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298.01 MINING OR PRODUCING ORES. Every person engaged in the
business of mining or producing iron ore or other ores in this state shall pay
to the state of Minnesota an occupation tax equal to 11 per cent for the year 1947,
and for each year thereafter of the valuation of all ores mined or produced, which
said tax shall be in addition to all other taxes provided for by law, said tax to be due
and payable from such person on May 1 of the year next succeeding the calendar
year covered by the report thereon to be filed as hereinafter provided. All ores
mined or produced subsequent to December 31, 1946, shall be subject to the 1ncreased
rate provided by this section.

[1921 ¢ 228 8 1; Ex1937 ¢ 85 8 1; 1939 ¢ 356 s 1; 1941 ¢ 544 s 1; 1943 ¢ 590 8 1, 2;

1945 ¢ 448 8 1; 1947 ¢ 542 3 1] (2378, 2378-1)

298.011 VETERANS BONUS OCCUPATION TAX. Every person engaged in
the business of mining or producing iron ore or other ores in this state shall pay to
the state as an addition to the occupation tax levied by section 298.01, as amended,
an additional occupation tax equal to one per cent of the valuation of all ores mined
and produced to be assessed, paid, and collected as a part of the occupation tax levied
by section 298.01, as amended. This section shall be effective as of January 1, 1949,
and shall expire on December 31, 1958, except as to the collection of taxes thereto-
fore levied and unpaid. The proceeds of the tax 1mposed by this section are pledged
to the payment of the bonds authorized by Laws 1949, Chapter 642, and the tax so
imposed shall not be reduced below the amount imposed by this section. Of the
proceeds of the tax imposed by this section 50 per cent thereof shall be deposited
in the state treasury to the credit of the veterans compensation fund.

(1949 ¢ 642 8 15]

298.02

LOW GRADE ORE. Subdivision 1. Credit for labor cost.

For the

purpose of increasing employment and the utilization of low-grade, underground,
and high labor cost ores any taxpayer on whom a tax is imposed by reason of the
provisions of Minnesota Statutes 1949, Section 298.01, shall be allowed a credit
against the occupation tax as computed in said section because of the mining or
production of ore from any mine, in an amount calculated as follows:

In the case of underground mines or mines in which in the year in questxon
more than forty percent of the crude ore produced had been beneficiated by jigging,
heavy media, cyclone process, roasting, drying by artificial heat, sintering, mag-
‘netic separation, flotation, agglomeration or any process requiring fine grinding,
ten percent of that part of the cost of labor employed by said mine or in the

(a)
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beneficiation of such ore at or near said mine in said calendar year in excess of
60 cents and not in excess of 78 cents per ton of the merchantable ore produced
during that year, and 15 percent of that part of the cost of such labor in excess
of 78 cents per ton; the expression, “crude ore produced,” as used herein, means
ores produced for shipment or for beneficiation and shipment, not including
materials rejected by sorting or dry screening while loading; the expression
“merchantable ore produced” as used herein means ores which as mined or as
mined and beneficiated, are ready for shipment as a merchantable product.

(b) In the case of other mines, ten percent of the amount by which the
average cost per ton of labor employed at said mine, or in the beneficiation of
such ore at or near the mine, exceeds 60 cents, but does not exceed 78 cents, plus
15 percent of the amount by which. such average labor cost per ton exceeds 78
cents, multiplied by the number of tons of ore produced at said mine, not exceeding
100,000 tons and ten percent of the amount by which such average cost per ton of
such labor exceeds 96 cents, multiplied by the number of tons of ore produced at
said mine in excess of 100,000; provided, however, that in no event shall the credit
allowed hereunder be in excess of 75 percent, as applied to underground and taconite
operations, and 60 percent as applied to all other operations, of the total of the
tax computed under the provisions of Minnesota Statutes 1949, Section 298.01.

