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in effect and, the provisions of section 290.973 shall apply to such shareholder. 

[1975 c 349 s 25] 

[For text of subds 3 to 7, see M.S. 1974] 

290.985 Filing time limit for renters. 
Claims for rent accrued in 1969 or later years shall be filed on or before the 

times specified in section 290.42, except that any person who is eligible to be a 
claimant pursuant to section 290.0601, subdivision 6, in order to effectively exercise 
the option provided in section 290.991, shall be allowed to file timely in accordance 
with the provisions of section 290.0604. A claim filed after the original or extended 
due date shall be allowed, but the amount of credit shall be reduced by five percent 
of the amount otherwise allowable, plus an additional five percent for each month 
of delinquency, not exceeding a total reduction of 25 percent. In any event no claim 
shall be allowed if the claim is not filed on or before two years after the original or 
extended due date for the filing of the claim. 

[1975 c 349 s 26] 

290.988 Claims. 

[For text of subd 1, see M.S. 1974] 

Subd. 2. Fraudulent daim. In any case in which it is determined that a claim is 
or was excessive and was filed with fraudulent intent, the claim shall be disallowed 
in full, and, if the claim has been paid or a credit has been allowed against income 
taxes otherwise payable, the credit shall be cancelled and the amount paid may be 
recovered by assessment as income taxes are assessed. A penalty of 25 percent 
shall be imposed and such assessment shall bear interest from the due date of the 
return, until refunded or paid, at the rate specified in section 270.75. The claimant 
in such case, and any person who assisted in the preparation or filing of such ex­
cessive claim or supplied information upon which such excessive claim was pre­
pared, with fraudulent intent, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. 

Subd. 3. Excessive or negligent daim. In any case in which it is determined that a 
claim is or was excessive, a ten percent penalty shall be imposed on such excess 
and if the claim has been paid, or credited against income taxes otherwise payable, 
the credit shall be reduced or cancelled, and the proper portion of any amount paid 
shall be similarly recovered by assessment as income taxes are assessed and such 
assessment shall bear interest at the rate specified in section 270.75 from the date 
of payment until refunded or paid. 

[1975 c 377 s 18,19] 
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290A.01 Citation. 

Sections 290A.01 to 290A.21 may be cited as the "State of Minnesota In-
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come-Adjusted Homestead Credit Act." 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 1] 

290A.02 Purpose. 

The purpose of sections 290A.01 to 290A.21 is to provide property tax relief 
to certain persons who own or rent their homesteads. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 2] 

290A.03 Definitions. 

Subdivision 1. Generally. The following words, terms, and phrases when used in 
sections 290A.01 to 290A.21 shall have the meaning ascribed to them in this sec­
tion, except where the context indicates a different meaning. 

Subd. 2. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of revenue of 
the state of Minnesota. 

Subd. 3. Income. "Income" means the sum of federal adjusted gross income as 
defined in the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 as amended through December 31, 
1974, additions to federal adjusted gross income as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 
Section 290.01, Subdivision 20, Clause (a)(1), (a)(2), (a)(3), (a)(4), (a)(8), and (a)(10), 
and all nontaxable income, including but not limited to the amount of recognized 
net long term capital gains excluded from adjusted gross income, cash public assis­
tance and relief, the gross amount of any pension or annuity (including railroad re­
tirement benefits, all payments received under the federal social security act, and 
veterans disability pensions), nontaxable interest received from the state or federal 
government or any instrumentality thereof, workmen's compensation, unemploy­
ment benefits, nontaxable strike benefits, and the gross amount of "loss of time" 
insurance. In the case of an individual who files an income tax return on a fiscal 
year basis, the term "federal adjusted gross income" shall mean federal adjusted 
gross income reflected in the fiscal year ending in the calendar year. "Income" does 
not include gifts from nongovernmental sources, surplus food or other relief in kind 
supplied by a governmental agency, or relief granted under sections 273.012, subdi­
vision 2 or 290A.01 to 290A.21. 

