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8610.0010 REPRESENTATION. 
The following persons may practice before the tax court in a regular division 

matter: 
A. a lawyer licensed to practice law in Minnesota; 
B. a lawyer licensed to practice law in a jurisdiction other than Minnesota who 

complies with part 8610.0020; 
C. an individual, when representing the individual or a partnership in which 

the individual is a general partner; and 
D. the sole shareholder of a corporation or sole member of a limited liability 

company, when representing the corporation or limited liability company. Except as 
provided in this item, a lawyer must represent a corporation or limited liability 
company. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 271.06 
History: 21 SR 805 

8610.0020 PRACTICE BEFORE TAX COURT BY NONRESIDENT LAWYERS. 
Subpart 1. Affidavit required. A lawyer licensed to practice in the trial courts of a 

jurisdiction other than Minnesota may, in the discretion of the tax court, appear before 
the tax court if: 

A. the nonresident lawyer files an affidavit with the tax court and serves the 
affidavit on opposing counsel at the time an appeal is filed under Minnesota Statutes, 
chapter 271, or at the time a petition is filed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 278; 

B. the affidavit establishes that the nonresident lawyer is familiar with and 
prepared and willing to follow Minnesota's: 

(1) Rules of Civil Procedure; 
(2) Rules of Evidence; 
(3) Rules of Professional Conduct; 
(4) Rules on Lawyers Professional Responsibility; and 
(5) Tax Court Rules of Procedure; and 

C. the nonresident lawyer includes with the affidavit a certificate of good 
standing from the jurisdiction issuing the nonresident lawyer's license to practice law. 

Subp. 2. Motion to oppose; denial of privilege. No later than 30 days before the 
first scheduled hearing on the matter, opposing counsel may move the tax court for a 
hearing to oppose the practice of the nonresident lawyer before the tax court. The 
opposing counsel has the burden of establishing cause to deny the nonresident lawyer 
the privilege of practicing before the tax court. This hearing may be conducted by 
telephone. Failure of opposing counsel to respond within the specified time period 
waives opposing counsel's right to contest the nonresident lawyer's practice before the 
tax court. The tax court may, for cause, deny the nonresident lawyer the privilege of 
practicing before the tax court. 
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Subp. 3. Subject to discipline; jurisdiction of courts. A lawyer appearing pursuant 
to this part is subject to the disciplinary rules and regulations governing Minnesota 
lawyers and is subject to the jurisdiction of the Minnesota courts. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 271.06 
History: 21 SR 805 

8610.0030 EXTENSION OF TIME TO APPEAL FROM AN ORDER OF COMMIS­
SIONER OF REVENUE. 

A request for an extension of time to appeal from an order of the commissioner of 
revenue should be made to the tax court either by telephone or by mail to the main 
office of the tax court in St. Paul, Minnesota. 

If the request for an extension of time is received within 60 days of the making and 
filing of the order, the tax court will extend the time to appeal for an additional 30 
days. If the request for an extension is made more than 60 days after the making and 
filing of the order, the tax court may, for cause shown, extend the time for appeal to a 
date not more than 90 days from the date of the making and filing of the order of the 
commissioner. A request for an extension made more than 60 days after the making 
and filing of the order must explain why the extension was not requested within the 
original 60-day period. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 271.06 
History: 21 SR 805 

8610.0040 FORM FOR APPEAL FROM ORDER OF COMMISSIONER. 

Subpart 1. Caption. A notice of appeal from an order of the commissioner of 
revenue and all other papers filed with the tax court in its St. Paul office or in district 
court must contain a caption in the following form: 

STATE OF MINNESOTA 

TAX COURT 

In The Matter of the Appeal from 
Appellant, the Commissioner's Order dated 

relating to 
vs. (tyPe of) t a x of 

for the 
Commissioner of Revenue, year ending 

Appellee. 

Subp. 2. Notice of appeal. A notice of appeal must refer to the order appealed 
from, state specifically the points of law and fact questioned by the appellant, and 
provide an address where service of notice and other papers in the matter may be made 
upon the appellant. 

