## 5600.0610 INITIAL LICENSE PROCEDURES.

1

- Subpart 1. **Applicability to persons initially licensed.** Subparts 2 and 3 contain licensing procedures for persons who are initially licensed by the board after January 29, 1991.
- Subp. 2. **Initial license.** An individual who is initially licensed by the board after January 29, 1991, shall pay the physician application and annual license fees listed in Minnesota Statutes, section 147.01, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2).

Effective January 1, 1991, the initial license period begins with the date the person becomes licensed and ends the last day of the licensee's month of birth. However, if the last day of the individual's month of birth is less than six months after the individual becomes licensed, then the initial license period ends on the last day of the individual's month of birth in the next year after the initial license period began. After the initial license period, subsequent renewal periods shall be annual periods that begin on the last day of the month of the licensee's birth.

- Subp. 3. Conversion period and fees. Individuals initially licensed by the board after January 29, 1991, will have a conversion period according to items A to F.
- A. An individual will be assigned a conversion period of at least six months and no more than 17 months, ending on the last day of the individual's month of birth.
- B. The full physician application fee and physician annual license fee found in Minnesota Statutes, section 147.01, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), will be charged to the individual at the start of the conversion period.
- C. For an individual whose conversion period was 11 months or less, the first annual license fee charged after the conversion period shall be adjusted to credit the excess fee payment made during the conversion period. The credit is calculated based on the difference between the license fee paid during the conversion period and the prorated license fee cost assessed based on the number of months of the individual's conversion period, up to 11 months, at the rate of 1/12 of the annual fee per month rounded upward to the nearest dollar amount.
- D. For an individual whose conversion period was 12 months, the first annual license fee charged after the conversion period shall not be adjusted. The individual will be charged the full annual license fee listed in Minnesota Statutes, section 147.01, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (2).
- E. For an individual whose conversion period was between 13 and 17 full calendar months, the first annual license fee charged after the conversion period shall be adjusted to add the payment for the number of months in excess of 12 months in the licensee's conversion period that were not paid for initially. The added payment is calculated based on the difference between the fee paid at the start of the conversion period and the prorated license fee cost assessed using the number of months of the individual's conversion period, up to 17 months, at the rate of 1/12 of the annual fee per month rounded upward to the nearest dollar amount. The difference calculated is added to the full fee charged.

F. The second license renewal made after the conversion period for the individual and all subsequent license renewals shall be assessed the annual license fee in Minnesota Statutes, section 147.01, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (2).

**Statutory Authority:** MS s 16A.1285; 146.13; 147.01; 147A.04; 147A.05; 147A.21; 147B.02; 214.06

**History:** 15 SR 1640; 20 SR 2376; L 2017 1Sp6 art 11 s 56

Published Electronically: September 6, 2017