MINNESOTA RULES

7850.1800 PERMIT FEES.

Subpart 1. **Requirement.** An applicant for a site permit or route permit shall pay a fee in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 216E.18. The estimated fee for processing the permit application must be determined in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 216E.18.

Subp. 2. **Initial payment.** The applicant shall submit with the application 25 percent of the total estimated fee, or up to 50 percent of the total estimated fee if the commission determines that the additional percentage is reasonably necessary to complete the site evaluation and design process. The commission shall not process a permit application until the first portion of the fee is submitted. The PUC shall deposit all money received from the applicant for permit fees in a special account.

Subp. 3. Additional payments. The applicant shall pay an additional 25 percent of the fee within 90 days after the application has been accepted by the commission. Additional payments must be made within 30 days of notification by the commission that additional fees are necessary for completion of the permitting process. The commission shall not make a final decision on a permit application if any assessed fees have not been paid.

Subp. 4. **Final accounting.** At the end of the permitting process, including any judicial review of the commission's final decision, the PUC shall provide a final accounting to the applicant of the total cost of processing the permit application. The applicant may review all actual costs associated with processing an application and present objections to the commission. The application fees paid by the applicant shall include the necessary and reasonable expenses incurred in processing the application, including, but not limited to, staff time, expenses for public notice and meetings and hearings, environmental review, administrative overhead, and legal expenses. The applicant shall make the final payment within 30 days of notification or the PUC shall refund any excess payments with 30 days of the final accounting.

Statutory Authority: *MS s 116C.66; 216E.16* **History:** *27 SR 1295; L 2005 c 97 art 3 s 19*

NOTE: This part is repealed effective July 1, 2025. L 2024 c 126 art 7 s 15; L 2024 c 127 art 43 s 15. **Published Electronically:** *September 20, 2024*