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9055.0010 PURPOSE.

This chapter governs the administration and operation of the Department of Veterans
Affairs and must be interpreted to give effect to Minnesota Statutes, chapters 196 and 197.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709

9055.0015 DEFINITIONS.
Subpart 1. Scope. The definitions in this part apply to this chapter.

Subp. 2. Accredited claims representative. "Accredited claims representative"
means a person recognized by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs for the
purpose of helping people make claims for federal veterans benefits defined in United
States Code, title 38.

Subp. 2a. Administering entity. "Administering entity" means a nonprofit or gov-
ernmental entity including, but not limited to, an incorporated county or municipality, a
housing development authority, or a community action organization, that provides local
administration of public, not-for-profit housing programs.

Subp. 3. Assets. "Assets" means money in bank accounts, or cash or financial instru-
ments readily convertible into cash. "Assets" does not include proceeds available from life
insurance or burial insurance policies.

Subp. 4. Claim. "Claim" means a formal or informal communication in writing re-
questing a determination of eligibility for federal benefits defined in United States Code,
title 38.

Subp. 5. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of veterans af-
fairs.

Subp. 6. Congressionally chartered veterans organization. "Congressionally char-
tered veterans organization" means a veterans organization granted a national charter by
the United States Congress to assist veterans in making claims.

Subp. 7. Contested claim. "Contested claim" means a claim by more than one party
that is based on a single person's eligibility.

Subp. 8. County veterans service officer. "County veterans service officer" means
a person employed by a county in Minnesota to assist veterans and their dependents in
making claims.

Subp. 9. Department. "Department" means the Department of Veterans Affairs.
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Subp. 10. Department claims division. "Department claims division" means the ac-
credited claims representatives and their support staff.

Subp. 11. Dependent. "Dependent” means a spouse, a widow or widower, an unmar-
ried child under the age of 19 years, a child who is a student under the age of 25 years
and who is financially dependent upon the parent, a child of any age who is disabled and
dependent upon the parent, or a parent of the applicant or applicant's spouse who lives in
the applicant's household and is financially dependent upon the applicant. "Child," as used
in this subpart, includes legally adopted children, financially dependent stepchildren, foster
children, and children under the guardianship of the applicant or the applicant's spouse.

Subp. 12. Deputy commissioner. "Deputy commissioner" means the deputy commis-
sioner of veterans affairs for veterans services.

Subp. 13. Discharge papers or equivalent. "Discharge papers or equivalent" means
a federal form issued at the time of separation from the armed forces of the United States
indicating dates of service, character of service, and other pertinent data relating to the
individual's military service. This may include, but is not limited to, form DD 214, form
DD 215, or a report of separation.

Subp. 14. Emergency medical treatment. "Emergency medical treatment" means an
unexpected occurrence or a set of circumstances demanding immediate professional med-
ical attention to alleviate pain and suffering.

Subp. 15. Income. "Income" means earned and unearned income from any source,
including windfalls, income tax refunds, property tax refunds, and rebates, reduced by
amounts paid or withheld for federal and state income taxes, and social security taxes.

Subp. 16. Institution of university grade. "Institution of university grade" means the
University of Minnesota, a state university, a community college, a technical college, or any
other school of higher learning within the state accredited by the North Central Association
of Colleges and Secondary Schools, a law college approved by the supreme court, a nursing
school approved by the State Board of Nursing, a trade, business, or vocational school in
the state approved by the Department of Education, or a theological seminary.

Subp. 17. Schedule of allowances. "Schedule of allowances" means the schedule of
maximum monthly allowances created by the department to determine the amount of as-
sistance authorized under the state soldiers assistance fund. The schedule is incorporated
by reference, is available in the State Law Library or from the commissioner at the Depart-
ment of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, and is subject to
frequent change.

