
6100.5000 SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION AND DISPLAY OF NUMBERS.​

Subpart 1. Application. Application for snowmobile registration shall be made to the​
commissioner of natural resources or authorized agent on the form prescribed. Registrants must be​
18 years of age or older prior to applying for registration of a snowmobile. Upon presentation of a​
bill of sale in the form prescribed by the commissioner, and payment of the fee required, a​
snowmobile registration certificate will be issued to the applicant. Registration certificates are valid​
for a period of three years. A decal showing the expiration date shall be affixed to the machine as​
illustrated below.​

Subp. 2. Required information. The applicant shall furnish all the information required by​
the application for snowmobile registration.​

Subp. 3. Affixation of number. The registration number of the snowmobile, shown on the​
registration certificate, shall be affixed to the snowmobile and maintained in a clear, legible manner.​
On all machines made after June 30, 1972, and sold in Minnesota, such registration number shall​
be affixed in the space provided therefor in accordance with part 6100.5700, subpart 4. On all other​
machines it shall be affixed on each side of the cowling on the upper half of the machine, as follows.​

Subp. 4. Description of decal or number; lost or destroyed number or decal. All letters​
and numbers shall be of a color which will contrast with the surface to which applied, and shall be​
at least three inches high and three-eighths inch stroke. When any previously affixed registration​
number or decal is destroyed or lost, a duplicate shall be affixed in the manner shown above. The​
registration number shall remain the same if renewed by July 1 following the expiration date.​

Subp. 5. General prohibition. No person shall operate or transport, and no person shall permit​
the operation of, a snowmobile within this state which does not have its registration number and​
unexpired decal affixed in the form and manner required by this part, unless the owner is exempted​
from the registration requirements of this state by Minnesota Statutes, section 84.82.​

Subp. 6. Duplicate certificate. A duplicate registration certificate will be issued upon​
application by the owner to the commissioner on the form prescribed and upon payment of the fee​
required by law. Replacement registration decals may be obtained from the Department of Natural​
Resources License Center or any conservation officer.​

Subp. 7. Transfer of ownership. Application for transfer of ownership shall be made to the​
commissioner within 15 days of the date of transfer. An "Application for Transfer" form is to be​
executed by the registered owner and the purchaser and submitted together with the fee required​
by law, the owner's registration certificate, and a bill of sale in the form prescribed by the​
commissioner.​
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Subp. 8. Reporting of abandoned, stolen, or destroyed snowmobiles. Abandoned, stolen,​
or destroyed snowmobiles shall be reported to the commissioner within 15 days by completing the​
reverse side of the registration certificate. No fee is charged for the reporting.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 84.86​
History: 17 SR 1279; L 2003 c 2 art 1 s 45​
Published Electronically: April 24, 2023​
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