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299F.01 FERE MARSHAL. Subdivision 1. All the powers and duties now vest­
ed in or imposed upon the commissioner of insurance as ex officio state fire marshal 
as prescribed in Minnesota Statutes, Chapters 73, 74, 75, 76, and any other law, are 
hereby transferred to, vested in, and imposed upon the commissioner of public 
safety. The duties and responsibilities of the commissioner of insurance as ex officio 
state fire marshal as heretofore constituted are abolished. 

Subd. 2. A division in the department of public safety to be known as the divi­
sion of fire marshal is hereby created, under the supervision and control of the 
state fire marshal, who shall be appointed by the commissioner and serve at his 
pleasure in the unclassified service of the state civil service, to whom shall be as­
signed the duties and responsibilities described in this section. 

Subd. 3. Upon the effective date of this act the individual occupying the posi­
tion of assistant commissioner, fire marshal division, shall retain such position for 
a period of at least 12 months, or until removed for cause. 

11969 c 1129 art Is 21 
299F.011 UNIFORM FERE CODE; ADOPTION. Subdivision 1. The commis­

sioner of public safety through the division of fire marshal may promulgate a uni­
form fire code and make amendments thereto in accordance with the administrative 
procedure act, chapter 15. 

Subd. 2. (a) Unless otherwise specifically listed, wherever in the text of the 
uniform code reference is made to a national fire protection association pamphlet, 
the date of issue of that pamphlet shall be the one listed in the 1973 edition of the 
national fire codes, as promulgated by the national fire protection association. 
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(b) Wherever in the text of the uniform fire code reference is made to the 
electrical code, it shall be the national electrical code, 1971 edition. 

Subd. 3. The commissioner shall adopt rules and regulations, in accordance 
with chapter 15, as may be necessary to administer and enforce the code, specifically 
including but not limited to rules and regulations for inspection of buildings and 
other structures covered by the code and conforming the code to the governmental 
organization of Minnesota state agencies, political subdivisions and local govern­
ments. 

[1974 c 550 s 1] 
299F.02 [Repealed, 1971 c 25 s 60] 
299F.03 SPECIAL ATTORNEY. The attorney general may appoint a special 

attorney for the division, whose work shall be under the supervision of the attorney 
general, who shall fix the compensation, such compensation to be paid out of the 
fund created under this chapter. 

[ 1913 c 564 8 4; 1969 c 1129 art 10 S 2] (595S) 
299F.04 ORIGIN OF FIRES INVESTIGATED. Subdivision 1. The chief of the 

fire deDartment of each citv in which a fire department is established, and the mayor 
of each city in which no fire department exists, and the president of the statutory 
city board of each statutory city in which no fire department exists, and the town 
clerk of each town without the limits of any city or statutory city, shall investigate, 
or cause to be investigated, the cause, origin, and circumstances of each Are occur­
ring in the city, or statutory city or town by which property has been destroyed or 
damaged when the damage exceeds $100, except that all fires of unknown origin 
shall be reported, and shall especially make investigation as to whether the fire was 
the result of carelessness, accident, or design. 

Subd. 2. The investigation shall be begun within two days of the occurrence of 
the Are and. the state Are marshal shall have the right to supervise and direct the 
investigation when he deems it expedient or necessary. 

Subd. 3. The officer making investigation of Ares occurring in cities, statutory 
cities, and towns shall forthwith notify the state Are marshal and shall, within one 
week of the occurrence of the Are, furnish to the state Are marshal a written statement 
of all the facts relating to the cause and origin of the Are and such further information 
as may be called for by the blanks furnished by the state Are marshal. The state Are 
marshal shall keep in his office a record of all Ares occurring in the state, together 
with all facts, statistics, and circumstances, including the origin of the Ares, which 
may be determined by the investigation provided by this chapter. These statistics 
shall be at all times open to public inspection. 

[1913 c 564 s 6; 1967 c 543 s 1; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 71 (5955) 
299F.05 EVIDENCE, TAKING OF. The state Are marshal shall, when in his 

opinion further investigation is necessary, take or cause to be taken the testimony 
on oath of all persons supposed to be cognizant of any facts or to have any means 
of knowledge in relation to the matter as to which an examination is herein required 
to be made and shall cause the same to be reduced to writing; and, if he shall be of 
the opinion that there is evidence sufficient to charge any person with the crime 
of arson, he shall cause such person to be arrested and charged with the offense and 
furnish to the proper prosecuting attorney all this evidence, together with the copy 
of all names of witnesses and all the information obtained by him, including a copy 
of all pertinent and material testimony taken in the case; and keep a record of the 
proceedings and progress made in all these prosecutions for arson and the result of 
all cases Anally disposed of. 

[1913 0 5648 71 (5956) 
299F.06 TESTIMONIAL POWERS. Subdivision 1. Attendance of witnesses. 

The state Are marshal, chief assistant Are marshal, and deputy state Are marshals, 
shall each have the power in any county of the state to summon and compel the 
attendance of witnesses before them, or either of them, to testify in relation to any 
matter which is by the provisions of this chapter a subject of inquiry and investiga­
tion and may require the production of any book, paper, or document deemed perti­
nent thereto by them, or either of them. The summons shall be served in the same 
manner and have the same effect as subpoenas from district courts. All witnesses 
shall receive the same compensation as is paid to witnesses in district courts, which 
shall be paid out of the Are marshal fund upon vouchers signed by the state Are 
marshal, chief assistant fire marshal, or deputy Are marshal before whom any wit-
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nesses shall have attended and this officer shall, at the close of the investigation 
wherein the witness was subpoenaed, certify to the attendance and mileage of the 
witness, which certificate shall be filed in the office of the state fire marshal. All 
investigations held by or under the direction of the state fire marshal, or any sub­
ordinate, may in his discretion be private and persons other than those required to 
be present by the provisions of this chapter may be excluded from the place where 
the investigation is held, and witnesses may be kept separate and apart from each 
other and not allowed to communicate with each other until they have been exam­
ined. 

Subd. 2. Oaths administered. The state fire marshal, chief assistant state fire 
marshal, and deputy state fire marshals are each hereby authorized and empowered 
to administer oaths and affirmations to any persons appearing as witnesses before 
them; and false swearing in any matter or proceeding aforesaid shall be deemed 
perjury and punished as such. 

Subd. 3. Refusal to testify. Any witness who refuses to be sworn, or who re­
fuses to testify, or who disobeys any lawful order of the state fire marshal, chief as­
sistant fire marshal, or deputy state fire marshal in relation to the investigation, 
or who fails or refuses to produce any paper, book, or document touching any matter 
under examination, or who is guilty of any contemptuous conduct, after being sum­
moned to appear before them to give testimony in relation to any matter or subject 
under examination or investigation may be summarily punished by the state fire 
.marshal, chief assistant state fire marshal, or deputy state fire marshals as for con­
tempt by a fine in a sum not exceeding $100 or be committed to the county jail until 
such time as such person may be willing to comply with any reasonable order made 
by the state fire marshal, chief assistant state fire marshal, or deputy state fire 
marshals, as provided in this chapter, and subject to the provisions of section 588.01. 

119130 5648 81(5957) 
299F.07 DISOBEDIENCE, HOW PUNISHED. Disobedience of any subpoena in 

such proceedings, or contumacy of a witness, may, upon application of the state fire 
marshal, be punished by any district court in the same manner as if the proceedings 
were pending in that court. 

[1913 c 564 8 9] (5958) 
299F.08 PREMISES, WHEN ENTERED. In the performance of the duties 

imposed by the provisions of this chapter, the state fire marshal, and any of his subor­
dinates, at all times of day or night may enter upon and examine any building or 
premises where a fire has occurred and other buildings and premises adjoining or 
near thereto. 

[1913 c 564 S10) (5959) 
299F.09 BUILDINGS, ENTERED WITHIN REASONABLE HOURS. The state 

fire marshal, his chief assistant, deputies, and subordinates, the chief of the fire de­
partment of each city were a fire department is established, the mayor of a city 
where no fire department exists, or the clerk of a town in territory without the 
limits of a city, at all reasonable hours may enter into all buildings and upon all 
premises within their jurisdiction for the purpose of examination. 

[1913 c 564 s 11; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7] (5960) 
299F.10 BUILDINGS REPAIRED OR TORN DOWN, ENTRANCE TO. The 

state fire marshal may condemn, and by order direct the destruction, repair, or al­
teration of, any building or structure which, by reason of age, dilapidated condition, 
defective chimneys, defective electric wiring, gas connections, heating apparatus, or 
other defect is especially liable to fire and which building or structure in the judgment 
of the state fire marshal, is so situated as to endanger life or limb or other buildings 
or property in the vicinity. In case the order requires the repair of a building, the 
owner, lessee, or other person upon whom rests the duty to keep the structure in 
repair and upon whom the order is served shall make such repairs as thereby directed 
and the order may direct that the structure be closed and not further used or occu­
pied until the repairs are made. Any person who shall wilfully disobey the order 
directing the closing of the building pending the making of these repairs shall be 
guilty of a misdemeanor. 

