2105.0145 APPLICANTS FOR INDIVIDUAL LICENSES.

- Subpart 1. **Cosmetologists, nail technicians, estheticians, and eyelash technicians.** Applicants for a cosmetologist, nail technician, esthetician, or eyelash technician license who have not been licensed in other states must be at least 17 years old and must provide the items required in items A to D:
 - A. a completed application form;
- B. original passing test results no more than one year old of the following board-approved tests for the license sought:
 - (1) general theory test;
 - (2) written practical test; and
 - (3) test on Minnesota laws and rules;
 - C. proof of completion of training as follows:
- (1) graduates of a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school must submit the original course completion certificate with the notarized signatures of the school manager or owner documenting the successful completion of the curriculum and the required number of hours of training, all of which include any hours transferred from another school within the past five years: 1,550 hours for a cosmetologist; 600 hours for an esthetician; 350 hours for a nail technician; and 14 hours for an eyelash technician. If the completed training is more than five years old, a skills course certificate no more than one year old must also be submitted;
 - (2) a graduate of a training program licensed by another state that is:
- (a) equal to the curriculum and minimum hour requirements required of Minnesota-licensed cosmetology schools for a cosmetologist, esthetician, nail technician, or eyelash technician program must submit an original notarized board form from a licensed cosmetology school that establishes the completion of the curriculum and required number of hours of training, all of which include any hours transferred from another school within the past five years: 1,550 hours for a cosmetologist; 600 hours for an esthetician; 350 hours for a nail technician; and 14 hours for an eyelash technician. If the completed training is more than five years old, a skills course certificate from a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school no more than one year old must also be submitted; and
- (b) not equal to the curriculum and minimum hour requirements required of Minnesota-licensed cosmetology schools for a cosmetologist, esthetician, nail technician, or eyelash technician program must obtain a course completion certificate by applying to a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school as a transfer student under part 2110.0705 and must meet and complete the school's requirements. The applicant must then submit the original course completion certificate with the notarized signatures of the school manager or owner, documenting successful completion of the required curriculum and number of hours of training: 1,550 hours for a cosmetologist; 600 hours for an esthetician; 350 hours for a nail technician; and 14 hours for an eyelash technician. If

the completed training is more than five years old, a skills course certificate from a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school no more than one year old must also be submitted;

- (3) an applicant who partially completed a training program licensed by another state, or who completed an unlicensed training program in another state, must obtain a course completion certificate by applying to a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school as a transfer student under part 2110.0705 and must meet and complete the school's requirements. The applicant must then submit the original course completion certificate with the notarized signatures of the school manager or owner, documenting successful completion of the required curriculum and number of hours of training: 1,550 hours for a cosmetologist; 600 hours for an esthetician; 350 hours for a nail technician; and 14 hours for an eyelash technician. If the completed training is more than five years old, a skills course certificate from a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school no more than one year old must also be submitted; or
- (4) applicants whose training occurred in other countries must apply under part 2105.0183, subpart 3; and
 - D. payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 1a. **Advanced practice estheticians.** An AP esthetician license supersedes an esthetician license.
- A. An applicant for an AP esthetician license who holds an active esthetician or cosmetologist license must provide the following:
 - (1) a completed application form;
- (2) original passing test results no more than one year old of the following board-approved tests for the AP esthetician license:
 - (a) general theory test; and
 - (b) written practical test;
- (3) an original AP esthetician course completion certificate documenting the successful completion of curriculum from a board-approved school with the notarized signature of the school manager or school owner. If the completed AP esthetician training is more than five years old, a skills course certificate no more than one year old must also be submitted; and
 - (4) payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- B. An applicant for an AP esthetician license who completed training in Minnesota for both an esthetician or cosmetologist license and an AP esthetician license but does not hold an active esthetician or cosmetologist license must be at least 17 years old and must provide the following:
 - (1) a completed application form;
- (2) an original course completion certificate for a board-approved esthetician or cosmetology course documenting the successful completion of the curriculum with the notarized

signature of the school manager or school owner. If the completed training is more than five years old, a skills course certificate no more than one year old must also be submitted;

