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9555.5050 REPEALER AN D  EFFECTIVE DATES.
Subpart 1. Repealer. Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.6100,9555.6200,9555.6300, 

and 9555.6400 are repealed August 3,1987, except as parts 9555.6100 to 9555.6400 
apply to operators o f  adult foster homes providing care and approved by the 
county board under part 9555.6400 on the date o f  adoption o f  parts 9555.6105 
to 9555.6265. As to the operators o f  those adult foster homes, parts 9555.6100, 
9555.6200, 9555.6300, and 9555.6400 are repealed July 27, 1988.

Subp. 2. Effective date. Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265 take 
effect August 3, 1987, except for the operators o f  those adult foster homes 
providing care and approved by a county welfare board under part 9555.6400 on 
that date. As to the operators o f  those adult foster homes, parts 9555.6105 to
9555.6265 take effect January 27 ,1988 , or on the day after an operator’s current 
period o f  approval under part 9555.6400 expires, whichever is later.

Statutory Authority: M S s  245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd 
1; 256.01 subd 4 cl (3); 256E.03 subd 2  paras (c),(d); 256E.05 subd 1; 256E.08 subd  
1 cl (1),(2),(3),(4),(6); 393.07 subd 2

History: 12 SR 148 

9555.5100 [Repealed, 12 SR 148]

9555.5105 DEFINITIONS.
Subpart 1. Scope. As used in parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265 the following 

terms have the meanings given them.
Subp. 2. Adult. “Adult” means a person at least 18 years o f  age.
Subp. 3. Adult foster care. “Adult foster care” means the provision o f  food, 

lodging, protection, supervision, and household services to a functionally impaired
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adult in a residence and may also include the provision o f  personal care, house­
hold and living skills assistance or training, medication assistance under part 
9555.6225, subpart 8, and assistance safeguarding cash resources under part
9555.6265.

Subp. 4. Adult foster care services. “Adult foster care services” means those 
community social services in  parts 9550.0010 to 9550.0092 that are provided to 
residents or prospective residents o f  adult foster homes.

Subp. 5. Adult foster home. “Adult foster home” means a residence operated 
by an operator who, for financial gain or otherwise, provides 24 hour foster care 
to no more than four functionally impaired residents.

Subp. 6. Applicant. “Applicant” means the operator seeking a license to 
operate an adult foster home.

Subp. 7. Building official. “Building official” means a person appointed in 
accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.65, to administer the state 
building code or the building official’s authorized representative.

Subp. 8. Caregiver. “Caregiver” means an adult who meets the qualifications 
in  part 9555.6125, subpart 4, and gives care to a resident in an adult foster home.

Subp. 9. Commissioner. “Commissioner” means the commissioner o f  the 
Minnesota Department o f Human Services or the commissioner’s authorized 
representative.

Subp. 10. County board. “County board” means the county board o f commis­
sioners in each county. When a human services board has been established under 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 402.02 to 402.10, it shall be considered to be the 
county board.

Subp. 11. County of financial responsibility. “County o f  financial responsibil­
ity” means the county responsible for paying for foster care services for a resident 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.08, subdivision 7.

Subp. 12. Department. “Department” means the Minnesota Department o f  
Human Services.

Subp. 13. Fire marshal. “Fire marshal” means the person designated by 
Minnesota Statutes, section 299F .011, to administer and enforce the Minnesota 
Uniform Fire Code or the fire marshal’s authorized representative.

Subp. 14. Functionally impaired. “Functionally impaired” means a person 
who has:

A. substantial difficulty carrying out one or more o f  the essential major 
activities o f  daily living, such as caring for oneself, performing manual tasks, 
walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing, learning, or working; or

B. a disorder o f  thought or mood that significantly impairs judgment, 
behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to cope with the ordinary 
demands o f  life.

Subp. 15. Health authority. “Health authority” means the designated repre­
sentative o f the board o f  health as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 145A.02, 
subdivision 5, to enforce public health codes.

Subp. 16. Household member. “Household member” means any person 
living in the adult foster home more than 30 consecutive calendar days in any 
12 month period who is not a resident.

Subp. 17. Household services. “Household services” means activities taught 
to or performed by a caregiver for a resident such as cooking, cleaning, budgeting, 
and other household care or maintenance tasks.

Subp. 18. Individual service plan. “Individual service plan” means the writ­
ten plan agreed upon and signed by the county o f  financial responsibility and the 
resident or resident’s legal representative for the provision o f social services 
under part 9550.0090. For persons with mental retardation or a related condi­
tion, it means the plan agreed upon and signed under part 9525.0075.
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9555.5105 SOCIAL SERVICES FOR ADULTS 338

Subp. 19. Individual resident placement agreement. “Individual resident 
placement agreement” means the written document specifying the terms for 
provision o f  foster care to an adult that is developed under part 9555.5705 for 
persons receiving services under part 9525.0075 or 9550.0090 or under part
9555.6167 for persons not receiving community social services or services for 
persons with mental retardation or a related condition. The individual resident 
placement agreement must:

A. describe the reason for placement;
B. describe what the operator must provide in the areas o f  lodging, food, 

protection, household or living skills training or assistance, personal care assist­
ance, assistance safeguarding cash resources, transportation, residence accessibil­
ity modifications, medication assistance, and supervision;

C. describe who is financially responsible for the payment o f  the foster 
care provided by the operator;

D. describe any other community, health and social services that the 
operator will assist in providing;

E. coordinate with the contents o f  the individual habilitation plan 
developed under parts 9525.0015 to 9525.0165 for persons with mental retarda­
tion or a related condition; and

F. coordinate with the individual service plan developed under part
9525.0075 or 9550.0090.

Subp. 20. Legal representative. “Legal representative” means a person appoint­
ed by the court as a guardian or conservator o f an adult under Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 525.539 to 525.6198 or chapter 252A.

Subp. 21. License. “License” means a certificate issued by the commissioner 
authorizing the operator to give specified services for a specified period in  
accordance with parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 and M innesota Statutes, sections
245.781 to 245.812 and 252.28, subdivision 2. License includes a provisional 
license issued to an operator who is temporarily unable to comply with the 
requirements for a license.

Subp. 22. Licensed capacity. “Licensed capacity” means the maximum num­
ber o f  functionally impaired adults who may receive foster care in the adult foster 
home at any one time.

Subp. 23. Living skills assistance. “Living skills assistance” means activities 
taught or performed to assist the resident to use services, transportation, recrea­
tion, and social opportunities available in the community.

Subp. 24. Local agency. “Local agency” means the county or multi county 
social service agency governed by the county board or multi county human 
services board o f  the county in which the adult foster home is located. If the local 
agency is also providing foster care services to the resident, then the local agency 
is also the service agency defined in subpart 34.

Subp. 25. Medication. “M edication” means a prescription substance taken 
internally, applied externally, or injected to prevent or treat a condition or 
disease, heal, or relieve pain.

Subp. 26. Minnesota Uniform Fire Code. “Minnesota Uniform Fire Code” 
means those codes and regulations adopted by the fire marshal under Minnesota 
Statutes, section 299F.011 and parts 7510.0200 to 7510.3000.

Subp. 27. Operator. “Operator” means the individual, partnership, corpora­
tion, or governmental unit licensed by the department and legally responsible for 
the operation o f  an adult foster home.

Subp. 28. Personal care. “Personal care” means assistance by a caregiver with 
or teaching o f  skills related to activities o f  daily living such as eating, grooming, 
bathing, and laundering clothes.

Subp. 29. Protection. “Protection” means compliance with the Vulnerable 
Adults Act.
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Subp. 30. Related. “Related” means any o f the following relationships by 
marriage, blood, or adoption: spouse, parent, grandparent, brother, sister, step­
parent, stepsister, stepbrother, uncle, aunt, grandchild, child, niece, and nephew.

Subp. 31. Residence. “Residence” means the single dwelling unit in which 
foster care is provided with complete, independent living facilities for one or 
more persons. As defined in section 405 o f  the Minnesota State Building Code, 
the residence has permanent provisions for living, sleeping, cooking, eating, and 
sanitation.

Subp. 32. Resident. “Resident” means a functionally impaired adult residing 
in an adult foster home and receiving foster care.

Subp. 33. Roomer. “Roomer” means a household member who is not related 
to the operator and is not a resident or caregiver.

Subp. 34. Service agency. “Service agency” means the public or private 
agency designated by the county o f  financial responsibility with the responsibility 
to provide the foster care services in parts 9555.5105 to 9555.5705.

Subp. 35. Social worker. “Social worker” means a person designated by the 
local agency or service agency o f  the county o f  financial responsibility with 
credentials meeting the minimum requirements under the Minnesota Merit 
System classification for social worker or a county personnel system equivalent 
under M innesota Statutes, section 375.56-71; Laws o f Minnesota 1965, chapter 
855; and Laws o f  Minnesota 1974, chapter 435, article 3, who is responsible for 
coordinating a prospective resident’s initial assessment and placement in part
9555.5605 the development o f  the individual resident placement agreement for 
those persons with an individual service plan.

Subp. 36. State Building Code. “State Building Code” means those codes and 
regulations adopted by the commissioner o f  administration under chapter 1300 
and Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.59.

Subp. 37. Supervision. “Supervision” means:
A. oversight by a caregiver as specified in the individual resident place­

ment agreement and daily awareness o f  a resident’s needs and activities; and
B. the presence o f  a caregiver in the residence during normal sleeping

hours.
Subp. 38. Variance. “Variance” means written permission by the commis­

sioner for an applicant or operator to depart from the provisions o f  parts
9555.6105 to 9555.6265 i f  equivalent alternative measures are provided to 
ensure the health, safety, and rights o f a resident.

Subp. 39. Vulnerable Adults Act. “Vulnerable Adults Act” means Minnesota 
Statutes, section 626.557.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd 
1; 256.01 su b d 4 c l (3); 256E.03 su b d 2 paras (c),(d); 256E.05 subd 1; 256E.08subd  
1 cl (1),(2),(3),(4),(6); 393.07 subd 2

History: 12 SR 148; L  1987 c 309 s 24 

9555.5200 [Repealed, 12 SR 148]

9555.5205 APPLICABILITY.
Parts 9555.5105 to 9555.5705 govern the administration and provision o f  

adult foster care services to residents or prospective residents o f  adult foster 
homes by the county board.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 256.01 subd 4 cl (3); 256E.03 subd 2  paras (c),(d);
256E.05 subd 1; 256E.08 subd l  cl (1),(2),(3),(4),(6); 393.07 subd 2

History: 12 S R  148

9555.5300 [Repealed, 12 SR 148]
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9555.5305 PURPOSE.
The purpose o f parts 9555.5105 to 9555.5705 is to ensure that a resident or 

prospective resident o f an adult foster home receives an assessment o f  need for 
adult foster care, is notified about adult foster care services that are available, and 
consultation, assistance, and information are provided to applicants or operators 
o f  adult foster homes.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 256.01 subd 4 cl (3); 256E.03 subd 2 paras (c),(d); 
256E.05 subd 1; 256E.08 subd 1 cl (1),(2),(3),(4),(6); 393.07 subd 2

History: 12 SR 148 

9555.5400 [Repealed, 12 SR 148]
9555.5405 FOSTER H O M E DEVELOPM ENT.

The local agency shall implement an annual adult foster home recruitment 
plan specifying a method and timetable for recruiting operators to meet the 
county’s adult foster care needs i f  adult foster care services to residents or 
prospective residents o f  adult foster homes are specified by the county board in 
the community social services plan developed under parts 9550.0010 to 9550.0092.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 256.01 subd 4 cl (3); 256E.03 subd 2 paras (c),(d); 
256E.05 subd 1; 256E.08 subd 1 cl (1),(2),(3),(4)M  393.07 subd 2

History: 12 SR 148

9555.5415 LICENSING ASSISTANCE.
Subpart 1. Assistance. The local agency shall tell persons seeking informa­

tion about adult foster home licensure o f  the standards in parts 9555.6105 to
9555.6265. The local agency shall offer consultation, assistance, and information 
in accordance with parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6265. The local agency shall:

A. supply the applicant with the department application form, a copy 
o f parts 9555.5105 an d .9555.6105 to 9555.6265, and the department forms 
needed to determine compliance with parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265;

B. stamp and date a signed and completed department application form  
on the date o f  receipt;

C. accept and process applications for licensure and recommend licen­
sure or negative licensing actions to the department;

D. conduct the inspection o f  the residence and study o f  the applicant in 
accordance with parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265; and

E. notify the local zoning administrator in the jurisdiction in which the 
residence is located at least 30 days prior to the initial issuance date o f  a license. 
The date the local zoning administrator was notified must be noted on the 
application form.

Subp. 2. Unlicensed residences. When the local agency has reasonable cause 
to believe a residence required to be licensed under parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 
is operating without a license, the local agency must verify the hom e’s license 
status following the procedures in items A and B.

A. The local agency shall verify the home’s license status within five 
working days. I f  the operator is not licensed to operate an adult foster home, the 
local agency shall contact the person providing adult foster care in the residence 
and tell the person o f  the licensing requirements in M innesota Statutes, sections
245.781 to 245.812 and parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265.

