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9530 4270 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS.

Subpart 1. Qualifications applying to all employees working directly with Cll-
ents. All employees working directly with clients must meet the following qualifi-
cations:

) A. the employee must be 18 years of age or older; and

B. program directors, chemical dependency counselor supervisors, and
employees who are responsible for the provision of rehabilitative services must
document two years of freedom from chemical use problems.

[For text of subps 2 to 7, see M.R.]

Statutory Authority: MS s 2454.04; 245A4.09
History: 15 SR 2043 ,
9530.6600 CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY CARE FOR PUBLIC ASSISTANCE
RECIPIENTS; GENERAL PROVISIONS.
[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

f

Subp. 2. Programs governed. Parts 9530.6600 to 9530.6655 apply to counties
and chemical dependency or abuse treatment programs licensed to provide
chemical dependency or chemical abuse related services under parts 9530.4100
t0 9530.4450, and 9530.5000 to 9530.6500, or similar programs located in acute
care hospitals.

[For text of subp 3, see M.R.]

Statutory Authority: MS s 245B.03; 2544.03
History: 16 SR 391

9530.6605 DEFINITIONS.
[For text of subps 1 to 10, see M.R.]

Subp. 10a. Combination inpatient/outpatient treatment. “Combination inpa-
tient/outpatient treatment” means chemical dependency primary rehabilitation
licensed as Category II under parts 9530.4100 to 9530.4450 of seven to 14 days
duration followed by outpatient chemical dependency treatment licensed under
parts 9530.5000 to 9530.6500 of three or more weeks duration. The duration
requirements may be altered if specified in a host county agreement conforming
to part 9550.0040.

[For text of subp 11, see M.R.]
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Subp. 12. County. “County” means the county of financial responsibility as
defined under Minnesota Statutes, section 256G 02, subdivision 4, or the county
designee. .

[For text of subps 13 to 15 see M.R.]

Subp. 15a Faclllty that controls access to chemicals. “Facility that controls
access to chemicals” means a residential facility licensed by the commissioner of
corrections, health, or human services that meets the following, or any residence
which the county can document meets the following:

A. has rules prohlbltlng residents from bringing chemicals into the facil-
ity;
) B. has rules,prohlbitmg residents from using chemlcals while residing
in the facility; and
C. has penalties that are imposed upon violation of these rules.

A facility that controls access to chemicals does not include a program

licensed according to parts 9530.5000 to 9530.6500. .

[For text of subps 16 to 25, see M.R.]

Statutory Authority: MS s 245B.03; 2544.03 o
Hlstory 16 SR 391 ' ‘ o

9530 6615 CHEMICAL USE ASSESSMENTS
[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3. Method of assessment. The method of assessment must include a
personal interview with the client in order to make a finding about the extent of
the problem with chemical use. It must also include collateral contacts and a
review of. relevant records or reports regarding the client consistent with. confi-
dentiality and data privacy provisions in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13; sections
144.343 and 254A.09; and Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, parts 2.1 to
2.67. If an assessor is unable to make collateral contacts, the assessor must

-include din the client’s case record an explanation of why collateral contacts were
not made. .

s,

[For text of subp 4 see M.R.]

Statutory Authorlty MS' s 245B 03 254A 03
History: 16 SR 391

9530.6620 PLACEMENT INFORMATION.

Subpart 1. Level of care determination. The mformat10n in items A to I ‘must’
be considered when determining the level of care for a client. If a treatment pro-
vider identifies additional information that indicates that a client has not been
placed in the most appropriate level of care, the treatment provider shall, in com-

“pliance with confidentiality and data privacy provisions'in Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 13; sections 144.343 and 254A.09; and Code of Federal Regulations, title
42, parts 2.1102. 67, provide the county with the additional information for the

. county to consider in determining whether the placement was made at the appro-

priate level of care and whether an alternative placement must be made.

[For text of items A to I, see M.R.] e
[For text of subp 2, see M.R.]

‘Statutory Authority: MS s 245B.03; 2544.03
History: 16 SR 391 “

o
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9530.6625 PLACEMENT CRITERIA FOR OUTPATIENT TREATMENT.

A client shall be referred to outpatient treatment when the client is assessed
as capable of functioning in the usual community environment in spite of the
existing chemical use and meets the criteria in 1tem A, B, or C.

A. The client has been assessed as a chemical abuser under part
9530.6620, subpart 2, and is experiencing one or more.of the following:
(1) an arrest or legal intervention related to chemical use in the past
year;
(2) loss or impairment of employment or education due to chemical
use; or
(3) deterioration of family relationships due to chemical use.
B. The client has been assessed as chemically dependent under part
9530.6620, subpart 2.
C. The client has been assessed as meeting the criteria in part 9530.6630,
subpart 1, and the client will be residing in a residential facility that controls
access to chemicals.