[1913 c 564 812; 1917 c469 s i ] (5961) 
299F.11 STRUCTURES REPAHtED OR DEMOLISHED. Subdivision 1. The 

state fire marshal is hereby authorized to petition the district court of any county 
for an order of condemnation directing the destruction, repair, or alteration of any 
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building or structure located on land owned by, or on land held in trust by, the 
state which is especially liable to fire and dangerous to life and limb within the pur­
view of the provisions of section 299F.10. In case the petition is for an order requir­
ing repairs, the person authorized by law to make the repairs and upon whom the 
order is served, shall make these repairs as thereby directed and the order may di­
rect that the building or structure be closed and not further used or occupied until 
the repairs are made. Upon the filing of the petition with the district court wherein, 
any such building or structure is located, the court shall make a temporary order 
directing the state fire marshal to serve a copy of the petition and a copy of the 
temporary order upon the commissioner of revenue and the county board of the 
county wherein the lands are situated; and, if the lands are situated in a city of the 
first class, then upon the assessor of this city of the first class, within such time 
as may be fixed by the court in its order. If, within 20 days, no objections are filed to 
the petition by the parties so served, the court may require the state fire marshal to 
present sufficient proof to sustain the allegations set forth in his petition, and there­
upon the court may or may not, as the case may require, make an order of condem­
nation and direct the state fire marshal to proceed with the destruction of the build­
ing or structure; but if objections are filed and a copy of the objections have been 
duly served upon the state fire marshal within 20 days of the service of the copy of 
the temporary order and copy of the petition hereinbefore referred to, the court upon 
application by the state fire marshal shall make its order fixing the time and place 
for hearing of the matter, which place may be at any convenient point, at any gen­
eral or special term, or out of the term, or in chambers, within the judicial district 
where the lands are situated, and which time shall be within ten days from the date 
of the filing of the objections or as soon thereafter as may be. If upon the hearing the 
petition shall be sustained, the court shall issue an order of condemnation and fix the 
time within which the building or structure shall be destroyed, repaired, or altered 
in compliance with the order and that upon failure of the proper person or persons 
to comply with the order the state fire marshal shall proceed with the destruction 
thereof. If upon the hearing the petition of the state fire marshal is not sustained, 
the court shall deny the petition. 

Subd. 2. In all cases where the order of the court has not been complied with 
and the state fire marshal is authorized to proceed with the demolition of any. 
building or structure, the state fire marshal shall sell and dispose of the salvage ma­
terials therefrom at public auction upon three days posted notice and all expenses 
incurred by the state fire marshal shall be paid out of the moneys received from the 
auction of salvage material, and any deficit remaining unpaid thereafter may be 
paid out of the funds created by and provided for in section 299F.21. Should any 
surplus remain of the amount received for salvage material, after deducting the ex­
penses incurred by the state fire marshal, this surplus shall be paid to the treasurer 
of the county where the property was situated to be distributed by him as provided; 
by law. 

[1939 c 200; 1941 C 123; 1973 c 582 s 31 (5961-1) 
299F.12 EXITS OPENED, ORDER. When the state fire marshal upon inspec­

tion shall find a building of such construction and use that the exits and means of 
egress already provided do not afford reasonably safe escape in case of fire for 
the number of people customarily within he may order such exits to be opened 
and such means of escape to be provided as in his judgment are reasonably neces­
sary to eliminate the danger arising therefrom. 

[ 1913 C 564 8 W, Ml C 469 811 (5962) 
299F.13 ORDER TO BE IN WRITING. The order shall be in writing, recite 

the grounds therefor, and be filed in the office of the clerk of the district court of the 
county in which the building or structure so ordered to be altered, repaired, or 
demolished is situated and thereupon all further proceedings for the enforcement 
thereof shall be had in that court. 

11913 c 564 S IS; 1917 C 469 s 11 (5963) 
299F.14 NOTICE, SERVICE. A copy of the order filed in accordance with sec­

tion 299F.13, together with a written notice that the same has been so filed and 
will be put in force unless the owner or occupying tenant shall file with the clerk 
of the court his objections and answer thereto within the time specified in section 
299F.15, shall be served upon the owner of the building or structure so directed 
to be altered, repaired, or demolished; and, if there be a tenant occupying the build­
ing, then also upon this occupant. Service shall be made upon the owner and oc-
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cupying tenant, if there be one, personally, either within or without the state. It 
shall be deemed a personal service of the order and notice if the copy thereof be 
left at the house of the usual abode of the person to be served, with some person of 
suitable age and discretion then residing therein. If the whereabouts of the owner 
is unknown and the same cannot be ascertained by the state Are marshal in the 
exercise of reasonable diligence, then, upon his filing in the office of the clerk of the 
district court his affidavit to this effect, service of the notice upon the owner may be 
made by publishing the same once in each week for three successive weeks in a 
newspaper printed and published in the county in which the building or structure is 
located and by posting a copy thereof in a conspicuous place upon the building or 
structure, and the service so made shall be deemed to be complete upon the expira­
tion of the publication period. Proof of service of the notice shall be filed in the 
office of the clerk of the district court not less than five days before the filing of a 
motion for an order affirming the state fire marshal's order of condemnation in case 
of default as provided for by section 299F.15, or in case written objections are filed 
and served, not less than five days before the time fixed for the hearing provided 
for by section 299F.16. 

[1913 c 564 a Ik; 1917 c 1,69 s 1; 1947 c 417 s 11 (5964) 
299F.15 WRITTEN OBJECTIONS FILED BY OWNER. The owner of any 

building or structure so condemned, or any occupying tenant upon whom the notice 
and order are served, within 20 days from the date of the service, as herein provided, 
may file with the clerk of the district court and serve upon the state fire marshal, 
either personally or by registered mail, written objections to the order in the form 
of an answer denying the existence of any of the facts therein recited which he de­
sires to controvert. If no answer is so filed and served, the owner and all other per­
sons in interest shall be deemed to be in default and thereupon the court shall affirm 
the order of condemnation and direct the state fire marshal to proceed with the en­
forcement thereof; but, if an answer be filed and served, as herein provided, the 
court shall hear and determine the issues so raised and make its order as provided 
for by section 299F.16. 

[191S c 564 s 15; 1917 c 469 s 1; 1947 c 417 s 2] (5965) 
299F.16 HEARING. The court upon motion of the state fire marshal shall 

make its order fixing a time and place for the hearing, which place may be at any 
convenient point within the judicial district, and which time shall be within ten days 
from the date of the filing of the answer, or as soon thereafter as may be. Upon 
the trial the order of the state fire marshal shall be prima facie evidence of the exis­
tence of the facts therein recited. If upon the trial the order of the state fire marshal 
shall be sustained, the court shall make its order accordingly and shall fix a time 
within which the building or structure shall be altered, repaired, or demolished, as 
the case may be, in compliance with the order of the state fire marshal, but otherwise 
the court may annul and set aside such order of the state fire marshal, or modify 
it if the facts so warrant. 

11913 c 564 s 16; 1917 c 469 s 1; 1947 c 417 s S] (5966) 
299F.17 FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH ORDER. Subdivision 1. Sale or de­

struction of building. If the owner or other party in interest shall fail to comply 
with the order of the state fire marshal within the time fixed thereby, or with such 
order as affirmed or modified by the court, within the time fixed by court, in case a 
trial is had as provided for in section 299F.16, the state fire marshal may proceed to 
cause the building or structure to be altered, repaired, or demolished in accordance 
with the directions contained in the order. Where a building or structure is demol­
ished in accordance with the order the state fire marshal may sell and dispose of the 
salvage materials therefrom at public auction upon three days' posted notice. In lieu 
of demolishing the building or structure the state fire marshal may sell it at a public 
auction, upon the same notice, provided the purchaser signs a written agreement to 
demolish the building and remove the salvage within such time from the date of sale 
as the state fire marshal shall announce before the sale. In case any such purchaser 
shall fail to so demolish the building or structure and remove the salvage within the 
specified time, the sale to him shall be void, and the purchase price paid by him shall 
be retained by the state fire marshal as liquidated damages for breach of the agree­
ment. Any amount collected for the sale of salvage, or the building or structure, or 
as liquidated damages for breach of the agreement shall be deposited with the state 
treasurer and credited to the fund of the state fire marshal. 

Subd. 2. Statement of moneys received and expenses incurred; surplus to owner. 
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The state Are marshal shall keep an accurate account of the expenses incurred in car­
rying out the order and all other expenses theretofore incurred in connection with its 
enforcement, including specifically, but not exclusively, initial inspection fees incurred 
before the filing of the order of condemnation, including costs of photographs of 
building, filing fees, service fees, publication fees, appraisers' fees, witness fees, in­
cluding expert witness fees, and traveling expenses incurred by the state fire mar­
shal and his deputies from the time the order was originally made, and shall credit 
thereon the amount, if any, received from the sale of the salvage, or building or 
structure, or as liquidated damages for breach of the agreement, and shall report 
his action under the order, with a statement of monies received and ex­
penses incurred to the court for approval and allowance. Thereupon the court 
shall examine, correct, if necessary, and allow the expense account and, if 
the amount received from the sale of the salvage, or of the building or 
structure, or for liquidated damages for breach of the agreement does not 
equal or exceed the amount of expenses as allowed, the court shall by its order cer­
tify the deficiency in the amount so allowed to the county auditor for collection. The 
owner or other party in interest shall pay the same within 30 days thereafter, with 
25 percent penalty added thereon, and in default of payment the auditor shall enter 
this expense on the tax lists of the county as a special charge against the real estate 
on which the building is or was situated and the same shall be collected in the same 
manner as other taxes and the amount so collected, including the penalty thereon, 
shall be paid into the state treasury and credited to the fund of the state fire marshal. 
When any real estate on which the building or structure is or was situated forfeits 
to the state for taxes, this expense shall be apportioned by the county auditor from 
the net proceeds of the sale or rental of such forfeited land to the state treasury to be 
credited to the fund of the state fire marshal in the same manner as any other spe­
cial assessment is apportioned as provided in section 282.08, clause (2). If the amount 
received for the sale of the salvage, or of the building or structure, or for liquidated 
damages for breach of the agreement to remove the building or structure exceeds 
the expense incurred by the state Are marshal, as allowed by the court, and if there 
are no delinquent taxes, the court shall direct the payment of the surplus to the owner 
or the payment of the same into court for his use and benefit. If there are delin­
quent taxes against the property, the court shall direct the payment of the surplus to 
the county treasurer to be applied on such taxes. 

There is hereby appropriated to the persons entitled to such surplus, from the 
fund in the state treasury to which the money was credited, an amount sufficient to 
make the payment. 