B. If no application is made to obtain a license within 30 days after the 
operator is told o f  the licensure requirements, the city or county attorney for the 
local agency with jurisdiction to bring misdemeanor charges shall be notified by 
the local agency. The operator o f  a residence required to be licensed under parts
9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 that is operating without a license is 
subject to misdemeanor prosecution and injunction under M innesota Statutes, 
section 245.803.
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C. A complaint concerning violations o f  parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6265  
shall be investigated by the local agency within 14 working days o f receipt, except 
complaints concerning abuse or neglect, which shall be investigated in accord­
ance with parts 9555.7100 to 9555.7700. Substantiated complaints about an 
operator licensed under parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 shall be 
recorded in the record on the residence in part 9555.5515.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 256.01 subd 4 cl (3); 256E.03 subd 2 paras (c),(d); 
256E.05 subd 1; 256E.08 subd 1 cl (1),(2),(3),(4)',(6); 393.07 subd 2

History: 12 SR 148

9555.5505 LOCAL AGENCY ORIENTATION A N D TRAINING ROLE.
Subpart 1. Local agency role. The local agency shall ensure that:

A. the operator and caregivers comply with the orientation and training 
requirements in part 9555.6185; and

B. the orientation and training in part 9555.6185 is available within the 
county or within 50 miles o f  the adult foster home at times convenient to foster 
home operators.

Subp. 2. Orientation. The local agency shall provide three hours o f  orienta­
tion to a foster home operator and caregivers prior to the placement o f  the first 
resident following initial licensure. The orientation training must include train­
ing on requirements o f  the Vulnerable Adults Act contained in Minnesota 
Statutes, section 626.557; parts 9555.8000 to 9555.8500; and the general provi­
sions o f  parts 9555.5105, and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265.

Subp. 3. Information. The local agency shall identify sources o f  training that 
meet the standards in part 9555.6185 and notify the operator o f a licensed 
residence in the county at least once a year o f  the training opportunities available.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 256.01 subd 4 cl (3); 256E.03 subd 2 paras (c),(d); 
256E.05 subd 1; 256E.08 subd 1 cl (1),(2),(3),(4),(6); 393.07 subd 2

History: 12 SR 148

9555.5515 RECORD O N  THE RESIDENCE.
A record for the residence licensed as an adult foster home shall be main­

tained by the commissioner and contain:
A. a copy o f  the completed licensing application form signed by the 

applicant and the representative o f  the commissioner, as specified in part 9555.6115, 
subpart 1;

B. the physician’s reports on caregivers and household members specified 
in part 9555.6125 i f  the operator is an individual;

C. the initial and subsequent inspection report from the fire marshal 
specified in part 9555.6125 and the subsequent home safety checklists;

D . any. written inspection reports from a health authority or building
official;

E. the commissioner’s initial and any renewal licensing studies and 
inspections;

F. any comments o f the operator or provider about the licensing studies 
and inspections;

G. written references from at least three persons who know about the 
applicant’s potential to operate an adult foster home. If the applicant has been 
licensed through another jurisdiction, the local agency shall also request and keep 
a reference from the licensing authority in that jurisdiction;

H. a list o f  residents currently in the residence;
I. a list o f  residents who have been in the residence in the past five years;
J. documentation o f  any variances to parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6265;
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K. arrest, conviction, and criminal history records on the operator, 
caregivers, and household members;

L. i f  the operator is a partnership, corporation, or governmental unit, 
the information required in part 9555.6125, subpart 3, item C, subitems (1), (2),
(3), (6), and (7);

M. a copy o f  the commissioner approved, written adult foster home 
program required in part 9555.6235;

N. a record o f  any substantiated complaints o f  abuse and neglect as 
defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557 and any corrective action taken 
under parts 9555.7100 to 9555.7700; and

O. a copy o f the facility abuse prevention plan required under the 
Vulnerable Adults Act.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 256.01 subd 4 cl (3); 256E.03 subd 2 paras (c),(d); 
256E.05 subd 1; 256E.08 subd 1 cl (1),(2),(3),(4),(6); 393.07 subd 2

History: 12 SR 148

9555.5605 ASSESSM ENT.
Subpart 1. Assessment. A social worker from the local agency or service 

agency o f  the county o f  financial responsibility shall ensure that a person seeking 
adult foster home placement has an assessment to determine the person’s need 
for adult foster care.

A. An adult who has or may have a diagnosis o f  mental retardation or 
a related condition shall be assessed under part 9525.0065.

B. An adult requesting adult foster care services under parts 9550.0010 
to 9550.0092 shall be assessed under item D  and part 9550.0090.

C. An assessment performed under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B .091 
shall satisfy the provisions o f  item D.

D. An assessment coordinated by a social worker and review o f any 
information gathered from professionals must be made o f  the adult’s:

(1) ability to manage activities o f daily living;
(2) physical health, including impairments o f  mobility, sight, hear­

ing, and speech;
(3) intellectual functioning and mental health, including impair­

ments o f  judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to cope with 
the ordinary demands o f  life;

(4) need for supervision;
(5) need for protection;
(6) need for assistance in safeguarding cash resources;
(7) need for medication assistance;
(8) employability and vocational skills;
(9) need for family and community involvement; and
(10) need for community, social, or health services.

Subp. 2. Mobility access assessment. Before placement, or after placement 
i f  the local agency has reasonable cause to believe a mobility access, seizure, or 
disability problem has developed, the social worker shall determine, in consulta­
tion with the prospective resident and the resident’s representative and any other 
person knowledgeable about the resident’s needs, whether accessibility aides or 
modifications to the residence are needed. The need for accessibility aides or 
modifications to the residence shall be determined for persons with regular 
seizures or physical disabilities using an accessibility checklist approved by the 
commissioner in consultation with persons knowledgeable about the accessibility 
and mobility needs o f  the resident and persons knowledgeable about accessibility 
modifications to residential occupancies. A  person confined to a wheelchair must 
be housed on a level with an exit directly to grade.
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Subp. 3. Placement standards. A  person shall be appropriate for adult foster 
home placement i f  the person:

A. is an adult;
B. is functionally impaired;
C. has requested, or the adult’s legal representative has requested, foster 

care placement;
D. has demonstrated a need for foster care based on the assessment in 

subpart 1;
E. does not require continuous medical care or treatment in a facility 

licensed for acute care under chapter 4640; and
F. has been approved for placement under parts 9525.0015 to 9525.0145, 

i f  the adult has mental retardation or a related condition.
Subp. 4. Placement and consumer choice. A person who is appropriate for 

adult foster home placement, and the person’s legal representative must be 
allowed to choose among between the homes that the social worker determines 
would meet the person’s foster care needs.

' Subp. 5. Matching. When referring the adult seeking foster care to a licensed 
adult foster home, the social worker shall match the licensing study information 
and the capacity o f  the adult foster home program developed by the operator 
under part 9555.6235 with the assessed needs o f the functionally impaired adult 
determined under part 9555.5605, subparts 1 and 2.

Subp. 6. Preplacement visit. The social worker shall arrange for the function­
ally impaired adult to visit the prospective adult foster home before placement, 
except in cases o f  emergency placement or placement for less than 30 consecutive 
days. Before placement, the following shall be discussed with the operator:

A. the needs o f  the functionally impaired adult as determined by the 
assessment in part 9555.5605, subparts 1 and 2;

B. the foster care that must be provided by the operator to the adult 
seeking placement; ,

C. the adult’s need for additional community health and social services 
and the operator’s responsibility in assisting with provision o f or access to those 
services; and

D. the financial arrangements to pay for the adult foster care.
Statutory Authority: M S  s 256.01 subd 4 cl (3); 256E.03 subd 2 paras (c),(d); 

256E.05 subd 1; 256E.08 subd 1 cl (1),(2),(3),(4),(6); 393.07 subd 2
History: 12 SR 148

9555.5705 PROVISION OF ADULT FOSTER CARE SERVICES TO RESI­
DENTS OF ADULT FOSTER HOM ES.

Subpart 1. Adult foster care service. When the county board elects to provide 
adult foster care services under parts 9550.0010 to 9550.0092, the county board 
shall offer adult foster care services to the residents or prospective residents o f  
an adult foster home. Adult foster care services may be provided directly by the 
county o f financial responsibility, or by the service agency under a written 
agreement with the county o f  financial responsibility, or by another agency under 
contract to the county o f  financial responsibility.

Subp. 2. Development of individual resident placement agreement. If the 
resident or prospective resident requests and receives adult foster care services, 
then the service agency shall develop, and the resident, resident’s legal represent­
ative, and the operator shall agree on and sign an individual resident placement 
agreement as defined in part 9555.5105, subpart 19. The agreement must be 
signed within 30 days o f  placement and be coordinated with the adult’s individu­
al service plan as defined in part 9555.5105, subpart 18. The service agency shall 
give a copy o f  the individual service plan to the operator. I f  the resident is
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appropriate for adult foster home placement and does not require adult foster 
care services under parts 9550.0010 to 9550.0092, the individual resident place­
ment agreement shall be developed by the operator, resident, and resident’s legal 
representative under part 9555.6167.

Subp. 3. Placement review for residents with an individual service plan. The 
service agency assigned to a resident in an adult foster home with an individual 
service plan must:

A. visit the resident and operator within 30 days o f  placement to confirm 
the appropriateness o f  the placement;

B. provide consultation services to the operator in meeting the resident’s 
assessed needs;

C. provide a telephone number where caregivers and the resident or 
resident’s legal representative may call for emergency social service assistance 24 
hours a day; and

D. assist in  developing the individual abuse prevention plan for the 
resident under parts 9555.7100 to 9555.7700.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 256.01 subd 4 cl (3); 256E.03 subd 2 paras (c),(d); 
256E.05 subd 1; 256E.08 subd 1 cl (1),(2),(3),(4),(6); 393.07 subd 2

History: 12 SR 148 

9555.6100 [Repealed, 12 SR 148]
9555.6105 APPLICABILITY AN D  PURPOSE.

Parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265, as authorized by Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 245.781 to 245.812, govern the licensure o f  the operator o f  an 
adult foster home. The purpose o f  parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265  
is to establish procedures and standards for licensure and operation o f  an adult 
foster home so minimum levels o f  care are provided and the health, safety, and 
rights o f  residents are assured.

Statutory Authority: M S s 245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 SR 148

9555.6115 LICENSE APPLICATION PROCESS.
A license to operate an adult foster home must be obtained from the 

department under items A to E.
A. Application for a license must be made on the application form  

issued by the department and must be made in the county where the adult foster 
home is located.

B. The applicant must be the individual or the authorized representative 
o f  the partnership, corporation, or government unit that will be the operator o f  
the adult foster home.

C. Separate licenses are required for residences located at separate 
addresses, even i f  the residences are to be operated by the same operator.

D . An application for licensure is complete when the commissioner 
determines that the department forms and documentation needed for licensure, 
the inspection, zoning, evaluation, and investigative reports, documentation and 
information required to verify compliance with parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 
to 9555.6265 have been submitted by the applicant. The commissioner shall 
stamp and date a signed and completed department application form on the date 
o f  receipt.

Statutory Authority: M S s  245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd  1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 S R  148
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9555.6125 LICENSING STUDY.
Subpart 1. Access to residence. The applicant shall give the commissioner 

access to the residence to determine compliance with parts 9555.5105 and
9555.6105 to 9555.6265. Access shall include the residence to be occupied as an 
adult foster home; any adjoining land or buildings owned or operated by the 
applicant or operator in conjunction with the provision o f  adult foster care and 
designated for use by a resident; noninterference in interviewing caregivers, 
roomers, or household members; and the right to view and photocopy the records 
and documents specified in parts 9555.6235 and 9555.6245. The commissioner 
shall have access to the residence at any time during the period o f licensure to 
determine whether the operator is in compliance with parts 9555.5105 and
9555.6105 to 9555.6265.

Subp. 2. Inspections. The residence must be inspected by a fire marshal 
within 12 months before initial licensure to verify that the residence is a dwelling 
unit within a residential occupancy as defined in section 9.117 o f the Minnesota 
Uniform Fire Code and that the residence complies with the fire safety standards 
for that residential occupancy contained in the Minnesota Uniform Fire Code. 
A home safety checklist, approved by the commissioner, must be completed by 
the operator and the commissioner before licensure each year a fire marshal 
inspection is not made. The residence shall be inspected according to the licensed  
capacity specified on the initial application form. I f  the commissioner has reason­
able cause to believe that a potentially hazardous condition may be present or 
the licensed capacity is increased to four residents, the commissioner shall 
request a subsequent inspection and written report by a fire marshal to verify the 
absence o f  hazard. Any condition cited by a fire marshal, building official; or 
health authority as hazardous or creating an immediate danger o f  fire or threat 
to health and safety must be corrected before a license is issued or renewed by 
the department.

Subp. 3. Study of applicant. A study o f the applicant shall be conducted by 
the commissioner under items A to D.

A. The applicant shall provide the commissioner with a completed, 
signed form as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 245.783, subdivision 3, 
for the disclosure o f  arrest, conviction, and criminal history records for each 
caregiver, household member over the age o f  13, and each owner, partner, board 
member, and employee who will be involved in the operation o f  the adult foster 
home. The form must disclose the person’s full name and all previous or addi­
tional names, date o f birth, the specific nature o f  information to be disclosed, who 
will receive the information, and who will disclose it. The commissioner shall 
seek the assistance o f  the Minnesota Bureau o f Criminal Apprehension, the 
county attorney, and sheriff or chief o f  police in the locality where the person 
resides in determining the person’s arrest, conviction, or criminal history record. 
If the person has not resided in the state for five years, the form shall also be sent 
to a national criminal history repository. In the case o f  a household member who 
is nine years o f age but under the age o f  14, the commissioner shall ascertain from  
the local court o f  jurisdiction whether the juvenile has been adjudicated as a 
delinquent for any o f  the acts specified in subpart 4, items D  and E.