Subp. 17a. Under honorable conditions. "Under honorable conditions" as used in
Minnesota Statutes, section 197.447, means that the discharge or release from active duty
military service is not under conditions which constitute a bar to the payment of benefits
under Code of Federal Regulations, title 38, section 3.12.

Subp. 18. United States Department of Veterans Affairs. "United States Depart-
ment of Veterans Affairs" means that federal agency formerly known as the Veterans Ad-
ministration, which administers federal benefits for veterans and their dependents arising
out of service in the armed forces of the United States.

Subp. 19. Utilities. "Utilities" means electricity and fuels, including heating oil, nat-
ural and liquid propane gas, wood used for heating or cooking, coal used for heating or
cooking, water service, whether provided through a common line or from a privately owned
well, trash removal, and sewerage, whether provided through a common line or through a
privately owned system.

Subp. 20. Veteran. "Veteran" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section
197.447. A veteran with more than one period of active duty military service must have at
least one period of active duty military service which is characterized as having been under
honorable conditions.
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Subp. 21. War orphan. "War orphan" means the child of a veteran who has died as a
result of active duty service in the armed forces of the United States, as determined by the
United States Department of Veterans Affairs or other instrumentality of the United States.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04; 197.608

History: /6 SR 1709; 18 SR 273; L 1995 1Sp3 art 16 s 13; 21 SR 460; L 2003 ¢ 130
s 12

9055.0020 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE FUND.

Subpart 1. Use of fund. The commissioner shall administer the state soldiers assis-
tance fund to financially assist veterans who reside in Minnesota and their dependents. The
assistance may be in the form of temporary emergency assistance, payments for the costs of
emergency medical treatments and services, and maintenance of the veteran's dependents
during the time the veteran is disabled and without adequate means of supporting the vet-
eran or the veteran's dependents.

Subp. 2. Financial need. Veteran applicants and their dependents shall demonstrate
financial need for the assistance available under the state soldiers assistance fund. Need
must be determined based on the schedule of allowances and the financial assets and income
of the applicant, as stated on the application for assistance.

Subp. 3. Medical need. An applicant shall demonstrate medical disability severe
enough to preclude the applicant from pursuing a normal occupation. The medical disabil-
ity must be of at least 30 days' duration and must be verified by the applicant's physician.
Continued medical disability must be demonstrated for continued financial assistance be-
yond the initial eligibility period.

Subp. 4. Veteran status required. An applicant must be a veteran as defined in Min-
nesota Statutes, section 197.447, or the surviving spouse or dependent of a veteran.

Subp. 5. Residency required. An applicant for assistance must reside in Minnesota
at the time of application.

Subp. 6. Assistance not to be used to supplement. Benefits available to individuals
under the state soldiers assistance fund must not be used to supplement or to add to assis-
tance available to or received by the applicant from the general assistance or Minnesota
family investment programs.

Subp. 7. Inpatient chemical dependency treatment; eligibility. Applicants admit-
ted to an approved inpatient chemical dependency treatment program may be eligible to
receive temporary financial assistance in the form of shelter and utility payments, if they
qualify for financial assistance under department income and asset limitations, as speci-
fied in the schedule of allowances, while the applicant is in an approved inpatient chemical
dependency treatment program. Applications made while the applicant is in an approved
inpatient chemical treatment program must be made effective the date of admission.

Upon successful completion of an approved inpatient chemical dependency treatment
program, applicants may be eligible to receive financial assistance for one 30-day assis-
tance period. For continued assistance beyond 30 days, applicants must meet the eligibility
criteria in subparts 1 to 6. Applications submitted under this part more than 30 days after
completion of an approved inpatient chemical dependency treatment program must include
a written justification for the delay. Successful completion of a prescribed treatment pro-
gram must be verified in writing by the treatment facility.

Subp. 8. Assistance to widows, widowers. Widows and widowers of veterans may
apply for assistance without proof of disability any time within 12 months of the date of
the death of the veteran.
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Widows or widowers who apply for assistance more than 12 months after the death of
the veteran must provide medical evidence of a disability severe enough to preclude their
following their normal occupation for at least 30 days.

