4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. Continuing education; content.

A. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B, individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain 16 hours of continuing education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:

- (1) master plumber;
- (2) journeyworker plumber; and
- (3) restricted plumber.

At least 12 hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code, and at least four hours of instruction must pertain to the technical topics related to plumbing installations and equipment, this chapter, the Minnesota State Building Code, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.49. Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must not exceed four hours during the renewal period.

- B. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B, individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain four hours of continuing education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:
 - (1) water conditioning master; and
 - (2) water conditioning journeyworker.

At least two hours of instruction must pertain to the technical topics related to water conditioning installation and servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59.

- C. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B, an applicant for renewal of a medical gas installer certification is required to obtain four hours of continuing education instruction during the certification period before the certification may be renewed. The required hours of instruction must pertain to the technical topics related to the installation, repair, or maintenance of medical gas systems, this chapter, NFPA 99, or Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.438.
- D. In addition to satisfying the requirements of part 4716.0097 and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B, individuals who hold the following certifications are required to obtain the following continuing education during the certification period before the certificate may be renewed:
- (1) a backflow prevention rebuilder shall meet the minimum requirements to recertify in ASSE Standards 5110 and 5130; and
- (2) a backflow prevention tester shall meet the minimum requirements to recertify in ASSE Standard 5110.

Subp. 2. Application.

A. Each applicant for the renewal of a license, registration, or certification specified in subpart 1 must obtain during the term of the license, registration, or certification period and before a renewal application is submitted to the department, the required number of credits of approved continuing education. No individual may transfer continuing education hours of instruction to another individual. Hours may only be applied to the renewal period in which they are obtained and may not be carried over to the next renewal period.

B. Where an individual holds more than one type of plumbing license, registration, or certification credits for hours of instruction may be applied to each license, registration, or certification during the same renewal period so long as the specific requirements for the license, registration, or certification are met.

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.389; 326B.43; 326B.435; 326B.437; 326B.52

History: 37 SR 5; 38 SR 986

Published Electronically: November 29, 2017