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D. [Renumbered 9500.1208, item D] 

E. [Repealed, 10 SR 1715] 

9500.0531 [Renumbered 9500.1210] 

9500.0532 [Renumbered 9500.1212] 

9500.0540 [Renumbered 9500.1234] 

9500.0550 [Renumbered 9500.1236] 

9500.0560 [Renumbered 9500.1238] 

9500.0570 [Renumbered 9500.1240] 

9500.0580 [Renumbered 9500.1242] 

9500.0590 [Renumbered 9500.1244] 

9500.0600 [Renumbered 9500.1246] 

9500.0610 [Renumbered 9500.1248] 
MINNESOTA SUPPLEMENTAL AID 

9500.0650 STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR MINNESOTA SUPPLEMEN­
TAL AID PROGRAM. 

Parts 9500.0650 to 9500.0710 governs the administration of the Minnesota 
supplemental aid program as enacted by Laws of Minnesota 1974, chapter 487. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.41 

9500.0660 PURPOSE OF MINNESOTA SUPPLEMENTAL AID PRO­
GRAM. 

The purpose of the Minnesota supplemental aid program is to provide finan­
cial assistance to recipients of supplemental security income for the aged, blind, 
disabled (SSI), or to persons who, but for excess income or resources, would be 
receiving SSI, and who are found to have maintenance needs as determined by 
the application of the state standards in effect for the adult categories in Decem­
ber 1973, which exceed their income from SSI and other sources, and who would 
otherwise have qualified for the benefits under the programs of OAA, AB, or AD 
as such former programs were then in effect. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.41 

9500.0670 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Scope. The terms defined in this part shall have the meanings 

given them unless otherwise provided as indicated by the context. 
Subp. 2. Applicant for supplemental security income. "Applicant for supple­

mental security income" means an individual who has applied for supplemental 
security income and who, but for excess income or resources, would be a recipient 
of supplemental security income. 

Subp. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human 
services or his designee. 

Subp. 4. Department. "Department" means the Department of Human Ser­
vices. 

Subp. 5. Income. "Income" means earned and unearned income from any 
source whatsoever, reduced by amounts paid for federal and state personal 
income taxes and federal social security taxes. 

Subp. 6. Local agency. "Local agency" means the county welfare boards in 
the several counties of the state except that it may also include any multicounty 
welfare boards or departments where those have been established in accordance 
with law. 
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Subp. 7. Supplemental security income. "Supplemental security income" 
means benefits paid under the federal program of supplemental security income 
for the aged, blind, and disabled, title XVI of the Social Security Act, as enacted 
by section 301 of the Social Security Amendments of 1972. 

Subp. 8. Supplemental aid. "Supplemental aid" means state and county pay­
ments to eligible applicants for or recipients of supplemental security income, in 
accordance with the provisions of this act and rules promulgated by the commis­
sioner of welfare. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.41 
History: L 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58 

9500.0680 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS. 
Minnesota supplemental aid shall be granted to any person: 

A. who has attained the age of 65 years or who has met SSI criteria for 
blindness or disability; and 

B. whose net equity in real property: 
(1) if aged or disabled, does not exceed $10,000, which maximum 

will be increased to $ 12,000, effective July 1,1974, and to $ 15,000 effective Janu­
ary 1, 1975; or 

(2) if blind, does not exceed $ 15,000; and 
C. whose net equity in personal property: 

(1) if aged or disabled, convertible into cash does not exceed $300 
if single or if married does not exceed $450; 

(2) if aged, does not have in excess of $ 1,000 in cash surrender value 
of life insurance; or 

(3) if disabled, does not have in excess of $500 in cash surrender 
value of life insurance; or 

(4) if aged, blind, or disabled, does not have in excess of $750 in pre­
paid funeral contract plus accrual of interest therein not exceeding $200; 

(5) if blind and single, does not have in excess of $2,000 in undiffer­
entiated liquid assets, or if blind and married, together with his spouse does not 
have in excess of $4,000 in undifferentiated liquid assets, including therein up 
to $750 per person for a prepaid funeral contract plus an accrual of interest not 
over $200 per person; and 

(6) in the form of a mobile home used as a living abode will not be 
a bar to eligibility; and 

D. whose current income and resources, and those of his spouse if mar­
ried, are insufficient for maintaining a standard of living necessary for health and 
decency as determined by the application of the standards of allowances in effect 
in the adult categories of OAA, AB, and AD in December 1973 in the county 
wherein he is presently residing. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.41 

9500.0690 EVALUATION OF PROPERTY TRANSFERS. 
The establishment of an applicant's initial eligibility for, or a recipient's 

redetermination of eligibility for Minnesota supplemental aid in situations 
wherein the applicant or recipient has divested himself of resources without 
receiving a reasonable consideration therefor and which resources might other­
wise have been available for his support, is contrary to public policy and, in some 
instances, may constitute a criminal offense on behalf of both the donor and the 
donee of the resource. To prevent this practice, county agencies shall employ the 
following procedure and presumptions in assessing eligibility for Minnesota sup­
plemental aid. 

A. Each applicant or recipient shall be required to divulge whether 
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within the preceding three years he has transferred any property, real or personal, 
totaling in excess of $300 if single, or $450 if married, to any person or persons 
without receiving adequate consideration therefor. 

B. Any property transfer as denned in item A shall be presumed to be 
a gift in contravention of public policy, and the property so transferred shall be 
presumed to remain available for the support of the applicant or recipient if rea­
sonable effort is expended for its recovery. 

C. The applicant or recipient who has transferred property in violation 
of this part shall be required to provide to the county agency a description, 
including value, of the property, the name or names of all persons who received 
such property, and the circumstances under which the property was transferred. 

D. The applicant or recipient who has transferred property in violation 
of this part shall be required to make a reasonable effort, in cooperation with the 
county agency, to reacquire the property so transferred. 

E. The information required by item C and the efforts made to reacquire 
the property under item D shall be entered on the appropriate application or eli­
gibility redetermination forms. 

F. If the county agency is unable to persuade the donor and/or donee of 
the transferred property to have it returned to the applicant or recipient for his 
current support, then the matter of the property transfer shall be reported with 
full documentation to the county attorney for possible criminal prosecution. 

G. A transfer of property in violation of this part shall not of itself con­
stitute grounds for ineligibility for Minnesota supplemental aid if application of 
items C to F has failed to make the transferred property available for the support 
of the applicant or recipient. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.41 

9500.0700 DETERMINATION OF COUNTY OF FINANCIAL RESPONSI­
BILITY. 

Subpart 1. Definition. In all matters concerning payment of the county-
administered Minnesota supplemental aid, "county of financial responsibility" 
means: 

A. the county from which the applicant is receiving the federally admin­
istered supplemental aid; 

B. if the applicant was receiving old age assistance or aid to the blind 
or aid to the disabled in December 1973, but did not qualify for the federally 
administered supplement and now qualifies for the county-administered supple­
ment, that county from which he was receiving OAA, AB, or AD in December 
1973; 

C. if the applicant is a recipient of medical assistance either as an "MA 
only" case, or by having qualified for SSI benefits after January 1, 1974, the 
county from which he is receiving medical assistance; or 

D. if the applicant does not qualify under subpart 1, item A, B, or C it 
means the county in which he was residing as of the date his effective application 
for the county administered supplemental aid was signed. 

Subp. 2. Duration of county of financial responsibility status. The county thus 
determined to be financially responsible for payment for the county administered 
supplemental aid shall remain responsible for so long as his application remains 
in effect irrespective of his residence in other counties within this state thereafter. 
This supplemental grant is to be canceled whenever the recipient has been absent 
from the state for one calendar month or more. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.41 
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9500.0710 MINNESOTA SUPPLEMENTAL AID STANDARDS AND 
STATE PARTICIPATION. 

Subpart 1. Determination of need. Local agencies shall determine need in 
individual cases in accordance with the standards of assistance and related 
income exemptions as were in effect in the adult programs of OAA, AB, and AD 
in December 1973. 

Subp. 2. Amount of grant. The amount of the supplemental aid grant is the 
difference between what the applicant would have received in an OAA, AB, or 
AD grant in December 1973 and his current SSI including the federally adminis­
tered supplement. If the applicant is not eligible for SSI by reason of excess 
income and resources, then the supplemental grant shall be the difference 
between what he would have received in December 1973 in an OAA, AB, or AD 
grant and the total of his current income. 

Subp. 3. Grant recipient. The county administered supplemental aid grants 
shall be issued by the local agencies to the recipient or his protective-
representative payee or his conservator or guardian of estate in the form of 
county warrants immediately redeemable in cash. 

Subp. 4. State reimbursement to local agencies. The state will reimburse local 
agencies on a monthly basis for 50 percent of the actual payments made under 
this county-administered supplemental aid program. Payment for nonrecurring 
special needs is to be allowed for catastrophic major home repairs or replacement 
of a furnace, water heater, plumbing, or the electrical system. Other allowable 
special needs are for necessary repairs or replacement of household furniture and 
appliances, for moving expenses, and for annual fuel and utility adjustments for 
the difference between the standard allowances and verified consumption by 
recipients. 

Subp. 5. Allocation of net income. An applicant or recipient may allocate all 
his net income to provide for the basic unmet needs, not to exceed the total 
amount of the needs as determined by statewide standards, of persons that he is 
legally responsible to support, before he is expected to use such income for his 
own needs in all instances except: 

A. statutes exist which make provision for support of legal dependents 
in institutions; and 

B. the income is from a trust fund or other source which designates its 
use only for the applicant or recipient, or for some specific purpose. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.41 

9500.0750 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0760 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0770 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0780 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0790 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0800 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0810 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0820 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0830 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0840 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0850 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0860 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 
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9500.0900 [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 

9500.0910 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0920 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0930 Subpart 1. [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 
Subp. 2. [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 
Subp. 3. [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 
Subp. 4. [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 

9500.0940 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0950 [Repealed, 11 SR 1069] 

9500.0960 [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 

9500.0970 [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 

9500.0980 [Repealed, 10 SR 842] 

9500.0990 [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 

9500.1000 [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 

SERVICES UNDER THE MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

9500.1060 [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 

9500.1070 SERVICES COVERED BY MEDICAL ASSISTANCE. 
Subpart 1. In general. The following services are covered under the MA pro­

gram. 
Subp. 2. [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
Subp. 3. [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
Subp. 4. [Repealed, 14 SR 8] 
Subp. 5. [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
Subp. 6. [Repealed, 14 SR 8] 
Subp. 7. [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
Subp. 8. [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
Subp. 9. [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
Subp. 10. [Repealed, 10 SR 842; 12 SR 624] 
Subp. 11. [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
Subp. 12. Rehabilitative and therapeutic services. "Rehabilitative and thera­

peutic services" are provided for the purpose of increasing or maintaining the 
maximum level of functional independence of patients. These services are 
defined as follows and include the use of such supplies and equipment as neces­
sary, when pursuant to physician orders and when purchased by a facility, agency, 
or independent practitioner. 

Subp. 13. Rehabilitative and therapeutic services in long-term care facilities. 
Such services must be provided in accordance with applicable federal regula­
tions, state law, and the Department of Human Services rules. 

A. "Physical therapy" means those services prescribed by a physician 
and provided to a patient by a qualified physical therapist. In addition, other 
qualified rehabilitative personnel, including physical therapy assistants, physical 
therapy aides, and physical therapy orderlies may assist the physical therapist in 
performing physical therapy services and in the performance of duties that do not 
require a qualified physical therapist's knowledge and skill. The full responsibil­
ity for the patient's instruction or treatment remains with the qualified physical 
therapist in consultation with the attending physician. When services of support 
personnel are utilized, there must be direct, on-site observation and supervision 
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by the qualified physical therapist. A "qualified physical therapist" is a graduate 
of a school of physical therapy approved by the Council on Medical Education 
of the American Medical Association and the American Physical Therapy Associ­
ation, and who has a valid Minnesota certificate of registration (as soon as such 
certificate is available from the Minnesota Department of Health). 

B. "Occupational therapy" means those services prescribed by a physi­
cian and provided to a patient by a qualified occupational therapist. In addition, 
other qualified rehabilitative personnel, including occupational therapy assis­
tants, occupational therapy aides, and occupational therapy orderlies may assist 
the occupational therapist in performing occupational therapy services and in the 
performance of duties that do not require a qualified occupational therapist's 
knowledge and skill. The full responsibility for the patient's instruction or treat­
ment remains with the qualified occupational therapist in consultation with the 
attending physician. When services of support personnel are utilized, there must 
be direct, on-site observation and supervision by the qualified occupational ther­
apist. A "qualified occupational therapist" is a graduate of a school of occupa­
tional therapy approved by the Council on Medical Education of the American 
Medical Association and the American Occupational Therapy Association, 
and/or who is registered by the American Occupational Therapy Association. 

C. "Services for individuals with speech, hearing, and language dis­
orders" means those diagnostic, screening, preventive, or corrective services pre­
scribed by a physician and provided by a qualified speech pathologist or a 
qualified audiologist in the practice of his profession. A "qualified speech 
pathologist" or "qualified audiologist" shall have a certificate of clinical compe­
tence from the American Speech and Hearing Association, or shall have com­
pleted the equivalent educational requirements and work experience necessary 
for obtaining such a certificate, or shall have completed the academic program 
and be in the process of accumulating the necessary supervised work experience 
required to qualify for such a certificate. 

D. Specialized rehabilitative service requirements, inpatient and outpa­
tient are: 

(1) Restorative therapy. There must be a medically appropriate 
expectation that the patient's condition will improve significantly in a reasonably 
and generally predictable period of time. This expectation shall be based on an 
assessment made by the attending physician of the patient's restorative potential 
after consultation with qualified rehabilitative personnel. 

(2) Specialized maintenance therapy. Physician orders must relate 
the necessity for specialized maintenance therapy to the patient's particular dis­
abilities. Such therapy must be necessary for maintaining the patient's current 
level of functioning or for preventing deterioration of the patient's condition. 
Specialized maintenance therapy shall be provided only by qualified rehabilita­
tive personnel and only to those patients who cannot be adequately and appropri­
ately treated solely within the facility's nursing program. 

E. Billing and reimbursement. The long-term care facility in which the 
recipient resides shall bill on behalf of the rehabilitative personnel, agency or hos­
pital for services provided. In cases where a patient residing in a facility is pro­
vided specialized rehabilitative services in a setting other than his residential 
facility, the residential facility shall bill for services provided pursuant to agree­
ment with the agency, hospital, or other institution where the service is provided. 

Reimbursement to qualified rehabilitative personnel (including rehabilita­
tive assistants and aides) under contract with a facility: Each facility shall bill the 
MA program on behalf of qualified rehabilitative personnel providing services 
under contract to it. 

Reimbursement to qualified rehabilitative personnel (including supervised 
rehabilitative assistants and aides) salaried by the facility. Each facility shall bill 
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on behalf of salaried, qualified rehabilitative personnel for the services provided. 
At the end of each fiscal year, the facility shall: 

(1) Determine the total number of treatment sessions provided by 
each salaried, qualified rehabilitative employee during the fiscal year. A "treat­
ment session" is defined as one or more treatment procedures and/or modalities 
provided to one patient during one session. 

(2) Determine, for each qualified rehabilitative employee, the total 
number of treatment sessions (as defined herein) provided to eligible recipients 
and indicate this number as a percentage of the total number of treatment ses­
sions provided by the employee. 

(3) Multiply the resulting percentage by the salary of the employee. 
"Salary" means all direct costs related to employment. If medical assistance reim­
bursement exceeds the percentage of salary related to treatment sessions pro­
vided to medical assistance recipients, the excess amount shall be applied to and, 
therefore, reduce the "general and administration" expenses on the health facility 
cost report submitted by the respective facility. 

F. The following rehabilitative and therapeutic services are not reim­
bursable as a separate charge under the MA program when furnished in a long-
term care facility: 

(1) Services authorized by a physician but not documented in the 
patient's medical record. 

(2) Services provided by unsupervised assistants, aides and/or other 
supportive personnel. Salaries and costs related to these personnel are to be 
included as part of the facility's rate determination in accordance with the health 
facility cost report. 

(3) Rehabilitative services provided by nursing personnel. 
(4) Services for personal comfort. 
(5) Services of qualified rehabilitative personnel related to training 

or consultation of facility staff. 
(6) Activities programs. 
(7) Services of a rehabilitative nature provided by living unit per­

sonnel, qualified mental retardation professionals, direct care staff, and training 
or habilitational personnel. 

(8) Screening procedures not ordered by a physician. 
(9) Services not reasonable and necessary to the treatment of the 

patient's condition. 
(10) Services provided without written orders of the patient's 

attending physician. 
(11) Services provided without physician review of the patient's 

progress and plan of care at least once every 30 days, with written certification 
and recertification by the physician. 

(12) Services of a preventive or maintenance nature when physician 
orders do not relate such services to the patient's disabilities. 

(13) Physical therapy services not authorized after the initial 90-day 
service period by an independent medical consultant or the facility's utilization 
review committee, or through the local welfare agency's approved review plan 
only if authorization by an independent medical consultant or the utilization 
committee is not possible. 

(14) Outpatient services provided by a facility not certified as an 
outpatient provider. 

(15) Outpatient services provided off the facility's premises. 
(16) Services billed for by any source other than the skilled nursing 

facility, intermediate care facility, or intermediate care facility for persons with 
mental retardation or related conditions. 
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Subp. 14. Speech pathology, audiology, and physical therapy provided by inde­
pendent practitioners. Such services are of a diagnostic, screening, preventive, or 
corrective nature and provided to individuals with speech, hearing and language 
disorders, or physical impairments. Such services must be provided in accor­
dance with the applicable federal regulations, state law, and the Department of 
Human Services rules. 

A. "Speech pathology" means those services prescribed by a licensed 
physician and provided to a patient by a qualified speech pathologist in indepen­
dent practice. A "qualified speech pathologist in independent practice" shall have 
received a certificate of clinical competence from the American Speech and Hear­
ing Association (ASHA) or shall have submitted to the MA program an equiva­
lency statement from ASHA indicating that ASHA certification standards have 
been met. 

B. "Audiology" means those services prescribed by a licensed physician 
and provided to a patient by a qualified audiologist in independent practice. A 
"qualified audiologist in independent practice" shall have received the certificate 
of clinical competence from ASHA or shall have submitted to the MA program 
an equivalency statement from ASHA indicating that ASHA certification stan­
dards have been met. 

C. "Physical therapy" means those services prescribed by a licensed phy­
sician and provided to a patient by a qualified physical therapist in independent 
practice. A "qualified physical therapist in independent practice" is a graduate 
of a program of physical therapy approved by the Council on Medical Education 
of the American Medical Association in collaboration with the American Physi­
cal Therapy Association, has a valid Minnesota Certificate of Registration (as 
soon as such certificate is available from the Minnesota Department of Health), 
and has been certified as an independent practitioner by the Minnesota Depart­
ment of Health. 

D. The following services are not covered as independent practitioner 
services under the MA program: 

(1) services provided by an independent practitioner speech pathol­
ogist, audiologist, or physical therapist not maintaining at his own expense an 
office or office space and the necessary equipment to provide an adequate treat­
ment program; 

(2) services which are not physician prescribed; 
(3) any service authorized by a physician but not documented in the 

clinical record of the patient; 
(4) training or consultation provided by a speech pathologist, 

audiologist, or physical therapist to an agency, facility, or other institution; 
(5) screening procedures not physician authorized; 
(6) services provided under a written treatment plan which is not 

reviewed at least once every 30 days with certification and recertification by the 
ordering physician. 

E. The following services of independent practitioners must be billed 
through the contracting or employing facility, agency, or person and will not be 
reimbursed directly to the practitioner: 

(1) Services provided in settings other than the independent practi­
tioner speech pathologist's, audiologist's, or physical therapist's own office or the 
recipient's place of residence. "Place of residence" excludes skilled nursing facili­
ties, intermediate care facilities, hospitals, rehabilitation agencies, home health 
agencies, public health agencies, clinics, and day activity centers. 

(2) Services of a speech pathologist, audiologist, or physical thera­
pist employed and salaried by physicians. 

Subp. 15. Rehabilitation agencies. A "rehabilitation agency" is an agency 
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which provides an integrated multidisciplinary program designed to upgrade the 
physical function of handicapped, disabled individuals by bringing together as 
a team specialized rehabilitation personnel. At a minimum, a rehabilitation 
agency must provide physical therapy or speech pathology services, and a rehabil­
itation program which in addition to physical therapy or speech pathology ser­
vices, includes social or vocational adjustment services. Eligible providers 
include all rehabilitation agencies participating in the medicare program (title 
XVIII) who have signed and returned to the state agency a provider agreement 
within 60 days after receipt thereof. "Rehabilitation agency services" are those 
services provided by certified rehabilitation agencies in accordance with applica­
ble federal regulations, state law, and the Department of Human Services rules 
and defined as follows: 

A. "Medical services" are those services provided to a patient within the 
scope and practice of medicine as defined by Minnesota law and performed by 
a currently licensed physician. 

B. "Psychological services" are those services provided to a patient by 
a psychologist licensed to practice in the appropriate service areas, when medi­
cally necessary. 

C. "Psychosocial services" are those services provided to a patient by 
a social worker for whom a licensed physician assumes total professional and 
administrative responsibility as if the services were provided by the physician 
himself. To receive reimbursement under the MA program all psychosocial ser­
vices shall be ordered by a licensed physician. 

D. "Physical therapy" means those services prescribed by a licensed 
physician and provided to a patient by a qualified physical therapist. Other per­
sonnel may assist physical therapists in performing physical therapy services and 
in the performance of duties that do not require professional therapy knowledge 
and skill. The full responsibility for patient instruction or treatment remains with 
the qualified physical therapist in consultation with the attending physician. 
When services of support personnel are utilized, there must be direct on-site 
observation and supervision by the qualified physical therapist. 

E. "Occupational therapy" are those services prescribed by a licensed 
physician and provided to a patient by a qualified occupational therapist. Other 
personnel may assist occupational therapists in performing occupational therapy 
services and in the performance of duties that do not require professional therapy 
knowledge and skill. The full responsibility for patient instruction or treatment 
remains with the qualified occupational therapist in consultation with the attend­
ing physician. When services of support personnel are utilized, there must be 
direct on-site observation and supervision by the qualified occupational thera­
pist. 

F. "Speech pathology or audiology services for individuals with speech, 
hearing, and language disorders" are those diagnostic, screening, preventive, or 
corrective services provided by a qualified speech pathologist or audiologist in 
the practice of his profession for which a patient is referred by a licensed physi­
cian. 

G. "Special services" are physician-ordered and monitored evaluations, 
classes, clinics, or programs provided to patients generally by a rehabilitation 
team. 

H. The MA program will reimburse for services provided only by the 
following qualified personnel: 

(1) Physicians. A qualified physician who is currently licensed in the 
state of Minnesota to practice medicine or, if an out-of-state physician, who is 
licensed in the state of service. 

(2) Psychologists. A qualified psychologist who is currently licensed 
by the Minnesota State Board of Examiners of Psychologists as a licensed consult­
ing psychologist or a licensed psychologist. 
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(3) Social workers. A qualified social worker is an individual with 
a master's degree from a school of social work accredited by the Council on Social 
Work Education. 

(4) Physical therapists. A qualified physical therapist is a graduate 
of a program of physical therapy approved by the Council on Medical Education 
of the American Medical Association in collaboration with the American Physi­
cal Therapy Association, and has a valid Minnesota certificate of registration. 

(5) Occupational therapists. A qualified occupational therapist is a 
graduate of a school of occupational therapy approved by the Council on Medical 
Education of the American Medical Association and the American Occupational 
Therapy Association, and/or who is registered by the American Occupational 
Therapy Association. 

(6) Speech pathologists and audiologists. A qualified speech pathol­
ogist or audiologist is an individual with a certificate of clinical competence from 
the American Speech and Hearing Association or an individual who has com­
pleted the equivalent educational requirements and work experience necessary 
for obtaining such a certificate, or, who has completed the academic program and 
is in the process of accumulating the necessary supervised work experience 
required to qualify for such a certificate. 

I. Rehabilitation agencies, noncovered services include: 
(1) services provided without physician orders (excluding psycho­

logical services); 
(2) psychosocial services provided by a social worker when a 

licensed physician does not assume professional and administrative responsibil­
ity for such services; 

(3) services authorized by a physician but not documented in the 
patient's clinical record; and 

(4) services provided in day activity centers which are subsidiaries 
of rehabilitation agencies. 

Subp. 16. [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
[Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
[Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
[Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
[Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
[Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
[Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
[Repealed, 14 SR 8] 

Subp. 24. [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
Statutory Authority: MS s 252.28 subd 2; 256.991; 256B.04 subds 4,12; 

256B.092 subd 6; 256B.503 
History: L 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58; 10 SR 842; 12 SR 624; 12 SR 1148 

9500.1080 [Repealed, 12 SR 624] 
HOSPITAL MEDICAL ASSISTANCE REIMBURSEMENT 

9500.1090 PURPOSE AND SCOPE. 
Parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1155 establish a prospective reimbursement system 

for inpatient hospital services provided under medical assistance. 
All provisions of parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1155, except part 9500.1155, sub­

part 6, shall apply to general assistance medical care substituting the terms and 
data for general assistance medical care for the terms and data referenced for 
medical assistance. 

Effective January 1, 1987, reimbursements for medical assistance shall be 

Subp. 
Subp. 
Subp. 
Subp. 
Subp. 
Subp. 
Subp. 

17. 
18, 
19, 
20, 
21, 
22. 
23, 
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partitioned into reimbursements for persons determined eligible for Aid to Fami­
lies with Dependent Children or Aid to Families with Dependent Children 
extended medical coverage and for persons determined eligible for medical assis­
tance on some other basis, including persons eligible because of receipt of Supple­
mental Security Income and Minnesota Supplemental Aid and persons eligible 
as medically needy. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subd 6 
History: 10 SR 227; 11 SR 1688; 13 SR 1689 

9500.1095 STATUTORY AUTHORITY. 
Parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1155 are authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 

256.969, subdivisions 2 and 6. Parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1155 must be read in 
conjunction with Titles XVIII and XIX of the Social Security Act, Code of Fed­
eral Regulations, title 42, Minnesota Statutes, chapters 256,256B, and 256D, and 
parts 9505.0500 to 9505.0540. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subd 6 
History: 10 SR 227; 13 SR 1689 

9500.1100 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Scope. As used in parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1155, the terms in sub­

parts 2 to 50 have the meanings given them. 
Subp. 2. Adjusted base year cost per admission. "Adjusted base year cost per 

admission" means an allowable base year cost per admission cumulatively multi­
plied by the hospital cost index through a hospital's current year. 

Subp. 3. Admission. "Admission" means the act that allows a recipient to 
officially enter a hospital to receive inpatient hospital services under the supervi­
sion of a physician who is a member of the medical staff. 

Subp. 4. Admission certification. "Admission certification" means the deter­
mination pursuant to parts 9500.0750 to 9500.1080, 9505.0500 to 9505.0540, 
9505.5000 to 9505.5030, 9505.5105, and 9505.1000 to 9505.1040 that inpatient 
hospitalization is medically necessary. 

Subp. 4a. Aid to Families with Dependent Children or AFDC. "Aid to Fami­
lies with Dependent Children" or "AFDC" means the program authorized under 
title IV-A of the Social Security Act to provide financial assistance and social ser­
vices to needy families with dependent children. 

Subp. 5. Allowable base year cost per admission. "Allowable base year cost 
per admission" means a hospital's base year reimbursable inpatient hospital cost 
per admission that is adjusted for case mix, excludes pass-through costs and 
includes the reimbursable inpatient hospital costs of outliers up to their trim 
points. 

Subp. 6. Ancillary service. "Ancillary service" means inpatient hospital ser­
vices that include laboratory, radiology, drugs, delivery room, operating room, 
therapy services, and other special items and services customarily charged for in 
addition to a routine service charge. 

Subp. 7. Appeals board. "Appeals board" means the board that advises the 
commissioner on a hospital's request for adjustments to reimbursements made 
under the prospective reimbursement system. 

Subp. 8. Arithmetic mean cost per admission. "Arithmetic mean cost per 
admission" means the number obtained by dividing the sum of a set of reimburs­
able inpatient hospital costs per admission by the number of admissions in the 
set. 

Subp. 8a. Arithmetic mean length of stay. "Arithmetic mean length of stay" 
means (the number of days spent in a hospital for all admissions, including outli­
ers, but excluding days in excess of an outlier's trim point) divided by the number 
of admissions. 
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Subp. 9. Base year. "Base year" means a hospital's fiscal year ending during 
calendar year 1981. 

Subp. 10. Budget year. "Budget year" means a hospital's fiscal year for which 
a prospective reimbursement system is being determined. 

Subp. 11. Case mix. "Case mix" means a distribution of admissions in the 
diagnostic categories. 

Subp. 12. Categorical rate per admission. "Categorical rate per admission" 
means the [(adjusted base year cost per admission multiplied by the budget year 
hospital cost index and multiplied by the relative value of the appropriate diag­
nostic category) plus the budget year pass-through cost per admission]. 

Subp. 13. Claims. "Claims" means information contained on the inpatient 
hospital invoices submitted to the department on forms or computer tape by a 
hospital to request reimbursement for inpatient hospital services provided to a 
recipient. 

Subp. 14. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the 
Department of Human Services or an authorized representative of the commis­
sioner. 

Subp. 15. Cost outlier. "Cost outlier" means an admission whose reimburs­
able inpatient hospital cost exceeds the geometric mean cost per admission for 
diagnostic category O, under subpart 20 by one standard deviation and diagnos­
tic category W, under subpart 20, by three standard deviations. 

Subp. 16. Cost-to-charge ratio. "Cost-to-charge ratio" means a ratio of a hos­
pital's reimbursable inpatient hospital costs to its charges for inpatient hospital 
services. 

Subp. 17. Current year. "Current year" means a hospital's fiscal year which 
occurs immediately before that hospital's budget year. 

Subp. 18. Day outlier. "Day outlier" means an admission whose length of 
stay exceeds the geometric mean length of stay for diagnostic categories A to N, 
and P to II, under subpart 20 by two standard deviations or for diagnostic cate­
gory O, under subpart 20 by one standard deviation. 

Subp. 19. Department. "Department" means the Minnesota Department of 
Human Services. 

Subp. 20. Diagnostic categories. "Diagnostic categories" means the list of 
diagnosis related groups in the diagnostic classification system established under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969, subdivision 2, according to the diagnosis 
related groups (DRGs) under medicare with adjustments as follows: 

Diagnostic Categories DRG Numbers Within the 
Diagnostic Category 

A. Diseases and Disorders of 
the Nervous System 
A.l. (2,7,10,16,18,28,34) 
A.2. (1,3-5,9,11-15,20,22, 

27, 29, 35) 
A.3. (6,'8, 17, 19,21,23-26, 

30-33) 
B. Diseases and Disorders of 

the Eye (36-48) 
C. Diseases and Disorders of 

the Ear, Nose, Mouth, and 
Throat 
C.l. (70,74) 
C.2. (64-69,71-73,185-187) 
C.3. (49-63, 168, 169) 
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D. 

F. 

H. 

K. 

Diseases and Disorders of 
the Respiratory System 
D.l. 

D.2. 

Diseases and Disorders of 
the Circulatory System 
E.l. 

E.2. 
E.3. 
E.4. 
Diseases and Disorders of 
the Digestive System 
F.l. 
F.2. 

F.3. 

F.4. 

Diseases and Disorders of 
the Hepatobiliary System 
and Pancreas 
G.l. 
G.2. 
Diseases and Disorders of 
the Musculoskeletal System 
and Connective Tissues 
H.l. 

H.2. 
H.3. 
H.4. 

Diseases and Disorders of 
the Skin, Subcutaneous 
Tissue and Breast 
1.1. 

1.2. 

Endocrine, Nutritional, and 
Metabolic Diseases and 
Disorders 
J.l. 

J.2. 

Diseases and Disorders of 
the Kidney and Urinary Tract 
K.l. 

K.2. 

(75-89,93,94,101,474, 
475) 
(90-92,95-97,99, 100, 
102) 

(121-127, 129-133, 135-
140, 144, 145) 
(103-118,120) 
(128,134,141-143) 
(119) 

(172-176, 179, 180, 188) 
(177,178,181-183,189, 
190) 
(146-156, 159, 161, 164-
166, 170, 171) 
(157-158,160, 162,163, 
167) 

(191-201) 
(202-208) 

(209-215,217-219,223, 
226,228,233,234,471) 
(243, 246-252, 254-256) 
(235-242, 244, 245, 253) 
(216,220-222,224-225, 
227, 229-232) 

(259-262, 267, 268, 270, 
276-284) 
(257, 258, 263-266, 269, 
271-275) 

(285-289, 292, 293, 296, 
297, 300, 301) 
(290,291,294,295,298, 
299) 

(302-310,313,315,316, 
318-320,331,333) 
(311,312,314,317,321-
330, 332) 
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L. Diseases and Disorders of 
the Male Reproductive System (334-352) 

M. Diseases and Disorders of 
the Female Reproductive 
System (353-369) 

N. Pregnancy, Childbirth, and 
the Puerperium (376-384) 

O. Newborns and Other Neonates 
with Conditions Originating 
in the Perinatal Period 

P. Diseases and Disorders of 
the Blood and Blood-Forming 
Organs and Immunity Disorders 
P.l. (395,397,398) 
P.2. (396,399) 
P.3. (392-394) 

Q. Myeloproliferative Diseases 
and Disorders, Poorly 
Differentiated Malignancy and 
Other Neoplasms NEC 
Q.l. (400-402,406-408,473) 
Q.2. (403-405,409-414) 

R. Infectious and Parasitic 
Diseases (Systemic or 
Unspecified Sites) 
R.l. (415-418,423) 
R.2. (419-422) 

S. Mental Diseases and Disorders (424-425, 427-429, 432) 
T. Substance Use and Substance 

Induced Organic Mental 
Disorders (Ages 0-20) (433, 434, 435) 

U. Substance Use and Substance 
Induced Organic Mental 
Disorders (Ages over 20) (433, 434, 435) 

V. Injury, Poisoning, and Toxic 
Effects of Drugs 
V.l. (445,452-454) 
V.2. (444,446-451,455) 
V.3. (439-443) 

W. Burns 
W.l. (457-459) 
W.2. (456, 460, 472) 

X. Factors Influencing Health 
Status and Other Contacts 
with Health Services (461 -467) 

Y. Bronchitis and Asthma 
(Ages 0-1) (98) 

Z. Bronchitis and Asthma 
(Ages 2-17) (98) 

AA. Esophagitis, Gastroenteritis, 
Miscellaneous Digestive 
Disorders (Ages 0-1) (184) 

BB. Esophagitis, Gastroenteritis, 
Miscellaneous Digestive 
Disorders (Ages 2-17) (184) 

CC. Caesarean sections (370-371) 
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DD. 

EE. 

FF. 
GG. 
HH. 

II. 

JJ. 

KK. 
LL. 

MM. 

NN. 

Vaginal delivery with 
complicating diagnosis 
or operating room 
procedures 
Vaginal delivery without 
complicating diagnosis 
or operating room 
procedures and 
Normal newborns 
Depressive neurosis 
Psychosis 
Childhood mental disorders 
Unrelated Operating room 
procedure 
Cases which could not be 
assigned to other diagnostic 
categories 
Extreme Immaturity 
Prematurity with Major 
Problems 
Prematurity without Major 
Problems 
Full term Neonates or 
Neonates Died or Transferred 

(372,374-375) 

(373,391) 
(426) 
(430) 
(431) 

(468, 476, 477) 

(469-470) 
(386) 

(387) 

(388) 

(385, 389, 390) 

Subp. 21. Discharge. "Discharge" means a release of a recipient from a hos­
pital. 

Subp. 21a. [Repealed, 13 SR 1689] 
Subp. 22. General assistance medical care or GAMC. "General assistance 

medical care" or "GAMC means the program established by Minnesota Stat­
utes, section 256D.03. 

Subp. 23. Geometric mean cost per admission. "Geometric mean cost per 
admission" means the nth root of the product of the reimbursable inpatient hos­
pital costs per admission for n admissions. 

Subp. 24. Geometric mean length of stay. "Geometric mean length of stay" 
means the nth root of the product of the number of days spent in a hospital for 
each admission for n admissions. 

Subp. 24a. Health care financing administration or HCFA. "Health care 
financing administration" or "HCFA" means the division of the United States 
Department of Health and Human Services that administers the medicare and 
medical assistance programs according to titles XVIII and XIX of the Social 
Security Act. 

Subp. 25. Hospital. "Hospital" means an institution that, except for state-
operated facilities, is approved to participate as a hospital under medicare. 

Subp. 26. Hospital cost index or HCI. "Hospital cost index" or "HO" means 
a single percentage annually multiplied by the adjusted base year cost per admis­
sion or the adjusted base year costs to adjust for inflation. 

Subp. 27. Inpatient hospital service. "Inpatient hospital service" means a ser­
vice provided by or under the supervision of a physician after a recipient's admis­
sion to a hospital and furnished in the hospital for the care and treatment of the 
recipient. The inpatient hospital service may be furnished by a hospital, physi­
cian, or a vendor of an ancillary service which is prescribed by a physician and 
which is eligible for medical assistance or general assistance medical care reim­
bursement. 

Subp. 28. Local agency. "Local agency" means a county or multicounty 
agency authorized under Minnesota Statutes as the agency responsible for deter­
mining eligibility for medical assistance. 
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Subp. 29. Medical assistance or MA. "Medical assistance" or "MA" means 
the program established under Title XIX of the Social Security Act and Minne­
sota Statutes, chapter 256B. For purposes of parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1155, 
except part 9500.1155, subpart 6, "medical assistance" includes general assis­
tance medical care unless otherwise specified. 

Subp. 30. Medically necessary. "Medically necessary" means an inpatient 
hospital service that is consistent with the recipient's diagnosis or condition, and 
under the criteria in part 9505.0540 cannot be provided on an outpatient basis. 

Subp. 30a. Medically needy. "Medically needy" refers to the definition under 
the Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.4 (2), as amended through 
October 1, 1985. 

Subp. 31. Medicare. "Medicare" means the federal health insurance program 
established under Title XVIII of the Social Security Act. 

Subp. 32. Medicare crossover claims. "Medicare crossover claims" means 
information contained on the inpatient hospital invoices submitted to the depart­
ment on forms or computer tape by a hospital to request reimbursement for med­
icare eligible inpatient hospital services provided to a recipient who is also 
eligible for medicare. 

Subp. 33. Metropolitan statistical area hospital or MSA hospital. "Metropoli­
tan statistical area hospital" or "MSA hospital" means a hospital located in a met­
ropolitan statistical area as determined by Medicare. 

Subp. 33a. Minnesota supplemental aid. "Minnesota supplemental aid" 
means the program established under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256D.35 to 
256D.43. 

Subp. 34. Nonmetropolitan statistical area hospital or non-MSA hospital. 
"Nonmetropolitan statistical area hospital" or "non-MSA hospital" means a hos­
pital not located in a metropolitan statistical area as determined by Medicare. 

Subp. 35. Operating costs. "Operating costs" means reimbursable inpatient 
hospital costs excluding pass-through costs. 

Subp. 36. Outlier. "Outlier" means a day outlier or a cost outlier. 
Subp. 37. Out-of-area hospital. "Out-of-area hospital" means any hospital 

outside of Minnesota. 
Subp. 38. Pass-through costs. "Pass-through costs" means reimbursable 

inpatient hospital costs not subject to the HCI. 
Subp. 39. Prior authorization. "Prior authorization" means prior approval 

for inpatient hospital services by the department established under parts 
9505.5000 to 9505.5030 and 9505.5105. 

Subp. 40. Prior year. "Prior year" means the hospital's fiscal year immedi­
ately before the current year. 

Subp. 41. Prospective reimbursement system. "Prospective reimbursement 
system" means a method of reimbursing hospitals for inpatient hospital services 
on a categorical rate per admission, out-of-area hospital categorical rate per 
admission, categorical rate per admission for MSA and non-MSA hospitals state­
wide that do not have admissions in the base year, transfer reimbursement, rate 
per admission, or rate per day, or a combination thereof, determined by the 
department in advance of the delivery of inpatient hospital services. 

Subp. 42. Readmission. "Readmission" means an admission that occurs 
within 15 days of a discharge of the same recipient. The 15-day period does not 
include the day of discharge or the day of readmission. 

Subp. 43. Recipient. "Recipient" means a person who has applied to a local 
agency and has been determined eligible for medical assistance. 

Subp. 43a. Recipient resources. "Recipient resources" means that amount of 
money owed to a provider for a claim under the spend down provisions of the 
medically needy coverages of medical assistance. 
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Subp. 44. Reimbursable inpatient hospital costs. "Reimbursable inpatient 
hospital costs" means those costs allowable under Title XVIII of the Social Secur­
ity Act for inpatient hospital services. 

Subp. 45. Relative value. "Relative value" means the arithmetic mean of the 
reimbursable inpatient hospital cost per admission, excluding reimbursable inpa­
tient hospital costs in excess of applicable trim points in each diagnostic category 
in relation to the arithmetic mean of the reimbursable inpatient hospital cost per 
admission, excluding reimbursable inpatient hospital costs in excess of applica­
ble trim points of all admissions in all the diagnostic categories on a statewide 
basis. 

Subp. 46. Routine service. "Routine service" means those inpatient hospital 
services included by a hospital in a daily room charge. Routine services are com­
posed of two broad components: (1) general routine services, and (2) special care 
units including nursery care units, coronary care units, and intensive care units. 

Subp. 47. Second surgical opinion. "Second surgical opinion" means the con­
firmation or denial of the need for a proposed surgery by a recommended second 
physician as specified in parts 9505.5035 to 9505.5105 and Minnesota Statutes, 
section 256B.503. 

Subp. 47a. Supplemental security income. "Supplemental security income" 
means income acquired under title XVI of the Social Security Act. 

Subp. 48. Total hospital admissions. "Total hospital admissions" means the 
total number of acts that allow persons to officially enter a hospital during the 
base year to receive a service provided under the supervision of a physician and 
furnished in a hospital by a physician, or a vendor of an ancillary service pre­
scribed by a physician. 

Subp. 49. Total reimbursable costs. "Total reimbursable costs" means the 
costs identified in a hospital's base year medicare/medical assistance cost report, 
Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA) Form 2552, 1981 revision, 
Worksheet A, column 7, line 84. The 1981, 1983, and 1985 revisions of the 
Health Care Financing Administration Form 2552 are incorporated by reference. 
The forms are available at the state law library, Ford Building, St. Paul, Minne­
sota, and are subject to frequent change. They are published by Blue Cross and 
Blue Shield of Minnesota, Medicare, Part A Office, 3535 Blue Cross Road, P.O. 
Box 43560, St. Paul, Minnesota 55164. 

Subp. 50. Transfer. "Transfer" means the movement of a recipient after 
admission from one hospital directly to another. 

Subp. 51. Trim point. "Trim point" means that number of days or that 
amount of reimbursable inpatient hospital cost beyond which an admission is an 
outlier. 

Subp. 52. Usual and customary. "Usual and customary" means the type of 
fee charged for a health service regardless of payer. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subds 2,6 
History: 10 SR 227; 11 SR 987; 11 SR 1688; 12 SR 1617; 13 SR 1689; 14 SR 

8 

9500.1105 REIMBURSEMENT OF INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES. 
The department shall use a prospective reimbursement system to reimburse 

hospitals for inpatient hospital services provided to recipients. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subds 2,6 
History: 10 SR 227 

9500.1110 DETERMINATION AND PUBLICATION OF RELATIVE VAL­
UES OF DIAGNOSTIC CATEGORIES. 

Subpart 1. Determination of relative values. To determine the relative values 
of the diagnostic categories the department shall: 
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A. select all claims for all hospitals statewide for state fiscal years 1983 
and 1984; 

B. assign each claim from item A to the specific admission which gener­
ated the claim except as provided in item C; 

C. exclude from item B the following claims: 
(1) medicare crossover claims; 
(2) claims submitted by out-of-area hospitals; and 
(3) claims not reimbursed as of February 28, 1985; 

D. determine reimbursable inpatient hospital costs for each hospital's 
admissions for state fiscal years 1983 and 1984 using each hospital's base year 
data from the HCFA Form 2552 Worksheet, 1981 revision according to subitems 
(l) to(4): 

(1) determine the cost of routine services by multiplying the routine 
services charge for each admission identified in item B by the appropriate routine 
service cost-to-charge ratio determined from the base year medicare/medical 
assistance cost report, using data from HCFA Form 2552, 1981 revision, Works­
heet C; 

(2) determine the cost of ancillary services by multiplying the ancil­
lary charges for each admission identified in item B by the appropriate cost-to-
charge ratio from the base year medicare/medical assistance cost report, using 
data from HCFA Form 2552, 1981 revision, Worksheet C, 

(3) determine the cost of services rendered by interns and residents 
not in an approved teaching program for each admission in item B by multiplying 
the number of days for the appropriate routine services by the per diem cost iden­
tified in Worksheet D-2, Part I of the base year; and 

(4) sum subitems (1) to (3) to determine the reimbursable inpatient 
hospital cost for each admission in item B; 

E. assign each admission identified in item B to the appropriate diagnos­
tic related group under medicare using a version of the Transfer Tape for ICD-
9-CM Diagnosis Related Groups Assignment Software distributed and devel­
oped by DRG Support Group Limited, a subsidiary of Health Systems 
International, Incorporated, or the system in use by medicare, provided that the 
system of DRG assignment used must be used exclusively and uniformly 
throughout all determinations of rates and adjudications under parts 9500.1090 
to 9500.1155; 

F. assign each admission to a diagnostic category; 
G. identify outliers for each diagnostic category; 
H. for each cost outlier, truncate the cost at the value of the cost outlier 

trim point; 
I. for each day outlier, truncate that day outlier's reimbursable inpatient 

hospital cost by multiplying (the day outlier's reimbursable inpatient hospital 
cost by the ratio of the admission's trim point divided by the day outlier's length 
of stay), and then by multiplying the truncated reimbursable inpatient hospital 
cost by a factor 'x' determined as follows: 

[Length of Stay - (0.6 x outlier days)] 
X = 

Total days through the trim point 

When diagnostic category O under part 9500.1100, subpart 20 is used in this 
formula, the department shall substitute 0.6 in the formula with 0.8; 

J. determine the statewide arithmetic mean cost per admission for all 
admissions by dividing (the total reimbursable inpatient hospital costs for all 
admissions less the amounts determined in items H and I in excess of the applica­
ble trim point) by the total number of admissions including outliers; 
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K. determine the statewide arithmetic mean cost per admission for each 
diagnostic category by dividing (the total reimbursable inpatient hospital costs 
in each diagnostic category less the amounts determined in items H and I in 
excess of the outlier trim points) by the total number of admissions in each diag­
nostic category including outliers; and 

L. determine the relative value for each diagnostic category by dividing 
item K by item J. 

Subp. 2. Redetermination of relative values. The department shall redeter­
mine the relative values of the diagnostic categories prior to the beginning of each 
state fiscal biennium. The redetermination of the relative values shall be based 
on claims from the two most recently completed state fiscal years reimbursed on 
or before March 1 of the second year of the biennium and the cost-to-charge 
ratios determined during the base year. 

These redetermined relative values shall be the basis of reimbursement for 
the next biennium. 

Subp. 3. Publication of relative values. The department shall publish in the 
State Register the relative values of each diagnostic category at least 30 days prior 
to the start of a biennium. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subds 2,6 
History: 10 SR 227; 11 SR 1688 

9500.1115 DETERMINATION OF ALLOWABLE BASE YEAR COST PER 
ADMISSION. 

To determine the allowable base year cost per admission the department 
shall: 

A. determine reimbursable inpatient hospital costs for each hospital's 
base year admissions according to part 9500.1110, subpart 1, item D, substitut­
ing the terms and data for base year admissions for the terms and data referenced 
for state fiscal years 1983 and 1984; 

B. subtract from the amount determined in item A the amounts in sub-
items (1) and (2): 

(1) reimbursable inpatient hospital costs for outliers in excess of 
their trim points as determined for outliers under part 9500.1110, subpart 1, 
items H and I, and 

(2) pass-through costs, except malpractice insurance costs, appor­
tioned to medical assistance based on the ratio of reimbursable inpatient hospital 
costs as adjusted in subitem (1) to total reimbursable costs; 

C. divide the reimbursable inpatient hospital costs as adjusted in item 
B by the number of base year admissions in each hospital including outliers; 

D. adjust item C for case mix as follows: 
(1) assign each base year admission a diagnostic category as speci­

fied in part 9500.1110, subpart 1, items E and F, 
(2) multiply the hospital's number of base year admissions within 

each diagnostic category including outliers by the relative value of that diagnostic 
category, 

(3) sum the products determined in subitem (2), 
(4) divide the sum from subitem (3) by the number of base year 

admissions including outliers, and 
(5) divide the cost per admission as determined in item C by sub-

item (4). 
Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subds 2,6 
History: 10 SR 227; 11 SR 1688 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1991

Copyright © 1991 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



9519 ASSISTANCE PAYMENTS PROGRAMS 9500.1125 

9500.1120 DETERMINATION AND PUBLICATION OF HOSPITAL COST 
INDEX (HCI). 

Subpart 1. Adoption of Health Care Costs. The most recent Health Care 
Costs published by Data Resources Incorporated (DRI) is incorporated by refer­
ence. The health care costs report is available through the minitex interlibrary 
loan system. The report is published monthly. 

Subp. 2. Determination of HCI. For each calendar quarter the department 
shall determine the HCI as follows: 

A. For each calendar quarter obtain from Health Care Costs published 
by Data Resources, Inc., inflation estimates for the following operating costs: 

(1) salaries; 
(2) employee benefits; 
(3) medical fees; 
(4) raw food; 
(5) medical supplies; 
(6) pharmaceuticals; 
(7) utilities; 
(8) repairs and maintenance; 
(9) insurance (other than malpractice); 
(10) other operating costs. 

B. During the fourth quarter of each calendar year, obtain data for oper­
ating costs as found in the aggregate of hospitals in Minnesota which indicate the 
proportion of operating costs attributable to each of item A, subitems (1) to (10). 
These proportions will be used in the determination of the HCI for the next calen­
dar year. 

C. Multiply each proportion for item A, subitems (1) to (10) by each sub-
item's inflation estimate. 

D. Sum the products determined in item C and round the sum to one 
decimal place. 

Subp. 3. Publication of HCI. The department shall publish the HCI in the 
State Register 30 days prior to the start of each calendar quarter. A hospital 
whose budget year starts during a given calendar quarter is subject to the HCI 
published 30 days prior to the start of that quarter. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subds 2,6 
History: 10 SR 227 

9500.1125 DETERMINATION OF CATEGORICAL RATE PER ADMIS­
SION FOR A MINNESOTA HOSPITAL. 

Subpart 1. Pass-through cost reports. For each hospital's budget year, the 
hospital shall submit to the department a written report of pass-through costs, 
total charges billed to all payers for inpatient hospital services, total admissions 
for all payers, total days of inpatient hospital services for all payers, total Medical 
Assistance AFDC admissions, and total general assistance admissions. A pass-
through cost report for a hospital budget year that begins on or after July 1, 1987, 
must separate medical assistance admissions data into AFDC or non-AFDC 
admissions data. Pass-through cost reports must include actual data for the prior 
year and budgeted data for the current and budget years. Pass-through cost 
reports are due 60 days before the start of each hospital's budget year and must 
include the following information: 
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Prior Current Budget 
Items Year Year Year 

(Actual) (Budget) (Budget) 
A. Pass-through costs 
(1) Depreciation 
(2) Rents and leases 
(3) Property taxes • 
(4) Property insurance 
(5) Interest 
(6) Malpractice insurance 
(7) Total Pass-Through 

Costs (Subitems 
(l)to(7)) 

B. Total charges billed to 
all payers for inpatient 
hospital services 

C. Total admissions 
for all payers 

D. Total days of inpatient 
hospital services 
for all payers 

E. Total MA AFDC 
admissions • 

F. Total MA non-AFDC 
admissions 

G. Total GAMC admissions 

Pass-through costs are limited to item A, as determined by medicare. Pass-
through costs do not include costs derived from capital projects requiring a certif­
icate of need for which the required certificate of need has not been granted. 

A hospital shall submit to the department a copy of the HCFA Form 2552 
and the amended HCFA Form 2552 that the hospital submits to medical assis­
tance. An HCFA Form 2552 or an amended HCFA Form 2552 must be submit­
ted to the department within ten working days of the day on which the form is 
submitted to medicare. 

If medicare stops requiring HCFA Form 2552 or if the medicare/medical 
assistance cost report required by medicare no longer identifies capital or mal­
practice insurance costs in a way that is consistent with the 1985 version of 
HCFA Form 2552, the department may require a hospital to continue to com­
plete and submit to the department the 1985 version of HCFA Form 2552, Work­
sheet D-8, part I; and Worksheet D, parts I and II. 

Subp. 2. Determination of budget year pass-through cost per admission. The 
department shall determine the budget year pass-through cost per admission 
from the submitted pass-through cost report as specified in subpart 1 as follows: 

Items 

Ratio of reimbursable 
inpatient hospital 
costs as determined in 
part 9500.1115, item A 
to total reimbursable 
costs 

Prior 
Year 

(Actual) 

Current 
Year 
(Budget) 

Budget 
Year 
(Budget) 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1991

Copyright © 1991 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



9521 ASSISTANCE PAYMENTS PROGRAMS 9500.1125 

B. Pass-through costs as 
specified in subpart 
1, item A, subitem 
(7), multiplied 
by item A 

C. Number of 
Medical Assistance 
admissions including 
outliers 

D. Pass-through cost 
per admission (item 
B divided by item C) 

Subp. 3. Categorical rate per admission. The department shall determine the 
categorical rate per admission as follows: 

[(Adjusted base year cost per 
Categorical admission multiplied by the budget 
Rate Per = year HCI and multiplied by the 
Admission relative value of the appropriate 

diagnostic category), plus the budget year 
pass-through cost per admission] 

Subp. 4. Pass-through cost adjustment. After the end of each budget year, the 
commissioner shall redetermine the budget year pass-through cost payable by 
medical assistance for that budget year for a Minnesota hospital as follows: 

A. For each routine service, divide the capital costs as determined on 
HCFA Form 2552 by the total number of days of inpatient hospital service for 
all payers; for example, on the 1985 version of Form 2552, on Worksheet D, Part 
I, divide column 1 by column 5 for each routine service type. This determination 
produces an allowable per-day capital cost for each routine service type. 

B. Multiply the allowable per-day capital cost for each routine service 
type as determined in item A by the number of medical assistance days of inpa­
tient hospital services covered during the year for the corresponding routine ser­
vice type. This determination produces an allowable medical assistance share of 
the allowable capital costs allocated to each type of routine service. 

C. Determine the ratio of overall allowable capital costs to total charges 
for each type of ancillary service; for example, on the 1985 version of HCFA 
Form 2552, on Worksheet D, Part II, divide column 1 by column 5 for each type 
of ancillary service. Then multiply each ratio by the medical assistance charges 
billed during the year for the corresponding type of ancillary service. This deter­
mination produces an allowable medical assistance share of the allowable capital 
costs allocated to each type of ancillary service. 

D. Determine the allowable medical assistance share of malpractice 
insurance costs, using the current method identified in HCFA Form 2552, Work­
sheet D-8; for example, from the 1985 version of HCFA Form 2552, Worksheet 
D-8, Part I, Column 3, line 1. 

E. Sum the allowable medical assistance shares of capital costs and mal­
practice costs determined in items B to D to get the total medical assistance share 
of the hospital's allowable pass-through costs for the year. 

F. Multiply the actual number of medical assistance admissions to the 
hospital during the year times the budgeted pass-through cost per-admission used 
in paying claims for inpatient hospital services during the year for which the 
adjustment is being calculated. 

G. Subtract the amount determined at item F from the medical assis­
tance share of allowable pass-through costs for the completed year. The remain­
der is the pass-through cost adjustment payable to the hospital. Negative 
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amounts must be deducted by the department from future payments to the hospi­
tal or paid to the department by the hospital separately within 60 days of final 
determination of the amount owed. Positive amounts must be paid by the depart­
ment to a hospital within 60 days of final determination of the amount owed. If 
a hospital is required by the commissioner to make separate payments of adjust­
ment amounts owed to the department, those payments must be made within 60 
days of the date of notification. 

H. Amounts owed by or to the department shall earn interest at the rate 
charged at that time by the commissioner of the Department of Revenue for late 
payment of taxes, beginning for the department on the 61st day following deter­
mination of an amount owed to a hospital, and for a hospital on the 66th day fol­
lowing the day of the determination of the amount owed by the hospital, but no 
interest shall be charged to a hospital unless an explicit request for separate pay­
ment has been made by the commissioner. 

Subp. 5. [Repealed, 11 SR 1688] 
Subp. 6. Effective date. The categorical rate per admission; out-of-area cate­

gorical rate per admission; categorical rate per admission for MSA or non-MSA 
hospitals that do not have admissions in the base year; transfer reimbursement; 
and an outlier reimbursement if appropriate, shall be effective for all admissions 
that occur on or after July 29, 1985. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subds 2,6 
History: 10 SR 227; 11 SR 1688 

9500.1126 RECAPTURE OF DEPRECIATION. 
Subpart 1. Recapture of depreciation. The commissioner shall determine the 

recapture of depreciation due to a change in the ownership of a hospital that is 
to be apportioned to medical assistance, using methods and principles consistent 
with those used by medicare to determine and apportion the recapture of depreci­
ation. 

Subp. 2. Payment of recapture of depreciation to commissioner. A hospital 
shall pay the commissioner the recapture of depreciation within 60 days of writ­
ten notification from the commissioner. 

Interest charges must be assessed on the recapture of depreciation due the 
commissioner outstanding after the deadline. The annual interest rate charged 
must be the rate charged by the commissioner of revenue for late payment of 
taxes in effect on the 61st day after the written notification. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subds 2,6 
History: 10 SR 227; 11 SR 1688 

9500.1130 REIMBURSEMENT PROCEDURES. 
Subpart 1. Submittal of claims. Claims may be submitted to the department 

after a recipient is discharged or after 30 days, whichever occurs first. A hospital 
that submits a claim to the department after 30 days from admission but before 
discharge shall submit a final claim after discharge, but must not submit any other 
interim claims except as part of an appeal. 

Subp. 2. Required claims. Hospitals must submit complete medical assis­
tance claims to the department on forms or computer tapes approved by the 
department. These claims must be completed according to department instruc­
tions. The charge amounts shown must be based on a hospital's usual and cus­
tomary charges for the inpatient hospital services billed regardless of the 
hospital's anticipated reimbursement by the department. 

Subp. 3. Reimbursement in response to submitted claims. The department 
will reimburse a hospital for inpatient hospital services only after processing that 
hospital's properly submitted claim. Except as provided in parts 9500.1150 and 
9500.1155, the department shall reimburse a hospital a categorical rate per 
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admission; out-of-area categorical rate per admission; categorical rate per admis­
sion for MSA or non-MSA hospitals; or transfer reimbursement, and an outlier 
reimbursement if appropriate. 