Subd. 4. Household. "Household" means a claimant and an individual related to 
the claimant as husband or wife who are domiciled in the same homestead. 

Subd. 5. Household income. "Household income" means all income received by 
all persons of a household in a calendar year while members of the household. 

Subd. 6. Homestead. "Homestead" means the dwelling occupied by a claimant 
as a place of residence and so much of the land surrounding it, not exceeding one 
acre, as is reasonably necessary for use of the dwelling as a home, except that this 
restriction shall not be applicable to agricultural land assessed as part of a home­
stead pursuant to section 273.13, subdivision 6. The homestead may be owned or 
rented and may be a part of a multi-dwelling or multi-purpose building and the 
land on which it is built. A mobile home, as defined in section 168.011, subdivision 
8, assessed as personal property may be a dwelling for purposes of this subdivision. 

Subd. 7. Dependent "Dependent" means any person who is under 18 years of 
age at the end of the calendar year who receives more than 50 percent of his sup­
port from the claimant, or who is between 18 and 21 years of age and is a full time 
student who receives more than 50 percent of his support from the claimant. 

Subd. 8. Claimant "Claimant" means a person who filed a claim authorized by 
sections 290A.01 to 290A.21 and who was domiciled in this state during the calen­
dar year for which the claim for relief was filed. In the case of a claim relating to 
rent constituting property taxes, the claimant shall have resided in a rented or 
leased unit on which ad valorem taxes are payable for not less than six months of 
the calendar year covered by the claim. In the case of a part year resident, the in­
come and rental reflected in this computation shall be for the period of Minnesota 
residency only. Any rental expenses paid which may be reflected in arriving at fed­
eral adjusted gross income cannot be utilized for this computation. Maximum credit 
allowed under this computation would be at a rate of one-twelfth of the maximum 
credit allowed pursuant to section 290A.04 per month of residency computed to the 
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nearest full month. When two individuals of a household are able to meet the quali­
fications for a claimant, they may determine among them as to who the claimant 
shall be. If they are unable to agree, the matter shall be referred to the commis­
sioner of revenue and his decision shall be final. 

If a homestead is occupied by two or more unrelated renters, the rent shall 
be deemed to be paid equally by each, and separate claims shall be filed by each. 
The income of each shall be his household income for purposes of computing the 
amount of credit to be allowed. 

Subd. 9. Disabled claimant "Disabled claimant" means any claimant who has a 
disability. 

Subd. 10. Disability. "Disability" means: 

(a) Inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any 
medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected to re­
sult in death or has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not 
less than 12 months, or 

(b) Blindness; and the term "blindness" means central acuity of 20/200 or 
less in the better eye with the use of a correcting lens. An eye which is accompa­
nied by a limitation in the fields of vision such that the widest diameter of the vis­
ual field subtends an angle no greater than 20 degrees shall be considered as hav­
ing a central visual acuity of 20/200 or less. 

(c) An individual shall be determined to be under a disability only if his 
physical or mental impairment or impairments are of such severity that he is not 
only unable to do his previous work but cannot, considering his age, education, and 
work experience, engage in any other kind of substantial gainful work which exists 
in the state economy, regardless of whether the work exists in the immediate area 
in which he lives, or whether a specific job vacancy exists for him, or whether he 
would be hired if he applied for work. For purposes of the preceding sentence, 
"work which exists in the state economy" means work which exists in significant 
numbers either in the area where the individual lives or in several areas of the 
state. 

(d) A "physical or mental impairment" is an impairment that results from an­
atomical, physiological, or psychological abnormalities which are demonstrable by 
medically acceptable clinical and laboratory diagnostic techniques. 