Statutory Authority: MS s 245B.03; 2544.03
-History: 16 SR 391

9530.6630 PLACEMENT CRITERIA FOR PRIMARY REHABILITATION
OR COMBINATION INPATIENT/OUTPATIENT TREATMENT.

Subpart 1. Criteria for placement. A client shall be placed 1n primary rehabili-
tation or in combination inpatient/outpatient treatment when the client meets
the criteria in 1tems A, B, and C.

[For text of item A, see M R.]

B. The client is unable to abstain from chemical use for fewer than seven
consecutive days during the 30 days preceding assessment while the client has
been outside a facility that controls access to chemicals.

[For text of item C, see M.R.]

Subp. 2. Type of placement. The county may choose between a placement in
primary rehabilitation in a free standing facility or hospital setting or in combina-
tion inpatient/outpatient treatment unless the client meets the criteria in part
9530.6631 or 9530.6635. A client meeting the criteria in part 9530.6631 shall be
placed in combination inpatient/outpatient treatment. A client meeting the
criteria in part 9530.6635 shall be placed in primary rehabilitation in a hospital
setting.

Statutory Authority: MS s 245B.03; 254A4.03
History: 16 SR 391
9530.6631 PLACEMENT CRITERIA FOR COMBINATION INPATIENT/

OUTPATIENT TREATMENT.

A client shall be placed in combination inpatient/outpatient treatment when
the client meets the criteria in part 9530.6630, subpart 1, and the client has
abstained from chemical use outside a residential facility that controls access to
chemicals for at least 30 consecutive days in the past 180 days.

Statutory Authority: MS s 245B.03; 2544.03
History: 16 SR 391

9530.6640 PLACEMENT CRITERIA FOR EXTENDED CARE.

A client shall be placed in extended care if the client is assessed as chemically
dependent under part 9530.6620, subpart 2, and the client is experiencing four
or more of the following:
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A. The client has participated in primary rehabilitation within the past
two years or has participated in Category II, ITI, or IV programs for a total of three
or more times in the client’s lifetime.

[For text of items B to G, see M.R.]

Statutory Authority: MS s 245B.03; 254A4.03
_ History: 16 SR-391

9530 6641 REPEAT RESIDENTIAL PLACEMENTS.

A client who has participated in extended care under part 9530.6640 for 21
consecutive days within the past 24 months shall not be placed in Category II or
III treatment. The client shall be prov1ded with other appropnate social services
according to part 9550.0090. These services may include outpatient treatment
halfway house services, case management, and housing referral.

Statutory Authority: MS s 245B.03; 2544.03
History: 16 SR 391

9530 6650 EXCEPTIONS TO PLACEMENT CRITERIA.
[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 16 SR 391]

Subp. 3a. Exceptions to part 9530. 6641. A client meeting the criteria in part
'9530.6641 shall be exempt from its provisions when the client meets one of the
following:

A. the client is pregnant or a single custodial parent;
B. the client:

'(1) has a physical or mental health diagnosis that negatlvely affects
the client’s ability to-benefit from treatment and that was not recognized at the
time of the client’s most recent placement; and

(2) is being referred to a program that offers spemﬁc services that
address the client’s physical or emotional condition; or

C. the client has voluntarily left a treatment program within thé seven
days preceding assessment and is being referred to the same program.
[For.text of subp 4, see M.R.]

Statutory Authority: MS s 245B.03; 2544.03
History: 16 SR 391

9530.6655 APPEALS.

Subpart 1. Client’s right to a second assessment. A client who has been
assessed under part 9530.6615, and who disagrees with the level of chemical
dependency care proposed by the assessor, shall have the right to request a second
chemical use assessment. The county or the prepaid health plan shall inform the
client in writing of the right to request a second assessment at the time the client
is assessed for a program placement. The county or the prepaid health plan shall
also inform the client that the client’s request must be in writing or on a form
approved by the commissioner, and must be received by the county or the pre-
paid health plan within five working days of completion of the original assess-
ment or before the client enters treatment, whichever occurs first.

The county or the prepaid health plan shall provide a second chemical use
assessment by a different qualified assessor within five working days of receipt
of a request for reassessment. If the client agrees with the second level of care
determination, the county or the prepaid health plan shall place the client in
accordance with parts 9530.6625 to 9530.6650 and the second assessment.
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Subp. 2. Client’s right to appeal. A client has the right to a fair hearing under
Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045, if the client:

A. is denied an assessment under part 9530.6615;

B. is denied a second assessment under subpart 1;

C. is denied placement;

D. disagrees before services begin with the level of chemical dependency
care or the length of placement that the county or the prepaid health plan pro-
poses to authorize; or

E. is recerving authorized services and is denied additional services that
would extend the length of the current placement beyond the end date specified
in the placement authorization.