Subp. 4. Adjustment to reimbursement. Reimbursements shall be adjusted by 
the department for the reasons specified in subpart 5 and for inappropriate utili­
zation as determined by the commissioner under parts 9505.0500 to 9505.0540 
and parts 9505.1910 to 9505.2020 and as otherwise provided by law. Adjustment 
to a hospital's account shall be according to parts 9505.0500 to 9505.0540. 

Subp. 5. Rejection of claims. Claims shall be rejected by the department for 
the reasons specified in items A and B. 

A. Claims will not be reimbursed if the hospital fails to: 
(1) obtain prior authorization; 
(2) provide documentation of a confirming second surgical opinion; 
(3) receive admission certification; or 
(4) assign a claim to one of diagnostic categories in part 9500.1100, 

subpart 20. 
B. Claims will not be reimbursed if inpatient hospital services also cov­

ered under Medicare have already been denied under Medicare, on grounds other 
than medical necessity. 

Subp. 6. Medicare crossover claims. Medicare crossover claims shall be reim­
bursed as follows: 

Medicare Medicare deductibles, 
Crossover = plus Medicare coinsurance 
Reimbursement less recipient 

resources and amounts 
owed by third parties 

Subp. 7. Reimbursement for transfers. Reimbursement for transfers shall be 
made as specified in items A and B. 

A. Except as specified in item B, the department shall reimburse both 
the hospital that discharges a recipient for purposes of transfer and the hospital 
that admits the recipient who is transferred. Each hospital shall be reimbursed 
as follows: 

[[(The product of the adjusted 
base year cost per 
admission and 
the budget year HCI 
multiplied by the relative value of 

Transfer the appropriate diagnostic category, 
Reimbursement = divided by the arithmetic 

mean length of stay of the diagnostic 
category) and multiplied by the number 
of days of inpatient hospital 
services], plus the budget year 
pass-through cost per admission] 

In no case of a transfer may a hospital receive a reimbursement that exceeds 
the applicable categorical rate per admission, or out-of-area categorical rate per 
admission, or the categorical rate per admission for MSA or non-MSA hospitals 
that do not have admissions in the base year, unless that admission is an outlier. 
Reimbursements for transfers under diagnostic category 0, under part 
9500.1100, subpart 20, are not limited to the categorical rate per admission, the 
out-of-area categorical rate per admission, or the categorical rate per admission 
for MSA or non-MSA hospitals statewide that do not have admissions in the base 
year and such admissions are not eligible for outlier reimbursements under sub­
part 9. 
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A hospital that admits a transfer recipient is not eligible for a transfer reim­
bursement under item A unless the inpatient hospital stay continues to be medi­
cally necessary. 

B. A discharging hospital is not eligible for a transfer reimbursement 
under item A for services provided to a discharged recipient if the admission to 
the discharging hospital was not due to an emergency, as defined in part 
9505.0500, subpart 11, and the discharging hospital knew or had reason to know 
at the time of admission that the inpatient hospital services that were medically 
necessary for treatment of the recipient were outside the scope of the hospital's 
available services and the readmission to another hospital resulted because of the 
recipient's need for those services. 

Subp. 8. Reimbursement for readmissions. An admission and readmission to 
the same or a different hospital shall be eligible for reimbursement according to 
the criteria in parts 9505.0500 to 9505.0540. 

Subp. 9. Reimbursement for outliers. The department shall reimburse a hos­
pital for outliers with the applicable categorical rate per admission, out-of-area 
categorical rate per admission, or the categorical rate per admission for a MSA 
or non-MSA hospital that does not have admissions in the base year, plus an 
amount for outliers as follows: 

A. To determine reimbursements for day outliers the department shall: 
(1) multiply a hospital's adjusted base year cost per admission by 

the budget year HCI and by the relative value of the appropriate diagnostic cate­
gory; 

(2) divide the product in subitem (1) by the arithmetic mean length 
of stay for the diagnostic category; 

(3) multiply the per day amount as determined in subitem (2) by 60 
percent for diagnostic categories A to N, and P to II, under part 9500.1100, sub­
part 20 or 80 percent for diagnostic category O, under part 9500.1100, subpart 
20 to determine the per day rate for the diagnostic category; 

(4) subtract the day outlier trim point for the appropriate diagnostic 
category from the actual number of days a recipient has received inpatient hospi­
tal services to determine the number of outlier days; and 

(5) multiply the product determined in subitem (3) by the number 
of days determined in subitem (4). 

B. To determine reimbursements for cost outliers the department shall: 
(1) determine a statewide base year cost-to-charge ratio according 

to hospitals' statewide base year medicare/medical assistance cost reports for all 
medical assistance admissions combined; 

(2) multiply the hospital's billed charges by the statewide cost-to-
charge ratio; 

(3) subtract the cost at three standard deviations for diagnostic cate­
gory W, under part 9500.1100, subpart 20 and at one standard deviation for diag­
nostic category O, under part 9500.1100, subpart 20 as identified in part 
9500.1110, subpart 1, item H from the adjusted cost from subitem (2); and 

(4) multiply the difference determined in subitem (3) by 60 percent 
for diagnostic category W, under part 9500.1100, subpart 20 or by 80 percent for 
diagnostic category O, under part 9500.1100, subpart 20. 

C. If an admission is a day and a cost outlier, a hospital shall receive 
reimbursement as a day outlier. 

Subp. 10. Reimbursement to an out-of-area hospital. The department shall 
reimburse an out-of-area hospital for an admission based on the lesser of billed 
charges for the admission or either the out-of-area hospital categorical rate per 
admission or the transfer reimbursement and outlier reimbursement if appropri­
ate. The department shall determine the out-of-area categorical rate per admis­
sion as follows in items A to G: 
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A. multiply the adjusted base year cost per admission in effect on the 
first day of a calendar year for each hospital statewide by that hospital's HCI and 
by the number of admissions in that hospital's base year, including outliers; 

B. sum the products in item A; 
C. divide the sum from item B by the sum of all admissions for all hospi­

tals statewide, including outliers, to determine the statewide budget year adjusted 
allowable base year cost per admission; 

D. multiply the pass-through cost per admission in effect on the first day 
of a calendar year for each hospital statewide by the number of admissions in 
each hospital's base year, including outliers; 

E. sum the products in item D; 
F. divide the sum from item E by the sum of all admissions for all hospi­

tals statewide, including outliers, to determine a statewide pass-through cost per 
admission; 

G. the department shall determine the categorical rate per admission for 
an out-of-area hospital as follows: 

[(statewide budget year adjusted 
Out-of-area base year cost per admission 
Hospital multiplied by the relative 
Categorical = value of the appropriate 
Rate Per diagnostic category), plus 
Admission statewide budget year 

pass-through cost per admission] 

Subp. 11. Reimbursement for MSA and non-MSA hospitals statewide that do 
not have admissions in the base year. The department shall determine reimburse­
ments for MSA hospitals statewide that do not have admissions in the base year 
according to items A to E: 

A. Multiply the adjusted base year cost per admission in effect on the 
first day of a calendar year for each MSA hospital statewide by that hospital's 
budget year HCI by the number of admissions in each MSA hospital's base year, 
including outliers. 

B. Sum the products in item A. 
C. Divide the sum from item B by the sum of the admissions for all MSA 

hospitals statewide, including outliers, to determine the statewide allowable base 
year cost per admission for MSA hospitals. 

D. The budget year pass-through cost per admission must be determined 
according to part 9500.1125, subpart 2. The pass-through cost per admission will 
be adjusted under part 9500.1125, subpart 4, and must be subject to part 
9500.1125, subpart 4, item H. 

E. Determine the categorical rate per admission for MSA hospitals state­
wide as follows: 

[(adjusted base year cost per 
Categorical Rate per admission for MSA hospitals 
Admission for MSA statewide multiplied by the 
Hospitals Statewide = budget year HCI and 
That Do Not multiplied by the relative value 
Have of the appropriate diagnostic 
Admissions In category) plus budget year 
The Base Year pass-through cost per admission] 

F. Determine the categorical rate per admission for non-MSA hospitals 
by substituting non-MSA hospitals terms and data for the MSA hospitals terms 
and data used in items A to E. 
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Subp. 12. Payor of last resort. A hospital may not submit a claim to the 
department until a final determination of the recipient's eligibility for potential 
third-party payment has been made by a hospital. Any and all available third 
party benefits must be exhausted prior to billing medical assistance and the 
amounts collected must be shown on the claim. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subds 2,6 
History: 10 SR 227; 10 SR 867; 11 SR 1688; 13 SR 1689 

9500.1135 DISPROPORTIONATE POPULATION ADJUSTMENT. 
Subpart 1. Determination of disproportionate population adjustment. The 

department shall increase the adjusted base year cost per admission for hospitals 
whose medical assistance and general assistance medical care admissions during 
the base year, including admissions of recipients who are also eligible for medi­
care and excluding admissions of participants in a prepaid health plan, exceed 
15 percent of total hospital admissions. 

The department may redetermine disproportionate population adjustments 
using its own claims payments data, data reported by hospitals on medicare or 
medical assistance cost reports or data reported by hospitals on their pass-
through cost reports. 

The department may make this redetermination if the percentage of a hospi­
tal's MA or GAMC admissions, excluding admissions of participants in a prepaid 
health plan, changes enough to decrease or increase a hospital's adjusted base 
year cost per admission according to the four percentage categories in the sched­
ule below. 

Percentage of Total 
Hospital Admissions 
Which are MA and 
GAMC, and Recipients 
Who are Also Increase in Adjusted Base 
Eligible for Medicare Year Cost Per Admission 

15-20 percent 1/4 percent for each percentage 
point above 15 percent up to 
20 percent 

21 -2 5 percent 1/2 percent for each percentage 
point above 20 percent up to 
25 percent 

26-30 percent 3/4 percent for each percentage 
point above 25 percent up to 
30 percent 

31 percent and above 1 percent for each percentage 
point above 30 percent 

The department shall multiply the disproportionate population adjustment 
by the adjusted base year cost per admission after the application of any statutory 
limits to the growth in hospital rates or unit costs. 

Subp. 2. Limitation on disproportionate population adjustment. In no case 
shall the disproportionate population adjustment exceed twice the HCI as deter­
mined in part 9500.1120. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subds 2,6 
History: 10 SR 227; 11 SR 1688 

9500.1140 APPEALS. 
Subpart 1. Appeals board. The commissioner shall appoint an appeals board 

to review hospitals' requests for changes in their reimbursement rates. The 
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appeals board shall consist of two public representatives, two representatives of 
the hospital industry, and one representative of the business or consumer com­
munity. Any hospital that desires to have its rate reviewed by the appeals board 
shall submit to the commissioner a written request which states the rate and rea­
sons for the request. Within 90 days of the request, the appeals board shall meet 
with persons selected by the hospital and persons from the department. The 
appeals board shall make a written report and recommendation to the commis­
sioner. The commissioner shall issue a written decision on the request for a 
change in the hospital's rate within 30 days after receiving the report of the 
appeals board. 

Subp. 2. Contested case hearing. A hospital may appeal a decision of the com­
missioner issued pursuant to subpart 1, by filing a written notice of appeal with 
the commissioner within 30 days of the date of service of the decision appealed. 
The appeal must be conducted as a contested case hearing under Minnesota Stat­
utes, chapter 14 and the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subds 2,6 
History: 10 SR 227 

9500.1150 REIMBURSEMENT OF ADMISSIONS FOR HOSPITAL FISCAL 
YEARS BEGINNING ON OR AFTER JULY 1,1983, UNTIL JULY 29,1985. 

Subpart 1. Statutory limit. Under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969, the 
annual increase in the cost per service unit for inpatient hospital services under 
medical assistance or general assistance medical care shall not exceed five percent 
for hospital rate years beginning during the 1985 biennium. 

Subp. 2. Definitions. As used in this part, the following terms have the mean­
ings given to them. 

A. "Adjusted base year costs" means an allowable base year costs cumu­
latively multiplied by the hospital cost index through a hospital's current year, 
and adjustments resulting from appeals. 

B. "Allowable base year costs" means a hospital's reimbursable inpa­
tient hospital costs as identified in a hospital's base year medicare/medical assis­
tance cost report with the following adjustments: 

(1) subtract malpractice insurance costs that have been apportioned 
to medical assistance; 

(2) subtract pass-through costs (except malpractice insurance costs) 
apportioned to medical assistance based on the ratio of net reimbursable inpa­
tient hospital costs to total reimbursable costs; and 

(3) add the lower of cost or charge limitations for costs disallowed 
on the medicare/medical assistance cost report as provided by Public Law Num­
ber 92-603, section 223, inpatient routine service cost limitations, and Public 
Law Number 92-603, section 233. 

C. "Minimal participation" means a hospital with fewer than 100 com­
bined medical assistance and general assistance medical care admissions in the 
base year. 

D. "Rate per admission" means the adjusted base year cost for each 
admission multiplied by the budget year HCI and adding the budget year pass-
through cost per admission. 

E. "Rate per day" means the adjusted base year cost per day of inpatient 
hospital services multiplied by the budget year HCI and adding the budget year 
pass-through cost per day of inpatient hospital services. 

Subp. 3. Determination of allowable base year costs, allowable base year cost 
for each admission, and allowable base year cost per day. The department shall 
determine allowable base year costs from the base year medicare/medical assis­
tance cost report, using data from the HCFA Form 2552 Worksheet, 1981 revi-
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sion. The department shall make the determination following the steps outlined 
in items A to P: 

A. reimbursable inpatient hospital costs (Worksheet E-5, Part I, line 13); 
B. reimbursable malpractice insurance costs (Worksheet E-5, Part I, line 

5); 
C. reimbursable professional services (Worksheet E-5, Part I, line 11); 
D. net reimbursable inpatient hospital costs (subtract items B and C 

from item A); 
E. total reimbursable costs (Worksheet A, column 7, line 84); 
F. ratio of net reimbursable inpatient hospital costs to total reimburs­

able costs (item D divided by item E); 
G. pass-through costs, except malpractice insurance costs; 
H. medical assistance pass-through costs, except malpractice insurance 

costs (item F multiplied by item G); 
I. routine service costs before limitation (Worksheet D-l, line 57); 
J. reimbursable routine service costs (Worksheet D-l, line 61); 
K. reimbursable routine service costs subject to limitation (subtract 

item J from item I); 
L. allowable base year costs (subtract item H from item D and add item 

K); 

M); 

M. base year admissions excluding medicare crossovers; 
N. allowable base year cost for each admission (item L divided by item 

O. base year patient days excluding medicare crossovers; and 
P. allowable base year cost per day (item L divided by item O). 

Subp. 4. Determination of rate per admission and rate per day. The depart­
ment shall determine the rate per admission and rate per day according to items 
A t o G . 

A. For each hospital's budget year, each hospital shall submit to the 
department a written report of pass-through costs. Pass-through cost reports must 
include actual data for the prior year and budgeted data for the current and bud­
get years. Pass-through cost reports are due 60 days prior to the start of each hos­
pital's budget year and must include the following information: 

Prior Current Budget 
Subitem Year Year Year 

(Actual) (Budget) (Budget) 
(1) Depreciation 
(2) Rents and leases 
(3) Property taxes 
(4) License fees 
(5) Interest 
(6) Malpractice insurance . 
(7) Total Pass-Through 

Costs [subitems 
(l)to(6)] 

Pass-through costs are limited to subitems (1) to (6) as denned by medicare. 
Pass-through costs do not include costs derived from capital projects requiring 
a certificate of need for which the required certificate of need has not been 
granted. 

B. The department shall determine the budget year pass-through cost 
per admission or per day, or both, from the submitted pass-through cost reports 
as specified in item A as follows: 
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Subitem 

(1) Ratio of net 
reimbursable 
inpatient 
hospital costs to 
total reimbursable 
costs [subpart 
3, item F] 

(2) Pass-through costs 
[subpart 4, item A, 
subitem (7)] 

(3) Base year admissions 
[subpart 3, item M] 

(4) Pass-through cost 
per admission 
[subitem (2) divided 
by subitem (3)] 

(5) Base year patient 
days [subpart 3, 
item O] 

(6) Pass-through cost per 
day of inpatient 
hospital services 
[subitem (2) 
divided by subitem 
(5)] 

Prior 
Year 

(Actual) 

Current 
Year 
(Budget) 

Budget 
Year 
(Budget) 

C. The department shall determine the rate per admission for a budget 
year as follows: 

Rate [(Adjusted base year cost for 
Per = each admission) multiplied by 
Admission (budget year HCI), plus (budget 

year pass-through cost 
per admission)] 

D. The department shall determine the rate per day for a budget year 
as follows: 

Rate [(Adjusted base year cost per day of 
Per = inpatient hospital services) 
Day multiplied by (budget year HCI), plus 

(budget year pass-through cost per 
day of inpatient hospital services)] 

E. After the end of each budget year, the commissioner shall redeter­
mine the rate per admission or rate per day, or both. The commissioner shall sub­
stitute actual pass-through costs as determined by medicare for budgeted costs 
in item B, subitem (2) for that year. If an adjustment indicates an overpayment 
to the hospital, the hospital shall pay the commissioner the overpayment within 
60 days of written notification from the commissioner. If the adjustment indi­
cates an underpayment to the hospital, the department shall pay that hospital the 
underpayment within 60 days of written notification from the commissioner. 
Interest charges will be assessed according to part 9500.1125, subpart 5. 

F. A hospital with minimal participation shall be reimbursed on a rate 
per day in lieu of a rate per admission unless the hospital elects to be reimbursed 
on a rate per admission basis. To obtain reimbursement on a rate per admission 
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basis, the hospital shall submit a written request to the commissioner at least 30 
days prior to the beginning of the budget year for which reimbursement is sought. 

G. The department shall apply the disproportionate population adjust­
ment as specified in part 9500.1135, subpart 1, substituting the term adjusted 
base year cost per admission with the term rate per admission or rate per day. 

H. Reimbursement procedures are as specified in part 9500.1130, sub­
parts 1 to 6. 

I. Appeals must be made according to parts 9500.1140 and 9500.1145. 
Subp. 5. Determination of reimbursements for medicare crossover claims. The 

department shall determine a reimbursement for a medicare crossover claim 
according to items A to C: 

A. Divide the reimbursable inpatient hospital cost from HCFA Form 
2552, line 13 by the amount on HCFA Form 2552, Part E5, II, line 27. 

B. Multiply the ratio determined in item A by the amount on column 
9 of the department's medicare crossover exception report less the accumulated 
amount in column 10 of that report. 

C. Medicare deductibles and coinsurance paid by medical assistance on 
behalf of a recipient are paid in full and are not subject to this subpart. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subds 2,6 
History: 10 SR 227; 11 SR 1688 

9500.1155 REIMBURSEMENT OF ADMISSIONS THAT OCCUR ON OR 
AFTER JANUARY 1, 1982, UNTIL PART 9500.1150 BECOMES EFFEC­
TIVE. 

Subpart 1. Purpose. Under Minnesota Statutes 1982, section 256.966, the 
annual increase in the cost per service unit paid to any vendor under medical 
assistance or general assistance medical care shall not exceed eight percent for 
services provided from January 1, 1982, until part 9500.1150 becomes applica­
ble. 

Subp. 2. Definitions. As used in this part, the following terms have the mean­
ings given them: 

A. "Adjusted base year costs" means allowable base year costs cumula­
tively multiplied by the eight percent cap for a hospital's fiscal years prior to the 
rate year, and adjustments resulting from appeals. 

B. "Allowable base year costs" means a hospital's reimbursable inpa­
tient hospital costs as identified in a hospital's base year medicare/medical assis­
tance cost report with the following adjustments: 

(1) subtract malpractice insurance costs that have been apportioned 
to medical assistance; 

(2) subtract pass-through costs (except malpractice insurance costs) 
apportioned to medical assistance based on the ratio of net reimbursable inpa­
tient hospital costs to total hospital costs; and 

(3) add the lower of cost or charge limitations for costs disallowed 
on the medicare/medical assistance cost report as provided by Public Law Num­
ber 92-603, section 223, inpatient routine service cost limitations, and Public 
Law Number 92-603, section 233. 

C. "Allowable rate period costs" means a hospital's reimbursable inpa­
tient hospital costs as identified in a hospital's rate period medicare/medical 
assistance cost report with the following adjustments: 

(1) subtract malpractice insurance costs that have been apportioned 
to medical assistance; 

(2) subtract pass-through costs, except malpractice insurance costs, 
apportioned to medical assistance based on the ratio of net reimbursable inpa­
tient hospital costs to total hospital costs. 
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D. "Eight percent cap" means the limit on the annual cost increase per 
service unit under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.966. 

E. "Rate per admission" means the allowable base year cost for each 
admission multiplied by the eight percent cap and adding the rate year pass-
through cost per admission. 

F. "Rate per day" means the allowable base year cost per day of inpa­
tient hospital services multiplied by the eight percent cap and adding the rate year 
pass-through cost per day of inpatient hospital services. 

G. "Rate period" means any portion of a hospital's fiscal year that 
includes any portion of the period from January 1, 1982, until part 9500.1150 
becomes applicable. 

H. "Total hospital costs" means the costs identified in the hospital's base 
year medicare/medical assistance cost report, HCFA Form 2552, 1981 revision, 
Worksheet A, column 3, line 84. 

Subp. 3. Determination of allowable base year costs, allowable base year cost 
for each admission, and allowable base year cost per day. The department shall 
determine allowable base year costs from the base year medicare/medical assis­
tance cost report, using data from the HCFA Form 2552 Worksheet, 1981 revi­
sion. The department shall make the determinations by following the steps, 
outlined in items A to Q: 

A. reimbursable inpatient hospital costs (Worksheet E-5, Part I, line 13); 
B. reimbursable malpractice insurance costs (Worksheet E-5, Part I, line 

5); 

A); 
C. net reimbursable inpatient hospital costs (subtract item B from item 

D. total hospital costs (Worksheet A, column 3, line 84); 
E. malpractice insurance costs (Worksheet A, column 5, line 71); 
F. net total hospital costs (subtract item E from item D); 
G. ratio of net reimbursable inpatient hospital costs to net total hospital 

costs (item C divided by item F); 
H. pass-through costs, except malpractice insurance costs; 
I. medical assistance pass-through costs, except malpractice insurance 

costs (item G multiplied by item H); 
J. routine service costs before limitation (Worksheet D-l, line 57); 
K. reimbursable routine service costs (Worksheet D-1, line 61); 
L. reimbursable routine service costs subject to limitation (subtract item 

K from item J); 
M. allowable base year costs (subtract item I from item C and add item 

L); 

N); 

N. base year admissions excluding medicare crossovers; 
O. allowable base year cost for each admission (item M divided by item 

P. base year patient days excluding medicare crossovers; and 
Q. allowable base year cost per day of inpatient hospital services (item 

M divided by item P). 
Subp. 4. Determination of allowable rate period costs, allowable rate period 

cost for each admission, and allowable rate period cost per day. The department 
shall determine allowable rate period costs from the rate period medicare/ 
medical assistance cost report using data from the HCFA Form 2552 worksheet, 
1981 revision. The department shall make the determinations by following the 
steps outlined in items A to N: 

A. reimbursable inpatient hospital costs (Worksheet E-5, Part I, line 13); 
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B. reimbursable malpractice insurance costs (Worksheet E-5, Part I, line 

C. net reimbursable inpatient hospital costs (subtract item B from item 
5); 

A); 
D. total hospital costs (Worksheet A, column 3, line 84); 
E. malpractice insurance costs (Worksheet A, column 5, line 71); 
F. net total hospital costs (subtract item E from item D); 
G. ratio of net reimbursable inpatient hospital costs to net total hospital 

costs (item C divided by item F); 
H. pass-through costs, except malpractice insurance costs; 
I. medical assistance pass-through costs except malpractice insurance 

costs (item G multiplied by item H); 
J. allowable rate period costs (subtract item I from item C); 
K. rate period admissions excluding medicare crossovers; 
L. allowable rate period cost for each admission (item J divided by item 

K); 
M. rate period patient days excluding medicare crossovers; and 
N. allowable rate period cost per day of inpatient hospital services (item 

J divided by item M). 
Subp. 5. Determination of rate per admission and rate per day. The following 

data shall be determined: 
A. The department shall determine the rate period pass-through costs 

per admission or per day of inpatient hospital services, or both, for the rate 
period as specified in part 9500.1150, subpart 4, item B. 

B. The department shall multiply the allowable base year costs by the 
eight percent cap. 

C. The department shall determine the rate per admission for a rate 
period as follows: 

Lesser of the [(allowable base year 
Rate cost for each admission) 
Per = multiplied by (eight percent 
Admission cap), or the allowable rate 

period cost for each admission plus 
(rate period pass-through cost 
per admission)] 

After the initial year, adjusted base year costs are used in the rate per admis­
sion formula instead of allowable base year costs. 

D. The department shall determine the rate per day for a rate period as 
follows: 

Lesser of the [(allowable base year 
Rate cost per day of inpatient hospital 
Per = services) multiplied by (eight 
Day percent cap), or the allowable rate 

period cost per day of inpatient 
hospital services plus (rate period 
pass-through cost per day of 
inpatient hospital services)] 

After the initial year, adjusted base year costs are used in the rate per day 
formula instead of allowable base year costs. 

E. A hospital with minimal participation, as specified in part 9500.1150, 
subpart 4, item F, shall be reimbursed on a rate per day in lieu of rate per admis­
sion unless the hospital elects to be reimbursed on a rate per admission basis. 
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F. The department shall apply the disproportionate population adjust­
ment as specified in part 9500.1135, substituting the term adjusted base year cost 
per admission with the term rate per admission or rate per day. 

G. Reimbursement procedures are as specified in part 9500.1130, sub­
parts 1 to 6. 

H. Appeals must be made according to parts 9500.1140 and 9500.1145. 
Subp. 5a. Determination of reimbursements for medicare crossover claims. 

The department shall determine a reimbursement for a medicare crossover claim 
according to items A to C: 

A. Divide the reimbursable inpatient hospital cost from HCFA Form 
2552, line 13 by the amount on HCFA Form 2552, part E5, II, line 27. 

B. Multiply the ratio determined in item A by the amount on column 
9 of the department's medicare crossover exception report less the accumulated 
amount in column 10 of that report. 

C. Medicare deductibles and coinsurance paid by medical assistance on 
behalf of a recipient are paid in full and are not subject to this subpart. 

Subp. 6. Four percent reduction. Reimbursement for admissions is reduced 
four percent from January 1, 1983, through June 30, 1983, as provided in Laws 
of Minnesota 1982, Third Special Session, chapter 1, article 2, section 2, subdivi­
sion 4, paragraph (a), clause (4). Each rate per admission and each rate per day 
as determined under subpart 4 for each admission during the period from Janu­
ary 1, 1983, through June 30, 1983, shall be reduced by four percent. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.969 subds 2,6 
History: 10 SR 227; 11 SR 1688 

GENERAL ASSISTANCE 

9500.1200 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY. 
Subpart 1. Purpose. Parts 9500.1200 to 9500.1270 establish the rights and 

responsibilities of the Department of Human Services, local agencies, and recipi­
ents of general assistance as they pertain to the administration of the general 
assistance program. 

Subp. 2. Applicability. Parts 9500.1254 to 9500.1256 govern application for 
maintenance benefits from other sources, execution of an interim assistance 
authorization agreement, provision of special services to assist the applicant or 
recipient in applying for other maintenance benefits, reimbursement for interim 
assistance, and reimbursement for provision of special services. When parts 
9500.1254 to 9500.1256 conflict with parts 9500.1236 to 9500.1248, then parts 
9500.1254 to 9500.1256 shall prevail. 

Statutory Authority: MSs 256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051; 256D.06 subd 
5; 256D.09 subd 4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 10 SR 1715; 11 SR 134 

9500.1202 PURPOSE OF GENERAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM. 
The purposes of the general assistance program are: 

A. to provide financial assistance and services to persons unable to pro­
vide for themselves, who have not refused suitable employment, and who are not 
otherwise provided for by law; 

B. to strengthen and preserve the family unit; 
C. to aid those persons who can be helped to become self-supporting or 

to attain self-care; and 
D. to provide property tax relief by providing state financing for some 

welfare costs historically financed by county property tax levies. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04 cl (2); 256D.06 subd 5 
History: 10 SR 1715 
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9500.1204 [Repealed, 10 SR 2322] 

9500.1205 FINANCIAL DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 9500.1200 to 9500.1256 have the 

meanings given them in this part. 
Subp. 2. Affidavit. "Affidavit" means a written and signed declaration. 
Subp. 3. Allowable deductions. "Allowable deductions" means income or 

expenses that are subtracted from gross income under part 9500.1228 when 
determining countable income. Allowable deductions include: 

A. the first $50 of monthly earned income for each individual who 
receives earned income; 

B. the cost of transportation to and from employment, including.trans-
porting a minor child to and from child care services, based oh actual cost or the 
amount allowed for use of a personal car in the United States Internal Revenue 
Code for a maximum of 100 miles per day; 

C. a meal allowance of $2 per day for each day that the individual eats 
a meal at work or has a break for a meal during work hours, unless the individual 
can establish that higher costs are both necessary and reasonable; 

D. the cost of uniforms, tools, and equipment needed to retain a job; 
E. health insurance premiums and any other type of insurance required 

by the employer as a condition of employment; 
F. union dues; 
G. professional association dues if they are required to obtain or retain 

employment; 
H. public liability insurance premiums if they are required by the 

employer when an automobile is used in employment and the premiums are not 
paid by the employer; 

I. the amount withheld or paid from gross income for mandatory retire­
ment fund contributions; 

J. the amount withheld or paid from gross income for FICA; 
K. child care costs for each child if both parents are absent from the 

home and at work or in school, unless these costs are paid for or reimbursed to 
the individual by any other individual or entity; 

L. state and federal personal income tax payments and withholdings; 
M. other work expenses required for employment and approved by the 

local agency; 
N. a minor child's income, including support and maintenance pay­

ments received, that exceeds the standard of assistance applicable to that child; 
O. food stamps; 
P. payments made pursuant to litigation and subsequent appropriation 

by the United States Congress, of funds to compensate members of Indian tribes 
for the taking of tribal lands by the federal government; 

Q. cash payments to displaced persons who face relocation as a result 
of the Housing Act of 1965, the Housing and Urban Development Act of 1965, 
or the Uniform Relocation Act of 1970; 

R. AFDC payments received by women residing in facilities for battered 
women as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.05, subdivision 3, for 
whom general assistance payments are made to pay for residence in the facility; 

S. stipends received from the displaced homemaker services program; 
T. payments for basic care, difficulty of care, and clothing allowances 

received for and used to provide family foster care to children or adults under 
parts 9545.0010 to 9545.0260 and 9555.5100 to 9555.6400; 

U. benefits under title IV and title VII of the Older Americans Act of 
1965; 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1991

Copyright © 1991 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



9535 ASSISTANCE PAYMENTS PROGRAMS 9500.1205 

V. a title I loan provided through the Minnesota Housing Finance 
Agency for the first nine months following the date of issuance of the loan; 

W. state and federal personal income tax refunds, including Minnesota 
property tax refunds; 

X. in-kind income, except for payments made for room, board, tuition, 
or fees by a parent on behalf of a child enrolled as a full-time student in a postse-
condary institution; 

Y. reverse mortgage loan proceeds received by the applicant or recipi­
ent; 

Z. payments made for services provided by volunteers under title I, title 
II, and title III of the Domestic Service Act of 1973; 

AA. payments from VISTA to VISTA volunteers; 
BB. reimbursements for employment training received through the Job 

Training Partnership Act, except for wage payments for on the job training; 
CC. reimbursement for personal out of pocket expenses incurred while 

performing volunteer services, jury duty, or employment, except for expenses 
that have been or will be reimbursed; 

DD. loans, except for educational loans on which payment is deferred, 
whether from private, public, or governmental lending institutions, governmen­
tal agencies, and private individuals, if the individual and the lender provide 
written documentation to the local agency that the individual must repay the loan 
and that the loan is not a gift; 

EE. payments by the vocational rehabilitation program administered by 
the state under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 129A, except for payments that are 
for current living expenses; 

FF. general assistance payments to correct underpayments in a current 
or previous month; 

GG. the first $30 of each nonrecurring cash gift, such as a gift received 
for a holiday, birthday, or graduation; 

HH. proceeds from the sale of real or personal property owned by a 
member of the individual's filing unit, if the property was excluded from consid­
eration under part 9500.1209 because its equity value was less than the real and 
personal property limits; 

II. funds received for reimbursement, replacement, or rebate of personal 
or real property when these payments are made from public agencies, issued by 
insurance companies, awarded by a court, solicited through public appeal, or 
made as a grant by a federal agency subsequent to a presidential declaration of 
disaster; 

JJ. an energy assistance payment made by the Low Income Home 
Energy Assistance Program, payments made directly to energy providers by other 
public and private agencies, and a credit or rebate payment issued by energy pro­
viders; 

KK. payments made for subsidized adoptions under United States 
Code, title 42, sections 670 to 676, and Minnesota Statutes, section 259.40; 

LL. court ordered child support payments actually paid for a minor 
child by an individual who is not a member of an assistance unit; and 

MM. income that is otherwise specifically excluded under federal or 
state law from inclusion as income for state funded public assistance programs. 

Subp. 4. Application. "Application" means the submission to the local agency 
of a signed and dated form prescribed by the commissioner that indicates the 
desire to receive general assistance. 

Subp. 5. Assistance unit. "Assistance unit" means the individuals from a fil­
ing unit who are applying for or receiving general assistance, whose eligibility 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1991

Copyright © 1991 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



9500.1205 ASSISTANCE PAYMENTS PROGRAMS 9536 

must be determined in accordance with part 9500.1209, subpart 4, and whose 
needs are included when determining the standard of assistance and the monthly 
general assistance payment. 

Subp. 6. Countable income. "Countable income" means gross income calcu­
lated in accordance with part 9500.1227 minus allowable deductions. 

Subp. 7. Earned income. "Earned income" means compensation from lawful 
employment or lawful self-employment, including salaries, wages, tips, gratuities, 
commissions, earnings from self-employment, earned income tax credits, incen­
tive payments from work or training programs, payments made by an employer 
for regularly accrued vacation or sick leave, earnings under title I of the Elemen­
tary and Secondary Education Act, employee bonuses and profit sharing, jury 
duty pay, picket duty pay, and profit from other lawful activities earned by the 
individual's effort or labor. Earned income does not include returns from capital 
investment or benefits that accrue as compensation for lack of employment. 
Earned income must be calculated in accordance with part 9500.1225. 

Subp. 8. Earned income tax credit. "Earned income tax credit" means the 
payment that can be obtained by a qualified low income person from an employer 
or from the United States Internal Revenue Service under United States Code, 
title 26, section 32. 

Subp. 9. Equity value. "Equity value" means the amount of equity in real or 
personal property owned by an individual. Equity value is determined by sub­
tracting any outstanding encumbrances from the fair market value of the real or 
personal property. 

Subp. 10. Federal Insurance Contributions Act or FICA. "Federal Insurance 
Contributions Act" or "FICA" means the federal law under United States Code, 
title 26, section 3101 to 3126, that requires withholding or direct payment of 
income to the federal government. 

Subp. 11. Filing unit. A "filing unit" is the individual or group of family 
members specified under part 9500.1209, subpart 2, who may elect to apply for 
general assistance together, and who, if eligible, must receive a single monthly 
payment. 

Subp. 12. Gross income. "Gross income" means the total amount of cash or 
in-kind payment or benefit, whether earned or unearned, that is received by, actu­
ally available to, or paid for the benefit of an individual, including income speci­
fied in Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.02, subdivision 8. Gross income does 
not include personal property previously established as an asset, and subject to 
the limitations under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.73, subdivision 2. Gross 
income must be calculated in accordance with part 9500.1227. 

Subp. 13. In-kind income. "In-kind income" means income, benefits, or pay­
ments that are provided in a form other than money or liquid asset, including 
goods, produce, services, privileges, or third party payments made on behalf of 
a person for whom the income is intended. 

Subp. 14. Month. "Month" means a calendar month. 
Subp. 15. Parent. "Parent" means a child's biological or adoptive parent who 

is legally obligated to support that child. 
Subp. 16. Payment month. "Payment month" means the month for which a 

local agency issues a general assistance payment. 
Subp. 17. Prospective budgeting. "Prospective budgeting" means a method 

of determining the amount of a monthly general assistance payment in which the 
countable income that the local agency anticipates will be available to the assis­
tance unit in the payment month is applied against the standard of assistance 
applicable to the assistance unit for the payment month. 

Subp. 18. Recipient. "Recipient" means an individual currently receiving 
general assistance. The term "recipient" includes any person whose needs are 
included in the payment to an assistance unit. 
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Subp. 19. Unearned income. "Unearned income" means any form of gross 
income that does not meet the definition of earned income. Unearned income 
includes an annuity, retirement, or disability benefit, including veteran's or work­
er's compensation, social security disability, railroad retirement benefits, or 
unemployment compensation; benefits under a federally funded categorical assis­
tance program including supplemental security income, or other assistance pro­
grams; gifts, rents, dividends, interest and royalties, support and maintenance 
payments, pension payments, return on capital investment, insurance payments 
or settlements; severance payments, employment benefits, and rewards for past 
employment; and educational grants, deferred payment loans, and scholarships. 
Unearned income must be calculated in accordance with part 9500.1226. 

Subp. 20. Verification. "Verification" means the process a local agency must 
use to establish the accuracy or completeness of information from an applicant, 
a recipient, a third party, or other source as that information relates to an assis­
tance unit's eligibility for general assistance or the amount of a monthly general 
assistance payment. 

Statutory Authority: MSs256D.01 subds la,lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subd 3; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07 

History: 10 SR 2322; L 1987 c 403 art 3 s 96 

9500.1206 PROGRAM DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Scope. As used in parts 9500.1200 to 9500.1270 and 9500.1300 

to 9500.1320, the following terms have the meanings given them. 
Subp. 2. Adult child. "Adult child" means a person aged 18 years or older. 
Subp. 3. Advanced age. "Advanced age" means the condition that applies to 

a recipient who: 
A. is age 55 or older and whose work history shows a marked deteriora­

tion compared to his or her work history prior to age 55 as indicated by decreas­
ing occupational status, reduced hours of employment, or decreased periods of 
employment; or 

B. if less than age 55, is evaluated by a vocational specialist as having 
significantly limited ability to obtain or retain suitable employment because of 
advancing age. 

Subp. 4. AFDC. "AFDC" means the program authorized by title IV-A of the 
Social Security Act to provide financial assistance to needy families with depen­
dent children. 

Subp. 5. Applicant. "Applicant" means a person who has an application 
pending with the local agency for general assistance or work readiness. 

Subp. 6. Assistance standard. "Assistance standard" means the amount 
established by the commissioner under Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.01, to 
provide for an assistance unit's shelter, fuel, food, clothing, utilities, necessary 
household supplies, and personal need items. 

Subp. 7. [Repealed, 10 SR 2322] 
Subp. 8. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the 

Department of Human Services or a designated representative. 
Subp. 9. Costs or disbursements. "Costs" or "disbursements" means a quali­

fied provider's actual out-of-pocket expenses incurred for the provision of special 
services to an applicant or recipient. 

Subp. 10. [Repealed, 10 SR 2322] 
Subp. 11. Department. "Department" means the Department of Human Ser­

vices. 
Subp. 12. Director of the local agency. "Director of the local agency" means 

the director of the local agency or the director's designated representative. 
Subp. 13. Fees. "Fees" means a qualified provider's charge for the hours of 

direct provision of special services to an applicant or recipient. 
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Subp. 14. Full-time student. "Full-time student" means a student attending 
a postsecondary institution who: 

A. attends training for a minimum of 25 hours per week if the training 
does not involve shop practice and for a minimum of 30 hours per week if the 
training does involve shop practice for a vocational or technical student; or 

B. registers for and attends a minimum of 12 credit hours per semester 
or quarter. 

Subp. 15. Good cause. "Good cause" means a reason for taking an action or 
failing to take an action that is reasonable and justified when viewed in the con­
text of surrounding circumstances including: illness of the person, illness of 
another family member that requires the applicant's or recipient's presence, a 
family emergency, or the inability to obtain transportation. 

Subp. 16. Initial supplemental security income payment or initial SSI pay­
ment. "Initial supplemental security income payment" or "initial SSI payment" 
means the first payment of retroactive SSI benefits to the recipient that includes 
a period when general assistance benefits were also paid. 

Subp. 17. Interim assistance. "Interim assistance" means the total amount 
of general assistance provided for the recipient, based on the state assistance stan­
dards and the negotiated rate provisions of part 9500.1249, to cover the period 
for which the initial payment of other maintenance benefits is made. The amount 
of general assistance considered interim assistance is limited to the amount the 
monthly payments for the assistance unit would have been reduced if the appli­
cant or recipient had not been included in the assistance unit. The interim assis­
tance period begins with the month of application for general assistance, the first 
month of eligibility for the other maintenance benefits, or the date the interim 
assistance authorization agreement is signed, whichever is latest. The interim 
assistance period ends with the last month covered by the initial payment of the 
other maintenance benefits. The term does not include per diem payments made 
to shelters for battered women pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.05, 
subdivision 3. 

Subp. 18. Interim assistance authorization agreement. "Interim assistance 
authorization agreement" means the agreement in which the general assistance 
applicant or recipient agrees to reimburse the local agency for the amount of gen­
eral assistance provided for him or her during the period when eligibility for 
another maintenance benefit program is being determined. The agreement must 
require reimbursement to the local agency only when the general assistance appli­
cant or recipient is found eligible for another maintenance benefit program and 
the initial payment of those other maintenance benefits has been made. 

Subp. 19. Local agency. "Local agency" means a county or a multicounty 
agency that is authorized under Minnesota Statutes as the agency responsible for 
the administration of the general assistance program. 

Subp. 19a. Local labor market. "Local labor market" means the geographic 
area in which a registrant can reasonably be expected to search for suitable 
employment. The geographic area must be limited to an area within two hours' 
round trip of the registrant's residence, exclusive of time needed to transport his 
or her children to and from child care. 

Subp. 20. Medical certification. "Medical certification" means a statement 
about a person's illness, injury, or incapacity that is signed by a licensed physi­
cian, licensed consulting psychologist, or licensed psychologist whose profes­
sional training and experience qualifies him or her to diagnose or certify the 
person's condition. 

Subp. 21. Mental illness. "Mental illness" means the condition of a person 
who has a psychological disorder resulting in behavior that severely limits the 
person in obtaining, performing, or maintaining suitable employment. 

Subp. 22. Mental retardation. "Mental retardation" means the condition of 
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a person who has demonstrated deficits in adaptive behavior and intellectual 
functioning which is two or more standard deviations below the mean of a profes­
sionally recognized standardized test and the condition severely limits the person 
in obtaining, performing, or maintaining suitable employment. 

Subp. 23. Minor child. "Minor child" means a person under the age of 18. 
Subp. 24. Negotiated rate. Except for shelter facilities provided for under 

Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.05, subdivision 3, "negotiated rate" means a 
general assistance payment that includes room and board and is either set by the 
state or local agency or is negotiated by one of those agencies with a party not 
included in the assistance unit. The set or negotiated rate provides for an assis­
tance unit's shelter, fuel, food, utilities, household supply need items, and other 
costs necessary to provide room and board. The rate shall pay only for those 
items. It shall not include the clothing and personal needs allowance under Min­
nesota Statutes, section 256D.06, subdivision 3, payments for foster care, child 
welfare services, medical care, dental care, hospitalization, nursing care, drugs 
or medical supplies, program costs, or other social services. 

Subp. 24a. Occupational or vocational literacy program. "Occupational or 
vocational literacy program" means a program providing literacy training which 
emphasizes specific language and reading skills needed to perform in employ­
ment, complete employment training programs, or complete work readiness pro­
grams. 

Subp. 25. Other maintenance benefits. "Other maintenance benefits" means 
any of the following: 

A. workers' compensation benefits as provided by Minnesota Statutes, 
chapter 176 and rules adopted thereunder; 

B. unemployment compensation benefits as provided by Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 268.07 to 268.10 and rules adopted thereunder; 

C. railroad retirement benefits as provided by United States Code, title 
45, sections 231 to 231s; 

D. veteran's disability benefits as provided by United States Code, title 
38, sections 301 to 363; 

E. supplemental security income benefits as provided by United States 
Code, title 42, sections 1381 to 1383c; 

F. social security disability insurance benefits as provided by United 
States Code, title 42, section 423; or 

G. other programs identified by the local agency that provide periodic 
payments that can be used to meet basic needs and that, if received, would reduce 
or eliminate the need for general assistance. 

Subp. 25a. Participation in a literacy program. "Participation in a literacy 
program" means to receive instruction and complete assignments as part of a lit­
eracy program in accordance with the schedule or plan established by the literacy 
training program provider. 

Subp. 26. Potentially eligible. "Potentially eligible" means that the local 
agency has determined that the applicant or recipient appears to meet the eligibil­
ity requirements of another maintenance benefit program. 

Subp. 27. Qualified provider. A "qualified provider" means the local agency, 
or: 

A. a nonprofit legal assistance organization; 
B. an agency that employs licensed practitioners or accredited counsel­

ing staff or staff with a master's degree from an accredited program in social work, 
psychology, counseling, occupational therapy, or physical therapy; 

C. a private attorney at law; or 
D. another organization or person determined by the local agency to 

have sufficient training or experience to be effective in assisting persons to apply 
for and establish eligibility for SSI benefits. 
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Subp. 28. [Repealed, 10 SR 2322] 
Subp. 29. Responsible relative. "Responsible relative" means the spouse of 

an applicant or recipient, the parent of a minor child who is an applicant or recip­
ient, or the parent of an adult child who resides with the parent and is an appli­
cant or recipient. 

Subp. 30. SSI. "SSI" means the supplemental security income program 
administered by the Social Security Administration under United States Code, 
title 42, sections 1381 to 1383c. 

Subp. 31. State participation. "State participation" means state aid to local 
agencies for general assistance expenditures as specified in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 256D.03, subdivision 2. 

Subp. 32. Suitable employment. "Suitable employment" means a job within 
the local labor market that: 

A. meets existing health and safety standards set by federal, state, or 
local regulations; 

B. is within the physical and mental ability of a person; 
C. pays at least the minimum wage prescribed by state or federal law and 

provides a gross income of at least $268 per month; and 
D. includes employment offered through the Job Training Partnership 

Act, Minnesota Employment and Economic Development Act, and other 
employment and training options, but does not include temporary day labor. 

Subp. 32a. Suitable recipient. "Suitable recipient" means a recipient eligible 
for general assistance under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item P, unless it is 
unlikely that participation in a literacy program would improve the recipient's 
literacy level due to mental retardation, mental illness, or a learning disability. 

Subp. 33. Vocational specialist. "Vocational specialist" means a counselor of 
the Department of Jobs and Training or Division of Vocational Rehabilitation, 
or another similarly qualified person who advises persons about occupational 
goals and employment. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.05 subd 1 para (a) cl (15); 256D.04; 256D.05 
subd 1; 256D. 051; 256D. 052; 256D. 06 subd 5; 256D. 09 subd 4; 256D. 10; 256D. 101; 
256D.111 subd 5 

History: 9 SR 593; 10 SR 1715; 11 SR 134; 13 SR 1688; 13 SR 1735 

9500.1208 [Repealed, 10 SR 2322] 

9500.1209 ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION. 
Subpart 1. Local agency duties. The local agency must determine the compo­

sition of a filing unit, the composition of an assistance unit, and the eligibility of 
an assistance unit according to subparts 2 to 4. The local agency must determine 
the standard of assistance applicable to an assistance unit according to parts 
9555.1216 to 9555.1222, the amount of the assistance unit's countable income 
in accordance with part 9500.1228, and the monthly payment to an assistance 
unit as prescribed in part 9500.1230. 

Subp. 2. Filing unit composition. The local agency must permit an individual 
or family who requests general assistance to make application for general assis­
tance as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.07. When an application 
for general assistance is made for an individual or family, and when the local 
agency redetermines the eligibility of a recipient, the local agency must determine 
the composition of the applicant's or recipient's filing unit. The local agency must 
require a separate application and conduct a separate eligibility determination 
for each filing unit. The composition of a filing unit shall be limited to the individ­
uals specified in items A to D. 

A. Except as provided in items C and D, if the applicant or recipient is 
an adult, the filing unit must include the applicant or recipient and the following 
individuals who reside with the applicant or recipient: 
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(1) the applicant's or recipient's spouse; and 
(2) the minor children of the applicant or recipient and the minor 

children of the applicant's or recipient's spouse. 
B. Except as provided in items C and D, if the applicant or recipient is 

a minor child, the filing unit must include the applicant or recipient and the fol­
lowing individuals who reside with the applicant or recipient: 

(1) the applicant's or recipient's parent or parents; 
(2) the spouse of the applicant's or recipient's parent; and 
(3) the minor children of the applicant's or recipient's parent or par­

ents and the minor children of the spouse of the applicant's or recipient's parent. 
C. Individuals eligible for or receiving AFDC, individuals receiving 

AFDC-emergency assistance for current maintenance needs, or individuals who 
are sanctioned from receiving AFDC for failure to comply with AFDC program 
requirements are not eligible to be included in the general assistance filing unit. 

D. An unmarried couple residing together with a common minor child 
whose paternity has been adjudicated or attested to through affidavit must com­
prise two separate filing units. The minor child shall be included in the filing unit 
of the parent who applies for general assistance first. If both parents apply for gen­
eral assistance on the same date, the parents must choose the filing unit that shall 
contain the minor child. 

Subp. 3. Assistance unit composition. The local agency must determine the 
composition of an applicant's or recipient's assistance unit as provided in items 
A and B. 

A. The local agency must assess the categorical eligibility of each appli­
cant or recipient under part 9500.1258, unless the applicant or recipient informs 
the local agency of his or her election not to receive general assistance. If an appli­
cant or recipient does not meet the conditions of a category of eligibility, under 
part 9500.1258, or the applicant or recipient is disqualified under parts 
9500.1264 to 9500.1268, or 9500.1254, subpart 5, the local agency must inform 
the applicant or recipient of his or her ineligibility for general assistance. The 
local agency may use one form per filing unit to inform the ineligible members 
of a filing unit of their ineligibility for general assistance. 

B. The assistance unit shall be composed of applicants or recipients 
from a filing unit who are categorically eligible to receive general assistance as 
provided in item A. General assistance categorical eligibility under item A may 
exist for one or more members of the filing unit even though other members of 
the filing unit are ineligible. 

Subp. 4. Assistance unit eligibility. The local agency must determine an assis­
tance unit's eligibility to receive general assistance as provided in items A to E. 

A. The local agency must determine the equity value of real and personal 
property available to the assistance unit. The equity value of real and personal 
property available to a member of the filing unit who is not included in the assis­
tance unit, but who is a responsible relative of an assistance unit member must 
be considered real and personal property available to the assistance unit. If the 
local agency determines that the total equity value of real and personal property 
available to the assistance unit exceeds the maximum standards established 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.73, subdivision 2, the local agency must 
determine if the excess property must be excluded under part 9500.1210. If the 
excess property is not excluded from consideration, the local agency must inform 
the assistance unit of its ineligibility for general assistance. 

B. If the local agency determines that the equity value of real and per­
sonal property available to the assistance unit is less than or equal to the maxi­
mum standards established under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.73, 
subdivision 2, or that property which exceeds those limits is excluded under part 
9500.1210, the local agency must determine the standard of assistance applicable 
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to the assistance unit as provided in parts 9500.1216 to 9500.1222, and the 
amount of countable income available to the assistance unit as provided in part 
9500.1229, subpart 2. 

C. Except as provided in item D, the local agency must compare the 
assistance unit's countable income to the standard of assistance applicable to the 
assistance unit as provided in part 9500.1229, subpart 3. If the local agency deter­
mines that the countable income of the assistance unit equals or exceeds the stan­
dard of assistance applicable to the assistance unit, the local agency must inform 
the assistance unit of its ineligibility for general assistance. If the local agency 
determines that the countable income of the assistance unit is less than the stan­
dard of assistance applicable to the assistance unit the local agency must inform 
the assistance unit of its eligibility for general assistance. 

D. An applicant or recipient who resides in a nursing home or facility 
with a negotiated rate must have less countable income than the total of the 
reduced standard provided in part 9500.1218, subpart 2, and the facility's negoti­
ated rate to be eligible for general assistance. 

E. If a filing unit member elects not to apply for or receive general assis­
tance or is determined ineligible for general assistance, or if a parent is not 
included in his or her minor child's filing unit under the provisions of subpart 
2, item D, that individual's financial responsibility for and ability to provide 
income to the assistance unit must be determined as provided in part 9500.1226. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D. 01 subds la, lb; 256D. 03 subds 1,2; 256D. 04; 
256D.05 subds 1,3; 256D.051; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07; 256D.09 subd 4; 
256D. 10; 256D. 101; 256D. 111 subd 5 

History: 10 SR 2322; 11 SR 134 

9500.1210 EXCLUSION OF EXCESS PROPERTY. 
Subpart 1. Property excluded. In determining eligibility for general assis­

tance, the local agency shall exclude real and personal property more than the 
limits in part 9500.1208, item B, when the local agency finds that: 

A. the property is essential to the assistance unit's self-support or self-
care or that the property is needed to obtain or retain suitable employment; 

B. a reasonable expectation exists that the assistance unit will use the 
property as a source of self-support either within six months of the date when the 
applicant or recipient is determined to have property more than the limit in part 
9500.1209, subpart 4, item A or, if the property produces income on a seasonal 
basis, during the income producing season immediately following the determina­
tion; 

C. the property produces net income that is being used for the support 
of the assistance unit; 

D. the applicant has not received general assistance within the last 60 
days and the circumstances of the applicant indicate that the need for general 
assistance will not exceed 30 days; 

E. a grant of general assistance for an emergency need is required and 
the excess property cannot be liquidated in time to meet that need; or 

F. an undue hardship would be imposed upon the applicant or recipient 
by the forced disposal of the property. 

Subp. 2. Undue hardship. An undue hardship exists when general assistance 
eligibility is prevented because the assistance unit owns property more than the 
limit in part 9500.1209, subpart 4, item A and one of the following conditions 
is met: 

A. the property is for sale at a reasonable price but has not been sold; 
B. the property is not legally available for liquidation by the applicant 

or recipient; or 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1991

Copyright © 1991 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
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C. the property is essential to the assistance unit for other reasons as 
determined by the local agency. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04 cl (2); 256D.06 subd 5 
History: 10 SR 1715; 10 SR 2322 

9500.1212 INFORMING APPLICANTS OR RECIPIENTS OF EXCLUSION 
CONDITIONS. 

Upon determining that an assistance unit is not eligible for general assistance 
or emergency assistance under the general assistance program due to owning 
property more than the limit in part 9500.1209, subpart 4, item A, the local 
agency shall inform in writing the applicant or recipient of the conditions under 
which excess property may be excluded. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04 cl (2); 256D.06 subd 5 
History: 10 SR 1715; 10 SR 2322 

9500.1214 VERIFICATION OF INCOME. 
Subpart 1. Verification of an applicant's or recipient's income and circum­

stances. An applicant or recipient shall provide verification of the assistance 
unit's income and circumstances relevant to its eligibility, standard of assistance, 
and monthly payment. If the applicant or recipient cannot verify income or cir­
cumstances, the local agency must help him or her to obtain verification. If the 
applicant or recipient, with the local agency's help, cannot provide the verifica­
tion, the assistance unit's eligibility, standard of assistance, and monthly pay­
ment must be determined based on the income and circumstances that have been 
verified or sworn to through affidavit. If the applicant or recipient refuses to pro­
vide the required verification of income or circumstances, the assistance unit is 
ineligible for general assistance and general assistance must be denied or termi­
nated. 

Subp. 2. Verification of responsible relative's income and circumstances. 
When an assistance unit is subject to a reduced standard under part 9500.1220 
or 9500.1222, or income allocation provisions under part 9500.1226 or 
9500.1227, the responsible relative or individual not included in the assistance 
unit shall provide verification of his or her income and circumstances relevant 
to the reduced standard and income allocation provisions. If the responsible rela­
tive or the individual not included in the assistance unit cannot provide verifica­
tion of his or her income or circumstances, the local agency must help him or her 
to obtain verification. If the responsible relative or the individual not included 
in the assistance unit cannot provide the verification with the local agency's help, 
the reduced standard and the allocations of income must be determined based 
on the income and circumstances that the responsible relative or individual has 
verified or sworn to through affidavit. If the assistance unit is subject to part 
9500.1220, 9500.1222, or 9500.1226, subpart 3, items A to C, and the responsi­
ble relative refuses to provide the required verification of income or circum­
stances, the assistance unit is ineligible for general assistance and general 
assistance must be denied or terminated. If a responsible relative is not included 
in the assistance unit under part 9500.1209, subpart 2, item D, and the responsi­
ble relative refuses to provide the required verification of income or resources, 
only the common minor child who is a member of the assistance unit shall be inel­
igible for general assistance. If the assistance unit is subject to part 9500.1227, 
subpart 3, and the individual not included in the assistance unit refuses to pro­
vide the required verification of income or circumstances, the assistance unit 
shall not allocate income for the individual's needs until the required verification 
is provided. 

Statutory Authority: MSs256D.01 subds la,lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subd 3; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07 

History: 10 SR 2322 
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9500.1216 FULL STANDARDS. 
Except as provided by parts 9500.1218 to 9500.1222, the full standards of 

assistance must be used to determine the eligibility of an assistance unit under 
part 9500.1209, subpart 4, and the minimum monthly payment to an assistance 
unit under part 9500.1229, subpart 4. The full standard must be based on the 
number of individuals in the assistance unit and must be computed as follows: 

A. The full standard for an assistance unit composed of one individual 
when that individual is an adult is the amount specified in part 9500.1217, sub­
part 1. 

B. The full standard for an eligible adult in an assistance unit that con­
tains more than one individual is: 

(1) the first adult standard specified in part 9500.1217, subpart 2, 
if the adult is the first or only adult in the assistance unit; or 

(2) the second adult standard specified in part 9500.1217, subpart 
2, if the adult is the second adult in the assistance unit. 

C. Except as provided in item D, the full standard for an eligible minor 
child in an assistance unit must be determined based on the number of minor 
children in the assistance unit according to the table in part 9500.1217, subpart 
3. 

D. When an assistance unit contains no adult because a parent or par­
ents are disqualified from receiving general assistance under parts 9500.1264 to 
9500.1268 or 9500.1254, subpart 5, and the parent or parents do not have count­
able income in an amount equal to or in excess of their own needs, the full stan­
dard applicable to the assistance unit is the special child standard provided by 
this item. The parent's or parents' needs are equal to the full standard for adults 
as specified in item B. The special child standard must be determined as follows: 

(1) The special child standard for an assistance unit composed only 
of one minor child is the special child only standard for one child, specified in 
part 9500.1217, subpart 4. 

(2) When an assistance unit includes more than one minor child, the 
special child standard must be determined by substituting the first adult standard 
provided by item B, subitem (1), for the needs of the last minor child in the assis­
tance unit and combining that amount with the full standard provided by item 
C that is applicable to the number of remaining minor children. 

