
7854.1500 FEES.​

Subpart 1. Fee requirement. An applicant for a site permit under Minnesota Statutes, section​
216F.04, shall pay an application fee to the PUC. The purpose of the application fee is to cover​
actual costs necessarily and reasonably incurred in processing an application for a site permit,​
including, but not limited to, staff time, expenses for public notice and meetings, environmental​
review, administrative overhead, and legal expenses.​

Subp. 2. Determination of PUC budget. Upon receipt of an application for a site permit, the​
commission shall estimate the costs the PUC expects to incur in processing the application and​
establish an estimated budget. If the applicant disagrees with the amount of the estimated budget,​
the applicant may request that the Public Utilities Commission determine the appropriate estimated​
budget.​

Subp. 3. Initial payment. Upon determination of the estimated budget, the applicant shall pay​
at least 50 percent of the estimated budget to the PUC. The commission shall not process a permit​
application until the first portion of the fee is submitted. The PUC shall deposit all money received​
from an applicant for permit fees in a special account.​

Subp. 4. Periodic payments. The remaining costs incurred by the PUC must be paid in periodic​
payments upon receipt of an invoice from the PUC. The PUC shall not make a final decision on a​
site permit application if any assessed fees are unpaid.​

Subp. 5. Final accounting. At the end of the permitting process, including any judicial review​
of the commission's final decision, the PUC shall provide a final accounting to the applicant of the​
total cost of processing the permit application. The applicant may review all actual costs associated​
with processing an application and present objections to the commission. The applicant shall make​
the final payment within 30 days of notification, or the PUC shall refund any excess payments​
within 30 days of the final accounting.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 116C.695; 216F.05​
History: 26 SR 1394; L 2005 c 97 art 3 s 19​

NOTE: This part is repealed effective July 1, 2025. L 2024 c 126 art 7 s 15; L 2024 c 127 art 43 s 15.​
Published Electronically: September 20, 2024​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​
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