## 5600.0605 LICENSE RENEWAL PROCEDURES.

Subpart 1. License renewal cycle conversion. This part converts the license renewal cycle for physicians from an annual cycle that begins on January 1 of each year to an annual cycle that begins with the last day of the licensee's month of birth. The conversion of the renewal cycle begins January 1, 1991. Subparts 2 to 12 contain license renewal procedures for licensees who were licensed before January 29, 1991. Under the conversion requirements of subpart 2 or 3, the license period following license renewal is from six to 17 months ending the last day of the licensee's month of birth.

Subp. 2. Conversion of license renewal cycle for current licenses. After January 1, 1991, for a licensee whose license is current as of December 31, 1990, the licensee's first renewal cycle begins on January 1, 1991, and ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth. However, if the licensee's month of birth is January, February, March, April, May, or June, the licensee's renewal cycle ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in 1992.

Subp. 3. **Conversion of license renewal cycle for noncurrent licenses.** This subpart applies to a person who was licensed before January 29, 1991, but whose license is not current as of December 31, 1990. When the licensee renews the license after January 29, 1991, the renewal period begins with the date the licensee applies for renewal and ends with the last day of the licensee's month of birth. However, if the last day of the month of birth is less than six months after the date the license is renewed, then the renewal period ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in the next year after the year in which the renewal period began.

Subp. 4. **Subsequent renewal cycles.** After the licensee's renewal during the conversion period under subpart 2 or 3, the subsequent renewal cycles shall be annual cycles that begin on the last day of the month of the licensee's birth.

Subp. 5. [Repealed, L 2019 c 8 art 7 s 11]

Subp. 6. Late submission. A license renewal application and annual license fee received in the board office after the last day of the month in which the licensee's license expires shall not be processed and shall be returned to the licensee for payment of the late fee indicated in Minnesota Statutes, section 147.01, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (6).

Subp. 7. **Incomplete application; notice.** If a licensee submits an application form or annual license fee that is incomplete, incorrect, or not in compliance with this part, the board shall notify the licensee of the deficiency within 30 calendar days after the board receives the licensee's application and shall give the licensee instructions for completing or correcting the application. The board will nullify a license renewal if the correction required in the board notice is not made within 30 days after the licensee receives the notice.

Subp. 8. [Repealed, L 2019 c 8 art 7 s 11]

Subp. 9. Conversion period and fees. A licensee who holds a license issued before January 29, 1991, and who renews that license during the conversion period under subpart 2 or 3, shall pay the required license fees according to items A to E.

## MINNESOTA RULES

A. Licensees will be charged the full annual license fee listed in Minnesota Statutes, section 147.01, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (2), for the licensure renewal occurring at the start of the conversion period.

B. For licensees whose conversion period was six to 11 months, the first annual license fee charged after the conversion period shall be adjusted to credit the excess fee payment made during the conversion period. The credit is calculated based on the difference between the fee paid during the conversion period and the prorated license fee cost assessed based on the number of months of the licensee's conversion period, up to 11 months, at a rate of 1/12 of the annual fee per month rounded upward to the nearest dollar.

C. For licensees whose conversion period was 12 months, the first annual license fee charged after the conversion period shall not be adjusted. They will be charged the annual license fee listed in Minnesota Statutes, section 147.01, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (2).

D. For licensees whose conversion period was between 13 and 17 months, the first annual license fee charged after the conversion period shall be adjusted to add the payment for the number of licensure months in excess of 12 months in the licensee's conversion period that were not paid for initially. The added payment is calculated based on the difference between the fee paid during the conversion period and the prorated license fee cost assessed at a rate of 1/12 of the annual fee per month rounded upward to the nearest dollar. The difference calculated is added to the full fee charged.

E. The second license renewal made after the conversion period and all subsequent license renewals shall be assessed the annual license fee in Minnesota Statutes, section 147.01, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (2).

Subp. 10. [Repealed, L 1997 c 103 s 2]

**Statutory Authority:** *MS s 16A.1285; 146.13; 147.01; 147A.04; 147A.05; 147A.21; 147B.02; 214.06* 

**History:** 15 SR 1640; 20 SR 2376; L 1997 c 103 s 2; L 2017 1Sp6 art 11 s 56; L 2019 c 8 art 7 s 11

Published Electronically: October 7, 2019