(¢) The aggregate amount of all credits allowed under this subdivision to all
mines shall not exceed 7.3 percent of the aggregate amount of occupation taxes,
excluding such taxes levied for the veterans compensation fund under section
298.011, assessed against all mines in the state for said year prior to the deduction
of such credits. At the time of his final determination of occupation tax pursuant
to section 298.09, subdivision 3, the commissioner shall reduce the credit otherwise
allowable to each mine hereunder by such equal percentage as will bring the total

within such limitation.
NOTE: Laws 1953, Chapter 646, Section 1, amends subdivision 1, and the provisions of Laws 1953,
Chapter 646, Section 1, are applicable to all ore produced after December 31, 1952,

Subd. 2. Credit in lieu of cost of labor. In lieu of the credit above provided, at
the election of the taxpayer there may be allowed a credit against the occupation
tax assessed against any mine of two-thirds of one per cent of the amount of such
tax for each one per cent of the total production of iron ore from said mine which
is converted into pig iron, sponge iron, or powdered iron, within the limits of the
State of Minnésota. The taxpayer shall make such election at the time of filing the
occupation tax return for said mine.

Subd. 3. If declared unconstitutional. In the event that the credit provided for
in subdivision 2 is found unconstitutional by any court of last resort, then the
taxpayer shall be limited to the labor credit herein provided in subdivision 1.

[1939 ¢ 356 8 8; 1941 ¢ 54 8 8; 1948 ¢ 590 8 8; 1945 ¢ 445 8 1; 1947 ¢ 541 8 1; 199
c639s1; 1951 ¢c664 s 1; 1958 ¢ 646 s 1] (2873-2)

298.03 VALUE OF ORE; HOW ASCERTAINED. The valuation of iron or
other ores for the purposes of determining the amount of tax to be paid under the
provisions of section 298.01 shall be ascertained by subtracting from the value of
such ore, at the place where the same is brought to the surface of the earth, such
value to be determined by the commissioner of taxation:

(1) The reasonable cost of supplies used and labor performed at the mine in
separating the ore from the ore body, including hoisting, elevating, or conveying
the same to the surface of the earth;

(2) If the ore is taken from an open pit mine, an amount for each ton of ore
mined or produced during the year equal to the cost of removing the overburden,
divided by the number of tons of ore uncovered, the number of tons of ore uncov-
ered in each case to be determined by the commissioner of taxation;

(3) If the ore is taken from an underground mine, an amount for each ton of
ore mined or produced during the year equal to the cost of sinking and constructing
shafts and running drifts, divided by the number of tons of ore that can be
advantageously taken out through such shafts and drifts, the number of tons of
ore that can be advantageously taken out in each case to be determined by the
commissioner of taxation;

(4) The amount of royalties paid on the ore mined or produced during the year;

(5) A percentage of the ad valorem taxes levied for such year against the
realty in which the ore is deposited equal to the percentage that the tons mined or.
produced during such year bears to the total tonnage in the mine; and
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(6) The amount or amounts of all the foregoing subtractions shall be ascer-
tained and determined by the commissioner of taxation.
[1921 c. 228 8. 2; 1925 c. 807 8. 1; Ex. 1987 c. 85 8. 2) (237/;)

298.04 ORES SUBJECT TO TAX. All ores mined or produced subsequent to
December 31, 1936, shall be subject to the provisions of sections 298.01, 298.03, and
298.04.

[Ex. 1937 c. 85 8. 8] (287}-1)

298.05 MINING COMPANIES TO REPORT ANNUALLY. Every person
engaged in such mining or production of ores shall, annually, on or before the
first day of March, file with the commissioner of taxation, under oath, a correct
report, in such form and containing such information as he may require, covering
the preceding calendar year.

[1921 c. 2238 8. 8; 1925 c. 807 8. 2] (2375)

298.06 COMMISSIONER TO DETERMINE TAX. Upon receipt by the commis-
sioner of taxation of such report he shall determine, from such information as he
may possess or obtain, whether the same is correct or otherwise; and, if found
correct, he shall, on or before May first, find and determine therefrom the amount
of tax due from such person.

[1921 c. 228 8. 4] (2876)

298.07 WHEN REPORT INCORRECT COMMISSIONER TO FIX AMOUNT
OF TAX. Upon receipt by the commissioner of taxation of such report, he shall
determine, from such information as he may possess or obtain, whether the same is
correct or otherwise; and, if found incorrect, from such information as he may
possess or obtain, he shall find and determine the amount of tax due from such
person.