11913 c 564 s 17; 1917 c 469 S 1; 1947 c 417 S 4; 1959 C 157 S 5; 196S c 638 S I] (5967) 
299F.18 COMBUSTIBLE MATERIAL REMOVED. The state fire marshal, 

the chief assistant fire marshal, or any deputy fire marshal, who finds in any 
building or upon any premises any combustible or explosive material, rubbish, rags, 
waste, or inflammable matter of any kind, except liquids covered by section 299F.19, 
endangering the safety of the building or property or the occupants thereof or 
the occupants of adjoining buildings shall order these materials removed or the dan­
gerous condition corrected forthwith. This order shall be in writing and directed 
generally to the owner, lessee, agent, or occupant of the building or premises and 
any owner, lessee, agent, or occupant upon whom such notice shall be served who 
fails to comply therewith within 24 hours thereafter, unless the order prescribes a 
longer period within which it may be complied with, shall be guilty of a misdemean­
or, and the material may be removed or dangerous condition corrected at the ex­
pense of the owner of the building and premises or the person upon whom the 
service is so made, or both, and the state fire marshal may maintain all necessary 
actions for the recovery thereof. 

[1913 c 564 S18; 1917 C 469 s 1; 1949 c 292 s 11 (5968) 
299F.19 REGULATIONS ON FLAMMABLE LIQUIDS AND EXPLOSIVES. 

Subdivision 1. The state fire marshal shall make, promulgate, and enforce reason­
able rules and regulations for the safekeeping, storage, handling, use, transportation, 
or other disposition of flammable liquids, flammable gases, blasting agents, and ex­
plosives except transportation by petroleum carriers as covered in chapter 221; but 
loads carried in or on vehicles transporting such products upon public highways 
within this state shall be governed by the uniform vehicle size and weights provi­
sions in sections 169.80 to 169.88. The rules and regulations for flammable liquids and 
flammable gases shall be distinguished from each other and from the rules and regu­
lations covering other materials subject to regulation under this subdivision. 
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Subd. 2. For the purposes of this section, and the rules and regulations adopted 
pursuant thereto, the term flammable liquids shall mean any liquid having a flash 
point below 200 degrees Fahrenheit and having a vapor pressure not exceeding 40 
pounds per square inch, absolute, at 100 degrees Fahrenheit. The term flammable 
gases includes flammable materials which do not exist as a liquid or solid at a tem­
perature of 60 degrees Fahrenheit and a pressure of 14.7 pounds per square inch 
absolute. 

For the purposes of this section, and the rules and regulations adopted pursuant 
thereto, the term blasting agent shall mean any material or mixture, consisting of a 
fuel and oxidizer, intended for blasting, not otherwise classified as an explosive and 
in which none of the ingredients is classified as an explosive, providing that the fin­
ished product, as mixed and packaged for use or shipment, cannot be detonated by 
means of a Number 8 test blasting cap when unconflned. The term blasting agent 
does not include flammable liquids or flammable gases. 

For the purposes of this section, and the rules and regulations adopted pursuant 
thereto, explosives shall be divided into three classes and are defined as follows: 

Class A explosives. Possessing detonating or otherwise maximum hazard, such as 
dynamite, nitroglycerin, picric acid, lead azide, fulminate of mercury, black powder, 
blasting caps, and detonating primers. 

Class B explosives. Possessing flammable hazard, such as propellant explosives 
(including some smokeless powders), photographic flash powders, and some special 
fireworks. 

Class C explosives. Includes certain types of manufactured articles which contain 
Class A, or Class B explosives, or both, as components but in restricted quantities. 

The term explosive or explosives shall mean any chemical compound, mixture or 
device, the primary or common purpose of which is to function by explosion; that is, 
with substantially instantaneous release of gas and heat, unless such compound, mix­
ture, or device is otherwise specifically classified by the interstate commerce commis 
sion. The term explosives shall include all material which is classified as Class A 
Class B, and Class C explosives by the interstate commerce commission, and includes, 
but is not limited to dynamite, black powder, pellet powder, initiating explosives, 
blasting caps, electric blasting caps, safety fuse, fuse lighters, fuse igniters, squips, 
cordeau detonate fuse, instantaneous fuse, igniter cord, igniters, and some special fire­
works. Commercial explosives are those explosives which are intended to be used in 
commercial or industrial operation. The term explosives does not include flammable 
liquids or flammable gases. 

Subd. 3. No local government shall enact any regulation or ordinance which is in­
consistent with the rules and regulations adopted by the state fire marshal pursuant 
to this section. Nothing in this section shall be construed to affect the power of any 
local government, when so authorized by law, to regulate the use of land by zoning. 
Any city in which there is no comprehensive zoning ordinance in effect may pro­
hibit the installation or erection of flammable liquid bulk plants within areas which 
are predominantly residential or in areas used predominantly for retail mercantile 
purposes. Any city may prescribe routes for the transportation of flammable 
liquids through such city by motor vehicle transport. 

Subd. 4. The Are marshal of each city of the first class, the chief of the fire de­
partment of each other city in which a fire department is established, the mayor 
of each city in which no fire department exists, the president of the statutory city 
board of each statutory city in which no fire department exists, and the town clerk 
of each town without the limits of any city shall, upon direction of the state fire 
marshal, or assistant state fire marshal, enforce within their respective jurisdictions 
all rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this section and shall render such other 
assistance as may be requested. 

Subd. 5. Any violation of a rule or regulation shall constitute a misdemeanor. 
Subd. 6. The code and all amendments thereto shall be filed with the secretary 

of state and published in accordance with sections 15.046 to 15.049. 
UH9 c Z92 s 2; 1957 c 424 s 1-3; 1963 c 437 s 1-k; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 71 
299F.20 FAILURE TO COMPLY, PUNISHMENT. Any officer referred to in 

section 299F.04 who neglects to comply with any of the requirements of this chapter 
shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $100 
for each neglect or violation. 

U91SC 564 s 20~\(5970) 
299F.21 FIRE INSURANCE COMPANIES TO PAY COST OF MAINTE-
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NANCEi For the purpose of maintaining the office of the state fire marshal and, 
paying all the expenses incident thereto, every insurance company, including recipro­
cals, interinsurance exchanges or Lloyds, doing business in the state, excepting' 
farmers' mutual fire insurance companies and township mutual fire insurance com­
panies, shall hereafter pay to the state treasurer on or before March 1 annually, a 
tax upon its fire premiums or assessments or both, as follows: 

A sum equal to one-half of one percent of the gross premiums and assessments, 
less return premiums, on all direct business received by it in this state, or by its 
agents for it, in cash or otherwise, during the preceding calendar year, including pre­
miums on policies covering fire risks only on automobiles, whether written under 
floater form or otherwise. In the case of a mutual company or reciprocal exchange 
the dividends or savings paid or credited to members in this state shall be construed 
to be return premiums. The money so received into the state treasury shall be set 
aside as a special fund and it is hereby appropriated for the maintenance of the office 
of the state Are marshal and the expenses incident thereto. The state shall not be 
liable in any manner for the salary of the state fire marshal, his chief assistant,, 
deputies, clerks, and other employees, or for the maintenance of the office of Are 
marshal or any expenses incident thereto, and the same shall be payable only from 
the special fund provided for in this section. 

If the tax prescribed by this section is not paid by March 1, annually, a penalty of 
ten percent shall accrue on such tax, and thereafter such tax and penalty shall draw 
interest at the rate of one percent per month until paid. 

11913 c 564 s 23; 1915 c 341 s 1; 1937 c 77 s 1; 19Jf9 c 315 s 1; 1963 c 88 s 61 (5973) 
299F.22 EXAMINATION OF KETUENS; ASSESSMENT; RETURNS. The 

commissioner of public safety shall, as soon as practicable after a return required 
by Minnesota Statutes, Section 299F.21, is filed, examine the same and make any in­
vestigation or examination of the company's records and accounts that he may deem 
necessary for determining the correctness of the return. The tax computed by him 
on the basis of such examination and investigation shall be the tax to be paid by such 
company. If the tax found due shall be greater than the amount reported as due on the 
company's return, the commissioner shall assess a tax in the amount of such ex­
cess and the whole amount of such excess shall be paid to the state treasurer within 
30 days after notice of the amount and demand for its payment shall have been 
mailed to the company by the commissioner. If the understatement of the tax on the 
return was false and fraudulent with intent to evade the tax, the installments of 
the tax shown by the company on its return which have not been paid shall be paid 
to the state treasurer within 30 days after notice of the amount thereof and demand 
for payment shall have been mailed to the company by the commissioner. If the 
amount of the tax found due the commissioner shall be less than that reported as 
due on the company's return, the excess shall be refunded to the company in the 
manner provided by section 299F.26, except that no demand therefor shall be neces­
sary, if they have already paid the whole of such tax, or credited against any unpaid 
installment thereof; provided, that no refundment shall be made except as provided 
in section 299F.26, after the expiration of three and one-half years after the filing of 
the return. 

If the commissioner examines returns of a company for more than one year, he 
may issue one order covering the several years under consideration reflecting the ag­
gregate refund or additional tax due. 

The notices and demands provided for by sections 299F.22 to 299F.24 shall be in 
such form as the commissioner may determine, including a statement, and shall 
contain a brief explanation of the computation of the tax and shall be sent by mail 
to the company at the address given in its return, if any, and if no such address is 
given, then to the last known address. . 

