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9506.0010 DEFINITIONS.​

Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 9506.0010 to 9506.0400 have the meanings given​
them in this part.​

Subp. 2. Applicant. "Applicant" means a person who submits a written application to the​
department for a determination of eligibility for MinnesotaCare.​

Subp. 3. Child. "Child" means a person who is less than 18 years of age.​

Subp. 4. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Department of​
Human Services or the commissioner's designee.​

Subp. 5. Covered health services. "Covered health services" means the services listed in​
Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.03, subdivisions 1 to 5.​

Subp. 6. Department. "Department" means the Department of Human Services.​

Subp. 7. Dependent sibling. "Dependent sibling" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes,​
section 256L.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (b).​

Subp. 8. Eligible provider. "Eligible provider" means a health care provider who provides​
covered health services to medical assistance recipients under rules established by the commissioner​
for that program.​

Subp. 9. Employer-subsidized health coverage. "Employer-subsidized health coverage"​
means health coverage for which the employer pays at least 50 percent of the cost of coverage for​
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the employee. Employer-subsidized health coverage includes employer contributions to Internal​
Revenue Code, section 125 plans.​

Employer-subsidized health coverage excludes dependent coverage unless the employer offers​
dependent coverage to employees and pays at least 50 percent of the cost of dependent coverage.​
Employer-subsidized health coverage for children includes coverage through either parent, including​
a noncustodial parent.​

Subp. 10. Enrollee. "Enrollee" means an individual who:​

A. has been determined eligible by the department to receive covered health services under​
MinnesotaCare; and​

B. has paid the required premium under part 9506.0040.​

Subp. 11. Family. "Family" means a parent or parents and their children, or guardians and​
their wards who are children, and dependent siblings, residing in the same household. The term​
includes children and dependent siblings temporarily absent from the household in settings such​
as schools, camps, or visitation with noncustodial parents. Family also means an emancipated minor​
and an emancipated minor's spouse, spouses in households without children, and single individuals​
in a one-person household.​

Subp. 12. General assistance medical care. "General assistance medical care" has the meaning​
given in Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.02, subdivision 4a.​

Subp. 13. Local social service agency. "Local social service agency" means the local agency​
under the authority of the county welfare or human services board or county board of commissioners​
that is responsible for providing human services.​

Subp. 13a. Managed care health plan or health plan. "Managed care health plan" or "health​
plan" means a vendor of medical care, including a county, that contracts with the department to​
provide covered health services to enrollees on a prepaid capitation basis. Among managed care​
health plans are health maintenance organizations, integrated service networks and community​
integrated service networks defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 62N.02, and competitive bidding​
programs.​

Subp. 14. Medical assistance. "Medical assistance" means the program authorized under title​
XIX of the Social Security Act and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B.​

Subp. 15. MinnesotaCare. "MinnesotaCare" means the program authorized in Minnesota​
Statutes, sections 256L.01 to 256L.12, to promote access to appropriate covered health services to​
assure healthy children and adults.​

Subp. 15a. Nonrisk contract. "Nonrisk contract" means a contract between the department​
and a managed care health plan under which the health plan is not responsible for the costs of​
inpatient hospital services for enrollees.​
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Subp. 16. Other health coverage.​

A. "Other health coverage" means:​

(1) basic hospital coverage;​

(2) medical-surgical or major medical coverage;​

(3) Medicare part A or part B coverage under title XVIII of the Social Security Act;​

(4) supplemental Medicare coverage under Minnesota Statutes, sections 62A.31 to​
62A.44;​

(5) coverage through a health maintenance organization under Minnesota Statutes,​
chapter 62D;​

(6) coverage through a health maintenance organization under Minnesota Statutes,​
chapter 62D, combined with Medicare benefits under title XVIII of the Social Security Act; or​

(7) coverage through the Civilian Health and Medical Program of the Uniformed​
Services (CHAMPUS) under United States Code, title 10, chapter 55, sections 1079 and 1086.​

B. "Other health coverage" does not mean:​

(1) medical assistance;​

(2) general assistance medical care;​

(3) coverage under a regional demonstration project for the uninsured funded under​
Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.73;​

(4) coverage under the Hennepin County assured care program; or​

(5) coverage under the Group Health, Inc., community health plan.​

Subp. 17. Parent. "Parent" means the birth, step, or adoptive mother or father of a child.​

Subp. 17a. Participating provider. "Participating provider" means a provider who is employed​
by or under contract with a health plan to provide health services to enrollees.​

Subp. 18. Permanent residency. "Permanent residency" has the meaning given in Minnesota​
Statutes, section 256L.09.​

Subp. 18a. Risk contract. "Risk contract" means a contract between the department and a​
managed care health plan under which the cost the health plan incurs providing inpatient hospital​
services may exceed the payments made by the department for inpatient hospital services under​
the contract.​

Subp. 19. Spenddown. "Spenddown" means the process by which a person who has income​
in excess of the income standard allowed under the medical assistance program becomes eligible​
for medical assistance as a result of incurring medical expenses that are not covered by a liable​
third party and that reduce the excess income to zero.​
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Subp. 20. Third-party payer. "Third-party payer" means a person, entity, agency, or other​
health coverage that has a probable obligation to pay all or part of the costs of an enrollee's health​
services.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.9352; 256.9363; 256L.02; 256L.12​
History: 19 SR 1286; 20 SR 495​
Published Electronically: February 2, 2005​

9506.0020 ELIGIBILITY FOR MINNESOTACARE.​

Subpart 1. General eligibility requirements. Except as provided in subparts 2, 3, and 5, an​
applicant or enrollee must:​