Subp. 3. Parties. In all appeals under this part the appellee is the commissioner of 
revenue, who shall be designated by the official title without naming the individual 
holding the office. If a change occurs in the individual holding the office while an 
appeal is pending, the appeal does not abate and no substitution of parties is necessary. 

The appellant is the taxpayer or the person or agency authorized by Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 271, to appeal from an order of the commissioner. 

Subp. 4. Small claims. If the appellant elects to file the appeal in the small claims 
division, the appeal must contain the following statement: 

THE APPELLANT(S) IS (ARE) AWARE OF THE FACT THAT NO 
APPEAL MAY BE HAD FROM A SMALL CLAIMS DECISION AND 
AGREE(S) THAT THE DECISION OF THE TAX COURT SHALL BE 
CONCLUSIVE. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 271.06 
History: 21 SR 805 
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8610.0050 FORM FOR PETITION RELATING TO PROPERTY TAXES. 

Subpart 1. Caption. A petition and all other papers in matters arising under 
Minnesota property tax laws must contain a caption in the following form: 

STATE OF MINNESOTA COURT 
(DISTRICT OR TAX) 

JUDICIAL DISTRICT 
COUNTY OF DIVISION 

(REGULAR or SMALL CLAIMS) 

Petitioner(s), 

vs. 

County of , 

Respondent. Court File No.. 

Subp. 2. Petition relating to real property tax. A petition under this part must be 
in substantially the following form: 

1. Petitioner(s) has/have an interest pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 
278.01, in that tract of land situated in the city/township of , county 
of , State of Minnesota, described as follows: 

[insert here official description of land] 

2. The assessment date at issue is January 2, . . . . , for taxes payable in year . . . . 

3. Petitioner(s) claim(s) that 

[insert here claim and relief requested] 

[Examples of claims include the estimated market value is greater than the 
property's actual market value as of the assessment date at issue; the subject property is 
unequally assessed when compared with other property; the classification of the 
property is incorrect; the subject property is exempt from taxation; and other claims 
over which the court has jurisdiction.] 

WHEREFORE, petitioner(s) pray(s) for a determination of the claim before the 
tax court. 

Subp. 3. Small claims. If the petitioner elects to file the petition in the small 
claims division, it must contain the following statement: 

THE PETITIONER(S) IS (ARE) AWARE OF THE FACT THAT NO 
APPEAL MAY BE HAD FROM A SMALL CLAIMS DECISION AND 
AGREE(S) THAT THE DECISION OF THE TAX COURT SHALL BE 
CONCLUSIVE. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 271.06 
History: 21 SR 805 

8610.0060 CONTINUANCES. 

The tax court reserves the right to order continuances or postponements on its 
own motion. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 271.06 
History: 21 SR 805 
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8610.0070 MOTION PRACTICE. 

Subpart 1. Scope and application. Except as otherwise provided in Minnesota 
Statutes, chapters 271 and 278, this part governs pretrial motion practice before the tax 
court, other than motions to continue or motions to consolidate. 

Subp. 2. Definitions. Motions are either dispositive or nondispositive, as defined in 
items A and B. 

A. "Dispositive motions" are motions that seek to dispose of all or part of the 
claims or parties, except motions for default judgment. They include motions to dismiss 
a party or claim, motions for summary judgment, and motions under Minnesota Rules 
of Civil Procedure 12.02(a)-(f). 

B. "Nondispositive motions" are all other motions, including, but not limited 
to, discovery, third party practice, temporary relief, intervention, and amendment of 
pleadings. 

Subp. 3. Time. The time limits in this part are to provide the tax court adequate 
opportunity to prepare for and promptly rule on matters, and the tax court may modify 
the time limits. The time allowed for summary judgment motions, however, may not be 
less than the time established by Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure 56.03. If this part 
requires documents to be filed with the tax court administrator within a prescribed 
period of time before a specific event, filing may be accomplished by mail, subject to 
the following: 

A. three days must be added to the prescribed period; and 
B. filing may not be considered timely unless the documents are deposited in 

the mail within the prescribed period. 

Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure, 5.02 and 6.05, apply regarding service of 
documents by mail. 

