1 REVISOR 4725.0350

4725.0350 FEES APPLICABLE TO THIS CHAPTER.

Subpart 1. Applicability. The fees specified in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 1031,
apply to this chapter, except:

A. that a federal agency, state agency, or local unit of government is exempt from
payment of the fees; and

B. for notification and permits regulated by a board of health delegated under
Minnesota Statutes, section 1031.111.

Fees are not refundable, except as specified in part 4725.1836.

Subp. 2. Qualification application fee. A nonrefundable fee as specified in
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 1031, must be submitted to apply for qualification and
examination for licensure as an individual well contractor as specified in part 4725.0475,
subpart 3, or certification as a representative for any of the following:

A. a well contractor as specified in part 4725.0475, subpart 3;

B. a limited well/boring contractor as specified in part 4725.0475, subpart 4;
C. an elevator boring contractor as specified in part 4725.0475, subpart 5; or
D. a monitoring well contractor as specified in part 4725.0475, subpart 6.

Subp. 3. License or registration fees. An application for an original or renewal
license or registration must be accompanied by a nonrefundable license or registration fee
as specified in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 1031.

Subp. 4. License or registration late renewal fee. If a licensee or registrant fails to
submit all information required for the renewal of a license or registration or submits the
application and information after the required renewal date as specified in part 4725.1300,
a late fee as specified in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 1031, must be paid in addition to the
fees specified in subpart 3.

Subp. 5. Notification fees. A notification fee as specified in Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 1031, must be paid by a property owner or the owner's agent for:

A. each new water-supply well constructed;

B. each dewatering well constructed, or for a dewatering project comprising five
or more dewatering wells; and

C. each well sealed, or for sealing multiple monitoring wells located on a single
property with depths varying by no more than 25 feet that are sealed within 72 hours of the
start of construction.

Copyright ©2008 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



2 REVISOR 4725.0350
Subp. 6. Permit fees. A nonrefundable permit fee as specified in Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 1031, must be paid by a property owner or owner's agent:

A. annually for a water-supply well that is not in use and under a maintenance
permit;
B. for construction of a monitoring well;

C. annually per well for a monitoring well that is unsealed and under a
maintenance permit;

D. per site for construction of all monitoring wells, regardless of number, used
as leak detection devices at a single motor fuel retail outlet, a single petroleum bulk storage
site excluding tank farms, or a single agricultural chemical facility site;

E. for construction and injection of water by a groundwater thermal exchange
device in addition to the notification fee specified in subpart 5;

F. for construction of a vertical heat exchanger;

G. annually for a dewatering well that is unsealed and under a maintenance permit
except that a dewatering project comprising more than five wells shall be issued a single
permit for wells recorded on the permit; and

H. for construction of a boring to install an elevator hydraulic cylinder.

Subp. 7. Drilling machine registration fee. A person must not use a drilling machine
unless a nonrefundable fee as specified in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 1031, is paid annually
to register the drilling machine.

Subp. 8. Hoist registration fee. A person must not use a hoist unless a nonrefundable
fee as specified in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 1031, is paid annually to register the hoist.

Subp. 9. Well disclosure fee. According to Minnesota Statutes, section 1031.235,
a nonrefundable disclosure fee as specified in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 1031, shall be
collected.

Subp. 10. Variance fee. A nonrefundable fee as specified in Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 1031, shall be charged by the commissioner to request a variance from this chapter.

Subp. 11. Electronic payment. Notification and permit fees for construction and
sealing may be paid electronically.

Statutory Authority: MS s 1031.101; 1031.111; 1031.205; 1031.221; 1031301,
1031.401; 1031.451; 1031.501; 1031.525; 1031.531; 1031.535; 1031.541; 1031.621;
144.122

History: /8 SR 1222; 33 SR 211
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