A. be a permanent resident of Minnesota;​

B. be ineligible for medical assistance without a spenddown, including medical assistance​
for pregnant women, except that an enrollee who receives inpatient hospital services may be eligible​
for medical assistance with or without a spenddown during the months of hospitalization;​

C. not simultaneously be covered by general assistance medical care and MinnesotaCare;​

D. not currently have other health coverage nor have had other health coverage during the​
four months immediately preceding the date coverage begins;​

E. not have access to employer-subsidized health coverage during the 18 months immediately​
preceding the date coverage begins;​

F. identify potentially liable third-party payers and assist the department in obtaining​
third-party payments;​

G. have gross annual income that does not exceed the amounts in Minnesota Statutes,​
section 256L.15, subdivision 2; and​

H. comply with the family enrollment requirements in subpart 4.​

Subp. 2. Exceptions to general eligibility requirements.​

A. Subpart 1, items D and E, do not apply to an applicant who is terminated from medical​
assistance, general assistance medical care, or coverage under a regional demonstration project for​
the uninsured funded under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.73, the Hennepin County assured care​
program, or the Group Health, Inc., community health plan if the department receives a​
MinnesotaCare application before the last day of the month following the month in which termination​
occurred.​

B. Subpart 1, item E, does not apply under the following circumstances:​

(1) if the employer-subsidized health coverage was lost for reasons that would not​
disqualify the applicant from receiving reemployment benefits under Minnesota Statutes, section​
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268.095, and the applicant has not had access to employer-subsidized health coverage since the​
loss; or​

(2) to children of an individual whose employer-subsidized coverage was lost for reasons​
that disqualify the individual for reemployment benefits if the children have not had access to​
employer-subsidized coverage since the disqualifying event.​

Subp. 3. Children in families with income at or below 150 percent of the federal poverty​
guidelines. A child in a family with income at or below 150 percent of the federal poverty guidelines​
is eligible for MinnesotaCare from the first day of the month in which the child's first birthday​
occurs to the last day of the month in which the child becomes 18 years old if the child:​

A. meets the requirements under subpart 1, items A to C and F to H; and​

B. is not otherwise insured for the covered health services. A child is not otherwise insured​
for covered health services when subitem (1), (2), or (3) applies:​

(1) the child lacks coverage in two or more of the areas listed in units (a) to (e):​

(a) basic hospital coverage;​

(b) medical-surgical coverage;​

(c) major medical coverage;​

(d) dental coverage;​

(e) vision coverage;​

(2) coverage requires a deductible of $100 or more per person per year; or​

(3) a child with a particular diagnosis lacks coverage because the child has exceeded​
the maximum coverage for that diagnosis or the policy of coverage excludes that diagnosis.​

Subp. 4. Family enrollment. Families must comply with items A to F.​

A. Parents who enroll must enroll all eligible children and dependent siblings.​

B. Children and dependent siblings may be enrolled without parents enrolling, unless other​
insurance is available.​

C. If one parent in a household enrolls, both parents in the household must enroll, unless​
other insurance is available.​

D. If one child in a family is enrolled, all children in the family must be enrolled, unless​
other insurance is available.​

E. If one spouse in a household is enrolled, the other spouse in the household must enroll,​
unless other insurance is available.​

F. Except as provided in item B, families cannot enroll only certain uninsured members.​
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Subp. 5. Continuous eligibility. An enrollee remains eligible for MinnesotaCare regardless​
of age or the presence or absence of children in the household as long as the enrollee:​

A. maintains permanent residency in Minnesota;​

B. meets all other eligibility criteria, except subpart 1, item G;​

C. pays the full cost of coverage if gross annual family income after initial enrollment​
exceeds the limits in Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.15, subdivision 2; and​

D. is continuously enrolled in MinnesotaCare or medical assistance. To be continuously​
enrolled, an enrollee's reapplication must be received by the department before the last day of the​
first calendar month following the date of notice of termination of coverage from MinnesotaCare​
or medical assistance.​

Subp. 6. Annual redetermination required. The commissioner shall annually redetermine​
continued MinnesotaCare eligibility for each enrollee.​

Subp. 7. Enrollee cooperation with annual redetermination. Enrollees must annually provide​
the information needed to redetermine eligibility before the anniversary date of initial eligibility.​
The anniversary date of initial eligibility is the yearly recurrence of the first day of the month​
following the date of enrollment in MinnesotaCare.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.9352; 256L.02​

History: 19 SR 1286; L 1998 c 265 s 45; L 1998 c 407 art 5 s 47​
Published Electronically: February 2, 2005​

9506.0030 APPLICATION; ENROLLMENT; COVERAGE.​

Subpart 1. Application sources. Applicants may apply directly to the commissioner or through​
appropriate referral sources.​

A. Appropriate referral sources include but are not limited to: eligible provider offices;​
local social service agencies; school district offices; public and private elementary schools in which​
25 percent or more of the students receive free or reduced price lunches; community health offices​
defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 145A.02; WIC program sites under United States Code, title​
42, section 1786.​

B. Referral sources that accept applications from applicants must send applications to the​
department within five working days after receipt.​

Subp. 2. Necessary information for eligibility determination.​

A. Applicants must provide all information necessary to determine eligibility for​
MinnesotaCare and potential eligibility for medical assistance, including:​

(1) Social Security number;​
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(2) proof of permanent residency; the signature of an applicant on the application​
attesting to permanent residency meets the affidavit requirement under Minnesota Statutes, section​
256L.09, subdivision 4, paragraph (b), clause (3);​