11965 c 499 s 1; 1969 c 1129 art 10 S 2] 
299F.23 ASSESSMENT, FAILURE TO FILE RETURN; FALSE OR FRAUDU­

LENT RETURN FILED. If any company required by Minnesota Statutes, Sec­
tion 299F.21, to file any return shall fail to do so within the time prescribed or shall 
make, wilfully or otherwise, an incorrect, false, or fraudulent return, it shall, oh 
the written demand of the commissioner of public safety, file such return, or cor­
rected return, within 30 days after the mailing of such written demand and at the 
same time pay the whole tax, or additional tax, due on the basis thereof. If such com­
pany shall fail within that time to file such return, or corrected return, the commis-

                           
MINNESOTA STATUTES 1974



299F.24 STATE FIRE MARSHAL 3830 

sioner shall make for it a return or corrected return, from his own knowledge and 
from such information as he can obtain through testimony, or otherwise, and assess 
a tax on the basis thereof, which tax, less any payments theretofore made on ac­
count of the tax for the taxable year covered by such return, shall be paid within 
ten days after the commissioner has mailed to such company a written notice of the 
amount thereof and demand for its payment. Any such return or assessment made by 
the commissioner on account of the failure of the company to make a return, or a 
corrected return, shall be prima facie correct and valid, and the company shall have 
the burden of establishing its incorrectness or invalidity in any action or proceed­
ing in respect thereto. 

[1965 c 499 s 2;. 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 21 
299F.24 COLLECTION OF TAX. The tax required to be paid by Minnesota 

Statutes, Section 299F.21, may be collected in any ordinary action at law by the 
commissioner of public safety against the company. In any action commenced pur­
suant to this section, upon the filing of an affidavit of default, the clerk of the district 
court wherein the action was commenced shall enter judgment for the state for the 
amount demanded in the complaint together with costs and disbursements. 

[1965 cJf99 S3; 1969c 1129art 10s 2] 
299F.25 APPEALS. Either party to an action or a judgment for the recovery 

of any taxes, interest, or penalties under section 299F.24 may remove the action 
or judgment to the supreme court by appeal, as provided for appeals in civil cases. 

[1965 c 499 s 4] 
299F.26 OVERPAYMENTS, CLAIMS FOR REFUND. Subdivision 1. Proce­

dure, time limit, appropriation. A company who has paid, voluntarily or otherwise, 
or from whom there has been collected an amount of tax for any year in excess of 
the amount legally due for that year, may file with the commissioner of public safety 
a claim for a refund of such excess. Except as provided in subdivision 4, no such 
claim shall be entertained unless filed within two years after such tax was paid or 
collected, or within throe and one-half years from the filing of the return, whichever 
period is the longer. 

Upon the filing of a claim the commissioner shall examine the same and shall 
make and file written findings thereon denying or allowing the claim in whole or 
in part and shall mail a notice thereof to the company at the address stated upon 
the return. If such claim is allowed in whole or in part, the commissioner shall 
issue his certificate for the refundment of the excess paid by the company, with in­
terest at the rate of two percent per annum computed from the date of the payment 
or collection of the tax until the date the refund is paid to the company, and the 
commissioner of finance shall cause such refund to be paid out of the proceeds of 
the taxes imposed by section 299F.21, as other state moneys are expended. So much 
of the proceeds of such taxes as may be necessary are hereby appropriated for that 
purpose. 

Subd. 2. Denial of claim, court proceedings. If the claim is denied in whole or 
in part, the company may commence an action against the commissioner to recover 
any overpayments of taxes claimed to be refundable but for which the commissioner 
has issued no certificate of refundment. Such action may be brought in the district 
court of the district in which lies the county of its principal place of business, or in 
the district court for Ramsey County. Such action may be commenced after the ex­
piration of six months after the claim is filed if the commissioner has not then taken 
final action thereon, and shall be commenced within 18 months after the notice of the 
order denying the claim. 

Subd. 3. Denial of claim, appeal. Either party to said action may appeal to the 
supreme court as in other cases. 

Subd. 4. Consent to extend time. If the commissioner and the company have 
within the periods prescribed in subdivision 1, consented in writing to any exten­
sion of time for the assessment of the tax, the period within a claim for refund may 
be filed, or a refund may be made or allowed, if no claim is filed, shall be the period 
within which the commissioner and the company have consented to an extension for 
the assessment of the tax and six months thereafter, provided, however, that the 
period within which a claim for refund may be filed shall not expire prior to two years 
after the tax was paid. 

Subd. 5. Overpayment; refunds. If the amount determined to be an over­
payment exceeds the taxes imposed by Minnesota Statutes, Section 299F.21, the 
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amount of such excess shall be considered an overpayment. An amount paid as 
tax shall constitute an overpayment even if in fact there was no tax liability with 
respect to which such amount was paid. 

Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, in the case of any 
overpayment the commissioner, within the applicable period of limitations, shall re­
fund any balance of more than one dollar to such company if the company shall 
so reques t 

[1965 c 499 8 5; 1969 c 1129 art 10 8 2; 1973 C 492 8 141 

299F.27 ITEMIZED STATEMENT KEPT. The state fire marshal shall keep on 
file in his office an itemized statement of all expenses incurred by his office and ap­
prove all vouchers issued therefor before the same are submitted to the commis­
sioner of finance for payment, which vouchers shall be allowed and paid in the same 
manner as other claims against the state. 

11913 C 564 S 24; 1973 C 492 S 141 (5974) 
299F.28 RECORDS TO BE PUBLIC, EXCEPT IN CERTAIN CASES. All rec­

ords on file in the state fire marshal 's office shall be public, except any testimony, 
correspondence, or other matter taken in an investigation under the provisions of 
this chapter, which the state fire marshal, in his discretion, may withhold from the 
public. 

[19130 564 8 261 (5976) 
299F.29 COUNTY ATTORNEYS TO ASSIST. The county attorney of any coun­

ty, upon request of the state fire marshal, his deputies or assistants, shall assist 
such officers upon an investigation of any fire, which in their opinion is of suspicious 
origin. 

11913 0 5648 271 (5977) 
299F.30 FIRE DRILLS REQUTRED IN SCHOOLS; DOORS AND EXITS TO 

BE KEPT OPEN. Subdivision 1. It shall be the duty of the state fire marshal, his 
deputies and assistants, to require public and private schools and educational in­
stitutions to have at least nine fire drills each school year and to keep all doors and 
exits unlocked from the inside of the building during school hours. 

Subd. 2. Each superintendent, principal or other person in charge of a public 
or private school, educational institution, children's home or orphanage housing 
20 or more students or other persons, shall instruct and train such students or 
other persons to quickly and expeditiously quit the premises in case of fire or 
other emergency by means of drills or rapid dismissals at least once each month 
while such school, institution, home or orphanage is in operation. Records of such 
drills shall be posted so that such records are available for review by the state 
fire marshal at all times and shall include the drill date and the time required to 
evacuate the building. 

Subd. 3. Each superintendent, principal or other person in charge of a public 
or private school, educational institution, children's home or orphanage shall 
keep all doors and exits of such school, institution, home or orphanage unlocked 
so that persons can leave by such doors or exits a t any time during the hours of 
normal operation. 

[1913 c 564 8 28; 1971 c 516 s 1; 1973 c 11 8 11 (5978) 
299F.31 PENALTDES PAID INTO STATE TREASURY. All penalties, fees, or 

forfeitures collected under the provisions of this chapter shall be paid into the state 
treasury for the benefit of the state fire marshal fund. 

[1913 c 564 8 291 (5979) 
299F.32 DECLARATION FOR PUBLIC SAFETY. I t is hereby declared that 

this chapter is necessary for the public safety, health, peace, and welfare, is reme­
dial in nature, and shall be construed liberally and this chapter shall not be declared 
unconstitutional and void for the reason that any section or provision thereof may 
be in contravention of the constitution. 

[1913 c 564 8 301 (5980) 
299F.33 ANNUAL REPORT. The state fire marshal shall submit annually as 

early as consistent with full and accurate preparation and not later than the fifteenth 
day of February a detailed report of his official actions to the governor. 

[1913 c 564 8 311 (5981) 
299F.34 COMPENSATION FOR FIRES REPORTED. There shall be paid to the 

chiefs of fire departments, and mayors of cities, who do not receive to exceed $50 
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annually as compensation for their services as such chiefs and mayors, and to presi­
dents of the statutory city boards, and to the town clerks of towns, who are by this 
chapter required to report fires to the state fire marshal, the sum of $1 for each fire 
reported to the satisfaction of the state fire marshal ; and in addition thereto mile­
age at the rate of ten cents per mile for each mile traveled to and from the place 
of fire. These allowances shall be paid by the state fire marshal at the close of each 
fiscal year out of any funds appropriated for the use of the office of the state fire 
marshal . 

All chiefs of departments who receive a stated salary and devote their entire time 
to the duties of chiefs of the department and those mayors of cities who receive a 
stated salary exceeding $50 as such officer shall be precluded from receiving any ex­
t ra allowance from the report herein mentioned. 

11913 c 564 s 32; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 71 (5982) 

299F.35 STATEMENT NOT USED IN CIVIL ACTION, WHEN. No statement 
or admission of assured in any fire insurance policy given to the fire marshal 's office 
in any investigation or proceeding had by that office shall be used in any civil action 
based upon such policy of insurance. 

U913c564sSS] (598S) 
299F.36 FIRE EXTINGUISHERS. Subdivision 1. M.S. 1953 [Repealed, 1955 

c 791s 3] 
Subdivision 1. No person, firm or corporation shall sell, expose for sale, buy, ex­

change, give, receive or, after the period allowed by the order provided for in subdi­
vision 3 have in possession any fire extinguisher containing any of the following ma­
terials: carbon tetrachloride, CC14; chlorobromomethane, Ch2BrCl; dibromodifluoro-
methane, CBr2F2 ; 1, 2 dibromo-2-chlor-l, 1-2-trifluoroethane, CBr-F2CBrClF; 1, 2 dibro-
mo-2,2-difluoroethane, CH2BrCBrF2; ethylene dibromide, CH2BrCH2Br; hydrogen bro­
mide, HBr; methylene bromide, CH2Br2; bromodifluoromethane, CHBrF2 ; methyl bro­
mide, CH3Br. 

