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CHAPTER 318
DECLARATION OF TRUST
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estate division.

318.01 ORGANIZATION; SCOPE OF BUSINESS.

Two or more natural persons, whether residents of this state or not, or two
or more corporations which are now organized or may hereafter be organized,
which includes all domestic corporations, national banks and only those foreign
corporations which hold a certificate of authority to transact business in this
state, may organize and associate themselves together for the purpose of trans-
acting business in this state under what is commonly designated or known as a
“declaration of trust” or “‘business trust”’; provided, however, no such associa-
tion shall ever be permitted or authorized to transact in this state any business
of insurance except the kind of business of insurance specified in section 60A.06,
subdivision 1(7), and all acts amendatory thereof; and further provided, how-
ever, no such association shall ever be permitted or authorized to transact a
banking or surety business, of any kind, in this state.

History: 1961 ¢ 740 s 2; 1965 ¢ 77 s 1; 1965 ¢ 732 s 1; 1969 ¢ 6 s 40

318.02 FILING DECLARATION OF TRUST; ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATE;
POWERS; LIABILITY.

Subdivision 1. The term ‘“‘declaration of trust” as used in this section
means the declaration of trust, business trust instrument, trust indenture, con-
tract of custodianship, or other instrument pursuant to which such association is
organized. Every such association organized after April 20, 1961, for the pur-
pose of transacting business in this state shall, prior to transacting any business
in this state, file in the office of the secretary of state a true and correct copy of
the ‘‘declaration of trust” under which the association proposes to conduct its
business, which copy shall be sworn to, as being a true and correct copy, by the
chairman of the board of trustees of such association, or by one of the trustees
of such association, or by one of the persons or parties to the ‘“‘declaration of
trust.” The said sworn statement shall also contain a statement that the true and
correct copy of the “declaration of trust” is being filed in the office of the secre-
tary of state of the state of Minnesota pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 1961,
Chapter 318, and all acts amendatory thereof. The ‘“‘declaration of trust” may
provide that the duration of such association shall be perpetual. Upon the filing
of the copy of the “‘declaration of trust” and the payment of a filing fee of $150
to the secretary of state, the secretary of state shall issue to such association, or
to the trustees named in the said ‘“declaration of trust,” or to the persons or
parties to the “declaration of trust,” a certificate showing that such ‘‘declaration
of trust” has been duly filed in his office; whereupon, such association in its
name shall be authorized to transact business in this state; provided that all
other applicable laws have been complied with. The ‘“declaration of trust” may
be amended as provided in the ‘‘declaration of trust” or in any amendments
thereto but a true and correct copy of all amendments to the “‘declaration of
trust,” which copy shall be sworn to in like manner as provided above in filing a
true and correct copy of the “declaration of trust,” shall be filed in the office of
the secretary of state upon the payment of a filing fee of $50 to the secretary of
state and all amendments shall become effective at the time of said filing. When
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such copy of the “declaration of trust” and any amendments thereto shall have
been filed in the office of the secretary of state it shall constitute public notice as
to the purposes and manner of the business to be engaged in by such associa-
tion.

Subd. 2. Any such association heretofore or hereafter organized shall be a
business trust and a separate unincorporated legal entity, not a partnership,
jointstock association, agency, or any other relation except a business trust. A
business trust is also known as a common law trust and Massachusetts trust for
doing business.

Subd. 3. Any such association heretofore or hereafter organized shall have
the power in its name:

(1) To continue as a business trust for the time limited in its ‘“declaration
of trust” or in any amendments, or if no time limit is specified, then perpetually;

(2) To sue and be sued;

(3) To adopt, use, and, at will, alter a business trust seal, but failure to
affix the business trust seal, if any, shall not affect the validity of any instru-
ment;

(4) To conduct in this state and elsewhere the business to be engaged in by
such association and to contract and enter into obligations and do any acts nec-
essary and incidental to the transaction of its business or expedient for the
attainment of the purposes stated in its “declaration of trust” or in any amend-
ments;

(5) To acquire including by will or gift, purchase, sell, contract for, hold,
lease, mortgage, encumber, convey, transfer, or otherwise deal in and dispose of
real and personal property within or without the state by and through its offi-
cers, agents or trustees in the manner provided in its “declaration of trust” or in
any amendments. All deeds, contracts, mortgages and other legal instruments
heretofore or hereafter acquired by or executed by any such association, and
whether or not recorded in the office of the county recorder or filed in the office
of the registrar of titles, shall have the same force and effect as a like instrument
would have if executed, or recorded or filed in said offices, as in the case of
corporations.

Subd. 4. No personal liability for any debt or obligation of any such associ-
ation heretofore or hereafter organized shall attach to the owners of the shares
of beneficial interests, beneficiaries, shareholders, or trustees of any such associ-
ation heretofore or hereafter organized, or to any person or party to the “decla-
ration of trust.”

History: 1961 ¢ 740 s 3; 1965 ¢ 77 s 2; 1965 ¢ 732 5 2; 1976 ¢ 181 5 2

318.03 QUALIFICATION WITH SECURITIES AND REAL ESTATE DIVI-
SION.

Before any such association may offer for sale, barter or sell any security
of such association in this state, such association shall register such securities
pursuant to the provisions of chapter 80A, and all acts amendatory thereof,
which registration shall be applied for and granted under the same conditions as
like registrations are applied for and granted to corporations.

History: 1961 ¢ 740 s 4, 1965 ¢ 732 5 3; 1976 ¢ 2 s 40

318.04 QUALIFICATION WITH INSURANCE DIVISION.

Any such association permitted by section 318.01 to organize to transact in
this state the kind of business of insurance permitted by section 318.01 shall set
out in its ‘“‘declaration of trust” the kind of business of insurance that it shall
transact in this state; and before filing with the secretary of state the copy of the
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“declaration of trust” and any amendments thereto pursuant to section 318.02
there shall be endorsed upon the ‘‘declaration of trust” and any amendments
thereto the approval of the commissioner of insurance; and it shall be subject to
the same insurance laws of ‘this state and regulations of the commissioner of
insurance that an insurance corporation transacting the same kind of business of
insurance is subject to except as otherwise provided by law; and it shall obtain
from the commissioner of insurance a certificate of authority as an insurer which
certificate of authority shall be issued by the commissioner of insurance upon
compliance with all the applicable insurance laws of this state and regulations of
the commissioner of insurance.

History: 1961 ¢ 740 s 5

318.05 UNLAWFUL TO TRANSACT BUSINESS PRIOR TO COMPLIANCE.

No such association organized after April 20, 1961, may transact or con-
duct any business, within this state, under any ‘“‘declaration of trust”” or “busi-
ness trust” without first complying with the provisions and requirements of sec-
tions 318.01 and 318.02 and in addition thereto complying with the provisions
and requirements of sections 318.03 and 318.04 when applicable.

History: 1961 ¢ 740 s 6, 1965 ¢ 732 s 4

318.06 PENALTIES. _

Any such association, person or party who shall violate any of the provi-
sions of this chapter shall forfeit and pay to this state a penalty, not exceeding
$1,000. Such penalties may be recovered in the district court of Ramsey County
by action in the name of the state, brought by the attorney general.

History: 1961 ¢ 740 s 7; 1965 ¢ 732 s 5
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