(3) household composition;​

(4) availability of other health coverage, including access to employer-subsidized health​
coverage;​

(5) gross annual family income; and​

(6) any additional information needed by the commissioner to determine or verify​
eligibility.​

B. If the commissioner determines an applicant may be ineligible for MinnesotaCare because​
employer-subsidized coverage was lost for reasons that would disqualify the applicant from receiving​
reemployment benefits under Minnesota Statutes, section 268.095, the commissioner shall refer​
the applicant to the Department of Employment and Economic Development for a determination​
whether the applicant would have been disqualified.​

Subp. 3. Eligibility determination deadline. Except during the four months after the dates​
on which adult individuals and families without children become eligible for MinnesotaCare, the​
commissioner shall determine an applicant's eligibility within 30 days after a complete application​
is received by the department.​

Subp. 4. Enrollment and beginning of coverage. The date of enrollment and the date coverage​
begins are determined as follows:​

A. An applicant is enrolled in MinnesotaCare on the date the following are completed:​

(1) a complete application is received by the department and the applicant is determined​
eligible under part 9506.0020; and​

(2) the initial premium payment under part 9506.0040 is received by the department.​

B. Coverage begins the first day of the calendar month following the date of enrollment,​
except:​

(1) if the initial premium payment is received after noon of the last business day of the​
month of enrollment, coverage begins the first day of the second following calendar month;​

(2) coverage for eligible newborns in an enrolled family begins immediately from the​
moment of birth;​

(3) coverage for eligible adoptive children of a family enrolled in MinnesotaCare begins​
on the date of placement for the purpose of adoption;​

(4) coverage for other new members of an enrolled family begins the first day of the​
month following the month in which the new member's eligibility is determined and the first​
premium payment is received; and​
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(5) coverage of enrollees who are hospitalized on the first day of the month following​
enrollment begins the day following the date of discharge from the hospital.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.9352; 256L.02​
History: 19 SR 1286; L 1998 c 265 s 45; L 2005 c 112 art 2 s 41​
Published Electronically: October 16, 2013​

9506.0040 PREMIUM PAYMENTS.​

Subpart 1. Premium payments. Applicants and enrollees must pay a premium to enroll and​
to continue enrollment in MinnesotaCare. The amount of premium is the total of the following:​

A. $4 per month for each child in a family whose family income is at or below 150 percent​
of federal poverty guidelines; and​

B. for any family member not included under item A, a premium calculated under Minnesota​
Statutes, section 256L.15.​

A premium payment table and an explanation of the table is available upon request from the​
department.​

Subp. 2. Gross annual family income. "Gross annual family income" means the total income​
of all family members determined according to items A to C:​

A. the income of self-employed persons, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.01,​
subdivision 4;​

B. the income of wage earners, including all wages, salaries, commissions, and other benefits​
received as monetary compensation from employers before any deduction, disregard, or exclusion,​
calculated by determining:​

(1) income in the four calendar months immediately preceding the month of application​
for MinnesotaCare, multiplied by three to reflect a 12-month period; or​

(2) if the wage earner is employed on a seasonal basis or receives income too​
infrequently or irregularly to be calculated under subitem (1), total income for the past 12 months;​
and​

C. the following unearned income received in the four calendar months immediately​
preceding the month of application, multiplied by three to reflect a 12-month period:​

(1) Supplemental Security Income under title XVI of the Social Security Act;​

(2) Social Security benefits;​

(3) veterans' administration benefits;​

(4) railroad retirement benefits;​

(5) unemployment benefits;​
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(6) workers' compensation benefits;​

(7) child support;​

(8) spousal maintenance or support payments; and​

(9) income from any other source, including interest, dividends, and rent.​

Applicants and enrollees must report to the department any changes from the amounts reported​
in items A to C that exceed $50 per month. Changes may be reported as a percentage increase or​
decrease. Gross annual family income will be recalculated by projecting the adjusted income for​
12 months.​

Subp. 3. Premiums paid monthly, quarterly, or annually. Applicants and enrollees may​
choose to pay premiums on a monthly, quarterly, or annual basis and may change payment schedules​
at the time a premium is due.​

Subp. 4. Billing notices. The department shall mail premium payment billing notices as follows:​

A. for monthly premiums, by the first day of the month preceding the month for which​
coverage will be provided;​

B. for quarterly premiums, by the first day of the month preceding the first month of the​
quarter for which coverage will be provided; and​

C. for annual premiums, by the first day of the month preceding the first month of the year​
for which coverage will be provided.​

Subp. 5. Premium payment dates. Premium payments are due as follows:​

A. An initial premium must be received by the department within four months after the​
date on the applicant's first premium notice.​

B. Subsequent premiums must be received by the department as follows:​

(1) monthly premiums by the 15th of the month preceding the month for which the​
premium is paid;​

(2) quarterly premiums by the 15th of the month preceding the first month of the quarter​
for which the premium is paid; and​

(3) annual premiums by the 15th of the month preceding the first month of the year for​
which the premium is paid.​

Subp. 6. Disenrollment. The commissioner shall disenroll enrollees who fail to pay the required​
premium when due. MinnesotaCare coverage terminates the last day of the calendar month following​
the due date specified in subpart 5 unless the premium is received by noon of the last business day​
of the calendar month following the due date.​

Subp. 7. Reenrollment. An enrollee disenrolled for failure to pay the required premium may​
reenroll as provided in items A to D.​
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A. The enrollee:​