Statutory Authority: MS s 7196.04,; 197.608
History: 16 SR 1709, 17 SR 1279; 18 SR 273; 21 SR 460; L 2006 ¢ 212 art 1 5 25

9055.0025 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE FUND; HOW SPENT.

The state soldiers assistance fund must be spent to temporarily assist eligible veterans
and their dependents. Payments must be made in 30-day increments, beginning with the
date of eligibility, as determined by the application.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709

9055.0030 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE FUND; AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE
GRANTED; HOW CALCULATED.

Subpart 1. Comparison. The amount of assistance granted must be calculated by com-
paring the applicant's income and assets to the amount appropriate for the applicant's house-
hold size on the schedule of allowances.

Subp. 2. Subtract income from schedule amount. The amount of assistance granted
must be calculated by subtracting the applicant's income from the amount appropriate for
the applicant's family size, as determined from the schedule of allowances.

EXAMPLE: A veteran with a spouse and dependent child applies for assistance.
Total income available to the household is $75 per week, which is the spouse's
take-home pay.

$75 times 4.3 weeks per month equals $322.50 average monthly income to the
household. Schedule of allowances for a family of three is $490. $490 minus
$322.50 equals $167.50, which would be issued to the veteran and family. In
addition, current utility bills would be paid upon submission.

Subp. 3. Asset limitation. A person who has assets at or in excess of the maximum
allowance according to the schedule of allowances may not receive financial assistance
from the department under the state soldiers assistance fund.

Subp. 4. Assistance limited to six consecutive months. Applicants may not receive
more than six consecutive months of financial assistance under the state soldiers assistance
fund unless assistance beyond six months is authorized by the commissioner.

Subp. 5. Assistance beyond six consecutive months. Assistance beyond six consec-
utive months may be authorized only when the applicant has applied for long-term benefits
such as Social Security retirement or disability benefits, workers' compensation, United
States Department of Veterans Affairs disability compensation or pension benefits, private
pension benefits, or similar benefits and a determination of eligibility for those benefits has
not been rendered or benefits have not been paid by the responsible agency.

Subp. 6. Shared households; calculation of utility allowance. Applicants who share
a household may be eligible to receive assistance under the state soldiers assistance pro-
gram. Only the income and the assets of the eligible veteran and the eligible veteran's
dependents may be considered in the calculation of income and assets used to determine
eligibility under subparts 1 to 5.

Allowances for shelter and utility payments must be prorated based on the number of
individuals residing in the shared household. Assistance must be authorized only for the
amount of the prorated share of shelter and utility payments used by the eligible veteran
and the eligible veteran's dependents.

Utility bills submitted for payment under this part must be in the name of the veteran
or claimant. If the bill submitted for payment is in the name of someone other than the
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veteran or claimant, reimbursement for the applicant's prorated portion of the bill must be
considered on submission of a copy of the bill and proof of payment of the bill.

Subp. 7. Written recommendation of county veteran's service officer. If immediate
financial assistance is required to assist an eligible veteran or an eligible veteran's depen-
dents and a statement of the applicant's qualifying medical disability cannot be furnished
in a timely manner with the application, the department may authorize a single 30-day sub-
sistence grant to the eligible veteran or eligible veteran's dependents, based on the written
recommendation of a Minnesota county veteran's service officer.

The statement of the applicant's qualifying disability must be forwarded to the depart-
ment as soon as possible, but in no instance later than 30 days after the date of the applica-
tion.

Continued assistance beyond the initial 30-day period of assistance based on the recom-
mendation of a Minnesota county veteran's service officer requires a completed application
as outlined in part 9055.0055. The application will be completed by the county veteran's
service officer.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709; 18 SR 273

9055.0035 DETERMINING INCOME FROM SELF-EMPLOYMENT.

Subpart 1. Gress income. Gross income from self-employment includes, but is not
limited to, income from the sale of goods or services, crops, livestock, produce, and ma-
chine rental, including wages paid to the owner or operator and capital gains or losses.
Income must be calculated by subtracting allowed expenses from gross income.

