4664.0060 ACCEPTANCE OF PATIENTS; DISCONTINUANCE OF SERVICES.

Subpart 1. **Acceptance of hospice patients.** No licensee shall accept a person as a hospice patient unless the licensee has staff sufficient in qualifications and numbers to adequately provide the hospice services described in Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.75, subdivision 8.

- Subp. 2. **Discontinuance of services.** If the licensee discharges or transfers a hospice patient for any reason, then:
- A. the reason for the discharge or transfer must be documented in the clinical record. The documentation must include:
 - (1) the reason why the transfer or discharge is necessary; and
- (2) why the patient's needs cannot be met by the licensee, if the patient continues to need hospice services;
- B. a written notice must be given to the hospice patient or responsible person at least ten days in advance of termination of services by the hospice provider, except according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.751, subdivision 1, clause (17), and must include the information required under item D, and the name, address, and telephone number of the Office of the Ombudsman for Older Minnesotans. A copy of the discharge notice shall be placed in the clinical record;
- C. if the hospice patient's health has improved sufficiently that the patient no longer needs the services of the licensee, the hospice patient's physician must document that the discharge is appropriate; and
- D. before the discharge, the hospice provider must give the hospice patient or the responsible person a written list of providers that provide similar services in the hospice patient's geographical area and must document that the list was provided.
- Subp. 3. **Fines.** For each violation of the following subparts, the stated fine shall be assessed:
 - A. subpart 1, \$500; and
 - B. subpart 2, \$250.

Statutory Authority: MS s 144A.752

History: 28 SR 1639; L 2005 c 122 s 1

Published Electronically: October 11, 2007