Subd. 2. I t shall be unlawful for any person, firm or corporation directly or 
through an agent, to sell or offer for sale or, after the period allowed by the 
order provided for in subdivision 3 have in possession any make, type or model 
of extinguisher, either new or used, for use as a fire extinguisher, unless such 
make, type or model of extinguisher has first been tested and is approved and 
labeled by the Factory Mutual Laboratories, Underwriters' Laboratories, Inc., or 
other testing laboratory approved by the state fire marshal, as providing adequate 
and reliable tests and examinations; and it shall be unlawful for any person to de­
liver or make available for use in the state of Minnesota any make, type or 
model of extinguisher which is not tested or serviced as required in the standards 
of the National Fire Protection Association entitled "Standards for the Installa­
tion, Maintenance and Use of Portable Fire Extinguishers" (NFPA No. 10) dated 
June 1959. 

Subd. 3. The state fire marshal, his chief assistant, deputies, and subordinates, 
the chief of the fire department of each city or other subdivision of government 
where a fire department is established, who finds in any building or upon any 
premises any fire extinguisher containing any of the materials listed in subdivision 
1, or in dangerous or not in efficient operating order, or does not conform to the 
standards described in subdivision 2, shall order the extinguisher removed or re­
paired. This order shall be in writing and directed generally to the owner, lessee, 
agent or occupant of the building or premises and shall allow a period of 15 days 
in which to make required repairs or to remove the extinguisher, and any owner, 
lessee, agent, or occupant who fails to comply therewith shall be guilty of a misde­
meanor, and the party issuing the order may remove the fire extinguisher. 

Subd. 4. I t shall be the duty of the sheriff and his deputies in areas not served by 
a Are department to report the existence of any extinguisher containing any of the 
materials listed in subdivision 1, or any extinguisher not in an efficient operating or­
der, to the fire marshal, his chief deputy assistants, or subordinates when such ex­
tinguishers are found. 

Subd. 5. Any person, firm or corporation who shall violate any of the provisions 
of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. 

11953 c 1,30 s 1-3; 1955 c 791 s 1, 2; 1965 c 385 s 1; 1971 c 78 s 1; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7] 
299F.361 INSTALLATION OF FIRE EXTINGUISHERS IN MULTIPLE UNIT 

RESIDENTIAL BUILDINGS. Subdivision 1. There shall be provided and in­
stalled in each apar tment of a multiple unit residence building containing four or 
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more apartments, at least one fire extinguisher complying with the standards pre­
scribed by section 299F.36 and with a rating of not less than 1A—10BC, as defined 
by the National Fire Protection Pamphlet No. 10; or there shall be provided and 
installed within 50 feet of each apartment entrance at least one fire extinguisher 
complying with the standards prescribed by section 299F.36 and with a rating of not 
less than 2A—10BC as defined by the National Fire Protection Pamphlet No. 10. 

Subd. 2. Owners of multiple unit residence buildings heretofore constructed 
shall have 180 days to comply with the provisions of subdivision 1, except that those 
multiple unit residence buildings providing 2A type fire extinguishers and meeting 
the standards prescribed by the National Fire Protection Pamphlet No. 10 shall have 
three years to comply with the provisions of subdivision 1. 

Subd. 3. Nothing in this section shall prohibit a local unit of government from 
adopting standards more stringent than those provided in subdivision 1. 

U97Jf c 63 s 1-3] 
299F.37 FIRE HOSE THREADS AND FITTINGS TO BE UND70RM. All fire 

hose fittings, apparatus fittings, 1% and 2% inches in diameter, purchased or procured 
after January 1, 1970, by fire departments operating in Minnesota, shall be of the 
national standard hose thread as adopted by the national fire protection associa­
tion. Any person selling non-standard hose couplings, fittings, or apparatus fittings, 
1% and 2% inches in diameter, for fire department use in Minnesota, after January 1, 
1970, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. 

11969 c 286 si] 
299F.38 NO SMOKING SIGNS; POSTING. The state fire marshal, his depu­

ties, or assistants may prominently post "no smoking" signs wherever they deem 
public safety requires. I t shall be unlawful to violate the prohibition of such a sign. 
Smoking shall include carrying a lighted cigar, cigarette, pipe, or any other lighted 
smoking equipment. 

[1965 c 50 si] 
299F.39 FERE SAFETY CODE. Subdivision 1. Establishment. The state fire 

marshal after holding a public hearing in accordance with law, shall establish a 
fire safety code. The regulations in the code shall provide for reasonable safety from 
fire, smoke, and panic therefrom, in all hospitals, nursing homes, rest homes, board 
and care homes, as defined by the state board of health, schools, hotels, as defined 
in Minnesota Statutes, Section 299F.46, Subdivision 1. 

Subd. 2. M.S. 1969 [Repealed, Exl971 c 3 s 78 subd 2] 
Subd. 2. Requirements of code. The code shall specify reasonable minimum 

requirements for fire safety in new and existing buildings and facilities. Regula­
tions may be in accordance with the size, type of construction and nature of use 
or occupancy of such buildings or facilities. No regulation made in accordance 
with subdivisions 1, 2, and 3, shall be inconsistent with the provisions of the stat­
utes nor impair the rights of municipalities to enact ordinances and make orders 
with respect to buildings as provided by law, so far as such ordinances or orders 
specify requirements equal to, additional to or more stringent than the regulations 
issued under authority of subdivisions 1, 2, and 3. Upon application, the state fire 
marshal may, in his discretion, grant variances from the minimum requirements 
specified in the code if (a) there is substantial compliance with the provisions of 
the code and (b) the safety of the public and occupants of such building will not 
be jeopardized, and (c) substantial damage will result to the applicant unless such 
variance is granted. 

Subd. 3. Filing: of code and amendments. The code and all amendments there­
to shall be filed with the secretary of state and published in accordance with Min­
nesota Statutes, Sections 15.046 to 15.049, and in addition thereto a copy shall be 
provided each local fire marshal, fire chief, building inspector, or other governmen­
tal official, who request a copy of the code. 

Subd. 4. Violations. Any person who violates any provision of the fire safety 
code shall be fined not more than $200 or imprisoned not more than three months or 
both. No person shall be convicted of violating the fire safety code unless he shall 
have been given notice of the violation in writing and reasonable time to comply. 

U957 c 723 s 1-k; 1961 c 560 s 8; Exl971 c 3 s 78 subd 1] 

299F.40 LIQUEFDSD PETROLEUM GAS CONTAINERS. Subdivision 1. Pub­
lic policy. I t is the intent of the Minnesota legislature to protect the public wel­
fare and promote safety in the filling and use of pressure vessels containing lique-
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fled petroleum gases through implementing both the interstate commerce commis­
sion regulations, within the State of Minnesota, the rules and regulations of the 
Minnesota state fire marshal, and the national standards of safety on the filling of 
these containers. It is deemed necessary to insure that containers properly con­
structed and tested be used and that a liquefied petroleum gas of suitable and safe 
vapor pressure be placed in these containers. To attain this end the filling or re­
filling of liquefied petroleum gas containers by other than the owner or authorized 
person must be controlled and specific authority to prevent violation and encourage 
enforcement be established. 

Subd. 2. Definitions. The term "person" shall mean and include any person, 
persons, firm, firms, corporation or corporations. 

The term "owner" shall mean and include (a) any person who holds a written bill 
of sale or other instrument under which title to the container was transferred to such 
person, (b)any person who holds a paid or receipted invoice showing purchase and 
payment of such container, (c) any person whose name, initials, mark, or other 
identifying device has been plainly and legibly stamped or otherwise shown upon the 
surface of such container for a period of not less than one year prior to the final 
enactment and approval of this section, or (d) any manufacturer of a container who 
has not sold or transferred ownership thereof by written bill of sale or otherwise; 

The term "liquefied petroleum gas" as used in this section shall mean and include 
any material which is composed predominantly of any of the following hydrocar­
bons or mixtures of the same: propane, propylene, butanes (normal butane and iso-
butane), and butylenes. 

Subd. 3. Containers, identifying devices; unlawful acts. If a liquefied petro­
leum gas container shall bear upon the surface thereof in plainly legible characters 
the name, mark, initials or other identifying device of the owner thereof, it shall 
be unlawful for any person except such owner or a person authorized in writing by 
him: (a) To fill or refill such container with liquefied petroleum gas or any other 
gas or compound; 

(b) To buy, sell, offer for sale, give, take, loan, deliver or permit to be delivered, 
or otherwise use, dispose of, or traffic in any such container; or 

(c) To deface, erase, obliterate, cover up or otherwise remove or conceal or 
change any such name, mark, initials or other identifying device of the owner or 
to place the name, mark, initials or other identifying device of any person other than 
the owner on such container. 

Subd. 4. Presumptive evidence of unlawful use of containers. The use of a liq­
uefied petroleum gas container or containers by any person other than the person 
whose name, mark, initial or device shall be or shall have been upon such liquefied 
petroleum gas container or containers, without written consent or purchase of such 
marked and distinguished liquefied petroleum gas container, for the sale of liquefied 
petroleum gas or filling or refilling with liquefied petroleum gas, or the possession of 
such liquefied petroleum gas containers by any person other than the person having 
his name, mark, initial or other device thereon, without the written consent of such 
owner, shall and is hereby declared to be presumptive evidence of the unlawful use, 
filling or refilling, transition of, or trafficking in such liquefied petroleum gas con­
tainers. 