Subp. 2. Allowed expenses. Allowed expenses include:
A. interest paid on mortgages and loans;

B. employee wages, other than wages paid to members of the applicant's house-
hold or paid to another person who must contribute to the applicant;

C. FICA paid on employee wages;

D. costs of raw materials, including seed and fertilizer;

E. maintenance and repairs that are not capital expenditures;
F. tools and supplies that are not capital expenditures;

G. rent, utility payments, and insurance costs; and

H. other expenses normally allowed by the Internal Revenue Service, except as
specifically excluded in subpart 3.

Subp. 3. Self-employment expenses not allowed. Expenses from self-employment
specifically not allowed are:

A. net losses from another period of operation, federal, state, and local income
taxes;

. the employer's own share of FICA;
. money set aside for the self-employed applicant's own retirement;
. work-related personal expenses, such as meals consumed on the premises;

B
C
D
E. payments on loan principal;
F. capital expenditures;

G. charitable contributions;
H. depreciation;

L.

wages or other benefits paid to members of the applicant's household or to per-
sons who must contribute to the applicant;

J. personal business and entertainment expenses;
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K. the costs of building an inventory; and
L. any other expenses not specifically allowed by the Internal Revenue Service.

Subp. 4. Determining monthly income. Self-employment income must be averaged
over 12 months. If the business has been in operation less than 12 months, income and
expenses must be averaged over the number of months the business has been in operation
to determine the average monthly income.

Subp. 5. Irregular income periods. If the applicant does not receive income on a
monthly basis, the applicant's income and expenses must be averaged over the number of
months the applicant earned the income to determine the average monthly income. No
more than 12 months may be used to calculate monthly income.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709

9055.0040 CALCULATION OF INCOME; EFFECT OF COURT-ORDERED
CHILD SUPPORT PAYMENTS.

Subpart 1. Inclusion in calculation. Court-ordered child support payments, whether
received or paid by the applicant's household, must be included in the calculation of house-
hold income and assets unless the applicant specifically asks that they not be included in
the calculation of household income as outlined in this part.

Subp. 2. Child support payments received. Child support payments received by the
applicant's household must be included in the calculation of income and assets if the child
for whom support is received is included in the total number of members of the applicant's
household for whom assistance is sought under the state soldiers assistance program. Child
support payments under this calculation are considered available to the entire household.

Subp. 3. Child support payments disregarded. An applicant may elect not to include
a child for whom support is received and who is a member of the applicant's household in
the computation of the total number of members of the applicant's household. If the child
is excluded from this computation, child support for payments for that child must also be
excluded from the calculation of household income and assets.

Subp. 4. Child support payments excluded. An applicant for the state soldiers as-
sistance program who is paying court-ordered child support payments may exclude the full
amount of payments in the calculation of household income and assets if the following con-
ditions are met:

A. the applicant shall provide a current copy of the court order that orders child
support payments; and

B. court-ordered child support payments made by the applicant must be current
and up to date as of the date of the application. The applicant shall provide a written state-
ment from the recipient of the claimed court-ordered child support payments that all support
payments are current as of the date of the application for assistance under the state soldiers
assistance program.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709

9055.0050 METHOD OF PAYMENT.

Payments authorized by the commissioner must be made by the Department of Man-
agement and Budget.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709; L 2009 ¢ 101 art 2 s 109
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9055.0055 ASSISTANCE AUTHORIZED.

