation.

Subd. 2. Acts constituting. Whoever with knowledge of its defamatory
character orally, in writing or by any other means, communicates any defamatory
matter to a third person without the consent of the person defamed is guilty of
criminal defamation and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one
year or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.

Subd. 3. Justification. Violation of subdivision 2 is justified if:

(1) The defamatory matter is true and is communicated with good motives
and for justifiable ends; or

(2) The communication is absolutely privileged; or

(3) The communication consists of fair comment made in good faith with
respect to persons participating in matters of public concern; or

(4) The communication consists of a fair and true report or a fair summary of
any judicial, legislative or other public or official proceedings; or

(5) The communication is between persons each having an interest or duty
with respect to the subject matter of the communication and is made with intent to
further such interest or duty.

Subd. 4. Testimony required. No person shall be convicted on the basis of
an oral communication of defamatory matter except upon the testimony of at least
two other persons that they heard and understood the oral statement as defamato-
ry or upon a plea of guilty.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.765

NOTE: Sec section 588.20.

609.77 FALSE INFORMATION TO NEWS MEDIA.

Whoever, with intent that it be published or disseminated and that it defame
another person, communicates to any newspaper, magazine or other news media,
any statement, knowing it to be false, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.77; 1971 ¢ 23 s 77

CRIMES RELATING TO COMMUNICATIONS

609.774 EMERGENCY COMMUNICATIONS; KIDNAPPINGS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, “supervising
peace officer” means a person licensed pursuant to chapter 626, who has probable
cause to believe that a person is being unlawfully confined, and who has lawful
jurisdiction in the geographical area where the violation is believed to be occur-
ring,
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Subd. 2. Authority. A supervising peace officer may order a telephone
company to cut, reroute, or divert telephone lines for the purpose of establishing
and controlling communications with a violator.

Subd. 3. Designation. Each telephone company shall designate an employ-
ee to serve as a security official and to provide assistance as required by the
supervising peace officer to carry out the purposes of this section.

Subd. 4. Unauthorized communication prohibited. Whoever initiates tele-
phone communications with a violator with knowledge of an order issued pursuant
to subdivision 2 and without prior police authorization, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Subd. 5. Defense. Good faith reliance by telephone employees on an order
issued pursuant to subdivision 2 shall constitute a complete defense to any legal
action brought for an interruption of telephone communications occurring by
reason of this section.

History: 1979 c 63 s 1; 1979 c 289 s 2

609.775 DIVULGING TELEPHONE OR TELEGRAPH MESSAGE; NON-
DELIVERY.

Whoever does any of the following is guilty of a misdemeanor:

(1) Being entrusted as an employee of a telephone or telegraph company with
the transmission or delivery of a telephonic or telegraphic message, intentionally or
through culpable negligence discloses the contents or meaning thereof to a person
other than the intended receiver; or

(2) Knowing he is not the intended receiver, obtains such disclosure from such
employee: or .

(3) Being such employee, intentionally or negligently fails duly to deliver such
message.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.775; 1971 ¢ 235 78

609.78 EMERGENCY TELEPHONE CALLS.

Whoever does any of the following is guilty of a misdemeanor:

(1) Refuses to relinquish immediately a telephone line consisting of two or
more stations when informed that the line is needed at another station to make an
emergency call for medical or ambulance service or for assistance from a police or
fire department or for other service needed in an emergency to avoid serious harm
to person or property, and an emergency therefor in fact exists; or

(2) Secures a relinquishment of such telephone line by falsely stating that the
line is needed for an emergency: or

(3) Publishes telephone directories to be used for such lines which do not
contain a copy of this section.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.78; 1971 ¢ 23 s 79

609.785 FRAUDULENT LONG DISTANCE TELEPHONE CALLS.

Subdivision 1. Whoever obtains long distance telephone service by inten-
tionally charging the cost thereof to a false or non-existent telephone or credit card
number or to the telephone or credit card number of another without his authority
may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a
fine of not more than $300, or both, when the value of the telephone service
obtained is not more than $300; and by imprisonment for not more than five
years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both, if the value of the
telephone service obtained in a single transaction, or in separate transactions
within any six month period, is more than $300.
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Subd. 2. Whoever wilfully makes, assembles or possesses any electronic,
mechanical or other device having reason to know that it is intended to be used
and that its design renders it primarily useful to avoid payment of lawful charges
for long distance telecommunications services, in whole or in part, or whoever
sells, gives, or otherwise transfers to another, such a device, or offers or advertises
such a device for sale, or advertises or offers, for a monetary consideration, plans
or component parts for the purpose of making or assembling such a device, having
reason to know it is intended to be used unlawfully. or whoever, by use of such a
device, obtains or attempts to obtain long distance telecommunications services,
may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of
a fine of not more than $3,000, or both.