[1921 c. 228 s. 5] (2881)

.298.08 PROCEDURE WHEN NO REPORT IS FILED; PENALTY FOR FAIL-
URE TO REPORT. If any person subject to sections 298.01, 298.03, 298.05 to 298.16,
and 298.21 shall fail to make the report provided for in section 298.05 at the time
and in the manner therein provided. the commissioner of taxation shall in such
case, upon such information as he may possess or obtain, ascertain the kind and
amount of ore mined or produced, together with the valuation thereof, and thereon
find and determine the amount of the tax due from such person. There shall be
added thereto a penalty for failure to report, which penalty shall equal ten per cent
of the tax imposed and be treated as a part thereof.

[1921 c. 228 8. 6] (2382)

298.09 NOTICES; HEARINGS; DETERMINATION OF AMOUNT OF TAX IS
FINAL; CERTIORARI. Subdivision 1. On or before May 1 in each year, the
commissioner of taxation shall send to each person subject to an occupation tax
under the provisions of Laws 1921, Chapter 223, as amended, a notice of the amount
of the tax so determined to be due from him. Said notice shall be sent by registered
mail and directed to him at the address given in the report filed by him, and, if no
report has been filed or no address given, then at such address as the commissioner
of taxation may be able to ascertain; but the validity of the tax shall not be affected
by the failure of the commissioner of taxation to mail such notice or the failure
of the person subject to the tax to receive it.

Subd. 2. On the first secular day following the fourteenth day of May, the
commissioner of taxation shall hold a hearing at his office in St. Paul which may
be adjourned from day to day. Every person subject to such tax may at such hear-
ing present evidence and argument on any matter bearing upon the validity or cor-
rectness of the tax determined to be due from him, and the commissioner of taxa-
tion shall review his determination of such tax.

Subd. 3. After such hearing the commissioner of taxation shall make his order
either affirming his determination of the tax due from the person so appearing or
modifying such determination as he shall deem just.and equitable, and, upon the
making and filing of such order, said determination shall, except as hereinafter
provided, become final and conclusive. The determination of the amount of tax due
from any person not appearing at such hearing shall, except as hereinafter pro-
vided, become final and conclusive on the second secular day .following the four-
teenth day of May without further order. The determination by the commissioner
of taxation of the amount of any tax due hereunder shall, except as hereinafter
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provided, be subject to review only on a writ of certiorari issued out of the supreme
court on petition therefor presented to said court by the person subject to the tax
on or before July first next following the determination of the tax.

Subd. 4. If the amount of tax determined by the commissioner is subsequently
found to be erroneous, the commissioner may, at any time within three years from
the date the tax is certified as provided in section 298.10, redetermine the amount
thereof. No such redetermination shall be made increasing the tax unless the. per-
son from whom the additional amount is due is given ten days written notice thereof
and an opportunity to be heard thereon. If an order is made increasing the tax,
-the same proceedings shall be had as provided for occupation taxes originally
determined and certified. Any person who has paid an occupation tax may apply
to the commissioner within the time herein limited for a redetermination of the
tax, and if the commissioner determines that the tax has been overpaid, he shall
make and file an order determining the amount of such overpayment, and credit

_ it against occupation taxes otherwise payable by the person who has overpaid the
amount as so determined. If the tax is increased, interest at six per cent per
annum from the date payment should have been made shall be determined and
paid; if the tax is reduced, interest at the rate of three per cent per annum from
the date of overpayment shall be allowed.

[1921 c. 228 8. 7; 1925 c. 807 s. 8; 1948 c. 657 s. 1] (2383)

208.10 COMMISSIONER TO CERTIFY AMOUNT OF TAXES TO STATE
AUDITOR; DRAFTS ON PERSONS LIABLE. The commissioner of taxation shall
enter on his records the amount of taxes found and determined by him to be due
from any person, as herein provided; and, on or before June first, shall certify such
amount to the state auditor, who thereupon shall make his draft upon such person
for the amount of taxes as thus certified, and place the same in the hands of the
state treasurer for collection.

[1921 c. 228 8. 8; © 1925 c. 307 s, 4] (2384)

298.11 TIME FOR PAYMENT OF TAXES; PENALTIES. In case the tax pro-
vided for in sections 298.01 to 298.16 is not pald before the fifteenth day of June of
the year when due and payable, a penalty of ten per cent thereof shall immediately
accrue; and thereafter one per cent per month shall be added to such tax and penalty
while such tax remains unpaid.

