
8840.5525 ISSUANCE AND EXPIRATION OF CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE.​

Subpart 1. Processed in 30 days. The commissioner shall process all applications and a​
certificate of compliance must be issued or denied in writing within 30 days of the receipt of the​
completed application and documentation required by the commissioner.​

Subp. 2. Issuance or denial of certificate. The commissioner shall issue a certificate of​
compliance to an applicant who meets the requirements in parts 8840.5100 to 8840.6400, except​
the commissioner shall not issue a certificate of compliance if:​

A. the applicant had a certificate revoked during the preceding 180 days;​

B. the application for certification contains a statement that is false, misleading, or​
fraudulent;​

C. the applicant fails to provide all required or requested data; or​

D. the applicant or any person listed on the application is disqualified by the background​
study required in Minnesota Statutes, section 174.30, subdivision 10.​

Subp. 3. Contesting a denial. To contest a denial of the issuance of a certificate, the provider​
shall follow the procedures in part 8840.6400.​

Subp. 4. Certificate denied, revoked, or canceled. If a provider's certificate of compliance​
is denied, revoked, or canceled, and the provider wishes to reapply, the applicant must submit a​
new application under part 8840.5500. If a certificate is denied, revoked, or canceled for containing​
information that is false, misleading, or fraudulent, the provider is prohibited from reapplying for​
180 days.​

Subp. 5. Term of certificate; good cause extension. A certificate of compliance expires one​
year from the date it is issued and is renewable on an annual basis as provided for in part 8840.5500​
and this part. The commissioner, for good cause, may extend the time before a certificate is canceled​
for up to an additional 30 days beyond expiration. "Good cause" means circumstances beyond​
control or circumstances that were not reasonably foreseeable, such as a serious physical or mental​
incapacity or illness.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 174.30​
History: 28 SR 1578; 48 SR 155​
Published Electronically: September 14, 2023​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

8840.5525​MINNESOTA RULES​1​


	Part 8840.5525
	Subp. 1
	Subp. 2
	Subp. 3
	Subp. 4
	Subp. 5