History: 1963 c 753 art 1 s 609.785; 1969 ¢ 175s 1; 1971 ¢ 23 s 80; 1977 ¢
14s1; 1977 ¢ 355s 13

609.79 OBSCENE OR HARASSING TELEPHONE CALLS.

Subdivision 1. Whoever,

(1) By means of a telephone,

(a) Makes any comment, request, suggestion or proposal which is obscene,
lewd, lascivious, filthy or indecent,

(b) Makes a telephone call, whether or not conversation ensues, without
disclosing his identity and with intent to annoy, abuse, threaten, or harass any
person at the called number,

(c) Makes or causes the telephone of another repeatedly or continuously to
ring, with intent to harass any person at the called number, or

(2) Knowingly permits any telephone under his control to be used for any
purpose prohibited by this section, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

Subd. 2. The offense may be prosecuted either at the place where the call is
made or where it is received.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.79; 1969 ¢ 174 s |

609.795 OPENING SEALED LETTER, TELEGRAM, OR PACKAGE.
Whoever does either of the following is guilty of a misdemeanor:

(1) Knowing that he does not have the consent of either the sender or the
addressee, intentionally opens any sealed letter, telegram, or package addressed to
another; or _

(2) Knowing that a sealed letter, telegram, or package has been opened
without the consent of either the sender or addressee, intentionally publishes any
of the contents thereof.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.795; 1971 ¢ 23 s 81

609.80 INTERFERING WITH CABLE COMMUNICATIONS SYSTEMS.

Whoever does any of the following is guilty of a misdemeanor:

(1) intentionally and with the purpose of making or aiding in an unauthorized
connection as defined in section 609.52, subdivision 2, clause (12) to a licensed
cable communications system as defined in chapter 238 sells, rents, lends, offers or
advertises for sale, rental or use, any instrument, apparatus, equipment, device or
plan, specification or instruction for making an unauthorized connection; or

(2) intentionally tampers with, removes or injures any cable, wire, or other
component of a licensed cable communications system as defined in chapter 238;
or

(3) intentionally and without claim of right interrupts a service of a licensed
cable communications system as defined in chapter 238.

History: 1977 ¢ 396 s 2
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CRIMES RELATING TO A BUSINESS

609.805 TICKET SCALPING.

Subdivision 1. Definition. “Event” means a theater performance or show,
circus, athletic contest or other entertainment or amusement to which the general
public is admitted.

Subd. 2. Acts constituting. Whoever intentionally does any of the following
is guilty of a misdemeanor:

(1) Issues or sells tickets to an event without printing thereon in a conspicuous
place the price of the ticket and the seat number, if any; or

(2) Charges for admission to an event a price greater than that advertised or
stated on tickets issued for the event; or

(3) Sells or offers to sell a ticket to an event at a price greater than that
charged at the place of admission or printed on the ticket; or

(4) Having received a ticket to an event under conditions restricting its
transfer, sells it in violation of such conditions; or

(5) Being in control of premises on or in which an event is conducted, permits
the sale or exhibition for sale on or in such premises of a ticket to the event at a
price greater than printed thereon. '

Subd. 3. Exception. The provisions of subdivisions 1 and 2 shall not
prohibit charging a fee for services rendered in connection with the sale of a ticket
to an event if the fee is permitted pursuant to a contract between the ticket seller
and the promoter of an event.

History: 1963 c¢ 753 art 1 s 609.805; 1971 ¢ 23 s 82; 1975 ¢ 427 s 1

609.81 MISCONDUCT OF PAWNBROKERS.
Whoever in his business as a pawnbroker does any of the following is guilty of
a misdemeanor:

(1) Lends money on a pledge at a rate of interest above that allowed by law;
or

(2) Has stolen goods in his possession and refuses to permit a law enforcement
officer to examine them during usual business hours; or
(3) Sells pledged goods before the time to redeem has expired; or

(4) Having sold pledged goods, refuses to disclose to the pledgor the name of
the purchaser or the price for which sold; or

(5) Makes a loan on a pledge to a person under lawful age, without the
written consent of his parent or guardian.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.81; 1971 ¢ 23 s 83

609.815 MISCONDUCT OF JUNK OR SECOND-HAND DEALER.

Whoever is a junk dealer or second-hand dealer and does any of the following
is guilty of a misdemeanor:

(1) Has stolen goods in his possession and refuses to permit a law enforcement
officer to examine them during usual business hours; or

(2) Purchases property from a person under lawful age, without the writien
consent of his parent or -guardian.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.815; 1971 ¢ 23 s 84

609.82 FRAUD IN OBTAINING CREDIT.

Whoever, with intent to defraud, obtains credit for himself or another from a
bank, trust company, savings or building and loan association, or credit union, by

Copyright © 1982 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



MINNESOTA STATUTES 1982

609.82 CRIMINAL CODE OF 1963 9116

means of a present or past false representation as to his or another’s financial
ability may be sentenced as follows:

(1) If no money or property is obtained by the defendant by means of such
credit, to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not
more than $300, or both; or

(2) If money or property is so obtained. the value thereof shall be determined
as provided in section 609.52, subdivision 1, clause (3) and he may be sentenced as
provided in section 609.52, subdivision 3.

History: 1963 c 753 art 1 s 609.82; 1971 ¢ 23 5 85

MISCELLANEOUS CRIMES

609.825 BRIBERY OF PARTICIPANT OR OFFICIAL IN CONTEST.

Subdivision 1. Definition. As used in this section, “official” means one who
umpires, referees, judges, officiates or is otherwise designated to render decisions
concerning the conduct or outcome of any contest included herein.

Subd. 2. Acts prohibited. Whoever does any of the following may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $5,000, or both:

(1) Offers, gives, or agrees to give, directly or indirectly, any benefii, reward or
consideration to a participant, manager, director, or other official, or to one who
intends to become such participant or official, in any sporting event, race or other
contest of any kind whatsoever with intent thereby to influence such participant
not to use his best effort to win or enable his team to win or to attain a maximum
score or margin of victory, or to influence such official in his decisions with
respect to such contest; or

(2) Requests, receives, or agrees to receive, directly or indirectly, any benefit,
reward or consideration upon the understanding that he will be so influenced as
such participant or official.

Subd. 3. Duty to report. Whoever is offered or promised such benefit,
reward or consideration upon the understanding that he will be so influenced as
such participant or official and fails promptly to report the same to his employer,
manager, coach, or director, or to a county attorney may be punished by
imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than
$1.000. or both.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.825

609.83 FALSELY IMPERSONATING ANOTHER.

Whoever does either of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for
not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both:

(1) Assumes to enter into a marriage relationship with another by falsely
impersonating a third person; or

(2) By falsely impersonating another with intent to defraud him or a third
person, appears, participates, or executes an instrument to be used in a judicial
proceeding.

History: 1963 ¢ 753 art 1 s 609.83

609.85 CRIMES AGAINST RAILROAD EMPLOYEES AND PROPERTY;
PENALTY.

(1) Whoever throws or deposits any type of debris or waste material on any
railroad track or whoever causes damage or causes another person to damage,
tamper, change or destroy any railroad track. switch, bridge, trestle, tunnel, signal
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or moving equipment used in providing rail services, with intention to cause injury,
accident or derailment, is guilty of a felony.

(2) Whoever intentionally throws or deposits any type of debris or waste
material on any railroad track or whoever intentionally causes damage or causes
another person to damage, tamper, change or destroy any railroad track, switch,
bridge, trestle, tunnel, signal or moving equipment used in providing rail services,
which creates a reasonably foreseeable risk of any injury, accident or derailment, is
guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

(3) Whoever intentionally shoots a firearm at any portion of a railroad train,
car, caboose, engine or moving equipment so as to endanger the safety of another
is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

(4) Whoever intentionally throws, shoots or propels any stone, brick or other
missile at any railroad train, car, caboose, engine or moving equipment, so as to
endanger the safety of another is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

History: 1977 ¢ 179 s 1

CRIMES AGAINST COMMERCE

609.86 COMMERCIAL BRIBERY.

Subdivision 1. Definition. “Corruptly” means that the actor intends the
action to injure or defraud:

(1) His employer or principal; or
(2) The employer or principal of the person to whom he offers, gives or agrees
to give the bribe or from whom he requests. receives or agrees to receive the bribe.

Subd. 2. Acts constituting. Whoever does any of the following, when not
consistent with usually accepted business practices, is guilty of commercial bribery
and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3:

(1) Corruptly offers, gives, or agrees to give, directly or indirectly, any benefit,
consideration, compensation, or reward to any employee, agent or fiduciary of a
person with the intent to influence the person’s performance of his duties as an
employee, agent, or fiduciary in relation to his employer’s or principal’s business;
or

(2) Being an employee, agent or fiduciary of a person, corruptly requests,
receives or agrees to receive, directly or indirectly, from another person any
benefit, consideration, compensation, or reward with the understanding or agree-
ment that he shall be influenced in the performance of his duties as an employee,
agent, or fiduciary in relation to his employer’s or principal’s business.