B. The applicant who is an individual shall provide social history 
information to the commissioner about each household member. “Social history 
information” means information on education; employment; financial condition; 
military service; marital history; strengths and weaknesses o f  household relation­
ships; mental illness; chemical dependency; hospitalizations; involuntary termi­
nations o f  parental rights; the use o f  mental retardation services; felony, gross 
misdemeanor or misdemeanor convictions, arrests or admissions; and substanti­
ated reports o f neglect or abuse.

C. I f  the applicant is an authorized representative o f  a partnership, 
corporation, or governmental unit, the applicant shall make available and main­
tain the following information:
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(1) the names and addresses o f  the owners and board members;
(2) the name, address, and physical health report o f the employees 

who are involved in the operation o f  the adult foster home;
(3) an organization chart;
(4) personnel policies;
(5) the personnel records o f  persons in subitem (2) and verification 

that they comply with the qualifications in subpart 4;
(6) job descriptions o f  persons in subitem (2); and
(7) the staffing pattern to be used in the adult foster home.

D. The applicant shall provide the commissioner with the names o f  
three persons not related to the applicant who can supply information about the 
applicant’s ability to operate an adult foster home.

Subp. 4. Qualifications. Operators, caregivers, and household members must 
meet the qualifications in items A to H.

A. Operators and caregivers must be adults.
B. Household members and caregivers must be free o f  reportable com­

municable disease as named in parts 4605.7000 to 4605.7800. With the excep­
tion o f  caregivers providing less than 30 days o f care per year, the household  
member and caregiver must provide the commissioner with a physician’s state­
ment showing the absence o f  reportable communicable disease and any physical 
condition that would prevent the caregiver from being able to provide foster care 
to a resident. The physician’s report must be based on an examination o f  the 
individual within the 12 months before application for licensure. Caregivers shall 
provide the commissioner with a physician’s report at least once every five years 
after initial licensure.

C. Operators, caregivers, and household members must agree to disclose 
the arrest, conviction, and criminal history information specified in subpart 3.

D . Operators, caregivers, and household members must not have a 
conviction of, adjudication o f delinquency for, have admitted to, or there be 
substantial evidence as determined by the local agency or department indicating 
abuse or neglect as those terms are defined in Minnesota Statutes, sections
626.556 and 626.557 or assault as defined in Minnesota Statutes, sections 609.221 
to 609.235, 609.322 to 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 609.345.

E. Operators, caregivers, and household members must not be awaiting 
trial for or have a conviction of, adjudication o f  delinquency for, or admission  
o f any crime listed in Minnesota Statutes, sections 152.09, 152.096, 152.097, 
609.185 to 609.345,609.365,609.377,609.378,609.52,609.521,609.525,609.53, 
609.54,609.551,609.561 to 609.563,609.582, 609.59,609 .625 ,609 .63 ,609 .687 , 
609.71, 609.713, 609.821, 617.23, 617.246, other than those listed in item D, or 
the same or similar crime listed in the laws o f  another state or o f the United States 
or o f  another country.

F. Caregivers must not have had parental rights terminated under 
M innesota Statutes, section 260.221, paragraph (b), within the past five years.

G. Operators and caregivers must not have a diagnosis o f  mental retar­
dation or a related condition and be receiving services under parts 9525.0015 to 
9525.0145.

H. Caregivers and household members must not have a mental illness 
or condition as diagnosed by a psychiatrist or licensed psychologist that has 
documented behaviors that the commissioner determines would jeopardize the 
health, rights, or safety o f  residents. Past history o f a mental illness or condition  
may be considered. “Mental illness” means an organic disorder o f  the brain or 
a clinically significant disorder o f thought, mood, perception, orientation, memo­
ry, or behavior that is listed in the clinical manual o f the International Classification 
o f  Diseases (ICD-9-CM), Ninth Revision (1980), code range 290.0 to 302.99 or
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306.0 to 316.0 or the corresponding code in the American Psychiatric Associa­
tion’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual o f  Mental Disorders (DSM-III), Third 
Edition (1980), Axes I, II, or III, and that seriously limits a person’s functional 
capacities relative to primary aspects o f  daily living such as personal relations, 
living arrangements, work, and recreation. These publications are incorporated 
by reference and are not subject to frequent change. They are available in the 
State Law Library, Ford Building, 117 University Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota 
55155.

I. Caregivers and household members must not abuse prescription drugs 
or use controlled substances as named in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 152, or 
alcohol, to the extent that the use or abuse has or may have a negative effect on 
the health, rights, or safety o f  residents.

Subp. 5. Evaluation for cause. The commissioner may require, before licen­
sure or at any time during the licensed term o f  the adult foster home, a physical, 
mental health, chemical dependency, or criminal history evaluation o f the opera­
tor, caregiver, or household member i f  the commissioner has reasonable cause 
to believe that any o f  the qualifications or requirements in items A to I have not 
been met or that the operator or any caregiver cannot care for a resident. 
Evaluations must be conducted by a professional qualified by license, certificat­
ion, education, or training to perform the specific evaluation.

Subp. 6. Zoning. At least 30 days before the initial license issuance date, the 
commissioner shall notify the local zoning administrator in the jurisdiction  
where the residence is located o f  the license application.

Subp. 7. Period of licensure; nontransfer. A  license shall be issued by the 
commissioner for up to one year when the applicant complies with parts 9555.6105 
to 9555.6265. A license is not transferable to another operator or residence.

Subp: 8. Provisional license. An applicant for initial licensure may be granted 
a provisional license by the commissioner for up to one year if  the laws and rules 
cannot be complied with immediately, and i f  the deviations from parts 9555.6105 
to 9555.6265 do not threaten the health, rights, or safety o f  a resident. All 
deviations must be corrected within the time specified by the commissioner but 
not exceeding one year. Failure to correct deviations within the stated time shall 
be cause for revocation o f  a license or a fine or both.

Subp. 9. Variance procedure. An applicant or operator may request a vari­
ance from compliance with parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265. A 
request for a variance must comply with and be handled according to the 
following procedures:

A. An applicant or operator must submit a written request for a variance 
to the commissioner. The request must include:

(1) the sections or parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6275 with which the 
applicant or operator cannot comply;

(2) the reasons why the applicant or operator needs to depart from  
the specified sections;

(3) the period for which the applicant or operator requests a vari­
ance; and

(4) the specific equivalent alternative measures that the applicant 
or operator will provide so the health, rights, and safety o f  residents are ensured 
i f  the variance is granted.

B. An applicant or operator must submit to the commissioner written 
approval from a fire marshal o f  the alternative measures identified to ensure the 
safety o f  residents when a variance o f  part 9555.6125, subpart 2, is requested.

C. An applicant or operator must submit to the commissioner written 
approval from a health authority o f  the alternative measures identified to ensure 
the health o f  residents when a variance o f  parts 9555.6225 and 9555.6215 is 
requested.
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Subp. 10. Variance standard. A variance may be granted if:
A. the variance is submitted in accordance with subpart 9;
B. the commissioner does not have reasonable cause to believe the 

health, rights, or safety o f  the residents will be threatened;
C. the variance would not be contrary to a standard required by Minne­

sota Statutes; and
D. a request for variance to subpart 4, item E, has clear and convincing 

evidence presented by the operator, caregiver, or household member that no 
threat or harm whatsoever will result to the residents due to the granting o f the 
variance. The commissioner shall consider the nature o f  the crime committed  
and amount o f  time which has elapsed without a repeat o f  the crime.

Subp. 11. License terms. A license, whether regular or provisional, must 
show:

A. the licensed capacity o f  the adult foster home;
B. the expiration date o f  the license and address o f  the residence;
C. the name and address o f  the operator;
D . that the operator is licensed under parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105  

to 9555.6265; and
E. the provisional status o f  the license, i f  applicable.

Subp. 12. Change in license terms. The following shall apply to changes in 
the terms o f  licensure:

A. The license issued must not be transferred to another operator, 
building, or address unless the provisions in item B are followed first.

B. The operator must notify the commissioner and the studies in part
9555.6125 must be completed: 10

(1) before the operator moves the residence to another building or
address;

(2) when there is an addition o f  any adult or child who is or will be 
a roomer, resident, household member, or caregiver;

(3) when the operator makes structural changes to the residence that 
require a building permit from the local jurisdiction; or

(4) before the operator changes, sells, or transfers ownership or 
responsibility for the operation o f  the residence.

Subp. 13. License renewal. Before the expiration o f  a license, the commis­
sioner must conduct a study o f  the operator and an inspection o f  the residence 
to determine compliance with parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 at 
least once every 12 months to determine whether a new license shall be issued.

Statutory Authority: MS's 245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 SR 148

9555.6145 NEGATIVE LICENSING ACTIONS.
Subpart 1. Definition. For the purposes o f this part, “negative licensing 

action” means denial o f  application for licensure, revocation, probation, suspen­
sion, or immediate suspension o f  an existing license.

Subp. 2. Procedures. In accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 245.801, 
failure to comply with parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 or the terms 
o f licensure is grounds for a negative licensing action. If the local agency recom­
mends a negative licensing action, the local agency shall notify the department 
and the department shall determine i f  the standards in parts 9555.5105 and
9555.6105 to 9555.6265 or the terms o f  licensure have been violated. If the 
grounds are sufficient, the commissioner shall follow the procedures in Minneso­
ta Statutes, section 245.801, and notify the applicant or operator by certified
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mail, unless personal service is required by subpart 7. The notice o f negative 
licensing action must be addressed to the name and location shown on the 
application or license and contain a statement of, and the reasons for, the 
proposed negative licensing action. The notice o f  negative licensing action must 
inform the applicant or operator o f  the right to appeal the decision. The applicant 
or operator shall have an opportunity for a hearing under Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 14.57 to 14.69.

Subp. 3. Denial. I f  the commissioner denies an application for licensure, the 
applicant must tell the commissioner o f  the applicant’s appeal o f  the decision  
within 20 days after receipt o f  the notice o f  denial.

Subp. 4. Revocation, probation, or suspension. If the commissioner revokes 
a license, makes a license probationary, or suspends a license, the operator must 
tell the commissioner o f  the operator’s appeal o f  the decision within ten days 
after receipt o f  the notice o f  revocation, probation, or suspension.

Subp. 5. Immediate suspension. If the commissioner finds that the health, 
safety, or rights o f  the residents in care are in imminent danger, the commissioner 
shall immediately suspend the license and notify the local agency to remove the 
residents. The operator shall be notified by personal service and must tell the 
commissioner o f  the operator’s appeal o f  the decision within five days after 
receipt o f  the notice o f  immediate suspension. The appeal does not stay the 
decision o f  the commissioner to immediately suspend the license.

Subp. 6. Correction orders and fines. I f  the commissioner finds that the 
operator does not comply with parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265, the 
commissioner shall issue a correction order under Minnesota Statutes, section 
245.805, and the operator may be subject to a fine for each uncorrected deficiency.

Subp. 7. Notice of negative licensing action. At the time the commissioner 
notifies the operator o f  a proposed negative licensing action, the commissioner 
shall notify residents and residents’ legal representatives o f  the proposed negative 
licensing action and o f  the operator’s right to appeal. The notification procedures 
in  M innesota Statutes, section 626.557, subdivision 10, paragraph (a), shall be 
followed in situations alleging abuse or neglect o f  residents.

Subp. 8. Reapplication after revocation. An operator whose license has been 
revoked shall not be granted a new license for five years following revocation and 
must reapply for licensure to determine current compliance with parts 9555.5105 
and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 SR 148; L  1988 c 384 art 2  s  1

9555.6165 CAPACITY.
Subpart 1. Licensed capacity. A maximum o f four residents may live in the 

adult foster home at one time.
Subp. 2. Capacity of roomers and residents. The total number o f  roomers and 

residents in the adult foster home at one time shall not exceed four.
Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd

1
History: 12 SR 148

9555.6167 INDIVIDUAL RESIDENT PLACEMENT AGREEMENT.
The operator shall ensure that an individual resident placement agreement 

as defined in part 9555.5105, subpart 19, is developed, signed, and on file for the 
resident who is not receiving community social services under parts 9550.0010 
to 9550.0092, and who does not have an individual service plan developed under 
part 9525.0075 or 9550.0090.
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Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245 783 subd 1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 SR 148

9555.6175 COOPERATE AN D  REPORT TO AGENCIES.
Subpart 1. Cooperating with service agency. The operator shall cooperate 

with the service agency in carrying out the provisions o f  the individual service 
plan for each resident who has one and in developing the individual resident 
placement agreement.

Subp. 2. Abuse and neglect reporting. Caregivers shall immediately report 
any suspected abuse or neglect o f a resident to the commissioner, local agency, 
local police, or county sheriff as required by the Vulnerable Adults Act.

