7410.0700 APPLICATION FOR REDUCED FEE IDENTIFICATION CARD.

- Subpart 1. **Application process.** To apply for a state identification card at a reduced fee, a person with a condition of developmental disability, mental illness, or a physical disability, as these conditions are defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.07, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), shall comply with this part.
 - A. The applicant shall comply with the identity provisions in part 7410.0400.
- B. Verification of the condition must be made on a certificate provided and made available by the department at all state application and driver's license agent application sites and from the department's Internet site.
- C. If an applicant cannot present the certificate verifying the condition required in this part at the time of application, the department shall accept the application and hold it in suspense for 30 days pending receipt of the certificate verifying the condition. If verification of the condition is not received within 30 days of the date of application, the department shall deny the application for a reduced fee identification card.
- D. Verification is not needed during the period the identification card is valid if the cardholder applies for a duplicate and the verification information is on file with the department.
- Subp. 2. **Person with developmental disabilities.** If verification of an applicant's condition of developmentally disabled, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 252A.02, subdivision 2, is not on file with the department:
- A. the applicant must present verification of the condition when applying for an initial card and when applying for a renewal of a card; and
- B. verification of the condition must be made by a medical doctor or county-authorized case manager.

For this condition, a verification form from a previous application may be presented.

Subp. 3. **Person with mental illness.** At the time of the initial application for a reduced-fee identification card and for all subsequent renewals, a person with mental illness must present verification of the condition of serious and persistent mental illness as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 245.462, subdivision 20, paragraph (c). Verification of the condition of serious and persistent mental illness must be made by a county case manager or a mental health professional, as defined under Minnesota Statutes, section 245.462.

- Subp. 4. **Person with physical disability.** A person with a physical disability shall present verification of being a physically disabled person as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 169.345, subdivision 2.
- A. If the physical disability is permanent, verification is required only at the time of initial application and is valid for the life of the applicant.
- B. If the physical disability is temporary, the verification is valid for four years from the date of initial application for a reduced-fee identification card.
- C. Verification of the physical disability must be made by a medical doctor or chiropractor as authorized in Minnesota Statutes, section 169.345, subdivisions 2 and 3.
- D. Verification of the physical disability may also be made through presentation of a valid, permanent, physical disability parking certificate issued to the applicant under Minnesota Statutes, section 169.345, or upon presentation of a motor vehicle registration with physically disabled plates registered in the applicant's name.
- Subp. 5. **Information on file; public access.** Information on a condition listed in subpart 1 must be maintained as private data on the applicant in the record maintained by the department.
- A. Verification information may be viewed by a driver's license agent at the time of application if the information can be retrieved at the application site.
- B. A designation of the applicant's condition must not be indicated on the identification card issued.

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 161.061; 171.07; 299A.01

History: 25 SR 1439; L 2005 c 56 s 2

Published Electronically: October 11, 2007