Subd. 5. Violations, search warrants. Whenever any person, or the president, 
secretary, treasurer, or other officer of any corporation mentioned in this section, 
or his duly authorized agent who has personal knowledge of the facts, shall make 
oath in writing before any justice of the peace or police judge, or other magistrate, 
that the party so making such affidavit has reason to believe and does believe 
that any of his, her, its or their liquefied petroleum gas containers marked with the 
name, initials, mark or other device of said owner, are in the possession of or being 
used by or being filled or refilled or transferred by any person whose name, initials, 
mark or other device does not appear on said containers, and who is in the posses­
sion of, filling or refilling, or using any such containers without the written consent 
of the owner of such name, initials or trade mark, the said magistrate may, when 
satisfied that there is reasonable cause, issue a search warrant and cause the prem­
ises designated to be searched for the purpose of discovering and obtaining the 
same, and may also cause to be brought before him the person in whose possession 
such containers may be found, and shall then inquire into the circumstances of such 
possession; and if such magistrate finds that such person has been guilty of a vio­
lation of this section, he shall impose the punishment herein prescribed, and he 
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shall also award the possession of property taken upon such search warrant to the 
owner thereof. 

Subd. 6. Misdemeanor. Any person who shall fail to comply with any of the 
foregoing provisions of this section shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor for 
each separate offense. 

11957 c 768 s 1-6] 
299F.41 PUBLIC BUILDINGS, USE BY HANDICAPPED; DEFINITIONS. 

Subdivision 1. When used in sections 299F.41 to 299F.45, the following words and 
phrases have the meanings ascribed to them in this section. 

Subd. 2. "Public building" means any building and the grounds appurtenant there­
to, the cost of which is paid for by the state of Minnesota or any governmental sub­
division thereof, or any agency of the state or of any governmental subdivision, or 
school district. 

Subd. 3. "Physically handicapped" means sight disabilities, hearing disabilities, 
disabilities of incoordination, disabilities of aging, and any other disability that sig­
nificantly reduces mobility, flexibility, coordination, or perceptiveness. 

Subd. 4. "Fire marshal" means the fire marshal of the state of Minnesota. 
Subd. 5. "Remodeling" means deliberate reconstruction of an existing building 

in whole or in part in order to bring it up to date in conformity with present uses of 
the structure and to which other rules and regulations on the upgrading of health 
and safety provisions are applicable. 

11963 C 813 S1; 1965 C 21,8 s 1,21 
299F.42 ADMINISTRATION. The duty and the power to administer and en­

force sections 299F.41 to 299F.45 is conferred upon and vested in the Are marshal. 
11963 0 813 8 21 
299F.43 SPECD7TCATIONS AND STANDARDS. Subdivision 1. The fire mar­

shal shall promulgate in the manner otherwise provided by law, reasonable rules and 
regulations necessary for or incident to the administration of sections 299F.41 to 
299F.45, which among other matters shall prescribe specifications making public 
buildings constructed or remodeled after final enactment of sections 299F.41 to 
299F.45 accessible to and usable by physically handicapped persons. 

Subd. 2. Nothing in sections 299F.41 to 299F.45 shall be construed to require the 
remodeling of public buildings solely to provide accessibility and usability to the 
physically handicapped when remodeling would not otherwise be undertaken. 

11963 c 813 s 3; 1965 c 21,3 a 3; 1969 c 31,0 s 11 
299F.44 APPROVAL AND REVD3W OF PLANS AND SPECIFICATIONS. Con­

struction or remodeling shall not be hereafter commenced of any public 
building owned by the state of Minnesota until the plans and specifications of the 
public building have been approved by the fire marshal. In the case of any other 
public building defined in section 299F.41 but not owned by the state of Minnesota 
to be constructed or remodeled the plans and specifications thereof shall be sub­
mitted to the fire marshal for review and within 30 days after his receipt thereof 
he shall notify the submitting authority of his recommendations if any. The provi­
sions of this section are inapplicable to contracts awarded prior to April 23,1965. 

[1963 C 813 S k; 1965 C 21,8 S 1,1 
299F.45 EFFECTIVE DATE. Subdivision 1. Except as hereinafter provided 

sections 299F.41 to 299F.45 are effective on the first day of July next following its 
final enactment. 

Subd. 2. The fire marshal may promulgate the rules and regulations pro­
vided for in section 299F.43 at any time after the final enactment of sections 299F.41 
to299F.45. 

11968 c 818 s 51 
299F.46 ENFORCEMENT. Subdivision 1. It shall be the duty of the commis­

sioner of public safety to enforce all laws of the state, thereof, as follows: 
(1) The prevention of fires; 
(2) The storage, sale, and use of combustibles and explosives; 
(3) The means and adequacy of exits, in case of Are, from churches, schools, 

halls, theatres, amphitheatres, and all other places in which numbers of persons con­
gregate, from time to time, for any purpose; and 

(4) The suppression of arson and investigation of the cause, origin, and circum­
stances of fire. 

Subd. 2. (1) It shall be the duty of the commissoner to inspect, or cause to be in-
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spected, at least once annually, every hotel in this state; and, for that purpose, he, 
or any of his deputies, or designated subordinates, shall have the right to enter or 
have access thereto at any reasonable hour; and, when, upon such inspection, it shall 
be found that the hotel so inspected does not conform to or is not being operated in 
accordance with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes 1945, Sections 157.01 to 157.14, 
as amended, in so far as the same relate to fire prevention or fire protection of 
hotels, or the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder, or is being conducted in 
such manner as to violate any other law of this state relating to fire prevention and 
fire protection of hotels, the commissioner and his deputies or designated alternates 
shall proceed as provided for in sections 157.01 to 157.14, or otherwise by statute. 

(2) The word "hotel," as used in this subdivision, means any building or other 
structure, or any part thereof, kept, used, or maintained as, advertised as, or held out 
to the public to be an inn, an hotel, or other place where sleeping accommodations 
are furnished persons for hire, whether with or without meals, or a multiple dwelling 
housing five or more families. 

(3) All powers and duties in sections 157.01 to 157.14, which relate to fire preven­
tion and fire protection of hotels and which are by sections 157.01 to 157.14, now con­
ferred upon the hotel inspector, are hereby transferred to and vested in the com­
missioner. 

11911 c 386 s 2; 1913 c 564 S 2; 191,9 C 469 s 1; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2] (3288, 5950) 
299F.65 STATE ADVISORY COUNCIL ON FIRE SERVICE EDUCATION AND 

RESEARCH. There is created a state advisory council on fire service education 
and research. Members of the council shall be appointed by the governor and shall 
serve at his pleasure. The council shall consist of not more than 20 members and 
shall include representatives of the fire service and the various educational systems, 
state departments, local governments, and nongovernmental agencies and the 
business community having an interest in fire service research and education. The 
council shall advise the governor and the legislature, the director of the state office 
of local and urban affairs and other state departments, institutions and agencies 
represented by its members and, upon request, other relevant agencies, on the de­
velopment, and conduct and scope of fire service research, on the needs of the fire 
service, and on the development and provision of coordinated programs of educa­
tion and training for the fire service. In the performance of these advisory duties, 
the council shall provide for utilizing to the greatest practicable extent the university 
of Minnesota, the state and community colleges, technical and vocational schools, 
state departments and qualified private institutions and agencies, placing maximum 
reliance on the report of the advisory committee on fire protection and fire preven­
tion education made pursuant to Laws 1967, Chapter 868, Section 10, Subdivision 4, 
Clause (1). Members of the council shall serve without compensation. 

11969 c 529 s 1; 1973 c 349 s 21 

NATURAL GAS PIPELINE SAFETY 
299F.56 DEFINITIONS; NATURAL GAS PIPELINE SAFETY. As used in sec­

tions 299F.56 to 299F.64: 
"The Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act of 1968 of the United States" shall mean 

Public Law 90-481, 82 Stat. 720, 90th Congress, S. 1166, approved August 12, 1968. 
"Person" means any individual, firm, joint venture, partnership, corporation, as­

sociation, municipality, cooperative association or joint stock association, and in­
cludes any trustee, receiver, assignee, or personal representative thereof. 

"Gas" means natural gas, flammable gas or gas which is toxic or corrosive, ex­
cept that "gas" shall not include liquefied petroleum gas. 

"Transportation of gas" means the gathering, transmission, or distribution of 
gas by pipeline or its storage; except that it shall not include any such transporta­
tion of gas which is subject to the jurisdiction of the Federal Power Commission 
under the Natural Gas Act of the United States, or the gathering of gas in those 
rural locations which lie outside the limits of any incorporated or unincorporated 
city, town, or any other designated residential or commercial area such as a 
subdivision, a business or shopping center, a community development or any simi­
lar populated area which the state fire marshal may define as a nonrural area. 

"Pipeline facilities" includes, without limitation, new and existing pipe rights of 
way and any equipment facility or building used in the transportation of gas or the 
treatment of gas during the course of transportation, but "rights of way" as used 
in sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 does not authorize the state fire marshal to prescribe 
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the location or routing of any pipeline facility. "Pipeline facilities" shall not include 
any facilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Federal Power Commission under the 
Natural Gas Act of the United States. 

[1969 c 988 s 1; 197S c 128 art 5 s 7] 

299F.57 MINIMUM SAFETY STANDARDS. Subdivision 1. The state fire 
marshal shall, by order, establish minimum safety standards for the transportation 
of gas and pipeline facilities. Such standards may apply to the design, installation, 
inspection, testing, construction, extension, operation, replacement and maintenance 
of pipeline facilities. Standards affecting the design, installation, construction, initial 
inspection and initial testing shall not be applicable to pipeline facilities in existence 
on the date such standards are adopted. Such safety standards shall be practicable 
and designed to meet the need for pipeline safety. In prescribing such standards, 
the state fire marshal shall consider: 

(a) relevant available pipeline safety data; 
(b) whether such standards are appropriate for the particular type of pipeline 

transportation; 
(c) the reasonableness of any proposed standards; 
(d) the extent to which any such standards will contribute to public safety; and 
(e) the existing standards established by the Secretary of Transportation of 

the United States pursuant to the Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act of 1968 of the 
United States. 

Provided, however, that the state Are marshal shall not be empowered to adopt 
any such standards as to the transportation of gas or to pipeline facilities which are 
subject to the jurisdiction of the Federal Power Commission under the Natural Gas 
Act of the United States. 

