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CHAPTER 352E 

PEACE OFFICERS KILLED IN THE LINE OF 
DUTY 

352E.01 Definitions. 352E.04 Disbursements. 
352E.02 Peace officers benefit fund. 352E.045 Attorney's fees for claiming benefits. 
352E.03 Workers' compensation court of appeals. 

352E.01 DEFINITIONS. 
Subdivision 1. Terms. For the purposes of sections 352E.01 to 352E.045, 

the terms defined in this section have the meanings here given them. 
Subd. 2. Peace officer. "Peace officer" means: 
(a) A police officer employed by the state of Minnesota or any govern­

mental subdivision within the state to enforce the criminal laws; 
(b) A Minnesota highway patrol officer; 
(c) A sheriff or fulltime deputy sheriff with power of arrest by warrant; 
(d) A state conservation officer as defined in section 84.028, subdivision 3; 
(e) A person employed by the bureau of criminal apprehension as a police 

officer with power of arrest by warrant; 
(f) A correction officer employed at any correctional institution and 

charged with maintaining the safety, security, discipline and custody of inmates 
at such institutions; 

(g) A firefighter employed on a fulltime basis by a fire department of any 
governmental subdivision of the state who is engaged in the hazards of fire fight­
ing or a regularly enrolled member of a volunteer fire department who is 
engaged in the hazards of fire fighting; 

(h) A good Samaritan who complies with the request or direction of a 
peace officer to assist the officer; and 

(i) A reserve police officer or a reserve deputy sheriff acting under the 
supervision and authority of a political subdivision. 

Subd. 3. Spouse. "Spouse" includes a person legally married to the dece­
dent at the time of death. 

Subd. 4. Dependent child. A "dependent child" is one who is unmarried 
and who was either living with or was receiving support contributions from the 
peace officer at the time of death, including a stepchild, an adopted child, or a 
posthumous child, and who is 

(a) under 18 years of age; 
(b) over 18 years of age and incapable of self-support because of physical 

or mental disability; or 
(c) over 18 years of age and a student as defined by section 8101 of Title 5, 

United States Code. 
History: 1973 c 248 s 1; 1974 c 255 s 1; 1977 c 429 s 63; 1979 c 50 s 44; 

1980 c 509 s 132 

352E.02 PEACE OFFICERS BENEFIT FUND. 
There is hereby created in the state treasury an account to be known as 

peace officers benefit fund. Funds in the peace officers benefit fund shall consist 
of moneys appropriated to that fund. 

History: 1973 c 248 s 2; 1977 c 403 s 10 
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352E.03 WORKERS' COMPENSATION COURT OF APPEALS. 
Eligibility to receive benefits as herein provided shall be determined by the 

workers' compensation court of appeals in the manner, provided by chapter 176. 
A decision of the workers' compensation court of appeals hereunder may be 
reviewed by the Minnesota supreme court in the same manner and subject to 
the same procedures governing all other appeals from the decisions of the work­
ers' compensation court of appeals. 

History: 1973 c 248 s 3; 1975 c 271 s 6; 1975 c 359 s 23; 1976 c 134 s 78 

352E.04 DISBURSEMENTS. 
Upon certification to the governor by the administrator of any state or gov­

ernmental subdivision employing peace officers that a peace officer employed by 
that state or governmental subdivision within this state has been killed in the 
line of duty, leaving a spouse or one or more eligible dependents, the commis­
sioner of finance shall, subject to the approval of the workers' compensation 
court of appeals, pay $50,000 as follows: 

(a) If there is no dependent child, to the spouse; 
(b) If there is no spouse, to the dependent child or children in equal 

shares; 
(c) If there are both a spouse and one or more dependent children, one-

half to the spouse and one-half to the child or children, in equal shares; 
(d) If there is no surviving spouse or dependent child or children, to the 

parent or parents dependent for support on the decedent, in equal shares; 
(e) If there is no surviving spouse or dependent child, children or parent, 

then there shall be no payment made from the peace officers benefit fund. For 
the purpose of sections 352E.01 to 352E.045, killed in the line of duty shall not 
include any peace officer who dies as a result of a heart attack. 

History: 1973 c 248 s 4; 1975 c 128 s 1; 1975 c 271 s 6; 1975 c 359 s 23; 
1976 c 134 s 78; 1980 c 509 s. 133 

352E.045 ATTORNEY'S FEES FOR CLAIMING BENEFITS. 
No fee for legal services which is claimed for the work of an attorney relat­

ing to a claim made pursuant to the provisions of sections 352E.01 to 352E.045 
is binding unless the amount of the fee charged is determined and approved in 
writing by the workers' compensation court of appeals. 

History: 1975 c 271 s 6; 1975 c 359 s 23; 1976 c 134 s 78; 1976 c 277 s 1; 
1980 c 509 s 134 

352E.05 [ Repealed, 1977 c 403 s 13 ] 
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