Subp. 3. Reporting to local agency. The operator shall ensure that the local 
agency is told:

A. within five calendar days o f any change in the regular membership 
o f the household or caregiver’s employment status;

B. within 24 hours after the occurrence o f  a fire that causes damage to 
the residence or requires the services o f  a fire department or the onset o f  any 
changes or repairs to the residence that require a building permit;

C. immediately after the occurrence o f  any serious injury or death o f a 
resident. “Serious injury” means an injury that requires treatment by a physician;

D. within 24 hours o f  a change in health status o f  a caregiver that could 
affect the ability o f  the caregiver to care for a resident;

E. immediately upon diagnosis by a physician or health authority o f  a 
reportable communicable disease, as specified in parts 4605.7000 to 4605.7800, 
o f  any resident, caregiver, or household member;

F. at least 30 days before the involuntary discharge o f a resident who 
does not have an individual service plan; and

G. within seven days after the transfer or voluntary discharge o f  a 
resident who does not have an individual service plan.

Subp. 4. Reporting to service agency. The operator shall ensure that the 
service agency is told:

A. within five days i f  a resident shows a need for additional community 
health or social services; and

B. at least 30 days before the involuntary discharge o f  a resident. When 
a resident wants to voluntarily leave the adult foster home, the operator must 
notify the service agency within three days. In this instance, the resident’s legal 
representative, i f  any, shall also be notified by the service agency.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 SR 148

9555.6185 FOSTER CARE TRAINING.
Subpart 1. Orientation. Operators and caregivers must complete the orienta­

tion provided by the local agency in part 9555.5505 prior to placement o f  the first 
resident following initial licensure.

Subp. 2. Training requirements. In addition to the orientation training, 
caregivers must complete the training designed to meet the needs o f  the residents 
in care in any o f  the subject areas and in the amount specified in subpart 4. The 
operator must ensure that a record o f  training completed is maintained.

A. Caregivers with zero to five years o f  licensure or experience as an 
adult foster home caregiver must complete 12 hours training a year.

B. Caregivers with six or more years o f  licensure or experience as an 
adult foster home caregiver must complete six hours training a year.
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C. Caregivers who provide services according to a contract between the 
operator and the department or service must comply with any additional training 
requirements stated in the terms o f the contract.

Subp. 3. Exceptions. The following persons are exempt from the training 
requirements in this part:

A. caregivers providing not more than 30 cumulative days o f foster care 
in  a 12 month period; and

B. caregivers providing foster care eight hours or less a week.
Subp. 4. Training subjects. Training subjects shall be selected from the 

following areas:
A. communication skills;
B. roles and relationships in foster care;
C. community services for adults;
D . constructive problem solving;
E. cultural differences;
F. basic first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR);
G. home safety;
H. self-esteem;
I. medication assistance;
J. human sexuality;
K. death, dying, separation, and grieving;
L. aging process;
M. recreation and leisure time;
N . nutrition;
O. mental health;
P. mental retardation;
Q. physical disabilities;
R. chemical dependency;
S. abuse and neglect;
T. stress management;
U . assertiveness;
V. eating disorders;
W. behavior problem solving;
X. money management;
Y. data privacy;
Z. living skills training; and
AA. other areas that the local agency documents as relevant to adult 

foster care.
Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd

1
History: 12 SR 148

9555.6195 PROHIBITIONS AGAINST ABUSE, NEGLECT, AND DISCRIM ­
INATION.

Subpart 1. Protection from neglect and abuse. The operator shall ensure that 
residents are protected from abuse and neglect through compliance with the 
Vulnerable Adults Act and parts 9555.8000 to 9555.8500.

Subp. 2. Nondiscrimination. Under Minnesota Statutes, section 363.03, sub­
division 3, the operator must comply with the nondiscrimination provisions 
applicable to public accommodations.
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Statutory Authority: M S s  245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 SR 148 

9555.6200 [Repealed, 12 SR 148]
9555.6205 PHYSICAL ENVIRONM ENT.

Subpart 1. Residential occupancy. The residence must meet the definition o f  
a dwelling unit in a residential occupancy and be free o f  any plumbing, electrical, 
ventilation, mechanical or structural hazard that would threaten the health or 
safety o f a resident.

Subp. 2. Living room access. Each resident must have use o f and free access 
to the living room.

Subp. 3. Dining area. Each residence shall have a dining area furnished for 
group eating that is simultaneously accessible to residents and household mem­
bers.

Subp. 4. Resident bedrooms. Residents must mutually consent, in  writing, to 
share a bedroom with another resident. N o more than two residents may share 
one bedroom.

A. Resident bedrooms must meet the following criteria:
(1) A single occupancy bedroom must have at least 80 square feet 

o f floor space with a 7-1/2 foot ceiling. A  double occupancy room must have at 
least 120 square feet o f  floor space with a 7-1/2 foot ceiling.

(2) Bedrooms must be separated from halls, corridors, and other 
habitable rooms by floor to ceiling walls containing no openings except doorways 
and must not serve as a com dor to another room used in daily living.

(3) A resident’s personal possessions and items for the resident’s 
own use are the only items permitted to be stored in a resident’s bedroom.

(4) When possible, a resident shall be allowed to have items o f  
furniture that he or she personally owns in the bedroom, unless doing so would 
interfere with safety precautions,'violate a building or fire code, or another 
resident’s use o f  the bedroom.

B. Each resident shall be provided with the following furnishings:
(1) A separate, adult size single bed or larger with a clean mattress 

in good repair.
(2) Clean bedding appropriate for the season for each resident.
(3) An individual dresser and closet for storage o f  personal posses­

sions and clothing.
(4) A mirror for grooming.

Statutory Authority: M S  s  245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 SR 148

9555.6215 WATER AND FOOD.
Subpart 1. Water. Water from privately owned wells must be tested annually 

by a Minnesota Health Department certified laboratory for coliform bacteria and 
nitrate nitrogens to verify safety. Retesting and corrective measures may be 
required by the health authority i f  results exceed state water standards in chapter 
4720.

Subp. 2. Food. Food served must meet any special dietary needs o f  a resident 
as prescribed by the resident’s physician or dietitian. Three nutritionally bal­
anced meals a day must be served or made available to residents, and nutritious 
snacks must be available between meals.

Subp. 3. Food safety. Food must be obtained, handled, and properly stored 
to prevent contamination, spoilage, or a threat to the health o f  a resident.
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Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 SR 148

9555.6225 SANITATION AN D  HEALTH.
Subpart 1. Sanitation and cleanliness. The residence must be clean, as 

specified in part 4625.0100, subpart 2, and free from accumulations o f dirt, 
rubbish, peeling paint, vermin, or insects.

Subp. 2. Toxic substances. Chemicals, detergents, and other toxic substances 
must not be stored with food products.

Subp. 3. Physical examination of resident. The operator must ensure that 
each resident is examined by a physician no more than 30 days before or within 
three days after placement in the adult foster home to ensure that the resident 
is free o f  the reportable communicable diseases named in parts 4605.7000 to 
4605.7800. Transfer records from a health care facility licensed by the Depart­
ment o f  Health may be substituted for this requirement.

Subp. 4. First aid supplies. The operator shall ensure that the residence is 
equipped with accessible first aid supplies including bandages, sterile compresses, 
scissors, an ice bag or cold pack, an oral or surface thermometer, mild liquid soap, 
adhesive tape, and first aid manual.

Subp. 5. Emergencies. The operator shall be prepared for emergencies and 
ensure that:

A. a non coin operated telephone and an operable flashlight is located 
within the residence;

B. the phone numbers o f  each resident’s representative, physician, and 
dentist are readily available;

C. phone numbers o f  the local fire department, police department, and 
an emergency transportation service are posted by the telephone;

D. prior arrangements are made for a substitute caregiver who meets the 
qualifications in part 9555.6125, subpart 4, to provide care during emergencies;

E. each resident is informed o f  a designated area within the residence 
where the resident shall go, for cover during severe storms or tornadoes;

F. fire drills are conducted at least once every three months;
G. a written fire escape plan and a log o f  quarterly fire drills is on file 

in  the residence; and
H. the fire escape plan is approved by the fire marshal and specifies 

emergency phone numbers, a place to meet outdoors for roll call, smoke detector 
and fire extinguisher locations, plans for quarterly fire and tom ado drill sessions, 
and escape routes to the outside from the levels used by residents. In buildings 
with three or more dwelling units, enclosed exit stairs must be indicated. There 
must be an emergency escape plan for each resident.

Subp. 6. Individual personal articles. Individual clean bed linens, towels, and 
wash cloths must be available for each resident.

Subp. 7. Pets. Pets housed within the residence shall be maintained in good 
health. The operator shall ensure that the resident and the resident’s representa­
tive is notified before admission o f  the presence o f  pets in the residence.

Subp. 8. Resident’s medication. Caregivers may administer medication to a 
resident who is not capable o f  self administering medication only i f  the operator 
ensures that the procedures in items A to G  are followed.

A. The operator shall get a written statement from the resident’s physi­
cian stating the name o f the medication prescribed and whether the resident is 
capable o f  taking the medication without assistance.

B. The operator shall get written permission from the resident or the 
resident’s legal representative to administer the medication.
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C. A resident who is not capable o f  self administering the medication 
may be administered the medication by a caregiver in accordance with the 
written instructions from the resident’s physician i f  the written permission has 
been obtained from the resident or the resident’s legal representative. A  prescrip­
tion label is sufficient to constitute written instructions from a physician.

D. Each resident receiving medication assistance must have a medica­
tion record containing:

(1.) the information on the prescription label;
(2) the consequences i f  the medication is not taken as directed;
(3) the adverse reactions to the medication that must be reported 

to the resident’s physician;
(4) instruction from the resident’s physician indicating when the 

resident’s physician must be notified i f  the medication is not taken as prescribed;
(5) notation o f  when a medication is started, changed, or discontin­

ued; and
(6) notation o f  any reports made to the resident’s physician whenev­

er the resident does not take medication as prescribed or there are any adverse 
medication reactions.

E. A caregiver must report to the resident’s physician and legal repre­
sentative:

(1) any adverse medication reaction as specified in item D, subitem
(3); and

(2) the resident’s refusal or failure to take medication as prescribed 
and in accordance with the physician’s instructions in item  D , subitem (4).

F. A caregiver must immediately report to the local agency whenever the 
resident’s physician is notified because medication is not taken as prescribed and 
the physician determines that the refusal or failure to take medication as pre­
scribed creates an immediate threat to the resident’s health or safety or the health 
or safety o f  other residents or household members.

G. A caregiver shall not give injectable medication unless:
(1) the caregiver is a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse with 

a current M innesota license, is authorized to do so in  writing by the resident’s 
physician, and is covered by professional liability insurance; or

(2) there is an agreement signed by the caregiver, the resident’s 
physician, the resident, and the resident’s legal representative specifying what 
injections may be given, when, how, and that the physician shall retain responsi­
bility for the caregiver’s giving the injections. A copy o f  the agreement must be 
placed in the resident’s personal record.

Subp. 9. Storage of medication. Schedule II controlled substances in the 
residence that are named in Minnesota Statutes, section 152.02, subdivision 3, 
must be stored in a locked storage area permitting access only by residents and 
caregivers authorized to administer the medication as named in subpart 8.

Subp. 10. Weapons. Weapons and ammunition must be stored separately in 
locked areas that are inaccessible to residents and prevent contents from being 
visible to residents. “Weapons” means firearms and other instruments or devices 
designed for and capable o f  producing bodily harm.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 SR 148

9555.6235 ADULT FOSTER H O M E PROGRAM.
The operator shall develop and implement a commissioner approved written 

plan that allows residents to share in the privileges and responsibilities o f  the 
adult foster home and includes the information in items A to C.
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A. The type o f  functionally impaired adults to be served..
B. The foster care that will be available to residents within the adult 

foster home including the provision of:
(1) lodging;
(2) food;
(3) protection;
(4) personal care;
(5) household and living skills assistance or training;
(6) opportunities to participate in community, recreation and reli­

gious activities, and events o f  the resident’s choosing;
(7) opportunities for the resident to have contact with family and

friends;
(8) assistance safeguarding cash resources, such as banking, report­

ing the resident’s earnings to appropriate agencies, keeping records o f  financial 
information (checks issued and received), and accounting for the resident’s funds 
controlled by the operator;

(9) supervision;
(10) transportation;
(11) assistance with the provision o f  other community, social, or 

health services as named in the resident’s individual service plan, if  any; and
(12) medication assistance.

C. A program abuse prevention plan with specific measures to be taken 
to minimize the risk o f  abuse to residents under part 9555.8200.

Statutory Authority: M S s  245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 SR 148

9555.6245 PERSONAL RECORD OF RESIDENT IN  FOSTER CARE.
Subpart 1. General provisions. The operator shall ensure that an individual 

record is maintained in the adult foster home on each resident.
Subp. 2. Demographic information. The record must include the resident’s 

name, birthdate, sex, race, marital status, next o f  kin, Social Security number, 
medical assistance number, name, address, and phone number o f an emergency 
contact or the resident’s legal representative, admission date, place or address 
from which the resident was admitted, date o f  leaving the residence, and place 
or address to which the resident has moved.

Subp. 3. Medical information. The record must contain the following medical 
information:

A. the name, address, and phone number o f  the resident’s physician, 
dentist, clinic, and other sources o f  medical care;

B. a health history and information on any health risks, allergies, cur­
rently prescribed medication, and documentation o f  the physical examination or 
transfer record required in part 9555.6225, subpart 3;

C. any emergency treatment needed or provided while the resident 
resides in the adult foster home; and

D . the medication record required under part 9555.6225, subpart 8. 
Subp. 4. Cash resource information. The record must include an accounting

o f any personal funds and charges against those funds if  the operator or a 
caregiver gives cash resource assistance to a resident.