(1) may not reenroll until four calendar months after the date coverage terminates,​
unless the person demonstrates good cause for nonpayment; and​

(2) must comply with parts 9506.0010 to 9506.0100 and pay the unpaid premium for​
any month in which coverage was provided.​

B. Good cause for nonpayment does not exist if a person chooses to pay other family​
expenses instead of the MinnesotaCare premium.​

C. Good cause for nonpayment means, generally, circumstances beyond an enrollee's control​
or that were not reasonably foreseeable that excuse an enrollee's failure to pay the required premium​
when due, including circumstances such as:​

(1) because of serious physical or mental incapacity or illness, the enrollee fails to pay​
the premium;​

(2) the enrollee voluntarily disenrolls under the mistaken belief that other health coverage​
is available; or​

(3) the enrollee does not receive a regular source of income on which the enrollee has​
relied to pay the required premium.​

D. The commissioner shall determine whether good cause exists based on the weight of​
the supporting evidence submitted by the person to demonstrate good cause.​

Subp. 8. Premium payment adjustments. The commissioner shall adjust enrollees' premium​
payments upon receipt of the audit information required under part 9506.0060, subparts 1 and 2.​
Adjustments to premium payments are effective on the first day of the month following issuance​
of an adjusted premium invoice.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.9352; 256L.02​
History: 19 SR 1286; L 1998 c 407 art 5 s 47​
Published Electronically: February 2, 2005​

9506.0050 COORDINATION OF MINNESOTACARE AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE.​

Subpart 1. Referral of applicants and enrollees potentially eligible for medical assistance​
to local social service agency. The commissioner shall refer applicants and enrollees who are​
potentially eligible for medical assistance without a spend-down to the local social service agency.​
The commissioner shall determine potential eligibility by considering:​

A. age;​

B. household income or assets;​

C. pregnancy;​

D. illness, injury, or incapacity indicating a disability;​
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E. household composition; and​

F. employment status of household members.​

Subp. 2. Enrollment of applicants and enrollees potentially eligible for medical assistance.​

A. If an applicant who is potentially eligible for medical assistance without a spenddown​
meets the other conditions of eligibility for MinnesotaCare, the commissioner shall enroll the​
applicant in MinnesotaCare upon receipt of the initial premium payment.​

B. An applicant or enrollee who is potentially eligible for medical assistance without a​
spenddown may continue to be covered by MinnesotaCare until determined eligible for medical​
assistance, provided:​

(1) the applicant:​

(a) applies for medical assistance within 60 days from the date MinnesotaCare​
coverage begins; and​

(b) cooperates with the local social service agency in determining eligibility for​
medical assistance; or​

(2) the enrollee:​

(a) applies for medical assistance within 60 days after the first day of the month​
following the month of referral to the local social service agency; and​

(b) cooperates with the local social service agency in determining eligibility for​
medical assistance.​

C. An applicant who is determined eligible for medical assistance without a spenddown​
may be eligible for a refund of the applicant's MinnesotaCare premium payments, depending on​
family size.​

Subp. 3. Coordination of coverage for hospital inpatient services under MinnesotaCare​
and medical assistance. Coverage for inpatient hospital services for enrollees shall be coordinated​
between MinnesotaCare and medical assistance as provided in this subpart.​

A. The commissioner shall notify enrollees who have received inpatient hospital services​
and who are determined to have a basis of eligibility for medical assistance, in writing, that an​
application for medical assistance must be completed.​

B. By the last day of the third month following the inpatient hospital admission, an enrollee​
who has received written notice under item A must apply for medical assistance and must cooperate​
with the local social service agency in determining eligibility for medical assistance.​

C. If an enrollee is determined eligible for medical assistance with a spenddown:​

(1) the enrollee is covered by medical assistance during the months of inpatient​
hospitalization;​
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(2) the enrollee must pay:​

(a) the MinnesotaCare premium during the months of inpatient hospitalization;​

(b) inpatient hospital costs included in the enrollee's spend-down that are not paid​
for by MinnesotaCare; and​

(c) services not covered by MinnesotaCare or medical assistance;​

(3) the enrollee is not responsible for any hospital payments reduced under Minnesota​
Statutes, section 256L.03, subdivision 3, paragraph (c);​

(4) MinnesotaCare shall pay inpatient hospital costs up to the enrollee's spend-down​
limit or the MinnesotaCare $10,000 annual benefit limit for adults, whichever is less; and​

(5) medical assistance shall pay the enrollee's inpatient hospital costs above spenddown​
amounts.​

D. An enrollee who is not eligible for medical assistance may:​

(1) remain enrolled in MinnesotaCare; and​

(2) unless the enrollee is a child, pay ten percent of the hospitalization charge, up to an​
annual maximum of $1,000 per person or $3,000 per family, and any hospitalization charges that​
exceed the $10,000 annual limit on MinnesotaCare benefits for inpatient hospital services.​

An enrollee who is not eligible for medical assistance may be eligible for retroactive general​
assistance medical care under Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.03, subdivision 3, paragraph (b).​

Subp. 4. Disenrollment.​

A. The commissioner shall disenroll an enrollee and the enrollee's family when the enrollee​
fails to apply for medical assistance or cooperate with determining eligibility, as required under​
subparts 2 and 3. MinnesotaCare coverage terminates the last day of the calendar month following​
the month in which the medical assistance application was due.​

B. An enrollee, and the enrollee's family, if disenrolled for failure to comply with subpart​
2, may reenroll after cooperating with the medical assistance eligibility determination and being​
determined ineligible for medical assistance without a spenddown.​