Upon receipt of a properly completed application for assistance, verification of the
veteran's eligibility, and a determination of the financial need for assistance, the department
shall authorize the issuance of assistance according to the schedule of allowances.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709

9055.0060 TYPES OF ASSISTANCE AUTHORIZED.

Subpart 1. Payments to be made. Upon approval by the department, the payments in
subparts 2 to 6 must be made to temporarily assist applicants.

Subp. 2. Shelter payments. Shelter payments must be made in the lesser amount of
either the shelter allowance as determined by the schedule of allowances or the actual cost
of the applicant's housing as determined by the application.

A shelter payment may not be authorized prior to the receipt by the department of
a completed, current landlord statement. In the case of applicants who reside in public
housing, a statement from the administering entity that contains a statement of the amount
and current status of rent or mortgage payments must be accepted in lieu of a landlord
statement if a landlord statement cannot be provided with the application.

Subp. 3. Room and board, rent payments. Payments for room and board and rent
for the applicant's housing unit must be made in the lesser of the following amounts: the
actual charges for room and board or rent, or the allowance for room and board or rent
as established by the schedule of allowances. Payment for room and board or rent may
be made to the applicant's landlord, following receipt of a properly completed Landlord's
Statement, Department of Veterans Affairs form number 0003-02.

Subp. 4. Utility payments. Payment of the cost of utilities is limited to current utility
bills only. No payment may be authorized or made on any utility bills that are past due
or in arrears. Delivery of bulk utilities, such as heating and cooking fuels including liquid
propane gas, heating oil, coal, and wood, must be limited to a normal one-month supply,
as determined by the applicant's past usage rates, unless the commissioner determines that
it is more beneficial to either the applicant or the department to authorize the delivery of a
greater amount. Prior authorization for delivery of bulk utilities must be received from the
commissioner.

Subp. 5. Utility payments not to include durable goods. Payment of the cost of
utilities must not include any amounts included on utility bills for purchases of durable
goods, such as, but not limited to, water heaters, refrigerators, heating units, and similar
products. Payment must be authorized only for the purchase of expendable heating and
cooking fuels.

Subp. 6. Health insurance payments. Payment for health insurance premiums is
limited to current bills for health insurance premiums. No payment may be authorized or
made on any health insurance premiums that are past due or in arrears. Payments must not
be authorized or made for any other types of insurance.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 716 SR 1709, 18 SR 273

9055.0070 NOTICE REQUIRED; ASSISTANCE GRANTED.

Applicants granted financial assistance must be notified in writing that assistance will
be granted. The notification must include the amount of assistance to be issued, the time
periods covered by the assistance, and any requirements of the applicant for further assis-
tance.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709
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9055.0075 NOTICE REQUIRED; ASSISTANCE DENIED.

Applicants whose claim for assistance has been denied must be notified of that denial
in writing. The notice must state the reasons for the denial and must inform the applicant
of the right to appeal the decision to deny assistance.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709

9055.0080 APPEAL PROCEDURE; DENIAL OF ASSISTANCE.

Subpart 1. Right to appeal. An applicant may appeal a decision by the department not
to grant assistance. Appeals must be in the manner described in this part.

Subp. 2. Submitting appeals. Appeals must be submitted to the commissioner in
writing within 60 days of the applicant's receipt of the denial letter.

Subp. 3. Appeal options. An applicant may elect to pursue either a written appeal or
a personal hearing.

Subp. 4. Reasons. An applicant shall state any reasons why the applicant disagrees
with the decision to deny assistance. The applicant may submit any additional evidence or
documentation for consideration.

Subp. 5. Personal hearing. An applicant may request a personal hearing before the
commissioner to present further evidence or documentation or to request a reconsideration
of an original application. All expenses incurred by the applicant are the obligation of the
applicant. The commissioner shall provide a room for the personal hearing at no cost to
the applicant. A request for a personal hearing to appeal a decision to deny assistance must
be filed, in writing, with the commissioner within 60 days of the applicant's receipt of the
denial letter.