Subd. 2. Any standards prescribed under this section, and amendments 
thereto, shall become effective 30 days after the date of issuance of such standards 
unless the state fire marshal, for good cause recited, determines an earlier or later 
effective date is required as the result of the period reasonably necessary for com­
pliance. 

Subd. 3. The rule making, contested case and judicial review provisions of chap­
ter 15, shall apply to all orders establishing, amending, revoking, or waiving com­
pliance with, any standard established under sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 or any 
penalty imposed under sections 299F.56 to 299F.64. The state fire marshal shall 
afford interested persons an opportunity to participate fully in the establishment of 
such safety standards through submission of written data, views or arguments, with 
opportunity to present oral testimony and argument. 

Subd. 4. Whenever the state fire marshal shall find a particular facility to be 
hazardous to life or property, he shall be empowered to require the person operat­
ing such facility to take such steps necessary to remove such hazards. 

Subd. 5.. Upon application by any person engaged in the transportation of gas 
or the operation of pipeline facilities, the state fire marshal may, after notice and op­
portunity for hearing and under such terms and conditions and to such extent as he 
deems appropriate, waive in whole or in part compliance with any standards es­
tablished under sections 299F.56 to 299F.64, if he determines that a waiver of com­
pliance with such standard is not inconsistent with gas pipeline safety. The state 
fire marshal shall state his reasons for any such waiver. 

11969 c 988 S 2; 1971 c 24 S 321 

299F.58 CERTDJICATIONS AND REPORTS. The state fire marshal is autho­
rized to make such certifications and reports to the United States Secretary of 
Transportation as may be required from time to time under the Natural Gas Pipe­
line Safety Act of 1968 of the United States. 

[1969 c 988 s 3] 

299F.59 COMPLIANCE WITH STANDARDS. Subdivision 1. Each person 
who engages in the transportation of gas or who owns or operates pipeline facilities 
shall: 

(a) at all times after the date any applicable safety standard established under 
sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 takes effect comply with the requirements of such stan­
dard; 
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(b) file and comply with a plan of inspection and maintenance required by sec­
tions 299F.56 to 299F.64; and 

(c) permit access to or copying of records, and make reports or provide in­
formation, and permit entry or inspection, as required by sections 299F.56 to 299F.64. 

Subd. 2. Nothing in sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 shall affect the common law or 
statutory tort liability of any person. 

[1969 c 988 s 43 
299F.60 CIVIL PENALTIES. Subdivision 1. Whenever the state fire marshal 

has reason to believe any person is violating any provision of, or regulation under 
sections 299F.56 to 299F.64, he may request the attorney general of the state of 
Minnesota to bring an action under sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 in the district court 
for the county wherein the defendant's principal place of business in Minnesota is 
located, and the district court may impose a civil penalty of not to exceed $1,000 for 
each such violation for each day that such violation persists, except that the maxi­
mum civil penalty shall not exceed $200,000 for any related series of violations; pro­
vided, however, that for a reasonable period of time, not to exceed one year after 
the date of enactment of sections 299F.56 to 299F.64, such civil penalties shall not 
be applicable to pipeline facilities existing on such date of enactment. The Minne­
sota Rules of Civil Procedure shall be applicable to any action brought under this 
section. 

Subd. 2. In determining the amount of such penalty, the appropriateness of 
such penalty to the size of the business of the person charged, the gravity of the 
violation, and the good faith of the person charged, shall be considered. The 
amount of such penalty, when finally determined, may be deducted from any sums 
owing by the state of Minnesota to the person charged. 

Subd. 3. No person shall be subjected to civil penalties under both sections 
299F.56 to 299F.64 and under Public Law 90-481, 82 Stat. 720, 90th Congress, S. 1166, 
approved August 12, 1968, for conduct which may give rise to a violation of both 
acts. 

Subd. 4. All penalties collected under sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 shall be paid 
over to the state treasurer for deposit in the state treasury to the credit of the 
general fund. 

11969 c 399 s 1; 1969 c 988 s 5] 

299F.61 INJUNCTIVE BELIEF. Subdivision 1. The district courts of the 
state of Minnesota shall have jurisdiction, subject to the provisions of the statutes 
and the rules of practice and procedure of the state of Minnesota relative to civil 
actions in the district courts, to restrain violations of sections 299F.56 to 299F.64, in­
cluding the restraint of transportation of gas or the operation of a pipeline facility, 
or to enforce standards established hereunder upon petition by the attorney general 
on behalf of the state of Minnesota. Whenever practicable, the state fire marshal shall 
give notice to any person against whom an action for injunctive relief is contem­
plated and afford him an opportunity to present his views, and, except in the case 
of a knowing and willful violation, shall afford him reasonable opportunity to 
achieve compliance. However, the failure to give such notice and afford such op­
portunity shall not preclude the granting of appropriate relief. 

Subd. 2. Actions under sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 shall be brought in the dis­
trict in the state of Minnesota wherein the defendant's principal place of business 
is located, and process in such cases may be served in any other district in the state 
of Minnesota where the defendant may be found or of which the defendant is an 
Inhabitant or transacts business. 

11969 c 988 s 6] 
299F.62 PLAN FOB INSPECTION AND MAINTENANCE. Each person who 

engages in the transportation of gas or who owns or operates pipeline facilities 
subject to sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 shall file with the state fire marshal a plan 
for inspection and maintenance of each such pipeline facility owned or operated by 
such person, and any changes in such plan, in accordance with the regulations pre­
scribed by the state fire marshal. If the state fire marshal finds that such plan is 
inadequate to achieve safe operation, he shall, after notice and opportunity for a 
hearing, require such plan to be revised. The plan required by the state fire marshal 
shall be practicable and designed to meet the need for pipeline safety. In determin-
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ing the adequacy of any such plan, the state fire marshal shall consider the follow 
lng: 

(a) relevant available pipeline safety data; 
(b) whether the plan is appropriate for the particular type of pipeline trans­

portation; 
(c) the reasonableness of the plan; and 
(d) the extent to which such plan will contribute to public safety. 
11969 c 988 s 7] 

299F.G3 RECORDS AND REPORTS; INSPECTIONS; TRADE SECRETS. 
Subdivision 1. Each person who engages in the transportation of gas or who 
owns or operates pipeline facilities shall establish and maintain such records, make 
such reports, and provide such information as the state fire marshal may reasonably 
require to enable him to determine whether such person has acted or is acting in 
compliance with sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 and the standards established under 
sections 299F.56 to 299F.64. Each such person shall, upon request of an officer, em­
ployee, or agent authorized by the state fire marshal, permit such officer, employee, 
or agent to inspect books, papers, records and documents relevant to determining 
whether such person has acted or is acting in compliance with sections 299F.56 to 
299F.64 and the standards established pursuant to sections 299F.56 to 299F.64. For 
purposes of enforcement of sections 299FJ56 to 299F.C4, officers, employees, or aRents 
authorized by the state fire marshal, upon presenting appropriate credentials to the 
individual in charge, are authorized to enter upon, at reasonable times, pipeline fa­
cilities, and to inspect, at reasonable times and within reasonable limits and in a 
reasonable manner, such facilities. Each such inspection shall be commenced and 
completed with reasonable promptness. 

Subd. 2. In the course of the exercise of his duties and responsibilities under 
sections 299F.56 to 299F.64, the state fire marshal shall wherever practicable em­
ploy a practice of spot checking and issuance of certificates of compliance, with 
respect to persons subject to sections 299F.56 to 299F.64, to limit costs of enforce­
ment of the safety standards established pursuant to sections 299F.56 to 299F.64. 

Subd. 3. All information reported to or otherwise obtained by the state fire 
marshal or his representative, which contains or relates to a trade secret, as re­
ferred to in section 1905 of title 18 of the United States Code, or otherwise constitutes 
a trade secret under law, shall be considered confidential for the purpose of such 
laws, except that such information may be disclosed to other officers or employees 
concerned with carrying out sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 or when relevant in any pro­
ceeding under sections 299F.5Q to 299F.64. 

11969 c 988 s 8] 
299F.64 FEDERAL MONEYS. The state fire marshal may accept any and 

all moneys provided for or made available to this state by the United States of 
America or any department or agency thereof with respect to prescribing, setting, 
and enforcing rules, regulations, and safety standards for the transportation of natu­
ral and other gas by pipelines in accordance with the provisions of federal law 
and any rules or regulations promulgated thereunder and the state fire marshal is 
further authorized to do any and all things, not contrary to the laws of this slate, 
required of this state by such federal law and the rules and regulations promul­
gated thereunder in order to obtain such federal moneys. 

11969 C 988 S 91 
CONTROLS OF EXPLOSIVES 

299F.71 POLICY. The beneficial use of explosives has resulted in great savings 
of time* labor, and money in the development of the state. However, existing laws 
and regulations have not restricted explosives to those who would use or contrib­
ute to their use for beneficial purposes. The inattentive care, indiscriminate and un­
recorded transfer and perverse use of explosives has resulted in death, grave per­
sonal injury, and substantial property damage in this state; in addition, the result­
ing bombings and bombing threats have terrorized and inconvenienced the public. 

It is the policy of this state to require such controls of explosives and their com­
ponent parts from the time prior to manufacture through ultimate use as are neces­
sary to protect the safety and welfare of the public, without unduly restricting the 
legitimate manufacture, sale, transport, and use of explosives. 

11971 c 8Jf5 s 11 
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299F.72 DEFINITIONS. Subdivision 1. For the purposes of Laws 1971, Chap­
ter 845 the terms defined in this section have the meanings given them. 