Subd. 11. Rent constituting property taxes. "Rent constituting property taxes" 
means 20 percent of the gross rent actually paid in cash, or its equivalent, in 1975 
or any subsequent calendar year by a claimant solely for the right of occupancy of 
his Minnesota homestead in the calendar year, and which rent constitutes the basis, 
in the succeeding calendar year of a claim for relief under sections 290A.01 to 
290A.21 by the claimant. 

Subd. 12. Gross rent "Gross rent" means rental paid solely for the right of oc­
cupancy, at arms-length, of a homestead, exclusive of charges for any utilities, ser­
vices, furniture, furnishings or personal property appliances furnished by the land­
lord as a part of the rental agreement, whether expressly set out in the rental 
agreement or not. If the landlord and tenant have not dealt with each other at 
arms-length and the commissioner determines that the gross rent charged was ex­
cessive, he may adjust the gross rent to a reasonable amount for purposes of sec­
tions 290A.01 to 290A.21. 

If the landlord does not supply the charges for any utilities, furniture, furnish­
ings or personal property appliances furnished by him, or if the charges appear to 
be incorrect the commissioner may apply a percentage determined from samples of 
similar gross rents paid solely for the right of occupancy. 

Subd. 13. Property taxes payable. "Property taxes payable" means the property 
tax exclusive of special assessments, penalties, and interest payable on a claimant's 
homestead before reductions made pursuant to section 273.13, subdivisions 6 and 7, 
but after deductions made pursuant to section 273.135, in 1976 or any calendar 
year thereafter. For homesteads which are mobile homes as defined in section 
168:011, subdivision 8, "property taxes payable" shall also include 20 percent of 
gross rent paid in the preceding year for the site on which the homestead is lo-
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290A.03 INCOME-ADJUSTED HOMESTEAD CREDIT 

cated, exclusive of charges for utilities or services. When a homestead is owned by 
two or more persons as joint tenants or tenants in common and one or more is not 
a claimant or spouse of a claimant, "property taxes payable" is that part of the 
property taxes payable on the homestead as reflects the percentage of ownership of 
the claimant and spouse. Property taxes are considered payable in the year pre­
scribed by law for payment of the taxes. 

When a claimant and his spouse own their homestead part of the calendar 
year and rent it or a different homestead for part of the same year "property taxes 
payable" means only taxes payable on the homestead which was owned and occu­
pied as such by claimant and spouse on January 2 of the year in which the tax is 
payable, multiplied by the percentage of 12 months that the property was owned 
and occupied by the household as its homestead during the preceding year. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 3] 

290A.04 Credit allowable. 

Subdivision 1. A credit shall be allowed each claimant in the amount that 
property taxes payable or rent constituting property taxes exceed the percentage of 
the household income of the claimant specified in subdivision 2 in the year for 
which the taxes were levied or in the year in which the rent was paid. The maxi­
mum credit for any claimant who was disabled on June 1 or who attained the age 
of 65 prior to June 1 of the year following the year for which the taxes were levied 
or in which the rent was paid shall be $200 above the maximum for which that 
claimant would otherwise be eligible according to his income. 

Subd. 2. The credit shall be paid to claimants whose property taxes payable 
exceed the following percentages of their income, up to the designated maximum 
credit amounts: 
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provided that maximum credits for incomes above $20,000 decline according 
to the following schedule: 

between $20,000 and $26,000 decline $16.67 per $1,000; between $26,000 and 
$36,000 decline $5 per $1,000. 

The credit shall be the amount calculated pursuant to this subdivision, less 
the homestead credit given pursuant to section 273.13, subdivisions 6 and 7. 

Subd. 3. The commissioner of revenue shall construct and make available to 
taxpayers a comprehensive table showing the property taxes to be paid and credit 
allowed at various levels of income and assessment. The table shall follow the 
schedule of income percentages and maximums specified in subdivision 2, except 
that the commissioner may graduate the transition between income brackets. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 4] 

290A.05 Combined household income. 