Subp. 6. Determination. The commissioner shall issue a determination to grant or
deny the assistance sought, based upon the application or upon additional information or
extenuating circumstances presented during the review process, within seven working days
of the review or personal hearing. All determinations of the commissioner are final.

Subp. 7. Issuance of assistance. If the commissioner determines that the issuance of
assistance is appropriate, the assistance must be issued within 14 working days of the com-
missioner's decision. If the commissioner determines not to issue the requested assistance,
the applicant must be informed of this determination in writing, stating the commissioner's
reasons for this determination.

Subp. 8. Failure to appeal. Failure by the applicant to appeal a decision by the de-
partment not to grant assistance within the 60-day period allowed for appeals is a bar to
further appeals.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04; 197.608
History: 16 SR 1709; 18 SR 273; 21 SR 460
9055.0085 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE FUND; DENTAL OR OPTICAL
ASSISTANCE.

Subpart 1. Dental or optical needs. The commissioner may provide financial assis-
tance to applicants to meet basic dental or optical needs, according to the schedule of al-
lowances.

Subp. 2. Excess assets a bar to assistance. Assets at or in excess of the maximum
allowance according to the schedule of allowances for the number of eligible persons in the
applicant's household are a bar to receiving assistance under this part.

Subp. 3. Excess income a bar to assistance. Income at or in excess of the maximum
allowance according to the schedule of allowances for the number of eligible persons in the
applicant's household is a bar to receiving assistance under this part.
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Subp. 4. Amount of assistance. The amount of financial assistance granted under
this part must be determined by the schedule of allowances and dental and optical benefits
schedule, according to Department of Human Services maximum payment standards and
procedure codes.

Subp. 5. Frequency of assistance. Applicants must be eligible to receive assistance
under this part once every 12 months from the date of the exam for the type of assistance
sought.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 716 SR 1709, 18 SR 273

9055.0090 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE FUND; EMERGENCY MEDICAL
TREATMENT.

Subpart 1. Emergency medical assistance. The commissioner may provide financial
assistance, limited to the cost of treatment provided or the maximum allowed under the
schedule of allowances, to veteran applicants who require emergency medical treatment
and who lack the financial resources or insurance to defray the cost of this treatment.

Applications for emergency medical assistance must be received by the department
within 90 days of the date of the occurrence of the medical emergency. Complete, final
medical bills, showing all payments and credits, must be received by the department within
180 days of the date of the occurrence of the medical emergency to be considered for pay-
ment.

Subp. 2. Excess assets a bar to assistance. Assets at or in excess of the maximum
allowance according to the schedule of allowances for the number of eligible persons in the
applicant's household are a bar to receiving assistance under this part.

Subp. 3. Excess income a bar to assistance. Income at or in excess of the maximum
allowance according to the schedule of allowances for the number of eligible persons in the
applicant's household is a bar to receiving assistance under this part.

Subp. 4. Amount of assistance. The amount of financial assistance granted under
this part must be determined by the schedule of allowances, medical benefits schedule, ac-
cording to the Department of Human Services maximum payment standards and procedure
codes.

Subp. 5. Burial expenses not paid. Expenses associated with the burial of veterans or
dependents of veterans must not be paid under the emergency medical treatment assistance
program rules in subparts 1 to 4.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709; 18 SR 273

9055.0095 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE FUND; CLOTHING ALLOWANCE.

Subpart 1. Clothing needs. The commissioner may provide financial assistance to
applicants to meet minimal clothing needs under one or more of the conditions in subparts
2 to 4.

Subp. 2. Catastrophic loss. Financial assistance may be given if the applicant has
lost all available clothing as a result of a fire or other disaster and the loss is not covered by
insurance.

Subp. 3. Suitable clothing required. Financial assistance may be given to clothe
children of veterans who are currently receiving assistance from the department under the
state soldiers assistance fund in suitable clothing to attend school.