C. An enrollee, and the enrollee's family, if disenrolled for refusal to comply with subpart​
3, item B, may not reenroll.​

D. The commissioner shall disenroll an enrollee who is determined eligible for medical​
assistance without a spend-down. MinnesotaCare coverage terminates the last day of the calendar​
month in which the department receives notice of the enrollee's medical assistance eligibility.​

Subp. 5. Continuing health plan participation. An enrollee in a managed care health plan​
who becomes eligible for medical assistance or general assistance medical care shall remain in that​
health plan if the health plan has a contract with the department to provide health services in that​
geographic area to recipients of medical assistance or general assistance medical care.​
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Statutory Authority: MS s 256.9352; 256.9363; 256L.02; 256L.12​
History: 19 SR 1286; 20 SR 495​
Published Electronically: February 2, 2005​

9506.0060 QUALITY CONTROL.​

Subpart 1. Changes. Enrollees must report to the department any changes in the following:​

A. address;​

B. household composition;​

C. employment status;​

D. a change of more than $50 per month of gross income;​

E. availability of other health coverage;​

F. onset of disability or change in disability; or​

G. anticipation of legal action to collect money for an accident or an injury, or benefits​
available due to an accident or injury.​

Subp. 2. Random audits. The commissioner shall perform audits of randomly selected enrollees​
to verify enrollees' gross annual family income and MinnesotaCare eligibility. Enrollees being​
audited must provide additional income and eligibility information, including:​

A. federal income tax returns;​

B. federal W2 forms;​

C. employment check stubs;​

D. family composition;​

E. residency;​

F. length of time without health insurance;​

G. access to employer-subsidized coverage; and​

H. any additional information necessary to determine income and eligibility.​

Subp. 3. Disenrollment. The commissioner shall disenroll enrollees who refuse to provide​
information required under subparts 1 and 2. MinnesotaCare coverage will terminate the last day​
of the calendar month in which notice of cancellation is sent. Persons may reenroll after complying​
with this part and being determined eligible for MinnesotaCare.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.9352; 256L.02​
History: 19 SR 1286​
Published Electronically: February 2, 2005​
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9506.0070 APPEALS.​

Subpart 1. Notice. The commissioner shall follow the notification procedures in chapter 9505​
and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B, if the commissioner denies, suspends, reduces, or terminates​
MinnesotaCare eligibility or covered health services. The commissioner shall mail the person a​
written notice that describes the action, the reason for the action, and the person's right to appeal​
the action according to Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045.​

Subp. 2. Appeal process. An applicant or enrollee aggrieved by a determination or action of​
the commissioner may appeal the determination or action according to Minnesota Statutes, section​
256.045. An applicant or enrollee must submit a written request for a hearing to the department​
within 30 days after receipt of the written notice of the determination or action, except that a person​
has 90 days to submit a written request upon showing good cause why the request was not submitted​
within 30 days.​

Subp. 3. Health plan complaint and appeal procedure. An enrollee participating in a managed​
care health plan may utilize the health plan's internal complaint procedure but is not required to​
exhaust the internal complaint procedure before appealing to the commissioner. The appeal rights​
and procedures in part 9500.1463 apply to health plan enrollees.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.9352; 256.9363; 256L.02; 256L.12​
History: 19 SR 1286; 20 SR 495​
Published Electronically: February 2, 2005​

9506.0080 COVERED HEALTH SERVICES.​

Subpart 1. Covered health services. Health services covered by MinnesotaCare include the​
services listed in Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.03.​

Subp. 2. Inpatient hospital services.​

A. Enrollees are covered for medically necessary inpatient hospital services including acute​
care services, mental health services, and chemical dependency services.​

B. MinnesotaCare benefits for inpatient hospital services for adult enrollees are limited to​
$10,000 per calendar year. No benefit limit for inpatient hospital services applies to children.​

C. To be reimbursed under MinnesotaCare for inpatient hospital services provided to​
enrollees, eligible providers must comply with:​

(1) parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1140 and Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.9685, 256.9686,​
256.969, and 256.9695, governing inpatient hospital payment rates for medical assistance;​

(2) parts 9505.0170 and 9505.0475 and Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.03,​
subdivisions 1 to 5, establishing standards for services covered by medical assistance;​

(3) parts 9505.5000 to 9505.5030 and Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0625,​
subdivision 25, requiring prior authorization for certain services; and​
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(4) parts 9505.0540 and 9505.5035 to 9505.5105, governing second surgical opinions.​

Subp. 3. Hospital admission certification. Inpatient hospital admissions of enrollees, including​
admission of a pregnant woman that results in the delivery of a newborn or a stillbirth or an admission​
where the principal diagnosis or procedure is an inpatient dental procedure, must be certified in​
accordance with the medical assistance certification criteria in parts 9505.0501 to 9505.0540, except​
for admissions:​

A. approved under Medicare; or​

B. authorized under parts 9530.6600 to 9530.6655.​

Subp. 4. Cost avoidance. The commissioner shall use cost avoidance techniques to ensure​
benefit coordination for enrollees, including items A to C.​

A. MinnesotaCare coverage for covered health services is secondary to other health coverage​
for which enrollees are eligible, except for coverage under the behavioral health fund.​

B. Coverage by all potential third-party payers must be exhausted before MinnesotaCare​
payment for covered health services will be made. An eligible provider must attempt to collect​
payment from potential third-party payers before billing the department for a covered health service.​