Notice of the right to appeal must be given according to part 9550.0092. Cli-
ents who are enrolled in a prepaid health plan and clients who are not enrolled
in a prepaid health plan have the same appeal rights.

Subp. 3. Services during appeal of additional services. Appealing under sub-
part 2, item E, does not entitle a client to continue receiving services beyond the
end date spemﬁed in the placement authorization while the-appeal is being
decided. A provider may continue services to the client beyond the end date spec-
ified in the placement authorization while the appeal is being decided, but the
conditions in items A and B govern payment for the continued services.

A. The provider shall be financially responsible for all hours or days of
service in excess of the amount of service to which an appeals referee determmes
the client is entitled.

B. The provider shall not charge the client for any services provided
beyond the end date specified in the placement authorization.

Subp. 4. Considerations in granting or denying additional services. The
county or the prepaid health plan shall take into consideration the following fac-
tors in determining whether to grant or deny additional services:

A. the usual and customary length of placement for the level of care
received by the client;

B. whether the client has achieved the objectives stated in the client’s
individual treatment plan;

C. whether the client is making satisfactory progress toward achieving
the objectives stated in the client’s individual treatment plan; and

D. whether there is an aftercare plan that reasonably addresses the cli-
ent’s needs for continued service.

Statutory Authority: MS s 245B.03; 2544 03
History: 16 SR 391

9530 7000 DEFINITIONS.
[For text of subps 1 to 9, see M.R.]

Subp. 9a. Custodial parent. “Custodial parent” means a birth or adoptive
parent who has physical custody or joint physical custody as defined in Minne-
sota Statutes, section 518.003, subdivision 3, paragraph (c) or (d) of a minor child
at the time of assessment.

[For text of subps 10 to 21, see M R]J

Statutory Authonty. MS s 245B.03; 2544.03
History: 16 SR 391

9530.7021 PAYMENT AGREEMENTS.
When the local agency, the client, and the vendor agree that the vendor will
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accept payment from a third-party payment source for an eligible client’s treat-
ment, the local agency, the client, and the vendor shall enter into a third-party
payment agreement. The agreement must stipulate that the vendor will accept,
as payment in full for services provided the client, the amount the third-party
payor is obligated to pay for services provided the client plus the amount of any
fee owed by the client as determined under part 9530.7022. The agreement must
be executed in a form prescribed by the commissioner and is not effective unless
an authorized representatlve of each of the three parties has signed it: The local
agency shall maintain a record of third-party payment agreements into which the
local agency has entered.

The vendor shall notify the local agency as soon as possible and not less than
one business day before discharging a client whose treatment is covered by a pay-
ment agreement under this part if the discharge is caused by d1srupt10n of the
third-party payment. ) .

Statutory Authority: MS s 245B.03; 2544.03
History: 16 SR 391

9530.7031 VENDOR’S DUTY TO COLLECT CLIENT FEES.

A vendor shall collect client fees according to the requirements of items A
to G.

A. A vendor of Category III or Category IV rehabilitation services shall
determine the fee for each client who has no responsible relative and who is not
the custodial parent of a minor child. The fee must be determined monthly
according to part 9530.7024 for each month the client receives rehabilitation ser-
vices from the vendor.

B. The vendor shall collect the fee from the client and provide the chent
with a recelpt on a form supplied by the department.

C. A client’s failure to pay a fee under this part is cause for dtscharge
from a vendor’s rehabilitation program only if the discharge is in accordance with
the vendor’s discharge and transfer poli¢y specified in part 9530.4300, subpart
5. However, clients committed according to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 253B,
shall be discharged only according to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 253B.

D. Within 15 days after the end of the month for which the fee was deter-
mined, the vendor shall remit to the departmént the client fee collected according
to this part and c11ent-1dent1fy1ng mformatlon ona form supplied by the commls-
sioner.

E. The commissioner shall pay the vendor, at least quarterly, an amount
equal to five percent of the chent fees collected by the vendor and remltted to the
commissioner,

F. The vendor’s obhgatlon to collect fees ends when the client is dis-
charged. . ‘ ’ '
G. The commissionér shall bill the client for any fee the client owes but
has not paid to the vendor accordmg to this part based on 1nformat10n supplied
by the vendor. ' - . ,

Statutory Authority: MS s 245B.03; 254A.03
History: 16 SR 391
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