Subp. 4. Amount of assistance. The amount of assistance granted under this part must
be according to the schedule of allowances.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709; 18 SR 273
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9055.0100 CLAIMS DIVISION.

Subpart 1. Purpose of division. The department's claims division has been established
to assist veterans and their dependents with claims.

Subp. 2. Representation. The claims division shall represent veterans or their depen-
dents upon the request of the veteran or veteran's dependent. The representation is without
charge. The claims division shall also represent a veteran or a veteran's dependent who has
designated a federally recognized veterans organization as the veteran's or dependent's rep-
resentative if the veterans organization has requested in writing that the department provide
the claims representation on its behalf.

Subp. 3. Termination. The department's claims division may terminate its represen-
tation of individuals who threaten the personal safety of employees of the department.

Subp. 4. Federal law to govern procedure. The department's claims division oper-
ates under the regulations of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs as to methods
of operation in the representation of a veteran claimant and as to the presentation of claims.

Subp. 5. Citation. The specific federal law governing the federal oversight of the
operation of the department's claims division is at Code of Federal Regulations, title 38,
chapter 1, sections 14.628(b) to 14.669.

Subp. 6. Contested claims not accepted. The claims division shall not act as accred-
ited claims representative for more than one party to an action or claim based upon a single
individual's eligibility.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04

History: 16 SR 1709

9055.0105 EDUCATION.

Subpart 1. State education benefits. The legislature has established educational pro-
grams to assist veterans and the dependents of veterans who were killed in the line of duty
or who died as a result of wounds, illness, or injury incurred in the line of duty.

Subp. 2. Veteran. Veteran residents who have exhausted through use all federal ed-
ucation benefits to which they may have been entitled are eligible for a single educational
grant from the department in an amount approved by the legislature. Veterans who lost four
or more months of entitlement to federal veterans educational benefits due to the termina-
tion of eligibility by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs effective December
31, 1989, are also eligible for this benefit.

Subp. 3. Veteran; defined. For purposes of this part, "veteran" has the meaning given
it in Minnesota Statutes, section 197.447.

Subp. 4. [Repealed, 21 SR 460]

Subp. 5. Application required. Veteran applicants are required to submit the follow-
ing forms and documentation:

A. acompleted and signed Department of Veterans Affairs form VA-00024-02;
B. a copy of the veterans discharge papers or equivalent; and

C. a statement from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs that the
veteran applicant has exhausted through use all educational benefits to which the veteran
may have been entitled, as provided by federal law.

Subp. 6. Approval; notification. Upon verification of eligibility of the veteran appli-
cant, and approval of the request, notice must be sent to the veteran applicant and to the
veteran applicant's educational institution that payment has been approved.

Subp. 7. Disapproval; notification. Veteran applicants who do not meet the eligi-
bility requirements prescribed in Minnesota Statutes, section 197.75, must be notified in
writing to that effect. This notification must state all reasons why the veteran's application
has not been approved. Veteran applicants must also be notified of their right to appeal a
determination not to grant educational benefits, as well as of the appeals process.
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Subp. 8. Appeals process. Veteran applicants who have been denied educational ben-
efits under this part may appeal this determination to the commissioner. The written appeal
must cite any errors in the original determination, as well as any arguments that the veteran
applicant may wish to offer, detailing why the educational benefits should be granted.

Subp. 9. Commissioner's determination. The commissioner shall review the vet-
eran's written statement and the original application and supporting documentation. The
commissioner shall issue a final determination to grant or deny the benefit sought within
seven working days of the commissioner's receipt of the veteran's appeal. The commis-
sioner's determination is final.

Subp. 10. Approval; payment. Upon verification of eligibility, payment, within bud-
getary constraints, must be made directly to the educational institution the veteran is attend-
ing. Upon receipt of proof of payment of tuition costs, this payment must be made directly
to the veteran applicant.