C. Private accident and health care coverage must be used according to the rules of the​
specific health plan. MinnesotaCare shall not pay for services that would have been covered by the​
primary health coverage if the applicable rules of that health coverage had been followed.​

Subp. 5. Lien. When the department provides, pays for, or becomes liable for covered health​
services, the department has a lien for the cost of care upon any and all causes of action accruing​
to the enrollee, or to the enrollee's legal representatives, as a result of the occurrence necessitating​
payment for covered health services. All liens under this subpart are governed by Minnesota Statutes,​
section 256.015.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.9352; 256L.02​
History: 19 SR 1286​
Published Electronically: October 13, 2021​

9506.0090 COPAYMENTS AND ELIGIBLE PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT.​

Subpart 1. Copayments required. Adult enrollees must pay eligible providers and managed​
care health plans or participating providers the copayments required under Minnesota Statutes,​
sections 256L.03, subdivision 5, and 256L.12, subdivision 6. Adult enrollees who are not eligible​
for medical assistance must pay inpatient hospital charges above the annual MinnesotaCare benefit​
limit to the hospital that provided the inpatient hospital services.​

Subp. 2. Reimbursement for covered health services. Covered health services are reimbursed​
at the same rate and subject to the same conditions established for medical assistance, except:​

A. federally qualified health centers, rural health clinics, and Indian health facility services​
are reimbursed as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.11, subdivision 2;​
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B. inpatient hospital services are reimbursed as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section​
256L.11, subdivisions 3 and 4; and​

C. managed care health plans are paid as provided in part 9506.0300.​

Subp. 3. Copayments not paid. The commissioner shall reimburse an eligible provider at the​
full medical assistance rate minus any applicable copayments regardless of whether the eligible​
provider collects copayments from enrollees who are ineligible for medical assistance.​

Subp. 4. Commissioner's access to enrollee medical records. Eligible providers and managed​
care health plans or participating providers must provide the commissioner access to enrollees'​
personal medical records to monitor compliance with parts 9506.0010 to 9506.0400 and to identify​
fraud, theft, or abuse.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.9352; 256.9363; 256L.02; 256L.12​
History: 19 SR 1286; 20 SR 495; L 2013 c 108 art 1 s 67​
Published Electronically: January 7, 2014​

9506.0100 SURVEILLANCE AND UTILIZATION REVIEW.​

Parts 9505.2160 to 9505.2245 apply to the MinnesotaCare program.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.9352; 256L.02​
History: 19 SR 1286​
Published Electronically: February 2, 2005​

9506.0200 PREPAID MINNESOTACARE PROGRAM; GENERAL.​

Subpart 1. Designation of geographic area. The commissioner shall designate geographic​
areas in which enrollees must receive covered health services through a managed care health plan.​

A. In designating geographic areas, the commissioner shall consider area size, size of the​
population to be served, accessibility of health services, the availability of health plans, and any​
other factors necessary to provide the most economical care consistent with high medical standards.​

B. The commissioner shall implement either a multiple health plan model or a single health​
plan model in a designated geographic area.​

(1) A multiple health plan model is a health services delivery system in which more​
than one managed care health plan is offered to enrollees in the geographic area.​

(2) A single health plan model is a health services delivery system in which only one​
health plan is available to enrollees in the geographic area.​

C. The commissioner may limit the number of health plans with which the department​
contracts within a designated geographic area, taking into consideration:​

(1) the number of enrollees within the designated geographic area;​
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(2) the number of potential health plan contractors;​

(3) the size of the provider network offered by health plans;​

(4) the health services offered by a health plan;​

(5) qualifications of health plan personnel;​

(6) accessibility of services to enrollees;​

(7) health plan assurances of enrollee confidentiality;​

(8) health plan marketing and enrollment activities;​

(9) health plan compliance with parts 9506.0010 to 9506.0400;​

(10) health plan performance under other contracts with the department to serve​
MinnesotaCare enrollees and medical assistance or general assistance medical care recipients; or​

(11) any other factors necessary to provide the most economical care consistent with​
high medical standards.​

Subp. 2. Contracts. Contracts between the department and a health plan to provide covered​
services to enrollees must:​

A. require the health plan to serve medical assistance recipients and general assistance​
medical care recipients;​

B. comply with the requirements of United States Code, title 42, section 1396a(a)(23)(B),​
prohibiting the health plan from restricting enrollee access to family planning services, and Minnesota​
Statutes, section 62Q.14; and​

C. permit the commissioner to terminate the contract upon 90 days notice to the health​
plan.​

Subp. 3. Multiple health plan model areas. After the department has executed contracts with​
health plans to provide covered health services in a multiple health plan model area, the department​
or an entity under contract with the department shall:​

A. inform applicants and enrollees, in writing, of available health plans, when written notice​
of health plan selection must be submitted to the department, and when health plan participation​
begins;​

B. randomly assign to a health plan enrollees who fail to notify the department in writing​
of their health plan choice; and​

C. notify enrollees, in writing, of their assigned health plan before the effective date of the​
enrollee's health plan participation.​

Subp. 4. Single health plan model areas. After the department has executed a contract with​
a health plan to provide covered health services as the sole health plan in a geographic area:​
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A. the department shall assure that applicants and enrollees are informed, in writing, of​
participating providers in the health plan and when health plan participation begins;​

B. the health plan may require the enrollee to select a primary care provider and may assign​
to a primary care provider enrollees who fail to notify the health plan of their selection; and​

C. the health plan shall notify enrollees, in writing, of their assigned providers before the​
effective date of health plan participation.​