If a person occupies a homestead with another person or persons not related 
to the person as husband and wife, excluding dependent children, roomers or 
boarders on contract, and has property tax payable with respect to the homestead, 
the household income of the claimant or claimants for the purpose of computing 
the credit allowed by section 290A.04 shall include the total income received by the 
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other persons residing in the homestead. If a person occupies a homestead with an­
other person or persons not related as husband and wife or as dependent children, 
the property tax payable or rent constituting property tax shall be reduced as fol­
lows: 

If the other person or persons are residing at the homestead under rental or 
lease agreement, the amount of property tax payable or rent constituting property 
tax shall be that portion not covered by the rental agreement. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 5] 

29QA.06 Filing time limit, late filing. 

Any claim for property taxes payable shall be filed with the department of 
revenue on or before August 31 of the year in which the property taxes are due 
and payable, except that for homesteads which are mobile homes the claim shall be 
filed on or before October 31 of the year in which the property taxes are due and 
payable. The commissioner may extend the time for filing these claims for a period 
not to exceed six months in the case of sickness, absence, or other disability, or 
when in his judgment other good cause exists. 

A claim filed after the original or extended due date shall be allowed, but the 
amount of credit shall be reduced by five percent of the amount otherwise allowa­
ble, plus an additional five percent for each month of delinquency, not exceeding a 
total reduction of 25 percent. In any event no claim shall be allowed if the claim is 
filed two years after the original due date for filing the claim. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 6] 

290A.07 Time for payment 

Subdivision 1. Allowable claims filed pursuant to the provisions of Laws 
1975, Chapter 437, Article 1 shall be paid by the commissioner from the general 
fund. 

Subd. 2. A claimant who is a renter or who had attained the age of 65 or had 
been disabled prior to June 1 of the year following the year for which the taxes 
were levied or in which the rent was paid shall receive full payment no later than 
60 days after receipt of the application or may elect to take as a credit against his 
income tax the full amount. 

Subd. 3. Any claimant not included in subdivision 2 shall receive full payment 
after September 30 and prior to October 15. 

Subd. 4. Claims remaining unpaid 60 days after the dates provided in subdivi­
sions 2 and 3, shall have interest added at six percent per annum from the later 
date until the date the claim is paid. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 7] 

290A.08 One claimant per household. 

Only one claimant per household per year is entitled to relief under sections 
290A.01 to 290A.21. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 8] 

290A.09 Proof of daim. 

Every claimant shall supply to the department of revenue, in support of his 
claim, proof of eligibility under sections 290A.01 to 290A.21, including but not lim­
ited to amount of rent paid or property taxes accrued, name and address of owner 
or managing agent of property rented, changes in homestead, household member­
ship, household income, size and nature of property claimed as a homestead. 

Disabled persons filing claims shall submit proof of disability in the form and 
manner as the department may prescribe. The department may require examination 
and certification by the claimant's physician or by a physician designated by the 
department. The cost of any examination shall be borne by the claimant, unless the 
examination proves the disability, in which case the cost of the examination shall 
be borne by the department. 

A determination of disability of a claimant by the social security administra-
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tion under Title II or Title XVI of the Social Security Act shall constitute presump­
tive proof of disability. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 9] 

290A10 Proof of taxes paid. 

Every claimant who files a claim for relief for property taxes payable shall in­
clude with his claim a property tax statement indicating that there are no delin­
quent property taxes on the homestead. Indication on the property tax statement 
from the county treasurer that there are no delinquent taxes on the homestead 
shall be sufficient proof. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 10] 

290A.11 Objections to claims. 

Subdivision 1. Audit of daim. When on the audit of any claim filed under sections 
290A.01 to 290A.21 the department determines the amount thereof to have been in­
correctly determined, the department shall redetermine the claim and notify the 
claimant of the redetermination and the reasons therefor. The redetermination shall 
be final unless appealed to the Minnesota tax court within 30 days of notice 
thereof. 