[1921 c. 228 8. 9; 1925 c. 307 s. 5] (2385)

298.12 STATE AUDITOR’S DRAFT PRIMA FACIE EVIDENCE OF AMOUNT
DUE. The draft of the state auditor for the tax, or tax and penalties, imposed by the
provisions of sections 298.01 to 298.11, shall be prima facie evidence, in any court
where proceedings may be brought for its enforcement, that the amount therein
stated is due the state from the person against whom the same is drawn.

[1921 c. 223 s. 10] (23877)

298.13 ATTORNEY GENERAL TO COLLECT UNPAID DRAFTS. On July
first each year, the state treasurer shall deliver to the attorney general all unpaid
~ drafts for taxes imposed under sections 298.01 to 298.16, and he shall bring an action
thereon in the district court of Ramsey county, or of the county where such ores
are mined or produced, for the amount of such draft, together with interest, penal-
ties, and costs. The judgment of the court, when so obtained, shall bear interest at
the rate of one per cent per month and be enforceable in the manner provided by
law for the enforcement of judgments obtained in civil actions.

[1921 c. 228 s. 11] (2878)

298.14 PENALTY FOR FALSE RETURN. Any person who, for the purpose
of evading the payment of the tax hereinbefore provided, or any part thereof,
makes any false return or report under section 298.05 shall pay to the state a
_penalty of 50 per cent of the amount of the tax; and any one who shall knowingly
make or sign, under oath, any false return of the kind and amount of ores produced
therefrom, and of the value thereof, or who shall knowingly submit any other false
information required by sections 298.01 to 298.16, shall be deemed guilty of perjury;
and, upon conviction, punished therefor as provided by law.

[1921 c. 223 s. 12] (2379)

' 298.15 RECORDS OF COMPANIES TO BE OPEN TO INSPECTION. All
books, way-bills, inventories, correspondence, and memoranda relating to or used
in the transaction of the business of any person owning or operating any such mine

.
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shall, on demand by the commissioner of taxation, or his authorized representatives,
be open to inspection or examination. If any one having charge, control, or posses-
sion of these papers and books of such person shall neglect or refuse, on demand
of the commissioner of taxation, or his authorized representatives, access to these
papers and books, he shall be deemed guilty of a gross misdemeanor; and, upon
conviction, punished therefor as provided by law.

[1921 c. 223 s. 13) (2380)

208.16 TAXES TO BE CREDITED TO GENERAL REVENUE FUND. Al
taxes imposed and collected under the provisions of sections 298.01 to 298.15 shall be
paid into the state treasury and credited to the general revenue fund.

[1921 c. 228 s. 1}] (2386)

298.17 OCCUPATION TAXES TO BE APPORTIONED. All occupation taxes
which shall become due and payable on May 1, 1924, and subsequent thereto, from
persons, copartnerships, companies, joint stock companies, corporations, and associ-
ations, however or for whatever purpose organized, engaged in the business of
mining or producing iron ore or other ores, when collected shall be apportioned and
distributed in accordance with the Constitution of the State of Minnesota, Article 9,
Section 1A, in the manner following: 50 per cent to the state general revenue fund;
40 per cent to the permanent school fund; and ten per cent to the permanent uni-
versity fund.

[2928 c. 402 s. 1] (2391)

298.18 TAXES TO GO TO REVENUE FUND IF SECTION 298.17 INVALID. 1t
for any reason section 298.17 shall be held to be invalid, then all such taxes, when
collected, shall be paid into the state treasury and credited to the general revenue
fund.

(1923 c. 402 s. 2] (2392) .

298.19 ORE CARRYING ROADS TO REPORT TO COMMISSIONER. It shall
be the duty of every railway company or other common. carrier receiving iron ore
for original shipment from any mine in this state to make report, in writing,
delivered or deposited in the mail addressed to the commissioner of taxation, at
St. Paul, Minnesota, on or before the tenth day of May and November, each and
every year, the amounts in tons received for shipment, as provided for in sections
298.19 and 298.20, up to and inclusive of the last day of April and October, of each
year, setting forth the total amount, in tons, received for shipment from each such
mine and of the amounts of tons received for shipment since the last date required
to be included in the last report, and whether received from open pit, pocket, or
stock-pile, stating the amount, in tons, so received from each of such sources. The
report shall also show the place where the ore was received for shipment and the
name of the shipper in each case.