Subp. 5. Changing health plans or primary care providers.​

A. In multiple health plan model areas, enrollees may change health plans once within the​
first year the enrollee participates in a health plan. After the first year of health plan participation,​
enrollees may change health plans during the annual 30-day open enrollment period. The department​
or entity under contract with the department shall notify enrollees when the annual open enrollment​
period will occur.​

B. In single health plan model areas, enrollees may change primary care providers at least​
once during the first year of health plan participation. After the first year of health plan participation,​
enrollees may change primary care providers at least annually. The health plan shall notify enrollees​
of this change option.​

C. If a health plan's contract with the department is terminated for any reason, enrollees in​
that health plan shall select a new health plan and may change health plans or primary care providers​
within the first 60 days of participation in the second health plan.​

D. Enrollees may change health plans or primary care providers for cause as determined​
through an appeal under part 9506.0070 and as provided in subitems (1) and (2).​

(1) In multiple health plan model areas, enrollees may change health plans without a​
hearing if the travel time from the enrollee's residence to the enrollee's primary care provider is​
over 30 minutes or the enrollee's health plan was incorrectly designated due to department error.​
Requests for change under this subitem must be submitted to the department in writing. The​
department shall notify enrollees whether the request is approved or denied within 30 days after​
receipt of the written request.​

(2) In single health plan model areas, enrollees may change primary care provider​
without a hearing if the travel time from the enrollee's residence to the enrollee's primary care​
provider is over 30 minutes or the enrollee's primary care provider was incorrectly designated due​
to health plan error. Requests for change under this subitem must be submitted to the health plan​
in writing. The health plan shall notify enrollees whether the request is approved or denied within​
30 days after receipt of the written request.​

Subp. 6. Family participation in a health plan. All family members enrolled in MinnesotaCare​
must receive health services from the same health plan.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.9352; 256.9363; 256L.02; 256L.12​
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History: 20 SR 495​
Published Electronically: February 2, 2005​

9506.0300 HEALTH PLAN SERVICES; PAYMENT.​

Subpart 1. Covered services; additional health services. Except as provided in subparts 2​
and 3, a health plan must provide and pay for all covered health services listed in Minnesota Statutes,​
section 256L.03. A health plan may offer enrollees additional health services that are not covered​
by MinnesotaCare.​

Subp. 2.  Payment for inpatient hospital services. The commissioner may contract with a​
health plan for inpatient hospital services for enrollees on either a risk or a nonrisk basis.​

A. If the commissioner contracts with a health plan for inpatient hospital services on a​
nonrisk basis:​

(1) except as authorized under subpart 3, the health plan must require enrollees to​
receive inpatient hospital services from participating providers;​

(2) the health plan must comply with units (a) to (c) when arranging inpatient hospital​
services for enrollees:​

(a) parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1140 and Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.9685,​
256.9686, 256.969, and 256.9695 governing inpatient hospital payment rates for medical assistance;​

(b) parts 9505.0170 to 9505.0475 and Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.03,​
subdivisions 1 to 5, establishing standards for services covered by medical assistance; and​

(c) part 9506.0080, subpart 3, governing hospital admission certification;​

(3) the department shall pay for inpatient hospital services according to part 9506.0080,​
subpart 2, and shall make payment to the health plan to pass through to the hospital;​

(4) the hospital shall collect from adult enrollees required MinnesotaCare copayments​
and costs not covered by MinnesotaCare or medical assistance; and​

(5) the health plan must report enrollee inpatient hospital admissions to the department​
within 30 days after the admission date, in a form prescribed by the department.​

B. If the commissioner contracts with a health plan for inpatient hospital services on a risk​
basis:​

(1) except as authorized under subpart 3, the health plan must require enrollees to​
receive inpatient hospital services from participating providers;​

(2) the health plan shall pay for all inpatient hospital services for children and up to the​
annual benefit limit established for adult enrollees;​

(3) the hospital shall collect from adult enrollees required MinnesotaCare copayments​
and costs not covered by MinnesotaCare or medical assistance; and​
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(4) the health plan must report enrollee inpatient hospital admissions to the department​
within 30 days after the admission date, in a form prescribed by the department.​

Subp. 3. Payment for out-of-plan services.​

A. A health plan is not liable for payment for health services provided enrollees by providers​
not participating in the health plan, except, a health plan must pay for:​

(1) enrollee emergency services, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0625,​
subdivision 4;​

(2) any other health services required under the contract with the department or by law;​
and​

(3) out-of-plan services authorized by the health plan or a participating provider; the​
health plan is not required to pay more than the rate under part 9506.0090, subpart 2, for authorized​
out-of-plan services unless another payment rate is required by law.​

B. The department is not liable to nonparticipating providers for payment for health services.​

Subp. 4. Enrollee costs. Except for copayments required under Minnesota Statutes, section​
256L.03, subdivision 5, and inpatient hospital charges that exceed the MinnesotaCare benefit limit,​
enrollees are not liable for any costs for covered services or for authorized out-of-plan services.​

Subp. 5. Payment to health plans.​

A. Payments to health plans for covered health services for enrollees shall be prospective,​
per capita payments, made on an actuarially sound basis as determined by the commissioner; except,​
the commissioner may allow health plans to arrange for inpatient hospital services on a risk or​
nonrisk basis as provided in subpart 2.​

B. By the tenth day of each month, the commissioner shall prepay the health plan the​
capitation rate specified in the contract.​

