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299.01 TAX ON ROYALTIES Subdivision 1. There shall be levied and col-
lected upon all royalty received during the year ending December 31, 1947, and upon
all royalty received during each calendar year thereafter, for permission to explore,
mine, take out and remove ore from land in this state, a tax of 11 percent.

Subd. 2. There is hereby imposed as an additional tax upon all royalty re-
ceived for the permission to explore, mine, take out and remove ore from land in
this state, a tax of one percent to be levied and collected as a part of the tax levied
by subdivision 1.

[1928 ¢ 226 s 1; Ex1937 ¢ 84 8 1, 2; 1939 ¢ 855; 1941 ¢ 545 81, 2; 1943 ¢ 589 8 1, &;
1945 ¢ 447 8 1; 1947 ¢ 540 s 1; Ex1955 c2 art 3s81; Ex1957 c 1 art 4 5 2; Ex1959
c70art9s 1] ( 2392-1, 2392-1a)

299.011 ADDITIONAL TAX. There shall be levied and collected upon all roy-
alty received during each calendar year after 1958, for permission to explore, mine,
take -out and remove ore (except upon royalties received because of the actual
production of taconite, semi-taconite or iron sulphides) from land in this state, as
an addition to the tax levied by section 299.01, as amended, a tax of 2.25 percent to
be levied and collected as a part of the tax levied by section 299.01, as amended.
This section shall be effective as of January 1, 1959, and shall expire on December
31, 1969, except as to the collection of taxes theretofore levied and unpaid. The
proceeds of the tax imposed by this section shall be deposited in the state treasury
to the credit of the general revenue fund. .

[1949 c 642 8 16; Ex1959¢c 70 art 98 2; Ex1961 ¢ 91 art1s 5 1963 886 s 8; 1965 c 884
art 4 s 2; Ex1967 ¢ 32 art 14 s 10] .

299.012 TAX CREDIT UPON PRODUCTION OF HIGI{ LABOR COST ORES
AND TACONITES. Subdivision 1. For the purpose.of increasing the utilization
of low grade, underground, and high labor cost ores and taconites, the royalty tax
levied by virtue of Minnesota Statutes, Section 299.01, Subdivision 1, on royalty
received because of the production of ores in any calendar year from land form-
ing part of any mine which was in production during said year, shall be reduced
by a credit in. an-amount which will make the net effective tax rate thereon equal
to the net effective rate of the .occupation tax imposed pursuant to Minnesota Stat-
utes, Section 298.01, Subdivision 1, because of the production of ores during such
calendar year from the mine of which such land forms a part, after the applica-
tion of the credits against such occupation tax allowed under anesota Statutes,
Section 298.02, Subdivision 1; provided, if such mine produced ore in such calendar
year, but the ore produced had no valuation for occupation tax purposes because
of the allowable deductions equalling or exceeding the value of the ore produced,
the credit allowed hereunder shall be 75 percent, as applied to underground, tac-
onite, and semi-taconite operations, and 60 percent as applied to all other opera-
tions, of the total of the tax computed under the provisions of Minnesota Statutes,
Section 299.01, Subdivision 1. Any person making payments of royalty taxes in
advance of the final determination of such taxes, may assume for the purposes of
Minnesota Statutes, Section 299.08, that the net rate of the tax for the calendar
year in question shall be the last full year’s net effective occupation tax rate known
at the time of the first payment of royalty tax during the current calendar year.

Subd. 2. In the event that the payments for any calendar year are less than
the amount of the tax as finally determined by the commissioner of taxation, the
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amount of such deficiency shall be collected in the manner provided by subdivision
3 or sections 299.09 and 299.10. In the event that there has been collected or paid
an amount of tax for any year in excess of the amount legally due for that year,
a credit against future payments shall be allowed.

Subd. 3. In case any tax is not paid at the time provided in section 299.07, the
commissioner, not earlier than ten days after notice to the royalty recipient, shall
direct the royalty payor to withhold from any royalties due, or to become due to
said recipient, the amount of tax determined to be delinquent, and shall remit the
same to the state treasurer in the same manner and under the same conditions
as prescribed by said section 299.08 for the withholding and remitting of the royalty
tax.

[Ex1959 ¢ 70 art 9 8 8]

299.013 TAX ON COPPER-NICKEL ROYALTY. Royalty received from and
after May 23, 1967, for permission to explore, mine, take out and remove copper-
nickel ore from land in this state shall be exempt from the tax imposed thereon
under Minnesota Statutes 1965, Sections 299.01 and 299.011, and in lieu thereof,
there shall be levied and collected upon all such royalty a tax of one percent plus
an additional one percent of the amount of royalty paid on gold, silver, platinum
and other precious metals.

[1967 c 671 s 17]

299.02 DEFINITIONS. Subdivision1l. Royalty. For all purposes of this chap-
ter, the word ‘“royalty” shall be construed to mean the amount in money or value
of property received by any person having any right, title, or interest in or to any
tract of land in this state for permission to explore, mine, take out and remove ore
therefrom.