Statutory Authority: MSs256D.01 subds la,lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subds 1,3; 256D.051; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07; 256D.09 subd 4; 
256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 10 SR 2322; 11 SR 134 

9500.1217 AMOUNT OF FULL STANDARDS. 
Subpart 1. Adult only standard. The full standard for an assistance unit com­

posed of one individual when that individual is an adult is $203. 
Subp. 2. Adult standards. The full standards for adults in an assistance unit 

that is composed of more than one individual are $ 187 for the first or only adult 
in the assistance unit and $73 for the second adult in the assistance unit. 

Subp. 3. Child standards. The full standards for minor children in an assis­
tance unit are specified in the following table: 

Number of minor Full state 
children in the assistance 
assistance unit standard 

for the minor 
children 

1 $250 
2 345 
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3 434 
4 510 
5 586 
6 663 
7 729 
8 793 
9 848 
10 902 

If the assistance unit contains more than ten minor children, the full stan­
dard for each additional minor child is $53. 

Subp. 4. Child only standard. The full standard for an assistance unit com­
posed of one individual when that individual is a minor child is $337. 

Subp. 5. Tie to AFDC standards. The full standards of subparts 2 to 4 must 
increase or decrease to remain equal to the equivalent AFDC standards whenever 
AFDC standards are increased or decreased. 

Statutory Authority: MSs256D.01 subds la,lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subd 3; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07 

History: 10 SR 2322 

9500.1218 REDUCED STANDARD FOR AN APPLICANT OR RECIPIENT 
IN A NURSING HOME, FACILITY WITH A NEGOTIATED RATE, OR 
STATE HOSPITAL. 

Subpart 1. Applicability. The reduced standard of this part must be used to 
determine the eligibility of an assistance unit under part 9500.1209, subpart 4, 
and the minimum monthly payment amount to an assistance unit under part 
9500.1229, subpart 4, if the assistance unit is composed of one individual who 
resides in a nursing home, facility with a negotiated rate, or a state hospital. 

Subp. 2. Reduced standard. The reduced standard for an assistance unit com­
posed of one individual who resides in a nursing home, facility with a negotiated 
rate, or a state hospital is the amount established as the clothing and personal 
needs allowance for medical assistance recipients under Minnesota Statutes, sec­
tion 256B.35, subdivision 1. 

Subp. 3. Battered women's shelters excluded. This part does not apply to an 
applicant or recipient residing in a shelter facility provided for under Minnesota 
Statutes, section 256D.05, subdivision 3. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.01 subds la, lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subd 3; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07 

History: 10 SR 2322 

9500.1220 REDUCED STANDARD FOR AN ASSISTANCE UNIT SHARING 
A RESIDENCE WITH A RESPONSIBLE RELATIVE WHO RECEIVES OR 
HAS BEEN SANCTIONED OR DISQUALIFIED FROM RECEIVING GEN­
ERAL ASSISTANCE OR AFDC. 

Subpart 1. Applicability. The reduced standards in this part must be applied 
to determine the eligibility of an assistance unit under part 9500.1209, subpart 
4, and the minimum monthly payment to an assistance unit under part 
9500.1229, subpart 4, if the assistance unit resides with an individual who is a 
responsible relative of one or more of the assistance unit members, and if one of 
the following conditions exists: 

A. The applicant's or recipient's filing unit and assistance unit are com­
posed of only one individual, the individual is an adult, and the individual shares 
a residence with a parent who receives general assistance or AFDC, or would be 
receiving general assistance or AFDC except for sanction or disqualification from 
either of those programs. If the one-person assistance unit shares a residence with 
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both a parent and a spouse, the parent's income must not be considered and the 
standard of assistance applicable to the assistance unit must be based on the rela­
tionship to the spouse. 

B. The assistance unit is composed of one or more individuals, the assis­
tance unit members share a residence with a parent or spouse of one or more of 
the assistance unit members, and the parent or spouse would be included in the 
general assistance filing unit except that he or she receives AFDC or would be 
receiving AFDC but is sanctioned from that program for failure to comply with 
program requirements. 

C. If an assistance unit that meets the conditions under item A or B 
resides with two parents who have income from both general assistance or AFDC 
and from another source, and the assistance unit is potentially subject to a 
reduced standard under both this part and part 9500.1222, the reduced standard 
applicable to the assistance unit must be determined based on this part. 

Subp. 2. Reduced standard. The reduced standard applicable to an assistance 
unit provided for by subpart 1 must be determined according to items A to C. 

A. The reduced standard applicable to the assistance unit must equal the 
amount the standard of assistance applicable to the responsible relative's assis­
tance unit would increase if the assistance unit members were added to the 
responsible relative's general assistance or AFDC assistance unit. 

B. When determining the amount the responsible relative's general 
assistance or AFDC standards would increase due to the addition of the assis­
tance unit members, the following standards shall apply to the added members: 

(1) The standard applicable to a minor child is the standard for 
another minor child added to the responsible relative's general assistance or 
AFDC grant. 

(2) The standard applicable to an adult child who meets the condi­
tions under subpart 1, item A, is the standard for another minor child, added to 
his or her parent's general assistance or AFDC grant. 

(3) Except as provided in subitem (4), the standard of assistance 
applicable to a spouse is the standard for a second adult added to the responsible 
relative's general assistance or AFDC grant. 

(4) The standard of assistance applicable to the spouse of an AFDC 
recipient who is the sole individual in the AFDC assistance unit and whose 
AFDC payment is determined using the special adult standard is the difference 
between the AFDC standard for a married couple and the AFDC special adult 
standard. 

C. The reduced standard applicable to an assistance unit that shares a 
residence with a responsible relative must not exceed the standard of assistance 
that would apply to the assistance unit if the assistance unit did not share a resi­
dence with a responsible relative. 

Statutory Authority: MSs 256D.01 subds la,lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subd 3; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07 

History: 10 SR 2322 

9500.1222 REDUCED STANDARD FOR AN ASSISTANCE UNIT SHARING 
A RESIDENCE WITH A RESPONSIBLE RELATIVE WHO HAS INCOME 
OTHER THAN GENERAL ASSISTANCE OR AFDC. 

Subpart 1. Applicability of reduced standards. The reduced standards in this 
part must be applied to determine the eligibility of an assistance unit under part 
9500.1209, subpart 4, and the minimum monthly payment to an assistance unit 
under part 9500.1229, subpart 4, when the conditions in items A to C apply to 
the assistance unit. 

A. The applicant's or recipient's filing unit and assistance unit are com-
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posed of only one individual, the individual is an adult, and the individual does 
not meet an eligibility category under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item A, B, H, 
I, J, O, or P. 

B. The assistance unit member shares a residence with a parent who has 
income other than general assistance or AFDC. 

C. The parent is not included in the filing unit according to part 
9500.1209, subpart 2. If the one-person assistance unit shares a residence with 
both a parent and a spouse, the parent's income must not be considered and the 
standard applicable to the assistance unit must be based on part 9500.1220. 

Subp. 2. Reduced standard. The reduced standard applicable to an assistance 
unit provided for in subpart 1 must be determined as follows: 

A. Calculate the standard of assistance applicable to the household as 
provided in part 9500.1216. In this part, "household" means individuals with 
whom the applicant or recipient shares a residence, and includes only the appli­
cant or recipient and the applicant's or recipient's parent or parents. The appli­
cant or recipient must be considered the first child when determining the 
household standard. 

B. Calculate the amount of the parent's or parents' countable income. 
In this part "parent's or parents' countable income" means the parent's or par­
ents' monthly gross income minus the following deductions: 

(1) income that is disregarded as an allowable deduction under part 
9500.1205, subpart 3; 

(2) income that has been counted in calculating the payment to an 
AFDC assistance unit; 

(3) benefits received from the worker's compensation program, 
Minnesota supplemental aid program, supplemental security income program, 
or social security disability program; 

(4) benefits received from the social security retirement program if 
the parent was receiving benefits under the social security disability or supple­
mental security income program at the time he or she became eligible for the 
social security retirement program or if the parent meets a category of eligibility 
under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item A, B, H, or J; 

(5) other benefits based on the parent's disability; and 
(6) income allocated to meet the unmet needs of the parent's spouse 

who resides with the parent if the spouse is not a responsible relative of the appli­
cant or recipient, and income allocated to meet the unmet needs of the parent's 
minor children who reside with the parent. The spouse's needs are equal to the 
standard of assistance for a second adult as provided by part 9500.1216, item B, 
subitem (2). To determine if the spouse's needs are unmet, the spouse's countable 
income must first be allocated to provide for the unmet needs of the parent's or 
spouse's minor children. The needs of a minor child are equal to the standard of 
assistance for an additional child as provided by part 9500.1216, item C, and are 
unmet to the extent that the child's countable income is less than the standard 
of assistance applicable to the child. The spouse's countable income that exceeds 
the unmet needs of the parent's or spouse's minor children must then be com­
pared to the needs of the spouse. If the spouse's remaining countable income is 
greater than the spouse's needs, the parent shall not allocate countable income 
for the spouse's needs, and the spouse's excess countable income, up to and 
including the first adult standard, as provided by part 9500.1216, item B, subitem 
(1), must be considered countable income available to the parent. If the spouse's 
countable income is less than the spouse's needs, the parent's countable income 
must be allocated to meet the spouse's unmet needs. The parent's countable 
income must also be allocated to meet the needs of his or her minor children 
which are unmet with the spouse's or child's countable income. 

C. Subtract the amount of the parent's or parents' countable income cal-
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culated in item B from the household standard of assistance calculated in item 
A. 

D. The reduced standard for the applicant or recipient is the amount cal­
culated in item C or the full standard provided by part 9500.1216, whichever is 
less. 

E. When two or more assistance units are subject to this part and share 
a residence with a responsible relative common to each assistance unit, the mem­
bers of each of those assistance units must be included when determining the 
household standard of assistance in item A. The reduced standard determined 
in item D must be divided equally among the assistance units to determine the 
reduced standard applicable to each assistance unit. 

Statutory Authority: MSs256D.01 subds la,lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subds 1,3; 256D.051; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07; 256D.09 subd 4; 
256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.U1 subd 5 

History: 10 SR 2322; 11 SR 134 

9500.1224 INCOME EVALUATION. 
Subpart 1. Local agency duty to evaluate income. When the local agency deter­

mines the eligibility of an assistance unit under part 9500.1209, subpart 4, and 
the minimum monthly payment to an assistance unit under part 9500.1229, sub­
part 4, the local agency must evaluate income received by the following individu­
als: 

A. the members of the assistance unit; 
B. responsible relatives whose income is considered in determining a 

reduced standard under part 9500.1220 or 9500.1222, or whose income is con­
sidered available to an assistance unit member under part 9500.1228, subpart 2; 
and 

C. individuals to whom an assistance unit member may allocate income 
under part 9500.1227, subpart 3. 

Subp. 2. Distribution of income. Income evaluated under parts 9500.1224 to 
9500.1228, must be attributed to the individual who earns it or to the individual 
beneficiary of the income, subject to items A to C. 

A. The local agency must consider funds distributed from a trust, 
whether from the principal holdings or sale of trust property or from the interest 
and other earnings of the trust holdings, to be unearned income to the beneficiary 
of the trust when the funds are legally available to the beneficiary. Trusts are pre­
sumed legally available unless a beneficiary can document that the trust is not 
legally available. 

B. The local agency must divide the income from jointly owned property 
equally among the property owners unless the terms of ownership prescribe a dif­
ferent distribution of equity. 

C. The local agency must not allow deductions from an individual's 
gross income to meet a current or prior debt. 

Subp. 3. Evaluation of assistance unit's income. The local agency must deter­
mine the amount of an assistance unit's earned income as provided in part 
9500.1225, and the amount of the assistance unit's unearned income as provided 
in part 9500.1226. The local agency must add the assistance unit's earned income 
to the assistance unit's unearned income to determine the assistance unit's gross 
income as provided in part 9500.1227. The local agency must subtract allowable 
deductions from the assistance unit's gross income to determine the assistance 
unit's countable income as provided in part 9500.1228. 

Statutory Authority: MSs256D.01 subds la,lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subd 3; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07 

History: 10 SR 2322 
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9500.1225 EARNED INCOME. 
Subpart 1. Local agency duty to determine earned income. The local agency 

must determine the total amount of earned income available to the individuals 
identified in part 9500.1224, subpart 1. Earned income from self-employment 
must be calculated in accordance with subpart 2. Earned income from contrac­
tual agreements must be calculated in accordance with subpart 3. The total 
amount of earned income available to an individual for a month must be deter­
mined by combining the amounts of earned income calculated under subparts 2 
to 4. The total amount of earned income available to an assistance unit for a 
month must be determined by combining the total earned income of each assis­
tance unit member. 

Subp. 2. Earned income from self-employment. The local agency must deter­
mine the amount of earned income from self-employment by subtracting busi­
ness costs from gross receipts according to items A to D. 

A. Self-employment expenses must be subtracted from gross receipts 
except for the expenses listed in subitems (1) to (14): 

(1) purchases of capital assets; 
(2) payments on the principal of loans for capital assets; 
(3) depreciation; 
(4) amortization; 
(5) the wholesale costs of items purchased, processed, or manufac­

tured that are unsold inventory with a deduction for the costs of those items 
allowed at the time they are sold; 

(6) transportation costs that exceed the amount allowed for use of 
a personal car in the United States Internal Revenue Code; 

(7) the cost of transportation between the individual's home and his 
or her place of employment; 

(8) salaries and other employment deductions made for members 
of an individual's assistance unit or for individuals who live in the individual's 
household for whom the individual is legally responsible; 

(9) monthly expenses in excess of $70 for a roomer; 
(10) monthly expenses in excess of $85 for a boarder; 
(11) monthly expenses in excess of $155 for a roomer-boarder; 
(12) annual expenses in excess of $ 102 or two percent of the esti­

mated market value on a county tax assessment form, whichever is greater, as a 
deduction for upkeep and repair against rental income; 

(13) expenses not allowed by the United States Internal Revenue 
Code for self-employment income; and 

(14) expenses which exceed 60 percent of gross receipts for child 
care performed in an individual's home unless the individual can document a 
higher amount. When funds are received from the quality child care program, 
those funds are excluded from gross receipts, and the expenses covered by those 
funds must not be claimed as a business expense that offsets gross receipts. 

B. Gross receipts from self-employment must be budgeted in the month 
in which they are received. Expenses must be budgeted against gross receipts in 
the month in which those expenses are paid except for subitems (1) to (3): 

(1) The purchase cost of inventory items, including materials that 
are processed or manufactured, must be deducted as an expense at the time pay­
ment is received for the sale of those inventory items, processed materials, or 
manufactured items, regardless of when those costs are incurred or paid. 

(2) Expenses to cover employee FICA, employee tax withholding, 
sales tax withholding, employee worker's compensation, employee unemploy­
ment compensation, business insurance, property rental, property taxes, and 
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other costs that are commonly paid at least annually, but less often than monthly, 
must be prorated forward as deductions from gross receipts over the period they 
are intended to cover, beginning with the month in which the payment for these 
items is made. 

(3) Gross receipts from self-employment may be prorated forward 
to equal the period of time over which the expenses were incurred except that 
gross receipts must not be prorated over a period that exceeds 12 months. This 
provision applies only when gross receipts are not received monthly but expenses 
are incurred on an ongoing monthly basis. 

C. Farm income must be annualized. Farm income is gross receipts 
minus operating expenses, subject to item A. Gross receipts include sales, rents, 
subsidies, soil conservation payments, production derived from livestock, and 
income from sale of home-produced foods. 

D. Income from rental property must be considered self-employment 
earnings when efFort is expended by the owner to maintain or manage the prop­
erty. A local agency must deduct an amount for upkeep and repairs, in accor­
dance with item A, subitem (11), for real estate taxes, insurance, utilities, and 
interest on principal payments. When an individual lives on the rental property, 
the local agency must divide the expenses for upkeep, taxes, insurance, utilities, 
and interest by the number of rooms to determine the expense per room. The 
local agency shall deduct expenses from rental income only for the number of 
rooms rented, not for rooms occupied by an individual's assistance unit. When 
no effort is expended by the owner to maintain or manage the property, income 
from rental property must be considered unearned income. The deductions 
described in this item must be subtracted from gross rental receipts. 

Subp. 3. Earned income from contractual agreements. The local agency must 
prorate the amount of earned income received by individuals employed on a con­
tractual basis over the period covered by the contract even if the payments are 
received over a shorter period of time. 

Subp. 4. Other earned income. The local agency must consider all other forms 
of earned income not specifically provided for under subparts 2 and 3 to be 
earned income available to the individual in the month it is received. 

Statutory Authority: MSs 256D.01 subds la,lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subd 3; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07 

History: 10 SR 2322. 

9500.1226 UNEARNED INCOME. 
Subpart 1. Local agency duty to determine unearned income. The local agency 

must determine the total amount of unearned income available to the individuals 
identified in part 9500.1224, subpart 1. Educational grants, loans, and scholar­
ships must be calculated as unearned income in accordance with subpart 2. 
Income allocated to a member or members of an assistance unit from a responsi­
ble relative must be calculated as unearned income in accordance with subpart 
3. The total amount of unearned income available to an individual for a month 
must be determined by combining the amounts of unearned income calculated 
under subparts 2 to 4. The total amount of unearned income available to an assis­
tance unit for a month must be determined by combining the total unearned 
income of each assistance unit member. 

Subp. 2. Educational grants, scholarships, and loans. Educational grants, 
deferred payment loans, and scholarships received by an individual must be con­
sidered unearned income. The local agency must subtract tuition, fees, books, 
supplies, and transportation expenses from the total amount of the individual's 
grants, deferred payment loans, and scholarships, and prorate the remainder over 
the period the funds are intended to cover. 

Subp. 3. Income allocated from a responsible relative. Income allocated to a 
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member or members of an assistance unit from a responsible relative who is in 
the filing unit but not in the assistance unit, or from a responsible relative who 
would have been a member of the filing unit but is not due to receipt of or sanc­
tion or disqualification from AFDC, or income allocated by a parent who is not 
included in his or her minor child's filing unit under the provisions of part 
9500.1209, subpart 2, item D, must be considered unearned income available to 
the member or members of the assistance unit. The local agency must determine 
how much of the responsible relative's countable income is considered unearned 
income available to the member or members of an assistance unit in accordance 
with items A to D. 

A. If the responsible relative is not included in the assistance unit 
because he or she receives AFDC, none of the responsible relative's countable 
income is considered unearned income available to the member or members of 
the assistance unit. 

B. If the responsible relative is not included in the assistance unit 
because he or she is disqualified or sanctioned from receiving AFDC or general 
assistance, the responsible relative's countable income that is not used to deter­
mine an AFDC payment must be considered unearned income available to the 
member or members of the assistance unit, as provided in item C, except that 
a subtraction for the responsible relative's need, as provided in item C, subitem 
(1) must not be made. 

C. If the responsible relative is not included in the assistance unit 
because he or she elects not to apply for or receive general assistance or because 
he or she is not categorically eligible for general assistance as determined under 
part 9500.1209, subpart 3, item A, the responsible relative's countable income 
that is considered unearned income available to the member or members of the 
assistance unit must be calculated as follows: 

(1) An amount equal to the responsible relative's needs must be sub­
tracted from his or her countable income. The responsible relative's needs must 
be equal to the amount the standard of assistance applicable to the assistance unit 
would increase if the responsible relative were added to the assistance unit. 

(2) From the responsible relative's countable income remaining 
after the subtraction in subitem (1), subtract an amount equal to the unmet needs 
of the minor children and the responsible relative's spouse who are included in 
the filing unit but not included in the assistance unit. The spouse's needs are equal 
to the standard of assistance for a second adult as provided by part 9500.1216, 
item B, subitem (2). To determine if the spouse's needs are unmet, the spouse's 
countable income must first be allocated to provide for the unmet needs of the 
minor children included in the filing unit but not included in the assistance unit. 
The needs of a minor child are equal to the standard of assistance for an addi­
tional child added to the assistance unit as provided by part 9500.1216, item C, 
and are unmet to the extent that the child's countable income is less than the stan­
dard of assistance applicable to the child. The spouse's countable income that 
exceeds the unmet needs of the minor children must then be compared to his or 
her own needs. If the spouse's remaining countable income exceeds his or her 
own needs, the responsible relative shall not allocate countable income for the 
spouse's needs, and the spouse's excess countable income must be considered 
countable income available to the responsible relative. If the spouse's countable 
income is less than his or her needs, the responsible relative's countable income 
must be allocated to meet the spouse's unmet needs. The responsible relative's 
countable income must also be allocated to meet the needs of minor children who 
are included in the filing unit but not included in the assistance unit and whose 
needs are unmet with the child's or spouse's countable income. 

(3) The amount of the responsible relative's countable income 
remaining after the calculations required in subitem (2) is unearned income 
available to the member or members of the assistance unit. 
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D. If a parent is not included in his or her minor child's filing unit as 
provided under part 9500.1209, subpart 2, item D, the parent's countable income 
that is considered unearned income available to the minor child must be calcu­
lated as follows: 

(1) An amount equal to the needs of the parent must be subtracted 
from the parent's countable income. The parent's needs must equal the standard 
of assistance that would be applicable to the parent if the parent were to apply 
for general assistance. 

(2) From the parent's countable income remaining after the subtrac­
tion in subitem (1), subtract an amount equal to the unmet needs of the parent's 
other minor children who reside with the parent and who are not included in the 
assistance unit. A minor child's needs are unmet to the extent that the minor 
child's countable income is less than the standard of assistance applicable to the 
minor child if the minor child were to apply for general assistance with the par­
ent. 

(3) The amount of the parent's countable income remaining after 
the calculations required in subitem (2) must be considered unearned income 
available to the common minor child who is a member of the assistance unit, up 
to and including the standard of assistance applicable to the member of the assis­
tance unit under part 9500.1216, item C. 

Subp. 4. Other unearned income. The local agency must consider all other 
forms of unearned income not provided for in subparts 2 and 3 to be unearned 
income available to the individual in the month of receipt. 

Statutory Authority: MSs256D.01 subds la,lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subd 3; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07 

History: 10 SR 2322 

9500.1227 GROSS INCOME. 
Subpart 1. Local agency duty to determine gross income. The local agency 

must determine the total amount of gross income available to the individuals 
identified in part 9500.1224, subpart 1. The total amount of gross income avail­
able to an individual for a month must be calculated in accordance with subparts 
2 to 4. The total amount of gross income available to an assistance unit for a 
month must be determined by combining the total gross income of each assis­
tance unit member. 

Subp. 2. Total earned and unearned income. The local agency must add the 
total amount of earned income received by or available to an individual for a 
month, as calculated in part 9500.1225, to the total amount of unearned income 
received by or available to an individual for a month, as calculated in part 
9500.1226. 

Subp. 3. Allocation of income from assistance unit members to other individu­
als. To determine the amount of gross income available to a member of an assis­
tance unit for a month, the amount of income that must be allocated in that 
month from the assistance unit member to a member of the filing unit who is not 
included in the assistance unit and for whom the assistance unit member is a 
responsible relative must be subtracted from the amount calculated in subpart 
2. The amount that must be allocated must be determined in accordance with 
items A and B. 

A. If the individual is not included in the assistance unit because the 
individual receives AFDC or is sanctioned or disqualified from receiving AFDC 
or general assistance, the assistance unit member shall not allocate income for 
the individual's needs. 

B. If the individual is not included in the assistance unit because the 
individual elects not to apply for or receive general assistance or because the indi­
vidual is not categorically eligible for general assistance as determined under part 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1991

Copyright © 1991 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



9553 ASSISTANCE PAYMENTS PROGRAMS 9500.1229 

9500.1209, subpart 3, item A, the assistance unit member's income must be allo­
cated for the individual's unmet needs. The individual's needs equal the amount 
the standard of assistance applicable to the assistance unit would increase if the 
individual were added to the assistance unit. The individual's needs are unmet 
to the extent that the individual's countable income is less than his or her needs. 

Subp. 4. Determination of total amount of gross income. The amount of 
earned and unearned income calculated in subpart 2 minus the amount of 
income allocated under subpart 3 is the amount of gross income available to an 
individual for the month. 

Statutory Authority: MSs256D.01 subds la,lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subd 3; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07 

History: 10 SR 2322 

9500.1228 COUNTABLE INCOME. 
Subpart 1. Local agency duty to determine countable income. The local agency 

must determine the amount of countable income available to the individuals 
identified in part 9500.1224, subpart 1. The total amount of countable income 
available to an assistance unit for a month must be determined by combining the 
countable income of each assistance unit member. 

Subp. 2. Determination of countable income. The local agency must deter­
mine the amount of countable income available to an individual for a month as 
follows: 

A. The local agency must determine the amount of gross income avail­
able to the individual for a month in accordance with part 9500.1227. 

B. From the amount determined in item A, the local agency must sub­
tract income or expenses that must be disregarded as an allowable deduction 
under part 9500.1205, subpart 3. The remaining amount is the individual's 
countable income for the month. 

Statutory Authority: MSs256D.01 subds la.lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subd 3; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07 

History: 10 SR 2322 

9500.1229 PROSPECTIVE BUDGETING. 
Subpart 1. Local agency duty to make prospective determinations. The local 

agency must make a monthly prospective determination of an assistance unit's 
countable income, the assistance unit's eligibility for general assistance, and the 
amount of the monthly payment the assistance unit is eligible to receive. 

Subp. 2. Prospective determination of countable income. The local agency 
must prospectively determine the amount of countable income available to an 
individual for a month when the local agency determines the eligibility of an 
assistance unit under subpart 3 and part 9500.1209, subpart 4, and when the local 
agency determines the amount of a monthly payment to an assistance unit under 
subpart 4. 

To prospectively determine the amount of countable income available to an 
individual for a month, the local agency must estimate the amount of gross 
income the individual is expected to receive in a month, and subtract the income 
or expenses that must be disregarded as an allowable deduction under part 
9500.1205, subpart 3. 

The local agency may base its prospective determination of an individual's 
countable income on the amount of countable income the individual actually 
received two months before the current payment month. The local agency must 
adjust its estimate of an individual's countable income when it has verification 
that the individual's income will be increasing or decreasing, or when the individ­
ual has lost a source of income. 
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Subp. 3. Prospective determination of eligibility. The local agency must com­
pare the amount of countable income the assistance unit is expected to receive 
in the payment month, with the standard of assistance applicable to the assis­
tance unit for the payment month. If the assistance unit meets the conditions 
under part 9500.1209, subpart 4, the assistance unit is prospectively eligible for 
general assistance. If the assistance unit's estimated countable income is equal 
to or exceeds the standard of assistance applicable during the payment month, 
the assistance unit is prospectively ineligible for that payment month and must 
be denied general assistance or terminated from general assistance. 

Subp. 4. Determination of monthly payment amounts. The local agency must 
determine the monthly general assistance payment to an assistance unit for the 
payment month by subtracting the estimated amount of countable income for the 
payment month as determined in subpart 2, from the standard of assistance 
applicable to the assistance unit during the payment month. The local agency 
must issue a supplemental payment to an assistance unit equal to the difference 
between the amount of countable income actually received by the assistance unit 
and the amount of estimated countable income for the payment month if the dif­
ference is $10 or more. 

Statutory Authority: MSs 256D.01 subds la,lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subd 3; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07 

History: 10 SR 2322 

9500:1230 PAYMENT PROVISIONS. 
Subpart 1. Monthly payment. The minimum monthly payment to an assis­

tance unit must be the applicable state assistance standard as provided by parts 
9500.1216 to 9500.1222 or the higher local agency standard as provided by sub­
part 5 minus the assistance unit's countable income as determined under part 
9500.1229, subpart 4. 

Subp. 2. Standard of assistance applies to full month. Except when an increase 
must be made in the standard of assistance applicable to an assistance unit due 
to the addition of a member to the assistance unit, or when a recipient is dis­
charged into the community from a negotiated rate facility, the standard of assis­
tance applicable to an assistance unit on the first day of a payment month or at 
the time of application, whichever is later, applies to the assistance unit for the 
entire month. 

Subp. 3. Monthly payment to an applicant or recipient residing in a nursing 
home or facility with a negotiated rate. If the applicant or recipient resides in a 
nursing home or facility with a negotiated rate, the applicant's or recipient's 
countable income must first be deducted from the reduced standard provided by 
part 9500.1218, subpart 2. The applicant's or recipient's countable income which 
exceeds the reduced standard must be used to reduce the amount of the negoti­
ated rate paid to the nursing home or facility, as provided by subpart 4. The mini­
mum monthly payment to the assistance unit must be the reduced standard 
minus the assistance unit's countable income. To this minimum payment, the 
local agency may add an additional amount in accordance with subpart 5. 

Subp. 4. Payments to a nursing home or facility with a negotiated rate. When 
an applicant or recipient resides in a facility with a negotiated rate, the appli­
cant's or recipient's countable income which exceeds the reduced state assistance 
standard, as determined in subpart 3, must be applied to the negotiated rate and 
paid to the nursing home or facility. The local agency must use general assistance 
funds to make monthly payments to the nursing home or facility in an amount 
equal to the difference between the negotiated rate and the assistance unit's 
excess countable income. The monthly payment to the nursing home or facility 
may be issued as a voucher or vendor payment. 

Subp. 5. Payment in excess of state standards. The local agency may establish 
local standards of assistance for applicants and recipients in excess of the stan-
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dards under parts 9500.1218 to 9500.1224, and may provide payments for items 
or needs which it determines are special. If the local agency chooses to provide 
higher local standards or special needs it must develop clear, written procedures 
that establish criteria for eligibility and the payment amounts for the higher stan­
dards and special needs. Payments for higher standards and special needs made 
according to local agency procedures must be made to all- recipients who reside 
in the county without regard to the recipient's length of county residency. 

Statutory Authority: MSs 256D.01 subds la,lb; 256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 
256D.05 subd 3; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 256D.07 

History: 10 SR 2322 

9500.1232 STATE PARTICIPATION. 
Subpart 1. State participation for monthly general assistance payments made 

based on a full state assistance standard. Except as provided by subparts 2 and 
3, the amount of state participation in the monthly general assistance payment 
made under Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.03, subdivision 2, must be deter­
mined by subtracting the assistance unit's countable income from the applicable 
full state assistance standard and multiplying the difference by 75 percent. 

Subp. 2. State participation for monthly general assistance payments made 
based on a reduced state assistance standard. When an assistance unit is subject 
to a reduced state assistance standard as provided in parts 9500.1218 to 
9500.1222, the amount of state participation in the monthly payment to the assis­
tance unit under Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.03, subdivision 2, must be 
determined by subtracting the assistance unit's countable income from the appli­
cable reduced state assistance standard and multiplying the difference by 75 per­
cent. 

Subp. 3. State participation for monthly general assistance payments made to 
a negotiated rate facility. State participation in the monthly payment to a negoti­
ated rate facility under part 9500.1230, subpart 4, must be determined by sub­
tracting the assistance unit's excess countable income from the negotiated rate 
and multiplying the difference by 75 percent. 

Subp. 4. State participation for payment in excess of state standards. State 
participation is not available for special need items or the amount of the higher 
local agency standard provided under part 9500.1230, subpart 5, which exceed 
the applicable state assistance standards. 

Subp. 5. State participation for costs of providing transportation to recipients 
assigned to literacy training. State participation for the actual costs of providing 
transportation under part 9500.1257, subpart 5, is 100 percent. 

Statutory Authority: MS 5 256.05 subs 1 para (a) cl (15); 256D. 01 subds la, lb; 
256D.03 subds 1,2; 256D.04; 256D.05 subd 3; 256D.052; 256D.06 subds 1,3; 
256D.07 

History: 10 SR 2322; 13 SR 1688; 13 SR 1735 

9500.1234 [Repealed, 10 SR 2322] 

9500.1236 [Repealed, 10 SR 2322] 

9500.1238 GRANTS ABOVE STANDARD AMOUNTS; EMERGENCY 
ASSISTANCE. 

Any local agency may issue grants in amounts above those described in parts 
9500.1234 and 9500.1236 provided that it deletes the additional costs thus 
incurred from its claim for state aid reimbursement, except the state aid may be 
available for payments made in excess of general assistance standards in emer­
gent situations wherein the request was for a period of less than 30 days. As used 
herein, an "emergency situation" refers to a circumstance that: 

A. places in jeopardy one or more persons in an eligible family unit; 
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B. cannot be resolved by the applicant with his or her current resources; 
and 

C. in the absence of other resources, requires immediate financial assis­
tance. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04 cl (2); 256D.06 subd 5 
History: 10 SR 1715 

9500.1240 COUNTY WARRANTS. 
Grants of general assistance shall be issued by the local agencies to the recipi­

ent in the form of county warrants immediately redeemable in cash. Such pay­
ments shall cover his unmet needs and may be issued in monthly, semimonthly, 
weekly, or daily installments as the local agency deems to be appropriate in indi­
vidual situations. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04 cl (2); 256D.06 subd 5 
History: 10 SR 1715 

9500.1242 VENDOR PAYMENTS. 
Vendor payments shall be made in the following situations: 

A. When the county determines that the recipient has not used his 
resources in the best interest of his needs and that of his dependents. Evidence 
of the recipient's inability to manage his resources must be documented in the 
case record. 

B. When an individual has remained uncooperative about registering 
for employment services or in seeking and/or accepting suitable employment, 
vendor payments shall be made for the maintenance needs of his dependents. 
"Suitable employment" is denned in Minnesota Statutes, section 268.09, subdivi­
sion 1, clause (4). 

C. Issuance of general assistance by vendor payment is permissible in 
emergency situations when a cash payment cannot be processed on weekends or 
holidays to resolve the current crisis. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04 cl (2); 256D.06 subd 5 

History: 10 SR 1715 

9500.1244 [Repealed, 10 SR 2322] 

9500.1246 STATE PAYMENTS FOR EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE. 
The state will participate in actual emergency payments made pursuant to 

part 9500.1238, up to 50 percent of each such grant. 
• Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04 cl (2); 256D.06 subd 5 

History: 10 SR 1715 

9500.1248 DETERMINATION OF COUNTY OF FINANCIAL RESPONSI­
BILITY. 

Subpart 1. Definitions. In all matters involving legal settlement of the poor, 
"county of financial responsibility" means: 

A. The county in which an individual resides. 
B. An individual shall be held to reside in a particular county if he has 

established a home there and has not established a home elsewhere. 
C. If, at the time of making application, the applicant is a patient in a 

hospital, nursing home, or boarding care home, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 144.50, or is placed in a county as a result of a correctional program or 
a treatment plan for health, rehabilitation, foster care, child care, or training, and 
immediately prior thereto he had resided in another county in an established 
abode that was not such a like care facility, it is in the former county. 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1991

Copyright © 1991 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



9557 ASSISTANCE PAYMENTS PROGRAMS 9500.1252 

D. The above provisions notwithstanding, if an individual is a recipient 
of medical assistance, the county from which he is receiving medical assistance. 

E. The above provisions notwithstanding, the county of financial 
responsibility shall not change as a result of successive placements in one or more 
counties pursuant to a plan of treatment for health, rehabilitation, foster care, 
child care or training; nor as a result of placement in any correctional program. 

Subp. 2. Procedures. If, upon investigation of an application for general assis­
tance, the local agency finds that the applicant is otherwise eligible for assistance 
but that his county of financial responsibility is some other county, it shall within 
15 days, while providing assistance in the meanwhile, transmit a copy of the 
application together with a record of its investigation to the local agency of the 
other county. If, within 15 days, the local agency of such other county concludes 
that it is not the county of financial responsibility for the applicant, it shall for­
ward concurrently copies of the application and the investigation reports of both 
counties to the state agency and to the county of origin. The state agency shall 
thereupon promptly decide the question of which county is the county of finan­
cial responsibility and issue an order referring the application to the proper 
county and include therein directives as necessary for any reimbursement of gen­
eral assistance advanced to the recipient in the meanwhile. The order of the state 
agency shall be binding on the local agency so named and shall be complied with 
until such state agency decision is changed upon appeal to the district court. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04 cl (2); 256D.06 subd 5 

History: 10 SR 1715 

9500.1249 [Repealed, 10 SR 2322] 

9500.1250 LOCAL AGENCY REPORTS. 
The local agencies shall collect and report information necessary to adminis­

ter, monitor, and evaluate the general assistance program, including work 
requirements and the MEED program. The local agency shall enter information 
on all general assistance applicants and recipients in the welfare information sys­
tem on the schedules established by the department. In addition, the local agency 
shall enter and maintain information on the case information file or supply sup­
plemental information as needed to: 

A. minimize the occasions on which similar information is obtained 
from applicants and recipients; 

B. improve coordination of services to recipients; 
C. minimize the possibility of duplicate payments; 
D. report to the legislature on general assistance recipients' participation 

in the MEED program. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04 cl (2); 256D.06 subd 5 
History: 10 SR 1715 

9500.1252 PREPARATION OF WRITTEN MATERIALS. 
Subpart 1. Use of language. All referral forms, notices, and other written 

information prepared by the commissioner or a local agency for use in the general 
assistance program by applicants or recipients must be prepared in clear and eas­
ily understood English and other languages that the commissioner determines 
appropriate for the applicants or recipients. A local agency, subject to prior 
approval from the department, may translate referral forms, notices, and other 
written information used in the implementation of the general assistance pro­
gram into as many languages as the local agency determines appropriate to 
address the needs of its applicants and recipients. 

Subp. 2. Language use accompanying forms. The commissioner shall prepare 
a written statement in English, Spanish, Laotian, Vietnamese, Cambodian, 
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Hmong, and other languages that the commissioner determines appropriate for 
the applicants and recipients, that states that the written document accompany­
ing the statement is very important, and that if the reader does not understand 
the document, the reader should seek immediate assistance. The written state­
ment must accompany all written information given by the department or a local 
agency to an applicant or recipient. 

Subp. 3. Commissioner's determination of languages appropriate for appli­
cants and recipients. The commissioner's determination of languages appropriate 
for translation in preparation of written materials for applicants and recipients 
as in subparts 1 and 2 shall be based upon relevant factors including: 

A. the percentage of persons in the statewide general assistance program 
caseload who speak a particular language; 

B. the need expressed by persons or organizations which are composed 
of or represent applicants or recipients; and 

C. the anticipated benefit to applicants and recipients. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04 cl (2); 256D.06 subd 5 
History: 10 SR 1715 

9500.1254 REFERRAL TO OTHER MAINTENANCE BENEFIT PRO­
GRAMS. 

Subpart 1. Screening requirement. The local agency must determine the 
potential eligibility of each general assistance applicant or recipient for other 
maintenance benefits as follows: 

A. The local agency must determine an applicant's potential eligibility 
for other maintenance benefits when application for general assistance is made. 

B. The local agency must determine a recipient's potential eligibility for 
other maintenance benefits at the recipient's semiannual redetermination of eligi­
bility for general assistance. The local agency must also determine a recipient's 
potential eligibility for other maintenance benefits whenever it determines that 
changes in the recipient's circumstances, including eligibility for medical assis­
tance, indicate potential eligibility for other maintenance benefits. 

C. If the local agency determines that the applicant or recipient is poten­
tially eligible for other maintenance benefits, the local agency must document its 
determination on forms prescribed by the commissioner and must retain the 
forms in the local agency case record for the applicant or recipient. 

Subp. 2. Informing and referral requirement. When the local agency deter­
mines that the applicant or recipient is potentially eligible for other maintenance 
benefits, the local agency shall refer the applicant or recipient to the other mainte­
nance benefit program on a form prescribed by the commissioner by informing 
the applicant or recipient orally and in writing of the following: 

A. that the applicant or recipient must apply for the other maintenance 
benefit program, in accordance with subpart 4, item A; 

B. that the applicant or recipient must execute an interim assistance 
authorization agreement, in accordance with subpart 4, item D; 

C. that the applicant or recipient must comply with all procedures neces­
sary to determine his or her eligibility or ineligibility for the other maintenance 
benefits in accordance with subpart 4, item C; 

D. that the applicant or recipient must authorize the local agency and 
the qualified provider, when one is chosen, to exchange relevant data concerning 
the applicant's or recipient's eligibility with the other maintenance benefit pro­
gram office, in accordance with subpart 4, item B; 

E. the estimated amount of benefits the applicant or recipient may be 
eligible to receive under the other maintenance benefit program, if known; 

F. the address at which the applicant or recipient shall apply for the 
other maintenance benefit program; 
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G. general instructions regarding how to apply for the other mainte­
nance benefit program; 

H. that the applicant or recipient may elect to receive special services 
to assist him or her in applying for SSI benefits, in accordance with part 
9500.1256, subpart 1, and that the applicant or recipient has a right to choose 
to receive special services from a qualified provider; 

I. notice of the actions which the local agency must take, in accordance 
with subpart 5, if the applicant or recipient fails to comply with the requirements 
under subpart 4, items A to D; and 

J. notice of the applicant's or recipient's right to appeal a determination 
of ineligibility for general assistance due to noncompliance with subpart 4, items 
A to D. 

Subp. 3. Special referral provisions. When the local agency determines that 
the applicant or recipient is potentially eligible for another maintenance benefit 
program, the local agency shall refer the applicant or recipient to a chosen quali­
fied provider and the other maintenance benefit program in accordance with 
items A and B: 

A. If the applicant or recipient is determined to be potentially eligible 
for maintenance benefits from SSI, the local agency shall: 

(1) offer to provide special services to the applicant or recipient in 
accordance with part 9500.1256, subpart 1, to assist him or her in applying for 
and obtaining SSI; 

(2) furnish the applicant or recipient with a list of qualified provid­
ers with whom the local agency has contracted to provide special services to 
applicants or recipients or who have asked to be included on the list; 

(3) notify the Social Security Administration's local office of the 
applicant's or recipient's potential eligibility for SSI on the date of referral so that 
the earliest potential date of eligibility for SSI can be established; and 

(4) if the applicant or recipient elects at any time to receive the spe­
cial services specified in part 9500.1256, subpart 1 from a qualified provider 
other than the local agency, the local agency shall refer the applicant or recipient 
to the chosen provider. If the local agency has not contracted with the chosen pro­
vider, the local agency must enter into a contract with that qualified provider to 
provide special services to applicants or recipients who apply for SSI benefits. 

B. If the local agency determines that an applicant or recipient is poten­
tially eligible for another maintenance benefit program, and the applicant or 
recipient has previously applied for and been found ineligible for that other main­
tenance benefit program, he or she shall not be required to appeal from that deci­
sion or to reapply for that other maintenance benefit program unless one of the 
following conditions is met: 

(1) the local agency determines that the applicant's or recipient's 
health or circumstances have changed and the change may result in eligibility for 
that other maintenance benefit program; or 

(2) the eligibility requirements or procedures of the other mainte­
nance benefit program have changed and the change may result in the applicant 
or recipient being found eligible for that other maintenance benefit program. 

Subp. 4. Requirements upon referral for other maintenance benefits. When the 
local agency refers an applicant or recipient to another maintenance benefit pro­
gram as provided under subpart 2, the applicant or recipient shall do the follow­
ing: 

A. The applicant or recipient shall apply for those benefits within 30 
days of the date of referral. If the recipient has not provided the local agency with 
verification of his or her application for those benefits within 30 days of the date 
of referral, the local agency must contact the other maintenance benefit program 
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local office to determine if the recipient has applied for benefits. If the local office 
of the other maintenance benefit program verifies that the recipient has applied 
for those benefits, the recipient shall be deemed to have met the requirement of 
applying for other maintenance benefits. If the local office of the other mainte­
nance benefit program verifies that the recipient has not applied for those bene­
fits, the local agency shall mail or give the recipient notice of termination from 
general assistance in accordance with subpart 5. 

B. The applicant or recipient shall, within 30 days of the date of referral, 
provide his or her informed written consent and authorization for the local 
agency or a qualified provider, if one is chosen, to exchange data concerning the 
applicant or recipient with the other maintenance benefit program local office. 
The data exchanged must be relevant to a determination of the applicant's or 
recipient's eligibility or ineligibility for benefits from the other program. 

For purposes of exchanging private or confidential data about a person for 
whom a qualified provider has contracted to provide special services, a qualified 
provider other than the local agency shall not be considered part of the welfare 
system under Minnesota Statutes, section 13.46, subdivision 1. 

If the local agency determines that the recipient has not given informed writ­
ten consent and authorization for the local agency or a qualified provider to 
exchange data concerning his or her eligibility or ineligibility for the other main­
tenance benefit program within the prescribed 30 days, the local agency shall mail 
or give the recipient notice of termination from general assistance in accordance 
with subpart 5. 

C. A recipient shall comply with all procedures necessary to determine 
his or her eligibility or ineligibility for the other maintenance benefit program. 

If the local agency determines that the recipient has not complied with the 
procedures necessary to determine his or her eligibility or ineligibility for other 
maintenance benefits, the local agency shall mail or give the recipient notice of 
termination from general assistance in accordance with subpart 5. 

D. An applicant or recipient shall execute an interim assistance authori­
zation agreement with the local agency within 30 days of the date of referral. 

If the recipient fails to execute an interim assistance authorization agreement 
within the 30 days prescribed, the local agency shall mail or give the recipient 
notice of termination from general assistance in accordance with subpart 5. 

Subp. 5. Ineligibility. This subpart governs termination of general assistance 
eligibility for a recipient who fails, without good cause, to comply with the 
requirements of subpart 4. 

A. Upon determining that a recipient has failed, without good cause, to 
comply with the requirements of subpart 4, items A to D, the local agency shall 
mail or give the recipient notification of termination from general assistance. The 
local agency shall hand deliver or mail the written notice to the recipient at least 
30 days before reducing, suspending, or terminating the recipient's monthly gen­
eral assistance payment. The notice must be on a form prescribed by the commis­
sioner and must: 

(1) list the requirements with which the local agency believes the 
recipient has not complied and inform the recipient that he or she must comply 
with the requirements to avoid or end a period of ineligibility; 

(2) inform the recipient that he or she will be terminated from gen­
eral assistance if the recipient fails to comply with the listed requirements, specify 
the date that the recipient's general assistance will be terminated if he or she does 
not comply, and explain the recipient's right to appeal the action in accordance 
with subpart 6; 

(3) offer assistance to resolve the circumstances or concerns which 
prevent the recipient from complying with the requirements of subpart 4; and 

(4) inform the recipient of the continued availability of special ser­
vices provided under part 9500.1256, subpart 1. 
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B. If the recipient complies with the requirements specified in the notice 
in item A prior to the termination date stated in the notice, a period of ineligibil­
ity must not be imposed. 

C. A recipient who fails to comply with the requirements specified in the 
notice in item A prior to the termination date stated in the notice is ineligible for 
general assistance. The period of ineligibility begins on the date specified in the 
notice and continues until the person fulfills the requirements of subpart 4. The 
period of ineligibility always begins on the first day of a calendar month. If the 
ineligible person subsequently applies for general assistance, the application must 
be denied unless the requirements of subpart 4 have been met. 

D. If the person is determined to be ineligible under item C, the assis­
tance standard applicable to the person's assistance unit must be based on the 
number of remaining eligible members of the assistance unit. 

Subp. 6. Appeals. A recipient to whom the local agency has given or mailed 
a notice of termination in accordance with subpart 5 may appeal the determina­
tion by submitting a written request for a hearing in accordance with Minnesota 
Statutes, section 256.045. If the recipient files a written request for an appeal on 
or before the first day of the period of ineligibility under subpart 5, item C, the 
recipient shall continue to receive general assistance while the appeal is pending, 
provided that the recipient is otherwise eligible for general assistance. 

Subp. 7. Reimbursement for interim assistance. A local agency must seek 
reimbursement for the interim assistance provided to a person who has executed 
an interim assistance authorization agreement under subpart 4, item D, when the 
person receives a retroactive payment from the other maintenance benefit pro­
gram unless reimbursement is prohibited under federal or state law. Reimburse­
ment for interim assistance and special services provided to an SSI applicant or 
recipient is governed by part 9500.1256, subpart 2. 

The local agency must request reimbursement for interim assistance from 
the person receiving other retroactive maintenance benefits, except for SSI. If a 
request for reimbursement under this subpart is denied, the local agency may 
institute a civil action to recover the interim assistance based on the interim assis­
tance authorization agreement. The local agency must take no action other than 
a civil action to recover the interim assistance. From the interim assistance recov­
ered, the local agency may retain 25 percent as reimbursement for the county's 
share of the interim assistance provided, and must credit the balance to the state 
as an advance payment to the local agency for the state's share of the next month's 
general assistance grants. 

Statutory Authority: MS 5 256D.04 cl (2); 256D.06 subd 5 
History: 10 SR 1715 

9500.1256 SPECIAL SERVICES FOR SSI APPLICANTS. 
Subpart 1. Special services. A recipient who is referred to SSI in accordance 

with part 9500.1254, subparts 2 and 3, item B, may elect to receive special ser­
vices to assist him or her in obtaining SSI benefits. Special services for which 
reimbursement for fees, costs, or disbursements may be claimed under subpart 
2 or 3 are limited to the following: 

A. explaining to or counseling the applicant or recipient about the appli­
cation procedures and benefits available through the SSI program; 

B. assisting the applicant or recipient in completing the application for 
SSI and arranging appointments related to application for SSI; 

C. assisting the applicant or recipient in assessing his or her disability 
in relation to SSI eligibility, and identifying probable issues that may arise during 
the SSI eligibility determination process; 

D. providing the applicant or recipient with medical or vocational evi­
dence, social history, or expert testimony currently available to substantiate the 
presence and severity of the applicant's or recipient's blindness or disability; 
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E. assisting the applicant or recipient in obtaining and using medical or 
vocational evidence, social history, or expert testimony and in cooperating with 
the Social Security Administration and its agents, procedures, and requirements; 

F. assisting the applicant or recipient with necessary transportation; 
G. preparing for and representing the applicant or recipient at inter­

views, hearings, or appeals related to application for SSI or appeal of the Social 
Security Administration's determination of ineligibility for SSI; 

H. the local agency's preparation of a contractual agreement with a qual­
ified provider chosen by the applicant or recipient; and 

I. providing other services to assist the applicant or recipient to establish 
eligibility for SSI benefits. 

Subp. 2. Reimbursement for interim assistance and special services. A local 
agency must be reimbursed for providing interim assistance and special services 
to an SSI applicant or recipient in the following manner: 

A. Upon receiving the initial SSI payment for a person who has executed 
an interim assistance authorization agreement as specified in part 9500.1254, 
subpart 4, item D, the local agency may recover the amount of interim assistance 
provided. After recovering the interim assistance from the initial SSI payment, 
the local agency shall pay the remainder to the person or to a representative payee 
identified by the Social Security Administration within ten days of receiving the 
initial SSI payment. From the amount of interim assistance recovered, the local 
agency: 

(1) shall retain 25 percent as reimbursement for the county's share 
of the interim assistance provided; 

(2) may retain, subject to the provisions of subpart 3, item E, an 
additional 25 percent as an advocacy incentive for providing the special services 
specified in subpart 1, items A to D; 

(3) may retain from the remaining 50 percent, subject to the provi­
sions of subpart 3, item E, reimbursement for actual reasonable fees, costs, and 
disbursements related to appeals and litigation and provision of special services 
under subpart 1. 

B. The local agency may not seek reimbursement from the applicant or 
recipient for the fees, costs, or disbursements of providing special services except 
as provided in item A. 

C. The balance of the amount of interim assistance that is not retained 
by the local agency pursuant to item A or paid to another qualified provider under 
subpart 3 must be credited to the state as an advance payment to the local agency 
for the state's share of the next month's general assistance grants. 

D. The local agency must document the fees, costs, and disbursements 
which it incurs in providing the special services to claim reimbursement. The 
local agency shall be reimbursed under item A, subitem (3), only for the direct 
costs of providing special services. 

Subp. 3. Reimbursement to qualified providers under contract with the local 
agency to provide special services. Qualified providers under contract with the 
local agency to provide special services to general assistance applicants or recipi­
ents shall be reimbursed from the amount of interim assistance recovered by the 
local agency under subpart 2 in the following manner: 

A. To receive reimbursement for the fees, costs, and disbursements 
related to appeals and litigation and the provision of special services as provided 
in subpart 1, the qualified provider shall enter into a contract with the local 
agency and provide one or more of the special services specified in subpart 1. 

The contract must be on a form prescribed by the commissioner except that 
the local agency may add to or modify the form without changing the substance 
of the contract in order to meet standard contracting procedures established by 
the county board. 
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B. The local agency must reimburse a qualified provider under contract 
with the local agency for the provider's reasonable actual fees, costs, and dis­
bursements, including medical reports and expert testimony related to appeals, 
litigation, and providing special services to an applicant or recipient in accor­
dance with the following: 

(1) a qualified provider shall not be reimbursed by the local agency 
for any fees, costs, or disbursements unless the applicant or recipient has 
requested the services, the local agency has referred the applicant or recipient to 
the qualified provider, and the local agency has received the initial SSI payment 
for the recipient served; 

(2) the qualified provider shall be reimbursed by the local agency 
for fees related to the provision of special services at the rate determined by the 
qualified provider, but not to exceed $75 per hour of service; and 

(3) when a qualified provider requests reimbursement from the 
local agency for fees, costs, or disbursements related to services provided, the 
qualified provider shall document the total number of hours of services provided 
to the applicant or recipient and provide a record of its costs and disbursements. 

C. A qualified provider under contract to provide special services must 
comply with the following: 

(1) a qualified provider shall not require prepayment of any fees, 
costs, or disbursements from the applicant or recipient; and 

(2) a qualified provider shall not seek reimbursement from the 
applicant or recipient for fees related to the provision of special services. If a 
qualified provider intends to seek reimbursement for costs and disbursements 
from an applicant or recipient in the event the applicant or recipient is deter­
mined to be ineligible for SSI and the qualified provider therefore will not be fully 
reimbursed by the local agency, the qualified provider must so inform the appli­
cant or recipient and obtain the applicant's or recipient's written consent prior 
to providing the special services. The qualified provider must also inform the 
applicant or recipient that he or she may receive the special services from the 
local agency without cost to the applicant or recipient. 

D. The total reimbursement for special services made by the local 
agency to all qualified providers must not exceed the amount of interim assis­
tance retained by the local agency as specified in subpart 2, item A, subitems (2) 
and (3), unless the excess is expressly authorized by the local agency and paid for 
exclusively with local agency funds. 

E. If more than one qualified provider provides special services to an 
applicant or recipient, and the amount of interim assistance retained by the local 
agency will not fully reimburse all qualified providers, the reimbursement to each 
qualified provider for fees, costs, and disbursements shall be calculated by multi­
plying the total amount of funds available to the local agency as specified in sub­
part 2, item A, subitems (2) and (3), including any excess funds authorized by the 
local agency under item D, by the qualified provider's reimbursement percentage. 
The qualified provider's reimbursement percentage shall be determined by divid­
ing the number of hours spent by each qualified provider who provided special 
services by the total number of hours spent by the local agency and all other quali­
fied providers under contract with the local agency who have provided special 
services to the applicant or recipient. 

F. If the local agency and one or more other qualified providers provide 
special services to an applicant or recipient, and the amount of interim assistance 
recovered by the local agency under subpart 2, item A, subitems (2) and (3), 
exceeds the amount necessary to fully reimburse the qualified providers for fees, 
costs, and disbursements, the local agency may retain the excess to the extent 
allowed under subpart 2, item A, subitem (2). 

G. The local agency shall reimburse a qualified provider for fees, costs, 
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and disbursements for special services provided during the six-month period 
before the applicant or recipient was referred to the qualified provider, unless 
general contracting procedures of the particular county prohibit this payment. 
The provider's fees, costs, or disbursements for special services provided before 
the person's application for general assistance may be reimbursed only if funds 
remain after reimbursement for special services provided to the person after the 
person made application for general assistance. 

H. The local agency and another qualified provider may contract to 
jointly provide the special services specified in subpart 1. 

Subp. 4. Termination of special services and contracts. Special services and 
contracts must be terminated in the following manner: 

A. If an applicant or recipient requests in writing that the local agency 
terminate the special services agreement with a qualified provider, the special ser­
vices agreement for that applicant or recipient must be terminated, and the local 
agency shall mail written notice of the termination to the qualified provider. The 
notice must include a copy of the applicant's or recipient's written request for ter­
mination of the special services agreement. Termination of the agreement is 
effective three days after the date when the notice is mailed. The qualified pro­
vider shall not be reimbursed for fees, costs, or disbursements for special services 
provided to an applicant or recipient after the effective date of termination. 

B. If a qualified provider decides to stop providing special services to 
an applicant or recipient, the qualified provider shall give or mail the following 
information to the applicant or recipient and, if the qualified provider is not the 
local agency, to the local agency: 

(1) the status of the applicant's or recipient's application for SSI 
benefits; 

(2) any deadlines that must be met regarding the applicant's or 
recipient's application for SSI benefits; 

(3) the right of the applicant or recipient to choose another qualified 
provider, and the local agency's obligation to enter into a contract with a new 
qualified provider to provide the special services specified if the applicant or 
recipient chooses a qualified provider other than the local agency; and 

(4) that a list of qualified providers may be obtained from the local 
agency. 

Termination of the contract is effective three days after the date the provider 
gives or mails the information required in subitems (1) to (4) to the client. 

C. If a qualified provider fails to perform all or part of the terms of the 
contract with the local agency, the local agency may terminate the contract with 
the provider. The local agency shall terminate the contract and mail written 
notice to the qualified provider and to the recipients served by the qualified pro­
vider. The notice must specify the local agency's grounds for terminating the con­
tract. Termination of the contract is effective three days after the notice is mailed 
to the qualified provider. The local agency shall also give the recipient a list of 
other qualified providers who have contracted with the local agency to provide 
the special services specified in subpart 1 or who have asked to be included on 
the list. The qualified provider shall not be reimbursed for fees, costs, or disburse­
ments related to special services provided after the effective date of termination. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04 cl (2); 256D.06 subd 5 
History: 10 SR 1715 

9500.1257 LITERACY TRAINING FOR RECIPIENTS. 
Subpart 1. Occupational and vocational literacy programs. The local agency 

shall determine the extent to which occupational or vocational literacy programs 
as defined in part 9500.1206, subpart 24a, are available for use by recipients 
under this part. If the local agency determines that existing occupational or voca-
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tional literacy programs are not sufficient to meet the needs of recipients, the local 
agency shall: 

A. inform local educational institutions and job training programs of the 
number of recipients who need occupational and vocational literacy training; and 

B. recommend to local educational institutions and job training pro­
grams that the necessary programs be developed. 

Subp. 2. Assessment. The local agency shall assess each recipient eligible 
under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item P, to identify any learning disabilities the 
recipient may have and to determine the recipient's existing reading level, read­
ing potential, and vocational or occupational interests. The results of literacy test­
ing and any other assessments conducted by the local agency under this subpart 
must be made available to the literacy training provider in accordance with Min­
nesota Statutes, sections 13.01 to 13.90, the Minnesota Government Data Prac­
tices Act. 

Subp. 3. Assignment. The local agency shall assign each suitable recipient eli­
gible under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item P, to an accessible occupational or 
vocational literacy program if an opening in such a program is available. If there 
is no opening for a recipient in an accessible occupational or vocational literacy 
program, the local agency shall assign the recipient to an opening in any other 
accessible literacy program. A program is accessible to a recipient if the program 
is within the local labor market as denned in part 9500.1206, subpart 19a. A 
recipient is suitable unless it is unlikely that participation in a literacy program 
would improve the recipient's literacy level due to mental retardation, mental ill­
ness, or a learning disability. 

