## 4830.7500 AMOUNT AND TERM OF GRANTS.

Subpart 1. [Repealed, 19 SR 1636]

Subp. 2. Amount. The amount of a grant must be based on:

A. the cost of child care for each child 12 years old or younger, or 14 years old or younger if the child is disabled as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 120.03;

B. the provider's charge up to a maximum rate established each year by the office;

- C. the student's enrollment status; and
- D. the award chart prepared by the office.

The institution shall estimate the amount of child care needed for the academic year and summer terms, and may add an amount up to that estimated cost to the institution's normal student budget used to calculate the student's financial need. The child care grant and other forms of financial aid may be used to pay for the child care if the expense is not covered by other funds.

Subp. 2a. Academic year grant. Beginning with the 2001-2002 academic year, the maximum grant per eligible child for the academic year is the amount specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.125, subdivision 4, minus a student expectation based on family income.

The formula used to calculate the child care grant is as follows: the statutory maximum child care grant amount minus ((family income minus 130 percent of the federal poverty level for the student's family size) multiplied by ten percent) equals the child care grant. If the formulaic result is less than zero, the grant is set to zero. If the formulaic result is greater than the maximum statutory grant, the grant amount is the statutory maximum grant.

Subp. 2b. Award disbursements. The academic year award amount must be disbursed by academic term using the following formula:

- A. the academic year amount described in subpart 2a;
- B. divided by the number of terms in the academic year;
- C. divided by 15; and

D. multiplied by the number of credits for which the student is enrolled that academic term, up to 15 credits.

Payments shall be made each academic term to the student or to the child care provider, as determined by the institution. Institutions may make payments more than once within the academic term.

Subp. 2c. Summer term grant. Students attending summer school may receive an additional grant per eligible child up to one-third of the academic year grant described in

subpart 2a for quarter-based schools and up to one-half the academic year grant described in subpart 2a for semester-based schools.

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 19 SR 1636]

Subp. 3a. **Annual grant amount.** The annual maximum grant per eligible child must not exceed the calculated amount in subpart 2a plus the amount in subpart 2c, or the student's estimated annual child care cost for not more than 40 hours per week per eligible child, whichever is less.

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.388; 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.125

**History:** 14 SR 2789; 19 SR 1636; L 1995 c 212 art 3 s 59; 20 SR 2284; 22 SR 1295; 26 SR 700; 28 SR 889; L 2005 c 56 s 2

Published Electronically: June 11, 2008