Subp. 4. Obtaining hearing date; notice to parties. A hearing date and time must 
be obtained from the tax court administrator. A party obtaining a date and time for a 
hearing on a motion or for any other calendar setting, shall promptly give notice 
advising all other parties who have appeared in the action so that cross motions may, 
insofar as possible, be heard on a single hearing date. The notice to the other parties 
must contain a statement describing the nature of the motion and the relief sought. 

Subp. 5. Dispositive motions. 
A. No dispositive motion may be heard until the moving party serves a copy of 

the following documents on opposing counsel or party if that party is pro se and files 
the original with the tax court administrator at least 28 days prior to the hearing: 

(1) notice of motion and motion; 
(2) proposed order; 
(3) any affidavits and exhibits to be submitted in conjunction with the 

motion; and 
(4) memorandum of law. 

B. The party responding to the motion shall serve a copy of the following 
documents on opposing counsel or party if that party is pro se and shall file the 
originals with the tax court administrator at least nine days prior to the hearing: 

(1) memorandum of law; and 
(2) any supplementary affidavits and exhibits to be submitted in conjunc­

tion with the response. 
C. The moving party may submit a reply memorandum, limited to new legal 

or factual matters raised by an opposing party's response to a motion, by serving a copy 
on opposing counsel or party if that party is pro se and filing the original with the tax 
court administrator at least three days before the hearing. 

D. For summary judgment motions, the memorandum of law must include: 
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(1) A statement by the moving party of the issues involved that are the 
grounds for the motion for summary judgment. 

(2) A statement identifying all documents, such as depositions or excerpts 
of depositions, pleadings, exhibits, admissions, interrogatory answers, and affidavits, 
which comprise the record on which the motion is made. Opposing parties shall 
identify in their responding memorandum of law any additional documents on which 
they rely. 

(3) A recital by the moving party of the material facts that are not in 
genuine dispute, with a specific citation to that part of the record supporting each fact, 
such as deposition page and line or page and paragraph of an exhibit. A party opposing 
the motion shall make a similar recital of any material facts claimed to be in dispute. 

(4) The party's argument and authorities. Subitem (3) is excluded from 
the page limitations of subpart 7. 

Subp. 6. Nondispositive motions. 
A. No nondispositive motion may be heard until the moving party serves a 

copy of the following documents on opposing counsel or party if that party is pro se 
and files the original with the tax court administrator at least 14 days prior to the 
hearing: 

(1) notice of motion and motion; 
(2) proposed order; 
(3) any affidavits and exhibits to be submitted in conjunction with the 

motion; and 
(4) any memorandum of law. 

B. The party responding to the nondispositive motion shall serve a copy of the 
following documents on opposing counsel or party if that party is pro se and shall file 
the original with the tax court administrator at least seven days prior to the hearing: 

(1) a memorandum of law; and 
(2) any relevant affidavits and exhibits to be submitted in conjunction 

with the response. 
C. The moving party may submit a reply memorandum, limited to new legal 

or factual matters raised by an opposing party's response to a motion, by serving a copy 
on opposing counsel or party if that party is pro se and filing the original with the tax 
court administrator at least three days before the hearing. 

Subp. 7. Page limits. No memorandum of law submitted in connection with either 
a dispositive or nondispositive motion may exceed 35 pages, exclusive of the recital of 
facts required for each motion, except with permission of the tax court. For motions 
involving discovery requests, the moving party's memorandum must set forth only the 
particular discovery requests and the response or objection to them which are the 
subject of the motion, and a concise recitation of why the response or objection is 
improper. If a reply memorandum of law is filed, the cumulative total of the original 
memorandum and the reply memorandum must not exceed 35 pages, except with 
permission of the tax court. 

Subp. 8. Failure to comply. If the moving papers are not properly served and filed, 
the hearing may be canceled by the tax court. If responsive papers are not properly 
served and filed in a nondispositive motion, the tax court may consider the motion 
unopposed and may grant the relief requested without a hearing. For a dispositive 
motion, the tax court, in its discretion, may refuse to permit oral argument by the party 
not filing the required documents, may allow reasonable attorney's fees, or may take 
other appropriate action. 