Subp. 4. Reassignment. If a suitable recipient fails, with good cause as 
denned in part 9500.1206, subpart 15, to complete a literacy program to which 
the recipient is assigned under subpart 3, the local agency shall assign the recipi­
ent to an opening in another accessible literacy program if the recipient wants to 
participate in another program. If the recipient does not have good cause for 
refusing reassignment to another program, the recipient must be disqualified 
under part 9500.1266. 

Subp. 5. Child care and transportation. The local agency shall provide child 
care and transportation to a recipient if necessary to enable the recipient to par­
ticipate in an assigned literacy program. 

Subp. 6. Payments to nonparticipating recipients. The local agency shall pro­
vide general assistance benefits under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item P, to a 
recipient who does not participate in a literacy training program only if the recipi­
ent: 

A. has good cause for failing to participate; 
B. fails to make progress in a literacy program assigned under subpart 

3 or 4 despite participation in the program for at least six months; or 
C. is not assigned to a literacy training program because the recipient 

is not suitable for literacy training or because there is no opening in an accessible 
literacy program. 

Subp. 7. Voluntary participation in work readiness. The local agency may 
allow a general assistance recipient eligible under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item 
P, to participate voluntarily in work readiness services if the local agency deter­
mines that: 

A. the recipient has reached a level of literacy that may allow successful 
participation in job training; and 

B. participation in work readiness services by the recipient would not 
interfere with the recipient's participation in literacy training. 

Subp. 8. Reassessment. If a recipient has been determined to be eligible for 
general assistance under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item P, the local agency shall 
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assess the recipient's eligibility under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, items A to O, 
when: 

A. the local agency determines under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item 
P, that the recipient is no longer functionally illiterate; or 

B. the recipient is disqualified under part 9500.1262, subpart 1, item C, 
for failure to comply with literacy training requirements. 

Subp. 9. Referral to work readiness program. If the local agency determines, 
after reassessment under subpart 8, that a recipient is ineligible for general assis­
tance, the local agency shall determine the recipient's eligibility for the work read­
iness program under part 9500.1306. 

Subp. 10. Explanation of rights and duties. At the time a person is determined 
eligible for general assistance under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item P, and at the 
time a person is assigned to a literacy program, the local agency shall provide an 
oral explanation of: 

A. the requirements of part 9500.1262, subpart 1, item C, and the penal­
ties for failure to comply with these requirements; 

B. the local agency's responsibilities under subparts 2 to 9; and 
C. the person's right to appeal any adverse decision. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.05 subd 1 para (a) cl (15); 256D.052 
History: 13 SR 1688; 13 SR 1735 

GENERAL ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY 
9500.1258 CATEGORIES OF ELIGIBILITY. 

Subpart 1. Categories of ongoing eligibility. When the local agency deter­
mines the composition of an applicant's or recipient's assistance unit under part 
9500.1209, subpart 3, the local agency must determine whether the applicant or 
recipient meets the conditions of one or more of the categories of eligibility under 
the following items: 

A. The applicant or recipient suffers from a permanent illness, injury, 
or incapacity that is medically certified and prevents the applicant or recipient 
from obtaining or retaining suitable employment. 

B. The applicant or recipient suffers from a temporary illness, injury, or 
incapacity that is medically certified and prevents the applicant or recipient from 
obtaining or retaining suitable employment for a period of at least 15 days and, 
if a rehabilitation plan is specified in the medical certification, the applicant or 
recipient is following the rehabilitation plan. An applicant or recipient is eligible 
under this item only for the period of the illness, injury, or incapacity. 

C. The applicant or recipient is needed at home on a substantially con­
tinuous basis because another individual who resides with the applicant or recipi­
ent requires care due to the age or medically certified illness, injury, or incapacity 
of the other individual. The medical certification of illness, injury, or incapacity 
must state that the individual requiring care is unable to care for himself or her­
self. 

D. The applicant or recipient is residing in a residential program 
licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A and certified under Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 144 for purposes of physical or mental health or rehabilitation, 
or in a chemical dependency domiciliary facility licensed under parts 9530.2600 
to 9530.4000 or 4625.0100 to 4625.2300. Residence in the facility must be due 
to illness or incapacity and based on a plan developed or approved by the director 
of the local agency. 

E. The applicant or recipient resides in a shelter facility for battered 
women as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.05, subdivision 3. 

F. The applicant or recipient is enrolled as a full-time student and is or 
may be eligible for displaced homemaker services, programs, or assistance under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 268.96. 
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G. The applicant or recipient is unable to communicate in the English 
language as assessed by an English as a second language specialist, a vocational 
specialist, or the local agency. 

H. The applicant or recipient does not meet the condition in item A, B, 
or D but is medically certified as having mental retardation or mental illness. 

I. The applicant or recipient has an application pending for the social 
security disability program or the supplemental security income program, or a 
pending appeal of the denial of an application or termination from those pro­
grams. 

J. The applicant or recipient is unable to obtain or retain suitable 
employment due to advanced age. 

K. The applicant or recipient is completing high school. 
L. The applicant or recipient is a minor child who resides with his or her 

parent or stepparent, or an adult who resides with one or more of his or her minor 
children or the minor children of his or her spouse. 

M. The applicant or recipient meets one or more of the following: 
(1) lives in a local labor market with no potential suitable employ­

ment; 
(2) is involved with protective or court-ordered services that pre­

vent the applicant or recipient from working at least four hours per day; 
(3) is in the last trimester of pregnancy; 
(4) is evaluated by a vocational specialist or a vocational adviser 

and is found to be unable to obtain or retain suitable employment; 
(5) exhibits severe symptoms of chemical dependency but refuses 

evaluation or treatment; 
(6) exhibits evidence of severely diminished functioning in areas of 

daily living such as social skills or personal relations; 
(7) shows circumstances, at the time of application for general assis­

tance, that indicate the need for general assistance will not exceed 30 days 
because of impending employment, an impending move to another state, or 
anticipated receipt of income, and the applicant has not received general assis­
tance under this condition for at least 60 days; or 

(8) is regularly attending a GED program with a minimum of six 
hours of classroom instruction per week. 

N. The applicant or recipient is certified under part 3320.0025 [Emer­
gency] by the commissioner of the Department of Jobs and Training before 
August 1, 1985, as lacking work skills or training or as being unable to obtain 
work skills or training necessary to secure employment. 

O. The applicant or recipient is medically certified as being learning dis­
abled. For purposes of this item, "learning disabled" means the individual has 
a disorder in one or more of the psychological processes involved in perceiving, 
understanding, or using concepts through verbal language or nonverbal means. 
It does not include learning problems that are primarily the result of visual, hear­
ing, or motor handicaps; of mental retardation; of emotional disturbance; or of 
environmental, cultural, or economic disadvantage. The condition must severely 
limit the individual in obtaining, performing, or maintaining suitable employ­
ment. 

P. The applicant or recipient is functionally illiterate. For purposes of 
this item, "functionally illiterate" means the individual is unable to read at or 
above the eighth grade level. An applicant or recipient shall be determined func­
tionally illiterate according to subitems (1) to (3): 

(1) The local agency may determine that the applicant or recipient 
is obviously functionally illiterate based on personal observations or information 
in the applicant's or recipient's case file. 
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(2) If an applicant or recipient is not determined to be functionally 
illiterate as provided in subitem (1), but the local agency believes that the appli­
cant or recipient may be functionally illiterate, or if the applicant or recipient 
asserts or presents evidence that he or she may be functionally illiterate, the local 
agency shall offer the applicant or recipient the opportunity to take a standard­
ized literacy test approved by the commissioner. The test must be offered in the 
county at no expense to the applicant or recipient and in time to allow a determi­
nation of eligibility within the time limits prescribed under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 256D.07, that takes into account the results of the test. The local agency 
shall either administer the test or offer to make the arrangements for the test. If 
the applicant or recipient attains a score lower than the eighth grade, he or she 
shall be considered functionally illiterate unless the local agency determines, 
through compelling evidence documented in the applicant's or recipient's case 
file, that there is a substantial likelihood that the test result is inaccurately low. 

(3) If, in accordance with subitem (2), the local agency determines 
that an applicant's or recipient's standardized test score is inaccurately low, the 
local agency shall inform the applicant or recipient that he or she may seek certifi­
cation of the functional illiteracy from a licensed psychologist, or an individual 
licensed under parts 8700.3800, 8700.5300, 8700.5406, 8700.5500, 8700.5800, 
8700.6300, or 8700.6310, or an individual with the equivalent or higher qualifi­
cations. The local agency shall provide the applicant or recipient with a list of 
individuals or agencies in the county who are qualified to make the certification. 
The applicant or recipient is considered functionally illiterate if the certification 
specifies that he or she cannot read at or above the eighth grade level. 

Subp. 2. Categories providing for six months of eligibility. An applicant who 
is not eligible for general assistance under subpart 1, but who meets the condi­
tions of part 9500.1209, subpart 4, and who has received six months of work 
readiness services and payments is eligible to receive general assistance for a max­
imum of six months during any consecutive 12-calendar month period if the con­
ditions in item A or B are met: 

A. the individual is medically certified as having borderline mental 
retardation, as defined in part 9500.1302, subpart 2; or 

B. the individual is certified by a qualified professional, as defined in 
part 9500.1302, subpart 6, as exhibiting perceptible symptoms of mental illness 
and the mental illness interferes with medical certification of the individual's 
condition. 

Unless the local agency has information that a recipient meets one or more 
of the categories of eligibility under subpart 1, the local agency shall provide the 
recipient with written notice of his or her termination from general assistance 
after issuing the monthly general assistance payment during the sixth and final 
month. The notice must inform the recipient of the right to appeal as specified 
in part 9500.1260, and that the recipient may be eligible for work readiness ser­
vices and payments if he or she meets the criteria of part 9500.1306, subpart 3. 

Statutory Authority: MSs256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051; 256D.09subd 
4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134; !Spl985 c 14 art 9 s 75; 13 SR 1448 

9500.1260 GENERAL ASSISTANCE INELIGIBILITY; WORK READINESS 
NOTICE. 

Subpart 1. Determination of ineligibility and right to appeal. Upon determin­
ing that an applicant or recipient is ineligible for general assistance, the local 
agency shall inform the applicant or recipient of the determination and of the 
right to appeal the determination under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045. 

Subp. 2. Work readiness notice. Upon determining that an applicant or recip­
ient is not eligible for general assistance because he or she does not meet a cate-
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gory of eligibility under part 9500.1258, the local agency shall inform the individ­
ual of the availability of its work readiness program and shall determine the indi­
vidual's eligibility for services and payments under part 9500.1306, subpart 3. 
If an applicant or recipient is eligible for work readiness services and payments, 
he or she shall be informed that an appeal of the general assistance determination 
of ineligibility may be made under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045 while 
receiving work readiness services and payments. The local agency shall also 
inform the individual that eligibility for work readiness services and payments 
is time limited. 

If the applicant or recipient subsequently wins the appeal, the assistance 
received under the work readiness program pending appeal must be considered 
general assistance. If a recipient files an appeal before the effective date of the ter­
mination of his or her general assistance, continues to receive general assistance 
pending the appeal in accordance with part 9500.1268, and does not prevail in 
the appeal, the assistance received pending the appeal shall be considered general 
assistance and not work readiness payments, and the recipient's participation in 
work readiness services pending the outcome of the appeal shall not be counted 
toward the two- or six-month limitation on eligibility for the work readiness pro­
gram. If a recipient files an appeal after the effective date of the termination of 
his or her general assistance, receives work readiness services and payments 
pending the appeal, and does not prevail in the appeal, the assistance received 
pending the appeal shall be considered work readiness assistance and shall be 
counted toward the two- or six-month limitation on eligibility for the work readi­
ness program. 

Statutory Authority: MSs256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051; 256D.09subd 
4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.1U subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134 

9500.1262 REQUIREMENTS FOR CONTINUED ELIGIBILITY. 
Subpart 1. Requirements for continued eligibility for specific categories of 

ongoing eligibility. A recipient of general assistance whose eligibility is based on 
part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item G, L, or P, and who is not eligible under another 
category of eligibility under part 9500.1258, must comply with the following 
requirements as conditions for continued eligibility. 

A. Recipients who are eligible under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item G 
shall participate in an English language skills program if assigned to a program 
by the local agency and if the program is available in the recipient's local labor 
market. If the recipient fails, without good cause, to participate in the assigned 
English language skills program, the recipient must be disqualified from receiving 
general assistance as prescribed in part 9500.1266. 

B. Adult recipients who are eligible for general assistance under part 
9500.1258, subpart 1, item L, must comply with the following: 

(1) If all of the minor children are six years of age or older, the adults 
must participate in and comply with the work readiness program. 

(2) If one or more of the minor children are under the age of six and 
two adults are eligible under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item L, one adult must 
participate in and comply with the work readiness program. 

(3) An adult who is required to participate in and comply with the 
work readiness program under subitem (1) or (2) who fails, without good cause, 
to participate in and comply with the requirements of the work readiness pro­
gram must be disqualified from general assistance as provided in part 9500.1266. 
The standard of assistance applicable to the disqualified member's assistance unit 
must be based on the number of remaining eligible members of the assistance 
unit. 

C. A recipient who is eligible for general assistance under part 
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9500.1258, subpart 1, item P, shall participate in a literacy program assigned 
under part 9500.1257. If a recipient fails to participate in an assigned literacy 
program, the recipient must be disqualified from receiving general assistance 
under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item G, L, or P, unless the recipient is not par­
ticipating for one of the reasons identified in part 9500.1257, subpart 6. 

Subp. 2. Requirements for continued eligibility under categories of six-month 
eligibility. A recipient of general assistance whose eligibility is based on part 
9500.1258, subpart 2 must comply with the following requirements to remain eli­
gible for general assistance: 

A. A recipient certified as exhibiting perceptible symptoms of mental ill­
ness as provided by part 9500.1258, subpart 2, item B must cooperate with social 
services, treatment, or other reasonable plans developed by the local agency to 
address the illness. If the local agency determines that the recipient has failed, 
without good cause, to comply with the plan, the recipient shall be disqualified 
from receiving general assistance as prescribed in part 9500.1266. 

B. The local agency may assign a recipient who is eligible for general 
assistance under part 9500.1258, subpart 2 to the work readiness program for 
work readiness services. A recipient so assigned must comply with the work read­
iness program requirements determined by the local agency to be applicable to 
the recipient. If the local agency determines that the recipient has failed, without 
good cause, to comply with work readiness requirements, the recipient is disqual­
ified from receiving general assistance as provided in part 9500.1266. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.05 subd 1 para (a) cl (15); 256D.04; 256D.05 
subd 1; 256D.051; 256D.052; 256D.09 subd 4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.1U subd 
5 

History: 11 SR 134; 13 SR 1688; 13 SR 1735 

9500.1264 NOTICE OF DISQUALIFICATION. 
If the local agency determines that a recipient must be disqualified for failing 

to comply with the requirements of part 9500.1262, the local agency shall notify 
the recipient of the determination. The notice must: 

A. be in writing on a form prescribed by the commissioner; 
B. be mailed or given to the recipient not later than ten days before 

reducing, suspending, or terminating the monthly payment; and 
C. clearly state what action the local agency intends to take, the reasons 

for the action, the right to appeal the action, and the conditions under which 
assistance can be continued pending an appeal. 

Statutory Authority: MSs256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051; 256D.09subd 
4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134 

9500.1266 DISQUALIFICATION. 
A recipient who fails, without good cause, to comply with the requirements 

of part 9500.1262, is disqualified from receiving general assistance as provided 
in items A to D. 

A. The period of disqualification is two months for each occurrence. 
B. The disqualification period begins on the first calendar day of the 

month following the month in which the recipient is finally determined to have 
failed to comply. If the determination is made so late in a month that prior notice 
under part 9500.1264 cannot be given, the disqualification period begins on the 
first calendar day of the second month following the finding of noncompliance. 

If the recipient appeals on or before the proposed disqualification date, the 
disqualification process must stop and assistance will continue under part 
9500.1268 until a final decision is made. If the final decision is that the recipient 
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is disqualified, the disqualification period begins on the first day of the month fol­
lowing the final decision. 

C. If an individual who is disqualified applies for general assistance dur­
ing the period of disqualification, the individual is considered a recipient and the 
application shall be denied unless the individual is eligible for general assistance 
on the basis of a category of eligibility other than the categories in part 9500.1258, 
subpart 1, item G, L, or P. 

D. If a recipient who received a notice of disqualification complies with 
the requirements of part 9500.1262, on or before the commencement of the dis­
qualification period, assistance must be continued without a period of disqualifi­
cation. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.05 subd 1 para (a) cl (15); 256D.04; 256D.05 
subd 1; 256D.051; 256D.052; 256D.09 subd 4; 256D. 10; 256D. 101; 256D.111 subd 
5 

History: 11 SR 134; 13 SR 1688; 13 SR 1735 

9500.1268 APPEAL OF DISQUALIFICATION. 
A recipient who is disqualified from receiving general assistance under part 

9500.1266 may appeal the decision. The appeal must be a written request for a 
hearing submitted to the department or the local agency under Minnesota Stat­
utes, section 256.045. If appeal is made on or before the commencement of the 
disqualification period and the recipient is otherwise eligible, he or she shall con­
tinue to receive general assistance while the appeal is pending, unless the recipi­
ent requests in writing that assistance be discontinued pending a hearing 
decision. 

Statutory Authority: MSs256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051; 256D.09subd 
4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134 

9500.1270 SPECIAL VOUCHER OR VENDOR PAYMENT PROVISIONS. 
The local agency may provide general assistance, emergency general assis­

tance, or work readiness payments in the form of vouchers or vendor payments 
if the applicant, recipient, or registrant does not have a residence address. The 
local agency may provide separate vouchers or vendor payments for food, shelter, 
and other needs and may divide the monthly assistance standard into daily or 
weekly payments, whether in cash or by voucher or vendor payment, until the 
applicant, recipient, or registrant has secured an address at which he or she 
resides. If the local agency elects to use these provisions, the local agency shall 
either provide for the individual's needs through placement in a negotiated rate 
facility, or provide for all of the individual's food, shelter, or other daily needs, 
regardless of the standard of assistance. For purposes of this part, "address" 
includes migrant labor camp as defined in part 4630.4800, subpart 3. 

Statutory Authority: MSs 256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051; 256D.09 subd 
4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134 

9500.1272 ASSIGNMENT OF REPRESENTATIVE PAYEE FOR RECIPI­
ENTS WHO ARE DRUG DEPENDENT. 

Subpart 1. Definitions. As used in this part, the following terms have the 
meanings given them in this subpart. 

A. "Basic needs" means the minimum personal requirements of subsis­
tence and is restricted to: 

(1) shelter; 
(2) utilities; 
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(3) food; 
(4) clothing; and 
(5) other items the loss or lack of which is determined by the county 

agency to pose a direct, immediate threat to the physical health or safety of the 
applicant or recipient. 

B. "Chemical use assessment" means the assessment defined in part 
9530.6605, subpart 8. 

C. "Client" means an applicant for or recipient of general assistance. 
D. "Detoxification" means the program of services provided under Min­

nesota Statutes, section 254A.08. 
E. "Disconjugate gaze" means an inability to move both eyes in unison. 
F. "Drug abuse" means chemical abuse as defined in part 9530.6605, 

subpart 6. 
G. "Drug dependency" means chemical dependency as defined in part 

9530.6605, subpart 7. 
H. "Representative payee" means a person or agency selected to receive 

and manage general assistance benefits provided by the county agency on behalf 
of a general assistance recipient. 

I. "Vendor payment" means a payment made by a county agency 
directly to a provider of goods or services. 

Subp. 2. Referral for chemical use assessment. A county agency may refer an 
applicant or a recipient for a chemical use assessment by an assessor as defined 
in part 9530.6605, subpart 4, when there is a reasonable basis for questioning 
whether a person is drug dependent. A reasonable basis for referral exists when: 

A. The person has required detoxification two or more times in the last 
12 months; 

B. The person appears intoxicated at the county agency as indicated by 
two or more of the following: 

(1) odor of alcohol; 
(2) slurred speech; 
(3) disconjugate gaze; 
(4) impaired balance; 
(5) difficulty in remaining awake; 
(6) consumption of a chemical; 
(7) responding to sights or sounds that are not actually present; and 
(8) extreme restlessness, fast speech, or unusual belligerence; 

C. The person has been involuntarily committed for drug dependency 
at least once in the past 12 months; or 

D. The person has received treatment, including domiciliary care, for 
drug abuse or dependency at least twice in the past 12 months. 

Subp. 3. Referral procedures for chemical use assessment. A referral for a 
chemical use assessment must be made according to items A and B. 

A. When the county agency decides to refer a client for a chemical use 
assessment, the county agency shall notify the client of the referral in writing. The 
notice must inform the client of: 

(1) the basis for the referral; 
(2) the name, address, and phone number of the individual to con­

tact to schedule the assessment, or the time, date, and location of the chemical 
use assessment if one has already been scheduled by the county agency; 

(3) the fact that the applicant's general assistance benefits will be 
paid in the form of vendor payments or emergency general assistance as specified 
in subpart 4 until the local agency decides whether to assign a representative 
payee under subpart 8; 
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(4) the fact that if the recipient has been receiving cash general assis­
tance that those benefits will be changed to emergency general assistance pay­
ments or general assistance vendor payments under subpart 4 until the county 
agency decides whether to assign a representative payee under subpart 8; 

(5) the effect under subpart 8 of failing to participate in the chemical 
use assessment within 30 days of the date of referral; 

(6) the client's right to appeal the county agency's decision to refer 
the client for an assessment, and the right to appeal the assessment results when 
the assessment has been completed; and 

(7) the need to contact the county agency and consult with the 
county agency concerning the choice of representative payee. 

B. The client must be given the opportunity to participate in a chemical 
use assessment within 15 days after the date the notice of referral is mailed or 
delivered to the client. 

Subp. 4. Form of payment pending completion of assessment. A county agency 
shall provide only emergency general assistance (EGA) or general assistance ven­
dor payments to a client who has been referred for a chemical use assessment 
under subpart 2. EGA may be provided to clients only in emergency situations 
as provided in part 9500.1238. All other payments made under this subpart must 
be general assistance vendor payments. 

Subp. 5. Timing and duration of general assistance vendor payments or EGA. 
A county agency shall not change the form of a recipient's benefit payments from 
cash general assistance to general assistance vendor payments under subpart 4 
until ten days after the notice of referral under subpart 3 is mailed or delivered 
to the recipient. If the client meets the criteria for assignment of a representative 
payee under subpart 8, the county agency shall continue to provide EGA or gen­
eral assistance vendor payments until the county agency begins making general 
assistance payments through the client's representative payee. If the client does 
not meet the criteria under subpart 8 for assignment of a representative payee, 
the county agency shall provide future general assistance benefits to which the cli­
ent is entitled in cash beginning on the first day of the payment month immedi­
ately following the date of the determination that the client does not meet the 
criteria for assignment of a representative payee. 

Subp. 6. Amount of vendor payments. EGA or general assistance vendor pay­
ments may be provided only to the extent needed to meet the client's basic needs. 
If the county agency is unable to vendor pay the entire standard of assistance to 
which the client is entitled, the remaining amount of the standard of assistance 
must not be issued until a representative payee is assigned or until the county 
agency decides not to assign a representative payee. If a representative payee is 
assigned, the unissued amount must be provided to the representative payee 
within 15 days after the date the county agency begins making payments through 
the representative payee. If the client does not meet the criteria under subpart 
8 for assignment of a representative payee, the unissued amount must be pro­
vided directly to the client within 15 days after the date of the determination that 
the client does not meet the criteria for assignment of a representative payee. 

Subp. 7. Assessment. The chemical use assessment must be conducted 
according to parts 9530.6600 to 9530.6655. 

Subp. 8. Criteria governing assignment of representative payee. The county 
agency may assign a representative payee to manage a client's general assistance 
if the client fails, without good cause as defined in part 9500.1206, subpart 15, 
to participate in a chemical use assessment within 30 days after referral under 
subparts 2 and 3; or if an assessment performed within the last six months indi­
cates that the client is drug dependent and eligible for placement in extended care 
under part 9530.6640. 

Subp. 9. Procedures governing assignment of representative payee after refer-
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ral under subparts 2 and 3. A representative payee must be assigned according to 
items A to C. 

A. The county agency shall provide the client with an opportunity to 
consult with the county agency in selecting a representative payee. The county 
agency shall consider the client's preferences for particular individuals to serve 
as payees but the county agency's preference must prevail. 

B. The county agency shall notify the client in writing of: 
(1) its decision to assign a representative payee; 
(2) the basis for its decision to assign a representative payee; 
(3) the identity, address, and phone number of the representative 

payee; 
(4) the date the county agency will begin making payments through 

the representative payee; 
(5) the circumstances under which a representative payee may be 

removed or replaced; and 
(6) the client's right to appeal the assignment under Minnesota Stat­

utes, section 256.045. 
C. The notice under item B must be mailed or delivered to the client or 

the client's last known address within 15 days after the date of the chemical use 
assessment on which the assignment is based, or within 30 days after the date of 
the referral under subparts 2 and 3 if a representative payee is assigned because 
of the client's failure to participate in an assessment. The notice must also be 
mailed or delivered at least ten days before the county agency begins making pay­
ments through the representative payee. 

Subp. 10. Procedures governing assignment of representative payee without 
referral under subparts 2 and 3. A county agency may assign a representative 
payee to a client who meets the criteria for assignment under subpart 8 but who 
has not been referred for a chemical use assessment under subparts 2 and 3. A 
representative payee assigned under this subpart must be assigned according to 
items A to E. 

A. The county agency may provide only emergency general assistance 
or general assistance vendor payments to a client who meets the criteria for 
assignment of a representative payee under subpart 8 until the county agency 
begins making general assistance payments through the client's representative 
payee or until the first day of the payment month following a determination that 
the client does not meet the criteria for assignment of a representative payee. Pay­
ments under this item shall be made according to subparts 4 and 6 and shall not 
begin until the date the county agency mails or delivers the notice under item C. 

B. The county agency shall provide a client with an opportunity to con­
sult with the county agency on the choice of representative payee as provided in 
subpart 9, item A. 

C. The county agency shall notify a client in writing of: 
(1) its decision to assign a representative payee; 
(2) the basis for its decision to assign a representative payee; 
(3) the client's right to consult with the county agency on the choice 

of representative payee; 
(4) the date by which the county agency must select a representative 

payee under item D; and 
(5) the fact that the county agency will provide the client's general 

assistance benefits in the form of emergency assistance or vendor payments until 
the county agency begins making payments through a representative payee. 

D. The county agency shall notify a client in writing of its selection of 
a representative payee within 15 days after issuing the notice required under item 
C. The notice shall inform the client of: 
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(1) the identity, address, and phone number of the representative 
payee assigned to the client; 

(2) the date the county agency will begin making payments through 
the representative payee; 

(3) the circumstances under which a representative payee may be 
removed or replaced; and 

(4) the client's right to appeal the assignment of a representative 
payee under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045. 

E. The county agency shall not begin making payments through a repre­
sentative payee until at least ten days after the notice under item D is mailed or 
delivered to the client. 

Subp. 11. Criteria governing the choice of representative payee. A county 
agency shall appoint as representative payee an individual or agency who is likely 
to manage the client's income and resources in a manner that meets the client's 
basic needs. A county agency shall not appoint as representative payee any indi­
vidual to whom the client is in financial debt. In selecting the representative 
payee, the county agency shall consider all factors relevant to the prospective 
payee's ability to manage the client's general assistance to meet the client's basic 
needs, including the following factors: 

A. the prospective payee's experience and training in managing the 
finances of others; 

B. the prospective payee's familiarity with the geographic area and the 
community resources available to meet the client's basic needs; and 

C. the relationship between the prospective payee and the client, includ­
ing any legal authority the prospective payee has to act on behalf of the client. 

Subp. 12. Responsibilities of the representative payee. The representative 
payee assigned to a client must: 

A. use the client's general assistance benefits to meet the client's current 
basic needs; 

B. maintain clear and current records of all expenditures made on behalf 
of the client; and 

C. complete a report every six months containing the client's general 
assistance financial records and a recommendation as to whether the client con­
tinues to require a representative payee. The report must be provided to the 
county agency and the client on request. 

Subp. 13. Review of client's representative payee status. The county agency 
shall conduct a review of a client's need to continue receiving benefits through 
a representative payee within 12 months of the client's previous chemical use 
assessment. The county agency shall conduct the review under this subpart no 
earlier than six months after the client's previous chemical use assessment. A 
review requested by a client must be conducted within 15 days of the client's 
request. Each review conducted under this subpart must include a chemical use 
assessment to determine whether the recipient remains drug dependent and eligi­
ble for placement in extended care and an examination of the representative 
payee's report required under subpart 12. 

Subp. 14. Discontinuing a client's representative payee status. A county 
agency shall discontinue the use of a representative payee only if a review con­
ducted under subpart 13 indicates that the client is no longer eligible for place­
ment in extended care. A county agency shall not discontinue the use of a 
representative payee until at least six months have elapsed since the client last 
underwent a chemical use assessment showing the client to be chemically depen­
dent and eligible for placement in extended care. 

Subp. 15. Investigating need for change in representative payee. The county 
agency shall review a representative payee's performance and determine whether 
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to appoint a new representative payee if the client alleges or the county agency 
has reason to believe that the representative payee is not complying with the 
requirements of subpart 12. When an investigation is initiated in response to a 
client's complaint, the county agency's decision to retain the current representa­
tive payee or appoint a new one must be made within 30 days of the date the com­
plaint is received by the county agency. An investigation conducted under this 
subpart must include a review of all financial records maintained by the represen­
tative payee concerning the use of the client's general assistance benefits and any 
other relevant evidence. 

Subp. 16. Duration of a representative payee designation. Notwithstanding 
any gaps in the receipt of general assistance, the designation of a specific represen­
tative payee shall continue for at least six months unless: 

A. the client no longer meets the criteria for assignment of a representa­
tive payee under subpart 8; 

B. the representative payee is not fulfilling the responsibilities under 
subpart 12; or 

C. the representative payee requests to discontinue serving as the cli­
ent's representative payee. 

Subp. 17. Change in representative payee. The county agency shall appoint 
a new representative payee if the current representative payee fails to comply 
with the requirements of subpart 12 or requests that the county agency appoint 
a new representative payee. 

Subp. 18. Appealable issues. A client may appeal: 
A. the proposed assignment of a representative payee, including the 

results of the chemical use assessment upon which the assignment is based; 
B. the county agency's choice of representative payee; and 
C. the decision to refer a person for an assessment. 

However, notwithstanding any provision of Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045 
to the contrary, an applicant or recipient who is referred for an assessment and 
is otherwise eligible to receive a general assistance benefit may only be provided 
with emergency general assistance or vendor payments pending the outcome of 
an administrative or judicial review. 

If a representative payee is assigned under subpart 8 without a chemical use 
assessment, the client may appeal the county agency's determination that the cli­
ent did not have good cause for failing to participate in the chemical use assess­
ment. 

Subp. 19. Appeal procedures and timing of appeals. If the client appeals 
before the date the representative payee is scheduled to begin receiving the cli­
ent's general assistance benefits, the county agency shall continue to vendor pay 
the client's general assistance and shall not make general assistance payments 
through the representative payee until after the appeal is decided unless the client 
requests in writing to have payments made through the representative payee 
pending the outcome of the appeal. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.09 
History: 75 SR 120 

WORK READINESS PROGRAM 

9500.1300 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY. 
Subpart 1. Purpose. The purpose of parts 9500.1300 to 9500.1318 is to estab­

lish standards for the work readiness program provided to eligible registrants by 
local agencies. 

Subp. 2. Applicability. Parts 9500.1300 to 9500.1318 apply to applicants and 
registrants in the work readiness program, to applicants and recipients of general 
assistance, and to local agencies that are required to administer the work readi-
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ness and general assistance programs under Minnesota Statutes, sections 
256D.051, 256D.09, subdivision 4, 256D.101, and 256D.111, subdivision 5. 
Parts 9500.1300 to 9500.1318 must be read together with parts 9500.1200 to 
9500.1270. When parts 9500.1300 to 9500.1318 conflict with parts 9500.1200 
to 9500.1270, parts 9500.1300 to 9500.1318 prevail. 

Statutory Authority: MSs 256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051; 256D.09subd 
4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134 

9500.1302 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Scope. As used in parts 9500.1300 to 9500.1318, the following 

terms have the meanings given them. 
Subp. la. Bona fide offer of employment. "Bona fide offer of employment" 

means an offer of employment, made in good faith by an employer. 
Subp. 2. Borderline mental retardation. "Borderline mental retardation" 

means the condition of an individual who has demonstrated deficits in adaptive 
behavior and intellectual functioning that is at least one but less than two stan­
dard deviations below the mean of a professionally recognized standardized test. 
The condition must limit the individual in obtaining, performing, or maintaining 
suitable employment. 

Subp. 3. Distressed county. "Distressed county" means a county or a desig­
nated portion of a county with an average unemployment rate of ten percent or 
more as determined annually by the commissioner of the Department of Jobs and 
Training. 

Subp. 4. Employment assistance programs. "Employment assistance pro­
grams" means the Minnesota employment and economic development (MEED) 
program and other programs offered by public or private agencies that provide 
services to develop, enhance, or promote an individual's employability, job 
placement, and training. 

Subp. 5. Misconduct. "Misconduct" means conduct that would result in the 
disqualification of a claimant for unemployment insurance benefits under Min­
nesota Statutes, section 268.09, subdivision 1, clauses (2) and (3). 

Subp. 6. Program month. "Program month" means a 30 day period of eligi­
bility for work readiness assistance beginning with the first date for which a work 
readiness payment is made to the registrant, and each subsequent 30 day period 
in which the registrant is eligible for work readiness assistance and for which the 
registrant is provided with work readiness payments. 

Subp. 7. Qualified professional. "Qualified professional" means a social 
worker employed by the local agency, a social worker with a master's degree in 
social work, a licensed consulting psychologist, a licensed psychologist, a licensed 
physician or psychiatrist, or a public health nurse as defined in Minnesota Stat­
utes, section 145A.02, subdivision 18. 

Subp. 8. Registrant. "Registrant" means an individual who has applied for 
work readiness services and payments, who has been determined eligible for 
those services and payments by the local agency, and who has elected to begin 
receiving those services and payments. "Registrant" also means a recipient who 
is required to participate in the work readiness program under part 9500.1262. 

Subp. 9. Vocational adviser. "Vocational adviser" means an individual 
employed by or under contract with the local agency who has sufficient education, 
training, or experience to identify the types of available suitable employment in 
a registrant's local labor market and the qualifications required for that employ­
ment; to identify the registrant's physical, social, vocational, and educational bar­
riers to obtaining available suitable employment; and to identify the types of 
services and activities necessary to enable the registrant to overcome the barriers 
and obtain suitable employment. 
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Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051 subds 8,14; 
256D. 09 subd 4; 256D. 10; 256D. 101; 256D. 111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134; L 1987 c 309 s 24; 12 SR 2789 

9500.1304 LOCAL AGENCY RESPONSIBILITY TO PROVIDE WORK 
READINESS PROGRAM AND PROGRAM DESCRIPTION. 

Subpart 1. Requirement to provide a work readiness program. Each local 
agency shall provide a work readiness program. The program must provide work 
readiness services and payments to all applicants residing within the local agen­
cy's jurisdiction who meet the eligibility conditions of part 9500.1306, and must 
provide work readiness services to adult recipients of general assistance who are 
eligible under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, item L. The local agency may continue 
to provide work readiness services to recipients of general assistance who are cat­
egorically eligible under part 9500.1258, subpart 2. 

Subp. 2. Preparation of work readiness program description. Each local 
agency shall develop a written description of its work readiness program. The 
description must: 

A. meet the standards established in part 9500.1252; 
B. identify the work readiness program's purpose, service components, 

operating procedures, and service provider; 
C. contain a summary of work readiness program requirements includ­

ing a registrant's responsibility to cooperate when the local agency assesses the 
registrant's employability and prepares the registrant's employability develop­
ment plan, and the responsibility to comply with job registration, work search, 
and employment acceptance and retention requirements as conditions for con­
tinuing eligibility; and 

D. state that a period of disqualification will be imposed for failure to 
comply with work readiness requirements. 

Subp. 3. Distribution of work readiness program description. The local agency 
must give a copy of the work readiness program description to an applicant at 
the time he or she applies for general assistance or work readiness, and to any 
individual upon request. 

Subp. 4. Filing of program description. The local agency must file a copy of 
its work readiness program description with the commissioner annually, on Janu­
ary 1. The local agency must also file a copy of amendments to its work readiness 
program description with the commissioner at the time it makes the amend­
ments. 

Subp. 5. Retention of documents in case riles. The local agency shall retain 
copies of all work readiness program notices, assessments, plans, and other docu­
ments given to or completed by an applicant or registrant, in accordance with 
parts 9500.1300 to 9500.1318, in the applicant's or registrant's case file. 

Statutory Authority: MSs 256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051; 256D.09 subd 
4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134 

9500.1306 APPLICATION PROCESS AND ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA. 
Subpart 1. Assessment of general assistance eligibility. Before determining 

an applicant's eligibility for work readiness services and payments, the local 
agency must determine the applicant's need for emergency general assistance 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.07, and the applicant's eligibility for the 
general assistance program under part 9500.1209. If the applicant is eligible for 
general assistance, the applicant is ineligible for work readiness services and pay­
ments except as provided in part 9500.1262, subparts 1, item B, and 2. If the 
applicant is ineligible for general assistance, the local agency shall notify the 
applicant of the determination and of the right to appeal the decision as provided 
under part 9500.1260. 
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Subp. 2. Work readiness application. A completed application for general 
assistance is considered to be a completed application for the work readiness pro­
gram effective on the date that the local agency determines the applicant ineligi­
ble for general assistance. A registrant shall not be required to complete a new 
application for general assistance when the local agency is determining the regis­
trant's eligibility for general assistance under part 9500.1316, subpart 2, or 
9500.1258, subpart 2. 

Subp. 3. Eligibility criteria. If the local agency determines that the applicant 
is ineligible for general assistance, it must determine the applicant's eligibility for 
the work readiness program. An applicant or registrant is eligible for the work 
readiness program if" the applicant or registrant meets the conditions in items A 
toE: 

A. The applicant or registrant is not categorically eligible for general 
assistance under part 9500.1209, subpart 3, item A. 

B. The applicant or registrant meets the eligibility requirements under 
part 9500.1209, subpart 4. If the applicant or registrant is married and resides 
with his or her spouse, the income and property of the applicant or registrant and 
his or her spouse shall be considered in accordance with part 9500.1209, subpart 
4. 

C. The applicant or registrant has not exhausted his or her eligibility 
period as provided by part 9500.1312. 

D. The applicant or registrant is not in a disqualification period under 
part 9500.1254, 9500.1266, or 9500.1316. 

E. The applicant has not refused, without good cause, a bona fide offer 
of suitable employment within 60 days prior to the date he or she is determined 
to be ineligible for general assistance. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051 subds 8,14; 
256D.09 subd 4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134; 12 SR 2789 

9500.1308 REQUIREMENT TO INFORM APPLICANTS. 
Subpart 1. Duty to inform applicants of ineligibility for the work readiness 

program. Upon determining an applicant ineligible for the work readiness pro­
gram, the local agency must inform the applicant of the determination and the 
right to appeal as provided in part 9500.1318. 

Subp. 2. Duty to inform eligible applicants of work readiness requirements. 
At the time the local agency determines that an applicant is eligible for the work 
readiness program, the local agency must provide the applicant with a notice of 
the determination on a form prescribed by the commissioner, a copy of the pro­
gram description prescribed under part 9500.1304, subpart 2, and a written 
notice meeting the standards in part 9500.1252, which informs the applicant of: 

A. the limited time during which the applicant may be eligible for work 
readiness services and payments; 

B. the applicant's right to choose the months in which he or she will 
receive work readiness services and payments, including the option to elect to 
receive work readiness services and payments immediately; 

C. the disqualification that will be imposed if a registrant voluntarily 
quits suitable employment without good cause, refuses without good cause to 
accept a bona fide offer of suitable employment, or fails, without good cause, to 
comply with other work readiness program requirements; and 

D. that an assessment of continuing eligibility for work readiness ser­
vices and payments will be conducted during the registrant's second program 
month. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051 subds 8,14; 
256D.09 subd 4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134; 12 SR 2789 
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9500.1310 WORK READINESS SERVICES AND PAYMENTS. 
Subpart 1. Requirement of concurrent services and payments. In order for a 

program month to count toward the two or six program month limitation on eli­
gibility for the work readiness program, as provided by part 9500.1312, the regis­
trant must receive work readiness services during the program month for which 
a work readiness payment is made. Upon an eligible applicant's election to begin 
receiving work readiness services and payments, the local agency shall provide 
the services and payments to the registrant. A program month preceding the pro­
gram month in which the written employability assessment and the employability 
development plan are completed, in accordance with subpart 2, items A and B, 
must not be counted against a registrant's total program months of work readi­
ness eligibility, provided the registrant did not fail, without good cause, to coop­
erate with the assessment and plan development. A program month during which 
a registrant fails, without good cause, to comply with the requirements of the 
work readiness program but for which the registrant receives a work readiness 
payment shall be considered a program month during which work readiness ser­
vices and payments were received. 

Subp. 2. Work readiness services. The following services must be provided 
to a work readiness registrant: 

A. In consultation with the registrant, a vocational adviser shall com­
plete a written employability assessment. The assessment must include an exami­
nation of the registrant's education, training, prior work experience, and suitable 
employment that is or may become available, and must identify barriers to the 
registrant successfully seeking and securing suitable employment. 

B. The vocational adviser shall develop a written employability develop­
ment plan for each registrant within the registrant's first program month. The 
plan must be based on the assessment provided under item A and the vocational 
adviser's knowledge of the level of competition for employment that is or may 
become available, and must be designed to address the registrant's barriers to 
employment and prepare the registrant for suitable employment. The registrant 
must be given a copy of his or her plan and the plan must: 

(1) include an estimation of the length of time it will take the regis­
trant to obtain suitable employment; 

(2) require the registrant to accept any bona fide offer of suitable 
employment; 

(3) provide for referral to appropriate employment assistance pro­
grams; 

(4) require a registrant to spend at least eight but no more than 32 
hours per week in job search or other work readiness activities; 

(5) specify the registrant's job search requirements, which must be 
limited to the local labor market, must be reasonable, and must be based upon 
the assessment performed under item A; 

(6) specify any other reasonable activities designed to prepare the 
registrant for permanent suitable employment that are required of the registrant; 
and 

(7) include provisions for assessing the registrant's progress in 
securing suitable employment. 

C. No work readiness program shall require a registrant to travel to a 
potential job, training, or other activity site unless the local agency provides 
funds in advance to the registrant, in addition to the monthly program payment, 
to cover the cost of the transportation or unless transportation is otherwise avail­
able to the registrant without cost, or is unnecessary. 

D. A registrant who is categorically eligible under part 9500.1258, sub­
part 1, item L, and who is the sole parent or stepparent residing with one or more 
children under the age of 12 shall not be required to participate in any work readi-
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ness program activities during hours in which the child is at home unless the local 
agency provides funds in advance to the registrant, in addition to the monthly 
program payment, to cover the cost of child care. 

E. A local agency that requires a registrant to participate in any type of 
employment experience program shall require that the employment experience 
program meet the standards established in Minnesota Statutes, section 
256D. 113, and that the work to be done is not work ordinarily performed by a 
regular public employee. 

F. A local agency may contract with a public or private entity to perform 
any or all of the services prescribed by this subpart if the entity can document 
that it has the resources and expertise necessary to perform the services. A con­
tract entered into under this item must contain a description of the services to 
be performed under the contract. The local agency must monitor the entity to 
ensure that it is performing the services required under this subpart and specified 
in the contract. Upon request, the local agency shall provide the department with 
a copy of the contract and a description of the resources and expertise of the 
entity under contract with the local agency. 

Subp. 3. Work readiness payments. A registrant who meets the eligibility con­
ditions of part 9500.1306, subpart 3, shall receive work readiness payments dur­
ing the applicable period of work readiness eligibility. If the registrant is married 
and lives with his or her spouse, the couple is considered a filing unit comprised 
of two individuals. If the registrant's spouse is also a registrant, the couple shall 
be considered one assistance unit composed of two persons for purposes of deter­
mining the applicable standard of assistance, the amount of countable income, 
the amount of real and personal property, and the monthly work readiness pay­
ment amount. 

The payment amount must be equal to the amount of assistance that would 
be paid to the registrant's assistance unit if the assistance unit was eligible for gen­
eral assistance under part 9500.1209. If the registrant resides with his or her 
spouse and the spouse receives general assistance, the monthly work readiness 
payment to the registrant under this part must be equal to the amount the general 
assistance monthly payment made to the registrant's spouse would increase if the 
registrant were added to the spouse's general assistance grant. 

The first work readiness payment must be prorated to cover the period begin­
ning with the effective date of the completed application for the work readiness 
program, the date that the applicant is determined eligible for work readiness ser­
vices and payments, or the date that the eligible applicant elects to begin receiv­
ing work readiness services and payments, whichever is later, and ending with 
the last day of that month. The amount of the first payment must be determined 
by dividing the number of days to be covered by the payment by the number of 
days in the month, to determine the percentage of days in the month that are cov­
ered by the payment, and multiplying the monthly payment amount by this per­
centage. 

Subsequent work readiness payments must be made monthly on the first day 
of the month. A registrant shall continue to receive work readiness payments dur­
ing the months that he or she elects to receive work readiness services and pay­
ments and meets the eligibility requirements of part 9500.1306. The final 
payment must be prorated to cover the number of program days for which the 
registrant is eligible in that month. The amount of the final payment must be 
determined by subtracting the percentage of days in the first month covered by 
the first work readiness payment from 100 percent, and multiplying the final 
monthly payment amount by the remaining percentage. Emergency general assis­
tance is available to a registrant in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 
256D.06, subdivision 2. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051 subds 8,14; 
256D.09 subd 4; 256D.10; 256D.J01; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134; 12 SR 2789 
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9500.1312 ASSESSMENT FOR ADDITIONAL ELIGIBILITY; NOTICES TO 
REGISTRANTS. 

Subpart 1. Required assessment. Except for registrants participating in work 
readiness under part 9500.1262, the local agency shall conduct an assessment of 
the registrant's progress in securing suitable employment and an assessment of 
the registrant's eligibility for an additional four program months of work readi­
ness services and payments during the registrant's second program month of 
work readiness services and payments under part 9500.1310. 

The local agency must offer the registrant an opportunity to meet with the 
local agency and to provide information relevant to the assessment. If the regis­
trant does not meet with the local agency or provide information relevant to the 
assessment, the local agency must complete the assessment based on the informa­
tion contained in the registrant's case file. 

Subp. 2. Notice of assessment. The local agency shall provide a written notice 
meeting the standards established under part 9500.1252 to inform the registrant 
that the local agency will be assessing the registrant's eligibility for an additional 
four program months of work readiness services and payments. The notice must 
be mailed or given to the registrant no later than ten days before the assessment 
and must include the following: 

A. The notice must identify the conditions that must be met in order for 
the registrant to be eligible for an additional four program months. 

B. The notice must inform the registrant that the registrant will not 
receive work readiness payments beyond the second program month until the 
assessment has been completed and the registrant found eligible for four addi­
tional program months. 

C. The notice must offer the registrant an opportunity to meet with the 
local agency in order to provide information relevant to the assessment. 

D. The notice must inform the registrant that the registrant has a right 
to submit to the local agency information relevant to the determination within 
ten days from the date that the notice is mailed or given to the registrant. 

Subp. 3. Assessment of additional eligibility. A registrant is eligible for four 
additional program months of work readiness services and payments if the regis­
trant meets one or more of the following conditions: 

A. The registrant lives in a distressed county. 
B. The registrant is medically certified as having borderline mental 

retardation. 
C. The registrant is certified by a qualified professional as exhibiting per­

ceptible symptoms of mental illness but the registrant is not eligible for general 
assistance under part 9500.1258, subpart 1, because the mental illness interferes 
with the medical certification process. 

D. The registrant, as determined by a vocational adviser, cannot reason­
ably be expected to secure suitable employment at this time given the registrant's 
work history, skills, education, physical and mental ability, and the availability 
of suitable employment. 

If the local agency believes that the registrant may have borderline mental 
retardation, or if the registrant or a representative of the registrant asserts that 
he or she has borderline mental retardation, the local agency shall seek medical 
certification of the registrant's condition. If medical certification establishes that 
the registrant has borderline mental retardation, the condition in item B is met. 

If the registrant's behavior, mood, conduct, or appearance suggests or dem­
onstrates that the individual has a mental illness, or if the registrant or a represen­
tative of the registrant asserts that the registrant has a mental illness, the local 
agency shall seek medical certification of the registrant's condition. If the regis­
trant's mental illness interferes with the medical certification, the local agency 
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shall seek an assessment of the registrant's condition from a qualified profes­
sional. If the qualified professional certifies that the registrant exhibits symptoms 
of mental illness, the condition in item C is met. 

Subp. 4. Notice of determination. If the local agency determines through the 
assessment that the registrant meets one or more of the conditions in subpart 3, 
items A to D, the local agency must notify the registrant that he or she is eligible 
for work readiness services and payments for a combined total of six program 
months in any consecutive 12-calendar month period. If the local agency deter­
mines, upon completion of the assessment under subpart 1, that the registrant 
does not meet one or more of the conditions in subpart 3, items A to D, the local 
agency must terminate the registrant's work readiness services and payments 
effective at the end of the registrant's second program month of participation in 
the work readiness program. If the local agency determines that the registrant is 
ineligible for continued work readiness services and payments, the local agency 
shall notify the registrant of its determination and that the registrant is not eligi­
ble to receive work readiness services and payments for more than two program 
months during any consecutive 24-calendar month period. 

Subp. 5. Registrant moves to another county after assessment for additional 
eligibility is completed. If a registrant moves to another county after the assess­
ment for additional eligibility required under subpart 1 is completed, the new 
county of residence must complete another assessment for additional eligibility 
and determine the registrant's eligibility for additional work readiness services 
and payments. A registrant shall not receive more than a total of six program 
months of work readiness services and payments in any consecutive 12-month 
period, regardless of the number of assessments conducted. 

Subp. 6. Notice of termination. A registrant who is in the last program month 
of his or her two or six program months of work readiness services and payments 
shall be notified of the termination of services and payments and of the appeal 
rights in accordance with the procedures specified in part 9500.1318. 

Subp. 7. Assessment following reapplication. If an individual, whose eligibil­
ity for work readiness was terminated after two program months because the local 
agency determined that the individual did not meet one or more of the conditions 
under subpart 3, items A to D, applies for work readiness, the local agency must 
determine if the applicant's circumstances have changed and if the applicant is 
eligible for any additional work readiness services or payments. 

Statutory Authority: MSs 256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051; 256D.09 subd 
4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134 

9500.1314 REGISTRANT DUTIES. 
A registrant shall comply with all requirements of the local agency work read­

iness program, including the requirements explained under part 9500.1308, sub­
part 2, and the requirements specified in the employability development plan 
provided under part 9500.1310, subpart 2, item B. Registrants must inform the 
local agency of terminations of employment and bona fide offers of suitable 
employment. Registrants must cooperate with local agency efforts to verify 
whether good cause for refusing or terminating suitable employment exists. 
Refusal to participate in a grant diversion program under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 256D.09, subdivision 3, is not considered a refusal of a bona fide offer 
of employment. Except for registrants participating in work readiness under part 
9500.1262, a registrant who fails, without good cause, to comply with the local 
agency work readiness requirements shall be disqualified from the receipt of work 
readiness services and payments under part 9500.1316. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051 subds 8,14; 
256D.09 subd 4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134; 12 SR 2789 
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9500.1316 FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH WORK READINESS REQUIRE­
MENTS AND DISQUALIFICATION. 

Subpart 1. Determination and notice of failure to comply. If a local agency 
determines that a registrant has failed, without good cause, to comply with the 
requirements of the work readiness program, the local agency must notify the reg­
istrant of its determination. The notice must meet the standards established in 
part 9500.1252, and must contain the information in items A to E. 

A. The notice must state the specific work readiness requirement the reg­
istrant has failed to meet and the facts that support the local agency's determina­
tion. 

B. The notice must specify the particular action the registrant must take 
to meet the requirements. If the registrant has voluntarily quit suitable employ­
ment without good cause or refused without good cause to accept a bona fide offer 
of suitable employment, then the notice must specify that the particular action 
the registrant must take to meet the requirements is to accept suitable employ­
ment before the effective date of the disqualification. 

C. The notice must specify a certain date by which the action must be 
taken. The registrant must be given a minimum of 15 calendar days to take the 
specified action following the date the notice is mailed or given to the registrant. 

D. The notice must explain that the registrant will be disqualified from 
receiving work readiness services and payments if he or she fails to take the 
required actions by the specified date. 

E. The notice must advise the registrant that he or she may request and 
shall be granted a conference to discuss the notice with the local agency. 

Subp. 2. Disqualification. A registrant who is notified of the local agency 
determination as provided in subpart 1 shall comply with the requirements of the 
work readiness program as stated in the notice by the specified date. 

If the local agency determines that a registrant has taken the required action 
on or before the date specified in the notice, a period of disqualification must not 
be imposed. If the local agency determines that the registrant failed, without good 
cause, to take the required action by the specified date, the local agency must 
assess the registrant's eligibility for general assistance under part 9500.1209 
before disqualifying the registrant for not meeting the requirements. 

If the local agency determines that the registrant is eligible for general assis­
tance, the registrant shall be terminated from work readiness services and pay­
ments and shall be eligible for general assistance. 

If the local agency determines that the registrant is ineligible for general 
assistance under part 9500.1209, the registrant shall be disqualified from receiv­
ing work readiness services and payments. 

Subp. 3. Notice of disqualification. The local agency shall notify the registrant 
of the disqualification from receiving work readiness services and payments 
under subpart 2 and of the registrant's appeal rights as provided in part 
9500.1318. 

Subp. 4. Period of disqualification. A registrant disqualified under subpart 2 
is ineligible during the period of disqualification for any remaining or additional 
work readiness services or payments for which he or she would otherwise be eligi­
ble in accordance with the provisions in items A to F. 

A. The period of disqualification shall be two months. 
B. The disqualification period begins on the first day of the work readi­

ness payment period following the date on which the determination was made. 
If the notice of disqualification is given or mailed so late in a payment period that 
ten day prior notice required under part 9500.1318 cannot be given, the disquali­
fication period begins on the first day of the second work readiness payment 
period following the date the determination was made. If the registrant appeals 
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on or before the proposed disqualification date, the disqualification process must 
stop and work readiness payments and services must continue until a final deci­
sion is made or until the registrant's period of eligibility is exhausted, and pay­
ments and services are terminated in accordance with part 9500.1312, subpart 
6, whichever is earlier. If the registrant loses the appeal, the disqualification 
period must begin on the first day of the next work readiness payment period. 

C. If an individual who is disqualified applies for the work readiness 
program during the period of disqualification, eligibility for work readiness ser­
vices and payments must be denied. 

D. Disqualification under subpart 2 must not affect a registrant's eligi­
bility for general assistance or general assistance medical care. 

E. The period of disqualification under subpart 2 must not be counted 
against a registrant's two or six program months of work readiness eligibility. Fol­
lowing a period of disqualification a registrant who has been disqualified under 
subpart 2 must complete a new application for work readiness and the local 
agency must determine if the registrant is eligible for any additional or remaining 
work readiness services or payments. 

F. If a registrant is disqualified under subpart 2, the local agency may 
use vouchers and vendor payments, or both, to meet the financial needs of the 
remaining eligible members of the registrant's assistance unit. The assistance 
standard used must be based on the number of remaining eligible members in 
the registrant's assistance unit. 

Statutory Authority: MS" s 256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051 subds 8,14; 
256D.09 subd 4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134; 12 SR 2789 

9500.1318 NOTICE OF ADVERSE ACTION AND APPEAL RIGHTS. 
Subpart 1. Actions requiring notice. The local agency shall notify an applicant 

or registrant of the following determinations before taking any adverse actions: 
A. a determination of ineligibility for work readiness services or pay­

ments under part 9500.1306, subpart 3; 
B. a determination of ineligibility for four additional program months 

of work readiness services or payments under part 9500.1312, subpart 1; 
C. a determination of disqualification from receiving work readiness 

services and payments under part 9500.1316, subpart 2; and 
D. a determination that the registrant has exhausted eligibility to receive 

work readiness services and payments under part 9500.1312, subpart 3. 
Subp. 2. Notice requirements. The notice required under subpart 1 must meet 

the standards established in part 9500.1252, and must: 
A. be in writing on a form prescribed by the commissioner; 
B. be mailed or given to the applicant or registrant no later than ten days 

before the suspension, termination, or reduction of the work readiness payment; 
and 

C. clearly state what action the local agency intends to take, the reasons 
for the action, the right to appeal the action, and the conditions under which work 
readiness services and payments can be continued pending an appeal. 

Subp. 3. Appeal of adverse action. An applicant or registrant who is the sub­
ject of an adverse action under subpart 1 may appeal the local agency determina­
tion. The appeal must be a written request for a hearing submitted to the 
department or the local agency under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045. If a 
registrant appeals on or before the effective date of the adverse action, the regis­
trant, if otherwise eligible, shall continue to receive work readiness services and 
payments while the appeal is pending, unless the registrant requests in writing 
that assistance be discontinued pending a hearing decision. If the registrant's 
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appeal of an action specified under subpart 1, item A, B, or D is not upheld, the 
registrant shall pay back to the local agency the amount of work readiness pay­
ments received during the pendency of the appeal. 

Statutory Authority: MSs 256D.04; 256D.05 subd 1; 256D.051; 256D.09subd 
4; 256D.10; 256D.101; 256D.111 subd 5 

History: 11 SR 134 
ADMINISTRATION OF THE MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PREPAID 

DEMONSTRATION PROJECT 

9500.1450 INTRODUCTION. 
Subpart 1. Scope. Parts 9500.1450 to 9500.1464 govern administration of 

the Medical Assistance Prepaid Demonstration Project (MAPDP) in Minnesota. 
Parts 9500.1450 to 9500.1464 shall be read in conjunction with title XIX of the 
Social Security Act, Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, and waivers approved 
by the Health Care Financing Administration, Minnesota Statutes, chapters 256 
and 256B, and rules promulgated under them, governing the administration of 
the title XIX program and MAPDP in Minnesota. 

Subp. 2. References. Parts 9500.1450 to 9500.1464 shall be interpreted as 
necessary to comply with federal laws and regulations and state laws applicable 
to the medical assistance prepaid demonstration project. 