[1923 c. 354 8. 1] (2389)

298.20 VIOLATION A GROSS MISDEMEANOR. Any railway company or
other common carrier which fails, neglects, or refuses to make any report required
py section 298.19 shall be deemed guilty of a gross misdemeanor; and, upon convic-
tion, fined not exceeding $5,000 for each such offense.

[19238 c. 854 8. 21 (2390)

298.21 PERSON. For all purposes of sections 298.01 to 298.16, the word “per-
son” ‘shall be construed to include individuals, copartnerships, companies, joint
stock companies, corporations, and all associations, however and for whatever
purpose organized.

L1921 c. 228 3. 161 (2388) )

298.22 IRON RANGE RESOURCES AND REHABILITATION; COMMIS-
SIONER. Subdivision 1. For the period beginning May 1, 1941, and ending April
30, 1942, there is hereby appropriated from the general revenue fund, for the pur-
poses hereinafter set forth, five percent of amounts paid and credited into said fund

" from the proceeds of taxes paid under the provisions of law relating to occupa-
tion taxes on the business of mining or producing iron ore, and on and after
May 1, 1942, there is hereby appropriated from the general revenue fund, for the
purposes hereinafter set forth, ten percent of all amounts paid and credited into
said fund from the proceeds of these taxes. The office of commissioner of iron
range resources and rehabilitation is hereby created. The commissioner shall be
appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate, for a term of
two years, the first term to begin July 1, 1941. The salary of the commissioner
shall be paid from the amounts appropriated by this section; provided, that such

-
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salary shall be reduced by such amount as he may receive from other funds, and
the commissioner may hold such other positions or appointments as are not
incompatible with his duties as commissioner of iron range resources and rehabil-
itation. All expenses of the commissioner, including the payment of such assist-
ance as may be necessary, shall be paid out of the amounts appropriated by this
section.

When the commissioner shall determine that distress and unemployment exists
or may exist in the future in any county by reason of the removal of natural
resources or a possibly limited use thereof in the future and the decrease in em-
ployment resulting therefrom, now or hereafter, he may use such amounts of the
appropriation made to him in this section as he may determine to be necessary
and proper in the development of the remaining resources of said county and in
the vocational training and rehabilitation of its residents.

Subd. 2. There is hereby created the iron range resources and rehabilitation
commission, consisting of seven members, three of whom shall be state senators
appointed by the committee on committees of the Senate, and three of whom shall be
representatives, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, their
terms of office to commence on May 1, 1943, and continue until January 3rd, 1945,
or until their successors are appointed and qualified. Their successors shall be
appointed each two years in the same manner as the original members were
appointed, in January of every second year, commencing in January, 1945. The
seventh member of said commission shall be the commissioner of conservation of
the state of Minnesota. Vacancies on the commission shall be filled in the same
manner as the original members were chosen. All expenditurés and projects made
by the commissioner of iron range resources and rehabilitation shall first be sub-
mitted to said Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Commission which shall
recommend approval or disapproval or modification of expenditures and projects for
rehabilitation purposes as provided by Laws 1943, Chapter 590, and the method,
manner, and time of payment of all said funds proposed to be disbursed shall be first
approved or disapproved by said commission. The commission shall biennially make
its report to the governor and the legislature prior to the convening of each regular
session. The expenses of said commission shall be paid by the state of Minnesota
from the funds raised pursuant to Laws 1943, Chapter 590.

Subd. 3. This commission is hereby authorized and directed to cause to be
made a study of high labor costs mining in the state of Minnesota and of the policy
and plans for future development of low grade ore, and to cooperate with and advise
the commissioner of iron range resources and rehabilitation in the development of
the natural resources of the state of Minnesota.

[1941 ¢ 544 8 451943 ¢ 590 8 4; 1949 ¢ 739 8 22; 1951 ¢ 713 s 81]

298.23 TACONITE AND IRON SULPHIDES DEFINED. For the purpose of
sections 298.23 to 298.28, “taconite” is defined as ferruginous chert or ferruginous
slate in the form of compact, siliceous rock, in which the iron oxide is so finely
disseminated that substantially all of the iron-bearing particles of merchantable
grade are smaller than 20 mesh. Taconite may be further defined as ore-bearing
rock which is not merchantable as iron ore in its natural state, and which cannot
be made merchantable by simple methods of beneficiation involving only crushing,
screening, washing, jigging, drying, or any combination thereof. “Iron sulphides”
are defined as chemical combinations of iron and sulphur (mineralogically known
as pyrrhotite, pyrites or marcasite), in relatively impure condition, which are not
merchantable as iron ore and which cannot be made merchantable by the simple
methods of beneficiation above described.