Subd. 2. Person. The word “person” shall be construed to include individuals,
copartnerships, associations, companies, and corporations.

[1923 c. 226 s. 2] (2392-2)

299.03 REPORTS TO COMMISSIONER. Every person to whom royalty is
paid shall, on or before the first day of February, make and file with the commis-
sioner of taxation annually a report setting forth the amount of royalty received
by such person during the preceding calendar year, and such other information as
the commissioner of taxation may require. '

[1928 ¢ 226 s 8; 1963 ¢ 523 8 1] (2892-3)

209.04 CONTENTS OF REPORTS. It shall be the duty of every person paying
royalty, on the first day of February, to make and file with the commissioner of
taxation annually a report covering the preceding calendar year, verified by the
oath of the person making the same, and setting forth:

(1) The number of tons mined from each tract of land for the right to mine
and remove ore on which such person pays royalty;

(2) The amount of royalty paid on each tract of land separately;

(3) The name and post-office address of each person to whom royalty is paid;
and

(4) Such other information as the commissioner of taxation may require.

[1928 c. 226 s. }) (2392-4)

209.05 ASSESSMENT BY COMMISSIONER. Upon the receipt by the com-
missioner of taxation of the report provided for in section 299.03, he shall deter-
mine, from such information as he may possess, or obtain, whether the same is
correct, or otherwise; and, if found correct, he shall determine therefrom the
amount of tax due from such person, enter the amount thereof in his records,
make- his certificate of taxes due thereon from such person, and the amount that
has been paid thereon; and, on or before June 30, of each year, file the same with
the state auditor and file a duplicate thereof with the state treasurer. The com-
missioner of taxation shall have power, in case he shall deem the report incor-
rect, or in case the report is not made and filed with the commissioner as pro-
vided in section 299.03, to make his findings as to the amount of such taxes due
after hearing upon notice to the person interested, and his findings shall have the
same effect as the determination of the amount of such taxes upon a report made
as hereinbefore provided.

A person subletting land for the use of which he received royalty shall be re-
quired to pay taxes only on the difference between the amount of royalty paid by
him and the amount received.

[1923¢c226s85; 1931c234s81; 1947c310s1; Ex1959c70art9st; 1968c524s8 1]
(2392-5)
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209.06 FAILURE TO MAKE REPORTS; PENALTY; PROCEDURE. If any
person subject to the tax provided by this chapter shall fail to make the report
provided for in section 299.03, at the time and in the manner therein provided,
there shall accrue upon the tax herein imposed a penalty in an amount equal to ten
percent of the tax so imposed, the said penalty to be imposed ratably in proportion
to the number of days delinquent but not exceeding 60 days after which the full
penalty of ten percent shall be applied. After the said penalty or any proportion
thereof has been assessed the commissioner of taxation shall serve notice by regis-
tered mail to the royalty recipient at his last known address of the amount of
penalty due and of his intention to demand payment thereof from the royalty payor
by withholding the same in the same manner as provided for withholding the
royalty tax under section 299.08. Thereupon the commissioner not earlier than ten
days after notice to the royalty recipient shall direct the royalty payor to withhold
from any royalties due, or thereafter to become due said recipient, the amount of
the penalty so assessed and remit the same to the state treasurer in the same man-
ner and under the same conditions as prescribed by said section 299.08 for the
withholding and remitting of the royalty tax.

[1923 ¢ 226 s 6; 1947 ¢ 810 8 2] (2892-6)

299.07 TIME FOR PAYMENT. Any portion of such tax that has not been
withheld and paid by the royalty payor, as herein required, shall be due and pay-
able on or before July 15, of each year.

[1923 ¢ 226 s 7; 1925 ¢ 361 s 1; 1981 ¢ 284 8 2; Ex1959 ¢ 70 art 9 s 5] (2392-7)

299.08 LIEN; PAYMENT OF TAX. The situs of royalty, for all purposes of
this chapter, shall be-in this state; and the tax herein provided for shall be-a spe-
cific lien from the time the royalty accrues upon all and singular the right, title,
and interest of the person to whom such royalty is payable, in and to the land, for
permission to explore, mine, take out, .and remove ore on which the royalty ‘is
paid, and shall be a specific lien upon such royalties as they -accrue. Every person
paying royalty to another which is subject to tax "hereunder, upon which the
royalty tax has not been paid, shall withhold the amount of the tax upon such
royalty and remit the same to the state treasurer at the time the royalty is paid.
Such payment to the state treasurer shall operate to discharge to that extent the
liability of the person paying such royalty to the royalty ‘recipient. In addition
thereto, he shall withhold any additional amounts certified pursuant to section
299.012, subdivision 3. At the time of such payment he shall file with the state
treasurer and with the commissioner of taxation a report thereof on forms to be
prescribed by the commissioner of taxation. If any person.paying royalty to an-
other shall fail to withhold the tax thereon or the penalty imposed by section
299.06, after notice thereof as therein provided, and pay the same to the state
treasurer, he shall be liable for the amount of such tax and penalty, with interest
at the rate of 12 percent per annum from the time the same should have been
paid, to be recovered in an action by the attorney general for and on behalf of the
state. The commissioner of taxation, may, upon petition of any royalty payor or
recipient, upon such conditions as he may impose, permit the paying of the tax
in one annual payment instead of as such royalty accrues, in which case such
annual payment shall be made at such times as the commissioner of taxation
directs, not later than June 30 of the year following the accrual of the royalty.
No such extension of time shall be granted unless, as one of the condltlons thereof
the royalty payor shall guarantee the payment of the tax.