Subp. 3. Geographic area. MAPDP shall be operated in the counties of 
Dakota, Hennepin, and Itasca. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.69 
History: 11 SR 1107 

9500.1451 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of parts 9500.1450 to 9500.1464, the fol­

lowing terms have the meanings given them in this part. 
Subp. 2. Actual costs. "Actual costs" means the total cost to the medicaid 

health plan for providing services to MAPDP enrollees during a contract year. 
Subp. 3. Broker. "Broker" means an organization under contract with the 

state to develop and present to consumers educational material on the MAPDP 
so that consumers understand the medicaid health plan choices available to 
them. 

Subp. 4. Capitation. "Capitation" means a method of payment for health 
care services that involves a monthly per person rate paid on a prospective basis 
to a medicaid health plan. 

Subp. 5. Consumer. "Consumer" means a medical assistance recipient who 
is participating in MAPDP. 

Subp. 6. Department. "Department" means the Department of Human Ser­
vices. 

Subp. 7. Enrollee. "Enrollee" means a consumer who is enrolled in a medic­
aid health plan. 

Subp. 8. Health services. "Health services" means the services and supplies 
given to a recipient by a provider for a health related purpose under Minnesota 
Statutes, section 256B.02, subdivision 8. 

Subp. 9. Insolvency. "Insolvency" means the condition in which a medicaid 
health plan is financially unable to meet the financial and health care service 
delivery obligations in the contract between the department and the medicaid 
health plan. 

Subp. 10. Local agency. "Local agency" means a county or multicounty 
agency that is authorized under Minnesota Statutes, sections 393.01, subdivision 
7, and 393.07, subdivision 2, as the agency responsible for determining recipient 
eligibility for the medical assistance program. 
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Subp. 11. Medical Assistance Prepaid Demonstration Project or MAPDP. 
"Medical Assistance Prepaid Demonstration Project" or "MAPDP" means the 
medical assistance prepaid demonstration project established by Minnesota Stat­
utes, section 256B.69. 

Subp. 12. Medicaid health plan or MHP. "Medicaid health plan" or "MHP" 
means the organization contracting with the department to provide to enrollees 
the medical assistance services in parts 9500.1450 to 9500.1464 in exchange for 
a capitation payment. 

Subp. 13. Medical assistance or MA. "Medical assistance" or "MA" means 
the program established under title XIX of the Social Security Act and Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 256B. 

Subp. 14. Medical assistance population or MA population. "Medical assis­
tance population" or "MA population" means an aged, blind, disabled, or Aid 
to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) category of eligibility for the medi­
cal assistance program, the eligibility standards for which are in parts 9500.0780 
to 9500.0860. 

Subp. 15. Provider. "Provider" means a person or entity providing health 
care services. 

Subp. 16. Rate cell. "Rate cell" means a grouping of recipients by demo­
graphic characteristics, established by the department for use in determining cap­
itation rates. Demographic characteristics include the recipient's age, sex, 
medicare status, basis of medical assistance eligibility, and county of residence, 
and whether the recipient is a resident of a long-term care facility. 

Subp. 17. Recipient. "Recipient" means a person who has been determined 
by the local agency to be eligible for the medical assistance program. 

Subp. 18. Total capitation payments. "Total capitation payments" means the 
sum of all capitation payments made to the medicaid health plan by the depart­
ment during a contract year. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.69 
History: 11 SR 1107 

9500.1452 ELIGIBILITY TO ENROLL IN MEDICAID HEALTH PLAN. 
Only persons who have been determined eligible for medical assistance 

under parts 9500.0750 to 9500.1060 shall be eligible to participate in the medical 
assistance prepaid demonstration project. 

"Personal care assistant" means a provider of personal care services pre­
scribed by a physician and supervised by a registered nurse and provided to a 
medical assistance recipient. A personal care assistant must not be a relative or 
a family member of the medical assistance recipient. "Rate cell year" means the 
period beginning with the consumer's case open date or effective date of enroll­
ment in the MHP, whichever is earlier, and ending one year from the consumer's 
case open date. 

"State institution" means all regional treatment centers, as defined in Minne­
sota Statutes, section 245.0312; and state operated nursing homes Ah-gwah-ching 
and Oak Terrace. 

A person who belongs to a category listed in items A to D is ineligible to 
enroll in a medicaid health plan under the medical assistance prepaid demonstra­
tion project: 

A. a person who is eligible for medical assistance with a six-month spend 
down under part 9500.0810; 

B. a person who is currently receiving the services of a personal care 
assistant, or MAPDP enrollees who at the end of their rate cell year are using the 
services of one or more personal care assistants; 

C. a person who is a resident of a state institution; or 
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D. a person who is a refugee and is receiving benefits under the Refugee 
Assistance Program, established at United States Code, title 8, section 1522(e). 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.69 
History: 11 SR 1107 

9500.1453 MANDATORY PARTICIPATION; FREE CHOICE OF MEDIC­
AID HEALTH PLAN. 

The department shall select recipients to participate as consumers in the 
medical assistance demonstration project and notify the recipients, in writing, of 
the MHP choices available to them. A recipient who is selected as a consumer 
must participate in a MHP. The recipient shall have the right to select the MHP 
of his or her choice. No reimbursement from the Medical Assistance Program 
shall be made for health services received by a recipient enrolled in a MHP that 
are not payable through the MHP. Consumers shall be given no less than ten days 
after receiving written notification from the department to notify the department 
of their health plan choice. However, if the department is not notified of the con­
sumer's choice, the department shall assign the consumer to a MHP. The depart­
ment shall notify the recipient in writing of the effective date of his or her 
enrollment, and the MHP in which the recipient will be enrolled. This notice 
must be given to the recipient before the effective date of enrollment. 

A consumer shall be enrolled in a MHP for one year from the date of enroll­
ment but shall have the right to change to another MHP once within the first 60 
days of enrollment in MAPDP. A consumer shall have the right to change to 
another MHP during the annual 30-day period of open enrollment. The depart­
ment shall notify consumers of the opportunity to change to another MHP annu­
ally, at least 30 days before the start of the annual open enrollment period. 

An enrollee may change to another MHP between enrollment periods on 
demonstrating to the state grievance panel that the enrollee: 

A. requires substantially more travel time than is normally required by 
non-MAPDP participants in the same geographic area to travel to receive medi­
cal services; 

B. has not received satisfactory services from the MHP; or 
C. has other good cause for changing to another MHP. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.69 
History: 11 SR 1107 

9500.1454 RECORDS. 
A MHP shall maintain fiscal and medical records as required in part 

9500.0930. A local agency shall comply with parts 9500.0920 and 9500.0930 and 
maintain a list showing the enrollment choices of recipients who participate in 
the medical assistance prepaid demonstration project. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.69 
History: 11 SR 1107 

9500.1455 THIRD-PARTY LIABILITY. 
A local agency and a MHP shall comply with part 9505.0211 [Emergency] 

in regard to third-party payer liability. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.69 
History: 11 SR 1107 

9500.1456 IDENTIFICATION OF ENROLLEES. 
A MHP shall identify enrollees in a way convenient to its normal operational 

procedures. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.69 
History: 11 SR 1107 
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9500.1457 SERVICES COVERED BY MAPDP. 
Subpart 1. In general. Services currently available under the medical assis­

tance program in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B and parts 9500.0750 to 
9500.1080 are covered under MAPDP. 

Subp. 2. Additional services. A MHP may provide services in addition to 
those available under the medical assistance program. 

Subp. 3. Prior authorization of services. A MHP shall be exempt from the 
requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B, parts 9500.0750 to 
9500.1080 and 9505.5000 to 9505.5030, that require prior authorization before 
providing health services to an enrollee. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.69 
History: 11 SR 1107 

9500.1458 DATA PRIVACY. 
Under Minnesota Statutes, section 13.46, subdivisions 1 and 2, a MHP 

under contract with the department is considered an agent of the department and 
shall have access to information on enrollees to the extent necessary to carry out 
its responsibilities under the contract. The MHP must comply with Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 13, the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.69 
History: 11 SR 1107 

9500.1459 CAPITATION POLICIES. 
Subpart 1. Rates. In demonstration counties designated by the department 

under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.69, medical assistance payments for ser­
vices included in the MAPDP will be made according to the contract between the 
MHP and the department. Capitation rates must be developed on an historical 
cost basis. Base rates must be determined by calculating an average per capita 
cost for each rate cell by county of participation. If rate cell population in a 
county is insufficient to support a statistically valid sample size, the average per 
capita cost for that rate cell shall be determined from statistics from the metropol­
itan area, consisting of Hennepin, Ramsey, Anoka, Scott, Carver, Dakota, and 
Washington counties, or from a group of contiguous or demographically similar 
rural counties. The actual rate offered under the contract must be a specified per­
centage of the county average per capita cost. 

The historical cost basis of the rates must be from fiscal year 1982 for Itasca 
and Hennepin counties, and fiscal year 1983 for Dakota county, adjusted forward 
to the implementation year. This adjustment must not exceed the per capita cost 
increase based on department projections, taking into account changes in legisla­
tion, title XIX state plan, and rules affecting the medical assistance program. 
"Title XIX state plan" refers to the document submitted for approval to the 
United States Department of Health and Human Services, Health Care Financ­
ing Administration, defining the conditions of medical assistance program eligi­
bility and services authorized by title XIX of the Social Security Act of 1965 and 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B. 

Rates must be adjusted on a state fiscal year basis, July 1 to June 30. The 
adjusted rates shall be effective on January 1 of the next state fiscal year. Rate 
cells shall also be adjusted to reflect differences in health status if analysis of his­
torical costs and available survey data indicates that this adjustment is feasible. 

Subp. 2. Risk sharing arrangements. In addition to the capitation rate, the 
department shall provide the two types of risk-sharing in subparts 3 and 4. 

Subp. 3, Aggregate loss-sharing. Under aggregate loss-sharing, the depart­
ment and the MHP shall share the loss if the allowable actual costs of serving 
enrollees exceed the aggregate payment provided through the capitation. 
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Loss-sharing expenses are expenses incurred by the MHP for services ren­
dered directly to enrollees. The MHP shall submit claim data as specified by the 
department for these services. This data shall be used to calculate the MHP aggre­
gate cost of serving its enrollees. If the MHP aggregate cost of serving its enrollees 
exceeds the aggregate amount received by the MHP in capitation revenues, the 
MHP is eligible for aggregate loss-sharing. 

Aggregate loss-sharing shall be implemented as specified in items A and B, 
unless otherwise specified in the contract between the department and the MHP. 

A. The following provisions apply only to the total capitation payments 
made to the MHP for AFDC enrollees: 

(1) For the contract period ending December 31, 1986, the depart­
ment shall pay to the MHP 50 percent of the actual costs of the MHP that exceed 
the total capitation payments to the MHP but that are equal to or less than 110 
percent of the costs on which the department based the capitation rates. 

(2) For the contract period ending December 31, 1987, the depart­
ment shall pay to the MHP 50 percent of the actual costs of the MHP that exceed 
the total capitation payments to the MHP but that are equal to or less than 100 
percent of the costs on which the department based the capitation rates. 

B. The following provisions apply only to the total capitation payments 
made to the MHP for aged, blind, and disabled enrollees: 

(1) For the contract period ending December 31, 1986, the depart­
ment shall pay to the MHP 50 percent of the actual costs of the MHP that exceed 
the total capitation payments to the MHP but that are equal to or less than 115 
percent of the costs on which the department based the capitation rates. 

(2) For the contract period ending December 31, 1987, the depart­
ment shall pay to the MHP 50 percent of the actual costs of the MHP that exceed 
the total capitation payments to the MHP but that are equal to or less than 105 
percent of the costs on which the department based the capitation rates. 

C. There shall be no aggregate loss-sharing available after December 31, 
1987. 

Subp. 4. Individual stop-loss coverage. Individual stop-loss coverage must be 
available for the duration of MAPDP. Stop-loss coverage is the amount the 
department will pay in excess of capitation rates described in items A and B. 

A. Individual stop-loss coverage must be provided by the department 
for 80 percent of the following costs within a 12-month period unless otherwise 
specified in the contract between the department and the MHP: 

(1) inpatient hospital claims exceeding $15,000 for an AFDC 
enrollee and $30,000 for an aged, blind, or disabled enrollee; and 

(2) over 90 days of long-term care facility services, as defined in part 
9500.1070, subpart 3, or in-home care provided as an alternative to long-term 
care facility services. 

Only costs that would be allowable medical assistance charges are eligible for 
individual stop-loss coverage. 

B. MHPs may choose not to take part in the department's individual 
stop-loss coverage. MHPs not participating in the individual stop-loss coverage 
must submit to the department evidence that: 

(1) the plan has an adequate financial reserve separate from operat­
ing funds to cover catastrophic liabilities; 

(2) not more than 30 percent of the organization's operating budget 
is medical assistance related; and 

(3) the MHP waives the right of 90-day termination of contract and 
instead agrees to a 180-day termination notice period. 

The capitation rate must be adjusted to include the cost of the department's 
individual stop-loss. Additional costs of buying private reinsurance must not be 
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covered in the capitation nor be eligible expenses for aggregate loss-sharing as 
described in subpart 3. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256B. 69 
History: 11 SR 1107 

9500.1460 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS. 
Subpart 1. MHP requirements. An organization that seeks to participate as 

a MHP under the medical assistance prepaid demonstration project shall meet 
the criteria in subparts 2 to 16. 

Subp. 2. Medical assistance populations covered. A MHP may choose to serve 
all medical assistance populations or a single medical assistance population. If 
the MHP chooses to serve a medical assistance population of AFDC or blind 
recipients, the MHP must serve at least one other medical assistance population. 

Subp. 3. Services provided. A MHP shall provide or ensure its enrollees 
access to all health services eligible for medical assistance payment under part 
9500.1070. 

Subp. 4. Prohibition against co-payments. A MHP shall not charge its enroll­
ees for any health service eligible for medical assistance payment under part 
9500.1070 or for a medically necessary health service that is provided as a substi­
tute for a health service eligible for medical assistance payment. 

Subp. 5. Plan organization. A MHP may choose to organize itself as either 
a profit or not-for-profit organization. 

Subp. 6. Contractual arrangements. A MHP shall contract with providers as 
necessary to meet the health service needs of its enrollees. The MHP shall verify 
these contracts to the department by providing written summary information 
before a contract can be entered into between the MHP and the department. 

Subp. 7. Service capacity. A MHP shall accept, up to the limit of its enroll­
ment capacity, all consumers who choose the MHP, regardless of the consumers' 
health conditions, if the consumers are from the medical assistance category or 
categories and the geographic area or areas specified in the contract between the 
MHP and the department. 

Subp. 8. Financial capacity. A MHP shall demonstrate its financial risk 
capacity through a reserve fund or other mechanism agreed upon by the provid­
ers within the MHP in the contract with the department. A MHP that is licensed 
as a health maintenance organization under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 62D, or 
a nonprofit health plan licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 62C, is not 
required to demonstrate a financial risk capacity beyond the financial risk capac­
ity required to comply with the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 62C 
or 62D. 

Subp. 9. Insolvency. A MHP must have a plan approved by the department 
for transferring its enrollees to other sources of health services if the MHP 
becomes insolvent. 

Subp. 10. Limited number of contracts. The department may limit the num­
ber of MHP contracts in effect under MAPDP. 

Subp. 11. Liability for payment for unauthorized services. Except for emer­
gency health services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.02, subdivision 8, 
clause (4), a MHP shall not be liable for payment for unauthorized health services 
rendered by a provider who is not part of the MHP. The department is not liable 
for payment for health services rendered by a provider who is not part of the 
MHP. 

Subp. 12. Termination of participation as a MHP. The department or a MHP 
may terminate a contract upon 90 days' written notice to the other party unless 
the department and the MHP have agreed to a different notice requirement in 
the contract and except as set forth at part 9500.1459, subpart 4, item B, subitem 
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(3). If a contract between the department and a MHP is going to be terminated, 
the entity terminating the contract must notify the MHP's enrollees in writing 
at least 30 days before the termination. 

Subp. 13. Financial requirements placed on MHP. The MHP shall accept the 
capitation rate and risk-sharing adjustments derived under part 9500.1459 as full 
payment for health services provided under the contract to enrollees. A MHP 
under contract with the department shall be accountable to the department for 
the fiscal management of the health services it provides enrollees. The depart­
ment shall be held harmless for the payment of obligations incurred by a MHP 
if the MHP or a provider contracted by the plan to provide health services to 
enrollees becomes insolvent and if the department has made the payments due 
the MHP under part 9500.1459. 

Subp. 14. Required educational materials. When contracting with the depart­
ment, a MHP must provide to the department educational materials to be given 
to the medical assistance population specified in the contract. The material 
should explain the services to be furnished to enrollees. No educational materials 
designed to solicit the enrollment of consumers shall be disseminated without the 
department's prior approval. A MHP and the department may agree, as a term 
of the contract, that a broker shall have the responsibility for developing and dis­
tributing the educational materials required in this subpart. If the contract speci­
fies the use of a broker to develop and disseminate educational materials designed 
specifically for consumers, the broker must get the department's written approval 
of the educational materials before distributing them. 

Subp. 15. Required case management system. "Case management" means a 
method of providing health care in which one individual or organization or an 
interdisciplinary team coordinates the provision of health care services to a con­
sumer. A MHP shall implement a system of case management providing the 
enrollee an individual needs assessment, development and implementation of an 
individual plan of care for the enrollee, and evaluation, monitoring, and revision 
of an individual plan of care. 

Subp. 16. Required submission of information. The contract between the 
department and the MHP shall specify the information the medicaid health plan 
shall submit to the department and the Health Care Financing Administration, 
and the form in which the information shall be submitted. The information sub­
mitted must enable the department to make the calculations required under part 
9500.1459 and to carry out the requirements of parts 9505.1750 to 9505.2150 
and the Health Care Financing Administration. The MHP shall record com­
plaints from enrollees and consumers applying for enrollment, actions taken to 
resolve the complaints, and results of the actions. A MHP shall make the required 
information available to the department annually, or at other times specified in 
the contract or, if the department requires additional information for the pur­
poses in this subpart, within ten days of the date of the department's written 
request for the additional information. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.69 
History: 11 SR 1107 

9500.1462 SECOND MEDICAL OPINION. 
A MHP must provide, at its expense, a second medical opinion within the 

MHP when the department or the enrollee requests a second medical opinion. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.69 
History: 11 SR 1107 

9500.1463 GRIEVANCE PROCEDURES. 
Subpart 1. Internal grievance procedure. A MHP shall have, in writing, a 

grievance procedure for receiving and reviewing the complaints of consumers 
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and enrollees. The procedure must be approved by the department. The MHP 
shall give each enrollee a written description of the MHP grievance procedure 
and the state grievance procedure. This written description must also explain an 
enrollee's right to a second medical opinion. The grievance procedure must 
include an informal review in which a determination is made within ten calendar 
days after the MHP receives a verbal complaint and a formal procedure to hear 
written grievances. The formal procedure shall provide a hearing and a decision 
about the grievance within 30 days from the time the written grievance is 
received by the MHP. 

The MHP shall provide the enrollee with written notice of the resolution of 
the grievance. This notice must state the enrollee's right to file a grievance with 
the state and provide appropriate information regarding the procedure for filing 
the grievance. 

A MHP that revises its grievance procedures must notify its enrollees of the 
revised procedure, in writing, at least two weeks before the revision is effective. 
A revision of a MHP grievance procedure must be submitted to and approved 
in writing by the department before its implementation. Within 30 days from the-
time the written grievance is received by the MHP, the MHP shall give the 
enrollee written notice of the resolution of the grievance. This written notice must 
inform the enrollee of the right to file a grievance with the state and explain how 
to file the grievance. 

Subp. 2. State grievance procedure; appeal of provider's delay or refusal to pro­
vide services. An enrollee may appeal to the department if the MHP delays or 
refuses to provide medically necessary services. The appeal shall be heard by a 
panel that includes health practitioners as specified in Minnesota Statutes, sec­
tion 256B.69, subdivision 11. For enrollees residing in Hennepin county, the 
local agency may hold the grievance hearing on behalf of the department, using 
the same panel as appointed by the department. The MHP shall pay for nonemer­
gency medically needed services if the enrollee is successful in the appeal. The 
hearing before the panel shall be conducted according to Code of Federal Regula­
tions, title 42, sections 431.200 to 431.246. The panel's decision is a final agency 
action that may be appealed under the contested case provisions of Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 14. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.69 
History: 11 SR 1107 

9500.1464 SURVEILLANCE AND UTILIZATION REVIEW. 
The provisions of parts 9505.1750 to 9505.2150 apply to MAPDP. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.69 
History: 11 SR 1107 

COMMISSIONER'S CONSENT TO PATERNITY SUIT SETTLEMENTS 
9500.1650 APPLICABILITY. 

Parts 9500.1650 to 9500.1663 govern the procedures and the standards 
applicable to the way in which the commissioner decides, as a party under Minne­
sota Statutes, section 257.60, whether to agree to a particular lump sum settle­
ment or compromise agreement in a paternity action under Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 257.51 to 257.74. Parts 9500.1650 to 9500.1663 apply equally to lump 
sum settlements and compromise agreements proposed as part of a maternity suit 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 257.71. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 257.60 
History: 11 SR 957 
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9500.1655 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of parts 9500.1650 to 9500.1663, the fol­

lowing terms have the meanings given to them in this part. 
Subp. 2. Admission of paternity. "Admission of paternity" means a written 

acknowledgment by a male that he is the biological father of a child. 
Subp. 3. Aid to families with dependent children or AFDC. "Aid to families 

with dependent children" or "AFDC" means the program authorized by title 
IV-A of the Social Security Act to provide financial assistance services to needy 
families with dependent children. 

Subp. 4. Alleged father. "Alleged father" means a male alleged to be the bio­
logical father of a child. 

Subp. 5. Blood test. "Blood test" means a test using blood group identifica­
tion of a mother, child, and alleged father that is used to predict the probability 
or exclude the possibility that the alleged father is the biological father of the 
child. 

Subp. 6. Child. "Child" means an individual under age 18 whose parental 
relationship with the alleged father is being determined and whose legal rights 
and privileges are at issue. 

Subp. 7. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the 
Department of Human Services or the commissioner's designated representative. 

Subp. 8. Compromise agreement. "Compromise agreement" has the meaning 
given it by Minnesota Statutes, section 257.64, subdivision 1, clause (b). 

Subp. 9. Costs. "Costs" has the meaning given it under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 257.69. 

Subp. 10. Department. "Department" means the Minnesota Department of 
Human Services. 

Subp. 11. Depository. "Depository" means a person or organization 
entrusted to safekeep a father's or an alleged father's lump sum settlement or 
compromise agreement payments and to make periodic payments of the money 
on behalf of the child. 

Subp. 12. Guardian ad litem. "Guardian ad litem" means the person desig­
nated by the court to represent the interests of a child in a paternity suit, accord­
ing to Minnesota Statutes, section 257.60. 

Subp. 13. Income. "Income" has the meaning given it under Minnesota Stat­
utes, section 518.54, subdivision 6. 

Subp. 14. Interest rate. "Interest rate" means the rate of interest used to cal­
culate the present value of periodic payments a father is required to pay and is 
equal to the current market rate of interest on a United States Treasury obligation 
using as its maturity date the child's 18th birthdate. 

Subp. 15. Liability for past support. "Liability for past support" means the 
financial obligation of the noncustodial parent to reimburse the local child sup­
port enforcement agency for all or a portion of past expenses furnished on behalf 
of a child under Minnesota Statutes, sections 257.66 and 257.67. 

Subp. 16. Local IV-D agency. "Local IV-D agency" means the county or mul-
ticounty agency that is authorized under Minnesota Statutes, section 393.07, to 
administer the child support enforcement program under the requirements of 
title IV-D of the Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, sections 651 
to 658, 660, 664, 666, 667, 1302, 1396(a)(25), 1396b(d)(2), 1396b(o), 1396b(p), 
and 1396(k). 

Subp. 17. Lump sum settlement. "Lump sum settlement" means a single pay­
ment to satisfy the remaining obligations of a noncustodial parent for support of 
the parent's minor child. 

Subp. 18. Medical support. "Medical support" has the meaning given it 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 518.171. 
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Subp. 19. Mother. "Mother" means a woman who was not married to her 
child's father when the child was born or when the child was conceived. 

Subp. 20. Office of Child Support Enforcement. "Office of Child Support 
Enforcement" means the office within the department that administers the child 
support enforcement program for the purposes of locating absent parents, estab­
lishing paternity, and establishing and enforcing orders for support under the 
requirements of title IV-D of the Social Security Act, United States Code, title 
42, sections 651 to 658, 660, 664, 666, 667, 1302, 1396(a)(25), 1396b(d)(2), 
1396b(o), 1396b(p), and 1396(k). 

Subp. 21. Party. "Party" means a person as denned in Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 257.57 and 257.60, who is involved in a paternity suit. 

Subp. 22. Paternity suit. "Paternity suit" means a legal action brought to 
establish that a man is the biological father of a child and has legally enforceable 
duties and responsibilities in regard to that child. 

Subp. 23. Periodic payments. "Periodic payments" means payments of sup­
port on a schedule established by the court under Minnesota Statutes, section 
518.551, subdivision 5. 

Subp. 24. Present value. "Present value" means the current monetary worth 
of future periodic payments. The formula used to determine present value is An 
= V l-(l+i)"/i where: 

"An" means present value of the periodic payments, 
"V" means value of the periodic payments, 
"n" means number of periodic payments, and 
"i" means interest rate. 
Subp. 25. Reimbursement. "Reimbursement" means payment of a sum for 

public funds expended for the care and support of a child under Minnesota Stat­
utes, sections 256.87; 257.66, subdivisions 3 and 4; 257.69; and 393.07, subdivi­
sion 9. 

Subp. 26. Support. "Support" has the meaning given to "support money" 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 518.54, subdivision 4. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 257.60 
History: 11 SR 957 

9500.1656 CONSENT BY COMMISSIONER TO A COMPROMISE AGREE­
MENT. 

The commissioner shall not consent to a compromise agreement. 
Statutory Authority: MS 5 257.60 
History: 11 SR 957 

9500.1657 COMMISSIONER'S CONSENT TO A LUMP SUM SETTLE­
MENT. 

The commissioner shall consider each proposed lump sum settlement that 
is submitted to the commissioner. If a submitted proposed lump sum settlement 
does not comply with parts 9500.1650 to 9500.1663, the commissioner shall not 
consent to the proposed lump sum settlement. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 257.60 
History: 11 SR 957 

9500.1658 STANDARDS USED BY COMMISSIONER TO DETERMINE 
WHETHER TO CONSENT TO A PROPOSED LUMP SUM SETTLEMENT. 

Subpart 1. Standards. The commissioner shall consent to a proposed lump 
sum settlement only if the conditions of subparts 2 to 6 are met. 

Subp. 2. Admission of paternity. The alleged father must admit paternity and 
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either waive blood tests or the results of blood tests indicate a likelihood of more 
than 92 percent that the alleged father is the biological father of the child. 

Subp. 3. Comparison of proposed lump sum settlement to present value of peri­
odic payments. The proposed lump sum settlement must be equal to or greater 
than the present value of periodic payments. 

Subp. 4. Liability for past support and costs. A provision must be made for 
a partial or full reimbursement consisting of the alleged father's liability for past 
support and costs. The alleged father's liability for past support and costs 
includes: 

A. all or a proportion of the amount of assistance furnished the child 
during the two years immediately preceding the start of the paternity action 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 257.66, subdivision 4; 

B. expenses of the mother's pregnancy and confinement under Minne­
sota Statutes, section 257.66, subdivision 3; and 

C. all or a proportion of costs and fees detailed under Minnesota Stat­
utes, section 257.69, subdivision 2. 

If a reimbursement is to be made through payments to the local IV-D agency, 
provisions for income withholding shall be included in the proposed lump sum 
settlement agreement under Minnesota Statutes, section 518.611. 

Subp. 5. Protection over lump sum settlement amount. A plan to invest the 
lump sum settlement to meet the child's future needs and to prevent rapid deple­
tion of the lump sum settlement must be made part of the lump sum settlement. 
The plan to invest the lump sum settlement must include: 

A. an agreement to deposit the lump sum settlement amount in an inter­
est bearing account with a rate of interest based on a United States Treasury obli­
gation that matures on the date of the child's 18th birthday; 

B. provisions for making periodic payments to the child until the child 
is 18 years of age; 

C. provisions for making the periodic payments under item B to the 
public agency, if the child receives AFDC or becomes eligible to receive AFDC 
and rights to support are assigned under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.74, sub­
division 5; 

D. the name of the depository that will hold and disburse the lump sum 
settlement under this subpart; 

E. the name of the person or agency designated to make decisions on 
managing the lump sum settlement account; and 

F. the amounts charged by the depository for the costs of administering 
the lump sum settlement account. 

Subp. 6. Medical benefits. The lump sum settlement must provide for main­
tenance of health and dental insurance for the child under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 518.171. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 257.60 
History: 11 SR 957 

9500.1659 CONTENTS OF PROPOSED LUMP SUM SETTLEMENT 
AGREEMENT. 

A proposed lump sum settlement must include: 
A. the names and addresses of the parties to the paternity suit; 
B. a statement indicating whether there has been an admission of pater­

nity; 
C. the amount of reimbursement agreed to be paid to the local IV-D 

agency and the method by which payments will be made as required under part 
9500.1658, subpart 4; 
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D. the amount of the proposed lump sum settlement; 
E. a plan for distributing the lump sum settlement amount on behalf of 

the child under part 9500.1658, subpart 5; 
F. a written statement showing compliance with part 9500.1658, sub­

part 6, by the responsible parent; and 
G. a signature line for each of the parties and.the guardian ad litem. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 257.60 
History: 11 SR 957 

9500.1660 DOCUMENTS THAT MUST ACCOMPANY A PROPOSED 
LUMP SUM SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT. 

The documents in items A to G must accompany the proposed lump sum 
settlement submitted to the commissioner: 

A. the statement of blood test results or a statement that blood tests were 
waived by the alleged father; 

B. a statement of the reasons a lump sum settlement is proposed rather 
than periodic payments; 

C. a copy of the alleged father's affidavit of earnings, income, and 
resources, including real and personal property; 

D. the mathematical calculation used to make the computation required 
under part 9500.1658, subpart 3; 

E. an itemization of amounts previously expended by each public 
agency as support on behalf of the child, including dates and amounts of AFDC 
expended, pregnancy and confinement expenses, costs of blood tests, filing fees, 
service of process fees, and county attorney's fees; 

F. a written statement showing how the plan for reimbursement of the 
alleged father's liability for support and costs owed to the local IV-D agency was 
derived; and 

G. a written, signed statement from the guardian ad litem that indicates 
how the proposed lump sum settlement is in the best interest of the child. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 257.60 
History: 11 SR 957 

9500.1661 TIME FOR SUBMISSION OF PROPOSAL. 
The proposed lump sum settlement agreement under part 9500.1659 and 

documents required under part 9500.1660 must be submitted to the Office of 
Child Support Enforcement for review at least 30 days before the date scheduled 
for the court hearing on the proposed lump sum settlement. If the 30-day period 
is not complied with, parties must not presume that the commissioner has con­
sented to the proposed lump sum settlement unless a written statement to that 
effect is made by the commissioner and submitted to the parties. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 257.60 
History: HSR 957 

9500.1662 REVIEW PROCESS. 
On receipt of a proposed lump sum settlement, the commissioner shall 

review the submitted proposal and documents for compliance with parts 
9500.1650 to 9500.1663. If the commissioner consents to the proposal, the com­
missioner will sign the proposal and return it to the submitting party. If the com­
missioner does not consent to the proposal, the commissioner will send a letter 
to the submitting party indicating the reasons for not consenting to the proposal. 
The commissioner will send copies of either response to the court of jurisdiction. 
The commissioner will also send copies of either response to the other parties and 
guardian ad litem if addresses for those parties are provided by the submitting 
party. 
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Statutory Authority: MS s 257.60 
History: 11 SR 957 

9500.1663 NOTIFICATION OF FINAL DISPOSITION. 
If the lump sum settlement or compromise agreement is approved by the 

court, a copy of the final order must be provided to the commissioner within 30 
days of the date of the court order. If the submitted agreement is not approved 
by the court, the commissioner must be notified in writing of any other disposi­
tion made regarding the paternity suit. The parties other than the commissioner 
must agree between themselves as to the party responsible for notification to the 
commissioner in accordance with this part. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 25 7.60 
History: 11SR957 

CHILD SUPPORT INCENTIVE AWARD 

9500.1800 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Scope. As used in parts 9500.1810 to 9500.1821, the following 

terms have the meanings given them. 
Subp. 2. AFDC collections. "AFDC collections" means money paid by an 

individual to a county IV-D agency to satisfy an assignment of support obligation 
under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 232.11, or United States 
Code, title 42, section 671(a)(17). 

Subp. 3. Collections. "Collections" means AFDC collections and non-AFDC 
collections. 

Subp. 4. County rV-D agency. "County IV-D agency" means the county 
agency responsible for child support enforcement to whom collections are paid. 

Subp. 5. County rV-D costs. "County IV-D costs" means the expenditures 
reported quarterly by a county IV-D agency to the department for the operation 
of the county child support enforcement program minus amounts reported for 
fees, interest collected, and recovered costs. 

Subp. 6. County IV-D agency quarterly incentive award. "County IV-D agency 
quarterly incentive award" means the amount of money determined quarterly by 
the department to reimburse the county for a portion of its contribution toward 
AFDC assistance payments. 

Subp. 7. Department. "Department" means the Minnesota Department of 
Human Services. 

Subp. 8. Dollar amount. "Dollar amount" means the amount of money calcu­
lated according to part 9500.1811 which is used to determine a county IV-D 
agency's quarterly incentive award under parts 9500.1815 and 9500.1820. 

Subp. 9. Federal fiscal year or FFY. "Federal fiscal year" or "FFY" means 
the period from October 1 of each year through September 30 of the next year. 

Subp. 10. Fees. "Fees" means money paid by individuals to a county IV-D 
agency for child support enforcement services. 

Subp. 11. Interest collected. "Interest collected" means the money collected 
by a county IV-D agency from the obligor which represents a charge for a late pay­
ment and which is calculated as a percent of the money owed by the obligor for 
a certain time period. 

Subp. 12. Non-AFDC collections. "Non-AFDC collections" means the 
money paid by individuals to a county IV-D agency to satisfy support obligations 
which have not been assigned under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 
232.11, and United States Code, title 42, section 671(a)(17). 

Subp. 13. Quarter. "Quarter" means one-fourth of the federal fiscal year with 
the following starting and ending dates: 
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A. October 1 through December 31; 
B. January 1 through March 31; 
C. April 1 through June 30; and 
D. July 1 through September 30. 

Subp. 14. Ratio. "Ratio" means the quotient of the total of a county IV-D 
agency's collections for a quarter divided by the total of that county IV-D agen­
cy's county IV-D costs less optional subtractions from county IV-D costs for that 
quarter. This total is then truncated at one decimal place. 

Subp. 15. Recovered costs. "Recovered costs" means a refund paid by an 
individual or a governmental agency to a county IV-D agency for county IV-D 
costs. 

Subp. 16. State's quarterly incentive award. "State's quarterly incentive 
award" means the grant award issued quarterly by the federal government to the 
department to reimburse the county for a portion of its share of AFDC assistance 
payments. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 2 
History: 10 SR 1298 

9500.1805 PURPOSE AND EFFECT. 
Subpart 1. Purpose. The purpose of parts 9500.1800 to 9500.1821 is to 

encourage county IV-D agencies to make maximum child support collections in 
a cost effective manner through a financial incentive to counties according to 
Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, sections 302.55 and 303.52. 

Under parts 9500.1800 to 9500.1821, county IV-D agencies are rewarded 
proportionately more as their collections increase and their costs decrease. 

The reward the county IV-D agencies receive is in the form of money a 
county would otherwise have to pay as its portion of aid to families with depen­
dent children assistance payments. 

Subp. 2. Effect. Parts 9500.1800 to 9500.1821 apply to all Minnesota county 
human services or welfare departments. Effective October 1, 1985, the state will 
receive incentive payments from the federal government which will be passed 
through to the counties. 

The extent to which a county IV-D agency is making maximum child support 
collections in a cost effective manner is measured by determining ratios of collec­
tions to costs for each county. 

Ratios are translated into a percent and then into a dollar amount subject 
to certain limitations. Each county's proportionate share of the state's quarterly 
incentive award is then determined with adjustments to quarterly estimates 
made at the end of each federal fiscal year. 

Parts 9500.1820 and 9500.1821 provide for an alternative award determina­
tion and redetermination formula for the first two years of the new award system 
to allow time for the less effective and efficient counties to improve ratios to the 
point that they may earn higher incentive awards under the new system. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 2 
History: 10 SR 1298 

9500.1810 RATIO DETERMINATION. 
Subpart 1. Time frame. The department shall use the county IV-D costs and 

collections reported by a county IV-D agency to the department in a quarter to 
determine the ratio for that quarter. 

Subp. 2. Collections credited to the county IV-D agency that makes collections 
on behalf of another Minnesota county IV-D agency. Each county IV-D agency 
shall identify collections made on behalf of another Minnesota county IV-D 
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agency and shall credit those collections only to the county IV-D agency that 
makes the collection. 

Subp. 3. Optional subtractions from county IV-D costs. At the option of the 
county IV-D agency, certain costs incurred and reported to the department in 
determining paternity may be subtracted from county IV-D costs. These costs are 
costs incurred for: 

A. drawing and shipping blood; 
B. testing and retesting blood; and 
C. human leucocyte antigen (HLA) testing. 

Subp. 4. Separate ratios. The department shall determine separate ratios for 
AFDC and non-AFDC collections. 

Subp. 5. Ratio to percent. Based on ratios determined under subparts 1 to 4, 
the department shall use the following schedule to determine the corresponding 
percent of a county IV-D agency's collections to be used in determining each 
county IV-D agency's dollar amounts under part 9500.1811. 

Ratio Percent 

at least 
.1 
.2 
.4 
.6 
.8 

1.0 
1.2 
1.4 
1.6 
1.8 
2.0 
2.2 
2.4 
2.6 
2.8 

or less 

or more 

3.0 
3.5 
4.0 
4.5 
5.0 
5.5 
6.0 
6.5 
7.0 
7.5 
8.0 
8.5 
9.0 
9.5 

10.0 
Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 2 
History: 10 SR 1298 

9500.1811 QUARTERLY DETERMINATION OF DOLLAR AMOUNTS. 
The department shall determine a county IV-D agency's quarterly AFDC 

dollar amount by multiplying the county's AFDC collections by the percent 
determined under part 9500.1810, subpart 5. The department shall determine a 
county IV-D agency's quarterly non-AFDC dollar amount by multiplying the 
county's non-AFDC collections by the percent determined under part 9500.1810, 
subpart 5. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 2 
History: 10 SR 1298 

9500.1812 LIMIT ON QUARTERLY DETERMINATION OF DOLLAR 
AMOUNT OF NON-AFDC COLLECTIONS. 

The department shall limit each quarterly determination of the dollar 
amount of non-AFDC collections for each county IV-D agency as determined 
under part 9500.1811, to a percentage of its quarterly AFDC dollar amount as 
follows: 

A. up to 100 percent in FFY 1986 and FFY 1987; 
B. up to 105 percent in FFY 1988; 
C. up to 110 percent in FFY 1989; and 
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D. up to 115 percent in FFY 1990 and thereafter. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 2 
History: 10 SR 1298 

9500.1815 DISTRIBUTION FORMULA. 
The department shall determine each county IV-D agency's share of the 

state's quarterly incentive award for AFDC collections and each county IV-D 
agency's share of the state's quarterly incentive award for non-AFDC collections 
according to the formula in items A to F. Within 45 working days after the end 
of the quarter, the department shall inform each county IV-D agency of the deter­
minations. The department shall add the AFDC and non-AFDC determinations 
for each county and pay the total amount to that county. 

A. Add all county IV-D agency quarterly AFDC dollar amounts as deter­
mined in part 9500.1811. 

B. Divide the state's quarterly AFDC incentive award by the total 
obtained in item A. 

C. Multiply the quotient obtained in item B by each county IV-D agen­
cy's quarterly AFDC dollar amount as determined under part 9500.1811. 

D. The product obtained in item C is the county IV-D agency's quarterly 
AFDC incentive award. 

E. To determine a county IV-D agency's quarterly non-AFDC incentive 
award, the department shall follow the steps in items A to C except that it shall 
use the county IV-D agency's quarterly non-AFDC dollar amounts in item A 
instead of AFDC dollar amounts, subject to the limitations of part 9500.1812. 

F. The county IV-D agency's quarterly incentive awards determined in 
items D and E are subject to the determinations in parts 9500.1817 to 9500.1821. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 2 
History: 10 SR 1298 

9500.1817 ADJUSTMENTS. 
Within 30 working days after the department receives the state's quarterly 

incentive award for the last quarter of the federal fiscal year that adjusts the esti­
mated federal quarterly incentive awards received by the state to the actual incen­
tive award earned by the state under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, 
section 303.52(c)(3), the department shall notify each county IV-D agency of any 
increase or decrease in.the county IV-D agency's next quarterly incentive award. 
This increase or decrease must be added to or subtracted from the state's quar­
terly incentive award for the next quarter as determined in part 9500.1815. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 2 
History: 10 SR 1298 

9500.1820 FEDERAL FISCAL YEAR 1986 AND 1987 ALTERNATIVE 
INCENTIVE AWARD DETERMINATION. 

For federal fiscal years 1986 and 1987, the department shall determine the 
yearly incentive awards for county IV-D agencies according to items A to H. 

A. Determine each county IV-D agency's yearly incentive award accord­
ing to United States Code, title 42, section 658 as effective for federal fiscal year 
1985. 

B. Multiply each of the amounts determined in item A by 0.80. 
C. Multiply each of the amounts in item A by 0.81. 
D. Determine an incentive award for each county according to part 

9500.1817. 
E. Designate as a county IV-D agency's incentive award the higher of 

the results obtained under items B and D. 
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F. Identify those county IV-D agency incentive awards from item E 
whose corresponding incentive award under item B is higher than the result 
obtained under item D. 

G. Identify those county IV-D agency incentive awards from item E 
whose corresponding incentive award in item D is higher than in item C. 

H. If a county IV-D agency's incentive award is not in item F or G, then 
the incentive award is the determination made in item B. 

I. No further determinations are necessary if all incentive awards are 
included in item F. 

J. All incentive awards must be redetermined according to part 
9500.1821 if one or more incentive awards are included in item G. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 2 
History: 10 SR 1298 

9500.1821 REDETERMINATION OF INCENTIVE AWARDS FOR FED­
ERAL FISCAL YEARS 1986 AND 1987. 

When directed by part 9500.1820, item J, the department shall make the fol­
lowing redeterminations. 

A. Add the incentive awards identified under part 9500.1820, items F 
and H. This amount equals 80 percent 'of what the incentive award would be if 
determined under the incentive award system in effect for federal fiscal year 
1985. 

B. Add the incentive awards identified under part 9500.1820, item G. 
C. Add the totals obtained in items A and B. 
D. Subtract the total obtained in item C from the state's yearly incentive 

award. 
E. Divide the result, without regard to sign, obtained in item D by the 

total obtained in item B. 
F. Multiply the quotient obtained in item E by each county IV-D agen­

cy's incentive award included from item B. 
G. Add the products in item F. 
H. Item G is the redetermination adjustment to be subtracted from 

those counties identified in item B. 
I. To apply the redetermination adjustment for those counties of item 

A, subtract their award from part 9500.1817 from the total identified in item A. 
This is the amount that is to be paid to the counties. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 2 
History: 10 SR 1298 
ADMINISTRATION OF AID TO FAMILIES WITH DEPENDENT 

CHILDREN 
9500.2000 SCOPE. 

Parts 9500.2000 to 9500.2880 govern the administration of the aid to fami­
lies with dependent children program in Minnesota. The aid to families with 
dependent children program provides financial assistance to qualifying families, 
according to assistance payment standards authorized in Minnesota law, to help 
them provide their children with a reasonable subsistence compatible with 
decency and health. Parts 9500.2000 to 9500.2880 must be read in conjunction 
with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256; title IV of the Social Security Act; and 
Code of Federal Regulations, title 45. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212 
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9500.2020 ADMINISTRATION. 
Subpart 1. Compliance with state and federal law. The commissioner shall 

cooperate with the federal government in order to qualify for federal financial 
participation in the aid to families with dependent children program. Changes 
to the aid to families with dependent children program required by state or fed­
eral law or by court order supersede parts 9500.2000 to 9500.2880. The changes 
are effective on the date specified in bulletins or manuals issued by the commis­
sioner to a local agency. 

Subp. 2. Administrative relationships. The aid to families with dependent 
children program is administered by local agencies under the supervision of the 
commissioner. 

The commissioner shall supervise the aid to families with dependent chil­
dren program on a statewide basis so that local agencies comply with the stan­
dards of the program. 

A local agency shall provide fair and equal treatment to an applicant or recip­
ient according to statewide policies. The commissioner is authorized to direct a 
local agency to correct a policy or practice that conflicts with statewide program 
requirements. A local agency shall comply with procedures and forms prescribed 
by the commissioner of human services in bulletins and manuals to assure con­
formance with parts 9500.2000 to 9500.2880. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212 

9500.2060 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Applicability. The terms used in parts 9500.2000 to 9500.2880 

have the meanings given them in subparts 2 to 154 unless otherwise indicated. 
Subp. 2. Absent parent. "Absent parent" means the parent of a dependent 

child who does not live in the child's home. 
Subp. 3. Actual availability. "Actual availability," when used in reference to 

income or property, is that which is in hand or which can be readily obtained for 
current use. 

Subp. 4. Affidavit. "Affidavit" means a written declaration made under oath 
before a notary public or other authorized officer. 

Subp. 5. Agency error. "Agency error" means an error that results in an over­
payment which is not caused by an applicant's or recipient's failure to provide 
adequate, correct, or timely information about income, property, or other cir­
cumstances. 

Subp. 6. Aid to families with dependent children or AFDC. "Aid to families 
with dependent children" or "AFDC" means the program authorized under title 
IV-A to provide financial assistance and social services to needy families with 
dependent children. 

Subp. 7. AFDC family allowance. "AFDC family allowance" means the stan­
dardized Minnesota need and assistance payment schedule for assistance units 
of various compositions. An assistance unit's net income is subtracted from the 
AFDC family allowance to determine the amount of that assistance unit's 
monthly assistance payment. 

Subp. 8. AFDC housing allowance. "AFDC housing allowance" means those 
payments authorized under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.879 and described 
in part 9500.2800, subpart 2. 

Subp. 9. AFDC unit. "AFDC unit" means the organizational entity within 
a local agency which is responsible for determining program eligibility and the 
amount of assistance payment. 

Subp. 10. Appeal. "Appeal" means a written statement from an applicant or 
recipient which requests a hearing or expresses dissatisfaction with a local agency 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1991

Copyright © 1991 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



9500.2060 ASSISTANCE PAYMENTS PROGRAMS 9604 

decision that can be challenged under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045 and 
part 9500.2740, subpart 8. 

Subp. 11. Applicant. "Applicant" means a person for whom an application 
has been submitted to a local agency, and whose application has not been 
approved, denied, nor voluntarily withdrawn. 

Subp. 12. Application. "Application" means the action by which a person 
shows in writing a desire to receive assistance by submitting a signed and dated 
form prescribed by the commissioner to the local agency. 

Subp. 13. Assignment of support. "Assignment of support" means the trans­
fer of a person's right to support to a local agency. 

Subp. 14. Assistance. "Assistance" means a financial benefit received from 
the aid to families with dependent children program. 

Subp. 15. Assistance unit. "Assistance unit" means a group of persons who 
are applying for or receiving assistance and whose needs are included in the assis­
tance payment issued under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.72 to 256.87. 

Subp. 16. Authorized representative. "Authorized representative" means a 
person who is authorized in writing by an applicant or recipient to act on that 
applicant's or recipient's behalf in matters involving AFDC or emergency assis­
tance, including submitting applications, making appeals, and providing or 
requesting information. An authorized representative may exercise the same 
rights and responsibilities on behalf of the person being represented as an appli­
cant or recipient. 

Subp. 17. Basic needs. "Basic needs" means food, clothing, shelter, utilities, 
personal hygiene items, and other subsistence items. 

Subp. 18. Blood related. "Blood related" means a person who is related by 
birth rather than by marriage or adoption. 

Subp. 19. Budget month. "Budget month" means the calendar month from 
which a local agency uses the income or circumstances of an assistance unit to 
determine the amount of the assistance payment for the payment month. 

Subp. 20. Care. "Care" means regular and ongoing supervision and provision 
of services such as feeding, dressing, and cleaning. 

Subp. 21. Caretaker. "Caretaker" means a person listed in part 9500.2440, 
subpart 7 who lives with and provides care to a dependent child. 

Subp. 22. Case record. "Case record" means the eligibility file of a particular 
assistance unit. 

Subp. 23. Children standard. "Children standard" means the portion of the 
AFDC family allowance so named in part 9500.2440, subpart 5, item A. 

Subp. 24. Child support enforcement unit. "Child support enforcement unit" 
means the organizational entity within a county which is responsible for estab­
lishing paternity and collecting support according to Title IV-D of the Social 
Security Act. 

Subp. 25. Child support pass through. "Child support pass through" means 
the payment authorized under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 
302.51(b)(1). 

Subp. 26. Child welfare funds. "Child welfare funds" means funds issued 
under Title IV-B. 

Subp. 27. Civil judgment. "Civil judgment" means a money judgment ren­
dered by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

Subp. 28. Client error. "Client error" means an error that results in an over­
payment which is due to an applicant's or recipient's failure to provide adequate, 
correct, or timely information concerning income, property, or other circum­
stances or a recipient's choice to continue assistance while an appeal is pending. 

Subp. 29. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the 
department or the commissioner's designee. 
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Subp. 30. Community Social Services Act. "Community Social Services Act" 
means the system of planning for and providing community social services 
authorized under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256E. 

Subp. 31. Community work experience program. "Community work experi­
ence program" means the program authorized under Code of Federal Regula­
tions, title 45, part 238. 

Subp. 32. Corrective payment. "Corrective payment" means an assistance 
payment which is made to correct an underpayment. 

Subp. 33. Cost effective. "Cost effective" refers to a result that is economical 
in terms of the goods and services received for the money spent, given feasible 
alternatives, or a result in which the cost is less than the value of the benefit 
received. 

Subp. 34. County board. "County board" means the board of commissioners 
in each county established under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 393. 

Subp. 35. County of financial responsibility. "County of financial responsi­
bility" means the county liable for the county share of a recipient's assistance 
under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256G. 

Subp. 36. County of residence. "County of residence" means the county pro­
viding AFDC administrative services to an applicant or recipient. 

Subp. 37. Date of application. "Date of application" means the date on which 
a local agency receives a person's application. 

Subp. 38. Department. "Department" means the Minnesota Department of 
Human Services. 

Subp. 39. Dependent child. "Dependent child" means a child who is living 
in the home of a parent or other caretaker, who is deprived of the support or care 
of a parent as specified in parts 9500.2180 to 9500.2300, who is in financial need 
according to part 9500.2480, and who meets one of the conditions in items A and 
B: 

A. is less than 18 years of age; or 
B. is 18 years of age and is a full-time student, as defined in subpart 58, 

at an accredited high school or its equivalent in vocational or technical training, 
and is expected to graduate or complete the school program before reaching age 
19. 

Subp. 40. Deregistration from WIN. "Deregistration from WIN" means the 
action taken through the WIN program by the Minnesota Department of Jobs 
and Training to remove a person from that program. 

Subp. 41. Disregard. "Disregard" means a deduction from income as autho­
rized under the Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, part 233. 

Subp. 42. Documentation. "Documentation" means a written statement or 
record which substantiates or validates an assertion made by a person or an 
action taken by a local agency. "Primary documentation" means evidence that 
independently establishes a fact and that is provided by a public or private insti­
tution or organization having an official responsibility to establish that fact. "Al­
ternative documentation" means evidence, including declarations, that supports 
the existence of a fact and that is provided by an individual or institution who 
has no official responsibility to establish that fact. 

Subp. 43. Early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment or EPSDT. 
"Early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment" or "EPSDT" means the 
program authorized under Title XIX and which operates under parts 9505.1500 
to 9505.1690. 

Subp. 44. Earned income. "Earned income" means compensation from legal 
employment or legal self employment, including salaries, wages, tips, gratuities, 
commissions, net profits from self employment, earned income tax credits, incen­
tive payments from work or training programs except those excluded in part 
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9500.2380, subpart 2, payments made by an employer for regularly accrued vaca­
tion or sick leave, and profit from other legal activity earned by an applicant's 
or recipient's effort or labor. Earned income does not include returns from capital 
investment or benefits that accrue as compensation or reward for service or for 
lack of employment. 

Subp. 45. Earned income tax credit. "Earned income tax credit" means the 
payment which can be obtained by a qualified low income person from an 
employer or from the United States Internal Revenue Service under provisions 
of United States Code, title 26, section 32, as amended through December 31, 
1985. 

Subp. 46. Emancipated minor. "Emancipated minor" means a person under 
the age of 18 years who has been married, is on active duty in the uniformed ser­
vices of the United States, or who has been emancipated by a court of competent 
jurisdiction. 

Subp. 47. Emergency. "Emergency" means a situation that causes, or threat­
ens to cause, a lack of a basic need item and the lack of resources to provide for 
that need. 

Subp. 48. Emergency assistance. "Emergency assistance" means assistance 
and services funded under Title IV-A, authorized under Minnesota Statutes, sec­
tion 256.871 and Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 233.120, and gov­
erned by part 9500.2820. 

Subp. 49. Encumbrance. "Encumbrance" means a legal claim against real or 
personal property that is payable upon the sale of that property. 

Subp. 50. Equity value. "Equity value" means the amount of equity in real 
or personal property owned by a person. Equity value is determined by subtract­
ing any outstanding encumbrances from the fair market value. 

Subp. 51. Fair hearing or hearing. "Fair hearing" or "hearing" means the 
department evidentiary hearing conducted by an appeals referee to determine 
whether an applicant or recipient is eligible for assistance or has received an 
incorrect amount of assistance. 

Subp. 52. Fair market value. "Fair market value" means the price that an 
item of a particular make, model, size, material, or condition would sell for on 
the open market in the particular geographic area. 

Subp. 53. Federal and state AFDC participation. "Federal and state AFDC 
participation" means the federal and state aid to a local agency for AFDC expen­
ditures as specified under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, part 237, and 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.82 and 256.871, subdivision 6. 

Subp. 54. Federal Insurance Contributions Act or FICA. "Federal Insurance 
Contributions Act" or "FICA" means the federal law under United States Code, 
title 26, sections 3101 to 3126, that requires withholding or direct payment from 
earned income. 

Subp. 55. Financially responsible household members. "Financially responsi­
ble household members" means spouses, parents of dependent children and 
minor caretakers, legal guardians of minor caretakers, and stepparents of depen­
dent children to the extent authorized by federal and state law. 

Subp. 56. Filing unit. "Filing unit" means a dependent child, any blood 
related and adoptive minor siblings, and any biological and adoptive parents who 
live in the same household. 

Subp. 57. First adult standard. "First adult standard" means the portion of 
the AFDC family allowance so named and described in part 9500.2440, subpart 
5, item B. 

Subp. 58. Full-time student. "Full-time student" means a person who is 
enrolled in a graded or ungraded primary, intermediate, secondary, GED prepa­
ratory, trade, technical, vocational, or postsecondary school, and who meets the 
school's standard for full-time attendance. 
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Subp. 59. GED. "GED" means the general educational development certifi­
cation issued by the Minnesota Board of Education as an equivalent to a second­
ary school diploma under part 3500.3100, subpart 4. 

Subp. 60. General assistance. "General assistance" means the financial aid 
program authorized under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256D. 

Subp. 61. General assistance medical care. "General assistance medical care" 
means the program defined under Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.02, subdivi­
sion 4a. 

Subp. 62. Good cause. "Good cause" means, generally, the circumstances, 
including those specified in parts 9500.2700, subparts 6, item C; 8, item B; 12; 
and 19; and 9500.2740, subpart 8, which are allowed to excuse a person's failure 
to comply with specified requirements or to meet specific conditions of eligibility. 

Subp. 63. Gross income. "Gross income" means income, except for in kind 
income, before any withholdings, deductions, disregards, or exclusions. When 
earnings are from self-employment, gross income is the difference between gross 
receipts and allowable expenses as provided in part 9500.2380, subpart 5. 

Subp. 64. Gross receipts. "Gross receipts" means the money received by a 
business before the expenses of the business are deducted. 

Subp. 65. Guidance. "Guidance" means regular and ongoing services pro­
vided to a dependent child, including supervision, training, discipline, and help 
with schoolwork. 

Subp. 66. Home. "Home" means the primary place of residence used by a 
person as the base for day to day living and does not include locations used as 
maildrops. 

Subp. 67. Homestead. "Homestead" means the real property used by a per­
son as his or her home, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.73, subdivi­
sion 2, clause (1). 

Subp. 68. Household. "Household" means a group of persons who live 
together. 

Subp. 69. Household report form. "Household report form" means a form 
prescribed by the commissioner which an applicant or recipient uses to report 
information to a local agency about income and other circumstances according 
to part 9500.2700, subparts 5 to 7. The household report form is incorporated 
by reference. It is available at the Ford Law Library, 117 University Avenue, 
Saint Paul, Minnesota. It is subject to frequent change. 

Subp. 70. Incapacity. "Incapacity" means the presence of a temporarily or 
permanently debilitating physical or mental condition which is expected to con­
tinue for a minimum of 30 days, and which reduces or eliminates the ability of 
a person to hold substantial gainful employment or which substantially reduces 
or eliminates a person's ability to care for his or her children with whom he or 
she lives. A person who has had disability status conferred by the Social Security 
Administration meets the definition of incapacity. 

Subp. 71. Income. "Income" means cash or in kind benefit, whether earned 
or unearned, received by or available to an applicant or recipient and not estab­
lished as an asset under part 9500.2340. 

Subp. 72. In kind income. "In kind income" means income, benefits, or pay­
ments which are provided in a form other than money or liquid asset, including 
the forms of goods, produce, services, privileges, or payments made on behalf of 
a person by a third party. 

Subp. 73. Inquiry. "Inquiry" means a communication to a local agency 
through mail, telephone, or in person, by which a parent, caretaker of minor chil­
dren, or authorized representative requests information about AFDC or emer­
gency assistance. The local agency shall also treat as an inquiry any 
communication in which a person requesting assistance offers information about 
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his or her family's circumstances which indicates that eligibility for AFDC or 
emergency assistance may exist. 

Subp. 74. Job Training Partnership Act. "Job Training Partnership Act" 
means the act authorized under Public Law Number 97-300 and its successor 
programs. 

Subp. 75. Joint legal custody. "Joint legal custody" means a court ordered 
arrangement under which both parents have equal rights and responsibilities, 
including the right to participate in major decisions determining the child's 
upbringing, including education, health care, and religious training. 

Subp. 76. Joint physical custody. "Joint physical custody" means an arrange­
ment under which the routine daily care and control of a child is divided between 
both parents. 

Subp. 77. Legal availability. "Legal availability" means a person's right 
under the law to secure, possess, dispose of, or control income or property. 