Subp. 5. Incident reports. The record must contain all incident reports. 
Incident reports must be written when a resident requires emergency care, when 
a police report o f  an incident involving a resident has been made, or when a
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complaint has been filed under the Vulnerable Adults Act. Incident reports must 
be entered into the resident’s personal record by the operator within eight hours 
after knowledge o f  the occurrence.

Subp. 6. Individual abuse prevention plan. The record must contain an 
individual abuse prevention plan for a resident developed in compliance with 
part 9555.8300.

Subp. 7. Individual service plan. The record must contain the service agency’s 
initial and current individual service plan for a resident.

Subp. 8. Individual resident placement agreement. The record must contain 
the initial individual resident placement agreement for a resident and the annual 
update o f  the agreement.

Subp. 9. Individual mobility check list. The record must contain an individu­
al mobility check list for a resident as specified in part 9555.5605, subpart 2.

Subp. 10. Transfer or discharge. When a resident is transferred or discharged 
for any reason a note must be made in the resident’s record showing the date o f  
discharge, forwarding address, and reason for discharge or transfer.

Subp. 11. Record storage. The personal record on a resident must be stored 
by the operator for four years after the resident has been discharged from the 
residence.

Statutory Authority: MS' s 245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 SR 148

9555.6255 RESIDENT’S  RIGHTS.
Subpart 1. Information about rights. The operator shall ensure that a resident 

and a resident’s legal representative are given, at admission:
A. an explanation and copy o f  the resident’s rights specified in subparts

2 to 7;
B. a written summary o f  the Vulnerable Adults Act prepared by the 

department; and
C. the name, address, and telephone number o f  the local agency to which 

a resident or a resident’s legal representative may submit an oral or written 
complaint.

Subp. 2. Right to use telephone. A resident has the right to daily, private 
access to and use o f  a non coin operated telephone for local calls and long distance 
calls made collect or paid for by the resident.

Subp. 3. Right to receive and send mail. A resident has the right to receive 
and send uncensored, unopened mail.

Subp. 4. Right to privacy. A  resident has the right to personal privacy and 
privacy for visits from others, and the respect o f  individuality and cultural 
identity. Privacy must be respected by operators, caregivers, household mem­
bers, and volunteers by knocking on the door o f  a resident’s bedroom and seeking 
consent before entering, except in an emergency, and during toileting, bathing, 
and other activities o f  personal hygiene, except as needed for resident safety or 
assistance as noted in the resident’s individual record.

Subp. 5. Right to use personal property. A resident has the right to keep and 
use personal clothing and possessions as space permits, unless to do so would 
infringe on the health, safety, or rights o f  other residents or household members.

Subp. 6. Right to associate. A  resident has the right to meet with or refuse 
to meet with visitors and participate in activities o f  commercial, religious, 
political, and community groups without interference i f  the activities do not 
infringe on the rights o f  other residents or household members.

Subp. 7. Married residents. M am ed residents have the right to privacy for 
visits by their spouses, and, i f  both spouses are residents o f the adult foster home, 
they have the right to share a bedroom and bed.
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Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 SR 148

9555.6265 SAFEGUARDS FOR CASH RESOURCES ENTRUSTED TO OPER­
ATOR.

Subpart 1. Determination. If the social worker determines that a resident 
needs and wants assistance safeguarding cash resources, any cash resources 
entrusted to the operator must be handled in accordance with this part.

Subp. 2. Procedures for handling cash resources. I f  a resident entrusts cash 
resources to the operator, the procedures in items A to F must be used.

A. The resident and the resident’s legal representative shall be given a 
receipt by the operator. Receipts must be signed by the resident or the resident’s 
legal representative.

B. The operator shall not be entrusted with cash resources in excess o f  
$300 plus resources sufficient to meet one month’s cost o f  care.

C. The resident or resident’s legal representative shall have access to the 
written records involving the resident’s funds.

D . The operator shall provide the resident or resident’s legal representa­
tive with a written quarterly accounting o f  financial transactions made on behalf 
o f  the resident.

E. Upon the death or transfer o f  a resident, any cash resources o f  the 
resident must be surrendered to the resident or the resident’s legal representative, 
or given to the executor or administrator o f  the estate in exchange for an itemized  
receipt.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.782 subds 2,6,14; 245.783 subd 1; 245.802 subd
1

History: 12 SR 148 

9555.6300 [Repealed, 12 SR 148]

9555.6400 [Repealed, 12 SR  148].
ADULT DAY CARE CENTER LICENSURE

9555.9600 DEFINITIONS.
Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730 have the 

meanings given them in this part.
Subp. 2. Adult. “Adult” means a person 18 years o f  age or older.
Subp. 3. Adult day care. “Adult day care” means a program o f services 

provided to functionally impaired adults for a period o f  less than 24 hours during 
the day. Adult day care is intended to maintain functionally impaired adults in 
the community and to prevent or delay institutionalization.

Subp. 4. Adult day care center or center. “Adult day care center” or “center” 
means a facility that provides adult day care to functionally impaired adults on 
a regular basis for periods o f  less than 24 hours a day in a setting other than a 
participant’s home or the residence o f  the facility operator.

Subp. 5. Ambulatory. “Ambulatory” means having the ability to walk inde­
pendently and negotiate barriers such as ramps, doors, stairs, and corridors 
without assistance.

Subp. 6. Applicant. “Applicant” means an operator or authorized representa­
tive o f  an operator seeking a license to operate an adult day care center under 
parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730.

Subp. 7. Building official. “Building official” means a person appointed in 
accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.65, to administer the State 
Building Code or the building official’s authorized representative.
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Subp. 8. Capable of taking appropriate action for self-preservation under 
emergency conditions. “Capable o f taking appropriate action for self-preservation 
under emergency conditions” is the designation applied in parts 9555.9600 to
9555.9730 to an adult who meets the criteria in items A and B.

A. The person is ambulatory or mobile; and
B. The person has the combined physical and mental capability to:

(1) recognize a danger, signal, or alarm requiring evacuation from
the center;

(2) initiate and complete the evacuation without requiring more 
than sporadic assistance from another person, such as help in opening a door or 
getting into a wheelchair;

(3) select an alternative means o f escape or take other appropriate 
action i f  the primary escape route is blocked; and

(4) remain at a designated location outside the center until further 
instruction is given.

Subp. 9. Caregiver. “Caregiver” means a person, usually a family member, 
whose support helps a participant to live independently or semi-independently 
in  the community and to participate in adult day care. For the purpose o f parts
9555.9600 to 9555.9730, “caregiver” does not denote legal or financial responsi­
bility for the participant.

Subp. 10. Center director. “Center director” means the person responsible for 
managing the daily affairs o f the center.

Subp. 11. Commissioner. “Commissioner” means the commissioner o f  the 
Minnesota Department o f  Human Services or the commissioner’s authorized 
representative.

Subp. 12. Department. “Department” means the Minnesota Department o f  
Human Services.

Subp. 13. Fire marshal. “Fire marshal” means the person designated by 
Minnesota Statutes, section 299F .011, to administer and enforce the Minnesota 
Uniform Fire Code, or the fire marshal’s authorized representative.

Subp. 14. Functionally impaired adult. “Functionally impaired adult” means 
an adult having a condition that includes (1) having substantial difficulty in 
carrying out one or more o f the essential major activities o f  daily living, such as 
caring for oneself, performing manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, 
breathing, learning, and working; or (2) having a disorder o f  thought or m ood that 
significantly impairs judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability 
to cope with the ordinary demands o f life; and (3) requiring support to maintain 
independence in the community.

Subp. 15. Agent of a board of health. “Agent o f  a board o f  health” as 
authorized under Minnesota Statutes, section 145A.04, means the designated 
representative o f  the state or local board o f  health as defined in Minnesota 
Statutes, section 145A.02, subdivision 2, to enforce state and local health codes.

Subp. 16. License. “License” means a certificate issued by the commissioner 
authorizing the operator to provide specified services for a specified period o f  
time in accordance with the terms o f the license, with Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 245.781 to 245.812 and 252.28, subdivision 2, and with parts 9555.9600 
to 9555..9730. “License” includes a provisional license issued to an operator who 
is temporarily unable to comply with all the requirements for issuance o f  a 
license.

Subp. 17. Licensed capacity. “Licensed capacity” means the maximum total 
number o f participants the center is permitted to serve on the premises at any 
one time under the terms o f  the license.

Subp. 18. Medication assistance. “Medication assistance” means assisting 
participants to take medication and monitoring the effects o f  medication but does
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not include administering injections. Medication includes a prescription sub­
stance ingested, injected, or applied externally to prevent or treat a condition or 
disease, heal, or relieve pain.

Subp. 19. Minnesota Uniform Fire Code. “Minnesota Uniform Fire Code” 
means those codes and regulations adopted by the state fire marshal in accord­
ance with Minnesota Statutes, section 299F.011, and contained in parts 7510.0200 
to 7510.3000.

Subp. 20. Mobile. “Mobile” means being nonambulatory but having the 
ability to move from place to place with the aid o f  such devices as crutches, 
walkers, wheelchairs, and wheeled platforms.

Subp. 21. Multifunctional organization. “Multifunctional organization” means 
an organization such as a nursing home that operates a center licensed under 
parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730 as well as one or more other programs or facilities 
simultaneously and within the same administrative structure.

Subp. 22. Operator. “Operator” means the individual, corporation, partner­
ship, voluntary association, or other public or private organization legally respon­
sible for the operation o f  a center.

Subp. 23. Participant. “Participant” means a person who has been admitted 
to and is receiving services from a center licensed under parts 9555.9600 to 
9555.9730.

Subp. 24. Physician. “Physician” means a person licensed to provide services 
within the scope o f  the profession as defined in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 147.

Subp. 25. Registered dietitian. “Registered dietitian” means a dietitian regis­
tered with the National Commission on Dietetic Registration.

Subp. 26. Registered nurse. “Registered nurse” means a person registered by 
the M innesota State Board o f  Nursing to practice professional nursing.

Subp. 27. Registered physical therapist. “Registered physical therapist” means 
a person registered by the Minnesota State Board o f  Medical Examiners to 
practice physical therapy.

Subp. 28. Regularly or on a regular basis. “Regularly” or “on a regular basis” 
means the provision o f  day care services to one or more persons for a cumulative 
total o f  more than 30 days within any 12-month period. Provision o f  services for 
any part o f  a calendar day shall constitute provision o f  service for the entire 
calendar day.

Subp. 29. State Building Code. “State Building Code” means those codes and 
regulations adopted by the commissioner o f the Department o f Administration 
in  accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.59, and contained in chapter 
1300.

Subp. 30. Structured exercise program. “Structured exercise program” means 
an identifiable group activity o f  specific, planned physical exertion designed for 
participants with similar physiologic and physical needs, meant to maintain or 
improve range o f  motion and endurance, general cardiovascular capability, 
muscle tone, and metabolic levels.

Subp. 31. Variance. “Variance” means written permission from the commis­
sioner allowing an applicant or operator to depart from specific provisions o f  
parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: 11 SR 2165; L  1987 c 309 s 24

9555.9610 ADULT DAY CARE CENTER LICENSURE.
Subpart 1. Purpose. The purpose o f  parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730 as autho­

rized by Minnesota Statutes, sections 245.781 to 245.812, is to establish proce­
dures and standards for licensing adult day care centers to assure the health, 
safety, and rights o f  adult day care participants.
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Subp. 2. Applicability. Parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730 govern the licensing o f  
adult day care centers.

An identifiable unit in a nursing home, hospital, or boarding care home 
licensed by the commissioner o f health that regularly provides day care for six 
or more functionally impaired adults at any given time who are not residents or 
patients o f  the nursing home, hospital, or boarding care home must be licensed 
as an adult day care center.

Subp. 3. Exemptions from licensure. The following facilities or situations in 
which adult day care is provided are exempt from licensure as adult day care 
centers:

A. a day care facility subject to licensure or approval by the department 
for the provision o f  outpatient treatment programs for chemically dependent 
persons or training and habilitation services for persons with mental retardation 
or a related condition, or services to persons with mental illness;

B. facilities that provide day care to adults and are excluded from  
licensure under Minnesota Statutes, section 245.791, including:

(1) day care provided by a relative to a person or persons with  
whom the relative has any o f the following relationships by marriage, blood, or 
adoption: parent, grandparent, brother, sister, stepparent, stepsister, stepbrother, 
uncle, aunt, child, niece, nephew;

(2) day care provided for a cumulative total o f  less than 30 days in 
any 12 month period;

(3) day care provided for persons from a single family for any length 
o f time by a person who is not a relative;

(4) an identifiable unit o f  a nursing home, hospital, or boarding care 
home licensed by the commissioner o f health that regularly provides day care for 
five or fewer functionally impaired adults at any given time who are not residents 
or patients o f  the nursing home, hospital, or boarding care home;

(5) a day care program serving any number o f  adults who are not 
functionally impaired;

(6) a sheltered workshop or work activity day program, certified by 
the state board o f  education;

(7) a day care facility under the direct control and supervision o f  
a local education agency or a state agency other than the commissioner; and

(8) day care provided for less than three hours daily for any person 
while the person’s relatives are in the same building, or can be present in the same 
building within 30 minutes.