Subd. 3. Sentence. Whoever commits commercial bribery may be sen-
tenced as follows:

(1) To imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $3,000, or both, if the value of the benefit, consideration, compensa-
tion or reward is greater than $500;

(2) In all other cases where the value of the benefit, consideration, compensa-
tion or reward is $500 or less, to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to
payment of a fine of not more than $500; provided, however, in any prosecution
of the value of the benefit, consideration, compensation or reward received by the
defendant within any six month period may be aggregated and the defendant
charged accordingly in applying the provisions of this subdivision; provided that
when two or more offenses are committed by the same person in two or more
counties, the accused may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the
offenses was committed, or all of the offenses aggregated under this clause.

History: 1982 ¢ 442 s |
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609.87 COMPUTER CRIME; DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Applicability. For purposes of sections 609.87 to 609.89 the
terms defined in this section have the meanings given them.

Subd. 2. Access. “Access” means to instruct, communicate with, store data
in, or retrieve data from a computer, computer system, or computer network.

Subd. 3. Computer. “Computer” means an electronic device which per-
forms logical, arithmetic and memory functions by the manipulations of signals,
including but not limited to electronic or magnetic impulses.

Subd. 4. Computer system. ‘“‘Computer system™ means related. connected
or unconnected, computers and peripheral equipment.

Subd. 5. Computer network. *“Computer network™ means the interconnec-
tion of a communication system with a computer through a remote terminal. or
with two or more interconnected computers or computer systems.

Subd. 6. Property. “Property” includes, but is not limited to, electronically
processed or produced data and information contained in a computer or computer
software in either machine or human readable form.

Subd. 7. Services. *“‘Services™ includes but is not limited to, computer time,
data processing, and storage functions.

Subd. 8. Computer program. “Computer program” means an instruction or
statement or a series of instructions or statements, in a form acceptable to a
computer, which directs the functioning of a computer system in a manner
designed to provide appropriate products from the computer.

Subd. 9. Computer software. “Computer software™ means a computer pro-
gram or procedures, or associated documentation concerned with the operation of
a computer.

Subd. 10. Loss. “Loss” means the greatest of the following:

(a) the retail market value of the property or services involved;

(b) the reasonable repair or replacement cost, whichever is less; or

(c) the reasonable value of the damage created by the unavailability or lack of
utility of the property or services involved until repair or replacement can be
effected.

History: 1982 ¢ 534 s |

609.882 COMPUTER DAMAGE.

Subdivision 1. Acts. Whoever does any of the following is guilty of com-
puter damage and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 2:

(a) Intentionally and without authorization damages or destroys any comput-
er, computer system, computer network, computer software, or any other property
specifically defined in section 609.87, subdivision 6; or

(b) Intentionally and without authorization and with intent to injure or
defraud alters any computer, computer system, computer network, computer
software, or any other property specifically defined in section 609.87, subdivision
6. )

Subd. 2. Penalty. Whoever commits computer damage may be sentenced
as follows:

(a) To imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $50,000, or both, if the damage, destruction or alteration results in a
loss in excess of $2.500, to the owner, his agent, or lessee:

(b) To imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $5,000, or both, if the damage, destruction or alteration results in a
loss of more than $500, but not more than $2,500 to the owner, his agent or lessee;
or
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(c) In all other cases to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to
payment of a fine of not more than $500, or both.

History: 1982 ¢ 534 s 2

609.89 COMPUTER THEFT.

Subdivision 1. Acts. Whoever does any of the following is guilty of com-
puter theft and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 2:

(a) Intentionally and without authorization or claim of right accesses or
causes to be accessed any computer, computer system, computer network or any
part thereof for the purpose of obtaining services or property: or

(b) Intentionally and without claim of right, and with intent to permanently
deprive the owner of possession, takes, transfers, conceals or retains possession of
any computer, computer system, or any computer software or data contained in a
computer. computer system, or computer network.

Subd. 2. Penalty. Anyone who commits computer theft may be sentenced
as follows:

(a) To imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $50,000, or both, if the loss to the owner, his agent, or lessee is in
excess of $2,500; or

(b) To imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of
not more than $5,000, or both, if the loss to the owner, his agent, or lessee is more
than $500 but not more than $2.500; or

(c) In all other cases to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to
payment of a fine of not more than $500, or both.

History: 1982 ¢ 534 s 3
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