- (3) original passing test results no more than one year old of the board-approved general theory and written practical tests for the esthetician or cosmetology license:
 - (a) general theory test;
 - (b) written practical test; and
 - (c) Minnesota laws and rules test;
- (4) original passing test results no more than one year old of the following board-approved tests for the AP esthetician license:
 - (a) general theory test; and
 - (b) written practical test;
- (5) an original AP esthetician course completion certificate from a board-approved school with the notarized signature of the school manager or school owner. If the completed AP esthetician training is more than five years old, a skills course certificate no more than one year old must also be submitted; and
 - (6) payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- C. An applicant with an AP esthetician license or master esthetician license from another state must apply under part 2105.0183, subpart 4.

Subp. 2. Salon managers.

- A. An applicant who holds an active Minnesota operator license and wishes to advance to a salon manager license must:
 - (1) submit a completed application form;
- (2) submit original passing test results of the salon manager test no more than one year old; and
 - (3) pay the fees required in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- B. An applicant who does not hold an operator license and wishes to apply for a salon manager license may apply for the operator and salon manager license at the same time without first paying for the operator license. An applicant must:
- (1) submit a completed application for an operator license and meet the requirements for the operator license;
 - (2) submit a completed application for a salon manager license;
- (3) submit original passing test results of the salon manager test that are no more than one year old; and

- (4) pay the fees required of a salon manager applicant in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- C. An applicant who holds an active salon manager license and is applying for a practitioner license in another field may apply for a salon manager license in the new field without first obtaining or paying for an operator license in the new field. An applicant must:
- (1) submit a completed application for the new field and meet the requirements for the operator license; and
 - (2) pay the fees required in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- D. An applicant who holds an active salon manager license in one field and an active operator license in another field may advance the operator license to a salon manager license without meeting the testing requirements in item A. An applicant must:
 - (1) submit a completed application; and
 - (2) pay the fees required in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
 - Subp. 3. **School managers.** An applicant for a school manager license must:
 - A. submit a completed application form;
 - B. hold an active Minnesota cosmetology salon manager license;
- C. submit original passing results no more than one year old of the school manager test covering Minnesota laws and rules related to schools; and
 - D. pay the fees identified in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 4. **Instructors.** Applicants for an instructor license must meet the requirements in items A to F. Items D and E do not apply to applicants who hold a current Minnesota instructor license and are applying for an instructor license in a new field. An applicant must:
 - A. submit a completed application form;
 - B. hold an active Minnesota license as an operator or manager;
- C. document at least 2,700 hours of licensed practice in the same licensure field as the instructor license type sought within the three years prior to application;
- D. submit the original course completion certificate of a board-approved instructor course on teaching methodology not more than one year old;
- E. submit original passing instructor test results not more than one year old for the instructor general theory, practical, and laws and rules tests; and
 - F. pay the fees required in Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.

Subp. 5. Additional licenses.

- A. A cosmetologist with an active Minnesota license is not required to obtain a separate esthetician, nail technician, or eyelash technician license but may do so by completing an application form and paying the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- B. An esthetician or an advanced practice esthetician with an active Minnesota license is not required to obtain a separate eyelash technician license but may do so by completing an application form and paying the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- C. An applicant who holds an active Minnesota practitioner license in one field and is applying for a practitioner license in another field is not required to retake the test on Minnesota laws and rules. All other application requirements in this part must be met.

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.389; 155A.23; 155A.26; 155A.27; 155A.29; 155A.30; L 2015 c 77 art 2 s 81; L 2016 c 127 s 8; L 2017 1Sp4 art 2 s 64

History: 41 SR 305; L 2017 1Sp5 art 10 s 7; 42 SR 589; 43 SR 347; 44 SR 941; 49 SR 77 **Published Electronically:** August 29, 2024