REVISOR

3400.0110 CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE PAYMENTS.

Subpart 1. **Payment options.** Counties must monitor child care payments to ensure that the funds are used for child care.

Subp. 1a. **Date payments must begin.** After approval of an application for child care assistance, payment of child care assistance must be authorized to begin as of the family's date of eligibility as determined under part 3400.0040, subpart 6c.

Subp. 2. Authorization before payment of legal nonlicensed providers. After a legal nonlicensed provider is authorized by the county, the county must pay the provider or parent retroactive to the date in item A, B, or C that occurred most recently:

A. the date on which child care for the family was authorized to begin;

B. the date the family signed the application for child care; or

C. the date the family began using the legal nonlicensed provider.

Subp. 2a. Provisional payment for legal nonlicensed providers.

A. When a legal nonlicensed provider who has been provisionally authorized under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.125, subdivision 5, does not receive final authorization by the county, the provisional authorization and payment must be terminated following notice to the provider as required under part 3400.0185 and Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.13, subdivision 5. The county must notify the family using the ineligible provider that the family must choose a new provider to continue receiving child care assistance. A provider's failure to receive final authorization does not cause payments made during the provisional authorization period to be overpayments.

B. If a family appeals the adverse determination of provider eligibility and, while the appeal is pending, continues to use the provider who failed to receive final authorization, payments made after the notice period are subject to recovery as overpayments.

Subp. 3. **County authorization of child care.** Within the limits set by this chapter and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B, the amount of child care authorized must reflect the child care needs of the family and minimize out-of-pocket child care costs to the family. The amount of child care authorized must be based on the parents' schedule of participation in authorized activities, the child's school schedule, the provider's availability, and any other factors that would affect the amount of care that the child needs. The county must pay the provider's full charge up to the applicable maximum rate for all hours of child care authorized and scheduled for the family. When more than 50 hours of child care assistance for one child are authorized with one provider in a week, the county may reimburse the provider in an amount that exceeds the applicable maximum weekly rate, if the provider charges the same amount for more than 50 hours of care for a family not receiving child care assistance. A county must not authorize or pay for more than 120 hours of child care

REVISOR

assistance per child every two weeks. To convert child care paid on a full-day or weekly basis into hours to determine if payment exceeds 120 hours of child care assistance, counties must follow the standards in items A and B.

A. A full-day is equal to ten hours of child care.

B. A week is equal to 50 hours of child care.

Subp. 4. [Repealed, 33 SR 695]

Subp. 4a. **Reimbursement from other sources for child care costs.** A county must reduce the amount of a family's child care assistance payment by the amount of reimbursement earmarked for the same child care expenses that the family receives from sources other than the child care assistance fund.

Subp. 5. [Repealed, 26 SR 253]

Subp. 6. [Repealed, 26 SR 253]

Subp. 7. **County payment policies and schedule.** A county may not require parents to pay providers in advance of receiving payments from the child care fund as a condition for receiving payments from the child care fund. The county shall make payments at least monthly. Providers must be sent the forms necessary to bill for payment on or before the beginning of the billing cycle if the county has received the information necessary for child care to be authorized before this date.

Subp. 8. Sick child care. Sick child care means child care services provided to children who as a result of illness cannot attend the family's regular provider. In addition to making payments for regular child care, the county may make payments for sick child care. If the county chooses to pay sick child care, payment for sick child care must be at a rate comparable to like care arrangements in the county. The county's sick child care policy and rate shall be included in the county's child care fund plan required under part 3400.0150.

Subp. 9. Payment during child absences and holidays.

A. If a provider does not charge all families for days on which a child is absent from care, the child care assistance program must not pay that provider for days on which a child is absent from care.

B. If a provider charges all families for days on which a child is absent from care, the child care assistance program must pay that provider for child absent days according to Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.13, subdivision 7.

C. Provider charges for absent days in excess of the amount established by Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.13, subdivision 7, are the responsibility of the family receiving child care assistance.

REVISOR

D. A provider must be paid for holiday days according to Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.13, subdivision 7, paragraph (b). State or federal holidays are determined according to Minnesota Statutes, section 645.44, subdivision 5. A provider can be paid for a holiday day only if the provider meets the requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.13, subdivision 7, paragraph (b), the provider does not provide care on the holiday, and it is in the provider's policies to charge all families for the holiday. If care is available on the holiday, but the child is absent on that day, the day is an absent day. If a provider is closed on a cultural or religious holiday not identified in Minnesota Statutes, section 645.44, subdivision 5, a parent may substitute that holiday for one of the ten state and federal holidays identified in Minnesota Statutes, section 645.44, subdivision 5, if the parent gives notice of the substitution to the county before the holiday occurs or within ten days after the holiday.

E. The absent day provisions in this subpart and in Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.13, subdivision 7, including the limits on paid absent days and holidays, apply to child care assistance payments for child care provided during notice periods.

Subp. 10. **Payment during medical leaves of absence.** Counties must grant child care assistance during a parent's medical leave of absence from education or employment if:

A. the parent is incapable of providing child care during the medical leave or absence;

B. the parent is expected to return to employment or an approved education or training program within 90 calendar days after leaving the job, education, or training program; and

C. the necessity of the medical leave and the inability to provide child care are documented by a physician or licensed psychologist.

The amount of child care authorized during the medical leave of absence must not exceed the equivalent of one month of full-time child care.

Subp. 11. **Payment during notice periods.** Child care assistance payments for child care provided during notice periods are subject to all payment rules and limits identified under this part.

Statutory Authority: *MS s 119B.02; 119B.04; 119B.06; 256.01; 256H.01 to 256H.19* History: *14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144; 26 SR 253; 33 SR 695*

Published Electronically: October 29, 2008