7421.0800 NOTICE OF INTENT TO DOWNGRADE COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE.

- Subpart 1. **Warning notice of medical status expiring.** The commissioner shall send written notice to a CDL holder 60 days prior to the expiration of the CDL holder's medical certification status that states:
- A. the medical examiner's certificate or the medical waiver will expire within 60 days of the date of the notice;
- B. the commissioner will change the medical status to "Not Certified" on the CDL holder's driving record; and
 - C. the CDL privilege will no longer be valid, unless the CDL holder submits:
 - (1) current medical documents; or
- (2) a new self-certification form indicating that the CDL holder is exempt from medical requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.162.
- Subp. 2. **Notice of medical certificate status updated to not certified.** The commissioner shall send written notice to a CDL holder who fails to submit a valid medical examiner's certificate or a current medical waiver before either expires, or fails to submit a new self-certification in which the CDL holder certifies that the CDL holder is exempt from the medical examination requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.162. The notice must state:
 - A. the CDL medical certification status has been updated to "NOT CERTIFIED";
 - B. the CDL privilege is not valid; and
- C. the CDL will be downgraded to a class D license unless, within 30 days of the date of notice, the CDL holder submits the medical documentation required under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.162.

Subp. 3. CDL downgrade.

- A. A driver whose CDL has been downgraded to a class D license for less than one year may seek reinstatement of the CDL privilege by submitting either:
- (1) a self-certification form in which the driver certifies that the CDL holder is exempt from the medical examination requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.162; or
- (2) the valid medical examiner's certificate or current medical waiver required under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.162, subdivision 3.

B. A driver whose CDL has been downgraded to a class D license for more than one year and who seeks reinstatement of the CDL privilege is subject to the testing requirements under part 7421.0900.

Statutory Authority: MS s 171.09; 171.162; L 2010 c 242 s 10

History: 36 SR 809

Published Electronically: January 19, 2012