Subp. 9. Relaxation of time limits. If irreparable harm will result without immedi­
ate action by the court, or if the interests of justice otherwise require, the tax court may 
waive or modify the time limits established by this part. 
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Subp. 10. Witnesses. No testimony will be taken at motion hearings except under 
unusual circumstances. A party seeking to present witnesses at a motion hearing must 
obtain prior consent of the tax court and must notify the adverse party in the motion 
papers of the names and addresses of the witnesses that party intends to call at the 
hearing. 

Subp. 11. Telephone hearings. If a motion is authorized by the tax court to be 
heard by telephone conference call, the moving party shall either initiate the confer­
ence call or comply with the court's instructions on initiation of the conference call. 
Dispositive motions must be recorded. Nondispositive motions may be recorded at the 
request of either party or on motion of the tax court. "Recorded" for this purpose 
means by tape recording or by a court reporter, as determined by the tax court. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 271.06 
History: 21 SR 805 

8610.0100 STIPULATION OF FACTS. 

The parties may stipulate in writing to any or all questions of fact involved in the 
appeal or petition. An original and one copy of the stipulation must be filed with the 
tax court. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 271.06 
History: 21 SR 805 

8610.0110 SUBMISSION WITHOUT HEARING. 

If all parties to an appeal or petition by written stipulation waive their right to a 
public hearing, the parties may submit the matter to the tax court on written stipulation 
of facts and briefs. After the submission the court may, in its discretion, require 
appearance for the taking of further testimony or for oral argument. If an appearance 
is required, notice must be given by mail to all parties at least ten days before the 
hearing. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 271.06 
History: 21 SR 805 

8610.0120 HEARINGS. 
Subpart 1. Open to public. Hearings before the tax court are open to the public. 

All findings and decisions of the tax court, after they have been filed with the court 
administrator, are a matter of public record. 

Subp. 2. Additional hearings. If, after the holding of any hearings in any matter, 
the tax court finds the rights of the parties will be better served by the holding of a 
further hearing in the matter, the court may order a further hearing and provide notice 
to all parties to the proceeding. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 271.06 
History: 21 SR 805 

8610.0130 DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE. 
If originals of books, documents, records, or other papers have been received in 

evidence, a copy of them, or of so many of them as may be material or relevant, may in 
the discretion of the court be substituted. Copies of documents will be admitted as 
evidence under the Rules of Evidence. 

Originals of books, documents, records, diagrams, or other exhibits introduced in 
evidence before the court may be withdrawn from the custody of the court in the 
manner and upon the terms the court in its discretion prescribes. 

An original and one copy of all exhibits must be furnished to the court, and a copy 
must be furnished to opposing counsel or the opposing party if the party is pro se. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 271.06 
History: 21 SR 805 
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8610.0140 AMICUS CURIAE BRIEFS. 
A person interested in or affected by a matter pending before the tax court may 

petition the court for leave to file a brief amicus curiae. The tax court in its discretion 
may grant or deny the petition. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 271.06 
History: 21 SR 805 

8610.0150 REQUEST FOR COSTS AND DISBURSEMENTS. 
No later than 90 days after the date of a final order of the tax court, a party may 

file a motion that costs and disbursements be granted to the prevailing party in the case 
of a commissioner of revenue matter under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 271, or be 
included in the judgment in the case of a real estate tax appeal under Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 278. The moving party must file an affidavit with the tax court 
outlining the basis for granting costs and itemizing the items and amounts to be 
granted. The moving party shall serve a copy of the affidavit on the other party to the 
action and file proof of service with the tax court. Within ten days of being served, the 
other party must notify the moving party and the tax court of any objection to the 
request for costs and disbursements and the basis of the objection. The objection to an 
award must clearly state the basis of the objection and copies of the objection must be 
served on the moving party and proof of service filed with the tax court. The tax court 
may order a hearing within 20 days of receiving an objection to determine whether 
costs and disbursements will be awarded. The hearing may be conducted by telephone. 
Failure to respond within the ten-day period waives the other party's right to contest 
awarding costs. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 271.06 
History: 21 SR 805 
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