1 MINNESOTA RULES 4620.7300

4620.7300 RADON MITIGATION PROFESSIONAL LICENSE.

Subpart 1. General requirements. An individual who performs radon mitigation work must
be licensed by the commissioner as a radon mitigation professional under this part. A radon
mitigation professional license is not transferable.

Subp. 2. Training requirements; initial license. To be eligible for an initial license as a radon
mitigation professional, an applicant must:

A. complete an initial radon measurement course approved by the commissioner under part
4620.7700;

B. pass a radon measurement examination approved by the commissioner under part
4620.7700;

C. complete an initial radon mitigation course approved by the commissioner under part
4620.7700; and

D. pass aradon mitigation examination approved by the commissioner under part 4620.7700.

Subp. 3. Initial license application. An applicant for an initial radon mitigation professional
license must submit to the commissioner:

A. acompleted application on a form provided by the commissioner;

B. anonrefundable annual fee according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.4961, subdivision
8, payable to the Department of Health;

C. documentation that the applicant completed radon training courses under subpart 2;

D. documentation that the applicant passed radon training course examinations under
subpart 2;

E. a quality control and quality assurance plan for radon measurement based on the United
States Environmental Protection Agency National Radon Proficiency Program Guidance on Quality
Assurance;

F. the type, manufacturer, and model of all continuous monitors that the applicant intends
to use to measure radon; and

G. the type and manufacturer of all passive devices that the applicant intends to use to
measure radon.

Subp. 4. Expiration; renewal; continuing education.
A. A radon mitigation professional license is valid for one year from the date of issuance.

B. A licensed radon mitigation professional may apply to renew a license after completing
12 hours of continuing education approved by the commissioner under part 4620.7700.
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C. Torenew an expired license, an applicant must submit a renewal application by submitting
the information required under subpart 5 and:

(1) complete 12 hours of continuing education approved by the commissioner under
part 4620.7700 for every year or part of a year the license has lapsed;

(2) complete an initial radon measurement course and an initial radon mitigation course
approved by the commissioner under part 4620.7700; or

(3) passaradon measurement examination and a radon mitigation examination approved
by the commissioner under part 4620.7700.

Subp. 5. Renewal application.

A. An individual choosing to renew a radon mitigation professional license must submit
to the commissioner at least 30 days before the license expires:

(1) a completed renewal application on a form provided by the commissioner;

(2) a nonrefundable annual fee according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.4961,
subdivision 8, payable to the Department of Health;

(3) documentation of continuing education credits required under subpart 4; and
(4) documentation required under subpart 3, items E, F, and G.

B. A radon mitigation professional must complete 12 hours of continuing education approved
by the commissioner under part 4620.7700 within 11 months after the date the radon mitigation
professional license first expires. Continuing education hours may be accrued beginning in the
month immediately after they are reported and must be reported annually with the license application
thereafter.

C. Ifalicense expires while a renewal application is pending approval, the radon mitigation
professional may continue to perform regulated radon mitigation activities under the expired license
until the commissioner issues a new license or denies the renewal application.

Subp. 6. Denial of license application.

A. The commissioner shall deny an application for a radon mitigation professional license
according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.99, subdivision 8, or if the applicant fails to comply
with the requirements of subpart 2, 3, 4, or 5.

B. If the commissioner denies an application, the commissioner:
(1) must notify the applicant in writing and provide the reasons for the denial;

(2) must not require the applicant to pay an additional fee if the applicant submits a
second application according to this part within 30 days of the receipt of a notice that the license
application has been denied. An applicant must apply for an initial license under subpart 3 or a
renewal under subpart 5 for subsequent applications; and
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(3) must provide notice of the opportunity to appeal a denial as required by Minnesota
Statutes, section 144.99, subdivision 10.

Statutory Authority: MSs 144.4961

History: 43 SR 687
Published Electronically: December 20, 2018

Copyright © 2018 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



	Part 4620.7300
	Subp. 1
	Subp. 2
	Subp. 3
	Subp. 4
	Subp. 5
	Subp. 6