Subp. 78. Legal guardian. "Legal guardian" means a person or persons desig­
nated by a court to assume, on a temporary or permanent basis, those rights and 
responsibilities for a child that would otherwise be assigned to a parent. 

Subp. 79. Licensed adoption agency. "Licensed adoption agency" means a 
public or private agency which is licensed to place children for adoption under 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 259.21 to 259.49. 

Subp. 80. Licensed physician. "Licensed physician" means a person who is 
licensed to provide medical services within the scope of his or her profession 
under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 147. 

Subp. 81. Licensed psychologist. "Licensed psychologist" means a person 
who is licensed or certified to act in that capacity under Minnesota Statutes, sec­
tions 148.88 to 148.98. 

Subp. 82. Local agency. "Local agency" means a county or multicounty 
agency that is authorized under Minnesota Statutes, sections 393.01, subdivision 
7, and 393.07, subdivision 2, to administer AFDC. 

Subp. 83. Lockout. "Lockout" means an action taken by an employer to 
refuse entry of an employee due to a labor dispute which is in progress at the 
worksite. 

Subp. 84. Low income home energy assistance program or LIHEAP. "Low-
income home energy assistance program" or "LIHEAP" means the program 
authorized under United States Code, title 42, sections 8621 to 8629 and admin­
istered by the- Minnesota Department of Jobs and Training. 

Subp. 85. Lump sum. "Lump sum" means nonrecurring income which is not 
excluded in part 9500.2380, subpart 2. 

Subp. 86. Maildrop. "Maildrop" means an address or post office box which 
does not represent the actual home of the addressee and is used primarily for the 
receipt of mail or the establishment of AFDC eligibility. 

Subp. 87. Mandatory registrant. "Mandatory registrant" means a person who 
is required to register for WIN, employment, or other employment activities as 
a condition of AFDC eligibility under part 9500.2700, subpart 16. 

Subp. 88. Medical assistance. "Medical assistance" means the program 
established under title XIX and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B. 

Subp. 89. Minnesota supplemental aid. "Minnesota supplemental aid" 
means the program established under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256D.35 to 
256D.43. 

Subp. 90. Minor caretaker. "Minor caretaker" means: 
A. a person under the age of 18 years; and 
B. who has applied as a caretaker on behalf of himself or herself and his 

or her dependent child. 
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Subp. 91. Net income. "Net income" means the countable income remaining 
after allowable deductions, disregards, and exclusions have been subtracted from 
gross income. 

Subp. 92. Nonrecurring income. "Nonrecurring income" means a form of 
income which: 

A. is received only one time or is not of a continuous nature; or 
B. is received in a prospective payment month but is no longer received 

in the corresponding retrospective payment month. 
Subp. 93. Non-WIN county. "Non-WIN county" means a county which does 

not operate a WIN program within its boundaries. 
Subp. 94. Occupational Safety and Health Administration. "Occupational 

Safety and Health Administration" means that organizational part of the United 
States Department of Labor. 

Subp. 95. Overpayment. "Overpayment" means an assistance payment, 
resulting from a calculation error, a client reporting error, a misapplication of 
existing program requirements by a local agency, or changes in payment eligibil­
ity that cannot be effected due to notification requirements in part 9500.2740, 
subpart 7, which is greater than the amount for which an assistance unit is eligi­
ble. 

Subp. 96. Parent. "Parent" means a child's biological or adoptive parent who 
is legally obligated to support that child. 

Subp. 97. Payee. "Payee" means a person to whom an assistance payment 
is made. 

Subp. 98. Payment eligibility test. "Payment eligibility test" means an eligi­
bility test applied to income after the gross income test is satisfied. 

Subp. 99. Payment month. "Payment month" means the calendar month for 
which assistance is paid. 

Subp. 100. Personal property. "Personal property" means an item of value 
which is not real property, including the value of a contract for deed held by a 
seller, assets held in trust on behalf of members of an assistance unit, cash surren­
der value of life insurance, value of a prepaid burial, savings account, value of 
stocks and bonds, and value of retirement accounts. 

Subp. 101. Principal wage earner. "Principal wage earner" means the parent 
who has earned the greater amount of income in the 24 months preceding appli­
cation for assistance, subject to the conditions in part 9500.2300. 

Subp. 102. Probable fraud. "Probable fraud" means the level of evidence 
that, if proven as fact, will establish that assistance has been wrongfully obtained. 

Subp. 103. Program. "Program" means the aid to families with dependent 
children program. 

Subp. 104. Prospective. "Prospective" means anticipating conditions in a 
future period, normally the following month. 

Subp. 105. Prospective budgeting. "Prospective budgeting" means a method 
of determining the amount of assistance in which the budget month and payment 
month are the same. 

Subp. 106. Protective payee. "Protective payee" means a person other than 
the caretaker of an assistance unit who receives the monthly assistance payment 
on behalf of an assistance unit and is responsible to provide for the basic needs 
of the assistance unit to the extent of that payment. 

Subp. 107. Protective payment. "Protective payment" means the assistance 
payment made to a protective payee. 

Subp. 108. Quality child care program. "Quality child care program" means 
the program authorized under Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, part 226. 

Subp. 109. Quality control review process. "Quality control review process" 
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means the review process required under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, 
sections 205.40 to 205.44. 

Subp. 110. Quarter of work. "Quarter of work" means a calendar quarter in 
which a principal wage earner meets the qualifications of part 9500.2300, item 
G. 

Subp. 111. Real property. "Real property" means the land itself and all build­
ings, structures, and improvements, or other fixtures on it, belonging or apper­
taining to the land, and all mines, minerals, fossils, and trees on or under it. 

Subp. 112. Reasonable compensation. "Reasonable compensation" means 
the value received in exchange for property transferred to another owner which 
equals or exceeds the seller's equity in the property, reduced by costs incurred 
in the sale. 

Subp. 113. Recipient. "Recipient" means a person who is currently receiving 
assistance. A person who fails to withdraw or access electronically any portion 
of his or her assistance payment by the end of the payment month transfer or who 
returns an uncashed assistance check and withdraws from the program is not a 
recipient. A person who withdraws an assistance payment by electronic transfer 
or receives and cashes an assistance check and is subsequently determined to be 
ineligible for assistance for that period of time is a recipient, regardless of whether 
that assistance is repaid. The term "recipient" includes the caretaker relative and 
the dependent child whose needs are included in the assistance payment. A per­
son in an assistance unit who does not receive an assistance payment because he 
or she has been suspended from AFDC or because his or her need falls below the 
$ 10 minimum payment level is a recipient. 

Subp. 114. Recoupment. "Recoupment" means the actions taken by a local 
agency to reduce one or more monthly assistance payments in order to reclaim 
the value of overpayments, according to part 9500.2620, items C and D. 

Subp. 115. Recovery. "Recovery" means actions taken by a local agency to 
reclaim the value of overpayments through voluntary repayment, recoupment 
from the assistance payment, or court actions. 

Subp. 116. Recurring income. "Recurring income" means a form of income 
which: 

A. is received periodically, and may be received irregularly when receipt 
can be anticipated even though the date of receipt cannot be predicted; and 

B. is from the same source or of the same type that is received and bud­
geted in a prospective month and is received in one or both of the first two retro­
spective months. 

Subp. 117. Redetermination of eligibility. "Redetermination of eligibility" 
means the process by which information is collected periodically by a local 
agency and used to determine a recipient's continued eligibility for AFDC. 

Subp. 118. [Repealed, 15 SR 117] 
Subp. 119. Retrospective. "Retrospective" means looking back on conditions 

in a past month. 
Subp. 120. Retrospective budgeting. "Retrospective budgeting" means a 

method of determining the amount of assistance in which the payment month 
is the second month after the budget month. 

Subp. 121. Second adult standard. "Second adult standard" means the por­
tion of the AFDC family allowance so named and described in part 9500.2440, 
subpart 5, item C. 

Subp. 122. Secondary school. "Secondary school" means a school which is 
accredited by the Minnesota Department of Education as a secondary school 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 120.05, subdivision 2 or equivalent level tech­
nical college or an educational program which provides a GED. 

Subp. 123. Settlement. "Settlement" means a resolution of financial respon-
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sibility by the commissioner when there is a dispute between or among local agen­
cies concerning which county is financially responsible for a person's assistance. 

Subp. 124. Social Security Act. "Social Security Act" means the act autho­
rized under United States Code, title 42, sections 301 to 1399. 

Subp. 125. Social Security Administration. "Social Security Administration" 
means that organizational part of the United States Department of Health and 
Human Services. 

Subp. 126. Social services. "Social services" means the services included in 
a county's community social services plan which are administered by the county 
board as described under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.03, subdivision 2. 

Subp. 127. Special adult standard. "Special adult standard" means the por­
tion of the AFDC family allowance so named and described in part 9500.2440, 
subpart 5, item E. 

Subp. 128. Special child standard. "Special child standard" means the por­
tion of the AFDC family allowance so named and described in part 9500.2440, 
subpart 5, item D. 

Subp. 129. State medical review team. "State medical review team" means 
the person or group of persons designated by the commissioner to determine 
incapacity under part 9500.2220. 

Subp. 130. Statewide administration. "Statewide administration" means the 
administration of uniform program standards throughout Minnesota. 

Subp. 131. Strike. "Strike" means the action by employees defined under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 179.01. 

Subp. 132. Substantial gainful employment. "Substantial gainful employ­
ment" means employment which averages at least 30 hours per week on a 
monthly basis and which is compensated at the level of the federal minimum 
wage or at the minimum standard for that employment in a geographic area, 
whichever is greater. 

Subp. 133. Supplemental security income. "Supplemental security income" 
means the program authorized under title XVI of the Social Security Act. 

Subp. 134. Support. "Support" means the provision of financial assistance, 
exclusive of payments in kind, by an absent parent to a caretaker or a local 
agency. Support includes the payments made to or on behalf of an eligible child 
or payments made to or on behalf of the caretaker. 

Subp. 135. Title IV-A. "Title IV-A" means that part of the Social Security 
Act. 

Subp. 136. Title IV-B. "Title IV-B" means that part of the Social Security 
Act. 

Subp. 137. Title IV-E. "Title IV-E" means that part of the Social Security 
Act. 

Subp. 138. Title XIX. "Title XIX" means that part of the Social Security Act. 
Subp. 139. Title XX. "Title XX" means that part of the Social Security Act. 
Subp. 140. Two party payment. "Two party payment" means an assistance 

payment issued by a local agency to a caretaker and another person jointly so that 
neither party can liquidate the payment without the signature of the other party. 

Subp. 141. Underpayment. "Underpayment" means an assistance payment, 
resulting from a calculation error, a client reporting error, or a misapplication of 
program requirements by a local agency, which is less than the amount for which 
an assistance unit is eligible. 

Subp. 142. Unearned income. "Unearned income" means income received 
by a person which does not meet the definition of earned income. Unearned 
income includes interest, dividends, unemployment compensation, disability 
insurance payments, veterans benefits, pension payments, return on capital 
investment, insurance payments or settlements, and severance payments. 
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Subp. 143. Unemployment compensation. "Unemployment compensation" 
means the insurance benefit paid to an unemployed worker under Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 268.03 to 268.231. 

Subp. 144. Uniformed services. "Uniformed services" means the United 
States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, and National Ocean-
ographic and Atmosphere Administration. 

Subp. 145. Unsubsidized employment. "Unsubsidized employment" means 
employment under which the wage or salary is paid exclusively from private 
funds of the employer without sharing or direct incentive payments from the 
WIN, community work experience, Job Training Partnership Act, or similar gov­
ernmental work experience program. 

Subp. 146. Vendor. "Vendor" means a provider of goods or services. 
Subp. 147. Vendor payment. "Vendor payment" means a payment made by 

a local agency directly to a vendor. 
Subp. 148. Verification. "Verification" means the process a local agency uses 

to establish the accuracy or completeness of information from an applicant, a 
recipient, a third party, or other source as that information relates to program 
eligibility or the assistance payment. 

Subp. 149. Water and sewer system. "Water and sewer system" means the 
fixed structures required to provide water to and to dispose of sewage from a 
home. The water and sewer system includes the interior plumbing of a house, 
exterior water and sewer mains, drainage fields, cisterns, cesspools, wells, and 
pumps. 

Subp. 150. Welfare fraud. "Welfare fraud" means those actions through 
which assistance is wrongfully obtained and which are actionable as theft under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 256.98. 

Subp. 151. Willfully or intentionally. "Willfully" or "intentionally" means 
knowing or having reason to know the consequences of one's action or failure to 
act. 

Subp. 152. Work incentive program or WIN. "Work incentive program" or 
"WIN" means the program authorized under title IV-C of the Social Security Act 
and administered by the Minnesota Department of Jobs and Training. 

Subp. 153. Work study program. "Work study program" means a program 
operated or approved by a secondary school which allows a student to earn aca­
demic credit by working for a public or private sector employer. 

Subp. 154. Wrongfully obtaining assistance. "Wrongfully obtaining assis­
tance" means: 

A. the action of an applicant or recipient to willfully or intentionally 
withhold, conceal, or misrepresent information which results in a household's 
receipt of assistance in excess of the amount for which it is eligible under the pro­
gram and the eligibility basis claimed by the applicant or recipient; 

B. the receipt of real or personal property by a person without providing 
reasonable compensation and for the known purpose of creating another person's 
eligibility for assistance; or 

C. the action of a person to conspire with or knowingly aid or abet 
another person to wrongfully obtain assistance. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; L 1987 c 258 s 12, c 403 art 3 s 96; 15 SR 117; L 1989 

c 246 s 2 

9500.2100 APPLICATION FOR ASSISTANCE. 
Subpart 1. Where to apply. A person who wishes to apply for assistance shall 

apply at the local agency in the county in which that person lives. 
Subp. 2. Local agency responsibility to provide information. A local agency 
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shall inform a person who inquires about the program's eligibility requirements 
and how to apply for AFDC. A local agency shall offer the person brochures 
developed or approved by the commissioner that describe how to apply for 
AFDC. 

Subp. 3. Application form and accompanying advisory. A local agency shall 
offer, by hand or mail, the application forms prescribed by the commissioner as 
soon as a person makes a written or oral inquiry. At that time, the local agency 
shall inform the person that, if the person is found eligible, the local agency must 
use the date the application form was submitted to the local agency as the starting 
point for computing assistance, and that any delay in submitting an application 
form will reduce the amount paid for the month of application. A local agency 
shall inform a person that the person may submit an application before an inter­
view appointment. A local agency shall log inquiries for information about assis­
tance. Logs must contain the name of the person making the inquiry, the date of 
inquiry, the name of the local agency staff member who receives the inquiry, and 
the content of the inquiry. 

To apply for assistance, a person shall submit an application form to a local 
agency. Upon receipt of an application, a local agency shall stamp the date of 
receipt on the face of the application. 

An applicant may withdraw his or her application at any time by giving writ­
ten or oral notice to the local agency. The local agency shall issue a written notice 
confirming the withdrawal. The notice must inform the applicant of the local 
agency's understanding that the applicant has withdrawn the application and no 
longer wants to pursue it. When, within ten days of the date of the agency's notice, 
an applicant informs a local agency in writing that he or she does not wish to with­
draw the application, the local agency shall reinstate the application and finish 
processing the application. 

Subp. 4. Assessment of and issuance for initial needs. When a person inquires 
about assistance, a local agency shall ask the person if immediate or emergency 
needs exist. When a person has emergency needs, the local agency shall determine 
that person's eligibility for emergency assistance unless the person's needs can be 
met through other sources or by promptly processing an application for monthly 
assistance. 

When an emergency does not exist, a local agency may issue assistance before 
it completes the verification of eligibility. However, when an applicant is later 
found ineligible for that assistance, the local agency may not claim federal or state 
AFDC financial participation in the cost of the assistance issued. When federal 
and state AFDC financial participation is not available, the local agency may 
request general assistance state financial participation retroactive to the date of 
application for AFDC according to general assistance payment standards if the 
applicant was eligible for that program. 

Subp. 5. Verification of information on application. A local agency shall verify 
information provided by an applicant as specified in part 9500.2420. 

Subp. 6. Processing application. Upon receiving an application, a local 
agency shall determine the applicant's program eligibility, approve or deny the 
application, inform the applicant of its decision according to part 9500.2740, 
subpart 5, and issue assistance when the applicant is eligible. When a local agency 
is unable to process an application within 30 days, the local agency shall inform 
the applicant of the reason in writing. When an applicant establishes the inability 
to provide required verification within the 30-day processing period, the local 
agency may not use the expiration of that period as the basis for denial. 

Subp. 7. Invalid reason for delay. A local agency shall neither delay a decision 
on program eligibility nor delay issuing assistance: 

A. by treating the 45-day processing period as a waiting period, except 
as provided in part 9500.2300, item E; 
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B. by delaying approval or issuance of assistance pending the decision 
of the county board; 

C. by delaying issuance of initial assistance checks more than seven cal­
endar days to accommodate the county's check issuance schedule; 

D. for remaining family members when WIN registration requirements 
in part 9500.2700, subpart 16 have not been met by a mandatory registrant, 
unless that registrant is a nonexempt principal wage earner; or 

E. by awaiting the result of a referral to a local agency in another county 
when the county receiving the application does not believe it is the county of 
financial responsibility. 

Subp. 8. Changes in residence during application. The requirements of sub­
parts 6 and 7 apply without regard to the length of time that an applicant remains, 
or intends to remain, a resident of the county in which application is made. When 
an applicant leaves the county where application was made but remains in the 
state, part 9500.2880 applies, and the local agency may request additional infor­
mation from the applicant about changes in circumstances related to the move. 

Subp. 9. Additional applications. Until a local agency issues notice of 
approval or denial, additional applications submitted by an applicant are void. 
However, an application for monthly assistance and an application for emer­
gency assistance may exist concurrently. More than one application for monthly 
assistance or emergency assistance may exist concurrently when the local agency 
decisions on one or more earlier applications have been appealed to the commis­
sioner and the applicant asserts that a change in circumstances has occurred that 
would allow program eligibility. 

A local agency shall require additional application forms or supplemental 
forms as prescribed by the commissioner when a payee changes his or her name, 
when the basis for program eligibility changes, when a caretaker requests the 
addition of another person to the assistance unit, or when a person required to 
be in the filing unit must be added to the assistance unit. 

An addendum to an existing application may be used to add persons to an 
assistance unit regardless of whether the persons being added are required to be 
in the filing unit. When a person is added by addendum to an assistance unit and 
that person is required to be in a filing unit, eligibility begins on the date the new 
member enters the home or the date the new member is required to be included 
in the assistance unit, whichever is later. When a person is added by addendum 
to an assistance unit and the person is not required to be included in the filing 
unit, eligibility begins on the date the signed addendum is submitted to the local 
agency or all eligibility criteria are met, whichever is later. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 

9500.2140 BASIC ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS. 
Subpart 1. Citizenship. To be eligible for AFDC, a member of an assistance 

unit must be a citizen of the United States, an alien lawfully admitted to the 
United States for permanent residence, or an alien otherwise permanently resid­
ing in the United States under color of law. 

Subp. 2. Minnesota residence. Minnesota residence is an eligibility require­
ment for AFDC. A person who enters Minnesota from another state and receives 
assistance from that state must not be considered a Minnesota resident until the 
last month in which that state issues an assistance payment. Minnesota residence 
is established according to the provisions in items A to E. 

A. A person who lives in Minnesota and who entered Minnesota with 
a job commitment or to seek employment in Minnesota, whether or not that per­
son is currently employed, is considered a resident of Minnesota. Neither a length 
of prior residence nor an intent to remain in Minnesota is required. 
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B. A person who voluntarily enters Minnesota for a reason other than 
seeking employment, and who intends to remain in Minnesota, is a resident of 
Minnesota. No length of prior residence is required. 

C. A person who lives in vehicles or other temporary places, including 
transient facilities, is a resident of Minnesota when that person is physically pres­
ent in Minnesota on an ongoing basis and meets the requirements of item A or 
B. 

D. A person placed in Minnesota by another state under Minnesota Stat­
utes, section 257.40 or a juvenile who enters Minnesota from another state under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 260.51 shall not be considered a resident of Minne­
sota. A person placed in another state by Minnesota under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 257.40 or a juvenile who enters another state from Minnesota under Min­
nesota Statutes, section 260.51 shall maintain Minnesota residence. 

E. Subitems (1) to (3) constitute loss of Minnesota residence for pur­
poses of the program: 

(1) an absence from Minnesota for more than one month, except as 
allowed under subpart 5; 

(2) an absence involving either the establishment of a residence out­
side of Minnesota or the abandonment of the Minnesota home; or 

(3) an assertion of residence in another state in order to receive 
assistance. 

Subp. 3. Deprivation as eligibility factor. To be eligible for AFDC, a depen­
dent child must be deprived of parental support or care under part 9500.2180, 
9500.2220, 9500.2260, or 9500.2300 due to the death, incapacity, or continued 
absence from the home of a parent or the unemployment of the parent who is the 
principal wage earner. 

Subp. 4. Dependent child. An assistance unit shall include at least one depen­
dent child, except that program eligibility may exist for a woman beginning with 
her seventh month of pregnancy and for the parents or a caretaker relative of a 
dependent child receiving supplemental security income with no other children 
in the home. 

Subp. 5. Physical presence. To be eligible for AFDC, a dependent child and 
a caretaker must live together except as provided in items A to C. 

A. The physical presence requirement is met when a child is required 
to live away from the caretaker's home to meet the need for educational curricula 
that cannot be met by, but is approved by, the local public school district, the 
home is maintained for the child's return during periodic school vacations, and 
the caretaker continues to maintain responsibility for the support and care of the 
child. 

B. The physical presence requirement is met when an applicant care­
taker or applicant child is away from the home due to illness or hospitalization 
when the home is maintained for the return of the absent family member, the 
absence is not expected to last more than six months beyond the month of depar­
ture, and the conditions of subitem (1), (2), or (3) apply: 

(1) when the child and caretaker lived together immediately prior 
to the absence, the caretaker continues to maintain responsibility for the support 
and care of the child, and the absence is reported at the time of application; 

(2) when the pregnant mother is hospitalized or out of the home due 
to the pregnancy; or 

(3) when the newborn child and mother are hospitalized at the time 
of birth. 

C. The absence of a caretaker or child does not affect eligibility for the 
month of departure when he or she received assistance for that month and lived 
together immediately prior to the absence. Eligibility also exists in the following 
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month when the absence ends on or before the tenth day of that month. A tempo­
rary absence of a caretaker or a child which continues beyond the month of depar­
ture must not affect eligibility when the home is maintained for the return of the 
absent family member, the caretaker continues to maintain responsibility for the 
support and care of the dependent child, and when one of subitems (1) to (7) 
apply: 

(1) when a recipient caretaker or recipient child is absent due to ill­
ness or hospitalization, and the absence is expected to last no more than six 
months beyond the month of departure; 

(2) when a recipient child is out of the home due to placement in 
foster care as denned in Minnesota Statutes, section 260.015, subdivision 7, 
when the placement will not be paid through Title IV-E funds, and when the 
absence is expected to last no more than six months beyond the month of depar­
ture; 

(3) when a recipient child is out of the home for a vacation, the 
vacation is not with an absent parent, and the absence is expected to last no more 
than two months beyond the month of departure; 

(4) when a recipient child is out of the home due to a visit or vaca­
tion with an absent parent under part 9500.2260, the home of the child remains 
with the caretaker under part 9500.2260, subpart 3, the absence meets the condi­
tions of part 9500.2260, subpart 4, item C, and the absence is expected to last 
no more than two months beyond the month of departure; 

(5) when a recipient caretaker is out of the home due to a death or 
illness of a relative, incarceration, training, or employment search and suitable 
arrangements have been made for the care of the child, or when a recipient child 
is out of the home due to incarceration, and the absence is expected to last no 
more than two months beyond the month of departure; 

(6) when a recipient caretaker and a recipient child are both absent 
from Minnesota due to a situation described in subitem (5) or vacation, and the 
absence is expected to last no more than one month beyond the month of the 
departure; or 

(7) when a recipient child has run away from home, and another 
person has not made application for that child, assistance must continue for no 
more than two months following the month of departure. 

Subp. 6. Ineligibility of labor dispute participants. An assistance unit is ineli­
gible for any month in which a caretaker parent participates in a strike on the last 
day of that month. Participation in a strike on the last day of the month by any 
other member of the assistance unit renders only that member ineligible. A per­
son is considered to be "participating" in a strike if he or she, with others, actually 
refuses to provide services to his or her employer. A person who is unable to work 
due to a lockout by his or her employer, or because a labor dispute among other 
parties has reduced or eliminated demand for the person's services, is not consid­
ered on strike. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 

9500.2180 DEATH OF PARENT. 
The death of one or both parents constitutes deprivation of parental support 

or care. To be eligible for AFDC, a dependent child must live with a person who 
is a caretaker, as defined under part 9500.2440, subpart 7, and must meet the 
income and resource limitations of the program. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212 
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9500.2220 INCAPACITY OF PARENT. 
Subpart 1. Requirements for disclosure of medical and social information. The 

applicant or recipient is responsible for proving his or her incapacity. An appli­
cant or recipient who claims incapacity shall provide supporting medical evi­
dence to a local agency when the local agency requires that evidence to determine 
initial and ongoing program eligibility. When medical evidence, by itself, does 
not prove incapacity, a local agency shall request social information to supple­
ment the medical evidence. The applicant or recipient shall provide the names 
of licensed physicians or licensed psychologists who have information relevant 
to their incapacity. The applicant or recipient shall provide the local agency with 
materials he or she has which are relevant to his or her incapacity. 

Subp. 2. Referral to state medical review team. When a local agency cannot 
determine incapacity from the medical evidence and social information, the local 
agency shall submit the evidence and information to the commissioner so that 
the state medical review team can decide whether incapacity exists. The appli­
cant or recipient and the local agency shall provide the state medical review team 
with additional information it requires to determine incapacity. The state medi­
cal review team's decision is binding on the local agency. 

Subp. 3. Changes in circumstances. A local agency shall review any reported 
changes in circumstances for continued program eligibility based on incapacity. 

A. When an incapacitated parent resumes or begins employment of less 
than 100 hours per month or which pays less than the federal minimum wage, 
the local agency shall continue to treat the parent as incapacitated for the period 
granted under the most recent determination of incapacity. At the end of that 
period, the local agency shall evaluate the parent's employment and current med­
ical evidence and social information to determine whether the incapacitated par­
ent can perform substantial gainful employment. 

B. A recipient is no longer eligible under this part when medical evi­
dence or social information documents that the recipient can resume substantial 
gainful employment or care of a dependent child, or when the recipient begins 
substantial gainful employment. Before ending assistance under this item, the 
local agency shall allow the recipient an opportunity to demonstrate another basis 
of AFDC eligibility. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212 

9500.2260 CONTINUED ABSENCE OF PARENT. 
Subpart 1. Continued absence. Continued absence of a parent exists when a 

parent lives out of the home of the dependent child and the absence interrupts 
or ends the. absent parent's support, care, or guidance of that child. There is no 
minimum time period used to establish absence of a parent. The absence may 
be permanent or temporary, and a temporary absence may be of a known or 
indefinite duration. When support payments made on behalf of a dependent child 
are less than the AFDC family allowance standard for a dependent child, the 
child is considered deprived of parental support for purposes of determining con­
tinued absence. Two exceptions apply when program eligibility based on contin­
ued parental absence is determined. 

A. A child is not eligible when a parent is absent solely by reason of 
active duty in the uniformed services of the United States. The absence must be 
presumed to be solely because of uniformed service duty when the parent had 
been living in the home immediately prior to entering active duty, no subsequent 
divorce or legal separation has been filed, and the parent who is in the home can­
not document a reason for the absence other than, or in addition to, the active 
duty. 

B. A child is eligible when a parent is a convicted offender but is permit-
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ted to live at home while serving a court-imposed sentence by performing unpaid 
public work or unpaid community service during the workday. Provision must 
not be made for the offender's needs in computing the amount of the assistance 
payment described in parts 9500.2440, 9500.2600, and 9500.2620. 

Subp. 2. Visitation. Regular or sporadic visitation by an absent parent does 
not, by itself, constitute the provision of care or guidance as defined in part 
9500.2060. When an absent parent is present in the child's home so often that 
a local agency questions whether absence exists, the issue shall be resolved by 
determining whether the absent parent lives in the home of the child. 

Subp. 3. Evidence of home. Evidence of a home includes: the amount of time 
spent there as opposed to other residences; where the majority of personal belong­
ings are kept; the address given to a current employer; the address given for cur­
rent school registration; the mailing address for government benefits which 
require mailing to the current address; the address recently used to apply for 
credit; the address for service of legal documents; the address given to creditors 
or utility companies as a current address; vehicle registration, driver's license, or 
post office address which has been changed since the absence; and the frequency, 
type, and length of absences. A local agency shall evaluate each applicable item 
of evidence together with other items when determining the home, and a local 
agency must consider all circumstances together to determine whether continued 
absence exists. A maildrop does not constitute evidence of a home. 

Subp. 4. Shared custody. This subpart applies to court ordered and noncourt 
ordered custody arrangements. The language of a court order that specifies joint 
legal or physical custody must not, in and of itself, preclude a determination that 
a parent is absent. Absence must be determined based on the actual facts of the 
absence and according to the provisions of this part. 

A. When a dependent child spends time in each of the parents' homes 
within a payment month, the child's home shall be considered the home in which 
the majority of the child's time is spent. When this time is exactly equal within 
a payment month, or when the parents alternately live in the child's home within 
a payment month, the child's home shall be with that parent who is applying for 
AFDC, unless the child's needs for the full payment month have already been met 
through the provision of assistance to the other parent for that month. 

B. When the physical custody of a dependent child alternates between 
parents for periods of at least one payment month, each parent shall be eligible 
for assistance for any full payment months the child's home is with that parent, 
except under the conditions in item C. 

C. When a dependent child's home is with one parent for the majority 
of time in each month for at least nine consecutive calendar months, and that 
child visits or vacations with the other parent under the provisions of part 
9500.2140, subpart 5, item C, subitem (4), the child's home shall remain with the 
first parent even when the stay with the second parent is for all or the majority 
of the months in the period of the temporary absence. 

Subp. 5. Special circumstances. A child is considered deprived of the support, 
care, or guidance of a parent when: 

A. paternity has not been established under law; 
B. a child has been adopted by a single parent; or 
C. a child is born from artificial insemination to an unmarried mother. 

Subp. 6. Substitute parent. The determination of whether a child is deprived 
of parental care or support due to the absence of the parent from the child's home 
must be made only in relation to the child's parent. Under this requirement, the 
presence of a substitute parent or another person in the household must not be 
a reason for denying or ending assistance. 

Subp. 7. Return of parent to child's home. When an absent parent returns to 
live with the child and the other parent, financial need exists, and application is 
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made under another basis of eligibility, the local agency shall continue assistance 
payment until that application is approved, withdrawn, or denied, when: 

A. application is made during the month of the absent parent's return; 
or 

B. the return of the absent parent is reported timely according to part 
9500.2700, subpart 7, and application is made within ten calendar days from the 
date the report of the return is received by the local agency. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212 

9500.2300 UNEMPLOYED PARENT. 
To be considered an unemployed parent, a parent must meet the require­

ments in items A to I. 
A. The parent's family is in need according to the provisions of parts 

9500.2000 to 9500.2740. 
B. The parent's unemployment is not the result of participation in a 

labor dispute. 
C. The parent is employed less than 100 hours per month. The parent 

may exceed that standard for a particular month when employment is intermit­
tent and the excess hours of employment are of a temporary nature as evidenced 
by the fact that the hours of employment were under the 100-hour standard for 
the prior two months and are expected to be under the standard for the next 
month. 

D. The parent has not quit or refused a bona fide offer of employment 
or training for employment in the last 30 days unless the termination or refusal 
was for good cause as provided under part 9500.2700, subpart 19. 

E. The parent has not been fully employed during the 30-day period pre­
ceding the receipt of assistance on the basis of unemployed parent. 

(1) When employment is less than 100 hours in the month employ­
ment is lost but was 100 or more hours in the preceding month, the last day of 
the preceding month must be considered the last day of full employment. 

(2) When employment is 100 hours or more in the month employ­
ment is lost, the day employment is lost must be considered the last day of full 
employment. 

(3) Program eligibility must be established as of the date of applica­
tion, the 31st day following the last day of full employment, or the day all other 
eligibility factors are met, whichever is later. 

F. The parent shall be: 
(1) registered with WIN or qualified for an exemption from WIN. 

When the parent is an exempt principal wage earner, the other parent, unless 
exempt, shall satisfy the registration and cooperation requirements of WIN; or 

(2) registered with the local job service office when the county does 
not operate a WIN program. 

G. The parent shall have: 
(1) received or been qualified to receive unemployment compensa­

tion during the year prior to the month of the original application for assistance, 
or shall have been qualified to receive compensation if the work performed had 
been covered by unemployment compensation; or 

(2) worked at least six quarters during any 13 calendar quarter 
period ending within one year prior to the date of the original application for 
assistance and earned the equivalent of not less than $50 per quarter during this 
period. Compensation for this work may be: 

(a) in United States dollars or in a foreign currency that pur-
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chases goods and services equal to or exceeding $50 in United States currency; 
or 

(b) in the form of food, shelter, personal items, medical care, 
and services of a fair market value equal to or exceeding $50 if purchased in the 
county of residence. 

Work performed includes the labor or services rendered to an employer or 
through self-employment that was necessary to secure that compensation. 

Cooperation in the WIN program or a community work experience program 
qualifies as a quarter of work under this item. 

H. The parent shall be the principal wage earner, having earned the 
greater of the two parents' incomes, except for income received in kind, during 
the 24 months immediately preceding the month of application for assistance 
under this part. When there are no earnings or when earnings are identical for 
each parent, the applicant may designate the principal wage earner, and that des­
ignation must not be transferred after program eligibility is determined as long 
as assistance continues without interruption. 

I. The parent shall apply for unemployment compensation benefits 
when the circumstances which cause loss of employment and the duration of and 
compensation for that employment indicate eligibility for those benefits. When 
that application establishes eligibility, the parent shall also comply with the 
requirements necessary to receive unemployment compensation benefits. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212 

9500.2340 PROPERTY LIMITATIONS. 
Subpart 1. General provisions of property ownership. A local agency shall 

apply the provisions of items A to D to real and personal property. A local agency 
shall use the equity value of legally available real and personal property, except 
property excluded in subparts 2 and 3, to determine whether an applicant or 
recipient is eligible for assistance. 

A. When real or personal property is jointly owned by two or more per­
sons, the local agency shall assume that each person owns an equal share, except 
that either person owns the entire sum of a joint personal checking or savings 
account. When the owners document greater or smaller ownership, the local 
agency shall use that greater or smaller share to determine the equity value held 
by an applicant or recipient. Other types of ownership must be evaluated accord­
ing to law. 

B. Real or personal property owned by an applicant or a recipient must 
be presumed legally available unless the applicant or recipient documents that 
the property is not legally available to him or her. When real or personal property 
is not legally available, its equity must not be applied against the limits of sub­
parts 2 and 3. 

C. An applicant shall disclose whether he or she has transferred real or 
personal property valued in excess of the property limits in subparts 2 and 3 for 
which reasonable compensation was not received within one year prior to appli­
cation. A recipient shall disclose all transfers of property valued in excess of these 
limits according to the reporting requirements in part 9500.2700, subpart 7. 
When a transfer of real or personal property without reasonable compensation 
has occurred, subitems (1) and (2) apply. 

(1) The person who transferred the property shall provide the prop­
erty's description, information needed to determine the property's equity value, 
the names of persons who received the property, and the circumstances of and 
reasons for the transfer. 

(2) When the transferred property can be reasonably reacquired, or 
when reasonable compensation can be secured, the property is presumed legally 
available to the applicant or recipient. 
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D. A recipient may build the equity value of the recipient's real and per­
sonal property to the limits in subparts 2 and 3. 

Subp. 2. Real property limitations. Ownership of real property by an appli­
cant or recipient is subject to the limitations in items A and B. 

A. A local agency shall exclude the homestead of an applicant or recipi­
ent, according to the provisions in subitems (1) to (3). 

(1) An applicant or recipient who is purchasing real property 
through a contract for deed and using that property as a home is considered the 
owner of real property. 

(2) The total amount of land that can be excluded under this subpart 
is limited to surrounding property which is not separated from the home by inter­
vening property owned by others. Additional property must be assessed as to its 
legal and actual availability according to subpart 1. 

(3) When real property that has been used as a home by a recipient 
is sold, the local agency shall treat the cash proceeds from that sale as excluded 
property for a period of six months when the recipient intends to reinvest them 
in another home and maintains those proceeds, unused for other purposes, in a 
separate account. 

B. The equity value of real property which is not excluded under item 
A and which is legally available must be applied against the limits in subpart 3. 
When the equity value of the real property exceeds the limits under subpart 3, 
the applicant or recipient may qualify to receive nine months of assistance when 
he or she makes a good faith effort to sell the property and signs a legally binding 
agreement to repay the amount of assistance issued during that nine months. 
When the property is sold during the nine months, the assistance unit receives 
assistance for the month the property is sold, and the net proceeds are less than 
the amount of assistance issued, the amount which must be repaid shall be the 
net proceeds from that sale. When the property is sold after the nine-month 
period, or in a month when assistance is not received by the assistance unit, the 
full amount of assistance received during the nine-month period must be consid­
ered an overpayment and is subject to recovery. 

Subp. 3. Other property limitations. The equity value of all nonexcluded real 
and personal property must not exceed $ 1,000. To determine whether the value 
of an item of real or personal property is to be counted, a local agency shall 
exclude the value of real and personal property listed in items A to P: 

A. One motor vehicle, when its equity value does not exceed $1,500 
exclusive of the value of special equipment for a handicapped household mem­
ber. To establish the equity value of a vehicle, a local agency shall subtract any 
outstanding encumbrances from the loan value listed in the N.A.D.A. Official 
Used Car Guide, Midwest Edition, for newer model cars. The N.A.D.A. Official 
Used Car Guide, Midwest Edition, is incorporated by reference. It is published 
monthly by the National Automobile Dealers Used Car Guide Company and is 
available through the minitex interlibrary loan system. It is subject to frequent 
change. When a vehicle is not listed in the guidebook, or when the applicant or 
recipient disputes the value listed in the guidebook as unreasonable given the 
condition of the particular vehicle, the local agency may require the applicant or 
recipient to document the value by securing a written statement from a motor 
vehicle dealer licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 168.27 stating the 
amount that the dealer would pay to purchase the vehicle. The local agency shall 
reimburse the applicant or recipient for the cost of a written statement that docu­
ments a lower value. 

B. The value of personal property needed to produce earned income, 
including tools, implements, farm animals, and inventory, business checking and 
savings accounts used exclusively for the operation of a self-employment busi­
ness, and any motor vehicles if the vehicles are essential for the self-employment 
business. 
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C. The value of real and personal property owned by a recipient of sup­
plemental security income or Minnesota supplemental aid. 

D. The value of real and personal property owned by a parent of a minor 
caretaker, a stepparent, or a legal guardian, when those persons are not applying 
for AFDC and are not required to apply for AFDC under part 9500.2440. 

E. The value of corrective payments and the AFDC housing allowance, 
but only for the month in which the payment is received and for the following 
month. 

F. A mobile home used by an applicant or recipient as his or her home. 
G. Money escrowed in a separate account which is needed to pay real 

estate taxes or insurance and which is used for this purpose at least semiannually. 
H. Money held in escrow under part 9500.2380, subpart 7, item B, by 

a self-employed person, when the money is used for those purposes at least annu­
ally. 

I. Monthly assistance and emergency assistance payments issued for the 
current month's need. 

J. Income received in a budget month through the end of the budget 
month. 

K. The value of school loans, grants, or scholarships over the period they 
are intended to cover. 

L. The value of personal property not otherwise specified which is com­
monly used by household members in day-to-day living. 

M. Payments listed in part 9500.2380, subpart 2, item J, which are held 
in escrow for the period necessary to replace or repair the personal or real prop­
erty. This period must not exceed three months. 

N. One burial plot per member of an assistance unit. 
O. The value of a prepaid burial account, burial plan, or burial trust up 

to $ 1,000 for each member of an assistance unit who is covered by that account, 
plan, or trust. 

P. Other real or personal property specifically disregarded by federal 
law, state law, or federal regulation. 

Q. Lump sums that create a period of ineligibility are excluded from the 
date of receipt through the period of ineligibility. Lump sums that do not create 
a period of ineligibility are excluded only through the budget month. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 

9500.2380 INCOME. 
Subpart 1. Evaluation of income. To determine program eligibility and the 

assistance payment amount, a local agency shall evaluate income received by 
members of an assistance unit, or by other persons whose income is considered 
available to an assistance unit under parts 9500.2440, 9500.2500, subparts 4 and 
5, and 9500.2760. All payments, unless specifically excluded in subpart 2, must 
be counted as income. 

Subp. 2. Excluded income. A local agency shall exclude items A to DD from 
income: 

A. payments for basic care, difficulty of care, and clothing allowances 
received for providing family foster care to children or adults under parts 
9545.0010 to 9545.0260 and 9555.5100 to 9555.6400; 

B. work and training allowances, incentive payments, and reimburse­
ments received through WIN; 

C. work and training allowances received from local agency social ser­
vices programs; 
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D. reimbursements for employment training received through the Job 
Training Partnership Act; 

E. reimbursement for out-of-pocket expenses incurred while performing 
volunteer services, jury duty, or employment; 

F. all educational grants and loans, including income from work study 
programs; 

G. loans, regardless of purpose, from public or private lending institu­
tions, governmental lending institutions, or governmental agencies; 

H. loans from private individuals, regardless of purpose, provided an 
applicant or recipient documents that the lender expects repayment; 

I. state and federal income tax refunds including the earned income tax 
credit; 

J. funds received for reimbursement, replacement, or rebate of personal 
or real property when these payments are made from public agencies, awarded 
by a court, solicited through public appeal, or made as a grant by a federal agency 
subsequent to a presidential declaration of disaster; 

K. the portion of an insurance settlement that is designated and used to 
pay medical, funeral, and burial expenses, or to repair or replace insured prop­
erty; 

L. reimbursements for medical expenses which cannot be paid by medi­
cal assistance; 

M. payments by the vocational rehabilitation program administered by 
the state under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 129A, except those payments that are 
for current living expenses; 

N. in kind income, including any payments directly made by a third 
party to a provider of goods and services; 

O. assistance payments to correct underpayments, but only for the 
month in which the payment is received and for the following month; 

P. payments to an applicant or recipient issued under part 9500.2820; 
Q. payments issued under part 9500.2800; 
R. Minnesota property tax refund credits received by an applicant or 

recipient who does not receive AFDC housing allowances under part 9500.2800, 
subpart 2; 

S. nonrecurring cash gifts of $30 or less, such as those received for holi­
days, birthdays, and graduations, the total amount excluded not to exceed $30 
per recipient in a calendar quarter; 

T. tribal settlements excluded under Code of Federal Regulations, title 
45, section 233.20(a)(4)(ii)(e), (k), and (m); 

U. any form of energy assistance payment made by LIHEAP, payments 
made directly to energy providers by other public and private agencies, benefits 
issued by energy providers when the Minnesota Department of Jobs and Training 
determines that those payments qualify under Code of Federal Regulations, title 
45, section 233.53, and any form of credit or rebate payment issued by energy 
providers; 

V. the first $50 of child support paid under Code of Federal Regulations, 
title 45, section 302.51(b)(1); 

W. income, including retroactive payments, from supplemental security 
income; 

X. income, including retroactive payments, from Minnesota supple­
mental aid; 

Y. proceeds from the sale of real or personal property; 
Z. payments made from state funds for subsidized adoptions under 

Minnesota Statutes, section 259.40; 
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AA. state-funded Family Subsidy Program payments made under Min­
nesota Statutes, section 252.32, to help families care for children with mental 
retardation or related conditions; 

BB. interest payments and dividends from property which is not 
excluded from and which does not exceed the $ 1,000 limit under part 9500.2340, 
subpart 3; 

CC. income which is otherwise specifically excluded from AFDC pro­
gram consideration in federal law, state law, or federal regulation; 

DD. rebates of rental payments paid by an applicant or recipient. 
Subp. 3. Distribution of income. Income must be attributed to the person who 

earns it or to the beneficiary of the income according to items A to E. 
A. Income may be allocated from spouse to spouse and from parents to 

children under age 21, according to parts 9500.2500, subpart 5 and 9500.2600, 
when the person to whom income is allocated is in financial need according to 
the standards of the AFDC family allowance table under part 9500.2440 and 
when that person lives with the dependent child who is applying for or receiving 
assistance. 

B. Funds distributed from a trust, whether from the principal holdings 
or sale of trust property or from the interest and other earnings of the trust hold­
ings, must be considered income when the income is legally available to an appli­
cant or recipient. Trusts are presumed legally available unless an applicant or 
recipient can document that the trust is not legally available. 

C. Income from jointly owned property must be divided equally among 
the property owners unless the terms of ownership provide for a different distri­
bution of equity. 

D. Income of the sponsors of certain aliens must be considered income 
to the aliens according to Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 233.51. 

E. Except as provided under part 9500.2500, subpart 4, item G, deduc­
tions are not allowed from the gross income of a financially responsible household 
member or by the members of an assistance unit to meet a current or prior debt. 

Subp. 4. Earned income. Earned income is treated according to items A to 
C. 

A. Sick leave and vacation payments issued as a result of earned or 
accrued leave time are earned income. 

B. Earned income received by persons employed on a contractual basis 
must be prorated over the period covered by the contract even when payments 
are received over a lesser period of time. 

C. The earned income tax credit, whether received from an employer or 
from the federal government, is earned income. An applicant or recipient who 
is eligible for the earned income tax credit is required to apply for it. An applicant 
or recipient may choose to apply for the credit either when the applicant or recipi­
ent files an income tax return for the year in which the applicant or recipient was 
eligible or in advance through his or her employer. 

Subp. 5. Self-employment earnings. A local agency shall determine gross 
earned income from self-employment by subtracting business costs from gross 
receipts according to subparts 6 to 9. 

Subp. 6. Self-employment deductions. Self-employment expenses must be 
subtracted from gross receipts except for the expenses listed in items A to N: 

A. purchases of capital assets; 
B. payments on the principal of loans for capital assets; 
C. depreciation; 
D. amortization; 
E. the wholesale costs of items purchased, processed, or manufactured 
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which are unsold inventory with a deduction for the costs of those items allowed 
at the time they are sold; 

F. transportation costs which exceed the maximum standard mileage 
rate allowed for use of a personal car in the United States Internal Revenue Code; 

G. costs, in any amount, for mileage between applicant or recipient's 
home and his or her place of employment; 

H. salaries and other employment deductions made for members of an 
assistance unit or persons who live in the household for whom an employer is 
legally responsible; 

I. monthly expenses in excess of $71 for each roomer; 
J. monthly expenses in excess of $86 for each boarder; 
K. monthly expenses in excess of $ 157 for each roomer-boarder; 
L. annual expenses in excess of $ 103 or two percent of the estimated 

market value on a county tax assessment form, whichever is greater, as a deduc­
tion for upkeep and repair against rental income; 

M. expenses not allowed by either the United States Internal Revenue 
Code for self-employment income or the Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, 
section 233.20(a)(6)(v)(B); and 

N. expenses which exceed 60 percent of gross receipts for child care per­
formed in a recipient's home unless the recipient can document a higher amount. 
When funds are received from the quality child care program, those funds are 
excluded from gross receipts, and the expenses covered by those funds must not 
be claimed as a business expense which offsets gross receipts. 

Subp. 7. Self-employment budget period. Except for farm income under sub­
part 8, the self-employment budget period begins in the month of application for 
AFDC applicants and in the first month of self-employment for AFDC recipients. 
Gross receipts from self-employment must be budgeted in the month in which 
they are received. Expenses must be budgeted against gross receipts in the month 
in which those expenses are paid except for items A to C. 

A. The purchase cost of inventory items, including materials which are 
processed or manufactured, must be deducted as an expense at the time payment 
is received for the sale of those inventory items, processed materials, or manufac­
tured items, regardless of when those costs are incurred or paid. 

B. Expenses to cover employee FICA, employee tax withholding, sales 
tax withholding, employee worker compensation, employee unemployment com­
pensation, business insurance, property rental, property taxes, and other costs 
which are commonly paid at least annually, but less often than monthly, must be 
prorated forward as deductions from gross receipts over the period they are 
intended to cover, beginning with the month in which the payment for these 
items is made. 

C. Gross receipts from self-employment may be prorated forward to 
equal the period of time over which the expenses were incurred except that gross 
receipts must not be prorated over a period which exceeds 12 months. This provi­
sion applies only when gross receipts are not received monthly but expenses are 
incurred on an ongoing monthly basis. 

Subp. 8. Farm income. Farm income is the difference between gross receipts 
and operating expenses, subject to subpart 6. Gross receipts include sales, rents, 
subsidies, soil conservation payments, production derived from livestock, and 
income from sale of home-produced foods. Farm income must be annualized. 

Subp. 9. Rental income. Income from rental property must be considered 
self-employment earnings when the owner spends an average of 20 hours per 
week on maintenance or management of the property. A local agency must 
deduct an amount for upkeep and repairs according to subpart 6, item L, for real 
estate taxes, insurance, utilities, and interest on principal payments. When an 
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applicant or recipient lives on the rental property, the local agency must divide 
the expenses for upkeep, taxes, insurance, utilities, and interest by the number 
of rooms to determine the expense per room. The local agency shall deduct 
expenses from rental income only for the number of rooms rented, not for rooms 
occupied by an assistance unit. When an owner does not spend an average of 20 
hours per week on maintenance or management of the property, income from 
rental property must be considered unearned income. The deductions described 
in this subpart must be subtracted from gross rental receipts. 

Subp. 10. Unearned income. Unearned income is treated according to items 
A and B. 

A. An amount must be deducted for costs necessary to secure payments 
of unearned income. These costs include legal fees, medical fees, and mandatory 
deductions such as federal and state income taxes. 

B. Payments for illness or disability, except for those payments 
described as earned income in subpart 4, item A, must be considered unearned 
income whether the premium payments are made wholly or in part by an 
employer or by a recipient. 

Subp. 11. Lump sums. Lump sums received by an assistance unit must be 
considered earned income under subparts 4 to 9 or unearned income according 
to subpart 10. Lump sums received by a parent excluded from an assistance unit, 
by a child excluded from an assistance unit due to a WIN sanction, or a member 
of an assistance unit must be applied to meet both current and future need of the 
assistance unit according to part 9500.2560. When a lump sum is received by a 
stepparent, a parent or legal guardian of a minor caretaker, or a legal guardian, 
and this person is not included in the assistance unit, the lump sum must be 
counted as income only in the budget month. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 

9500.2420 DOCUMENTING, VERIFYING, AND REVIEWING ELIGIBIL­
ITY. 

Subpart 1. Information that must be verified. A local agency shall only require 
a person to document the information necessary to determine program eligibility 
and the amount of the assistance payment. Information previously verified and 
retained by a local agency must not be verified again unless the verification no 
longer applies to current circumstances. 

Subp. 2. Sufficiency of documentation. A person shall document the informa­
tion required under subpart 4 or authorize a local agency to verify it. The burden 
of providing documents for a local agency to use to verify eligibility is upon the 
applicant or recipient. A local agency shall help an applicant or recipient to 
obtain documents which the applicant or recipient does not possess and cannot 
obtain. When a person and the local agency are unable to obtain primary or alter­
nate documents needed to verify information, a local agency shall accept affida­
vits from an applicant or recipient as sufficient documentation. Information 
previously verified and retained by a local agency must not be verified again 
unless the verification no longer applies to current circumstances. 

Subp. 3. Contacting third parties. A local agency must not request informa­
tion about an applicant or recipient which is not of public record from a source 
other than local agencies, the department, or the United States Department of 
Health and Human Services without the person's prior written consent. An appli­
cant's signature on an application form shall constitute this consent for contact 
with the sources specified on that form. A local agency may use a single consent 
form to contact a group of similar sources, such as banks or insurance agencies, 
but the sources to be contacted must be identified by the local agency prior to 
requesting an applicant's consent. A local agency shall not provide third parties 
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with access to information about a person's eligibility status or any other part of 
the case record without that person's prior written consent, except where access 
to specific case information is granted to agencies designated by the Minnesota 
Government Data Practices Act, Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13. Information 
designated as confidential by the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act 
must only be made available to agencies granted access under that law and must 
not be provided to an applicant, recipient, nor a third party. 

Subp. 4. Factors to be verified. A local agency shall verify factors of program 
eligibility at the time of application, when a factor of eligibility changes, and at 
each redetermination of eligibility under subpart 5. 

A. A local agency shall verify: 
(1) the social security number of each adult and child applying for 

assistance; 
(2) age if required to establish eligibility; 
(3) the identity of each adult applying for assistance; 
(4) the resident alien status of each adult and child applying for or 

receiving assistance if the applicant or recipient reports that he or she is not a citi­
zen; 

(5) the incapacity of a parent when the basis of eligibility is an inca­
pacitated parent under part 9500.2220; 

(6) the wage and employment history for both parents for the period 
preceding application when the basis of eligibility is unemployed parent under 
part 9500.2300. When an applicant cannot document employment, a local 
agency shall verify the employment by contacting the employer. When this verifi­
cation and other primary or alternate forms of verification "are not available, a 
local agency shall accept an affidavit from an applicant as a satisfactory substitute 
for that verification; 

(7) the first day of the third trimester when either program eligibility 
under part 9500.2140, subpart 4, or WIN exemption status under part 
9500.2700, subpart 15, item M is based on pregnancy; 

(8) school attendance and the date of anticipated completion of 
school for an 18 year old child; 

(9) the registration with a Job Service office of a principal wage 
earner living in a non-WIN county or exempt under part 9500.2700, subpart 15, 
item G; 

(10) the relationship of a caretaker to the child for whom applica­
tion is made; and 

(11) residence. 
B. A local agency shall verify the information in subitems (1) to (6) when 

it is either acknowledged by an applicant or recipient or obtained through a feder­
ally mandated verification system: 

(1) earned income, including gross receipts and business expenses 
from self-employment; 

(2) unearned income; 
(3) termination from employment; 
(4) real property; 
(5) personal property; 
(6) dependent care costs of an employed caretaker at the time of 

application, redetermination, or a change in provider. 
C. A local agency may verify additional program eligibility and assis­

tance payment factors when it determines that information on the application is 
inconsistent with statements made by the applicant, other information on the 
current application, information on previous applications, or other information 
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received by the local agency. The local agency must document the reason for veri­
fying the factor in the case record of an assistance unit. 

Additional factors that may be verified, subject to the approval of the com­
missioner, are: 

(1) the presence of a child in the home; 
(2) death of a parent or spouse; 
(3) continued absence of a parent; 
(4) citizenship; 
(5) marital status; and 
(6) income and property that an applicant or recipient has not 

acknowledged receiving or having. 
Subp. 5. Redetermination of eligibility; frequency. A periodic redetermina­

tion of eligibility of a recipient must occur at least annually when the recipient 
provides a monthly household report form or is in a low error category identified 
through an error-prone profile developed by the commissioner and approved by 
the United States Secretary of Health and Human Services; a periodic redetermi­
nation of eligibility of all other recipients must occur semiannually, or more fre­
quently for recipients in a high error category identified through an error-prone 
profile developed by the commissioner. One face-to-face redetermination of eligi­
bility of each recipient must occur every 12 months. A local agency shall redeter­
mine the eligibility of a recipient when a recipient household has changed its 
county of residence. A local agency may redetermine the eligibility of a recipient 
when a change which affects program eligibility is reported to the local agency. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 

9500.2440 FAMILY COMPOSITION AND ASSISTANCE STANDARDS. 
Subpart 1. Requirement to use standards. A local agency shall determine who 

is a member of an assistance unit according to subparts 2 to 4. A local agency shall 
determine the amount of the AFDC family allowance which applies to the size 
and composition of an assistance unit according to subparts 5 and 6. Payment 
eligibility and the amount of the assistance payment must be determined by 
applying the assistance unit's income against the AFDC family allowance stan­
dard, according to parts 9500.2380 to 9500.2620. 

Subp. 2. Filing unit composition. When an application for assistance is made 
for a dependent child, that child and all blood related and adoptive minor siblings 
of that child, including half-siblings, along with the parents of that child who live 
together, must be considered a single filing unit. Program eligibility may exist for 
a part of a filing unit even though one or more members are ineligible. 

Subp. 3. Assistance unit composition. An assistance unit is a group of individ­
uals who are applying for or receiving assistance and whose needs are included 
in the assistance payment under part 9500.2620. Eligible members of a filing unit 
who are required by federal law to apply for AFDC must be included in a single 
assistance unit. Members of separate filing units who live together must be 
included in a single assistance unit when: 

A. one caretaker makes application for separate filing units; and 
B. two caretakers, who are currently married to each other, make appli­

cation for separate filing units. 
Subp. 4. Multiple assistance units. When there is more than one filing unit 

living together, eligibility for the assistance payment must be determined sepa­
rately for each filing unit except as provided in subpart 3. 

Subp. 5. Application of standards. The standards that apply to an assistance 
unit are set forth in items A to E. 

A. The children standard must be used for an assistance unit member 
who is a dependent child or who is a minor caretaker who lives with either parent. 
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B. The first adult standard must be used for the first eligible adult care­
taker and for the first eligible minor caretaker who is emancipated or who lives 
apart from both parents. 

C. The second adult standard must be used for an additional eligible par­
ent caretaker when one parent caretaker is eligible for the first adult standard. 

D. The special child standard must be used for an assistance unit that 
contains no adult because a parent or parents are excluded from an assistance 
unit either because of failure to cooperate with WIN under parts 9500.2724 and 
9500.2726, or because of failure to cooperate with child support enforcement 
under part 9500.2700, subpart 11. The special child standard must be used when­
ever the only adult or adults in the household receives supplemental security 
income or Minnesota supplemental aid or both. When an assistance unit includes 
more than one eligible child, the special child standard must be determined by 
substituting the first adult standard for the needs of the last eligible child in an 
assistance unit and combining that amount with the children standard for the 
remaining children. 

E. The special adult standard must be used for an assistance unit that 
contains only one adult and no dependent child when eligibility exists under part 
9500.2140, subpart 4. 

Subp. 6. AFDC family allowance table. The following table represents the 
standards in effect on July 1, 1986. 