C. The department shall make payment rates and contracts with health plans available to​
the public upon request.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.9352; 256.9363; 256L.02; 256L.12​
History: 20 SR 495​
Published Electronically: October 16, 2013​

9506.0400 OTHER MANAGED CARE HEALTH PLAN OBLIGATIONS.​

Subpart 1. Financial accountability. A health plan is accountable to the commissioner for​
the fiscal management of covered health services. The state of Minnesota and enrollees shall be​
held harmless for the payment of obligations incurred by a health plan if the health plan or a​
participating provider becomes insolvent and the department has made the payments due the health​
plan under the contract.​
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Subp. 2. Educational materials.​

A. A health plan shall provide the commissioner copies of educational materials explaining​
covered health services for distribution to applicants and enrollees as specified in the contract. A​
health plan shall not distribute any materials designed to solicit health plan participation without​
prior approval from the department.​

B. A health plan shall provide each enrollee a certificate of coverage approved by the​
commissioner, a health plan identification card, a list of participating providers, and a description​
of the health plan complaint and appeal procedure. All written information provided enrollees must​
be understandable to a person reading at the seventh grade level, using the Flesch scale analysis​
readability score as determined under Minnesota Statutes, section 72C.09.​

Subp. 3. Case management. A health plan shall have available a system of case management​
in which an individual enrollee's medical needs may be assessed to determine the appropriate plan​
of care. A plan of care must be developed, implemented, evaluated, monitored, revised, and​
coordinated with other health care providers as appropriate and necessary.​

Subp. 4. Submission of information. The health plan contract must specify the information​
that the health plan shall submit to the commissioner, and to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid​
Services when applicable, the form of submission, and when the information must be available to​
the commissioner. If the commissioner requires additional information, the health plan shall provide​
the additional information within 30 days after receiving the commissioner's written request.​

Subp. 5. Quality assurance.​

A. A health plan shall have an internal quality assurance system that provides ongoing​
review of:​

(1) enrollee use of services;​

(2) case review of problem cases and of a random sample of all cases that includes​
reviewing medical records and assessing the care provided;​

(3) enrollee complaints and disposition of complaints; and​

(4) enrollee satisfaction as determined through at least annual surveys.​

B. A health plan shall develop a corrective action plan based on the results of case reviews​
and shall monitor the effectiveness of its corrective actions.​

C. A health plan shall permit the commissioner or the commissioner's agents to evaluate​
the quality, appropriateness, and timeliness of covered health services through inspections, site​
visits, and review of medical records.​

D. The commissioner shall notify a health plan, in writing, if the commissioner finds a​
deficiency in the quality of health services offered enrollees. If the health plan fails to correct the​
deficiency within 60 days after receiving the written notice, the commissioner may withhold all or​
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part of the capitation premium payments until the deficiency is corrected to the satisfaction of the​
commissioner.​

Subp. 6. Third-party liability. To the extent required under part 9506.0080 and Minnesota​
Statutes, section 62A.046, a health plan shall coordinate benefits for or recover the cost of health​
services provided enrollees who have other health coverage. Coordination of benefits by a health​
plan includes paying applicable copayments or deductibles on behalf of an enrollee.​

Subp. 7. Enrollee acceptance. A health plan shall accept all enrollees who choose or are​
assigned to the health plan by the department, regardless of an enrollee's health status or previous​
utilization of health services.​

Subp. 8. Financial capacity. A health plan shall demonstrate that its financial risk capacity​
is acceptable to its participating providers; except, a health plan licensed as a health maintenance​
organization or a nonprofit health plan, under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 62C and 62D, or a​
community integrated service network under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 62N, is not required to​
demonstrate financial risk capacity beyond the requirements in those chapters for licensure or a​
certificate of authority.​

Subp. 9. Chemical dependency assessments. A health plan shall assess the need for chemical​
dependency services and placement according to the criteria in parts 9530.6600 to 9530.6655.​

Subp. 10. Immunization. A health plan shall collaborate with the local public health agencies​
to ensure immunization of children who are enrollees and must provide a recommended immunization​
schedule to families with children.​

Subp. 11. Second medical opinion. A health plan must include in its certificate of coverage​
information about enrollees' right to a second medical opinion according to items A to C.​

A. Upon enrollee request, the health plan shall provide at health plan expense a second​
medical opinion by a participating provider within the health plan.​

B. The health plan shall comply with Minnesota Statutes, section 62D.103, and shall provide​
at health plan expense a second medical opinion by a qualified nonparticipating provider when the​
health plan determines that an enrollee's chemical dependency or mental health problem does not​
require structured treatment.​

C. The health plan shall provide at health plan expense a second medical opinion when​
ordered to do so by a state human services referee under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045.​

Subp. 12. Data privacy. The contract between the commissioner and the health plan must​
specify that the health plan is an agent of the welfare system and shall have access to welfare data​
on enrollees to the extent necessary to carry out the health plan's responsibilities under the contract.​
The health plan shall comply with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13, the Minnesota Government Data​
Practices Act, and applicable federal privacy law.​

Subp. 13. Complaint and appeal procedure. Part 9500.1463, which establishes complaint​
and appeal procedures, applies to health plans and enrollees.​
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Subp. 14. Contract termination. If the commissioner or a health plan terminates a contract,​
the health plan must notify its enrollees at least 60 days before the termination date, in writing, that​
the contract will terminate.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.9352; 256.9363; 256L.02; 256L.12​
History: 20 SR 495; L 1997 c 225 art 2 s 62; L 2002 c 277 s 32​
Published Electronically: January 14, 2010​
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