[1941¢ 8758 1; 1947 ¢ 93 s 1] ‘

298.24 TAX ON TACONITE AND IRON SULPHIDES. There is hereby im-
posed upon taconite and iron sulphides, and upon the mining and quarrying thereof,”
and upon the production of iron ore concentrate therefrom, and upon the concen-
trate so produced, a tax of five cents per gross ton of merchantable iron ore con-
centrate as produced therefrom, plus one-tenth of one cent per gross ton for each
one percent that the iron content of such product exceeds 55 percent, when dried
at 212 degrees Fahrenheit.

[1941¢37552; 1947¢c98s2; 1951 ¢c 6135 1]

298.25 ADDITIONAL TAXES. Such tax shall be in addition to the occupation
tax imposed upon the business of mining and producing iron ore and in addition to
the royalty tax imposed upon royalties received for permission to mine and produce
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iron ore. Except as herein otherwise provided, it shall be in lieu of all other taxes
upon such taconite and iron sulphides, or the lands in which they are contained,
or.upon the mining or quarrying thereof, or the production of concentrate there-
from, or upon the concentrate produced, or upon the machinery equipment, tools,
supplies and buildings used in such mining, quarrying or production. Nothing herein
shall prevent the assessment and taxation of the surface of such lands at their value
thereof without regard to the taconite or iron sulphides therein, nor the assessment
and taxation of merchantable iron ore or other minerals, or iron-bearing materials
other than taconite or iron sulphides in such lands in the manner provided by law,
nor the assessment and taxation of facilities used in producing sulphur or sulphur
products from iron sulphide concentrates, or in refining such sulphur products, under
the general property tax laws.

(1941 ¢ 875 8 8; 1947 ¢ 93 8 8] .

298.26 TAX ON UNMINED IRON ORE OR IRON SULPHIDES In any year
in which at least 1,000 tons of iron ore concentrate is not produced from any 40-acre
tract or governmental lot containing taconite or iron sulphides, a tax may be
assessed upon the taconite or iron sulphides therein at the mill rate prevailing in
the taxing district and spread against the assessed value of the taconite or iron sul-
phides, such assessed value to be determined in accordance with existing laws. The
amount of the tax spread under authority of this section by reason of the taconite
and iron sulphides in any tract of land shall not exceed $1.00 per acre.

[1941¢ 3758 4; 1947 ¢ 938 8 4]

298.27 COLLECTION AND PAYMENT OF TAX. The tax provided by section
298.24 shall be colleeted and paid in the same manner and at the same time as
provided by law for the payment of the occupation tax. Reports shall be made and
hearings held upon the determination af the tax at the same times and in the same
manner as provided by law for the occupation tax. The commissioner of taxation
shall have authority to make reasonable regulations as to the form and manner of
filing reports necessary for the determination of the tax hereunder, and by such
regulations may require the production of such information as may be reasonably
necessary or convenient for the determination and apportionment of the tax. All
the provisions of the occupation tax law with reference to the assessment, determina-
tion, and collection of the occupation tax, including all provisions for penalties and
for appeals from or review of the orders of the commissioner of taxation relative
thereto, are hereby made applicable to the tax imposed by section 298.24, except in so
far as inconsistent herewith.