Children Standard 

Number of Monthly 
Eligible Standard 
Children Of Need 

1 $250 
2 345 
3 434 
4 510 
5 586 
6 663 
7 729 
8 793 
9 848 
10 902 
over 10 add 53 per 

additional 
child 

Special 
Standard 
for one child 337 

Adult Standards 

Eligible 
Adults 

first adult standard 
second adult standard 

Special 
Standard 
for one adult 

Monthly 
Standard 
Of Need 

$187 
73 

250 

Subp. 7. Persons who may be caretakers. To be eligible to receive assistance, 
a dependent child must live with a person who is authorized to be a caretaker 
under this subpart. A caretaker's eligibility to be included in an assistance unit 
is subject to subparts 2 and 3, and other eligibility conditions in parts 9500.2140 
to 9500.2700. When parental rights to a child have been terminated, the termina­
tion must not prevent a person in items A to D, except a parent whose rights were 
specifically terminated, from being the child's caretaker. A person who may be 
a caretaker of a dependent child is: 

A. a relative of at least half-blood, including a first cousin, a nephew or 
niece, or a person of preceding generations who are identified by prefixes of 
grand, great, or great-great; 

B. a stepparent or stepsibling; 
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C. a relationship listed in items A and B when a person has been legally 
adopted; and 

D. a spouse of a person listed in items A to C or a former spouse of that 
person when marriage has ended by death or divorce. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.85J; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 

9500.2480 DETERMINATION OF AFDC ELIGIBILITY AND ASSISTANCE 
PAYMENT. 

A local agency must determine program eligibility prospectively for a pay­
ment month based on its best estimate of income and the circumstances which 
will exist in the payment month. Except as described in part 9500.2520, subparts 
1 and 2, when prospective eligibility exists, a local agency must calculate the 
amount of the assistance payment using retrospective budgeting. To determine 
program eligibility and the assistance payment amount, a local agency must apply 
gross earned income and unearned income, described in part 9500.2380, sub­
parts 4 to 11, received by members of an assistance unit or by other persons 
whose income is counted for the assistance unit, described under part 9500.2500, 
subpart 4. This income must be applied to the AFDC family allowance, described 
in part 9500.2440, subpart 6, subject to the provisions in parts 9500.2500 to 
9500.2620. Income received in a calendar month and not otherwise excluded 
under part 9500.2380, subpart 2, must be applied to the needs of an assistance 
unit. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212 

9500.2500 AFDC ELIGIBILITY TESTS. 
Subpart 1. Prospective eligibility. A local agency shall determine whether the 

eligibility requirements that pertain to an assistance unit, including those in parts 
9500.2140 to 9500.2380, will be met prospectively for the payment month. To 
prospectively assess income, a local agency shall estimate the amount of income 
an assistance unit expects to receive in the payment month and shall apply the 
gross income test in subpart 4 and the payment eligibility test in subpart 5. 

Subp. 2. When to terminate. When an assistance unit is prospectively ineligi­
ble for AFDC for at least two consecutive months, assistance must end. 

When an assistance unit is terminated prospectively for a payment month 
due to excess income, income received in the two budget months before termina­
tion must be reviewed. The local agency shall apply the payment eligibility test 
and the gross income test to determine whether there is an overpayment for one 
or both of these months. There is no overpayment any month both tests are met. 

When an assistance unit is prospectively ineligible for only one month and 
is prospectively eligible the following month, assistance must not end. The 
income for the single month in which prospective ineligibility exists must be 
applied retrospectively as described in part 9500.2520, subpart 3 resulting in sus­
pension for the corresponding payment month. 

Subp. 3. Retrospective eligibility. After the first two months of program eligi­
bility, a local agency must determine whether an assistance unit is prospectively 
eligible for the payment month and then determine whether the assistance unit 
is retrospectively eligible by applying the gross income test and the payment eligi­
bility test to the income from the budget month. When either the gross income 
test or the payment eligibility test is not satisfied, assistance must be suspended 
when ineligibility exists for one month or ended when ineligibility exists for more 
than one month. 

Subp. 4. Gross income test. A local agency shall apply a gross income test 
both prospectively and retrospectively for each month of program eligibility. An 
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assistance unit is not eligible when income equals or exceeds 185 percent of the 
AFDC family allowance for the assistance unit. The income applied against the 
gross income test must include the income of a parent in the filing unit even when 
that parent is not included in the assistance unit. It must include the earned and 
unearned income of an eligible relative who seeks to be included in the assistance 
unit. It must include the unearned income of a dependent child who seeks to be 
included in the assistance unit. It must include the gross earned income of a 
dependent child in the assistance unit who is not a full-time student and whose 
income is from a source other than the Job Training Partnership Act. It must also 
include the earned or unearned income of a dependent child who is a member 
of the filing unit but is excluded from the assistance unit because of failure to reg­
ister or cooperate with WIN. The income in items A to G must be considered in 
the gross income test: 

A. Gross earned income from employment, prior to mandatory payroll 
deductions, voluntary payroll deductions, wage authorizations, the disregards in 
part 9500.2580, and the allocations in part 9500.2600, unless the employment 
income is specifically excluded under part 9500.2380, subpart 2. 

B. Gross earned income from self-employment less deductions for self-
employment expenses in part 9500.2380, subpart 6 but prior to any reductions 
for personal or business state and federal income taxes, personal FICA, personal 
health and life insurance, the disregards in part 9500.2580, and the allocations 
in part 9500.2600. 

C. Unearned income after deductions for allowable expenses in part 
9500.2380, subpart 10, but prior to the allocations in part 9500.2600, unless the 
income has been specifically excluded in part 9500.2380, subpart 2. 

D. Gross earned income from employment as determined under item 
A which is received through the Job Training Partnership Act by a member of 
an assistance unit who is a dependent child after the child has received both Job 
Training Partnership Act earnings and assistance for six payment months in the 
same calendar year. 

E. Gross earned income from employment as determined under item A 
which is received through employment other than the Job Training Partnership 
Act by a member of an assistance unit who is a dependent child and a full-time 
student after the child has received both those earnings and assistance for six pay­
ment months in the same calendar year. 

F. Child support and spousal support received or anticipated to be 
received by an assistance unit less the first $50 of current child support. 

G. Income as determined under items A to C of a stepparent, a parent 
of a minor caretaker, and a legal guardian of a minor caretaker who lives in the 
household and is not in the assistance unit. Subitems (1) to (6) must be deducted 
from this income: 

(1) child or spousal support paid to a person who lives outside of 
the household; 

(2) payments to meet the need of another person who lives outside 
of the household and who is or could be claimed as a dependent for federal per­
sonal income tax liability; 

(3) $75 for work expenses; 
(4) an amount for the needs of one parent or legal guardian of a 

minor caretaker or a stepparent at the first adult standard; 
(5) an amount for the needs of the second parent or legal guardian 

of a minor caretaker at the second adult standard; and 
(6) an amount for the needs of other persons who live in the house­

hold but are not included in the assistance unit and are or could be claimed by 
a parent of a minor caretaker, legal guardian of a minor caretaker, or stepparent 
as dependents for determining federal personal income tax liability. This amount 
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must equal the AFDC family allowance for a family group of the same composi­
tion as the dependent persons described in this subitem. 

Subp. 5. Payment eligibility test. When an assistance unit satisfies the gross 
income test, a local agency shall apply the payment eligibility test prospectively 
and retrospectively for each month of program eligibility to determine whether 
the assistance unit is eligible to receive assistance. The income described in sub­
part 4 must be used to determine payment eligibility except that: 

A. earned income of a dependent child who is a part- or full-time student 
must be excluded; 

B. disregards in part 9500.2580 must be deducted from earned income; 
and 

C. allocations in part 9500.2600 must be deducted from earned income 
after the deductions in item B are deducted, and from unearned income of a 
member of the assistance unit who has financial responsibility for an ineligible 
member of the household in part 9500.2600. 

Income that remains after making the adjustments described in items A, B, 
and C is considered the net income of the assistance unit and must be applied 
dollar for dollar against the AFDC family allowance to determine payment eligi­
bility. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 

9500.2520 CALCULATING PAYMENTS. 
Subpart 1. Prospective budgeting. A local agency shall use prospective bud­

geting to calculate the assistance payment amount for the first two months for an 
applicant who has not received assistance in Minnesota for at least one payment 
month preceding the first month of payment under a current application. 

Subp. 2. Limitations on prospective budgeting. The requirements of subpart 
1 are subject to items A to E. 

A. Income received or anticipated in the first month of program eligibil­
ity must be applied against the need of the first month. Income received or antici­
pated in the second month must be applied against the need of the second month. 

B. When assistance payment for any part of the first two months is based 
on anticipated income, an initial assistance payment amount must be determined 
based on information available at the time the initial assistance payment is made. 
When the amount of actual net income is different than the anticipated net 
income budgeted to determine the assistance payment for the first two months, 
the assistance unit is liable for an overpayment or is eligible for a corrective pay­
ment for the difference between anticipated and actual net income for those two 
months. 

C. The assistance payment for the first two months of program eligibility 
must be determined by budgeting both recurring and nonrecurring income for 
those two months. 

D. Child support income received or anticipated to be received by an 
assistance unit must be budgeted to determine the assistance payment amount 
from the month of application through the month in which program eligibility 
is determined and assistance is authorized. Child support income which has been 
budgeted to determine the assistance payment in the initial two months is consid­
ered nonrecurring income. An assistance unit shall forward the payment of child 
support to the child support enforcement unit of the local agency for the months 
which follow the month in which assistance is authorized. 

E. An assistance unit who has had assistance suspended for a month as 
provided by part 9500.2500, subpart 2, and who has experienced a recurring 
change of at least $50 in net income, exclusive of the disregards in part 
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9500.2580, items C and D, in the month preceding the month of suspension or 
in the month of suspension shall have the assistance payment amount deter­
mined prospectively according to items A to D and subpart 1. 

Subp. 3. Retrospective budgeting. Retrospective budgeting must be used to 
calculate the monthly assistance payment amount after the payment for the first 
two months has been made under the provisions of subparts 1 and 2. 

Subp. 4. Limitations on retrospective budgeting. The requirements of subpart 
3 are subject to the limitations of items A and B. 

A. Retrospective budgeting is used to determine the amount of the assis­
tance payment in the first two months of program eligibility in the situations 
described in subitems (1) and (2): 

(1) When an assistance unit applies for AFDC for the same month 
for which assistance has been terminated, the interruption in eligibility is less 
than one payment month, the assistance payment for the preceding month was 
issued in Minnesota, and the assistance payment for the immediately preceding 
month was determined retrospectively. 

(2) When a person applies to be added to an assistance unit, that 
assistance unit has received assistance in Minnesota for at least the two preceding 
months, and that person has been living with and has been financially responsible 
for one or more members of that assistance unit for at least the two preceding 
months. 

B. Income received in the budget month by an assistance unit and by 
a financially responsible household member who is not included in the assistance 
unit must be applied against the AFDC family allowance to determine the assis­
tance payment to be issued for the payment month, except as provided in sub-
items (1) to (4). 

(1) When a source of income ends prior to the third payment 
month, that income is not considered in calculating the assistance payment for 
that month. When a source of income ends prior to the fourth payment month, 
that income is not considered when determining the assistance payment for that 
month. 

(2) When a member of an assistance unit or a financially responsible 
household member leaves the household of the assistance unit, the income of that 
departed household member is not budgeted retrospectively for any full payment 
month in which that household member does not live with that household and 
is not included in the assistance unit. 

(3) When a child is removed from an assistance unit because he or 
she is no longer a dependent child, the income of that child is not budgeted retro­
spectively for payment months in which that child is not a member of the assis­
tance unit, except that income of an ineligible child in the household must 
continue to be budgeted retrospectively against his or her own needs when the 
parent or parents of that child request allocation of their income against any 
unmet needs of that ineligible child. 

(4) When a person ceases to have financial responsibility for one or 
more members of an assistance unit, the income of that person is not budgeted 
retrospectively for the payment months which follow the month in which finan­
cial responsibility ends. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212 

9500.2560 LUMP SUM PAYMENTS. 
Subpart 1. Budgeting lump sum payments. When a recipient receives a lump 

sum payment, that lump sum must be combined with all other earned and 
unearned income received in the same budget month, and it must be applied 
according to items A to E. 
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A. A lump sum received during the first two months prospective budget­
ing is used to determine payment must be combined with other earned or 
unearned income received in that month and budgeted in the payment month 
in which it is received. 

B. A lump sum received after the first two months of program eligibility 
must be combined with other income received in that budget month, and the 
combined amount must be applied retrospectively against the applicable pay­
ment month. 

C. When a lump sum, combined with other income according to items 
A and B, is less than the AFDC family allowance for the applicable payment 
month, the assistance payment is reduced according to the amount of the com­
bined net income. When the combined income is greater than the AFDC family 
allowance, the combined income must be divided by the AFDC family allowance 
for the payment month to determine the period over which the lump sum must 
be budgeted. 

(1) When the combined income is greater than the AFDC family 
allowance for one month and less than the AFDC family allowance for two 
months, eligibility does not exist in the month the lump sum is received under 
item A and assistance must be suspended in the first payment month under item 
B. The excess, and other income which must be budgeted in the month following 
the month of ineligibility or suspension, must be deducted from the AFDC family 
allowance for the second payment month. 

(2) When the combined income is equal to or greater than the 
AFDC family allowance for two or more months, each member of the assistance 
unit, at the time the lump sum payment was received, shall be ineligible for the 
determined number of months beginning with the first payment month in which 
the lump sum is budgeted. 

D. When a lump sum is received by an assistance unit or member of an 
assistance unit in a state other than Minnesota, the period of ineligibility deter­
mined by another state does not apply. 

E. When a member of an ineligible assistance unit under item C, sub-
item (2), applies for AFDC for a child who was not a member of the ineligible 
assistance unit in the budget month in which the lump sum was received, pro­
gram eligibility may exist for that child as an assistance unit, and only the current 
income and resources of a financially responsible household member must be 
considered to determine eligibility and the amount of the assistance payment for 
that child. 

Subp. 2. Reducing the period of ineligibility. When an assistance unit is deter­
mined ineligible under subpart 1, item C, and reapplies for AFDC before the 
period of ineligibility ends, a local agency shall redetermine the period of ineligi­
bility after the first payment month by deducting items A to E from the combined 
income for the initial month in which the lump sum was received: 

A. The amount of verified medical payments paid by the assistance unit 
during the period of ineligibility that, if eligibility for medical assistance had 
existed, would have been covered by medical assistance. 

B. The amount the AFDC family allowance increased during the period 
of ineligibility. 

C. The amount paid by the assistance unit during the period of ineligibil­
ity to cover a cost that would otherwise qualify for emergency assistance under 
part 9500.2820. 

D. An amount documented as stolen. 
E. An amount that is unavailable because a member of the assistance 

unit left the household with that amount and has not returned. The month in 
which that person returns, and any subsequent months, are months of ineligibil­
ity according to the period determined in subpart 1, item C. 
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Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212 

9500.2580 EMPLOYMENT DISREGARDS. 
A local agency shall deduct the disregards in items A to D from gross earned 

income as defined in part 9500.2380: 
A. A $90 work expense, whether employment is part- or full-time must 

be deducted from the gross earned income of each employed member of an assis­
tance unit, except that sanctioned persons who are not allowed allocations under 
part 9500.2600, item C must not receive this disregard. A $75 work expense shall 
be deducted for those financially responsible persons under part 9500.2500, sub­
part 4, item G, subitem (3), prior to the payment eligibility test under part 
9500.2500, subpart 5, and must not be deducted a second time under part 
9500.2500, subpart 5, item B. 

B. A monthly deduction for costs for care of a dependent child or an 
adult dependent who is in the assistance unit. These costs must be documented 
according to part 9500.2420, subpart 4, item B, subitem (6). This disregard must 
only be deducted from the gross income of a member of an assistance unit or an 
ineligible parent, except that sanctioned persons who are not allowed allocations 
under part 9500.2600, item C must not receive this disregard. The deduction 
must not exceed $175 for each dependent age two or older or $200 for each 
dependent under the age of two when employment equals or exceeds 30 hours 
per week. The deduction must not exceed $ 174 for each dependent age two or 
older or $ 199 for each dependent under the age of two when employment is less 
than 30 hours per week. A deduction for dependent care costs is not allowed when 
the care is provided by a member of an assistance unit, by a parent of a dependent 
child, or by a spouse of a caretaker of a dependent child. The deduction under 
this item shall be taken after the deductions in items A, C, and D. 

C. A deduction for a $30 and one-third work incentive disregard. This 
disregard must be deducted for each employed member of an assistance unit. The 
first $30 must be applied against the balance of gross earned income after deduc­
tions for the work expense have been allowed. A deduction of one-third of the 
balance must also be applied after allowing the $30 deduction. This disregard is 
limited by subitems (1) to (6). 

(1) The disregard must not be deducted from the income of an 
applicant in the initial month when applying the payment eligibility test in part 
9500.2500, subpart 5, except that an applicant who has received assistance in 
Minnesota within four months of the most recent application and who retains eli­
gibility for this disregard from the prior period of eligibility under subitems (2) 
to (6) shall be eligible for this disregard when determining payment eligibility. 
When an applicant satisfies the payment eligibility test in the first month, this dis­
regard must be used to calculate the assistance payment amount for that month 
when the applicant is otherwise eligible to receive it. 

(2) Eligibility for this disregard is limited to the four payment 
months in subitems (3) to (6) and cannot be deducted again from the income of 
that member of the assistance unit until he or she has not been a recipient in Min­
nesota for a period of at least 12 consecutive payment months. 

(3) The four months of eligibility for this disregard are only those 
payment months in which any part of the $30 and one-third work incentive is 
applied against income. When the four months of eligibility for this disregard are 
interrupted for at least one payment month before the period of eligibility is com­
pleted, eligibility for the entire four months must be reestablished, with the next 
subsequent month of its use considered to be the first month, except as otherwise 
noted in subitems (4) to (6). 

(4) When this disregard is not applied because income from a recur­
ring source results in suspension of an assistance payment, that month must not 
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be counted as a month of the four-month period, but this interruption does not 
establish eligibility for a new four-month period. 

(5) When employment is ended, reduced, or refused without good 
cause according to part 9500.2700, subpart 19, a person shall not be eligible for 
any of the employment disregards under items A to D in the first month following 
the month in which that employment is ended, reduced, or refused. The month 
in which those disregards are disallowed must be counted as one of the four con­
secutive months in the period of eligibility for this disregard and the remaining 
months of eligibility must be counted in the consecutive months which immedi­
ately follow, regardless of loss of eligibility or change in employment status. 

(6) When a recipient loses all disregards under this part due to late 
reporting, according to part 9500.2700, subpart 5, item A, the month in which 
those disregards are disallowed must be considered as one of the four consecutive 
months in the period of eligibility for this disregard. 

D. A deduction for a $30 work incentive disregard. This disregard 
applies for a period of eight months to members of an assistance unit who have 
completed the four-month period of eligibility for the $30 and one-third work 
incentive disregard. This disregard is allowed beginning with the first month fol­
lowing the fourth month of eligibility for the $30 and one-third work incentive 
disregard and must be counted in consecutive months regardless of the loss of eli­
gibility or change in employment status. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 

9500.2600 ALLOCATION FOR UNMET NEED OF OTHER HOUSEHOLD 
MEMBERS. 

An allocation of income must be allowed to meet the unmet need of an ineli­
gible spouse or an ineligible child under the age of 21 for whom the caretaker is 
financially responsible who also lives with the caretaker. An allocation must be 
made from the caretaker's income to meet the need of an ineligible or excluded 
spouse up to the amount allowed in the second adult standard. An allocation 
must be made from the caretaker's income to meet the need of an ineligible or 
excluded child. That allocation must be made in an amount up to the difference 
between the payment standard allowed for the assistance unit and the payment 
standard allowed when that excluded or ineligible child is included in the assis­
tance unit. These allocations must be deducted from the caretaker's net earned 
income after the deductions under part 9500.2580 have been made and from 
unearned income subject to items A to C. 

A. Income of a dependent child in the assistance unit must not be allo­
cated to meet the need of a person who is not a member of the assistance unit, 
including the child's parent, even when that parent is the payee of the child's 
income. 

B. Income of an assistance unit must not be allocated to meet the need 
of a member of the household who elects to receive general assistance. 

C. Income of an assistance unit must not be allocated to meet the need 
of a person sanctioned for failure to cooperate with child support requirements 
under part 9500.2700, subpart 11, a person required to register with WIN under 
part 9500.2700, subpart 15, or a person sanctioned for failure to cooperate with 
WIN under part 9500.2700, subpart 18. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: / / SR 212 

9500.2620 AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE PAYMENT. 
The amount of an assistance payment must be equal to the difference 

between the AFDC family allowance described in part 9500.2440, subpart 6 and 
net income, except for items A to F. 
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A. When program eligibility exists for the month of application, the 
amount of the assistance payment for the month of application must be prorated 
from the date of application or the date all other eligibility factors are met for that 
applicant, whichever is later. This provision must apply when an applicant loses 
at least one day of program eligibility. 

B. When the difference between net income and the AFDC family allow­
ance in a payment month is less than $10, an assistance payment must not be 
issued, but that month must be considered a month of program eligibility. 

C. Overpayments to an assistance unit identified by a local agency or by 
a court order prior to October 1, 1981, must be recouped by deducting an amount 
from the assistance payment. This amount must be equal to one-half of the work 
incentive disregards described in part 9500.2580, items C and D for each pay­
ment month a member of the assistance unit is eligible for those disregards. 

D. Overpayments to an assistance unit identified by a local agency on 
or after October 1, 1981, must be recouped according to part 9500.2640, subpart 
4. 

E. When recoupment reduces the assistance payment, as in items C and 
D, and the subsequent level of payment is less than $10, the assistance payment 
must be made, and the limitations in item B must not apply. 

F. An initial assistance payment must not be made to an applicant who 
is not eligible on the date payment is made. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212 

9500.2640 CORRECTION OF OVERPAYMENTS AND UNDERPAY­
MENTS. 

Subpart 1. Scope of overpayment. When a current or former recipient receives 
an overpayment, the overpayment must be recouped or recovered under the con­
ditions of this part even when the overpayment is due to agency error or to other 
circumstances outside the person's responsibility or control. 

Subp. 2. Notice of overpayment. When a local agency discovers that a person 
has received an overpayment for one or more months, the local agency shall 
notify that person of the overpayment in writing. A notice of overpayment must 
specify the reason for the overpayment, the authority for citing the overpayment, 
the time period in which the overpayment occurred, the amount of the overpay­
ment, and the person's right to appeal. No limit applies to the period in which 
the local agency is required to recoup or recover the overpayment. A local agency 
shall recoup or recover an overpayment according to the provisions of subparts 
3 and 4. 

Subp. 3. Recovering overpayments from former recipient. A local agency shall 
initiate efforts to recover overpayments paid to a person no longer on assistance. 
A person who is a member of an assistance unit at the time an overpayment 
occurs is jointly and individually liable for its repayment. The local agency shall 
request repayment from each former member of the assistance unit who is 18 
years of age or older at the time eligibility for assistance ends. When an agreement 
for repayment is not completed within six months or when there is a default on 
an agreement for repayment after six months, the local agency shall initiate 
recovery under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 270A or section 541.05. When a per­
son has been convicted of fraud under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.98, recov­
ery must be sought regardless of the amount of overpayment. When an 
overpayment balance is less than $35, and is not the result of a fraud conviction 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.98, the local agency shall not seek recov­
ery under this subpart. The local agency shall retain information about all over­
payments regardless of the amount. When a member of that assistance unit 
reapplies for assistance, the remaining balance must be recouped under subpart 
4. 
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Subp. 4. Recouping overpayments from current recipient. An overpayment 
may be repaid voluntarily, in part or in full, even if assistance is reduced under 
this subpart, until the total amount of the overpayment is repaid. When an assis­
tance unit is currently eligible for assistance, the local agency shall recoup an 
overpayment by reducing one or more monthly assistance payments until the 
overpayment is repaid. To determine the amount of repayment to deduct from 
the monthly assistance payment, the local agency shall estimate the amount of 
income the assistance unit is expected to receive for the month of the assistance 
payment and deduct anticipated work expenses according to subpart 5. Once the 
net income is determined, the local agency shall determine the amount of the 
repayment for that month. When an overpayment occurs due to client error, the 
local agency shall reduce the assistance payment to an amount which, when 
added to the anticipated net income, equals 95 percent of the AFDC family 
allowance. When an overpayment occurs due to agency error, or a combination 
of client and agency error, the local agency shall reduce the assistance payment 
to an amount which, when added to the anticipated net income, equals 99 percent 
of the AFDC family allowance. Once a state computerized client eligibility and 
information system is implemented in one or more counties, all local agencies 
shall reduce the assistance payment by three percent of the assistance unit's 
AFDC family allowance or the amount of the monthly payment, whichever is 
less, for all overpayments including those due solely to agency error. A local 
agency shall adjust the amount of recoupment when an assistance unit docu­
ments prior to the last day of the month that actual income is less than the esti­
mated income. 

Subp. 5. Determining net income. A local agency shall determine net income 
for purposes of recoupment by deducting: 

A. the first $90 of earned income and, for self-employed persons, the 
expenses directly related to and necessary for the production of goods and ser­
vices; and 

B. an amount equal to the actual expenditures for the care of each depen­
dent child or incapacitated person living in the same household and receiving aid, 
except that the amount deducted shall not exceed the maximums in part 
9500.2580 for persons not engaged in full-time employment. 

Subp. 6. Scope of underpayments. A local agency shall issue a corrective pay­
ment for underpayments identified after September 30, 1981, made to a current 
recipient or to a person who would be a current recipient if an agency or client 
error causing the underpayment had not occurred. Issuance of corrective pay­
ments must occur according to the provisions of subparts 7 and 8. 

Subp. 7. Identifying the underpayment. An underpayment may be identified 
by a local agency, by a current recipient, by a former recipient, or by a person 
who would be a recipient except for agency or client error. 

Subp. 8. Issuing corrective payments. A local agency must correct an under­
payment within seven calendar days after the underpayment has been identified, 
by adding the corrective payment amount to the monthly assistance payment or 
by issuing a separate payment to a current recipient, or by reducing an existing 
overpayment balance. When an underpayment occurs in a payment month and 
is not identified until the next payment month or later, that underpayment must 
first be subtracted from any overpayment balance before issuing the corrective 
payment. An underpayment for a current payment month must not be applied 
against an overpayment balance and payment must be issued within seven calen­
dar days after the underpayment is identified. 

Subp. 9. Appeals. A person may appeal an underpayment, an overpayment, 
and the amount by which an assistance payment will be reduced to recoup the 
overpayment under part 9500.2740, subpart 8. Appeal of each issue must be 
timely under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045. When an appeal based on the 
notice issued under subpart 2 is not timely, the fact or the amount of that over-
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payment must not be considered as a part of a later appeal, including an appeal 
of a reduction of an assistance payment to recoup that overpayment. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 

9500.2680 PAYMENT PROVISIONS. 
Subpart 1. Payments. This subpart applies to monthly assistance payments 

and corrective payments. 
A. A local agency shall mail assistance payment checks to the address 

where a caretaker lives unless the local agency approves an alternate arrange­
ment. 

B. A local agency shall mail monthly assistance payment checks within 
time to allow postal service delivery to occur no later than the first day of each 
month. Monthly assistance payment checks must be dated the first day of the 
month. 

C. A local agency shall issue replacement checks promptly, but no later 
than seven calendar days after the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 
471.415 have been met. 

D. A local agency that makes payments by means other than check must 
also comply with the time limits in items B and C when issuing payments. 

Subp. 2. Protective, vendor, and two-party payments; when allowed. Alterna­
tives to paying assistance directly to a recipient may be used only: 

A. When the needs of a caretaker are not included in the assistance unit's 
assistance payment because the caretaker is under sanction for noncooperation 
with WIN under part 9500.2700, subpart 18. In this case, the assistance payment 
must be issued by protective or vendor payment in accordance with the Code of 
Federal Regulations, title 45, sections 224.51(b)(1) and 234.60(a)(12). 

B. When the needs of a caretaker are not included in the assistance unit's 
assistance payment because the caretaker has failed or refused to cooperate with 
child support enforcement according to part 9500.2700, subpart 11. In this case, 
the assistance payment must be issued by protective or vendor payment in accor­
dance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 234.60(a)(13). 

C. When a local agency determines that a vendor or two-party payment 
is the most effective way to resolve an emergency situation under part 9500.2820. 

D. When a caretaker makes a written request asking that the local agency 
issue part or all of the assistance payment by protective, vendor, or two-party 
payments. The caretaker may withdraw this request in writing at any time. 

E. When a caretaker has exhibited a continuing pattern of mismanaging 
funds under the conditions specified in Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, sec­
tion 234.60(a)(2). 

(1) The director of a local agency must approve a proposal for pro­
tective, vendor, or two-party payment for money mismanagement. During the 
time a protective, vendor, or two-party payment is being made, the local agency 
shall provide services designed to alleviate the causes of the mismanagement in 
accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 234.60(a)(8). 

(2) The continuing need for and method of payment must be docu­
mented and reviewed every 12 months. The director of a local agency must 
approve the continuation of protective, vendor, or two-party payment. 

(3) When it appears that the need for protective, vendor, or two-
party payments will continue or is likely to continue beyond two years because 
the local agency's efforts have not resulted in sufficiently improved use of assis­
tance in behalf of the child, judicial appointment of a legal guardian or other legal 
representative must be sought by the local agency. 

Subp. 3. Choosing payees for protective, vendor, and two-party payments. A 
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local agency shall consult with a caretaker regarding the selection of the form of 
payment, the selection of a protective payee, and the distribution of the assis­
tance payment to meet the various costs incurred by the assistance unit. When 
choosing a protective payee, the local agency shall notify the caretaker of a con­
sultation date. If the caretaker fails to respond to the local agency's request for 
consultation by the effective date on the notice, the local agency shall choose a 
protective payee for that payment month and subsequent payment months until 
the caretaker responds to the agency's request for consultation. The local agency 
shall notify the caretaker of the right to appeal the determination that a protec­
tive, vendor, or two-party payment should be made or continued and to appeal 
the selection of the payee. 

When a local agency is not able to find another protective payee, a local 
agency staff member may serve as a protective payee. A person who is not to serve 
as protective payee is: a member of the county board of commissioners; the local 
agency staff member determining financial eligibility for the family; special inves­
tigative or resource staff; the staff member handling accounting fiscal processes 
related to the recipient; or a landlord, grocer, or other vendor dealing directly 
with the recipient. 

Subp. 4. Discontinuing protective, vendor, and two-party payments. A local 
agency shall discontinue protective, vendor, or two-party payments in the month 
following compliance with the employment search or employment requirements 
under part 9500.2728; in the month following cooperation with the child support 
enforcement unit under part 9500.2700, subpart 10; and in two years or in the 
month following the local agency's failure to grant six-month approval to a 
money management plan, whichever occurs first. At least once every 12 months, 
a local agency shall review the performance of a protective payee acting under 
subpart 2, items A, B, and E to determine whether a new payee should be selected. 
When a recipient complains about the performance of a protective payee, a 
review must occur within 30 days. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 

9500.2700 APPLICANT AND RECIPIENT RESPONSIBILITIES. 
Subpart 1. Applicant reporting requirements. An applicant shall provide 

information on an application form and supplemental forms about his or her cir­
cumstances which affect program eligibility or the assistance payment. An appli­
cant shall report any changes in those circumstances under subpart 7 while the 
application is pending. When an applicant does not accurately report informa­
tion on an application, both an overpayment and a referral for a fraud investiga­
tion under part 9500.2780, subpart 2 may result. When an applicant does not 
provide information or documentation, the receipt *of the assistance payment 
may be delayed or the application may be denied depending on the type of infor­
mation required and its effect on eligibility. 

Subp. 2. Requirement to apply for other benefits. An applicant or recipient 
shall apply for benefits from other programs for which they are potentially eligible 
and which would, if received, offset assistance payments. Failure without good 
cause to complete application for these benefits must result in denial or termina­
tion of assistance. Good cause for failure to apply for these benefits is allowed 
when circumstances beyond the control of the applicant or recipient prevent him 
or her from making application. 

Subp. 3. Responsibility to inquire. An applicant or recipient who does not 
know or is unsure whether a given change in circumstances will affect his or her 
program eligibility or assistance payment shall contact the local agency for infor­
mation. 

Subp. 4. Recipient's redetermination of eligibility form. A recipient shall com­
plete forms prescribed by the commissioner which are required for redetermina­
tion of eligibility according to part 9500.2420, subpart 5. 
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Subp. 5. Household reports. Each assistance unit with a member who has 
earned income or a recent work history, and each assistance unit that has income 
allocated to it from a financially responsible person living with that unit who has 
earned income or a recent work history, shall complete a monthly household 
report form. "Recent work history" means the individual received earned income 
in any one of the three calendar months preceding the current payment month. 
Monthly reports must also be completed by each assistance unit in a category that 
has a greater proportion of the state's total program errors than that category's 
proportion of the state's total program caseload, as identified through the quality 
control review process, and when monthly reporting is expected to reduce the 
error rate for that category. To be complete, a household report form must be 
signed and dated by a caretaker no earlier than the last day of the reporting 
period; all questions required to determine assistance payment eligibility must 
be answered, and documentation of earned income must be included. A recipient 
shall submit the household report form in time for the local agency to receive it 
by the eighth calendar day of the month following the reporting period covered 
by the form. When the eighth calendar day of the month falls on a weekend or 
holiday, a recipient must submit the household report form in time for the local 
agency to receive it by the first working day that follows the eighth calendar day. 
Delays in submitting the completed household report form may delay an assis­
tance payment in the month following the month in which the form is due. When 
the household report form is late without good cause, except as qualified in sub­
part 6, item C, the recipient is subject to the following penalty: 

When a completed household report form is received by a local agency after 
the last day of the month following the month in which the form is due, and when 
the delayed household report form reports earned income, an assistance unit shall 
lose the earned income disregards under part 9500.2580 for the payment month 
corresponding to the last month covered by the household report form. 

Subp. 6. Late household report forms. Items A to C apply to the requirements 
in subpart 5. 

A. When a recipient submits an incomplete household report form 
before the last working day of the month on which a ten-day notice of termination 
of assistance can be issued for failure to provide a complete household report 
form, the local agency shall return the incomplete form on or before the ten-day 
notice deadline or any ten-day notice of termination which is issued due to the 
incomplete household report form must be invalid. 

B. When a complete household report form is not received by a local 
agency before the last ten days of the month in which the form is due, the local 
agency shall send notice of proposed termination of assistance. When a recipient 
submits an incomplete form on or after the date the notice of proposed termina­
tion has been sent, the termination is valid unless the recipient submits a com­
plete form before the end of the month. However, an assistance unit required to 
submit a household report form is considered to have continued its application 
for assistance effective the date the required report is received by the local agency 
if a complete household report form is received within a calendar month after 
the month in which assistance was received, except that no assistance shall be 
paid for the period beginning with the first day of the month in which the report 
was due and ending with the date the report was received by the local agency. 

C. A local agency shall allow good cause exemptions from the penalty 
under subpart 5 when the factors in subitems (1) to (5), singly, or in combination, 
cause a recipient to fail to provide the local agency with a completed household 
report form before the end of the month in which the form is due. 

(1) an employer delays completion of employment verification; 
(2) a local agency does not help a recipient complete the household 

report form when the recipient asks for help; 
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(3) a recipient does not receive a household report form due to mis­
take on the part of the department or the local agency or due to a reported change 
in address; 

(4) a recipient is ill, or physically or mentally incapacitated; or 
(5) some other circumstance occurs that a recipient could not avoid 

with reasonable care which prevents the recipient from providing a completed 
household report form before the end of the month in which the form is due. 

Subp. 7. Changes which must be reported. A recipient shall report the changes 
or anticipated changes specified in items A to M within ten days of the date they 
occur, within ten days of the date the recipient learns that the change will occur, 
at the time of the periodic redetermination of eligibility under part 9500.2420, 
subpart 5, or within eight calendar days of a reporting period as in subpart 5, 
whichever occurs first. A recipient shall report other changes at the time of the 
periodic redetermination of eligibility under part 9500.2420, subpart 5 or at the 
end of a reporting period under subpart 5 as applicable. A recipient shall make 
these reports in writing or in person to the local agency. When a local agency 
could have reduced or terminated assistance for one or more payment months • 
if a delay in reporting a change specified under items A to M had not occurred, 
the local agency shall determine whether a timely notice under part 9500.2740, 
subpart 7 could have been issued on the day that the change occurred. When a 
timely notice could have been issued, each month's overpayment subsequent to 
that notice must be considered a client error overpayment under part 9500.2640. 
Changes in circumstances which must be reported within ten days must also be 
reported on the household report form for the reporting period in which those 
changes occurred. Within ten days, a recipient must report changes in: 

A. initial employment; 
B. the initial receipt of unearned income; 
C. a recurring change of more than $50 per month of net earned or 

unearned income; 
D. the receipt of a lump sum; 
E. an increase in resources which may cause the assistance unit to exceed 

AFDC resource limits; 
F. a change in the physical or mental status of an incapacitated parent; 
G. a change in the employment status of an unemployed parent; 
H. a change in the status of an absent parent, change in the household 

composition, including departures from and returns to the home of assistance 
unit members and financially responsible persons, or a change in the custody of 
a dependent child; 

I. the marriage or divorce of an assistance unit member; 
J. the death of a parent or a dependent child; 
K. a change in address or living quarters of the assistance unit; 
L. the sale, purchase, or other transfer of property; and 
M. a change in school attendance of a dependent child over 15 years of 

age or an adult member of an assistance unit. 
Subp. 8. Requirement to cooperate with quality control review. To receive 

assistance, a recipient shall cooperate with the department's quality control 
review process by providing information that will verify program and assistance 
payment eligibility upon the request of the department or the local agency. 

A. Cooperation in the quality control review process includes both par­
ticipating in a personal interview with a quality control staff person at a mutually 
acceptable time and location and assisting the quality control staff person to get 
the verifications necessary to establish program and assistance payment eligibil­
ity for the month of the redetermination of eligibility when those verifications do 
not duplicate what already exists in the local agency case record and when getting 
them does not cause the recipient to incur an expense. 
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B. When a recipient does not cooperate with the quality control review 
process and does not have good cause for not cooperating, a local agency must 
end assistance. The assistance unit shall remain ineligible until they cooperate 
with the quality control review process or until the last day of the annual period 
for reporting quality control cases to the federal government, whichever occurs 
first. A recipient shall have good cause under this subpart only when he or she 
does not cooperate because of mental or physical disability or illness of such 
severity and duration that he or she cannot participate within the period that is 
allotted to complete the quality control review process. 

Subp. 9. Requirement to provide social security numbers. To receive assis­
tance, each member of the assistance unit shall provide his or her social security 
number to the local agency. When a social security number is not provided to the 
local agency for verification, this requirement is satisfied when each member of 
the assistance unit cooperates with the procedures for verification of numbers, 
issuance of duplicate cards, and issuance of new numbers which have been estab­
lished jointly between the Social Security Administration and the commissioner. 

Subp. 10. Cooperation with child support enforcement. When the basis of pro­
gram eligibility for a dependent child is continued absence under part 9500.2260, 
the caretaker of that child shall cooperate with the efforts of the local agency to 
collect child and spousal support. 

A. A caretaker shall assign the right to collect past due, current, and 
future support to the local agency. Signing an application form satisfies this 
requirement under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.74, subdivision 5. The 
assignment of support ends with the last day of the last month in which a depen­
dent child receives assistance. When assistance ends, a local agency has the right 
to any unpaid support for the period in which assistance was received. 

B. A caretaker shall provide information known to them about an absent 
parent and requested by either the AFDC unit or the child support enforcement 
unit, which is required to establish paternity or secure support for the dependent 
child, unless the caretaker has good cause for refusing to cooperate under subpart 
12. 

C. When the paternity of a dependent child is not established under law, 
a caretaker shall cooperate with the child support enforcement unit to determine 
and establish the child's paternity unless the caretaker has good cause for nonco-
operation under subpart 12. 

D. A caretaker shall forward to the local agency all support he or she 
receives during the period the assignment of support is in effect according to item 
A. Support received by a caretaker, and not forwarded to the local agency, must 
be repaid to the child support enforcement unit for any month following the 
month in which initial eligibility is determined, except as provided under subpart 
11, item B, subitem (3). 

Subp. 11. Refusal to cooperate with support requirements. Failure by a care­
taker to satisfy any of the requirements of subpart 10 constitutes refusal to coop­
erate, and the sanctions under item B apply. 

A. The AFDC unit of a local agency shall determine whether a caretaker 
has refused to cooperate within the meaning of subpart 10. Before making this 
determination, the AFDC unit shall: 

(1) allow the child support enforcement unit to review and com­
ment on the findings and basis for the proposed determination of noncoopera-
tion; 

(2) consider any recommendations from the child support enforce­
ment unit; and 

(3) allow the child support enforcement unit to appear at a hearing 
under part 9500.2740, subparts 8 to 10, which results from an appeal of a local 
agency action involving cooperation with child support enforcement under sub­
part 10. 
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B. Determinations of refusal to cooperate shall have the following 
effects. 

(1) A parent caretaker who refuses to cooperate must not be 
included in an assistance unit. Payments for the remaining members of the assis­
tance unit are subject to the conditions of part 9500.2680, subpart 2, item B. 

(2) A caretaker who is not a parent of a dependent child in an assis­
tance unit may choose to remove that child from the assistance unit or to have 
his or her own needs removed from the assistance unit, unless otherwise required 
by federal or state law. When a caretaker chooses to remove his or her own needs, 
assistance payments for the remaining members of the assistance unit are subject 
to the conditions of part 9500.2680, subpart 2, item B. 

(3) Direct support retained by a caretaker must be counted as 
unearned income when determining the amount of the assistance payment. 

Subp. 12. Good cause exemption from cooperating with support requirements. 
Before requiring a caretaker to cooperate, a local agency shall notify an applicant 
that he or she may claim a good cause exemption from cooperating with the 
requirements in subpart 10, items B to D, under the conditions specified in Code 
of Federal Regulations, title 45, sections 232.12 and 232.40 to 232.49 at the time 
of application or at any subsequent time. When a caretaker submits a good cause 
claim in writing, action related to child support enforcement must stop. The care­
taker shall submit evidence of a good cause claim to the local agency within 20 
days of submitting the claim. 

A. Good cause exists when a caretaker documents that: 
(1) a dependent child for whom child support enforcement is sought 

was conceived as the result of incest or rape; 
(2) legal proceedings for the adoption of a dependent child are pend­

ing before a court of competent jurisdiction; or 
(3) a parent caretaker is receiving services from a licensed adoption 

agency to determine whether to keep the child or relinquish the child for adop­
tion, and the services have not been provided for longer than three months. 

B. Good cause exists when a caretaker documents that his or her cooper­
ation would not be in the best interest of the dependent child because the cooper­
ation could result in: 

(1) physical harm to the child; 
(2) emotional impairment of the child which would substantially 

affect the child's functioning; or 
(3) physical harm to or emotional impairment of the caretaker 

which would substantially affect the caretaker's functioning and reduce the care­
taker's ability to adequately care for the child. 

C. When an applicant or recipient has difficulty obtaining evidence, the 
local agency shall help him or her obtain it. When a local agency requires addi­
tional evidence to make a determination on the claim for good cause, the local 
agency shall notify the caretaker that additional evidence is required, explain why 
the additional evidence is required, identify what form this evidence might take, 
and specify an additional period that will be allowed to obtain it. 

D. A local agency shall determine whether good cause exists based on 
the weight of the evidence. 

E. Once a local agency determines that good cause exists for a caretaker, 
the exemption from cooperating under subpart 10, items B and C must remain 
in effect for the period the dependent child remains eligible under that applica­
tion, except for subitems (1) to (4). 

(1) A good cause exemption allowed because a child was conceived 
as the result of incest or rape must continue until a subsequent acknowledgment 
of paternity or an application for adoption by a second parent is submitted for 
that child. 
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(2) A good cause exemption allowed because of adoption proceed­
ings must be issued for a fixed period of time based on the expected time required 
to complete adoption proceedings. The exemption must be extended when the 
required time is longer than was anticipated and must stop when adoption pro­
ceedings are discontinued or completed. 

(3) A good cause exemption allowed because of adoption counseling 
must last no more than three months from the time the counseling began. 

(4) A good cause exemption must be allowed under subsequent 
applications and redeterminations of eligibility without additional evidence 
when the factors which led to the exemption continue to exist. A good cause 
exemption allowed under item B must end when the factors which led to allowing 
the exemption have changed. 

F. A good cause exemption which has been allowed by a local agency for 
a caretaker must be honored by the local agency in the county of residence when 
the caretaker moves into that county, until the factors which led to allowing the 
exemption change. 

G. When a local agency denies a claim for a good cause exemption, the 
local agency shall require the caretaker to submit additional evidence in support 
of a later claim for a good cause exemption before the local agency stops acting 
to enforce child support under this subpart. 

H. Following a determination that a caretaker has good cause for refus­
ing to cooperate, a local agency shall take no further action to enforce child sup­
port until the good cause exemption ends according to item E. 

Subp. 13. [Repealed, 12 SR 2787] 
Subp. 14. [Repealed, 12 SR 2787] 
Subp. 15. [Repealed, 12 SR 2787] 
Subp. 16. [Repealed, 12 SR 2787] 
Subp. 17. [Repealed, 12 SR 2787] 
Subp. 18. [Repealed, 12 SR 2787] 
Subp. 19. [Repealed, 12 SR 2787] 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.736 subd 7; 256.851; 256.871 
subd 7 

History: 11 SR 212; 14 SR 2988; 15 SR 117 

9500.2720 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Applicability. The terms used in parts 9500.2720 to 9500.2730 

have the meanings given them in this part and in part 9500.2060 unless otherwise 
indicated. 

Subp. 2. Employability plan. "Employability plan" means a plan written for 
a registrant by an employment and training provider in consultation with the reg­
istrant that defines the registrant's employment and training goals and outlines 
the training, education, and support services the registrant needs to achieve these 
goals. 

Subp. 3. Employment search. "Employment search" means the program 
authorized under the Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, part 240, which pro­
vides AFDC recipients with training and assistance in finding and securing regu­
lar, unsubsidized employment. 

Subp. 4. Employment and training services. "Employment and training ser­
vices" means programs, activities, and services as defined in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 256.736, subdivision la, paragraph (d). 

Subp. 5. Employment and training service provider or service provider. "Em­
ployment and training service provider" or "service provider" means a provider 
certified by the commissioner of jobs and training under Minnesota Statutes, sec­
tion 268.0122, subdivision 3, to deliver employment and training services. 
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Subp. 6. Priority caretaker. "Priority caretaker" means a caretaker who: 
A. is under age 21; 
B. has not graduated from high school or received a general equivalency 

diploma; or 
C. has received AFDC for 24 or more months out of the last 36 consecu­

tive calendar months. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 256.736 subd 7 
History: 12 SR 2787 

9500.2722 ORIENTATION REQUIREMENT. 
Subpart. 1. Local agency responsibilities. Each local agency shall: 

A. provide or contract with another entity to provide orientation to 
AFDC caretakers residing in the local agency's jurisdiction who are required to 
attend orientation under subpart 2; and 

B. provide or pay the reasonable cost of child care and transportation 
needed to enable a caretaker to attend orientation. A local agency is not required 
to pay child care costs that exceed limits established by the local agency under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 268.91, subdivision 8. 

Subp. 2. Mandatory participants. A recipient shall attend an orientation ses­
sion if the recipient is: 

A. a caretaker who is a principal wage earner in an assistance unit whose 
eligibility is based on the unemployment of a parent under part 9500.2300; 

B. a priority caretaker; or 
C. a caretaker who is determined eligible for AFDC on or after July 1, 

1988, and who has not attended an orientation within the previous 12 calendar 
months. 

Subp. 3. Orientation content. Orientation must consist of a presentation that 
tells a recipient of the identity, location, and phone number of available employ­
ment and training services, and support services relevant to the recipient's cir­
cumstances. Orientation must encourage recipients to view AFDC as a 
temporary program providing grants and services to clients who set goals and 
develop strategies for supporting their families without AFDC assistance. The 
content of orientation must not imply that a recipient's eligibility for AFDC is 
time limited. The presentation must also inform recipients of the headstart pro­
gram and encourage caretakers to have their children screened for enrollment in 
the program where appropriate. 

Subp. 4. Orientation format. Videotaped presentations may be used, but ori­
entation must include the opportunity for face-to-face interaction between the 
recipient and staff of the local agency or the entity providing orientation. 

Subp. S. Good cause for failure to attend orientation. Good cause for failure 
to attend orientation exists when a recipient cannot attend because of: 

A. illness or injury of the recipient; 
B. illness or injury of a member of the recipient's family that requires 

the recipient's care during the hours when orientation is offered; 
C. an inability to obtain the necessary child care or transportation; 
D. employment, school, or employment and training service obligations 

that are scheduled during the hours when orientation is offered and that cannot 
be changed to allow participation in orientation; 

E. a judicial proceeding that requires the recipient's presence in court 
during the hours when orientation is scheduled; or 

F. a nonmedical emergency that requires the recipient's presence at a 
different location during the hours when orientation is scheduled. "Emergency" 
under this item means a sudden, unexpected occurrence or situation of a serious 
or urgent nature that requires immediate action. 
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Subp. 6. Notice to mandatory participants. Except as provided in subpart 7, 
the local agency shall provide written notice of the orientation requirement to a 
recipient required to attend orientation under subpart 2. The notice must tell the 
recipient the time, date, and location of the orientation that the recipient is 
scheduled to attend, the consequences of failing to attend on the scheduled date, 
and the recipient's appeal rights in part 9500.2740, subparts 8 to 10. The notice 
must be mailed or delivered to the recipient at least ten days before the recipient's 
scheduled orientation date. 

Subp. 7. Voluntary early participation in orientation. If the local agency and 
the applicant or recipient agree, orientation may be provided before issuance of 
the notice under subpart 6. If the applicant or recipient fails to attend orientation 
on the agreed upon date, the local agency shall schedule the recipient for orienta­
tion under subpart 8 and issue a notice under subpart 6. 

Subp. 8. Timing of orientation. A recipient required to attend orientation 
under subpart 2 must attend orientation on the date scheduled by the local agency 
under this subpart unless the recipient has good cause for not attending on that 
date or the local agency and recipient agree on a different date. The local agency 
must schedule a recipient required to attend orientation under subpart 2, item 
A or B, for an orientation session to be held before January 1, 1989. The local 
agency must schedule a recipient required to attend orientation under subpart 2, 
item C, for an orientation session to be held within 60 days after the local agency 
mails the recipient's notice of eligibility. 

Subp. 9. Sanctions for failure to attend orientation. If a recipient who is 
required to attend orientation under subpart 2 fails, without good cause, to attend 
orientation on a scheduled or agreed upon date after issuance of the notice 
required under subpart 6, the recipient must be sanctioned under items A and 
B. Before imposing sanctions under item A or B, the local agency must provide 
the notice required under part 9500.2740, subpart 6. 

A. When a recipient fails for the first time to attend an orientation ses­
sion, the local agency shall issue a maximum of 50 percent of the next monthly 
payment to which the assistance unit is entitled in the form of a vendor or protec­
tive payment. The local agency shall schedule the recipient for another orienta­
tion session to be held during the payment month for which the sanction under 
this item is imposed and shall notify the recipient of the date, time, and location 
of the session under subpart 6. 

B. When a recipient fails for the second time to attend an orientation 
session, the local agency shall issue 100 percent of the next monthly payment to 
which the assistance unit is entitled in the form of a vendor or protective pay­
ment. The local agency's notice of sanction under this item must include an offer 
to schedule the recipient for an orientation session. If the recipient contacts the 
local agency and asks to be scheduled for orientation, the local agency must 
schedule the recipient's orientation to be held within 30 days of the request. The 
sanction under this item ends when the recipient attends the orientation. The 
local agency shall then issue to the recipient any remaining benefits being held 
for vendor or protective payments. 

C. When a vendor payment is required under item A or B, the local 
agency may continue payments to the caretaker to the extent that no vendor is 
available. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.736 subd 7 
History: 12 SR 2787 

9500.2724 GENERAL EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING REQUIREMENTS. 
Subpart 1. Registration and referral for employment and training services. 

Except for registration with the local job service office under part 9500.2300, item 
F, or subpart 2 of this part, completion of the AFDC application form automati-
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cally registers the applicant for WIN and for other mandatory employment and 
training services that require registration. The local agency shall refer to the local 
WIN office recipients residing in WIN counties who are not exempt from manda­
tory WIN registration under part 9500.2726, subpart 1. The local agency shall 
refer to the local job service office recipients who are principal wage earners resid­
ing in non-WIN counties whose program eligibility is based on the unemploy­
ment of a parent under part 9500.2300. 

Subp. 2. Mandatory employment and training participation. Recipients shall 
participate in WIN if required under part 9500.2726, subpart 1, in employment 
search if required under part 9500.2728, subpart 1, and in CWEP if required 
under parts 9505.1050 to 9505.1065 [Emergency]. A principal wage earner who 
resides in a non-WIN county and whose program eligibility is based on the unem­
ployment of a parent under part 9500.2300 must be currently registered with the 
local job service office. If an applicant or recipient does not comply with this 
requirement, the person's entire assistance unit shall be ineligible. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.736 subd 7 
History: 12 SR 2787 

9500.2726 WIN REQUIREMENTS. 
Subpart 1. Participation in WIN. A recipient living in a WIN county, regard­

less of the recipient's basis of program eligibility under parts 9500.2180 to 
9500.2300, shall cooperate with the local WIN office as a condition of AFDC eli­
gibility unless the local agency determines that the applicant or recipient is 
exempt. A recipient who is exempt from mandatory WIN registrant status is: 

A. A child under the age of 16. 
B. A student who is at least 16 but less than 18 years of age and meets 

the conditions of part 9500.2060, subpart 58, item A, B, C, or F. 
C. A person who is 18 years of age and meets the conditions of part 

9500.2060, subpart 39, items B and C. 
D. A person who, for up to 90 consecutive days, is ill or injured to the 

extent that the illness or injury temporarily prevents participation in training or 
employment. Determination of an exemption under this item must be made by 
the AFDC unit and may be allowed without medical documentation when the 
illness or injury is evident. An exemption for an illness or injury that extends for 
90 days or more must be documented by medical evidence described in item E. 

E. A person who, for at least 90 consecutive days, is physically or men­
tally incapacitated when the incapacitating factors, by themselves or with the per­
son's age, prevent participation in training or employment. The incapacity must 
be documented by medical evidence. The medical evidence must include a prog­
nosis and diagnosis of the impairment from at least one licensed physician or 
licensed psychologist. The local agency shall give the applicant or recipient volun­
tary referral to the Minnesota Department of Vocational Rehabilitation upon 
determination of the exemption. 

F. A person 65 years of age or older. 
G. A person whose round trip commuting time from the person's resi­

dence to the local WIN office is more than two hours by the means of transporta­
tion available to the recipient and exclusive of the time needed to transport 
children to and from child care. 

H. A person needed in the home to care for a physically or mentally inca­
pacitated person living in the household. The incapacity and the need for care 
must be documented by medical evidence from a licensed physician or licensed 
psychologist. 

I. A parent or caretaker of a child under age six who is providing full-
time care for that child. A person who is anticipated to be absent from the child 
for an average of at least 30 hours per week during the current and following 
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month, exclusive of absences related to providing care for the child, does not 
qualify for this exemption. 

J. A person who is currently employed in unsubsidized employment that 
is expected to last at least 30 days and that provides a monthly average of at least 
30 hours of employment per week. 

K. A parent who is not a principal wage earner but who is in an assis­
tance unit whose program eligibility is based on the unemployment of a parent, 
provided the principal wage earner in the assistance unit is not exempt under the 
other items of this subpart and is cooperating with WIN. 

L. A person, who after applying for AFDC, volunteered to participate 
under the Volunteers in Service to America (VISTA) program as provided by 
United States Code, title 42, sections 4951 to 4959 as amended through Decem­
ber 31, 1987. 

M. A pregnant woman when the pregnancy has entered the third trimes­
ter. 

N. A person employed under a work supplement program established 
under the Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, part 239. 

Subp. 2. Good cause for noncooperation with WIN. A recipient who has good 
cause for not cooperating with WIN shall not be sanctioned. Good cause for not 
cooperating with WIN must be determined under the Code of Federal Regula­
tions, title 45, section 224.34. 

Subp. 3. Determination of noncooperation. The WIN office shall determine 
whether a WIN registrant has, without good cause, failed to cooperate with WIN. 
The WIN office shall notify the local agency of a deregistration action taken 
against a registrant for noncooperation. When notified of deregistration, the local 
agency shall sanction the recipient under part 9500.2730, beginning with the first 
payment month following deregistration in which notification and appeal rights 
under part 9500.2740, subparts 5 to 10, allow application of those sanctions. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.736 subd 7 
History: 12 SR 2787 

9500.2728 EMPLOYMENT SEARCH REQUIREMENTS. 
Subpart 1. Participation in employment search. Each local agency shall pro­

vide a mandatory employment search program for recipients whose participation 
is mandatory under item A. A local agency may provide a voluntary employment 
search program for recipients who are not required to participate under item A. 
The employment search program must be administered in accordance with items 
A t o C . 

A. A caretaker who is the principal wage earner in an assistance unit 
whose program eligibility is based on the unemployment of a parent under part 
9500.2300 must participate in employment search as a condition of AFDC eligi­
bility unless: 

(1) the caretaker is exempt from WIN participation under part 
9500.2726, subpart 1, items A to F or H to N; 

(2) the caretaker is currently participating in another employment 
and training service which can reasonably be expected to improve the recipient's 
ability to obtain and keep employment; 

(3) the caretaker's employability plan specifies other activities that 
conflict with participation in employment search; or 

(4) the caretaker cannot secure employment because of an inability 
to communicate in the English language as determined by the local agency, a spe­
cialist in English as a second language, or a vocational specialist as defined in part 
9500.1206, subpart 33, and the recipient is attending a program in English as a 
second language, if available. 
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B. In the third month after determining that a recipient is required to 
participate in employment search, the local agency shall refer the recipient to the 
employment search service provider and inform the recipient of the conse­
quences of failure to participate and of the recipient's appeal rights. 

C. The employment search service provider shall specify the number of 
weeks and hours that a recipient must participate in employment search. The ser­
vice provider shall not require a recipient to participate in employment search 
for more than eight weeks in any 12 consecutive calendar months and for more 
than 32 hours during any week. 

D. A WIN registrant who is suspended from WIN and referred to the 
employment search program by the local WIN office is not exempt from the 
employment search program under item A, subitem (2). 

Subp. 2. Offers of employment. A recipient who is the principal wage earner 
in an assistance unit whose program eligibility is based on the unemployment of 
a parent under 9500.2300 must, as a condition of AFDC eligibility, accept any 
bona fide offer of employment made by an employer. 

Subp. 3. Good cause for refusing or terminating employment or failing to com­
ply with employment search requirements. A recipient who fails to participate in 
employment search required under subpart 1 or accept employment as required 
under subpart 2 shall not be sanctioned if the recipient has good cause for the fail­
ure. Good cause shall be determined by applying the conditions in items A to I. 

A. Good cause exists when a job or employment search is not suited to 
the physical or mental capacity of the person or when it will have an adverse 
effect on that person's physical or mental health. Evidence from a licensed physi­
cian or licensed psychologist must document a claim under this item. 

B. Good cause exists when the round trip commuting time from a per­
son's residence to the employment search or job site is more than two hours by 
available means of transportation, exclusive of the time to transport children to 
and from child care. 

C. Good cause exists when licensed child care is required but not avail­
able. 

D. Good cause exists when the work or employment search site is unsafe 
under health and safety standards established by the Occupational Safety and 
Health Administration and the Minnesota Department of Jobs and Training. 

E. Good cause exists when a person documents discrimination at the job 
or employment search site on the basis of age, sex, race, religion, or place of 
national origin. 