Subd. 2. Fraudulent daim; penalty. In any case in which it is determined that the 
claim is or was excessive and was filed with fraudulent intent, the claim shall be 
disallowed in full. If the claim has been paid, the amount disallowed shall be re­
covered by assessment and collection in the manner provided in chapter 290 for 
collection of income tax. The assessment shall bear interest from the date the claim 
is paid by the state until the date of repayment by the claimant, at the rate of six 
percent per annum. The claimant, and any person who assisted in the preparation 
of filing of the excessive claim or supplied information upon which the excessive 
claim was prepared, with fraudulent intent, is guilty of a misdemeanor. 

Subd. 3. Excessive or negligent daim. If it is determined that a claim is excessive 
and was negligently prepared, ten percent of the corrected claim shall be disal­
lowed. If the cfaim has been paid, the amount erroneously paid out plus penalty 
shall be recovered as provided in subdivision 2. 

Subd. 4. Interest Amounts to be repaid to the state shall bear interest at six 
percent per annum from the date the state paid the claim until the date of repay­
ment by the claimant. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 11] 

290A.12 Appeal. 

Any person aggrieved by the denial, in whole or in part, of relief claimed un­
der Laws 1975, Chapter 437, Article 1, except when the denial is based upon late 
filing of a claim for relief, may appeal the denial to the Minnesota tax court by fil­
ing a petition with the tax court within 30 days after the denial, as provided in 
chapter 271. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 12] 

290A.13 No relief allowed in certain cases. 

No claim for relief under sections 290A.01 to 290A.21 shall be allowed if the 
commissioner determines that the claimant received title or tenancy to his home­
stead primarily for the purpose of receiving benefits under sections 290A.01 to 
290A.21 and not for bona fide residence purposes. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 13] 

290A.14 Property tax statement 

The county treasurer shall prepare and send a sufficient number of copies of 
the property tax statement to the owner, and to his escrow agent if the taxes are 
paid via an escrow account, to enable him to comply with the filing requirements 
of Laws 1975, Chapter 437, Article 1 and to retain one copy for his records. The 
property tax statement, in a form prescribed by the commissioner, shall indicate 
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the manner in which the claimant may claim relief from the state, the amount of 
delinquent property taxes on the property in the preceding year, and the amount of 
the tax for which the applicant may claim relief. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 14] 

290A.15 Claim applied against outstanding liability. 

The amount of any claim otherwise payable under sections 290A.01 to 
290A.21 may be applied by the commissioner against any delinquent tax liability of 
the claimant or spouse of the claimant payable to the department of revenue. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 15] 

290A.16 Income tax deduction prohibited. 

Notwithstanding section 290.09, subdivision 4, the income tax deduction for 
property taxes paid shall not exceed the amount paid, reduced by the amount of 
credit allowed with respect to the tax pursuant to sections 290A.01 to 290A.21. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 16] 

290A.17 Publicity of claims. 

It shall be unlawful for the commissioner or any other public official or em­
ployee to divulge or otherwise make known any particulars disclosed in any claim 
filed pursuant to sections 290A.01 to 290A.21. The provisions of section 290.61 re­
lating to the confidential nature of income tax returns shall also be applicable to 
claims thus filed. 

Nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit the commissioner from making 
public the information concerning amounts of property tax accrued and the relief 
granted to taxpayers without including information which would identify individual 
taxpayers. The commissioner may examine income tax returns as he deems neces­
sary and may utilize the information in legal and administrative proceedings to in­
sure proper administration of sections 290A.01 to 290A.21, notwithstanding section 
290.61. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 17] 

290A.18 Right to file daim. 

If a claimant entitled to relief under sections 290A.01 to 290A.21 dies prior to 
receiving relief, the surviving spouse or dependent child of the claimant shall be en­
titled to receive it. If there is no surviving spouse or dependent child, the right to 
the credit shall lapse. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 18] 

290A.19 Landlord to furnish rent certificate; penalty. 