Subp. 4. Licensure of existing centers. An adult day care center that is in 
operation prior to July 1, 1987, must submit a completed application for licen­
sure to the commissioner by October 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: 11 SR 2165

9555.9620 LICENSING PROCESS.
Subpart 1. Application for license. An adult day care center must obtain a 

license to operate from the department.
A. Application for a license must be made on the form issued by the 

department.
B. The applicant must be the individual or the authorized representative 

o f the corporation, partnership, voluntary association, or other public or private 
organization legally responsible for the operation o f the center.

C. Separate licenses are required for centers located at separate address­
es even i f  the centers are to be operated by the same operator.
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D. The commissioner shall supply the applicant with:
(1) the department application form;
(2) information on how to obtain a copy o f  parts 9555.9600 to

9555.9730 and the statutes and rules referenced in parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730; 
and

(3) the department forms needed to verify compliance with parts
9555.9600 to 9555.9730.

Subp. 2. Completed application. An application for licensure is complete on 
the date the commissioner determines that a complete application has been 
received. A complete application includes:

A. a completed application form;
B. the licensing fee required by parts 9545.2000 to 9545.2040; and
C. documentation that:

(1) the facility in which the center is to operate complies with the 
state building, fire, and health codes as specified in parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730 
and with any applicable local codes and ordinances; or

(2) variances from compliance with the codes and ordinances in 
subitem (1) have been granted by the state or local unit o f  government with 
jurisdiction to enforce the code or ordinance.

To obtain the necessary documentation, the applicant shall have a fire 
marshal, building official, and agent o f  a board o f  health as authorized under 
M innesota Statutes, section 145A.04, inspect the facility and make a written 
report o f  the results o f  the inspection. Any deficiencies cited that threaten health 
and safety must be corrected and the correction verified by the inspecting official 
before a license is issued by the department.

D . .a description o f  the floor plan o f  the center, including:
(1) the size and location o f  each room, doorway, and hallway;
(2) the planned use for each space;
(3) the space available as the private space required in part 9555.9730, 

subpart 5; and
(4) the area o f the center that is designated for emergency shelter 

as required in 9555.9720, subpart 9, item D.
Subp. 3. Licensing study. The commissioner shall conduct a study o f the 

center as set forth in items A and B before issuing or renewing a license:
A. The applicant shall provide the commissioner access to the premises 

any time during the center’s hours o f  operation to enable the commissioner to 
evaluate the center’s compliance with parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730. Access shall 
include the right to review and photocopy records required by parts 9555.9600  
to 9555.9730. If the commissioner’s study o f  the premises gives the commission­
er reasonable cause to believe that a potentially hazardous condition exists, the 
commissioner shall require an inspection by an authorized agent, building official, 
or fire marshal, depending on the nature o f  the hazardous condition and the 
jurisdiction for enforcing standards related to that condition. The results o f  the 
inspection and o f  any corrective action required shall be reported to the commis­
sioner by the inspector.

B. A study o f  the applicant and o f  all center staff must be made under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 245.783, subdivision 3.

(1) A check o f  arrest, conviction, or criminal history records must 
be conducted on each applicant and staff member. Each applicant and staff 
member shall complete and sign a form disclosing the person’s full name, date 
o f  birth, the specific nature o f  the information to be obtained, who will receive 
the information, and who will disclose it. The commissioner shall seek the 
assistance o f  the Minnesota Bureau o f  Criminal Apprehension, the county attor-

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1988

Copyright © 1988 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                



9555.9620 SOCIAL SERVICES FOR ADULTS 362

ney, and the sheriff or the chief o f  police in the locality where the person resides 
in determining the person’s arrest, conviction, or criminal history record.

(2) The commissioner may require, at any time during the term o f  
licensure, a criminal history check o f  the operator or o f an employee i f  the 
commissioner has reasonable cause to believe that any one or any combination 
o f the conditions specified in subpart 7, item A, has not been met.

Subp. 4. Period of licensure; not transferable. An initial license shall be issued 
by the department for up to one year when the commissioner determines there 
is substantial compliance with parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730. A renewal o f  the 
initial license can be issued for up to two years if  there is substantial compliance 
with the provisions o f  parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730. A license is not transferable 
to another operator or location.

Subp. 5. License renewal, inspection, and study. The commissioner must 
reinspect the center and study the operator to determine continued compliance 
with parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730 at least once prior to license renewal for as 
long as the operator maintains a license for the center.

Subp. 6. Provisional license. An applicant for initial licensure may be granted 
a provisional license for up to one year i f  all laws and rules cannot be complied  
with immediately and i f  the deviations from parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730 do 
not threaten the health, safety, or rights o f  the participants. Deviations must be 
corrected by the applicant within the time, not to exceed one year, specified by 
the commissioner. Failure to correct deviations within the stated time shall be 
cause for license revocation, suspension, probation, fines, or injunction against 
continued operation.

Subp. 7. License denial or suspension. The commissioner shall not issue a 
license or shall suspend a license when one or any combination o f conditions 
described in items A and B applies.

A. The applicant or operator or a staff member employed by the appli­
cant or operator:

(1) refuses to provide the completed form required in subpart 3; or
(2) has been convicted o f a crime or has admitted to an act or there 

are reasonable grounds to believe has committed an act relating to the abuse or 
neglect o f vulnerable adults as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, 
subdivision 2, clauses (d) and (e), and subdivision 3, and does not show evidence 
o f sufficient rehabilitation and present fitness to care for vulnerable adults. The 
factors set forth in Minnesota Statutes, section 364.03, subdivisions 2 and 3, shall 
be considered in determining whether the act or conviction relates to the abuse 
or neglect o f  vulnerable adults and whether the person has shown evidence o f  
sufficient rehabilitation and fitness; or

(3) has been convicted o f  a crime which directly relates to the 
occupation o f  providing care to vulnerable adults as defined in Minnesota Stat­
utes, section 626.557, and does not show evidence o f  sufficient rehabilitation and 
present fitness to care for vulnerable adults. The factors set forth m  Minnesota 
Statutes, section 364.03, subdivisions 2 and 3, shall be considered in determining 
whether the conviction relates to the occupation o f providing care to vulnerable 
adults and whether the person has shown evidence o f sufficient rehabilitation and 
fitness.

B. The center does not comply with the building, fire, and health codes 
specified in parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730 and the deficiencies cited threaten the 
health, safety, or rights o f  participants.

Subp. 8. Posting the license. The operator shall post the license in the center 
in a prominent place open to view.

Subp. 9. License terms. The license, whether regular or provisional, must 
indicate:

A. the licensed capacity o f  the center;
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B. the expiration date o f  the license;
C. the location o f  the center;
D . the name and address o f the operator; and
E. the parts o f  Minnesota Rules under which the center is licensed.

Subp. 10. Change in license terms. Items A and B shall apply to changes in
the terms o f licensure.

A. The license issued must not be transferred to another operator, 
building, or address.

B. The operator shall notify the commissioner and the necessary studies 
in part 9555.9620 must be completed:

(1) when the operator makes structural changes to the center that 
require a building permit from the municipality or local jurisdiction;

(2) before the operator moves the center to another building or
address;

(3) before the operator increases the licensed capacity o f  the center;
or

(4) before the operator changes, sells, or transfers ownership and 
responsibility for the operation o f  the center.

Subp. 11. Variance procedure. An applicant or operator may request a 
variance from compliance with parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730 at any time. A  
request for a variance must comply with the procedures in items A and B.

A. The applicant or operator must submit a written request for a 
variance to the commissioner. The request must include the following informa­
tion:

(1) the section or sections o f  parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730 with 
which the operator or applicant cannot comply;

(2) the reasons why the operator or applicant needs to depart from 
the specified sections;

(3) the period o f  time for which the applicant or operator requests 
a variance; and

(4) the specific equivalent measures that the applicant or operator 
will take to ensure the health, safety, and rights o f  the participants i f  the variance 
is granted.

B. The applicant or operator must submit to the commissioner written 
approval o f  the alternative measures identified to ensure the health and safety o f  
the participants from:

(1) a fire marshal, for any variance from part 9555.9730 that relates 
to the Minnesota Uniform Fire Code;

(2) a building official, for any variance from part 9555.9730 that 
relates to the State Building Code; and

(3) an authorized agent, for any variance from part 9555.9710.
Subp. 12. Variance standard. The commissioner may grant the request o f  the

applicant or operator for a variance if:
A. the variance request is submitted in accordance with subpart 11;
B. granting the variance will not threaten the health, safety, and rights 

o f the participants; and
C. the variance would not be contrary to a standard required by Minne­

sota statutes.
Subp. 13. Notice. Upon receipt o f  a variance request and supporting docu­

ments, the commissioner shall review the variance request and notify the applicant 
or operator in writing within 30 days whether the variance request has been 
granted or denied. If the variance request is denied, the notice must state the 
reasons for denial.

363 SOCIAL SERVICES FOR ADULTS 9555.9620
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Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: 11 SR 2165; L  1987 c 309 s  24

9555.9630 NEGATIVE LICENSING ACTIONS.
Subpart 1. Negative licensing actions. A negative licensing action includes 

denial o f application for licensure, revocation, probation, suspension, or immedi­
ate suspension o f  an existing license.

Subp. 2. Procedures. Failure to comply with parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730  
or the terms o f  licensure is grounds for a negative licensing action. If the 
commissioner has reasonable grounds to believe that the standards in parts
9555.9600 to 9555.9730 or the terms o f licensure have been violated, the com­
missioner shall notify the applicant or operator by certified mail unless personal 
service is required by subpart 5. The notice must be addressed to the name and 
location shown on the application or license, and it must state the proposed 
action and the reasons for it. The notice must inform the applicant or operator 
o f the right to appeal the decision within the specified time period. The applicant 
or operator shall have an opportunity for a hearing in accordance with Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.57 to 14.69.

Subp. 3. Denial. I f  the commissioner denies an application for licensure, the 
applicant must be notified o f  the right to appeal the decision. The applicant’s 
appeal must be made in writing within 20 working days o f receipt o f notice.

Subp. 4. Suspension; revocation; probation. If the commissioner suspends or 
revokes a license or makes a license probationary, the operator must be notified 
o f the right to appeal the decision. The operator’s appeal must be made in writing 
within ten working days o f  receipt o f  notice.

Subp. 5. Immediate suspension. I f  the commissioner has reasonable grounds 
to believe that the health, safety, or rights o f  the participants are in imminent 
danger, the commissioner shall immediately suspend an operator’s license. The 
operator shall be notified o f  the suspension by personal service and notified o f  
the right to appeal the decision within five days. An appeal does not stay the 
decision o f  the commissioner to immediately suspend the license.

Subp. 6. Correction orders and fines. I f  the commissioner finds that the 
operator is not complying with the provisions o f parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730, 
the commissioner shall issue a correction order and the operator may be subject 
to a fine for each uncorrected deficiency.

Subp. 7. Notice of negative action. At the time the commissioner notifies the 
operator o f  a proposed negative licensing action, the commissioner shall notify 
participants and participants’ caregivers o f  the proposed negative licensing action 
and the operator’s right to appeal. The notification procedures in Minnesota 
Statutes, section 626.557, subdivision 10, paragraph (a) shall be followed in 
situations alleging abuse or neglect o f participants.

Subp. 8. Reapplication after revocation or nonrenewal. An operator whose 
license has been revoked or not renewed because o f noncompliance with applica­
ble laws or rules may not be granted a new license for five years following 
revocation or nonrenewal. When the commissioner initiates a negative licensing 
action against an operator, the operator shall not voluntarily withdraw his or her 
license without providing written assurance that the operator is voluntarily 
accepting revocation and will not reapply for two years.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: 11 SR 2165; L  1988 c 384 art 2 s 1

9555.9640 POLICY AND PROGRAM INFORM ATION REQUIREMENTS.
A center shall have available for review and shall distribute to participants 

and their caregivers upon admission written information about the points in 
items A to N:
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A. the scope o f  the programs, services, and care offered by the center;
B. a description o f  the population to be served by the center;
C. a description o f  individual conditions which the center is not pre­

pared to accept, such as a communicable disease requiring isolation, a history o f  
violence to self or others, unmanageable incontinence or uncontrollable wander­
ing;

D. the participants’ rights developed in accordance with part 9555.9670  
and additionally:

(1) a procedure for presenting grievances, including the name, 
address, and telephone number o f  the licensing division o f  the.department, to 
which a participant or participant’s caregiver may submit an oral or written 
complaint;

(2) a copy or written summary o f  Minnesota Statutes, section 
626.557, the Vulnerable Adults Act;

E. the center’s policy on and arrangements for providing transportation;
F. the center’s policy on providing meals and snacks;
G. the center’s fees, billing arrangements, and plans for payment;
H. the center’s policy governing the presence o f pets in the center;
I. the center’s policy on smoking in the center;
J. types o f  insurance coverage carried by the center,
K. a statement o f  the center’s compliance with Minnesota Statutes, 

section 626.557, and rules adopted under that section;
L. a statement that center admission and employment practices and 

policies comply with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 363, the Minnesota Human 
Rights Act;

M. the terms and conditions o f  the center’s licensure by the department, 
including a description o f  the population the center is licensed to serve under part 
9555.9730; and

N. the telephone number o f  the department’s licensing division.
The information in items A to N  must be provided in writing to the 

commissioner upon request and must be available for inspection by the commis­
sioner at the center.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: H S R  2165

9555.9650 PERSONNEL RECORDS.
A center shall maintain the personnel files in items A and B.

A. A personnel file for each employee that includes:
(1) the employee’s job description;
(2) documentation that the employee has completed and signed the 

form required in part 9555.9620, subpart 3;
(3) an employment application or resume indicating that the employ­

ee meets the requirements in part 9555.9680, subpart 2;
(4) documentation that the employee has completed the orientation 

to the center required in part 9555.9690, subpart 3;
(5) documentation o f  an annual performance evaluation;
(6) documentation o f  completion o f  the annual in service training 

required in part 9555.9690, subpart 4; and
(7) documentation, when applicable, that the employee has com­

pleted the cardiopulmonary resuscitation and airway obstruction treatment train­
ing required in part 9555.9690, subpart 2, item C.