[1941¢ 375 s 5; 1947 ¢ 1938 s 1]

298.28 DISPOSITION OF PROCEEDS. The proceeds of the tax collected under
section 298.24 shall be distributed by the state treasurer, upon certificate of the com-
missioner of taxation to the general fund of the state and to the various taxing dis-
tricts in which the lands from which the taconite was mined or quarried were located
in the following proportions: one-fourth thereof to the city, village, or town; one-
fourth thereof to the school district; one-fourth thereof to the county; one-fourth
thereof to the state. If the mining and concentration, or different steps in the concen-
tration, are carried on in more than one taxing district, the commissioner shall appor-
tion equitably the proceeds of the part of the tax going to cities, villages or towns
among such subdivisions, and the part going to school districts among such districts,
and the part going to counties among such counties, upon the basis of attributing one
half of the proceeds of the tax to the operation of mining or quarrying the taconite,
and the remainder to the concentrating plant and to the processes of concentration,
and with respect to concentration giving due consideration to the relative extent of
such operations performed in each such taxing district. His order making such
apportionment shall be subject to review by the board of tax appeals at the instance
of any of the interested taxing districts, in the same manner as other orders of the
commissioner. The amount so distributed shall be divided among the various funds
of the state, or of the taxing districts in the same proportion as the general ad
valorem tax thereof. If in any year the state shall not spread any general ad
valorem tax levy against real property, the state’s proportion of the tax shall be
paid into the general revenue fund.

[1941 ¢ 8758 6; 1947 ¢ 193 s 2]

298.29 [Renumbered 117.461

298.30 [Renumbered 117.47]

298.31 [Omitted, privatel
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COAL DOCK OPERATORS

298.41 OCCUPATION TAX ON COAL DOCK OPERATORS. Every person,
co-partnership, association, company or corporation operating a coal dock in this
state, other than a dock used solely in connection with an industry and handling
no coal except that consumed by such industry, shall pay an annual occupation
tax of a sum equal to one and one half cents per ton upon all bituminous coal,
coke, or briquets, and two cents per ton on all anthracite coal, coke or briquets
handled by or over such coal dock during the preceding year ending April 30th,
and such coal shall be exempt from all taxation either state or municipal.

[1953 ¢ 482 s 1]

298.42 STATEMENT FURNISHED TO ASSESSOR. Every such person, co-
partnership, association, company, or corporation operating a coal dock within this
state, other than a dock used solely in connection with an industry and handling
no coal except that consumed by such industry shall, on May 1st of each year,
furnish to the assessor of the town, city or village within which such coal dock is
situated, a full and true list or statement of all coal, specifying the respective
amounts and different kinds thereof, received in or on or handled by or over such
coal dock during the year immediately preceding May 1st of such year in which
such list or statement is so to be made. Any such operator of a coal dock who
shall fail or refuse to furnish such list or statement, or shall knowingly make or
furnish a false or incorrect list or statement shall be punished by fine not ex-
ceeding $1,000.

[1958 ¢ 482 s 2]

298.43 TAX SEPARATELY ASSESSED. The tax herein provided for shall be
separately assessed to the person, co-partnership, association, company or corpo-
ration chargeable therewith by the assessor and shall be included in the assessment
roll annually submitted by such assessor to the county auditor, and shall be entered
by said county auditor on the tax rolls.. Such tax shall be paid and collected at
the same time and in the same manner as taxes on personal property are paid
and collected in the taxing district where such coal dock is situated, and shall be
distributed to the state, county, school district, city, village or town at the same time
and in the same proportion as other personal property taxes collected from the
municipality in which such coal dock is located.

[1953 ¢ 482 s 3]

29844 STATEMENT NOT FURNISHED, PROCEDURE. If the assessor or
local board of review or of equalization, as the case may be, shall have reason
to believe that the list or statement made by any person, co-partnership, association,
company or corporation is incorrect, or when such person, co-partnership, associa-
tion, company or corporation has failed or refused to furnish a list or statement
as required by law, the assessor or local board of review or of equalization, as the
case may be, shall place on the assessment roll such taxes against such person, co-
partnership, association, company or corporation as he or they shall deem true
and just, and in case such charge or assessment is made by the assessor, the
assessor shall give written notice of the amount of such assessment at least six
days before the first meeting, or some adjourned meeting, of the local board of
review or of equalization, as the case may be. In case such charge or assessment
is made by the local board of review or of equalization, as the case may be, notice
shall be given in time to allow such person, co-partnership, association, company
or corporation to appear and be heard before the board of review or of equaliza-
tion in relation to said assessment.

[1953 ¢ 482 s 4]

298.45 APPLICABLE LAWS. All laws not in conflict with the provisions of
sections 298.41 to 298.44 relating to the assessment, collection and payment of
personal property taxes and the correction of errors in assessments, shall apply to
the tax imposed by section 298.41. ’

[1958 ¢ 482 s 5]