In the event the royalty is paid in ore instead of in cash the tax prov1ded for
herein shall be a specific lien upon the ore apportioned to the royalty recipient;
or, if such ore be not apportioned, upon the royalty recipient’s interest in the ore
mined, and such ore shall not be shipped from this state unless:

(1) The royalty tax be paid; or

(2) A bond be given to secure such payment, upon a form and with sureties
approved by the commissioner of taxation, in an amount 25 percent in excess of
his estimate of the tax; or

(3) The estimated amount of the tax, such estimate to be made by the com-
missioner of taxation, be deposited with the state treasurer as security for such
payment; or

(4) The payment of the tax be guaranteed or secured in some other manner
satisfactory to the commissioner of taxation.

(1923 ¢ 226 s 8; 1981 ¢ 284 8 3; 1947 ¢ 310 s 3; Ex1959 ¢ 70 art 9 s 6; 1961 ¢ 560
8 28] (2392-8)
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299.09 DRAFT FOR TAX; COLLECTION. On or before June 25, in each
year, the state auditor shall make his draft, upon the person against whom a tax
has been certified, for the amount of tax and penalty, if any, due and place the
same in the hands of the state treasurer for collection. The draft of the state audi-
tor for the tax and penalties imposed by the foregoing provisions of this chapter
shall be prima facie evidence, in any court where proceedings may be brought for
its enforcement, that the amount therein stated is due the state from the person
against whom the same is drawn.

[1928 ¢ 226 s 9; 1925 ¢ 861 s 2; Ex1959 ¢ 70 art 9 8 7] (2392-9)

299.10 PENALTY FOR NON-PAYMENT; COLLECTION OF DELINQUENT
DRAFTS. If the tax herein provided for is not paid before July 15 of the year
when due and payable a penalty of ten percent thereof shall immediately accrue
and thereafter one percent per month shall be added to such tax while it remains
unpaid. On July 16, of each year, the state treasurer shall deliver all unpaid drafts
to the attorney general, whose duty it shall be to bring an action thereon in the
district court of Ramsey county for the amount of such draft, together with penal-
ties, interest, and costs of the proceedings; and the judgment of the court, when
so obtained and properly docketed, shall be a lien upon all right, title, and inter-
est of the taxpayer to the land upon which such tax is a lien from the time the
same is docketed; and the lien shall continue without limitation, with interest at
the rate of one percent per month, and the property may be sold in satisfaction
of the judgment in the same manner as provided by law for the sale of property
upon execution.

[1928 ¢ 226 8 10; 1925 ¢ 361 s 8; Ex1959 ¢ 70 art 9 8 8] (2392-10)

299.11 FALSE RETURNS OR REPORTS; PENALTY. Any person who, for
the purpose of evading the payment of the tax herein provided, or any part thereof,
makes any false return or report shall, in addition to the tax provided by this
chapter, pay a penalty of 50 percent of the amount of the tax; and any person
who shall knowingly make, under oath, any false report or return required by this
chapter shall be guilty of perjury; and, upon conviction, punished therefor as pro-
vided by law.

[1928 c. 226 s. 11] (2892-11)

299.12 RECORDS; INSPECTION BY COMMISSIONER; REFUSAL OF
ACCESS A MISDEMEANOR. All books, way-bills, inventories, correspondence,
and memoranda relating to or used in the transaction of the business of any person
paying or receiving royalty on ore mined in this state shall, upon request of the
commissioner of taxation, be open to his inspection or examination. If any such
person shall neglect or refuse, on request of the commissioner of taxation, access
to these papers and books, he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor; and, upon convic-
tion, punished therefor as provided by law.

[1928 c. 226 8. 12] (2892-12)

299.13 TAXES CREDITED TO GENERAL REVENUE FUND. All taxes
assessed, levied, and collected under the provisions of this chapter shall be paid into
the state treasury and credited to the general revenue fund.

[1928 c. 226 s. 18] (2392-18)

299.14 APPLICATION. Nothing in this act shall be construed as amending,
modifying, qualifying, or in any way affecting the nature or character of the tax
imposed by this chapter.

[1981 c. £34 8. 4] (2892-8%)