B. A personnel file for each consultant whose services the center pur­
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chases either by contracting directly with the individual or by contracting for the 
person’s services with another organization. The file shall include:

(1) a copy o f  a signed contract or letter o f  appointment specifying 
conditions and terms o f  employment; and

(2) documentation that the person under contract meets any licen­
sure, registration, or certification requirements required to perform the services 
specified in the contract.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: 11 SR 2165

9555.9660 PARTICIPANT RECORDS.
Subpart 1. Participant’s written record. A center shall develop and maintain  

a written record for each participant. Access to participants’ records shall be 
governed by subpart 2. Each participant’s written record shall include:

A. an application form signed by the participant or the participant’s 
caregiver that includes:

(1) the participant’s name, address, date o f  birth, sex, date o f  
admission or readmission, living arrangement, telephone number, and source o f  
referral;

(2) the name and telephone number o f  the person to call in case o f  
an emergency involving the participant and the name and number o f  another 
person to call i f  that person cannot be reached; and

(3) the name and telephone number o f  the participant’s physician 
or medical provider;

B. a medical report dated within the three months prior to or 30 
calendar days after the participant’s admission to the center, signed by a physi­
cian or signed by a physician’s assistant or registered nurse and cosigned by a 
physician, that includes:

(1) a report on a physical examination, updated annually;
(2) a medical history o f  the participant;
(3) indication o f dietary restrictions and medication regimen, includ­

ing the need for medication assistance, that apply to the participant;
(4) a release signed by the physician indicating whether the partici­

pant may engage in a structured exercise program; and
(5) documentation that the participant is free o f communicable 

disease or infestations, as specified in parts 4605.7000 to 4605.7600, that would 
endanger the health o f other participants;

C. reports received from other agencies involved in providing services 
or care to the participant;

D. participant’s service agreement with the center, that must specify the 
responsibilities o f  the participant and the center with respect to payment for and 
provision o f  services and shall be signed by the participant or the participant’s 
caregiver and the center director;

E. attendance and participation, reports and progress notes that are 
recorded at least monthly;

F. notes on special problems or on changes needed in medication and 
on the need for medication assistance;

G. participant’s needs assessment and current plan o f  care in compli­
ance with part 9555.9700;

H. a copy o f  the center’s statement on participants’ rights, signed by the 
participant or the participant’s caregiver to indicate the participant has been 
informed o f  rights;

I. any incident reports involving the participant, in compliance with 
part 9555.9720, subpart 4;
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J. copy o f  the individual abuse prevention plan developed for the 
participant in compliance with part 9555.8300 and as required by Minnesota 
Statutes, section 626.557, subdivision 14;

K. in a center licensed as meeting group E-3 occupancy code require­
ments, (1) a statement signed by the center director and the participant at the 
time o f  the participant’s admission specifying the basis on which the participant 
was determined to be capable or not capable o f taking appropriate action for 
self-preservation under emergency conditions as that capability is defined in part 
9555.9600, subpart 8; and (2) documentation that the participant has demon­
strated the capability defined in part 9555.9600, subpart 8, by participating in 
a fire drill within at least six months o f admission to the center; and

L. discharge summary, i f  the participant is discharged from the center.
Subp. 2. Data privacy. The information contained in a participant’s records 

shall not be disclosed without the informed written consent o f  the participant or 
the participant’s legal guardian, except information shall be provided:

A. to the participant, the participant’s legal guardian, or a person known 
to the center staff as the participant’s caregiver;

B. to center staff, for use in developing and implementing the partici­
pant’s plan o f  care;

C. to the commissioner, for the purpose o f  investigating complaints 
about a center or determining a center’s compliance with parts 9555.9600 to 
9555.9730;

D. to a building official or fire marshal, to the extent necessary to 
determine a center’s compliance with part 9555.9730;

E. to a person authorized to conduct inspections required by third party 
payment contract, to the extent necessary to perform those duties; and

F. to the extent necessary to protect the health and safety o f  the partici­
pant or participants.

Subp. 3. Right to contest. The center shall provide each participant with 
written notice ensuring that each participant or participant’s guardian or car­
egiver has been informed o f the participant’s right to contest the accuracy and 
completeness o f  the data maintained in the record.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: 11 SR 2165

9555.9670 PARTICIPANTS’ RIGHTS.
A center shall adopt and hold employees accountable for complying with a 

participant’s bill o f  rights. The rights shall include:
A. the right to participate in developing one’s own plan o f  care;
B. the right to refuse care or participation;
C. the right to physical privacy during care or treatment;
D . the right to confidentiality o f  participant records; and
E. the right to present grievances regarding treatment or care in accord­

ance with part 9555.9640, item D.
Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: 11 SR 2165

9555.9680 PERSONNEL REQUIREMENTS.
Subpart 1. Center director. The center director must meet both the require­

ments in items A and B or only the requirement in item C:
A. licensure by the state o f Minnesota as a licensed practical nurse or 

completion o f  at least two years o f  postsecondary education from an accredited 
college, university, technical institute, or correspondence school; and
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B. completion o f two years o f paid or volunteer experience in planning 
or delivering health or social services including experience in supervision and 
administration; or

C. completion o f  four years o f  paid or volunteer experience in planning 
or delivering health or social services including two years o f experience in 
supervision and administration.

Subp. 2. Personnel standards. The standards and requirements in items A to 
C apply to all employees:

A. Persons who supervise employees must be at least 18 years o f  age.
B. Employees or consultants who perform services that require licen­

sure, certification, or registration by the state o f  Minnesota must have current 
licensure, certification, or registration in their field.

C. An employee, other than a physician, registered pharmacist, regis­
tered nurse, or licensed practical nurse, who is responsible for medication assist­
ance shall provide a certificate verifying successful completion o f  a trained 
medication aid program for unlicensed personnel approved by the Minnesota 
Department o f  Health or shall be trained by a registered nurse to provide 
medication assistance m  accordance with part 9555.9710, subpart 3.

Subp. 3. Preemployment check of criminal history records. Before employing 
a person who will have responsibility for the operation o f  the center or direct 
contact with participants, the center shall request the person to give informed 
consent for the disclosure o f  arrest, conviction, and criminal history records to 
the commissioner. The authorization form shall state the person’s full name, date 
o f  birth, the specific nature o f  information being authorized for disclosure, 
persons who are designated to receive the information, and the expiration date 
o f  the authorization. The center shall send the dated and notarized form signed 
by the person to the department. The commissioner shall request the assistance 
o f  the Bureau o f  Criminal Apprehension, the county attorney, and county sheriff 
or chief o f  the police department in the person’s locality in providing all criminal 
conviction data, arrest information, reports regarding abuse or neglect, and 
investigation results available from local and state criminal history repositories.

Subp. 4. Employment disqualification factors. A center shall not employ nor 
shall the operator o f  a center be a person whose behavior or conviction record 
is described by the conditions set forth in part 9555.9620, subpart 7, item A.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: 11 SR 2165

9555.9690 STAFF RATIO AN D  CENTER COVERAGE.
Subpart 1. Staff ratio. Centers must meet the standards specified in items A 

to G.
A. When a center serves only participants who are capable o f  taking 

appropriate action for self-preservation under emergency conditions, the center 
shall maintain a minimum staff to participant ratio o f  one staff member present 
for every eight participants present.

B. When a center serves only participants who are not capable o f taking 
appropriate action for self-preservation under emergency conditions, the center 
shall maintain a minimum staff to participant ratio o f one staff member present 
for every five participants present.

C. When a center serves both participants who are capable o f taking 
appropriate action for self-preservation under emergency conditions and partici­
pants who are not, the center shall maintain a staff to participant ratio o f  one staff 
member present for every five participants present who are not capable o f  
self-preservation and one staff member present for every eight participants 
present who are capable o f self-preservation. When a center has participants to 
whom the one to eight ratio applies, as well as participants to whom the one to
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five ratio applies, the number o f  staff persons necessary to meet the ratio require­
ments can be determined by making the following computations:

(1) multiply the number o f  participants present who are capable o f  
self-preservation by 12.5;

(2) multiply the number o f participants present who are not capable 
o f self-preservation by 20;

(3) add the two figures that result from the multiplication in subi­
tems (1) and (2);

(4) when the sum calculated in subitem (3) is 100 or less, one staff 
person is required to meet the ratio requirements;

(5) when the sum calculated in subitem (3) is 101 to 200, two staff 
persons are required; and

(6) when the sum calculated in subitem (3) is 201 to 300, three staff 
persons are required. One additional staff person is required each time the sum  
increases by a unit o f  100.

D. Only those employees whose primary center duties, as defined in  
their job descriptions, are to work directly with participants by providing care, 
supervision, and assistance in achieving plan o f  care objectives shall be counted  
as staff members in calculating the staff to participant ratio.

E. A multifunctional organization may count other employees o f  the 
organization besides center employees in calculating the staff to participant ratio 
if:

(1) the employee’s responsibilities in the organization other than 
the center meet the requirement in item D; and

(2) the employee is assigned to the center for a specified amount o f  
time during which the employee is not assigned to another organization.

F. N o participant shall be counted as or be substituted for a staff 
member in calculating the staff to participant ratio.

G. A volunteer may be counted as a staff member in calculating the staff 
to participant ratio i f  the volunteer meets the same standards and requirements 
as paid staff.

Subp. 2. Staff coverage of center. Centers must meet the standards specified 
in  items A to D.

A. In the temporary absence o f  the director, a staff member shall be 
designated to supervise the center.

B. When only one staff member is needed to meet the staff ratio require­
ment in subpart 1, item A, a volunteer or other adult who is not a participant shall 
be present when six or more participants are in attendance.

C. A person trained in basic first aid and certified in cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation, and the treatment o f  obstructed airways must be present at all 
times:

(1) in the center when participants are present;
(2) in a vehicle being used by the center to transport participants;

and
(3) with participants on field trips or other activities conducted by 

the center away from the center site.
Subp. 3. Staff orientation to center. A center shall provide all center employ­

ees with 20 hours o f orientation to the center within the employee’s first 40 hours 
o f employment at the center. At least four hours o f  supervised orientation must 
be provided before employees work directly with center participants. The orien­
tation must include training related to the kinds o f  functional impairments o f  
current center participants, the protection and abuse reporting requirements o f  
parts 9555.8000 to 9555.8500, and.the safety requirements and procedures in  
part 9555.9720. ' " '
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Subp. 4. In service training. A center shall provide a minimum o f eight hours 
o f in service training annually. In service training must be in areas related to care 
o f center participants, including provision o f  medication assistance and review 
o f parts 9555.8000 to 9555.8500, 9555.9600 to 9555.9730, and Minnesota 
Statutes, section 626.557.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: 11 SR 2165

9555.9700 INDIVIDUAL SERVICE PLANNING.
Subpart 1. Intake screening. Before admitting a participant, the center shall 

conduct an intake screening to determine how or whether the center can serve 
the individual, based on the center’s licensure, the center’s policies and services, 
and the individual’s needs and condition. If possible, the screening shall include 
an interview with the participant and with the participant’s caregiver. The center 
shall notify the individual o f  the outcome no more than five working days after 
the screening process begins.

Subp. 2. Initial service planning. Immediately after admission, the center 
shalll,conduct a needs assessment and develop a preliminary service plan for the 
participant, in  accordance with items A and B. The needs assessment and 
preliminary service plan must be completed within 30 days and placed in the 
participant’s record.

A. The center shall assess the participant’s needs for center services 
based on observation o f  the participant and information obtained from other 
sources, including any assessment performed within the prescribed time by a 
preadmission screening team under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.091. The 
needs assessment shall address:

(1) the participant’s psychosocial status (for example, awareness 
level, personal care needs, need for privacy or socialization);

(2) the participant’s functional status (for example, endurance and 
capability for ambulation, transfer, and managing activities o f  daily living); and

(3) the participant’s physical status, to be determined by observa­
tion, from the intake screening interview, and from the medical report received 
from the participant’s physician.

