
7897.0190 CONTESTED CASE HEARINGS.​

Subpart 1. Right to a contested case hearing. In lieu of an appeal under part 7877.0155, if​
the commission orders any of the following disciplinary sanctions, the licensee may elect to appeal​
by requesting a contested case hearing, to be held in accordance with the contested case procedures​
in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14 and rules adopted pursuant thereto:​

A. revocation of a license;​

B. suspension of a Class A, B, or D license;​

C. suspension of a Class C license for more than one year; or​

D. a fine of more than $10,000.​

Subp. 2. Contested case procedure. The commission shall notify a licensee in writing of the​
sanction, and of the licensee's right to appeal by requesting a contested case hearing. A request for​
a contested case hearing must be made in writing and delivered to the commission's director by​
certified mail or personal service. If delivered by certified mail, the request must be postmarked​
within ten calendar days after the licensee received the commission's sanction order. If a request​
is delivered by personal service, it must be received by the commission's director within ten calendar​
days after the licensee received the commission's sanction order. If a licensee submits a timely​
request for a contested case hearing under this subpart, the disciplinary sanction shall be stayed​
until the commission issues a final order following the contested case hearing. However, the​
imposition of the sanction shall not be stayed if the commission had summarily suspended the​
license in the 90 days preceding the issuance of the sanction order and the licensee either did not​
appeal the summary suspension or the commission affirmed the summary suspension after appeal.​
Any contested case hearing shall be commenced and held in the manner provided for in Minnesota​
Statutes, chapter 14, and rules adopted pursuant thereto.​

Subp. 3. Exceptions. Parties affected by the report of the administrative law judge shall have​
20 days from the date of service of the report to file exceptions with the commission and request​
an opportunity to present written arguments to the commission.​

Subp. 4. Consideration of arguments. If there has been a request for an opportunity to present​
written arguments, the commission shall, as soon as practicable, set dates for the filing of such​
arguments and give reasonable notice thereof to all parties to the contested case.​

Subp. 5. Decision or order. The decision or order shall be in writing or stated in the record​
and shall be accompanied by a statement of the reasons therefor. The statement of reasons shall​
consist of a concise statement of the conclusions upon each contested issue of fact necessary to the​
decision. Parties to the proceeding shall be served personally or by first-class mail with a copy of​
the decision or order and accompanying statement of reasons.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.03; 240.08; 240.10; 240.16; 240.19; 240.22; 240.23; 240.24​
History: 9 SR 2527; 11 SR 2201; 42 SR 1258; 44 SR 1031​
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