The owner or managing agent of any property for which rent is paid for oc­
cupancy as a homestead shall furnish a certificate of rent paid to each renter in the 
form prescribed by the commissioner. The certificate shall be made available to the 
renter not later than February 15 of the year following the year in which the rent 
was paid. Any owner or managing agent who willfully fails to furnish a certificate 
as provided herein shall be liable to the commissioner for a penalty of $20 for each 
act or failure to act. The penalty shall be assessed and collected in the manner pro­
vided in chapter 290 for the assessment and collection of income tax. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 19] 

290A20 Rules and regulations. 

The commissioner shall promulgate rules and regulations which he deems ap­
propriate for the administration of sections 290A.01 to 290A.21. He shall also make 
available forms with instructions for claimants as he deems necessary for the 
proper administration of sections 290A.01 to 290A.21. The claim shall be in the 
form the commissioner may prescribe. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 20] 

563 

                                         
MINNESOTA STATUTES 1975 SUPPLEMENT



Sec. 
291.005 
291.07 
291.09 
291.11 
291.131 
291.132 

Definitions. 
Deductions. 
Determination of tax. 
Time effective. 
Penalties. [New] 
Extension to file or pay. [New] 

Sec. 
291.14 
291.15 
291.18 

291.35 
291.46 
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290/121 Exclusive relief. 

Sections 290.981 to 290.992, 290.0601 to 290.0616, and 290.0618 shall not be 
effective with respect to any rent paid after December 31, 1974 or property taxes 
payable after December 31, 1975. 

[1975 c 437 art 1 s 21] 

CHAPTER 291. INHERITANCES, DEVISES, BEQUESTS 

Inheritance tax a lien upon property. 
Interest. 
Overpayment of tax; refunds; appropri­

ation. 
Time of payment. 
Penalties, interest; limitation. 

291.005 Definitions. 

Subdivision 1. Unless the context otherwise clearly requires, the following 
terms used in this chapter shall have the following meanings: 

(1) "Probate Assets" means and includes property owned by a decedent at 
the time of his death required by section 524.3-706 to be listed on a personal repre­
sentative's inventory and appraisement. 

(2) "Non-Probate Assets" means and includes all property of every kind 
transferred from a decedent or at or by reason of the decedent's death which is 
subject to the inheritance tax imposed by this chapter (without regard to deduc­
tions or exemptions) and which does not consist of probate assets. 

(3) "Commissioner" means and refers to the commissioner of revenue of this 
state or any person or body within the state department of revenue to whom he 
may have delegated his functions under this chapter. 

(4) "Dependent child" means a natural child of the decedent, or a child 
adopted by the^decedent who is incapable of furnishing his own support by reason 
of a physical or mental ailment, illness or deformity. The commissioner may re­
quest verification of the physical or mental condition of the child before allowing 
the exemptions and rates applicable to a dependent child under this chapter. 

(5) "Stepchild" means a child who is not the decedent's natural or adopted 
child but is the natural or adopted child of the decedent's surviving or deceased 
spouse. 

Subd. 2. The definitions set forth in section 524.1-201, wherever appropriate 
to the administration of the provisions of chapter 291 are incorporated by refer­
ence. 

[1975 c 347 s 2] 

291.07 Deductions. 

Subdivision 1. In determining the tax imposed by section 291.01, where the 
estate has been submitted to the jurisdiction of the court, the following deductions 
shall be allowed if approved by the court in a formal proceeding: 

(1) funeral expenses 
(2) probate administration expenses, including but not limited to expenses in­

curred during administration in converting real and personal property held by the 
estate into cash 

(3) expenses of last illness unpaid at death 
(4) valid claims against the decedent which have been properly paid 
(5) family maintenance to the extent provided by section 291.10 
(6) value of personal property to the extent of the amount allowed under the 

provisions of section 525.15 
(7) federal estate taxes determined as follows: 
(a) the value of the net estate taxable in Minnesota reduced by the deduction 
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