Subd. 2. "Explosive" means any compound or mixture, the primary or common 
purpose of which is to function by explosion; that is, with substantially instantane­
ous release of gas and heat; but shall not mean or include the components for hand-
loading rifle, pistol, and shotgun ammunition, and/or rifle, pistol and shotgun ammu­
nition, black powder, primers and fuses when used for ammunition and compo­
nents for antique or replica muzzleloading rifles, pistols, muskets, shotguns and 
cannons, or fireworks as defined in section 624.20, nor shall it include any fertilizer 
product possessed, used or sold solely for a legitimate agricultural, forestry, con­
servation, or horticultural purpose. 

Subd. 3. "Explosive device" means any device so articulated that an ignition by 
fire, by friction, by concussion, or by detonation of any part thereof may cause 
such sudden generation of highly heated gases that the resultant gaseous pressures 
are capable of producing destructive effects, but shall not mean or include the com­
ponents for handloading rifle, pistol and shotgun ammunition and/or rifle, pistol 
and shotgun ammunition, black powder, primers and fuses when used for ammuni­
tion and components for antique or replica muzzleloading rifles, pistols, muskets, 
shotguns and cannons, or fireworks as defined in section 624.20, nor shall it include 
any fertilizer product possessed, used or sold solely for legitimate agricultural, for­
estry, conservation, or horticultural purpose. 

Subd. 4. "Incendiary device" means any device so articulated that ignition by 
fire, friction, concussion, detonation, or other method may produce destructive ef­
fects primarily through combustion rather than explosion, but shall not mean or 
include a manufactured device or article in common use by the general public which 
is designed to produce combustion for a lawful purpose, including but not limited to 
matches, lighters, flares, and petroleum derivatives, nor shall it include any fertil­
izer product possessed, used or sold solely for legitimate agricultural, forestry, con­
servation, or horticultural purpose. 

[1971 c 845 s 2] 

299F.73 LICENSE REQUIRED. Subdivision 1. No person shall manufac­
ture, assemble, warehouse or store explosives for purposes of wholesale or retail 
sale, or for any other purpose other than for ultimate consumption without being 
licensed to do so by the state fire marshal. 

Subd. 2. In order to obtain the license herein required such person shall make 
application to the state Are marshal. The application shall be on forms provided by 
the state fire marshal and shall require such information as he deems necessary 
including but not limited to the name, address, age, experience and knowledge of 
the applicant in the use, handling, and storage of explosives and explosive devices, 
and whether the applicant is a person to whom no such license may be issued pursu­
ant to section 299F.77. The state Are marshal may refuse to issue a license to any 
person who does not have sufficient knowledge of the use, handling, or storage of 
explosives to protect the public safety. Any person aggrieved by the denial of a 
license may request a hearing before the state fire marshal. The provisions of sec­
tions 15.0418 to 15.0426 shall apply to such hearing and subsequent proceedings, if 
any. 

11971 c 81f5 s 3] 

299F.74 PERMIT REQUIRED. No person shall have in his possession explo­
sives, unless said person shall have obtained a valid license as provided in sec­
tion 299F.73, or unless said person shall have obtained a valid permit for the 
use of explosives as hereinafter provided. The transportation of an explosive by 
a common carrier for hire shall not be deemed to be possession of an explosive 
for purposes of this section. 

[1971 c 81t5 s 4] 

299F.75 PERMIT APPLICATION. Subdivision 1. Any person desiring to 
possess explosives, other than a person licensed as provided in section 299F.73, shall 
make application for a permit for the use of explosives to the appropriate local fire 
official designated in section 299F.19, subdivision 4, or such other person as is desig­
nated by the local governing body to act for the local fire official on a standardized 
form provided by the commissioner of public safety except that a dealer in explo­
sives licensed under section 299F.73 may receive an application for a permit and 
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issue a permit to a purchaser whose residence or intended place of use is outside 
the dealer's local community provided that the dealer first verifies the identity of the 
purchaser and the propriety of the sale by a phone call to the appropriate local fire 
official designated in section 299F.19, subdivision 4 or such other person as is desig­
nated by the local governing body to act for the local fire official. 

Subd. 2. The application shall require the applicant's name, address, purpose 
for acquiring explosives, place of intended acquisition, quantity required, place 
and time of intended use, place and means of storage until such use and whether 
the applicant is a person to whom no such permit may be issued pursuant to 
section 299F.77. Any person aggrieved by the denial of a permit may request a 
hearing before the state fire marshal. The provisions of sections 15.0418 to 15.0426 
shall apply to such hearings and subsequent proceedings, if any. 

[1971 c 81,5 s 5; 1973 c 169 s i ] 

299F.76 AFFIRMATION. Subdivision 1. A license or an explosives use per­
mit shall have printed thereon a statement underlined that the applicant affirms 
under penalty of perjury that the information provided thereon is true to the best 
of his knowledge and belief. No license or permit shall be issued unless the appli­
cant signs the application. 

Subd. 2. Each license or permit issued pursuant to Laws 1971, Chapter 845 shall 
be designated by number and shall otherwise be sufficient to identify a licensee or 
permitee. A duplicate of the license or permit shall be retained by the issuing author­
ity. A license or permit shall not be issued for a period of time greater than one 
year, but may be issued for shorter periods. 

11971 c 81,5 S 6] 

299F.77 ISSUANCE OF A LICENSE OR PERMIT TO CERTAIN PERSONS 
PROHIBITED. The following persons shall not be entitled to receive an explosives 
license or permit: 

(a) Any person who within the past five years has been convicted of a felony 
or gross misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, is on parole or probation therefor, 
or is currently under indictment for any such crime; 

(b) Any mentally ill person or any mentally deficient person as defined in sec­
tion 253A.02 who has been confined or committed in Minnesota or elsewhere for a 
mental disorder or defect to any hospital, mental institution or sanitarium, or who 
has been certified by a medical doctor as being mentally ill or mentally deficient, 
unless he possesses a certificate of a medical doctor or psychiatrist licensed to prac­
tice in this state, or other satisfactory proof, tha t he is no longer suffering from this 
disability; 

(c) Any person who is or has been hospitalized or committed for t reatment for 
the habitual use of a narcotic drug, as defined in section 618.01, or a depressant or 
stimulant drug, as defined in section 152.01, or who has been certified by a medical 
doctor as being addicted to narcotic drugs or depressant or stimulant drugs, unless 
he possesses a certificate of a medical doctor or psychiatrist licensed to practice in 
this state, or other satisfactory proof, tha t he is no longer suffering from this dis­
ability; 

(d) Any person who by reason of the habitual and excessive use of intoxicating 
liquors is incapable of managing himself or his affairs and who has been confined or 
committed to any hospital, mental institution or sanitarium in this state or else­
where as an "inebriate person" as defined in section 253A.02, or who has been certi­
fied by a medical doctor as being addicted to alcohol, unless he possesses a certificate 
of a medical doctor or psychiatrist licensed to practice in this state, or other satis­
factory proof, tha t he is no longer suffering from this disability; 

(e) Any person under the age of 18 years. 
11971 c 845 s 7; 1973 C 725 s 551 

299F.78 TRANSFER. Subdivision 1. No person shall transfer explosives to 
another unless the transferee shall display to the transferror a copy of a valid 
license or use permit and proper identification, and unless said transferee shall 
present to the transferror a signed standardized form provided by the commis­
sioner of public safety, acknowledging receipt of the quantity of explosives trans­
ferred, the identifying numbers of the same explosives, or if none, the identify­
ing numbers of the primary container from which the same explosives were 
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distributed, and the serial number of the use permit displayed, which receipt 
shall be kept among the transferror 's records until authorized to dispose of it 
by the state fire marshal. 

Subd. 2. No person shall purchase more than five pounds of black powder 
without providing suitable identification and such other information as the com­
missioner may require. The records shall be submitted to the local Are marshal 
designated in section 299F.19, subdivision 4 a t such times as the commissioner 
may by rule prescribe and such records shall be open to the inspection of any 
peace officer acting in the normal course of his duties as such. 

[1971 c 8Jf5 s 81 

299F.79 POSSESSION WITH INTENT. Whoever has in his possession one or 
more of the components necessary to manufacture or assemble explosives, with 
the intent to manufacture or assemble explosives, unless said person shall have 
a valid license or permit as provided by sections 299F.73 and 299F.75, may be 
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years. 

[1971 c 8^5 s 91 

299F.80 POSSESSION WITHOUT A PERMIT. Subdivision 1. Except as pro­
vided in subdivision 2, whoever has in his possession explosives without a valid 
license or permit may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three 
years. 

Subd. 2. Whoever has in his possession, dynamite or other explosives com­
monly used for agricultural, forestry, conservation, industry or mining purposes, 
without a valid license or permit, with intent to use the same for legitimate agri­
cultural, forestry, conservation, industry or mining purposes, and in only such 
quantities as are reasonably necessary for such intended use, may be sentenced 
to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to a payment of a fine of not more 
than $300 or both. 

[1971 c 845 s 101 

299F.81 POSSESSION OF AN EXPLOSIVE OR INCENDIARY DEVICE. Who­
ever has in his possession any explosive device or incendiary device with intent to 
use the same for any unlawful purpose, may be sentenced to imprisonment for 
not more than ten years. 

[1971 c 845 s 111 

299F.82 ILLEGAL TRANSFER. Subdivision 1. Except as provided in sub­
division 2, whoever illegally transfers an explosive to another may be sentenced 
to imprisonment for not more than five years. 

Subd. 2. Whoever illegally transfers dynamite or other explosives commonly 
used for agricultural, forestry, conservation, industry or mining purposes to 
another, personally known to the transferror, in the belief that the same shall be 
used for legitimate agricultural, forestry, conservation, industry or mining pur­
poses, and in only such quantities as are reasonably necessary for such believed 
use, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment 
of a fine of not more than $300 or both. 

[1971 c 845 s 121 

299F.83 NEGLIGENT DISCHARGE. Whoever, acting with gross disregard 
for human life or property, negligently causes an explosive, explosive device, or 
incendiary device, to be discharged may be sentenced' to imprisonment for not 
more than ten years. 

[1971 c 845 s 131 
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