## 2105.0190 MAINTAINING INDIVIDUAL LICENSES.

- Subpart 1. **Compliance with applicable law.** The licensee is responsible for verifying that the salon or school in which the licensee is practicing has an active license, and the licensee must continuously comply with all applicable provisions of Minnesota statutes and rules.
- Subp. 1a. **New services or devices.** Before providing any service using a product, technique, device, or equipment new to the licensee, the licensee must:
- A. ensure that the use of the product, device, or technique is within the licensee's scope of practice as defined in part 2105.0105;
- B. review and comply with any manufacturer's directions for use, safety requirements, and contraindications;
- C. maintain a record of any training received by the licensee on the product, technique, or device, for as long as the licensee is using the product, technique, or device; and
- D. attest that the licensee has the knowledge and training necessary to safely provide the service using the new product, technique, or device.
- Subp. 2. **Change of name.** Within 30 days of any legal name change, licensees must provide legal documentation of the name change and pay any fee required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25. The license in the former name is invalid on the 31st day of the new legal name.
- Subp. 2a. **Address change.** The licensee must maintain a current mail address on file with the board, and must update the address within 30 days of any address change. Licensees may also provide an email address to receive general email notifications from the board.
  - Subp. 3. **Renewal.** The licensee must renew the license as required by part 2105.0200.
- Subp. 4. **Display of license.** The practitioner must conspicuously post an original, unaltered, and current license at each salon where the practitioner practices. The conditions in items A to D must be met at all times.
- A. Either the license or the full name of the licensee as shown on the license must be posted at each workstation in the salon used by the licensee. Name tags worn by the licensee or business cards prominently displayed at a workstation meet this requirement if the full name shown on the license is used.
- B. Whenever the license is not posted at the workstation, the practitioner must post a license at the reception area or at each customer entrance of the salon.
- C. Copies of licenses do not meet the requirements of license posting. Licensees must obtain duplicate licenses from the board in order to post licenses at multiple workstations or multiple salons. After a license is issued by the board, a printout of the online license status from the board website showing an active license may be used to meet the posting requirements for a maximum of 30 days beginning on the license issuance date.

D. Licenses and names posted must provide the public with a full, unobstructed view of the unaltered license or name.

Subp. 5. [Repealed, 41 SR 305]

**Statutory Authority:** MS s 14.388; 45.023; 154.45; 154.47; 154.48; 155A.05; 155A.08; 155A.09; 155A.23; 155A.26; 155A.27; 155A.29; 155A.30; L 2015 c 77 art 2 s 81

**History:** 10 SR 474; 11 SR 389; 13 SR 1056; 22 SR 594; L 2005 c 27 s 9; L 2009 c 78 art 6 s 26; 38 SR 778; 41 SR 305; 43 SR 347; 44 SR 941

**Published Electronically:** January 30, 2024