Subp. 11. Effective date of award. The effective date of an award of educational
benefits is the date that the applicant begins the current school term or semester within
which the completed application and required supporting documentation is received by the
department. Payment is not authorized for attendance prior to the effective date of the
award.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04; 197.608
History: 16 SR 1709; 18 SR 273; 21 SR 460

9055.0110 EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE; WAR ORPHAN.

Subpart 1. Free tuition. The children of veterans who died as the result of active duty
service in the armed forces of the United States are eligible to attend state universities and
community colleges in Minnesota free of tuition until they receive a bachelor's degree or
its equivalent.

Subp. 2. Grant for costs of education. Children of veterans who died as a result of
active duty service in the armed forces of the United States are also eligible for a grant each
fiscal year, in an amount approved by the legislature, to defray the costs of tuition, fees,
room and board, books, and supplies.

Subp. 3. Residency required. Applicants under this part must have resided in Min-
nesota for at least two years before the date of their application for benefits under this part.
The deceased veteran parent must also have been a resident of Minnesota at the time of
entrance into the armed forces of the United States.

Subp. 4. Application required. Applicants under this part shall complete the same
forms and provide the same documentation as required for a veteran applicant, as provided
in part 9055.0105, subpart 5.

Subp. 5. Proof required. Applicants for war orphan benefits under this part shall also
provide evidence from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs of the service-
connected death of the veteran parent.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709

9055.0115 FILES AND RECORDS.

Subpart 1. Information on individuals. The department generates and maintains in-
formation on individuals who apply for benefits, programs, and services administered by
the department. Release of or access to all information on individuals held by the depart-
ment is governed by the Government Data Practices Act under Minnesota Statutes, chapter
13.

Subp. 2. Classed as confidential. Information on individuals, gathered or generated
by the department pertaining to any claims or benefits is confidential and privileged under
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Minnesota Statutes, section 196.08. Release of this information is also governed by the
Government Data Practices Act, under the definition of private data on individuals.

Subp. 3. Release of private data. Information on individuals held by the department
that meets the definition of private data on individuals must be released only under the
conditions in part 9055.0120.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709

9055.0120 NO DISCLOSURE.

Subpart 1. Exceptions. Records maintained by the department may not be disclosed
without the written consent of the individual named in the records, except:

A. when the individual has been adjudicated incompetent; or
B. as in subparts 2 to 4.

Subp. 2. Release to individuals. Records maintained by the department must be re-
leased to the claimant personally, a duly appointed guardian, an attorney in fact, a duly au-
thorized representative, and as to personal matters, when the commissioner has determined
that disclosure would not be injurious to the mental or physical health of the claimant.

Subp. 3. Release to organizations. Records maintained by the department must be
released to the duly certified representatives of veterans organizations recognized by the
United States Department of Veterans Affairs.

Subp. 4. Release under court order. Records maintained by the department must be
released when ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction in Minnesota, and then only in
open court as evidence, only after a judge has ruled that the records are relevant and com-
petent evidence in an action or proceeding according to the laws and statutes of Minnesota.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709

9055.0125 [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]

9055.0130 COMMISSIONER'S TECHNICAL STAFF.

Subpart 1. Definition. "Commissioner's technical staff" means those persons whose
primary job duties are those detailed in Minnesota Statutes, section 196.05.

Subp. 2. Requirements. Individuals on the commissioner's technical staff must have
the same qualifications as the commissioner, as outlined in Minnesota Statutes, section
196.02, subdivision 1.

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04
History: 16 SR 1709

9055.0500 [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
9055.0510 [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
9055.0520 [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
9055.0530 [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]

9055.0540 Subpart 1. [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
Subp. 2. [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
Subp. 3. [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
Subp. 4. [Repealed, 21 SR 460]
Subp. 5. [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
Subp. 6. [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]

9055.0550 [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
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9055.0560 [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
9055.0570 [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
9055.0580 [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
9055.0590 [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
9055.0600 [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
9055.0610 [Repealed, L 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 82]
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