B. The center shall develop a preliminary service plan based on the 
assessment in item A and coordinated with other plans o f  services for the 
participant. The preliminary service plan must include the following information 
and specifications:

(1) scheduled days o f participant’s attendance at the center;
(2) transportation arrangements for getting the participant to and 

from the center;
(3) participant’s nutritional needs and, where applicable, dietary

restrictions;
(4) role o f  the participant’s caregiver or caregivers in carrying out 

the service plan; and
(5) services and activities in which the participant will take part 

immediately upon admission.
Subp. 3. Individual plan of care. Withm 90 days o f  the participant’s admis­

sion to the center, a written plan o f care must be developed by the center staff 
together with the participant, the participant’s caregiver, and other agencies and 
individual service providers. The plan o f care,must be dated and must include:

A. an update o f  the preliminary service plan required in subpart 2 and 
additional services required by the participant;

B. short and long-term objectives for the participant stated in concrete, 
measurable, and time specific outcomes;
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C. the staff members responsible for implementing the individual plan
o f care;

D . the anticipated duration o f  the individual plan o f  care as written; and
E. provisions for quarterly review and quarterly revision o f  the individ­

ual plan o f  care.
Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: 11 SR 2165

9555.9710 SERVICE AND PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS.
Subpart 1. Food service and nutrition. A center shall meet the requirements 

in items A to H.
A. Procedures for preparing, handling, and serving food, and washing 

food, utensils, and equipment must comply with parts 4625.2400 to 4625.5000, 
Requirements for Food and Beverage Establishments, and with applicable local 
ordinances. If the food is prepared off-site.by another facility or i f  food service 
is provided according to a center’s contract with a food service provider, the 
facility or provider must comply with parts 4625.2400 to 4625.2500 and applica­
ble local ordinances.

B. The center shall provide refrigeration for dairy products and other 
perishable foods, whether supplied by the center or supplied by the participant. 
The refrigeration must have a temperature o f  40 degrees Fahrenheit or less.

C. I f  a participant is at the center for more than 4-1/2 hours, the 
participant must be served a meal which meets one-third o f  the recommended 
dietary allowances o f  the Food and Nutrition Board o f  the National Research 
Council, National Academy o f  Sciences, specified in Recommended Dietary 
Allowances, 9th Edition, 1980. This publication is incorporated by reference. It 
is not subject to frequent change and is available at public libraries through 
Minitex interlibrary loan system and from the Printing and Publication Office, 
National Academy o f  Sciences, Washington, D.C. 20418.

D . The center shall offer a midmoming and a midafternoon snack.
E. The menus for all meals and snacks must be approved by a registered 

dietitian and must meet all applicable state rules and laws and United States 
Department o f  Agriculture regulations.

F. The center shall provide modified diets for participants whose written 
records specify dietary restrictions.

G. Drinking water must be available to participants throughout the 
hours o f the center’s operation.

H. The center must maintain a record indicating the menu for all meals 
served for at least six months.

Subp. 2. Transportation. If a center provides transportation, the require­
ments in items A and B must be met.

A. The center shall meet all applicable state and federal regulations 
governing vehicles and drivers.

B. The maximum transportation time for any participant being trans­
ported by a center vehicle between the participant’s home and the center shall 
be 90 minutes, one way. Ten minute rest stops should be offered to participants 
when travel time exceeds 90 minutes.

Subp. 3. Health services. The center shall offer health services developed in  
consultation with a registered nurse. A registered nurse shall provide consultation 
and review o f  the health services at least monthly. Health services must include:

A. monitoring participants’ health status and reporting changes to the 
participant’s caregiver and physician and the center director;

B. educating and counseling participants on good health practices;

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1988

Copyright © 1988 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                



9555.9710 SOCIAL SERVICES FOR ADULTS 372

C. maintaining a listing o f  professional health resources available for 
referrals as needed by participants;

D . developing policies and monitoring procedures for participant self 
administration o f  medications for training unlicensed personnel who provide 
medication assistance; and

E. supervising staff distribution o f  medication and assistance with par­
ticipant self administration o f  medication and ensuring compliance with part 
9555.9680, subpart 2, item C.

Subp. 4. Structured exercise program. The center shall offer a daily structured 
exercise program for participants whose physicians have authorized their partici­
pation. The program shall be developed in consultation with a registered physical 
therapist. A registered physical therapist shall provide consultation and review  
o f the exercise program, at least quarterly.

Subp. 5. Activities of daily living. The center shall provide participants 
assistance, when needed, in managing activities o f  daily living such as dressing, 
grooming, and eating, and in developing or mamtaining the skills necessary to 
manage these activities on their own.

Subp. 6. Daily program activities. The center shall have a monthly plan for 
diversified daily program activities. Program activities shall be designed to meet 
the needs and interests o f  the participants and shall include:

A. socialization activities, such as group projects and recreational activi­
ties;

B. cultivation o f  personal interests, such as arts, crafts, and music; and
C. activities designed to increase the participant’s knowledge and aware­

ness o f  the environment and to enhance language and conceptual skills.
Subp. 7. Social services. A center shall offer the social services in items A to

D:
A. interviewing the participant and, when possible, the participant’s 

caregiver as part o f  the admission procedure specified in part 9555.9700;
B. maintaining a family and social history for the participant’s record 

that is updated annually;
C. observing and recording psychological, emotional, social, financial, 

legal, employment, transportation, and other living situation factors related to 
the participant’s achieving objectives specified in the participant’s plan o f care; 
and

D. referring the participant and caregivers to community services as 
required to meet the needs identified by the observation in item C.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: 11 SR 2165

9555.9720 SAFETY REQUIREM ENTS.
Subpart 1. First aid kit. The center shall have a first aid kit that contains a 

first aid manual, sterile bandages and band-aids, sterile compresses, Ipecac syrup, 
scissors, an ice bag or cold pack, an oral or topical thermometer, liquid soap, 
adhesive tape, and money for phone calls. The first aid kit and manual must be 
accessible to the staff in the center and must be taken on field trips. The Ipecac 
syrup must be labeled with instructions to telephone the poison control center, 
or 911, or the participant’s emergency medical care source before administering.

Subp. 2. Telephone and posted numbers. A center shall have a noncoin  
operated telephone that is readily accessible. A list o f  emergency numbers must 
be posted next to the telephone. When an area has a 911 number, the emergency 
number listed must be 911. In areas o f  the state without a 911 number, the 
numbers listed must be those o f  the local fire department, police department, 
emergency transportation, and poison control center. In a hospital or nursing 
home, the emergency care team number must be posted.
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Subp. 3. Emergency phone numbers for participants. For each participant, the 
emergency phone numbers o f  the caregiver, the persons to be called i f  the 
caregiver cannot be reached, and the participant’s physician must be readily 
available at the center. These numbers must also be available in vehicles provid­
ed by the center to transport participants.

Subp. 4. Records of incidents. The center shall maintain records o f all 
incidents involving participants, including illnesses; accidents requiring first aid; 
incidents requiring emergency medical or psychiatric care; incidents requiring a 
police report to be made; and incidents when a complaint has been filed under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, Reporting o f  Maltreatment o f Vulnerable 
Adults. The record shall include the participant’s name, the date and time o f  the 
incident, a description o f  the incident, the Center’s action in response to the 
incident, and indication that the incident was reported to the participant’s 
caregiver.

Subp. 5. Hazardous objects, materials, or equipment. Chemicals that are 
poisonous when swallowed or inhaled or that are damaging to eyes or skin must 
be stored in an area not accessible to the participants. U se o f  scissors, knives, 
matches, razor blades, and other potentially hazardous materials by participants 
shall be allowed only under supervision.

Subp. 6. Emergency equipment. The center shall have a flashlight and a 
portable radio or television set that do not require electricity and can be used i f  
a power failure occurs.

Subp. 7. Equipment and furniture. Equipment and furniture must be in good 
repair and without sharp points, splinters, and paint that contains lead.

Subp. 8. Areas used by participants. The areas used by participants must be 
free from debris, loose plaster, peeling paint, and litter. Rugs must have a nonskid 
backing.

Subp. 9. Emergencies caused by fire and weather. The. center shall have 
written plans for emergencies caused by fire, blizzards, and tornadoes. The plans 
must be posted in a visible place and be on file in the center. The plans must 
include items A to J:

A. the responsibilities each staff person will assume in case o f  emergen­
cy;

B. identification o f  primary and secondary exits;
C. identification o f  building evacuation routes;
D . identification o f an emergency shelter area within the center;
E. instructions for evacuating or rescuing participants;
F. instructions for calling the fire department and emergency phone 

numbers;
G. procedures for the quarterly fire drill;
H. instructions on location and use o f fire extinguishers;
I. instructions on closing off the fire area; and
J. location o f  the fuse box and instructions on how to throw the main

switch.
The fire escape plan must be rehearsed at least four times each year and the 

dates o f  rehearsals must be recorded in the file o f  emergency plans.
Subp. 10. Medical emergencies. The center shall have written procedures 

governing medical emergencies and an identified source o f  emergency medical 
care and transportation that is made known to all staff members and volunteers.

Subp. 11. Pets. If  the center allows pets, the center must ensure that:
A. prospective participants are notified that pets may be present in the

center;
B. all dogs and cats brought into the center have current rabies shots and

tags;
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C. pets and pet cages are excluded from food storage, preparation, and 
serving areas; and

D. a record o f annual examinations for communicable disease and 
parasites by a licensed veterinarian is maintained for all pets that reside in or 
regularly visit the center.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: 11 SR 2165

9555.9730 PHYSICAL PLANT A N D SPACE REQUIREMENTS.
Subpart 1. Compliance with codes. Before being granted a license, an appli­

cant must provide to the department documentation o f  compliance with the 
codes in items A and B.

A. Local fire codes, the local zoning code or ordinance, applicable rules 
o f the Department o f  Health, and water supply and sewage disposal regulations.

B. The State Building Code, including the provisions o f chapter 1340, 
Facilities for the Handicapped, and the Minnesota Uniform Fire Code.

Subp. 2. Determination of occupancy code. The occupancy code requirements 
for a center shall be determined according to items A to D.

A. Centers serving only participants who are capable o f  taking appropri­
ate action for self-preservation under emergency conditions shall meet all appli­
cable building and fire code requirements relative to either group E-3 occupancies 
or group I occupancies as specified in the State Building Code. When one or more 
participants enrolled are nonambulatory but mobile, the center meeting group 
E-3 occupancy code requirements must be located on a floor level with an exit 
directly to grade without any intervening stairs.

B. Centers serving a population that includes both participants who are 
capable and participants who are not capable o f  taking appropriate action for 
self-preservation under emergency conditions shall meet occupancy code require­
ments specified either under subitem (1) or (2):

(1) all applicable building and fire code requirements relative to 
group I occupancies as specified in the State Building Code; or

(2) all applicable building and fire code requirements relative to 
group E-3 occupancies as specified in the State Building Code; and

(a) the center shall meet the staff ratio requirements in part
9555.9690;

(b) not more than 50 percent o f the center’s licensed capacity 
shall be made up o f  participants who are not capable o f  taking appropriate action 
for self-preservation under emergency conditions;

(c) the center shall be located on a floor level with all exits 
directly to grade without any intervening stairs;

(d) the center shall be protected with a complete automatic 
detection system consisting of:

i. automatic smoke detectors in all corridors and at the top
o f all stairways, and

ii. automatic detectors in boiler and furnace rooms, kitch­
ens, storage rooms, janitor closets, laundries, and other hazardous areas. This 
system shall be inspected and approved by a fire marshal. In buildings equipped 
with manual fire alarm systems, the manual fire alarm and automatic detection 
systems shall be electrically interconnected; and

(e) the center shall demonstrate to the commissioner the ability 
to evacuate the entire center population within three minutes.

C. Centers serving only participants who are not capable o f  taking 
appropriate action for self-preservation under emergency conditions shall meet
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all applicable building and fire code requirements relative to group I occupancies 
as specified in the State Building Code.

D . The center shall provide the commissioner, the building official, and 
the fire marshal with the documentation required in part 9555.9660, item K, i f  
the center is to meet the occupancy code requirements under item A or item B, 
subitem (2).

Subp. 3. Signal system in restrooms. Restrooms used by participants must 
be equipped with a mechanism that participants can use to signal staff members 
by light or by sound i f  participants need assistance.

Subp. 4. Usable space requirements. The licensed capacity o f  a center shall 
be limited by the amount o f indoor space available for use by participants. The 
total indoor space available for use by participants must equal at least 40 square 
feet for each day care participant and each day care staff member present at the 
center. When a center is located in a multifunctional organization, the center may 
share common space with the multifunctional organization i f  the required space 
available for use by participants is maintained while the center is operating. In 
determining the square footage o f  usable indoor space available, a center must 
not count:

A. hallways, stairways, closets, offices, restrooms, and utility and storage
areas;

B. more than 25 percent o f  the space occupied by furniture or equipment 
used by participants or staff; or

C. in a! multifunctional organization, any space occupied by persons 
associated with the multifunctional organization while participants are using 
common space.

Subp. 5. Private space. The usable indoor space available to a center must 
include a room or an area that can be used as private space for providing personal 
hygiene services or social services to participants.

Subp. 6. Equipment and furnishings. Each center shall provide the equipment 
and furnishings in items A to E:

A. a sturdy, nonfolding chair for each participant who does not require 
or prefer a wheelchair;

B. stable tables that are accessible to all participants and staff and 
accommodate dining and program activity needs;

C. age appropriate games, books, crafts, and other materials to imple­
ment daily program activities;

D . one cot, couch, or recliner per eight participants; and
E. one television set, AM/FM radio, phonograph, or tape player.

Subp. 7. Temperature. A minimum temperature o f  70 degrees Fahrenheit
must be maintained in indoor areas used by participants.

Subp. 8. Ventilation. Outside doors and windows which are used for ventila­
tion must be screened in summer months.

Subp. 9. Air quality. The center must comply with Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 144.411 to 144.417, the Minnesota Clean Indoor Air Act.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 245.781 to 245.812
History: 11 S R  2165
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