F. Good cause exists when the hourly gross employment earnings are 
less than the federal or state minimum wage for that type of employment, which­
ever applies. 

G. Good cause exists when the gross monthly employment earnings are 
less than 185 percent of the AFDC family allowance for the recipient's assistance 
unit. 

H. Good cause exists when the job that is offered is vacant due to a 
strike, lockout, or other bona fide labor dispute. 

I. Good cause exists when the recipient incurs unreimbursed out of 
pocket expenses to participate in employment search. 

Subp. 4. Determination of failure to accept employment or participate in 
employment search. The employment search service provider shall determine 
whether a recipient has failed, without good cause, to comply with employment 
search requirements under subpart 1 or accept employment as required under 
subpart 2. If the employment search or employment offer is provided through 
WIN, the WIN office shall make the determination. If the service provider deter­
mines that a recipient has failed, without good cause, to comply with the partici-
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pation or employment requirements of subpart 1 or 2, the provider shall notify 
the recipient under subpart 5. 

Subp. 5. Notice of failure to participate or accept employment. If a service pro­
vider determines under subpart 4 that a recipient has failed, without good cause, 
to participate in employment search or accept employment as required, the pro­
vider shall mail a written notice of its determination to the recipient at the recipi­
ent's last known mailing address. The notice shall provide a detailed explanation 
of the reasons for the determination, the consequences of failure to participate 
or accept employment, the actions the service provider believes are necessary for 
the recipient to comply with the employment and training requirements, the right 
to request a conciliation conference within 15 days after the date the notice is 
mailed, and the right to request a hearing under part 9500.2740, subpart 8. 

Subp. 6. Conciliation conference. A service provider shall, according to its 
contract with the local agency, provide a conciliation conference to recipients 
who request a conference within 15 days after the notice under subpart 5 is 
mailed. The conciliation conference must be conducted according to items A to 
D. 

A. If a recipient requests a conciliation conference, the service provider 
shall provide the conference within 30 days after receiving the recipient's written 
request for a conference. The service provider shall notify the recipient of the 
conference date at least ten days before the date of the conference. 

B. The local agency shall reimburse the recipient for the recipient's rea­
sonable and necessary child care and transportation expenses incurred as a result 
of the recipient's attendance of the conciliation conference. 

C. The service provider shall hold the conciliation conference during 
regular working hours at the service provider's office. If the service provider and 
the recipient agree, the conciliation conference may be conducted over the tele­
phone. 

D. If a conciliation conference is not requested or if the dispute is not 
resolved at the conference, the service provider shall provide to the local agency 
and to the recipient written notification of its determination that the recipient 
failed or refused without good cause to participate in employment search or 
accept employment. 

Subp. 7. Final determination before sanction. When WIN does not sanction 
a recipient for failure to accept employment assigned by WIN or participate in 
an employment and training service provided through WIN, a local agency shall 
not apply sanctions for the same failure. The local agency shall make a final deter­
mination of whether the recipient has failed, without good cause, to accept 
employment that has not been assigned by WIN or to participate in employment 
search program that has not been provided through WIN. Upon final determina­
tion of failure to participate or accept employment, the local agency shall apply 
the sanctions under part 9500.2730. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.736 subd 7 
History: 12 SR 2787 

9500.2730 SANCTIONS FOR FAILURE TO PARTICIPATE IN A MANDA­
TORY EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING SERVICE OR ACCEPT 
EMPLOYMENT. 

Subpart 1. Notice. If a local agency is notified of WIN deregistration under 
part 9500.2726, subpart 3, or if a local agency determines under part 9500.2728, 
subpart 7, that a recipient has failed, without good cause, to participate in 
employment search or accept employment, the local agency shall notify the recip­
ient that the local agency will impose the sanctions of subpart 2, beginning with 
the first payment month following deregistration or noncompliance in which 
notification and appeal rights under part 9500.2740, subparts 5 to 10, allow appli­
cation of those sanctions. 
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Subp. 2. Sanctions. The following sanctions apply to recipients who do not 
comply with WIN, employment search, or employment requirements: 

A. When a recipient is also the principal wage earner under part 
9500.2300, the entire assistance unit is ineligible for three payment months for 
the first failure to comply or for six payment months for later failures to comply. 
When, during the period of sanction, the principal wage earner leaves the home 
or when either parent becomes incapacitated and eligibility is established under 
parts 9500.2180 to 9500.2260, the sanction period ends for the remaining mem­
bers of the assistance unit. 

B. When a recipient in an assistance unit that qualifies under part 
9500.2300 is the parent who is not the principal wage earner, or when the recipi­
ent is a parent caretaker in an assistance unit that qualifies under part 9500.2180, 
9500.2220, or 9500.2260, the parent caretaker shall be removed from the assis­
tance unit. The parent caretaker shall be ineligible for a period of three payment 
months for the first failure to comply or for six payment months for later failures 
to comply. Protective or vendor payments shall be issued for the needs of the 
remaining members of the assistance unit under part 9500.2680, subpart 2, item 
A until the period of the sanction ends or the recipient who is under sanction is 
no longer a member of the assistance unit. 

C. When a recipient who is under sanction is a caretaker relative other 
than a parent or is one of several dependent children, that person must be 
removed from the assistance unit for three payment months for the first failure 
to comply or for six payment months for subsequent failures to comply. When 
the recipient is the only dependent child in the assistance unit, the assistance unit 
shall be ineligible for AFDC for three payment months following the first occa­
sion of noncompliance or for six payment months following later occasions of 
noncompliance. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.736 subd 7 
History: 12 SR 2787 

9500.2740 APPLICANT AND RECIPIENT RIGHTS AND LOCAL AGENCY 
RESPONSIBILITIES TO APPLICANTS AND RECIPIENTS. 

Subpart 1. Right to information. An applicant or recipient has the right to 
obtain information about the benefits, requirements, and restrictions of AFDC. 

Subp. 2. Right to apply. A person has the right to apply, including the right 
to reapply, for AFDC. A local agency shall inform a person who inquires about 
AFDC of his or her right to apply, shall explain how to apply, and shall offer a 
brochure about the program. When a local agency ends assistance, the local 
agency shall inform the recipient in writing of the right to reapply. When a report 
is received that indicates a loss of basis of eligibility under parts 9500.2180, 
9500.2220, 9500.2260, or 9500.2300, the local agency shall notify the caretaker 
of other possible bases of eligibility, the need to file an addendum or a new appli­
cation and the time limit for meeting that requirement. 

Subp. 3. Information about other programs. A local agency shall inform an 
applicant or recipient about other programs administered by the local agency for 
which, from its knowledge of the person's situation, the person may be eligible. 
A local agency shall display, in a public place, brochures provided by the commis­
sioner describing the medical assistance, general assistance, general assistance 
medical care, emergency assistance, food stamp, and Minnesota supplemental 
aid programs. 

Subp. 4. Right to authorized representative. An applicant or recipient has the 
right to designate an authorized representative to act in his or her behalf. An 
applicant or recipient has the right to be assisted or represented by an authorized 
representative in the application, eligibility redetermination, fair hearing pro­
cess, and any other contacts with the local agency or the department. 
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When a local agency determines that it is necessary for a person to assist an 
applicant or recipient, the local agency shall designate a staff member to assist 
him or her. The local agency staff member may assist the applicant or recipient 
to take the actions necessary to submit an application to establish the date of the 
application. 

Upon a request from an applicant or recipient, a local agency shall provide 
addresses and telephone numbers of organizations that provide legal services at 
no cost to low income persons. 

Subp. 5. Right of applicant to notice. A local agency shall notify an applicant 
of the disposition of his or her application. The notice must be in writing and on 
forms prescribed by the commissioner. The local agency must mail the notice to 
the last known mailing address provided by the applicant. When an application 
is denied, the local agency must notify the applicant in writing of the reasons for 
the denial, of the right to appeal, and of the right to reapply for assistance. 

Subp. 6. Right of recipient to notice. A local agency shall give a recipient writ­
ten notice of payment reductions, suspensions, terminations, or changes in the 
use of protective, vendor, or two-party payments. The notice must be on forms 
prescribed or approved by the commissioner and must be mailed to the last 
known mailing address provided by the recipient. The local agency shall state on 
the notice the action it intends to take, the reasons for the action, the recipient's 
right to appeal the action, the conditions under which assistance can be continued 
pending an appeal decision, and the related consequences of the action, such as 
the loss of eligibility for medical assistance. 

Subp. 7. Mailing of notice. Notices under subparts 5 and 6 must be made 
according to items A to C. 

A. A local agency shall mail a notice to a recipient no later than ten days 
before the effective date of the action, except as provided in items B and C. 

B. A local agency shall mail a notice to a recipient no later than five days 
prior to the effective date of the action when the local agency has factual informa­
tion which requires an action to reduce, suspend, or terminate assistance, and 
this action is based on probable fraud. 

C. A local agency shall mail a notice to a recipient no later than the effec­
tive date of the action when: 

(1) the local agency receives a recipient's monthly household report 
form which includes facts that require payment reduction, suspension, or termi­
nation and which contains the recipient's signed acknowledgment that he or she 
understands that this information will be used to determine program eligibility 
or the assistance payment amount; 

(2) the local agency verifies the death of a recipient or the payee; 
(3) the local agency receives a signed statement from a recipient that 

assistance is no longer wanted; 
(4) the local agency receives a signed statement from a recipient that 

provides information which requires the termination or reduction of assistance, 
and the recipient shows in that statement that he or she understands the conse­
quences of providing that information; 

(5) the local agency verifies that a recipient is hospitalized and does 
not qualify under part 9500.2140, subpart 5, item C, subitem (1); 

(6) the local agency verifies that a recipient has entered a state hospi­
tal or a licensed residential facility for medical or psychological treatment or 
rehabilitation; 

(7) the local agency verifies that a member of an assistance unit has 
been approved to receive assistance by another county or state; 

(8) the local agency verifies that a member of an assistance unit has 
been placed in foster care, except as specified in part 9500.2140, subpart 5, item 
C, subitem (2); or 
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(9) the local agency cannot locate a caretaker's whereabouts and 
mail from the local agency has been returned by the post office showing that the 
post office has no forwarding address. 

Subp. 8. Appeal rights. An applicant, recipient, or former recipient has a 
right to request a fair hearing when aggrieved by an action or by inaction of a local 
agency. Requests for fair hearings must be submitted in writing to a local agency 
or to the department. These requests must be mailed within 30 days after an 
applicant or recipient receives written notice of the local agency's action or 
within 90 days when an applicant or recipient shows good cause for not submit­
ting the request within 30 days. A former recipient who receives a notice of over­
payment may appeal the action contained in the notice in the manner and within 
the periods described in this subpart. Issues which may be appealed are: 

A. a denial of the right to apply for assistance; 
B. the failure of a local agency to promptly approve or deny an applica­

tion; 
C. a denial of an application for assistance; 
D. a suspension, reduction, or termination of assistance; 
E. the calculated amount of an overpayment and the calculated level of 

recoupment due to that overpayment; 
F. the eligibility for and calculation of a corrective payment; 
G. other factors involved in the calculation of an assistance payment; 

and 
H. the use of protective, vendor, or two-party payments. 

Subp. 9. Rights pending hearing. A local agency shall not reduce, suspend, 
or terminate payment when an aggrieved recipient requests a fair hearing prior 
to the effective date of the action or within ten days of the mailing of the notice, 
whichever is later, unless the recipient requests in writing not to receive contin­
ued assistance pending a hearing decision. A local agency may increase or reduce 
an assistance payment while an appeal is pending when the circumstances of the 
recipient change and are not related to the issue under appeal. Assistance issued 
pending a fair hearing is subject to recovery under part 9500.2640, subpart 3 
when, as a result of the fair hearing, the commissioner finds that the recipient was 
not eligible for the assistance. The commissioner's order is binding on a local 
agency and shall be implemented subject to Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045, 
subdivision 7. No additional notice is required to enforce the commissioner's 
order. 

A local agency shall reimburse appellants for reasonable and necessary 
expenses of their attendance at the hearing, such as child care and transportation 
costs and for the transportation expenses of the appellant's witnesses and repre­
sentatives to and from the hearing. 

Subp. 10. Hearings. Fair hearings shall be conducted at a reasonable time, 
date, and place by an impartial referee employed by the department. An appli­
cant, recipient, or former recipient may introduce new or additional evidence rel­
evant to the issues on appeal. Recommendations of an appeals referee and 
decisions of the commissioner are based on evidence introduced at the hearing 
and are not limited to a review of the propriety of a local agency action. 

Subp. 11. Right to review records. A local agency shall allow an applicant or 
recipient to review his or her own case records that are held by a local agency and 
which are related to eligibility for or the assistance payment from the program, 
except those case records to which access is denied under Minnesota Statutes, 
chapter 13. A local agency shall make case records available to an applicant or 
recipient as soon as possible but in no event later than the fifth business day fol­
lowing the date of the request. When an applicant, recipient, or authorized repre­
sentative asks for photocopies of material from the case record, the local agency 
shall provide one copy of each page at no cost. 
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Subp. 12. Right to manage affairs. An applicant or recipient has the right to 
manage his or her financial affairs, except as provided in part 9500.2680, subpart 
2. A local agency shall not restrict the use of an assistance payment except as spec­
ified in parts 9500.2680, subpart 2, 9500.2800, and 9500.2820. 

Subp. 13. Right to protection. Under the circumstances defined in this sub­
part, a local agency shall refer an applicant or recipient to the social services unit 
of the local agency. Neither a referral for social services nor an applicant's or 
recipient's cooperation with the referral is a condition of eligibility for continued 
assistance. Referral must be made according to items A and B. 

A. Referral must be made when a minor caretaker does not live with his 
or her parent, legal guardian, or other adult caretaker or in a group or foster home 
licensed by the department. The local agency shall inform the minor caretaker 
that a referral is being made to the social services unit and that use of and cooper­
ation with the social services unit is not a requirement for the receipt of assis­
tance. Minor parents must be informed that all or part of their assistance may 
be paid in the form of protective or vendor payments if they do not participate 
and cooperate in the development of a social service plan. 

B. Referral must be made when a local agency staff member has reason 
to believe that neglect, physical abuse, or sexual abuse exists as defined under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 626.556, subdivision 2 or 626.557, subdivision 2. 
The local agency shall also fulfill the requirements for reporting to proper authori­
ties when the conditions in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.556, subdivision 3 
or 626.557, subdivision 3 exist. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 

9500.2760 SUPPORT FROM PARENTS OF MINOR CARETAKERS LIV­
ING APART. 

Subpart 1. General provisions. A parent who lives outside the home of a 
dependent child who is an unemancipated minor caretaker of an assistance unit 
is financially responsible for that minor caretaker unless the parent is a recipient 
of assistance, supplemental security income, Minnesota supplemental aid, medi­
cal assistance, general assistance, or general assistance medical care, and a court 
order does not otherwise provide a support obligation. 

Subp. 2. Amount of support payment. The amount of support to be paid by 
a parent, except a parent specified in subpart 4, must be determined according 
to items A to F. 

A. A minor caretaker shall provide information required by the local 
agency to identify the whereabouts of his or her absent parent. 

B. A local agency shall notify an absent parent of his or her legal respon­
sibility to support a minor caretaker and shall request that the absent parent pro­
vide the following: 

(1) the amount of the parent's earned and unearned income for the 
previous tax year; 

(2) the amount of the parent's earned and unearned income for the 
current month; 

(3) the number and names of dependents who are claimed or could 
be claimed by the parent on federal income tax forms; 

(4) the amount of annual medical bills paid by the parent; 
(5) the amount of annual housing costs paid by the parent; 
(6) the costs for utilities and repairs to the home which are paid by 

the parent; and 
(7) the amount of annual educational costs for family members paid 

by the parent. 
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C. When a parent of a minor caretaker does not provide the information 
requested under item B, the local agency shall refer the matter to the county attor­
ney. Assistance to the minor caretaker must not be denied, delayed, reduced, or 
ended because of the lack of cooperation of the minor caretaker's parent. 

D. When the information requested under item B is received by a local 
agency, the local agency shall compare the parent's income against the following 
scale using the conditions and procedures specified in item E. 

Size of Annual Cost 
Family of Living (ACL) 

1 $ 7,466 
2 12,084 
3 17,380 
4 20,774 
5 23,891 

Twenty percent of the ACL for 
a family of five must be added 
for each additional family member. 

E. The parent's income is the parent's earned income plus unearned 
income, determined by the methods in part 9500.2500, subpart 4, items A to C. 
To determine family size, each person claimed or who could be claimed by a par­
ent as a dependent on federal income tax forms, exclusive of the minor caretaker, 
must be included. A deduction from income must be allowed for the amount that 
medical, educational, and housing costs together exceed 30 percent of the par­
ent's income. When the amount of income, after the allowable deduction, exceeds 
the annual income level in item D, a parent is liable to pay one third of the excess 
for the annual support of the minor caretaker. These payments must be paid 
monthly to the minor caretaker or to the local agency on behalf of the minor care­
taker. 

F. A local agency shall notify the parents of the minor caretaker that they 
are liable for the amount of support determined by the local agency as specified 
in item E. When the support payment is received by the minor caretaker, it must 
be treated as unearned income of the assistance unit. When the support payment 
is not received, or a lesser amount is received in any payment month, the local 
agency shall refer the matter to the county attorney. 

Subp. 3. Reviews. A local agency shall review financial responsibility every 
12 months until minor caretakers reach the age of 18 or are otherwise emanci­
pated. The local agency shall promptly review the required amount of payment 
when a parent reports a change in circumstances. 

Subp. 4. Parents under court order for support. A parent who is required 
under an existing court order issued under some other authority in state or federal 
law to pay child support for a minor caretaker is subject to the conditions of that 
order in lieu of the requirements and contribution levels of subpart 2. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212 

9500.2780 WRONGFULLY OBTAINED ASSISTANCE. 
Subpart 1. Applicability to other laws. This part outlines procedures that 

apply to AFDC which anticipate their use in combination with established civil 
and criminal procedures and law. 

Subp. 2. Responsibility of local agency to act. In response to welfare fraud 
allegations received by a local agency, the local agency shall take any or all of the 
actions in items A to C. 

A. A local agency shall refer cases of suspected welfare fraud to the per­
son or unit designated by the county board for investigation of welfare fraud. 
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B. A local agency shall issue notice under the provisions of part 
9500.2740, subpart 7 to reduce or end assistance when the local agency receives 
facts which show that an assistance unit is not eligible for assistance or for the 
amount of assistance currently being received. 

C. A local agency shall refer cases of probable welfare fraud to the county 
attorney. 

Subp. 3. Continued program eligibility. A local agency shall issue assistance 
when current program eligibility exists even when welfare fraud was proven for 
an earlier period or is currently under investigation, subject to subpart 2. 

Subp. 4. Recoupment and recovery of wrongfully obtained assistance. A local 
agency shall recoup or attempt recovery of wrongfully obtained assistance. The 
amount recouped or recovered must not be more than the amount wrongfully 
obtained unless it is based on a court judgment. A local agency shall recoup 
wrongfully obtained assistance according to the procedures in part 9500.2620, 
items C and D until the full amount of wrongfully obtained assistance is repaid, 
seek voluntary repayment, or initiate civil court proceedings to recover any unre-
paid balance of the wrongfully obtained assistance. 

Subp. 5. Reporting requirement. A local agency shall gather and report statis­
tical data required by the commissioner on local agency activities to prevent wel­
fare fraud. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212 

9500.2800 AFDC PAYMENTS FOR FUNERALS, HOUSING, AND SPECIAL 
NEEDS. 

Subpart 1. Payment of funeral and cemetery charges. A local agency shall pay 
expenses incurred, up to a maximum of $370, for the funeral of a person who was 
a recipient at the time of death, and who is survived by members of the AFDC 
assistance unit who remain eligible for AFDC. In addition to these expenses, the 
local agency shall pay the actual cemetery charges. The local agency shall not pay 
for funeral expenses or cemetery charges when relatives of the deceased recipient, 
who had a legal responsibility to support the deceased recipient, are able to pay 
the expenses according to Minnesota Statutes, section 256.935. When donations 
from third parties or payments from other sources, including payments from pre­
paid burials or insurance, are conditioned on use for specific items such as a cem­
etery lot, interment, transportation of the body, or a religious service, the local 
agency must not apply these donations or payments against other items which 
the local agency must otherwise provide under this subpart. Amounts paid by a 
local agency for funeral expenses or cemetery charges under this subpart are reim­
bursable by the commissioner and recoverable from the estate according to Min­
nesota Statutes, section 256.935, subdivision 1. To determine the sufficiency of 
an estate to pay for funeral expenses, the local agency shall consider the nature 
and marketability of the assets of the estate. 

Subp. 2. Procedures for payment of AFDC housing allowance. A recipient is 
eligible to receive an AFDC housing allowance under Minnesota Statutes, section 
256.879 to replace a portion of his or her housing costs attributable to the pay­
ment of local property tax. The commissioner shall pay the AFDC housing allow­
ance to a recipient who applies for a Minnesota property tax refund credit under 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 290A. The commissioner must not direct payment 
of the AFDC housing allowance to a recipient who has already received a Minne­
sota property tax refund credit for the same tax year. The AFDC housing allow­
ance is subject to reduction as an offset against any outstanding state tax 
liabilities. 

Subp. 3. State appropriation for special needs. Payments for special need 
items, as defined and conditioned in subparts 4 to 9, must be paid to a recipient 
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subject to the amount appropriated by the Minnesota legislature. Each quarter, 
the commissioner shall provide a base allocation from this appropriation to a 
local agency in proportion to the number of assistance units the local agency 
served through the AFDC program in the previous calendar year, compared to 
the number served in the state. 

A. A local agency shall issue these funds to meet special needs of a recipi­
ent. Notwithstanding subparts 4 to 9, a local agency is not required to provide 
special need payments that are more than the amount allocated to the local 
agency by the commissioner. A local agency must develop written procedures for 
meeting priority needs of a recipient and may establish waiting lists. A local 
agency must inform inquirers of the procedures and assure that the procedures 
are applied consistently within a quarter. A local agency shall log requests for spe­
cial need items and shall use this log to develop or modify procedures for future 
quarterly allocations. Dispositions of each request must be included in the log. 

B. At the end of each quarter, a local agency shall report the amount of 
any remaining funds to the commissioner. The commissioner shall determine 
whether the quarterly statewide allocation is underspent or overspent and adjust 
future allocations in the same fiscal year. This reallocation must be determined 
subject to the conditions in subitems (1) and (2). 

(1) When the statewide allocation is underspent, local agencies that 
overspent their quarterly allocation will be compensated for their overexpendi-
tures before any remaining funds are reallocated. Remaining funds will be reallo­
cated to all local agencies using the allocation method described in the first 
paragraph of this subpart. 

(2) When the statewide allocation is overspent, any remaining funds 
from underspent local agencies will be reallocated to local agencies who overs­
pent their quarterly allocation. The reallocation shall be in proportion to the local 
agency's overexpenditures for that quarter, compared to the total for all local 
agencies with overexpenditures. 

C. In all quarters, except the final quarter of each state fiscal year, special 
needs funds committed but unspent by local agencies may be reserved to prevent 
reallocation to over spent counties. Each quarter, committed funds plus expendi­
tures will be limited to the local agency's quarterly allocation. 

D. Local agencies which have overspent their allocation at the end of the 
state fiscal year will be required to reimburse the state for the state share of the 
overexpenditure. 

Subp. 4. Relationship between special needs and emergency assistance. When 
a person is eligible for an item to be provided from both special need and emer­
gency assistance funds, the local agency shall provide the item through special 
need funds when these funds are available. 

Subp. 5. Requests for special need funds. When a local agency receives a 
request for items which are covered as a special need, the local agency shall pro­
vide the recipient with the information in subpart 3, item A; shall inform the 
recipient that a written request must be made; and may require the recipient to 
document need for the item. When payment is delayed due to lack of special need 
funds, or when payment is denied for any reason, the local agency shall notify 
the recipient in writing of the delay or denial. 

Subp. 6. Household furnishings and appliances. Items A to S specify the items 
and special need payment amounts for repair or replacement of household fur­
nishings and appliances: 

A. infant layette, $35; 
B. infant or child car seat, $35; 
C. crib and mattress, $49; 
D. high chair, $16; 
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E. cooking stove or range, $80; 
F. refrigerator, $93; , 
G. water heater, $186; 
H. bed: 

(1) twin size (complete), $72; 
(2) mattress or box spring (only), $27; 
(3) frame, $18; 

I. bed: 
(1) full size (complete), $116; 
(2) mattress or box spring (only), $49; 
(3) frame, $18; 

J. bedding (includes blanket, pillow and case, sheets), $20; 
K. chest of drawers, $26; 
L. lamp, $13; 
M. washing machine, $93; 
N. kitchen table, $24; 
O. kitchen chair, $10; 
P. couch, $74; 
Q. living room chair, $24; 
R. living room table, $ 10; and 
S. clothes dryer, $93. 

A recipient must not receive a special need payment for the same item more 
than once in a three-year period unless the payment is for repair of the item or 
the item needs replacement because of damage, theft, normal wear and tear, or 
loss. Abandonment of items during a move or change in living quarters when the 
recipient has failed to make reasonable attempts to retake possession does not 
constitute loss for this purpose. When the cost of an item is greater than the spe­
cial need maximum payment, a recipient must document that he or she has other 
available resources which can be combined with the amount payable from special 
needs funds to pay for the item. A credit arrangement with the vendor which pro­
vides for immediate possession of the item satisfies this requirement, but layaway 
arrangements which delay the possession of an item until a recipient makes an 
additional payment do not. A local agency shall make payment for home furnish­
ings and appliances by direct payment to a recipient, unless the recipient requests 
vendor payment or the recipient's monthly assistance payment is subject to the 
conditions of Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 234.60(a)(2). When 
a local agency approves a two-party or vendor payment for an item to resolve an 
emergency under part 9500.2820 and the quarterly special need fund appropria­
tion becomes available before the bill for that payment is received by the local 
agency, payment must be made according to the conditions of the original 
approval for payment. 

Subp. 7. Home repairs. A local agency shall pay for repairs to the roof, foun­
dation, wiring, heating system, chimney, and water and sewer system of a home 
which is owned and lived in by a recipient. Special need payments for these 
repairs are conditioned by items A to E. 

A. The recipient shall document and the local agency shall verify the 
need for and method of repair. 

B. The payment must be cost effective in relation to the overall condi­
tion of the home and in relation to the cost and availability of alternative housing. 

C. A recipient must have no other resources for payment. To determine 
whether a recipient has available resources, the local agency must consider the 
immediacy of the need for the repair and the likelihood that the recipient may 
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qualify for other programs or secure other resources to cover part or all of the 
funds needed for the cost of the repair. 

D. A recipient shall provide the local agency with one vendor's estimate 
for the repair. The local agency, may require up to two additional estimates when 
it determines the first is excessive. Any charge for an estimate authorized or 
required by a local agency must be paid from the appropriation under subpart 
3. When one or more estimate is received, a local agency shall approve payment 
for the estimate which is most cost effective. When a recipient requests vendor 
payment under item E, a local agency shall condition payment on a written agree­
ment with the vendor and shall not issue payment until it determines that the 
home repair is satisfactorily completed. 

E. A local agency shall make payment for home repairs directly to a 
recipient unless the recipient requests vendor payment or the recipient's monthly 
assistance payment is subject to the conditions of Code of Federal Regulations, 
title 45, section 234.60(a)(2). When a local agency approves a two-party or vendor 
payment for a home repair to resolve an emergency under part 9500.2820 and 
the quarterly special need funds appropriation is received by the local agency 
before the bill for that payment, payment must be made according to the condi­
tions of the original approval for payment. 

Subp. 8. Special diets. A local agency shall make special need payments to 
a recipient for the costs of the diets specified in item A. These diets or dietary 
items must be prescribed by a licensed physician. When these costs are paid by 
a program other than AFDC, AFDC special need payment must not be made. 

A. Payment amounts must be determined as percentages of the allot­
ment for a one person household under the thrifty food plan. The payment 
amounts are revised annually and published in general notices in the Federal 
Register. The types of diets that may be paid for, and the percentages of the 
thrifty food plan which must be used to determine payment amounts, are identi­
fied in subitems (1) to (11): 

(1) high protein diet (at least 80 grams daily), 25 percent of thrifty 
food plan; 

(2) controlled protein diet (40-60 grams and requires special prod­
ucts), 100 percent of thrifty food plan; 

(3) controlled protein diet (less than 40 grams and requires special 
products), 125 percent of thrifty food plan; 

(4) low cholesterol diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan; 
(5) high residue diet, 20 percent of thrifty food plan; 
(6) pregnancy and lactation diet, 35 percent of thrifty food plan; 
(7) gluten free diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan; 
(8) lactose free diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan; 
(9) antidumping diet, 15 percent of thrifty food plan; 
(10) hypoglycemic diet, 15 percent of thrifty food plan; 
(11) ketogenic diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan. 

B. Payment must be issued directly to a recipient as a part of the 
monthly assistance payment or as a separate monthly payment. Continuing need 
for the diet must be verified no less often than at each redetermination of eligibil­
ity. The local agency shall not require a recipient to document his or her actual 
expenditures for the dietary items. 

Subp. 9. Verification and preauthorization requirements. Payments made 
under subparts 6 to 8 must be made only when a recipient's need for the item is 
verified by the local agency. A local agency may require prior authorization as 
a condition of payment, but when the need for a special need item occurs at a 
time outside of the local agency's business hours, this requirement is satisfied 
when a recipient contacts the local agency on the next working day to request 
authorization. 
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Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 

9500.2820 EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE. 
Subpart 1. Applicability. This part governs the administration of the emer­

gency assistance program funded under title IV-A for needy families with chil­
dren. This part identifies circumstances under which assistance or services must 
be provided, conditions of eligibility for that assistance or those services, and the 
conditions under which the department and a local agency shall administer the 
program to be consistent with federal requirements for statewide administration 
and equal access to program benefits by recipients and persons who are not recipi­
ents. 

Subp. 2. Definitions. The terms used in this part have the meanings given to 
them in items A to O. 

A. "Applicant" means a person for whom an application for assistance 
has been filed with a local agency. 

B. "Assistance" means a financial benefit received from the emergency 
assistance program. 

C. "Available resources" means an applicant's property that is liquid or 
can be liquidated within the time necessary to avoid or promptly alleviate desti­
tution, together with income and public funds for which an applicant is eligible. 

D. "Balloon payment" means an amount of money required to be paid 
on a specific date according to the terms of a contract for deed or mortgage loan 
agreement and that exceeds the monthly contract for deed or mortgage payment. 

E. "Basic need items" means subsistence items necessary for life and 
health, including food, safe drinking water, habitable shelter, clothing, medical 
care; the companion items necessary to assure these needs, including heating fuel, 
electricity, essential household appliances and furnishings; caregiving services to 
children and incapacitated adults; transportation, equipment, or other expenses 
necessary for employment; transportation necessary for medical care; and other 
goods or services necessary to protect a child's health or safety. 

F. "Child" means a person who is under the age of 21 years who lives 
with a caretaker. 

G. "Destitution" means the lack of a basic need item and the lack of 
resources to provide for that need. 

H. "Emergency" means a situation or set of circumstances that causes 
or threatens to cause destitution to a child. 

I. "Family" means the persons who are part of the same household with 
a child. When the caretaker applying for a child is a parent, the term "family" 
includes that child, siblings or stepsiblings under the age of 21, and the other par­
ent or stepparent of that child. When the caretaker applying for a child is not a 
parent, the term "family" includes that child, the eligible relative caretaker of that 
child, the spouse of that caretaker, and any other children under the age of 21 for 
whom that caretaker or spouse would qualify as an eligible relative under part 
9500.2440, subpart 7. 

J. "Family budgeting services" means services which help an applicant 
or recipient to develop the ability to use its available income and resources to 
improve his or her financial stability and provide himself or herself with basic 
need items. 

K. "Habitable shelter" means housing that meets the health or safety 
standards provided under local ordinance, state or federal law, and any specific 
criteria established by a licensed physician as necessary to the life or health of 
a child. 

L. "Program" means the program of emergency assistance for needy 
families with children under the age of 21 years. 
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M. "Threatened destitution" means the destitution that will result in the 
future unless action is taken. 

N. "Utility budget period" means the month of application and the con­
tinuous 11-month period immediately preceding that month or a shorter period 
when an applicant has had no responsibility to pay for utility service for any 
month of the last 12 months. Unpaid utility bills covering a period of time in 
excess of 12 months must be divided into two or more utility budget periods. 

O. "Utility costs" means charges incurred by an applicant for the provi­
sion of electrical, gas, wood, heating fuel, and municipal water and sewer service. 

Subp. 3. Statement of purpose. The purposes of the program are to avoid and 
to prevent the destitution of children. The program does so by providing assis­
tance to resolve an emergency and by providing services that reduce the risk of 
recurrence of destitution. 

Subp. 4. Inquiries. A local agency shall offer, by hand or mail, an application 
form and an informational brochure provided by the department as soon as a per­
son makes a written or oral inquiry about the program. A local agency shall offer 
an application form and brochure on the same day the inquiry is received by the 
local agency. The brochure shall include information on how a food stamp grant 
is affected when emergency assistance is accepted as a cash payment instead of 
as a vendor or a two-party payment. 

Subp. 5. Application. Any family with a child may apply for assistance. At 
that time, a local agency shall explain to an applicant the program's eligibility 
requirements, the limitation of annual eligibility, the extent of the program's cov­
erage, other programs provided by the local agency or known by the local agency 
to be applicable to the family's circumstances, the availability of expedited issu­
ance of food stamps for eligible persons, and the rights and responsibilities of an 
applicant for and recipient of assistance. 

Subp. 6. Forms. A person must submit to a local agency a signed and dated 
application for emergency assistance on forms prescribed by the commissioner. 

Subp. 7. Interview. A local agency shall conduct a personal interview with an 
applicant after receipt of an application for assistance. When the circumstances 
of an applicant show destitution is imminent or already present, a local agency 
shall offer to conduct a personal interview on the same day the application is 
received to determine the applicant's eligibility. In all other cases, the local 
agency shall conduct a personal interview within a time that does not inhibit the 
local agency's ability to provide assistance in time to prevent destitution. 

Subp. 8. Processing application. An application must be processed in a man­
ner that considers the immediacy and severity of the destitution. A local agency 
shall help an applicant complete the verification process in time to prevent desti­
tution. Verification must be made promptly and must be done by telephone when 
necessary to avoid destitution. When documentation from a third party is not 
secured in time, an affidavit from an applicant must be accepted. A local agency 
shall designate at least one staff person to authorize immediate issuance of assis­
tance. A local agency shall not delay issuance of assistance to get formal action 
from the county board. 

Subp. 9. Notice of eligibility. A local agency shall notify an applicant in writ­
ing on a form prescribed by the commissioner of its determination of his or her 
eligibility for assistance. The local agency shall mail or deliver the notice to the 
applicant within one week of the date the application was submitted unless the 
applicant is informed in writing within that time of the reason for the delay. 

Subp. 10. Eligibility. A local agency shall issue assistance to a family, includ­
ing a migrant family, that meets the conditions of items A to D: 

A. the family must have a child under the age of 21 years who is or, 
within six months prior to application, has been living with the caretaker; 

B. the family must have an emergency; 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1991

Copyright © 1991 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



9663 ASSISTANCE PAYMENTS PROGRAMS 9500.2820 

C. the family's available resources must not be sufficient to resolve the 
emergency; and 

D. the emergency must not exist because a caretaker or child age 16 or 
over refused employment or training for employment without good cause as 
defined in part 9500.2700, subpart 19. 

Subp. 11. Covered emergencies. Assistance must be authorized when a child 
lacks or is threatened with the loss of basic need items. 

A. Emergency need may be caused by eviction, condemnation, cancella­
tion of a contract for deed, mortgage foreclosure, or other relocation; return from 
residential treatment, long-term hospitalization, incarceration or other separa­
tions of a child 'from the caretaker; civil disorders or strikes; fire, flood, storm, 
or other natural disaster; or loss or theft of funds. 

B. Assistance may be authorized for: 
(1) shelter or shelter deposit; 
(2) moving expenses; 
(3) storage costs necessary to recover property described in part 

9500.2800, subpart 6; 
(4) necessary household furnishings described in part 9500.2800, 

subpart 6; 
(5) necessary household appliances described in part 9500.2800, 

subpart 6; 
(6) necessary home repairs described in part 9500.2800, subpart 7; 
(7) utility service or utility hookup; 
(8) clothing; 
(9) food; 
(10) safe drinking water; 
(11) necessary medical care; 
(12) necessary dependent care; 
(13) transportation, equipment, or other expenses necessary for 

employment, subject to subpart 13; 
(14) transportation necessary for medical care; or 
(15) other items necessary for the health or safety of a child. 

Subp. 12. Limitations. The limitations of the program are listed in items A 
toG. 

A. A local agency shall issue assistance to a family during only one 30-
day period in a consecutive 12-month period. A local agency shall issue assistance 
for needs that accrue before that 30-day period only when it is necessary to 
resolve emergencies arising or continuing during the 30-day period of eligibility. 
When emergency needs continue, a local agency may issue assistance for up to 
30 days beyond the initial 30-day period of eligibility but only when assistance 
is authorized during the initial period. 

B. A local agency must not issue assistance when uncashed AFDC 
checks are lost or stolen. Instead, the lost or stolen AFDC checks must be replaced 
under part 9500.2680, subpart 1, item C. 

C. A local agency shall limit assistance for household furnishings and 
appliances according to part 9500.2800, subpart 6. 

D. A local agency shall limit assistance for home repairs according to 
part 9500.2800, subpart 7. 

E. A local agency shall issue assistance for storage costs that are cost 
effective in relation to the value of the materials in storage and to other alterna­
tives for resolving the emergency. 

F. A local agency must not deny an application for assistance because 
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a recipient does not choose to request that future monthly AFDC payments be 
paid through protective, vendor, or two-party payments. When a local agency 
determines mismanagement of a monthly AFDC payment has occurred under 
part 9500.2680, subpart 2, item E, the local agency must proceed with protective, 
vendor, or two-party payments under that provision. 

' G. A local agency may deny assistance to prevent eviction from rented 
or leased shelter of an otherwise eligible applicant when the local agency deter­
mines that an applicant's anticipated income will not cover continued payment 
of shelter and utility expenses, subject to the conditions in subitems (1) to (3). 

(1) A local agency must not deny assistance when an applicant can 
document that he or she is unable to locate habitable shelter,' unless the local 
agency can document that one or more habitable shelters are available in the 
community that will result in at least a 20 percent reduction in monthly expense 
for shelter and utilities and that this shelter will be cost effective for the applicant. 
When considering cost effectiveness for an applicant, a local agency shall evaluate 
the appropriateness of the alternative shelter in terms of size in relation to the 
number of family members, location in relation to special needs of the child, and 
other factors which would be likely to arise due to the disruption of the move. 

(2) When no alternative shelter is identified by either the applicant 
or the local agency, the local agency must not deny assistance because of the 
determination that the applicant's anticipated income will not cover continued 
payment of shelter and utility costs. The local agency shall issue assistance in the 
amount needed to prevent the eviction. 

(3) When alternative living shelter is identified, the local agency 
shall issue assistance for moving expenses as provided in subpart 18, item D. 

Subp. 13. Issuance of payment. A local agency shall determine the most effec­
tive method of payment to resolve the emergency. Payment may be made either 
by direct cash payment to an applicant or by vendor or two-party payment. When 
assistance is issued for employment-related expenses under subpart 11, item B, 
subitem (13), issuance is limited to an interest-free loan of up to $100. 

Subp. 14. Available services. Services allowed under the program are listed 
in items A to D. 

A. A local agency may offer family budgeting services to persons who 
inquire about the program. Family budgeting services may be provided by local 
agency staff, including social services staff, or a local agency may contract with 
qualified persons or agencies to provide the services. When a local agency uses 
its own staff, administrative costs may be attributed to the program as a part of 
the local agency's cost allocation process, or the local agency may choose to use 
its own funds. When a local agency contracts with persons or agencies outside the 
local agency, the costs are considered program expenditures in the same manner 
as other program expenditures made on behalf of persons who apply for assis­
tance. 

B. A local agency may negotiate on behalf of an applicant with vendors 
or creditors at the applicant's request or under the conditions of subpart 16, item 
D. 

C. A local agency may provide protective payee or vendor payment ser­
vices at the request of a recipient for monthly AFDC payments. 

D. A local agency may assist an applicant by coordinating local agency 
financial assistance programs with public or private resources which exist in the 
community. 

Subp. 15. Termination of utility service. Assistance payments must be made 
when an otherwise eligible family has had a termination or is threatened with a 
termination of municipal water and sewer service, electric, gas, or heating fuel 
service, or lacks wood when that is the heating source, subject to the conditions 
of items A and B. 
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A. A local agency must not issue assistance unless the local agency 
receives confirmation from a utility provider that assistance combined with pay­
ment by the applicant will continue or restore the utility service. 

B. A local agency must not issue assistance for utility costs for an appli­
cant who paid less than eight percent of the family's gross income toward utility 
costs due during the utility budget period or while the application is pending. 

C. Items A and B must not be construed to prevent the issuance of assis­
tance when a local agency must take immediate and temporary action necessary 
to protect the life or health of a child. 

Subp. 16. Amounts of payment. A local agency shall issue assistance for utility 
costs in an amount that is dependent upon the percent of the family's gross 
income paid toward utility costs and the percent of the total utility costs paid 
before the issuance of assistance. A local agency shall determine those amounts 
according to items A to E. 

A. Payment of the balance owed to a utility provider must be paid in 
full for an applicant who, effective October 1, 1988, and thereafter, paid no less 
than 16 percent of the family's gross income toward utility costs due during the 
utility budget period or while the application is pending. 

B. Payment on the balance owed to a utility provider must be limited 
to the amounts under item C for an applicant who, effective October 1, 1988, and 
thereafter, paid at least eight percent and less than 16 percent of gross income 
toward utility costs due during the utility budget period or while the application 
is pending. 

C. When an applicant pays the amounts specified in item B, a local 
agency shall issue assistance as follows: 

Amounts Paid By The Program 

Percent of total 
utility consumption 
cost paid by applicant 
prior to issuance 
of assistance 

less than 10 percent 

at least 10 percent 
and less than 20 percent 

at least 20 percent 
and less than 30 percent 

at least 30 percent 
and less than 40 percent 

at least 40 percent 
and less than 50 percent 

50 percent or more 

D. When a utility provider does not offer a repayment plan to the appli­
cant and the applicant does not have sufficient current funds which, when com­
bined with the assistance, will allow for the continuation or restoration of utility 
service, a local agency may negotiate with the utility provider on behalf of the 
applicant. When a utility provider does not withdraw the proposed termination 
of service, the local agency shall assist the family in seeking alternate arrange­
ments for utility service. 

Percent of the 
unpaid balance 
which will be 
paid by the 
program 

70 percent 

76 percent 

82 percent 

88 percent 

94 percent 

100 percent 

Percent of the 
unpaid balance 
which must be 
paid by the 
applicant 

30 percent 

24 percent 

18 percent 

12 percent 

6 percent 

0 percent 
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E. The provisions in items A to D must not be construed to prevent the 
issuance of assistance when a local agency must take immediate and temporary 
action necessary to protect the life or health of a child. 

Subp. 17. Mortgage and contract for deed arrearages. A local agency shall 
issue assistance for mortgage or contract for deed arrearages on behalf of an oth­
erwise eligible applicant according to items A to H. 

A. Assistance for arrearages must be issued only when a home is owned, 
occupied, and maintained by the applicant. 

B. Assistance for arrearages must be issued only when no subsequent 
foreclosure action is expected within the 12 months following the issuance. To 
make this determination, a local agency shall consider the anticipated mortgage 
costs over the 12-month period together with the applicant's anticipated income 
and other circumstances which would affect the applicant's ability to prevent 
foreclosures during that period. 

C. Assistance for arrearages must be issued only when an applicant has 
been refused refinancing through a bank or other lending institution and the 
amount payable, when combined with any payments made by the applicant, will 
be accepted by the creditor as full payment of the arrearage. 

D. Costs paid by a family which are counted toward the payment 
requirements in item E are principal and interest payments on mortgages or con­
tracts for deed, balloon payments, homeowner insurance payments, rental pay­
ments for shelter, mobile home lot rental payments, and tax or special assessment 
payments related to the homestead. Costs paid which are not counted include 
rental deposits, and down payments and closing costs related to the sale or pur­
chase of real property. 

E. To be eligible for assistance for the costs in item D which are out­
standing at the time of foreclosure, an applicant must have paid at least 30 per­
cent of the family's gross income toward these costs in the month of application 
and the 11-month period immediately preceding the month of application. When 
an applicant has received assistance on or after October 1, 1986, for a prior fore­
closure action, the applicant must have paid at least 40 percent of the family's 
gross income toward these costs in the month of application and the 11-month 
period immediately preceding the month of application. 

F. When an applicant is eligible under item E, a local agency shall issue 
assistance for outstanding costs up to a maximum of four times the AFDC family 
allowance for a family of the size and composition of the family applying for 
assistance. 

G. Payments made under item F constitute a debt owed to the county 
and the state, but only when the person's interest in the property is sold. A local 
agency shall file a lien against the property and shall notify the applicant, at the 
time of application for payment of the arrearage payment, that a lien will be filed. 

H. When a local agency determines that an applicant is ineligible for 
assistance for arrearage payment, but is otherwise eligible for assistance, the local 
agency shall assist the family with relocation according to subpart 18. 

Subp. 18. Moving expenses. A local agency shall issue assistance for expenses 
incurred when a family must move to a different shelter according to items A to 
D. 

A. Moving expenses include the cost to transport personal property 
belonging to a family, the cost for utility connection, and the cost for securing 
different shelter. 

B. Moving expenses must be paid only when the local agency determines 
that a move is cost effective. 

C. Moving expenses must be paid at the request of an applicant, but only 
when destitution or threatened destitution exists. 
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D. Moving expenses must be paid when a local agency denies assistance 
to prevent an eviction because the local agency has determined that an appli­
cant's anticipated income will not cover continued payment of shelter and utility 
costs in the applicant's current shelter under subpart 12, item G. 

Subp. 19. Right to appeal. An applicant shall have the right to appeal a local 
agency's action or failure to act with reasonable promptness on an application 
for assistance. 

A. A local agency shall inform an applicant in writing of the right to 
appeal and the procedures to follow in filing an appeal. Within two working days 
after receiving a written request for an appeal, the local agency shall forward the 
written request and an agency appeal summary to the appeals office of the depart­
ment. 

B. The appeals office shall schedule a hearing on the earliest available 
date and, following the hearing, shall promptly forward the decision of the referee 
to the commissioner. 

C. The commissioner shall issue a written order within five working days 
of receipt of the referee's decision, shall immediately inform the parties of the 
outcome of the decision by telephone, and shall mail the written decision to the 
parties no later than the second working day following the date of the commis­
sioner's decision. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 

9500.2860 RELATIONSHIP TO OTHER PROGRAMS. 
Subpart 1. Medical assistance; applicants. An applicant may qualify to 

receive retroactive medical assistance benefits for up to three months before the 
month of application. An applicant shall provide information about health insur­
ance and other medical coverage held by or available to the applicant, including 
pending lawsuits or claims for medical costs. An applicant who is a policyholder 
of health insurance shall assign to the department any rights to policy benefits he 
or she has during the period of medical assistance eligibility. When an applicant 
refuses to assign the rights to the department, the caretaker's program eligibility 
is unaffected, but the caretaker is ineligible for medical assistance. An application 
is used to determine retroactive medical assistance eligibility and to establish cur­
rent eligibility for medical assistance, according to items A and B. 

A. When a person applies for AFDC, the local agency shall inform the 
applicant of the existence of retroactive medical assistance and shall determine 
eligibility for retroactive medical assistance when the applicant requests it. 

B. When a local agency approves an AFDC application, the effective 
date of medical assistance eligibility must be the first day of the month in which 
program eligibility begins, unless eligibility existed for medical assistance under 
item A. When a local agency denies an AFDC application and medical assistance 
is requested, the local agency must accept a medical assistance application. The 
local agency shall use the date of application for AFDC as the date of application 
for medical assistance or general assistance medical care. 

Subp. 2. Medical assistance; recipients. A recipient shall receive medical 
assistance according to items A to F. 

A. A local agency shall reimburse or issue direct payment to a recipient 
for transportation costs for medical care from medical assistance administrative 
funds. 

B. A local agency must not recover amounts for ineligible medical assis­
tance claims or payments from the monthly assistance payment. 

C. A recipient shall inform the local agency of injuries for which a third-
party payor may be liable for payment of medical costs. 
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D. A local agency shall allow a recipient eligibility for medical assistance 
for months during which monthly assistance payments are suspended due to 
increased earned income or for months where no monthly assistance payments 
are issued due to the $10 minimum issuance limitation specified in part 
9500.2620, item B. 

E. A local agency shall determine eligibility for medical assistance 
according to subpart 3, item A, when assistance is suspended for a reason other 
than that in item D. 

F. A local agency shall offer services through the EPSDT program on 
behalf of each applicant or recipient who is less than 21 years of age, subject to 
parts 9505.1500 to 9505.1690. 

Subp. 3. Medical assistance; terminations of assistance. A local agency shall 
continue medical assistance when assistance ends according to items A to C. 

A. When assistance ends solely due to the increased earned income, 
increased hours of employment of a member of an assistance unit, or increased 
child support, medical assistance eligibility must be continued for four months 
from the month in which program eligibility ends. 

B. When assistance ends solely because a member of an assistance unit 
is no longer eligible for the work incentive disregard under part 9500.2580, item 
C or D, medical assistance must continue for the assistance unit for nine months 
from the month in which program eligibility ends. When at the end of that nine-
month period, the assistance unit would be eligible for assistance except for the 
loss of the work incentive disregard under part 9500.2580, item C or D, medical 
assistance must continue for up to three additional months. 

C. When assistance is ended due to applying the income from steppar­
ents, grandparents, or siblings to the need of an assistance unit, the local agency 
shall provide the recipient with an AFDC termination notice that allows one 
month of medical assistance after assistance ends. To continue eligibility for 
medical assistance beyond the one month, eligibility must be established under 
parts 9500.0750 to 9500.1080 and the application supplied with the AFDC ter­
mination notice must be returned to the local agency within ten days of the date 
assistance ends. 

Subp. 4. Social services. An AFDC unit staff member shall refer a recipient 
for social services that are offered in the county of financial responsibility accord­
ing to the criteria which is established by that local agency under the Community 
Social Services Act. A payment issued from title XX, child welfare funds, or 
county funds in a payment month must not restrict program eligibility or reduce 
the monthly assistance payment for that recipient. 

Subp. 5. Concurrent eligibility. A local agency shall not count an applicant 
or recipient as a member of more than one assistance unit in a given payment 
month except as provided in items A to C. 

A. An applicant who receives assistance in a state other than Minnesota 
may be eligible in the first month of application at Minnesota payment standards. 
An assistance payment from another state must be considered unearned income 
when determining the assistance payment issued under the Minnesota program. 

B. A recipient who is a member of an assistance unit in Minnesota is eli­
gible to be included in a second assistance unit in the first full month that the 
recipient lives with a second assistance unit or from the date of application to 
include those persons, whichever is later. The assistance payment issued to and 
kept by the first assistance unit must be considered an overpayment and must be 
recouped or recovered from the first assistance unit. 

C. An applicant who has his or her needs met through foster care under 
title IV-E for the first part of an application month is eligible to receive assistance 
for the remaining part of the month in which the applicant returns home. Title 
IV-E payments and assistance payments must be considered prorated payments 
rather than a duplication of AFDC need. 
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Subp. 6. Other income maintenance programs. An applicant or recipient is 
not eligible to receive general assistance medical care, general assistance, or Min­
nesota supplemental aid in the same payment month except for items A to C. 

A. A general assistance recipient who applies for AFDC may be eligible 
for both assistance and general assistance in the months that the application for 
AFDC is pending. General assistance payment must be considered unearned 
income in determining AFDC eligibility. When a general assistance payment is 
issued to a battered women's shelter for an applicant or recipient, that payment 
must not be applied against AFDC need. 

B. An applicant or recipient who is eligible for both AFDC and Minne­
sota supplemental aid may choose to receive benefits through either program. 

C. An applicant who is receiving general assistance medical care at the 
time of application may continue to receive general assistance medical care until 
AFDC eligibility is established. Services received by applicants while they are eli­
gible for both general assistance medical care and medical assistance must be 
paid under medical assistance. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212 

9500.2880 COUNTY OF RESPONSIBILITY POLICIES AND DISPUTES. 
Subpart 1. Determining the county of financial responsibility. The county of 

financial responsibility is the county in which a dependent child lives on the date 
the application is signed, unless subpart 4 applies. The county in which a woman 
with no children lives on the date the application is signed under part 9500.2140, 
subpart 4 is the county of financial responsibility unless subpart 4 applies. When 
more than one county is financially responsible for the members of an assistance 
unit, financial responsibility must be assigned to a single county beginning the 
first day of the calendar month after the assistance unit members are required to 
be in a single assistance unit. Financial responsibility must be assigned to the 
county that was initially responsible for the assistance unit member with the ear­
liest date of application. The county in which the assistance unit is currently 
residing becomes financially responsible for the entire assistance unit beginning 
two full calendar months after the month in which financial responsibility was 
consolidated in one county. 

Subp. 2. Change in residence. When an assistance unit moves from one 
county to another and continues to receive assistance, the new county of resi­
dence becomes the county of financial responsibility when that assistance unit 
has lived in that county in nonexcluded status for two full calendar months. 
When a dependent child moves from one county to another to reside with a dif­
ferent caretaker, the caretaker in the former county is eligible to receive assis­
tance for that child only through the last day of the month of the move. The 
caretaker in the new county becomes eligible to receive assistance for the child 
the first day of the month following the move or the date of application, which­
ever is later. Nonexcluded status means the period of residence that is not consid­
ered excluded time under Minnesota Statutes, section 256G.02, subdivision 6. 

A. When a recipient moves from one county to another, eligibility for 
assistance is not affected unless eligibility factors are affected in the moVe. A local 
agency must not require a recipient to reestablish program eligibility as a new 
applicant for assistance solely because a recipient moves. A local agency shall not 
require reapplication nor apply the program eligibility criteria which govern only 
initial applications, except as described under item B, subitem (3). 

B. The requirements in subitems (1) to (3) apply when a recipient moves 
from one county to another. 

(1) When a recipient informs the local agency in the current county 
of residence of a planned move, the local agency in that county shall forward to 
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the local agency in the county of planned residence the information from the case 
record which the county of planned residence needs to redetermine eligibility and 
to determine the amount of the assistance payment. Within 30 calendar days of 
the recipient's move, the new county of residence shall interview the recipient 
and take action to increase, reduce, suspend, or end assistance due to changes in 
the recipient's circumstances which affect either program eligibility or the 
amount of the assistance payment. 

(2) When a recipient informs the new county of residence that he 
or she has entered the county as a current recipient, the new county shall obtain 
from the county from which the recipient moved the information from the case 
record that it needs to redetermine eligibility and determine the amount of the 
assistance payment. Within 30 calendar days, the local agency in the new county 
shall interview the recipient and take action to increase, reduce, suspend, or end 
assistance due to changes in the recipient's circumstances which affect either pro­
gram eligibility or the amount of the assistance payment. 

(3) When a recipient does not inform either county that the move 
has occurred before the mailing of the next assistance payment and when the 
whereabouts of a recipient are unknown, the county of financial responsibility 
shall end assistance. When a recipient reapplies in another county within 30 cal­
endar days of termination and is eligible, assistance is considered to be uninter­
rupted for the determination of the county of financial responsibility for 
members of the assistance unit. This payment must be issued by the county of 
financial responsibility until the recipient has lived in the new county for two full 
calendar months. 

C. When an applicant moves from one county to another while the 
application is pending, the county where application first occurred is the county 
of financial responsibility until the applicant has lived in the new county for two 
full calendar months, unless the applicant's move is covered under subpart 4. 

Subp. 3. Responsibility for incorrect assistance payments. A county of resi­
dence, when different from the county of financial responsibility, will be charged 
by the commissioner for the value of incorrect assistance payments and medical 
assistance paid to or on behalf of a person who was not eligible to receive that 
amount. Incorrect payments include payments to an ineligible person or family 
resulting from decisions, failures to act, miscalculations, or overdue redetermina­
tions of eligibility. However, financial responsibility does not accrue for a county 
when the redetermination of eligibility is overdue at the time the referral is 
received by the county of residence or when the county of financial responsibility 
does not act on the recommendation of the county of residence. 

When federal or state law requires that medical assistance continue after 
assistance ends, the provisions of this subpart also govern financial responsibility 
for the extended medical assistance. 

Subp. 4. Excluded time. When an applicant or recipient resides in an 
excluded time facility as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 256G.02, sub­
division 6, the county that is financially responsible for the applicant or recipient 
is the county in which the applicant or recipient last resided outside such a facility 
immediately before entering the facility. When an applicant or recipient has not 
resided in'Minnesota for any time other than excluded time as defined in Minne­
sota Statutes, section 256G.02, subdivision 6, the county that is financially 
responsible for the applicant or recipient is the county in which the applicant or 
recipient resides on the date the application is signed. 

Subp. 5. Settlement of disputes. When a local agency receives an application 
for assistance or a request for transfer under subpart 2 and does not believe it is 
the county of financial responsibility, items A to E apply. 

A. The local agency that has received the application or transfer request 
shall, simultaneously: 
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(1) accept the application, determine program eligibility, and when 
the applicant or recipient is eligible, calculate and issue the assistance payment; 
and 

(2) send a copy of the application or transfer request, together with 
the record of any investigation it has made, to the local agency it believes is finan­
cially responsible. The copy and record must be sent within 60 days of the date 
the application or transfer request was received. 

B. The local agency receiving the copy of the application and the record 
of the investigation, if any, must accept or reject financial responsibility within 
30 days after receiving the copy and record. If the local agency receiving the copy 
and record fails to respond within the 30-day period, it becomes financially 
responsible. If the local agency receiving the copy and record rejects financial 
responsibility, it should provide the department and the initially responsible 
local agency with a statement of all facts and documents necessary for the depart­
ment to determine financial responsibility. The statement must identify the spe­
cific basis upon which the submitting local agency is denying financial 
responsibility. 

C. The initially responsible local agency has 15 days to provide the 
department with its position and any supporting evidence. If the initially respon­
sible local agency does not submit its written position to the department, the 
department may issue a binding order based on the evidence received. 

D. The department shall decide disputes within 60 days of receipt of the 
initially responsible local agency's submission of its position and supporting evi­
dence or 60 days after the deadline for submission of its position and evidence. 
The department may make any investigation it considers necessary to decide a 
dispute. 

E. The department's decision binds both local agencies unless the deci­
sion is appealed to the district court within 30 days after the decision is made and 
the decision is reversed by the district court. Assistance payments must continue, 
provided the recipient remains eligible, while the district court appeal is pending. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 256.01 subd 4; 256.851; 256.871 subd 7 
History: 11 SR 212; 15 SR 117 
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